Zehr Estate

News Clips 1920 thru 1929

1920 to 1933 Prohibition in the United States. The use of alcohol for medicinal purposes had been going on since at least from 7000 BCE. As time passed, people gradually abused its use which led to alcoholism, until when in the early 1900's, the medical profession became divided on the use of alcohol for therapeutic use. During the prohibition years, doctors were still allowed to use alcohol for medicinal purposes. Then came the research and the negative effects and the medicinal use also slowed down.

Roaring Twenties - automobile, movie, radio and chemical industries flourished

1920 census: at 5 Athens st. renting was Max Zupinx, from Austria, with wife Sady C. and daughter, Hilda and son Hayram.; at 3 Athens st. Lloyd Hedges with wife, Lena, and son Richard, along with a boarder, Virral W. Smith; 7 Athens st., octagon home owned by Mrs. Gertrude Slaughter Knapp,  renting was Gabriel Evans on one side of home and Henry Spear on one side; 9 Athens st. carriage house to 208 Chemung st.; at 4 Athens st. George and Eunice Page and nephew, Thomas Stewart; at 6 Athen st. Julia Haas widow, son Daniel, daughter Mary, daughter-in-law Mary, and grandson John. 

Living at 208 Chemung St. in 1920 were; George B. Knapp (Head of household, 34) with wife, Gertrude Knapp (29), daughter, Charlotte (3), and servant Margret Kane (60), the same servant from 1910 census. George and Gertrude have none listed for occupation.

Henry G. Evans, 23 yrs with wife, Alice, 18 yrs. and Henry G. Evans, jr, a baby, were living at 577 Clark street, Waverly, NY.

February 13, 1920 Elmira Star Gazette: Many Attend Party For Hospital Fund. Waverly, Feb. 13. - The benefit card party for the People's Hospital at the home of Mrs. George Knapp (208 Chemung st. Waverly, NY) yesterday was a successful affair and cards were played at 25 tables. A substantial sum was netted for the hospital funds.

March 28, 1920 The Telegram (Elmira, NY):...Southern Tier Banks - About 200 From This Territory Attend Important Gathering At City Club Last Night -... The Rev. Dr. Thomas Travis of Montclair, N. J., gave the bankers an address on "Americanism."... F. E. Lyford, H. A. Ellis, H. I. Seeley, First National Bank, Waverly; F. A. Sawyer, J. H. Owen, L. J. Buley, E. S. Hanford, George B. Knapp, E. A. Tildon, J. C. Van Etta, Citizens' bank, Waverly;...

April 16, 1920 Elmira Star Gazette: Small Roadster - Good tires, motor fine, $185; Harley-Davidson twin motorcycle. $55; both bargains; act quick. Evans, 7 Athens St., Waverly N. Y.

April 30, 1920 Elmira Star Gazette: Harley-Davidson twin motorcycle, fully equipped; good condition; $60, quick. H. G. Evans, 7 Athens St., Waverly, N.Y.

In 1920 according to Tioga County tax information: The porches were added to the carriage house [9 Athens st.] (5x7 covered, 9x14 enclosed and 9x14 porch -up enclosed) and a 286 sq. ft. covered porch and a 224 sq. ft. covered porch was added to the main house [208 Chemung st.].

July 29, 1920 Elmira Star-Gazette: Good home, like place for middle aged woman in or near Elmira with board and room; state monthly rate when answering. Geo. B. Knapp, Waverly, N. Y. Phone 413

August 18, 1920, the 19th Amendment granting women the right to vote was ratified, 72 years after the fight for Women's Suffrage began.

August 30, 1920 The New York Times: Slaughter Heads Bull Family. GOSHEN. Aug. 29. - A man named Slaughter has just been chosen as head of the Bull family of Orange and Dutchess Counties, it was announced today in Campbell Hall village where the annual reunion was held. For more than half a century the members of the Bull family of old settlers have met and elected officers periodically. The new officers are Charles W. Slaughter, President; Lillian Bull, Vice President, and Clara Bull, Secretary of the Bull Family Society.

Dewitt Slaughter's wife, Caroline, had a sister, Mary Jane Mills - who married a Robert J. Bull of Wallkill.

Samuel Slaughter's wife, Charlotte Wells, had a father Alfred Wells who was a descendant of the Bull family through his grandfather, Joshua Wells who married the granddaughter (Rhoda Booth) of William and Sarah Bull.


September 4, 1920 Elmira Star-Gazette: Wanted - Home for middle aged lady, down stairs sleeping room; lady will require some attention; will pay $50 a month for the right kind of home. Geo. B. Knapp, Waverly, N. Y.

September 19, 1920 The Telegram (Elmira, NY): Waverly, Sept. 18. - More than 2,000 persons, according to a count of the receipts late last night, attended the three performances of the minstrel and musical comedy show presented last week in the Loomis Opera House by the Waverly Lodge, Loyal Order of Moose. The play was a big success in every way and was one of the best home talent shows ever given in this village. Director Charles Kennedy of Waverly who supervised the presentation of the play will in the near future leave on a trip to various cities in the southern tier where he has contracts to present plays during the coming winter months.

Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Knapp expect to leave next month for California, where they will spend the winter.

September 24, 1920 The Evening Leader, Corning, N. Y.: MAIN ROAD TO WAVERLY IS OPENED ONCE MORE. The improved highway between Chemung and Waverly commonly known as "over the hill route," was opened to traffic yesterday. This will be welcome news to hundreds of motorists having occasion to travel between Corning and Waverly. The road was closed last Spring by the State Highway Department. It was in bad condition and a new top was needed. This work has now been completed and motorists may now escape the rough and dangerous "narrows" of the detour between Chemung and Waverly. During the past summer many accidents have happened to motorists in "the narrows." Cars have skidded off the highway into the Chemung river and many car springs have been broken on this road.

November 14, 1920 The Telegram, Elmira, N. Y.: The Following officers were elected at a meeting of the Ladies' Benevolent society held Wednesday afternoon in the Presbyterian church: President, Mrs. F. E. Simmons; first vice president, Mrs. F. A. Bell; second vice president, Mrs. W. A. Clements; secretary, Mrs. Alanzo Shafer, and treasurer, Mrs. George Knapp.

December 12, 1920 The Morning Telegram, Elmira, NY: Waverly, NY, Mrs. John C. Van Atta returned this afternoon from a visit with Mrs. Anna Van Atta in New York City. - The following officers were elected for the coming year at the annual meeting and banquet of the Home Mission guild of the Presbyterian church held Monday evening at the home of Mrs. M. D. Baxter; President, Mrs. John Slater; vice-president, Mrs. Charles Merrill; secretary, Mrs. George Knapp; treasurer, Mrs. E. A. Tilton.

1921, at 337 Broad Street, Mrs. Jessie B. Decker, chiropractor was in the building (from Don Merrill's collection)

January 8, 1921 Cortland Standard And Homer Republican: TWILIGHT DANCING PARTY. Mr. and Mrs. Frederic R. Wickwire Entertained New Year's Eve. The new year was ushered in socially by a most delightful reception and twilight dance given by Mr. and Mrs. Frederic R. Wickwire at the Miller club house to some two hundred of their friends from 6:30 to 12 o'clock Saturday night. The reception not only ushered in the new year, but was a most fitting finale to a week of brillant social functions. Red roses added to the attractiveness of the house and Closes's orchestra from Ithaca, located upon a platform attractively adorned with greenery furnished music for dancing. The dining room was in red and green, Arnold furnishing flowers. Mrs. Skinner catered. There was a number of feature dances with special music during the evening, but the one that especially delighted the guests was "The Love Nest" from "Mary." High on the wall was an attractive snow covered, evergreen surrounded miniature cottage and, other lights turned low, from this "love nest" streamed the light for a most pretty dance, the effect being beautiful. It was a delightful party, the "Home Sweet Home" number coming altogether too early for the many guests which included among those from out of town, Mr. and Mrs. F. D. Tracy, Mr. and Mrs. B. E. Cornell, Mr. and Mrs. James Truman, Mr. and Mrs. James Young, Hermon Underhill, John G. Underhill, Launing Taylor and Miss Constance Storrs, all of Owego; Mr. and Mrs. George Knapp of Waverly, Mr. and Mrs. C. L. Goodrich and Lyman Goodrich of Binghamton, Mr. and Mrs. H. B. Schrierer of Elmira and Mr. and Mrs. E. B. Bickford of Solon.

February 20, 1921 The Telegram, Elmira, NY: MISS LANG ENTERTAINS. Waverly, N. Y., Feb. 19 - Miss Onalee Lang gave a variety shower this afternoon at her home on (202) Chemung street in honor of Miss Lilian Ruth Scott who is to be married to Dr. Byron Lowe Ramsey, of Butler, Pa., on Tuesday. Bridge was played followed by tea. The guests were: Misses Lillian Scott, Helen Pike, Onalee Lang, Florence Westbrook, Louise O'Neil, Rhea Mills, Vivian Bell, Crissie Fields, Ella Frances Riley, Gladys Lane, Mrs. John Rhodes, Mrs. Emery Fields, Mrs. George Scott, Mrs. C. N. Haines, of Sayre: Mrs. George Knapp, Mrs. John Slater, Mrs. Charles Merrill, Mrs. John Machan, Mrs. Philip Higgins and Mrs. F. E. Lyford, jr.

March 1, 1921 The Evening Leader, Corning, N. Y.: ... Four miles of the Erwin-Lindley road which will connect Pennsylvania big trunk line known as "the Susquehanna Trail Route" with the Southern Tier Highway, New York's big east and west trunk line, will be recommended in the construction to be undertaken this year. This will be half of the unimproved road distance lying between the Pennsylvania state line and the point where the Susquehanna trail route would join the, Southern Tier highway at Erwin. ...

March 6, 1921 Elmira, The Telegram: Lewis Westfall was called to Waverly recently by the death of his father, Harry Westfall, sr. (Lewis Westfall fell from our roof, 208 Chemung st. Waverly, NY, while painting it in 1907.) From the 1905 census the Westfall's were living at 413 Cayuta Avenue, Waverly. Harry Westfall 53 yrs. old a carpenter, Josephine his wife 48 yrs. old, Louis (Lewis) 28 yrs. old a painter, Harry H. (jr.)  23 yrs. old clerk at a bank, Alice J. 15 yrs. old.

April 20, 1921 The Evening Leader, Corning, N. Y.: More Workmen Laid Off At Lehigh Shops In Sayre. The order of the Lehigh Valley railroad general officials, laying off 721 employees of the company's shops in Sayre, for an indefinite period, became effective yesterday afternoon at 4:15 o'clock. A survey of the industrial situation throughout the valley, including Waverly, Sayre, Athens and nearby towns, shows there are nearly 5,000 workmen in all vocations in the valley, who are now without their usual employment.

1921 Daughters Of The American Revolution Magazine Vol. 56, p.736: ...The celebration of the first birthday of Carantouan Chapter took place at Waverly's delightful tea house, "The Iron Kettle in the Pines." Luncheon was served to the members of the Chapter and their guests. After a very brief business session, the program included brief remarks from visiting Regents of sister chapters, who brought greetings and congratulations from their chapters, and each one spoke of the size and potential strength of the "one-year-old infant." Before the presentation of the Chapter charter, a brief history was read of the notable charters of history and how the custom has developed since the Magna Charta was presented in the 13th century....

Carantouan Chapter (Waverly, N. Y.) makes its bow to its sister chapters, since it has just celebrated its first birthday. On September 20, 1921, the Organization meeting was held at the home (304 Chemung st. Waverly, NY) of the Organizing Regent, Mrs. Frank Wells Merriam. The Organization ceremony was conducted by Mrs. Charles White Nash, State Regent of New York, and the presentation of the gavel was made by Mrs. Anthony Wayne Cook, Vice President General from Pennsylvania. There were 54 organizing members in the new Chapter, having brought their transfer papers from the sister Chapter, Tioga Point, from just across the State line in Pennsylvania. During the year 14 new members have been added making a total membership for the ...

1922, at 337 Broad Street, American Legion rooms (from Don Merrill's collection)

1922 - 1930, at 337 Broad Street, Dr. Theadore P. Snook, dentist (from Don Merrill's collection)

March 20, 1922 The Binghamton Press: Worst Fire in History of Waverly Wipes Out Nearly Entire Block. Damage Done by Fire in Waverly. (Special to The Binghamton Press.) Waverly, March 20 - In a fire, the worst in this village's history, flames last night razed the following structures: H. W. Knapp & Son furniture storage building, owned by Wallace Manning. Building worth $18,000 and not insured. Contents worth $8,000 and not insured. John Peckally's general store and home, Elizabeth street. Loss from $8,000 to $10,000. Partly insured. Waverly vulcanizing plant, building owned by John Peckally. Building worth $2,000, uninsured. Manning Auto storage garage with at least 10 motor cars and 10 Fordson tractors. Loss between $80,000 and $85,000. Building owned by Rollin Perry and partly insured. Perry building, occupied by the Merritt Plumbing shop and Mrs. Hazel Herrick. Loss $2,000. Charles Wolf building, 442 Fulton street. Loss $15,000. Mrs. Clarenda Albertson home, 444 Fulton street. Loss $5,000. Sherman A. Genung home, 446 Fulton street. Loss $15,000. These homes were damaged: The R. W. McEwen home, owned by George Vastbinder, 463 Fulton, $1,000. Walter Van Autrick home, owned by George Vastbinder, 448 1/2 Fulton street, $800. The Harry J. Wright home, 476 Fulton street. Loss $1,000. The Hotel Lee was ruined by water and the hacking of firemen. The loss will reach $90,000. ... Fire, breaking out at 6:30 o'clock last night, ... swept through the entire block on Elizabeth street, between Waverly and Fulton, raging in spectacular fury, for more than four hours. ... It was discovered in the garage conducted by Walter Manning, ... Walter Van Aurick, who had spent most of the day working on his own car in the garage, made the discovery. Having at last finished his task, and about to drive out, he walked to the switchboard, to throw off the lights, and found flames leaping towards the ceiling in that part of the building. Running to Fulton and Broad streets, the heart of the town and just around the corner, he turned in an alarm from ??? 42. Firemen at the central station mistook the number for ?? and raced more than a mile to Cayuta avenue and Broad street, East Waverly. But the Cayuta company caught the correct number and had a stream on the blaze before ... Backfiring of an automobile is generally accepted as the cause, although some lay it to faulty electric wiring and others to possible careless discarding of a lighted cigarette. ...Barns on the Buley estate, at Chemung and Waverly streets, and, in the rear of the Walter Bartlow residence at 476 Waverly street, an eighth of a mile away, caught fire from flying sparks but were saved. ... The Sayre fire engine is believed to have saved the entire block from Elizabeth to Chemung streets, as the power alone served to give sufficient pressure to help the firemen fight the flames. ... The fire was the most spectacular ever seen in this locality. It was seen as far away as Ulster and Chemung and attracted easily 10,000 people. Firemen were badly hampered in their work by crowds that insisted upon pressing in, upon them so close to the flames that many were blistered by them. Automobiles jammed the roads early in the evening and interfered with the movement of fire trucks and hose until ordered off the tenant street. ... Sparks literally poured on houses within a mile of the scene and kept hundreds of men busy with garden hose and pails watering their roofs. ...

March 29, 1922 The Evening Leader, Corning, N.Y. : WAVERY FIRE LOSS TO TOTAL NEARLY $200,000. Waverly, Mar. 20 - The most disastrous fire in the history of Waverly did damage estimated at $200,000 last night when fire blazing across the oil soaked floor of a livery stable and garage, became the nucleus of a conflagration which swept away a great share of Waverly's business section. While the exact cause of the blaze is unknown it is believed it originated from defective wiring in the Manning Garage on Elizabeth street. When the fire was discovered and the nearest box pulled, the firemen responded to Box 52 nearly a mile away due to some irregularity in the alarm coming into headquarters. By the time they reached the blaze it was ungovernable. An appeal was sent for help from Elmira, but due to the big fire in that city none could be sent. Apparatus however responded from Owego, Sayre, Towanda, Athens, Troy and elsewhere. At midnight all danger was over. The fire started in the old Tozer livery stable and swept westward through the wooden two story structure occupied by John C. Peck and continued through the following buildings: J. W. Knapp dry goods store, Hotel Lee, three story Wolfe building, residences of Clarence Albertson and Sherman A. Genung. Nothing was saved from these buildings and several narrow escapes were reported, so rapid was the progress of the fire. Several automobiles in the Tozer building are a total loss. Many persons are in a serious condition from exhaustion and smoke, some being taken to the hospital. The entire interior of the Hotel Lee was gutted and the battery service station operated by James Taylor is also a total loss. When the flames reached the Morrow family residence, they spread so rapidly that the occupants had a narrow escape in getting out. Firemen carried the children down the stairways, then ready to burst into flame. In the Knapp building a large stock of stored furniture was destroyed. All Lights Turned Off. Because of the danger incident to wires being burned, the entire lighting system was cut off, it being feared the live wires might cause injury to some of the 10,000 persons who gathered from a radius of 20 miles. At 9 o'clock fire department officials reported the blaze under control. The entire block from Chemung street to Broad street was endangered when two fires developed at each end of the block but these were soon extinguished. Practically all the roofs of homes within three blocks of the big fire were damaged by sparks. On Fulton street Mrs. Fred Baxter was overcome when flames threatened to destroy her home.

Loss In Waverly Is Reported At $200,000 - Waverly, Mar. 20 - The loss in the Waverly fire last night as near as can be learned will total $200,000 as follows: Hotel Lee, corner of Elizabeth and Fulton streets, interior of building destroyed with contents. Estimated loss $20,000.

J. W. Knapp storage building, Elizabeth street, completely destroyed with contents. Estimated loss $10,000.

Store and two business blocks owned and occupied by John C. Peckally, Elizabeth street, completely destroyed. Estimated loss $14,000.

Manning Garage, Elizabeth street, completely destroyed. Estimated loss $4,000. Automobiles in garage, $4,000.

Wolfe Block, 442 Fulton street, completely destroyed. Estimated loss $20,000.

Albertson residence, 444 Fulton street, completely destroyed. Estimated loss $10,000.

Sherman A. Genung residence, 446 Fulton street, completely destroyed. Estimated loss $15,000.

Vastbinder house, 448 Fulton street, badly damaged. Loss estimated at $1,000.

Bartlow barns and workshops at 485 Waverly street, completely destroyed. Estimated loss at $1,500.

Buley barns, 473 Waverly street, $600.

July 23, 1922 New York Tribune: Stamford-In-The-Catskills, N. Y., July 22 - Bringing to a close a week of activity, brilliant dances at the Country Club, Churchill Hall, the New Rexmere, the Westholm and Greycourt Inn were attended to-night by a notable gathering of socially prominent persons. ... Among the outdoor affairs was the golf tournament that featured the week at the Stamford Country Club. Hundreds turned out for this event... Among those who played were... Mr. George B. Knapp, of Waverly, N. Y. ...

March 11, 1923, Rosamond Lillis Brooks Tubbs died. (She was daughter of T. J. Brooks, who built the rectangular shape house at 208 Chemung Street, prior to Dewitt Slaughter purchasing the home and adding onto the home.)

March 12, 1923 Elmira Star-Gazette: Mrs. Rosamond B. Tubbs. Mrs. Rosamond Brooks Tubbs, widow of Samuel M. Tubbs, died at the family home, 603 West Clinton street Sunday afternoon at 5 o'clock. She was the only daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Brooks and a life long resident of Chemung county. She is survived by three children, Mrs. M. Alice Zimmerman of this city; Mrs. O. C. Richards of Hudson Falls and Frances B. Tubbs of home. The decedent was a member of Chemung Chapter D. A. R. and was highly respected. The funeral will be held privately.

May 17, 1923 Elmira Star-Gazette: Hundred Acre Farm - On Ellis Creek near Waverly; state road _? farm; finest barn in section on the place; can be bought for $3,000 if taken at once. Act quick. Easy terms. Geo. B. Knapp, Waverly, N. Y. Phone 413.

May 17, 1923 Elmira Star-Gazette: Marmon - For sale; late model, seven passenger touring; newly painted and overhauled. Our guarantee same as new. See this car before buying; no dealers, no trades. George B. Knapp, Waverly, N. Y. Phone 413.

June 2, 1923 Tribune California: Fred Emerson Brooks was content to be a poet of the people. Possessed of gifts which might have placed him higher in the lists of singers, as those lists are compiled by the learned men, he chose to write simply of the everyday things. There are many measures for the poet but the one which pleased Fred Emerson Brooks was the gauge of appreciation of his fellow men. He did not aspire to a wide fame; he hoped to touch hearts. So he wrote in a way to be understood of things which are close to the average man's experience and when he died there were many among those who had never seen the man who felt they had lost a friend. In that was the triumph of the art of the Berkeley singer. In serving the cause of letters Mr. Brooks also served California. Possessed of a commanding presence and unusual ability on the platform he was a familiar figure on the Lyceum and Chautauqua boards where, always, he recited his poems of this state. Evidencing the appeal his verse made to the public various movements have been started to have him accorded State of National honors. Beyond any title or other sign of recognition which could have been conferred with ceremony is the reward this California poet won in the hearts of thousands.

July 30, 1923 The Auburn Citizen: ... Coincident with the winning of the title by Jones comes the announcement that the 1924 tourney will be held over the links of the Shepards Hills Country Club at Waverly, and that A. S. Maurice of Athens, Pa., and George B. Knapp of Waverly, both members of that club, have been elected president and secretary-treasurer of the Finger Lakes Golf Association for the coming year. ... M. L. Nichols of Ithaca defeated Edwin Knapp of Waverly 2 and 1 in the beaten eight of the championship flight, while Rollin Polk of Ithaca defeated S. J. Murphy of Auburn, 2 and 1 in the second 16, the beaten eight competition of which was won by G. G. Bogert, 7 and 6 from J. Truslow of Geneva. George Knapp of Waverly won the third 16 2 and 1 over Huston of Owego, while E. E. Truslow, Geneva, beat Romeyn Berry of Ithaca 3 and 2 in the beaten eight of that flight.

September 29, 1923 Elmira Star-Gazette: Chemung Chapter, D. A. R. - Chemung Chapter, D. A. R., celebrated Chapter Day with a luncheon this afternoon at 1:30 o'clock in the Rose Room of the Hotel Langwell. The delightful affair was largely attended by members and guests and following the luncheon an interesting program was enjoyed. ... Between courses those present sang a song, "If a Daughter Meet a Daughter," which was composed by Mrs. Frank W. Merriam, regent of Carantouan Chapter of Waverly and sung to the tune of "Comin' Thru the Rye." ... Among those who attended were the following members of other chapters: ... Mrs. Frank A. Bell, Mrs. Frederick A. Sawyer, Mrs. George B. Knapp of Carantouan Chapter, Waverly; ...

October 9, 1923 Elmira Star-Gazette: Name Officers Mother's Club. Waverly Oct. 11. - The Mother's club of the Lincoln street school met Wednesday afternoon at the school building to elect officers. A musical program was enjoyed. The following officers were elected: President Mrs. L. J. Simons; vice president, Mrs. George Knapp (208 Chemung st. Waverly, NY); secretary, Mrs. Floyd Parks; treasurer, Mrs. Leon MacDonald. (Charlotte Knapp about 7 years old at this time.)

October 25, 1923 Elmira Star-Gazette: Hold October Meeting. Waverly, Oct. 25 - The October meeting of Carantouan Chapter, N. S. D. A. R. will be held Wednesday afternoon, October 31 at the home of Mrs. F. C. Simmons beginning at 3 o'clock. The assisting hostesses are Mrs. F. A. Sawyer, Mrs. A. W. Bouton, Mrs. F. A. Bell and Mrs. George B. Knapp. Reports of the delegates to the State Conference being held this week in Albany will be given.

November 22, 1923 The Binghamton Press: CIVIL WAR VETERAN DIES IN WAVERLY. Waverly, Nov. 22 - George Page, 83 years old, a veteran of the Civil War died at his home, 4 Athens street, early yesterday morning. He is survived by two sons Lewis of Austin, Pa., and Floyd of Buffalo. The funeral will be held from his home at 2 o'clock tomorrow afternoon, the Rev. David MacDonald officiating. Interment will be in East Waverly.

December 19, 1923 Elmira Star-Gazette: Guild Names New Officers. Home Mission Guild Enjoys Annual Banquet at Waverly Presbyterian Church. Hold Business Session. Waverly, Dec. 19 - Fifty members of the Home Mission Guild attended the annual banquet at the Presbyterian Church Wednesday evening. Tables seating four persons were arranged in the banquet hall lighted with red shaded candles and prettily decorated with greenery in keeping with the Christmas season. The retiring president, Mrs. Luther Hardy was presented a willow basket filled with beautiful ferns. At the business meeting it was reported that $400 had been raised during the past year. Of this $150 was appropriated to the General Missionary fund; $100 was reserved for the benevolent fund and a liberal donation was made towards the church building fund. Officers were elected as follows: President, Mrs. Frank Carey; vice president, Mrs. George Knapp; secretary, Mrs. Thomas Clements; treasurer, Mrs. C. S. Scott; chairman of the benevolent committee, Mrs. William Clements.

January 2, 1924 The Evening Leader, Corning, N. Y.: CORNING CLUB DANCE A MOST ENJOYABLE PARTY - About 50 couples were in attendance at the New Year's dance given Monday evening at the Corning Club.... The out of town guests were: ... Mr. and Mrs. Percy L. Lang, Mr. and Mrs. George Knapp and Robert Knapp of Waverly and ...

March 21, 1924 Elmira Star Gazette: Owners of Waverly Silk Mill Announced Plan to Construct New $100,000 Plant. Labor Boom Expected in Village, as More Than 400 Employes Will Be on Factory Payroll - Will Be Biggest Industry. Waverly, March 21 - That a brick building of modern factory construction, 60 x 800 feet in dimensions, will be erected by Frank & Dugan, Waverly's new silk ribbon manufacturers, was announced yesterday. Seven acres of additional land have been acquired by the company. The building will be equipped with the most modern machinery for the manufacture of silk ribbons and will have a capcity for 400 employes. Plan Big Plant. The new building will be double the size of the present mill, which is located on Broad street just east of the Hall & Lyon furniture factory. ... it will become the largest industry in Waverly. ...

March 31, 1924 Elmira Star Gazette: Waverly, March 31. - ... Mr. and Mrs. George Knapp and daughter, Charlotte, returned home Saturday after spending the winter in Orlando, Fla. - ...

March 31, 1924 The Evening Gazette, Port Jervis: Mrs. Caroline Hobart Chase, wife of D. L. Chase, died at 12 o'clock on Saturday night, March 29, at her home, 172 Front street, after a short illness. Deceased was born in Vermont November 10, 1846, and was the daughter of Henry H. Hobart and Sarah Jane Cleveland Hobart. The greater part of her life was spent in Matamoras and Port Jervis. On November 10, 1865, she was united in marriage with Mr. Chase. She was a member of the First Presbyterian Church of Port Jervis. The surviving relatives are her husband; two sons, B. B. Chase, of Daytona, Fla., two daughters, Mrs. Melburn Cole, of Matamoras, and Mrs. B. M. Bosler, of Port Jervis; two sisters, Mrs. William Caskey, of California, and Mrs. Gabriel Evans, of (7 Athens st.) Waverly; five grandchildren and several nephews and nieces. The funeral will take place at the house, 172 Front street, at 1:30 p.m. on Tuesday, April 1, where the services will be conducted by the Rev. C. M. Ackerman. Interment will be in Pine Grove Cemetery. 

1924 George Knapp's father, Joseph Warren knapp died. (Gertrude Slaughter Knapp's father-in-law and Charlotte Slaughter Knapp's paternal grandfather.)

April 22, 1924 Elmira Star Gazette: Joseph W. Knapp. Waverly, April 22. - The funeral of the late Joseph W. Knapp will be held from the home of his son, Harry W. Knapp, Waverly street, Wednesday afternoon at 2 o'clock. The Rev. Albert O. Caldwell, pastor of the Presbyterian church, will officiate. Interment will be in Glenwood cemetery. The remains arrived from Passadena, Calif., this morning. The sad trip across the continent was made by his widow and his son, George Knapp. {George's mother, Frances Knapp, then lived with George and Gertrude Knapp at 208 Chemung St. Waverly from 1924 to around 1934 when Frances went to live with another son, Harry Knapp, where Frances died and her funeral was held at 455 Waverly St., the home of Harry Knapp.}

From 1924 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 7 Athens Street - Henry G. Evans, trucking and Gabriel Evans; at 208 Chemung Street - George B. Knapp and Frances E. Knapp (George Knapp's mother, Frances Knapp, lived with George, Gertrude, and Charlotte Knapp after George's father died in 1924.)

May 3, 1924 Elmira Star-Gazette: Women's Missionary Society Elects Heads. Waverly, May 3 - The Women's Missionary Society of the Waverly Presbyterian Church elected the following officers at its annual meeting Friday: President, Mrs. Fred Sawyer; vice-president, Mrs. Harry Knapp; second vice-president, Mrs. Luther Hardy; secretary, Mrs. Ida Swain; treasurer, Mrs. George B. Knapp.

May 13, 1924 Elmira: Child's Conservation League Meets Tonight. Waverly, May 13 - The Child's Conservation League will meet this evening at the home of Mrs. A. B. Cady (451 Park ave. Waverly, NY). The program will be in charge of Mrs. Gertrude Knapp (of 208 Chemung st. Waverly, NY).

June 12, 1924 The Binghamton Press: Mrs. D. B. Mills entertained a luncheon at the Japanese tea room recently, the members of the party later going to her home, 8 Johnson avenue, where the afternoon was spent In playing bridge. The guests were: Mrs. F. E. Munn (207 Chemung st.), mother of Mrs. Mills, Mrs. C. C. Strong (535 Clark st.), Mrs. H. A. Ellis (458 Waverly st.), Mrs. George Knapp (208 Chemung st.), Mrs. Joseph Knapp, Jr. (97 Center st.), and Mrs. F. E. Slawson (98 Center st.), all of Waverly and Mrs. Edward Chrisfleld of Johnson City.

July 19, 1924 Elmira Star-Gazette: Kirk House Is To Be Opened. Waverly, July 19 - Kirk House is the name of the new addition to the First Presbyterian Church which is now nearing completion. The week from September 28 to October 5 has been set aside for the observances of the opening of the building. A program of events for the seven days is now being arranged. The following chairman have been appointed to lead the several committees: Invitations and entertainment, W. K. Hart; anniversary, Mrs. F. A. Sawyer, program and publicity, Mrs. F. C. Simmons; banquet arrangements, Mrs. George Knapp and Mrs. Fred Driscoll; banquet speakers, Frank A. Bell; rally, Rev. William Barnes and Mrs. Orin Cranmer; missionary rally, Mrs. S. C. Hall; guild night, Mrs. W. G. Carey; Sunday school rally, Miss Alice Fish; community night, Dr. W. M. Hilton. Most of the brick work and outside work on the annex have been completed. The interior work will require most of the summer months to finish. The new structure is an addition to the present edifice on the north and will be used for Sunday school rooms, and assembly hall and general social purposes. The cost of the work will be more than $25,000 which has been subscribed and contributed by members of the Waverly congregation.

July 31, 1924 Elmira Star-Gazette: Waverly, Aug. 1. - The committee in charge of the luncheon which was served to the Waverly golfers and their guests from Ithaca at the Country Club Wednesday, was Mrs. George B. Knapp, chairman, Mrs. John H. Machon and Mrs. E. C. Van Atta.

July 31, 1924 Elmira Star-Gazette: Waverly, Aug. 1. - ... Mr. and Mrs. George B. Knapp (of 208 Chemung st. Waverly, NY) and Mr. and Mrs. F. M. Drisko (of 493 Waverly st.) motored to Cortland Thursday, where they were the guests of Mr. and Mrs. Frederick Wickwire. ...

August 8, 1924 Elmira Star Gazette: Are Guests At Waverly. Waverly, Aug. 8 - Romeyn Berry and L. C. Urquhart of Ithaca were guests at the home of George Knapp in (208) Chemung street Thursday afternoon and evening. - Serve Tea at Tourney. Waverly, Aug. 8 Afternoon tea will be served during the Finger Lakes tournament at Shepard Hills Country Club at the club house. Mrs. David Keefe of Athens, is in charge today and Mrs. F. A. Bell of Waverly will be in charge Saturday. Mrs. George Knapp and Mrs. E. Clair Van Atta were in charge Thursday.

August 23, 1924 Elmira Star-Gazette: Waverly ... Mr. and Mrs. G. B. Knapp and Mrs. A. W. Bouton were in Elmira Friday.

September 4, 1924 Mr. and Mrs. E. D. Sebring visited with Mr. and Mrs. George B. Knapp, of Chemung street.

September 10, 1924 The Scranton Republican: Waverly, N. Y. , Sept. 9 - Mr. and Mrs. George B. Knapp and daughter, Charlotte, have returned from an outing at Eaglesmere.

Mr. and Mrs. Harold Sawyer and son, Murray, left yesterday for New York City, after spending the summer with relatives here.

Mrs. George Fish and daughter, Alice, have returned from Owego.

September 10, 1924 Elmira Star-Gazette: Wanted. Good cook, small family, washing out. 208 Chemung St., Waverly, N. Y.

September 26, 1924 Elmira Star-Gazette: Wanted: Girl for general housework; washing out. Mrs. Geo. B. Knapp, 208 Chemung St., Waverly, N. Y.

September 27, 1924 Elmira Star Gazette: Waverly Presbyterian Church Observes Its 77th Anniversay With Dedication. ... Beginning with the service Sunday morning in the Waverly Presbyterian Church, the dedicatory anniversary rally will continue through the entire week, concluding with a special community service Sunday evening, Oct. 5. Services during the week will have for their purpose the observance of the 77th anniversary of the founding of the church and also the dedication of the recently completed addition. ... With the completion and dedication of the new social hall, the program of Young People's work in the Waverly Presbyterian Church will be greatly benefitted. Several Sunday school rooms have been added in addition to the social room shown in the picture. The room is designed for games in addition to a dining room and auditorium. ... The board of the church waited two years in order that the anniversary might be observed by the dedication of the recently completed new addition to the church. The large social hall, 40 by 60 feet, will accomodate more than 250 persons for dinners and a larger number when used as an auditorium. With its high ceiling, it makes an excellent game room. The social hall is equipped with a stage and two dressing rooms, which can be used for serving or storage rooms. The kitchen is large and completely equipped. Upstairs, there are five class rooms for the Young People's department.

October 16, 1924 Elmira Star Gazette: Attend State Meeting. Waverly, Oct. 16. - Mrs. Frank W. Merriam, Mrs. Cass Williams, Mrs. W. S. Morley, Mrs. George Vastbinder, Mrs. F. L. Howard, Mrs. George Knapp, Mrs. Ralph Bouton are attending the state convention of the Daughters of American Revolution at Hornell.

November 20, 1924 Elmira Star Gazette: Interesting Indian Program Enjoyed by D. A. R. Members. Waverly, Nov. 20 - "The Indians of Our Valley, Andastes; League of the Iroquois," was the title of the unusually interesting paper read by Mrs. Louise Daniell at the meeting of Carantouan chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, at the home of Mrs. Cald Peck on Fulton street Wednesday evening. The paper told of the Susquehannocs or Carantouani, as they were called by the English, who inhabited this region before the advent of the white man. Mrs. Daniell described them as huge specimens of men, often being seven feet in height and developed accordingly. She quoted a manuscript of Jesuit who said when they spoke their voices "seemed to come from the bowels of the earth." They fought continuously with the tribes of the Iroquois and finally conquered them so that they occupied both sides of the Susquehanna river from a short distance north of Waverly to the mouth of the river. A program of Indian music and Indian poetry was a most enjoyable complement to the Indian paper. Percy Weller sang, "By the Waters of the Minnetonka," and a quartet, consisting of Mrs. Wilton Hall, Mrs. Clifford Parshall, Mrs. J. Lyon Hatfield and Mrs. Fred Pittsley, sang an Indian selection entitled, "Torquois Mountain." They were accompanied by Mrs. A. H. Abell. Mrs. Harry Baldwin read the poem composed by the noted California poet, Fred Emerson Brooks, a former Waverly boy. The poem was composed for the home coming celebration in Waverly many years ago and tells the story of the beautiful Indian maiden, "Susquehanna," who married the Indian chieftain, "Tioga," and of how Susquehanna sleeps happily on the breast of Tioga to this day. A brief business session preceded the program during which the regent explained the plans for collecting the Bible records of Tioga county. An appeal was made for contributions for the women detained on Ellis Island which should be sent to either Mrs. Charles Merrill or Mrs. E. C. VanAtta as soon as possible. Contributions of spools of cotton or wool for knitting or crocheting, for crochet and knitting needles and for new goods, nothing less than one yard, from which the women can make aprons or dresses for the children are acceptable. No clothing is wanted. Novel refreshments in the shape of chocolate and vanilla ice cream molded in the shape of turkeys with bright red combs of marachino cherries and standing upon paper lace doilies were passed as Mrs. Weller played "Turkey in the Straw" on the piano. The assisting hostesses were: Mrs. George Vastbinder, Mrs. G. Edson Blizzard, Mrs. Springer, Mrs. Louis Daniell and Mrs. Simmons.

December 24, 1924 Elmira Star-Gazette: Give Christmas Program Tonight. Waverly, Dec. 24 - At the social hall in the Presbyterian Church Christmas exercises will be held this evening in which the children of the church will take part in the program as follows: ... Shepherds, junior boys; angel, Charlotte Knapp (8 years old), cherubs, primary children; Mary, Marjorie Grant; Joseph, Walter Peck, jr.; Wise Men, junior boys. ...

December 30, 1924 Elmira Star Gazette: Former Athlete Visits Waverly. Waverly, Dec.30 - Ralph Knapp, who is engaged in engineering in Pittsburgh, is visiting his mother, Mrs. J. W. Knapp, sr., and his brothers in Waverly. Mr. Knapp was one of the star forwards on the basketball team which held Yale to a tie at the old Waverly opera house court and later was rated as one of the best ends who ever played on a Colgate University football team.  (Ralph is George Knapp's brother. Mrs. J. W. Knapp, sr. was living with George and Gertrude Knapp at 208 Chemung st. Waverly, NY at this time.)

Jan. 20, 1925 The Evening Times - Mrs. George B. Knapp entertained the Monday Afternoon Card Club at her home on Chemung street yesterday afternoon.

1925 New York state census208 Chemung street Waverly, NY: Gertrude 35 yrs. old, with husband, George B. Knapp 39 yrs., no occupation for George, Gertrude listed as housework, daughter, Charlotte S. Knapp 9 yrs. , mother-in-law Frances E. Knapp 79 yrs.;
at 7 Athens street (octagon home); Henry G. Evans 29 yrs., wife Alice 24 yrs., sons Henry jr. 6 yrs. and Richard M. Evans. On other side of octagon home was; Gabriel W. Evans 72 yrs., a millwright and wife Mabel Evans 64 yrs. along with lodgers to them Joel M. Chase 53 yrs. and Elizabeth Chase 55 yrs. (All rented from Mrs. Gertrude Slaughter Knapp, owner of the octagon home.);

at 5 Athens street was George W. Edsall, store manager, and Nina M. Edsall with 3 daughters; Jane 6 yrs., Vivian 4 yrs., Cresta 2 yrs.;

at 3 Athens street was Francis, a railroad switchman and Erma Live with daughter June 1 yr., and Francis's father, Samuel Live 60 yrs;

at 8 Athenst street was Alice Hunt 65 yrs., school teacher;

at 6 Athens street was Julia Haas, 58 yrs., housekeeper, with son Daniel 31 yrs. a machinist and daughter Mary 26 yrs. a stenographer;

at 4 Athens street was Lotta Buley 66 yrs., widow and Elizabeth Becker 61 yrs., widow

Feb. 20, 1925 The Evening Times - Mr. and Mrs. George B. Knapp returned Thursday from a trip to Jacksonville, Fla.

April 15, 1925 Elmira Star Gazette: Miss Altha Hodges Becomes Bride Of Thomas Knapp at Bath Today. Bath, Apri 15 - A pretty wedding was solemnized at 9:30 o'clock this morning at St. Thomas Episcopal Church, when Miss Altha Rua, only daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Erford B. Hodges of this village, became the bride of Thomas Phillips Knapp of Waverly. ...Mr. and Mrs. Knapp left at noon via the D. L. & W. Railroad for a brief wedding trip. After May 1, they will be "at home" at their newly furnished apartment at 311 Chemung street, Waverly. ... The bride is among the attractive and popular young ladies of Bath. A graduate of the Bath High School, and of Elmira College and its school of Music, she is at present a member of the faculty of the Waverly High School. Mr. Knapp is junior member of the firm of H. W. Knapp and Son and is well known in business circles of Waverly and vicinity. Among the guests present were: Mr. and Mrs. H. W. Knapp, Mrs. Joseph Knapp, sr., Mr. and Mrs. George Knapp, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Knapp, jr., Mr. and Mrs. John H. Murray, jr., of Waverly; ...

April 16, 1925 Evening Tribune Times, Hornell, NY: Miss Altha R. Rogers Very Charming Bride. Prominent Bath Girl Becomes Wife of Waverly Business Man at Noon today in Bath. Bath, April 15- A pretty wedding was celebrated at 9:30 o'clcok this morning at St. Thomas Episcopal Church, when Miss Altha Rua, only daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Erford B. Hodges of this village, became the bride of Thomas Phillips Knapp of Waverly. Miss Florence Sedgwick at the pipe organ rendered the several numbers incidental to the ceremony. As the wedding party entered the church, proceeding through the center aisle to the altar, Mendelssohn's Bridal Chorus served as the processional. As the wedding vows were given, Miss Sedgwick played DeKoven's "Oh Promise Me, " and as the wedding party left the church, Wagner's Wedding March from Lohengrin served as the retrocessional. The bride was attended by Miss Lillian Young Tharp of Bath. The bride upon the arm of her father prodeeding to the altar where waited the bridegroom and his best man, Romaine Cole Knapp of Scranton, a brother of the groom. The bride's rector, Rev. Lewis E. Ward impressively performed the ring marriage ceremony, the bride being given in marriage by her father. The bride wore an ensemble of radium blue, with contrasting hat gloves and hose of sand-color; she carried and arm bouquet of white orhcids, roses and lillies of the valley. Miss Tharp, the bridesmaid wore a gown of straw colored satin crepe, and carried pink roses and sweet peas. Following the ceremony, there was a wedding breakfast at the home of the bride's parents in West Washington avenue. The house was elaborate and beautiful in its floral decorations, pink roses and smilax serving as the decorations on the tables. Covers were laid for twelve guests at the table of the bride, and the following friends of the bride gave table service: Misses Elizabeth McMaster, Ellen Lee, Margaret Parker, Josephine McCall, Getrude Wilson. Mr. and Mrs. Knapp left at noon via the D. L. & W. railroad for a brief honeymoon trip. After May 1st, they will be "at home" at their newly furnished apartment at 311 Chemung street in Waverly. A pre-nuptial event in honor of the bride, was a variety shower given on Monday afternoon, by Miss Lillian Young Tharp at the home of her parents, Mr. and Mrs. William H. Tharp. The bride was recipient of many and elaborate wedding gifts. The bride is among the attractive and popular young ladies of Bath. A graduate of the Bath High School, and of Elmira College and its School of Music, she is at present a member of faculty of the Waverly High School. Mr. Knapp is junior member of the firm of H. W. Knapp and Son and is well known in business circles at Waverly and vicinity. Among the guests present were: Mr. and Mrs. H. W. Knapp, Mrs. Joseph Knapp, Sr., Mr. and Mrs. George Knapp, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Knapp, Jr., Mr. and Mrs. John H. Murray, Jr., of Waverly; Miss Thurza H. Taynton and Mrs. John C. Abbott of Elmira; William H. Robinson of Rochester; Mr. Walter H. Lockerby of Ithaca; Mr. and Mrs. Lloyd Woodbury of Hornell; Mr. and Mrs. Edwin M. Foster of Hammondsport; Mrs. Altha V. Woodwoth of Whitney's Point.

May 2, 1925 Elmira Star-Gazette: Church Society Names Officers. Waverly, May 2 - At the annual meeting of the Women's Missionary Society of the Presbyterian church Friday afternoon, officers were elected as follows: president, Mrs. Thomas Clements; vice-presidents, Mrs. Frank Howard, Mrs. Harry Knapp; secretary, Mrs. James Sullivan; treasurer, Mrs. George Knapp.

May 12, 1925 Elmira Star-Gazette: Report Shows Church Grows. Waverly, May 12, - The report of Harry W. Knapp, president of the Board of trustees, at the annual meeting showed that during the year ending May 1, the Presbyterian Church has raised $19,032.87. The budget for church expenses for the coming year has been oversubscribed and every department of the church is in a prosperous condition. Director of young people's work Richard Parker reported that the attendance of the Sunday school has averaged 72 per cent of the enrollment, and that the Christian Endeavor Society was one of the largest and most active in the Binghamton district. Flourishing troops of Boy and Girl Scouts are maintained. Reports were given by Mrs. T. M. Clements for the missionary Society. Mrs. O. D. Cranmer for the Home Mission Guild; Mrs. G. B. Knapp for the Benevolent Society; W. K. Hart for the session and treasurer, Frank W. Merriam. Harry W. Knapp and Theodore Harding were elected trustees and A. C. Palmer, Walter Peck an Dr. William Hilton Elders.

May 14, 1925 Elmira Star-Gazette: Club Enjoys Fine Program. Grade Pupils Present Scene From "Peter Pan" in Connection With Musical Numbers - Plan Last Meeting. Waverly, May 14 - At the meeting of the Mother's Club of the Lincoln street school Wednesday afternoon the pupils of the fourth and fifth grades gave a scene from Barrle's play "Peter Pan." Those who took part were: Phillip Carlyle, Kenneth Robinson, Ralph Smith, Fred Harshbarger, Jeannie Girow, William Corbin, Gerald Gibbs, Virginia Fenderson, James Emerson, Ruth Miller, Geraldine Casterline. A musical program was given consisting of a piano duet by Mrs. William Hall and Mrs. Arthur Abell: vocal solo, Mrs. Clifford Parshall; piano duet, Dorothy Barker and Katherine Frost; piano duet, Margaret Hale and Charlotte Knapp. Refreshments were served by the following committee: Mrs. John Huston, Mrs. J. W. Knapp, jr., Mrs. George Knapp, Mrs. Lloyd Rockwell, Mrs. Ernest Rockwell, Mrs. Wallace Kinney. At the business meeting it was decided to hold the last meeting of the year at Glen Park the second Wednesday in June.

May 19, 1925 Elmira: In Business Fifty Years. Waverly, May 19 - John C. VanAtta, the genial proprietor (proprietor of the business only, not the building) of the "corner drug store" here, is today celebrating the fiftieth anniversary of his business career, which began just 50 years ago in the store of which he is now proprietor. On leaving school, he started as a clerk for the firm Slaughter and Wells. On Mr. Wells' retirement he became a partner in the firm and after the death of Mr. Slaughter became sole proprietor. (Sole proprietor of business only, not the building. Mrs. Gertrude Slaughter Knapp sold the building to Earl Payne in 1946.)

June 19, 1925 Elmira Star Gazette: Prominent Waverly Resident And Rotary Clubman Dead. Frederick Leipziger Expires After Recurrent Attack of Acute Indigestion - Attended Club Meeting Thursday Noon - Prominent Business Man. Waverly, June 19 - Frederick Leipziger, aged fifty-three years, died unexpectedly at his home at 205 Chemung street, Waverly, at 9 o'clock Thursday evening of acute indigestion. He is survived by three sisters: Mrs. Julius Sayles of Waverly with whom he resided; Miss Hattie Leipziger and Miss Pauline Leipziger of New York City; three brothers, Lewis, Leo and Moe of New York City. He was the son of the late Elkan Leipziger of New York City and a nephew of the famous educator, Henry Leipziger also of that city. The decedent was a graduate of the College of the City of New York and after graduation took up the profession of certified public accountant. Seventeen years ago he came to Waverly and became manager of the clothing store of his brother-in-law, the later Julius Sayles. Mr. Leipziger had a severe attack of acute indigestion last Sunday but had so far recovered that he attended the meeting of the Waverly Rotary Club at the Presbyterian Church Thursday noon. He had a recurrent attack Thursday afternoon but his condition was not considered critical. He was lying down last evening and was talking to his sister. She left the room to answer the door bell and returned to find him dying. She immediately called his physician, Dr. Elsworth Gamble but he died before his arrival. Mr. Leipziger was one of Waverly's most respected citizens, a courteous, keen and successful business man, always interested in public affairs and a man upon whose judgment his fellow citizens placed great reliance. He was president of the Waverly Rotary Club, elected in May, having previously held the offices of director and vice-president. He was preparing to attend the International Rotary Club convention at Cleveland last Sunday when taken ill. He was recently appointed chairman to arrange for the entertainment of Tribune fresh air children in Waverly this summer. His passing brings sorrow to the entire community. The funeral will be held from the home at 5 o'clock this afternoon. Rabbi Silverman of Elmira officiating. The body will be taken to New York City latet tonight over the Lehigh.

July 15, 1925 Elmira Star-Gazette: State Officer Addresses Club. Waverly, July 15. - Mrs. Charles Quick of Auburn, president of the New York State Women's Syndodical Society, gave an interesting talk before the Woman's Missionary Society of the Presbyterian Church Tuesday afternoon at a meeting held at the home of Mrs. George Knapp of (208) Chemung street on the schools for mountain whites at Dorland Park and Asheville, S. C. A letter was read from a missionary in China telling of the troubles during the uprising.

July 25, 1925 Elmira Star-Gazette: Gotham Fresh Air Kiddies Will be Guests at Waverly. Waverly, July 25. - A group of New York Tribune fresh air children will be brought to Waverly August 11 to 25. The local committee has secured several homes that will receive the youngsters and it is hoped that others will respond to the appeal. Those who cannot accommodate the children in their homes are asked to furnish money for their board and several nearby farmers have offered to care for them. The children will be brought to Waverly by a representative of the Tribune and will be received at the train by members of the local committee and taken to the home assigned to them. The following is the committee in charge: Superintendent of Schools Percy C. Meserve, Mrs. George B. Knapp, Mrs. H. C. Watrous, Mrs. Theodore P. Snook, Mrs. Harold Van Nest, Mrs. L. S. Betowski, Mrs. John Riley, Miss Alice Devlin, Mrs. E. C. French, Mrs. Charles Tracy, Mrs. H. B. Myhan, Mrs. Frank Hogan, Mrs. Lew Simonds, Mrs. F. C. Simmons.

July 28, 1925 Elmira Star Gazette: Landmarks Torn Down. Waverly, July 28 - The sheds on Elizabeth street, next to the Spencer Glove Company building, are being torn down and will be replaced by an up-to-date garage by Guy Kinsman who is now located on Waverly street. The sheds were formerly connected with the old Tioga hotel and are among Waverly's oldest landmarks.

August 28, 1925 The Binghamton Press: Real Estate For Sale. Auction Sales. Attention I will sell at public auction, the large beautiful home of Percy L. Lang, 202 Chemung St. (Next door to the west of 208 Chemung st.) Waverly, N. Y., on Wednesday, September 2, 1925 at 3 o'clock p. m., standard time. Residence consists of 13 rooms finished in quartered oak and mahogany. The exterior is wood and stucco. The third floor of this home could easily be arranged to be made into six rooms, making in all 24 rooms, and would make an ideal location for a tourists' inn, clubhouse, or a convalescent home, and is located in the main thoroughfare between Buffalo and New York City, and where values of location are constantly on the increase.This property could be made to have a wonderful income on the investment; large veranda on two sides of home; lawn all splendidly shrubbed and terraced including 6-car garage, and has 231 feet frontage on Chemung St. This is one of the most beautiful homes in Waverly and is equipped with all modern conveniences. The reason for this property being sold is ill health. Terms of sale; The purchaser of this home will be required to pay on day of sale at least $1,500.00 of the purchase price either in cash, certified check or New York Draft. Balance can be arranged, we believe, to suit purchaser. For terms and full particulars communicate with either Frank L. Howard, Attorney, address First National Bank Bldg., Waverly, New York, or J. G. Ideman, Auctioneer, 538 Powers Bldg., Rochester, N.Y.

Auction. - An unrestricted sale of very high class household furniture and furnishings belonging to Percy L. Lang, 202 Chemung St., Waverly, N. Y., will be held at the above named address, Wednesday, September 2, 1925, at 10 o'clock a. m., standard time, at public auction. Merchandise consists of 30 high grade Oriental rugs, several pieces of antiques; a very exquisite lot of mahogany furniture; single beds; dressers, chiffoniers, wardrobes; highboy; rockers; library tables; overstuffed furniture; several beautiful pictures in water colors and steel engravings by the finest artists; several genuine sets of French Haviland china; glassware; genuine mahogany dining room suite; buffet; china cabinet; table; drop leather seat chairs; large assortment of glassware; silverware; large lot of linen; bed linen, wool blankets; comforters; spreads; pillows and pillow cases; spreads; mahogany beds, springs and mattresses; drapes; portieres; library consists of the following volumes and by many of the world's famous authors such as Dumas, Balzac, Carlyle, Dickens, Emerson, Muhlbach, and several other French writers; library appraised at $2300; large assortment of firearms, ancient and antique and a large assortment of other house hold furnishings including all cooking utensils, kitchen tables and chairs; kitchen range; coal range, gas range; porch furniture, etc., all appraised at $15,000. The above merchandise is in excellent condition and warrants the best of patronage. Waverly lies 21 miles east of Elmira. This merchandise can be inspected the day prior to the sale. All merchandise sold as is. Terms cash. A deposit is required on day of sale either in cash, New York draft, or a certified check. All merchandise will be checked out immediately after sale. Percy L. Lang, Owner; Frank L. Howard Attorney; Address, National Bank Building, Waverly, N.Y. All roads lead to Waverly on above date. For particulars communicate with J. G. Ideman, auctioneer, 538 Powers Building, Rochester, N.Y.

October 25, 1925 Elmira Star-Gazette: Is to Report On Convention: Waverly, Oct. 28. - A meeting of Carantouan chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, will be held at the home of Mrs. F. A. Sawyer on (416) Chemung street, Wednesday, November 4, when Mrs. Frank L. Howard and Mrs. George B. Knapp (of 208 Chemung st.) will make their reports on the state convention recently held. A paper on "The Expansion of Europe" will be read by Mrs. Cass M. Williams. The assisting hostesses will be Mrs. George B. Knapp, Mrs. Jessie Weller, Mrs. George Vastbinder, Mrs. Louis Daniel and Mrs. W. S. Morley.

October 28, 1925 Elmira Star-Gazette: Is to Report On Convention. Waverly, Oct. 28,- A meeting of Carantouan Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, will be held at the home of Mrs. F. A. Sawyer on Chemung street, Wednesday, November 4, when Mrs. Frank L. Howard and Mrs. George B. Knapp will make their reports on the state convention recently held. A paper on "The Expansion of Europe" will be read by Mrs. Cass M. Williams. The assisting hostesses will be Mrs. George B. Knapp, Mrs. Jessie Weller, Mrs. George Vastbinder, Mrs. Louis Daniel and Mrs. W. S. Morley.

December 14, 1925 Elmira Star Gazette: Tearing Down Old Landmark. Waverly, Dec. 14 - The work of tearing down the two-story frame house on Fulton street, adjacent to the postoffice, until recently occupied by Fred Brown (431 Fulton st.), to make way for a two-story business block, was commenced this morning by Mr. Brown. The new block will be divided into three stores and three living apartments, while Mr. Brown will also add another story to the store already occupied by Cass M. Williams on the south of the new block, to be arranged into a living apartment. The house now being torn down is one of Waverly's landmarks and was occupied for many years by the late James Bray, for years the publisher of the Waverly Free Press.

1926 - 1930, at 337 Broad Street, Dr. Frederick E. Snook, dentist (from Don Merrill's collection)

January 12, 1926 The Evening Times - Miss Sarter of Corning is caring for Mrs. George B. Knapp, who is convalescing at her home on Chemung street from typhoid fever.

January 16, 1926 Elmira Star-Gazette: Maurice Again Heads Waverly Country Club. Waverly, Jan. 16. - Archie S. Maurice of Athens was re-elected president of the Shepard Hills Country Club by the directors following the annual meeting of the members at the village hall here last evening. Mr. Maurice has been president of the club for several years, and has served with credit to himself and the organization. The financial report of the club made last night by Treasurer Frank L. Howard showed the organization to be in the best condition in its history, and the report was heard by the members present with a feeling of gratification that the club appears to be now upon a firm financial footing for the first time in its history, with a substantial sum in the treasury after payment of some of the indebtedness. President Maurice's report was also exceptionally good showing what had been done during the last year in the way of improvements and outlining some for the future. A resolution was adopted by the members to the effect that after notice has been officially given the clubhouse shall be closed for the winter months and can only be used by members after they have obtained permission from the house committee. The members also went on record as favoring the employment of a professional seven months out of the year, a new step in the life of the club. The name of Fay Albee, who has acted in that capacity on and off for the last several years, but only on a part time basis, was most frequently heard. However, at a meeting of the directors following the annual meeting, President Maurice appointed a committee of which he himself is the chairman to engage a professional and among those to be interviewed, of course, will be Mr. Albee, who is a resident of Waverly. The other members of the committee are Ray L. Gebhardt, George B. Knapp (of 208 Chemung st. Waverly, NY) and Frederick E. Lyford. Other officers to the club for the ensuing year are George B. Knapp, vice-president; Frank L. Howard, treasurer, re-elected; Edson A. Tilton, secretary, re-elected. The directors for the ensuing year are all the same as last with the exception of George B. Knapp, who succeeds Philip Higgins, to whom president Maurice paid a tribute for his work for the club in past years. The directors are: Frank L. Howard, George B. Knapp, Frederick E. Lyford and Harold C. Watrous, Waverly; Ray L. Gebhardt, L. W. Dorsett, Dr. E. E. Williams and Leon B. Shedden, Sayre; A. S. Maurice, David A. Keefe, Walter T. Page and J. M. Felt of Athens.

February 12, 1926 Elmira Star Gazette: Chimney Fire Causes Damage. Waverly, Feb. 12 - The fire department was called to the home of Mrs. D. D. Knapp at 459 Waverly street at 9:35 o'clock this morning, where an overheated chimney had burned a hole through the dining room ceiling and into the flooring and partitions of the second floor. Mrs. Knapp was taken to the home of H. W. Knapp, a few doors away by the fire police. She was not affected by the smoke, but is more than 80 years old and it was thought best to remove her from the building. The blaze was easily extinguished with the use of chemicals. The damage will amount to about $150, and is covered by insurance.

February 25, 1926 Elmira Star-Gazette: Chapter Names Delegates To Big Congress. Waverly, Feb. 25. - Delegates and alternates to the Continental Congress to be held in April in Washington were elected at an open meeting of Carantouan chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, at the home of Mrs. Frank A. Bell on (305) Chemung street last evening. It was one of two open meetings held by the chapter during the year. Mrs. F. A. Sawyer was elected delegate to the congress, while the alternates are Mrs. W. S. Morley, Mrs. James H. Sullivan, Mrs. Cass Williams, Mrs. George B. Knapp, Miss Jean Merriam and Miss Grace Hicks. A delightful musical program was given during the evening, while other business matters were discussed by the chapter, after which a social hour was enjoyed.

April 10, 1926 The Binghamton Press: Percy L. Lang Of Waverly Is Dead. Leading Business Man Of Tioga County Passes Away in Rochester. Wavery. April 10 - Percy L. Lang of this village died at the home of his daughter, Mrs. Wilmot Hall, in Rochester, Friday morning. Mr. Lang was 65 years old and is survived by four daughters, Mrs. Hall of Rochester, Mrs. George Dayton of Towanda, Mrs. Harold Clarey and Mrs. Phyllis Fitts of Binghamton; a son, Percy, Jr., of Rochester, and an aunt, Mrs. Maria Thomas of Owego. He was the son of Andrew J. Lang, founder of the old Waverly Academy. He was graduated from Yale University. He was a member of the football team and champion varsity wrestler. On his return from college he was for a time engaged in the hardware business. Later he entered the First National Bank, of which he was a director and vice president. He was actively engaged in the bank until three years ago when he was taken ill. He was for years president of the board of directors of Craig Colony. During the war he was state director of the sale of war certificates. Mr. Lang was a member of Waverly Lodge, F. A. M., of this village and St. Omer Commandery, Elmira. He also was a member of the A. A. O. N. M. Shrine. He was a charter member of the Tioga Hose company and served on the village Board of Trustees and also the Board of Education. He was one the of founders of the Country Club. He was a member of the Waverly Presbyterian church. The body was brought to Waverly today and the funeral will be held from the Waverly Presbyterian church Sunday afternoon.

April 13, 1926 Elmira Star Gazette: Buys Beautiful Waverly Home. W. R. Stebbins has purchased of W. Bartlow the residence, 475 Waverly street and will take possession at once. Mr. Stebbins will reside in the house and will remodel the first floor to be used as a funeral home. The house was built and formerly was occupied by Frank L. Howard and is one of the most valuable properties in the village.

May 27, 1926 Elmira Star Gazette: Waverly, May 27. - The marriage of Miss Mary Haas, daughter of Mrs. Julia Haas of (6) Athens street, Waverly, and Clarence Carey, son of Justice of the Peace William P. Carey of Sayre, was solemnized this morning at 11:30 o'clock in the parochial residence of St. James' church, by the Rev. Edward F. Dwyer. The couple was attended by Miss Catherine Lundergan of New York and Daniel Haas. A reception and wedding breakfast was served at the Brownie tea room after the ceremony. Mr. Carey has secured a position in the Adirondacks and Mr. and Mrs. Carey will spend the summer there.

July 24, 1926 Elmira Star-Gazette: Soon to Sail. Waverly, July 24. - Ralph Knapp, graduate of Waverly High School and Colgate University, who at present is visiting his brothers, Harry (455 Waverly st.), Joseph (97 Center st.) and George Knapp (208 Chemung st.) of Waverly will sail Monday from New York City on route for Poland, where he will have charge of a three-year engineering contract in the construction of reservoirs and laying water mains for Polish cities. He is in the employ of the Uhlen & Company Construction Company of New York City.

August 3, 1926 Elmira Star Gazette: Shepard Offers Land for Street. Waverly, Aug.3. - I. Prentice Shepard appeared before the Village Board of Trustees last evening and offered to dedicate a street extending from Pine Street to the Elmira state road. The new street would start on Pine Street just south of the Grove and would connect with the state road south of the Iron Kettle. Mr. Shepard said that three handsome new residences were already planned for this location. He also offered to dedicate land for a street to connect the proposed new street with Elmira Street at the west line of the west end school building. The matter was referred to the Street Committee.

August 3, 1926 Elmira Star Gazette: Waverly, Aug.3. - After an extended executive session last evening, the village board of trustees adopted an ordinance restricting parking on Chemung Street and Lincoln Avenue to one half hour, with the exception of weddings and funerals, and with the further stipulation that no cars shall park opposite each other. Parking on Broad Street between Fulton and Clark Streets was also restricted to 20 minutes, while parking was entirely prohibited on the south side of Tioga Street. The ordinance is effective Sept. 1, at noon, and provides for a $5 penalty for each violation. Village Clerk Arthur S. Kitchen presented his resignation to take effect Sept. 1 and H. C. Watrous was appointed to fill the vacancy. Mr. Kitchen and his father are disposing of their Broad Street business preparatory to moving to Florida to reside. Last night's meeting was adjourned until next Monday evening when the completed tax roll will be presented.

August 16, 1926 Binghamton Press And Leader: A consolidation of the Empire Grain and Elevator Co. of this city, and the Tioga Mill and Elevator Co. of Waverly, has been effected, according to announcement made today.... The Tioga Mill and Elevator Co. of Waverly, is the largest concern of its kind in Tioga county. This company owns six and a half acres of land in the eastern part of the village of Waverly and possesses splendid switching facilities with the D. L. & W., Erie and Lehigh Valley railroads in that place. The company manufactures many patented feed formulas which are said to be widely used among stock and poultry growers throughout the country. Arthur C. Palmer, now president of the Tioga Mill and Elevator Co., will be president of the new concern. President L. M. Wilson of the Empire Grain and Elevator Co. of this city will be vice president. The capitalization of the new company will be $500,000. ...

October 14, 1926 Elmira Star Gazette: Knapp Writes Interesting Letter On Conditions Found in Poland. Waverly, Oct. 14 - Ralph Knapp, son of Mrs. J. W. Knapp of (208 Chemung st.) Waverly and who sailed for Poland early in August as an engineer in charge of construction for Ulm & Company, constructing engineers of New York City, has written an interesting letter to his mother. Mr. Knapp is a graduate of the Waverly High School and Colgate University and his firm has extensive contracts in Poland, covering a series of years, chief of which is constructing reservoirs for public water supplies for several large cities, an innovation in Poland. He is located near the Russian boundary and he states that the weather is bleak and cold. He has witnessed very few storms and the work has been delayed but little. His firm has 2,400 men in its employ and on some of the jobs are working night and day. He says the Polish laborers are great talkers and fighters and that they wear the same clothing for years and that they use patches of many colors. Mr. Knapp states that when war is declared grandfather, father, and son all respond. Mr. Knapp says there are no oranges or grape fruit to be procured and many other articles of food common in America are missing and it is hard to get accustomed to the bill of fare. Of the population of 30,000,000 about 30 per. cent are Jews. Katawice, a city of 150,000 is the most modern and is very clean and orderly. Poland as a nation under its own government is getting better and better and the coal strike in England is a great factor in its prosperity. Ulm & Company's constructive program covers four years and will add materially in the development of the natural resources of Poland. Mr. Knapp says that he is enjoying his experience very much. (Ralph is George Knapp's brother and Gertrude Slaughter Knapp's brother-in-law.)

October 15, 1926 Elmira Star-Gazette: Wanted. Load to Newark, N. J., or en route about Oct. 25. Return load from Rochester Nov. 1. 3-ton van. H. G. Evans 7 Athens Street Waverly, N. Y.

November 27, 1926 The Binghamton Press: Laymen of high standing in their communities will serve on the 35 or more committees that will promote in the various churches of the Presbytery of Binghamton the movement to raise $100,000 as part of the $15,000,000 national fund to provide adequate pensions for ministers and missionaries of the church. Headed by William G. Phelps of this city as general chairman, the movement is gaining impetus among the churches of the Presbytery. ...Several church committees have been appointed, others are in the process of being formed. The committees already set up are as follows: ... First Presbyterian church , Waverly - W. S. Hall, chairman; L. D. Atwater, H. C. Baldwin, F. A. Bell, C. W. Carroll, S. C. Hall, L. C. Hardy, W. K. Hart, Dr. W. M. Hilton, E. E. F. Jung; H. W. Knapp, George B. Knapp, John H. Murray, Sr., A. C. Palmer, Walter Peck, E. A. Tilton, Wallace S. Young. ...

January 22, 1927 The Binghamton Press: The assessors of the town of Barton have begun work in the village of Waverly, changing the assessment of many village properties to nearer the actual market value. This is being done in conformance with the orders from the Tioga county supervisors, who voted in December to raise the assessment on all real-prorperty in the county to its market value. The assessors are assisted by Charles H. Snyder of Albany, an expert from the state tax bureau. The assessors have been supplied with a list of all the sales of properties during the last two years to aid them in their work, and these properties are being assessed at the price for which they were sold.

February 10, 1927 Elmira Star-Gazette: School Honor Lists Given. Waverly, Feb. 10 - The honor rolls for the grade schools during the last period follows: ... Second Honor Roll. Grove School ...Lincoln Street:... West End School: Fourth grade - Winifred Jones, Irene Lofstrom, Evan Lougher, Helen Lucy, Gertrude Macdonald. Fifth grade - Myron Flynn, John Hurley, Paul Seidel, William Wilson, Robert Brainard, Mary Conley, Margaret Hall, Catherine Johnson, Charlotte Knapp, Charlotte Lewis, Helen Sullivan, Lena Shaff, Grace Wright, Robert Williams. East Waverly ...

February 23, 1927 Elmira Star Gazette: One Pony Planer - Combination rip and cut off saw, ten horse electric motor, shafting and belting. Guy S. Warren, 300 Chemung St., Waverly, N.Y.

Video - "Bits Of Waverly" Produced by Edward J. Pash, Waverly, NY: Scenes from 1927

April 7, 1927 The Evening Leader, Corning, N. Y.: Erie Railroad Magazine Has Interesting Story of Origin of Names of Cities on the Road. The March issue of the Erie Railroad Magazine includes an interesting article on the origin of names of various stations on that railroad in this section including the city of Corning. "Corning was named for Erastus Corning of Albany, capitalist and first president of the New York Central Railroad Company. ... "Waverly - In the early days the little settlement was called Villemont; in the forties the name was changed to Waverley. In 1854 when the village was incorporated and at the suggestion, it is said, of J. E. Hallett, a lover of the novels of Sir Walter Scott, the "e" was dropped and Waverly became the official name of the village. ...

May 2, 1927 Elmira Star Gazette: Golfers Answer Call of Spring. Waverly, May 2. - Bright sunshine Saturday and Sunday attracted many members of the Shepard Hills Country Club to the golf course and club house. The grounds are in excellent shape and the opening was two weeks earlier than a year ago. The greens committee under the chairmanship of George B. Knapp had everything in readiness for the players. The clubhouse had also been renovated and locker rooms and shower baths prepared for the convenience of the members.

May 10, 1927 Elmira Star-Gazette: Planing Mill Outfit complete, with 10-horse motor, shafting and belting complete. Guy S. Warren, 300 Chemung St., Waverly, N.Y. At home after 5:30.

May 19, 1927 Elmira Star-Gazette: Girl Scout Members. Waverly, May 19 - Mrs. Harry Eisenhart (44 Pine st.), Mrs. George Knapp (208 Chemung st.) and Mrs. W. N. Best (202 Chemung st.) are the Waverly members of the Bradford County Girl Scout Council. Mrs. Eisenhart has been elected deputy scout commissioner.

July 26, 1927 Elmira Star Gazette: Country Club Buys Six-Acre Property. Waverly, July 26 - Shepard Hills Country Club has purchased of William O'Brien six acres of land north of their present holding along the Elmira road. The plot is known as "The Pines" on account of the splendid row of pines which extends the entire length north and south. Mr. O'Brien was loath to part with the land but did so as an act of courtesy to the country club which wanted to buy it badly. The new acquisition will add a very attractive plot to the Country Club property.

July 28, 1927 Elmira Star Gazette: Old Erie House, Historic Landmark, to be Removed; Once Terminal for Stages. Waverly, July 28 - Reported purchase by Sullivan Garfield of South Waverly, of the old Erie House, just across the Erie tracks in South Waverly, has aroused much interest in Waverly and the Southern Tier. The old hotel is located on Loder Street. It is reported Mr. Garfield plans to demolish the structure. With the demolition of this building, Waverly will lose another of its old landmarks, several of which have been torn down within the past few years. The Erie House was formerly known as the "Bradford House" and was erected at the corner of Erie and Bradford Streets in Pennsylvania by Jacob Reel, grandfather of Mrs. John W. Storms of Bradford Street, South Waverly, shortly after the Erie Railroad first came through Waverly in 1849. For many years the Bradford House bore an excellent reputation and was the chief hostelry in this section, drawing a large percentage of its patronage from the travelers who came to town over the then new railroad. The village of Waverly grew rapidly after the coming of the railroad. Before that time, most of the homes in this section were situated in Factoryville, now East Waverly. Between Factoryville and "Loder Summit," the name of the postoffice situated on the Chemung River road in the front yard of the present Shepard farmhouse, stage coaches between Owego and Elmira passed very few houses. When stage coaches were the chief means of travel, coaches made regular runs between Owego and Elmira and between Towanda and Elmira. The stage coaches from these two routes always stopped at "Pierce's Tavern," situated near the present I. P. Shepard residence on Chemung Street and while the passengers and drivers received liquid or more substantial refreshments, the mail to Athens was delivered on horseback and mail from Athens to Elmira or Towanda was brought back to the stage coach in the same manner. With the coming of the Erie it was soon seen that a hostelry was needed nearer the tracks and for this reason the Bradford House was erected and for several years this hotel enjoyed a large patronage. But with the growth of the village after the coming of the railroad and the establishment of the business section through Broad Street, where it still exists, two large hotels were soon erected on the street and the Synder House at the corner of Fulton and Broad streets and the American Hotel, which stood where the Amusu theater now stands, drew much of the patronage which had previously made the Bradford House their headquarters in this section. After the death of Mr. Reel, the original owner, the hotel passed into other hands and rapidly lost its prestige. The place was refused a license to sell intoxicants by the State of Pennsylvania and was moved from the corner of Bradford Street to the northwest corner of the lot where it now stands, half in Pennsylvania and half in New York State. A New York State license was procured and the bar stood for a number of years on the New York State side of the big lobby. The fact that the building stood on the state line has been a source of much trouble, both to New York State and Pennsylvania authorities and many a culprit has sought safety from the law in the building and defied arrest by being across the "state line" whenever officers from either state visited the place.

August 11, 1927 Elmira Star-Gazette: Wanted - Woman for general housework. Good wages. Washing out. Mrs. George B. Knapp 208 Chemung Street Waverly, N. Y. Telephone 413 aug.11-12-13.

August 13, 1927 Elmira Star-Gazette: Wanted - Woman for general housework. Good wages. Washing out. Mrs. George B. Knapp 208 Chemung Street Waverly, N. Y. Telephone 413 aug.11-12-13

August 25, 1927 Elmira Star-Gazette: Ithacans Defeat Waverly Golfers. Waverly, Aug. 25 - Ithaca golfers defeated the Shepard Hills Country Club team here Wednesday afternoon 23 to 22. Luncheon at the clubhouse, under the direction of Mrs. George Knapp, chairman of the club auxiliary, and dinner at the Iron Kettle after the match, were enjoyed.

September 17, 1927 The Binghamton Press, Saturday Evening: Beauty Seeking Drivers Urged to Travel West. Colorful Scenery Marks Trip Between Here and Corning. Round Trip 155 Miles.... Twenty-five miles, 40 miles, 42 miles, and Waverly where John Shepard, hardy pioneer, in 1796, purchased a thousand acres of land and set up a trading post. Soon a sawmill was set up, then came a group of houses, the beginning of Waverley. But the course is westward. Forty-two, 50, 59 miles, and Elmira is reached. ... The routing is simple. Liberty Highway is followed the entire distance. The towns in the progress westward are: Vestal, Apalachin, Owego, Tioga Center, Smithboro, Barton, Waverly, Chemung, Lowman, Elmira, Horseheads, Big Flats, Corning.

On October 8, 1927, George Brinker Knapp died. George's parents: Joseph Warren Knapp and Frances Durkee Knapp. George had an Uncle, Arthur Brinker, husband of his Aunt Josephine Knapp Brinker. This must be where George's middle name came from after his Uncle. George's paternal grandparents were Mary Ann Shackleton Knapp and William Knapp. A cousin to George was Frank L. Howard who married Josephine Frisbee Howard.

October 10, 1927 Waverly: George B. Knapp Killed By Charge from Shotgun. Prominent Waverly Man Dies Instantly When Gun Is Accidentally Discharged At Home Here. George Brinker Knapp, accidentally shot himself at 5:30 Saturday afternoon in his bedroom at his home, 208 Chemung street. Mr. Knapp has been ill for several weeks and had only recently returned from Glen Springs Sanitarium, Watkins Glen where he had been receiving treatments. He was much improved in health, however, and was making plans to start on a brief squirrel hunting trip with friends this week. Mr. Knapp had just taken a bath and returned to his room to dress. Mrs. Knapp, his wife, was on the first floor of the home and was making preparations to take Mr. Knapp for a short automobile ride before dinner. Hearing a noise as if someone had fallen, Mrs. Knapp hastened to her husband's room and found him lying upon his back on the floor with a large wardrobe trunk, which stood in the room, over turned and lying partially on Mr. Knapp. A shotgun, which had been lying across the top of the trunk and which Mr. Knapp had been cleaning in readiness for the hunting trip, had been fired, probably as the trunk had fallen and the charge had entered the body of her husband, passing through his chest. Dr. F. H. Spencer, the family physician, was summoned and found that life was extinct. He called Coroner J. T. Tucker who made an examination and decided that death was accidental. The decedent was born in Waverly in November, 1885, and had resided in this village all his life. He was engaged for a short time in the dry goods business with his father but had retired from active business life some years ago. Mr. Knapp, while not taking an active part in the civic life of the village on account of ill-health, was one of the best known citizens of this community. He was a member of the First Presbyterian church of Waverly; a member of Tioga Hose company and a charter member of the Shepard Hills Country club. In the latter organization, Mr. Knapp always had taken a very active part. Being an ardent golf enthusiast, he had played in most of the tournaments of the past few years and for a time was chairman of the tournament committee and also of the greens committee. He was a director of the Citizen's National Bank. He is survived by his widow, Mrs. Gertrude Slaughter Knapp; one daughter, Charlotte at home; his mother, Mrs. Joseph W. Knapp Sr., who resided with her son, and three brothers, Harry and Joseph of Waverly and Ralph, at present in Warsaw, Poland. Funeral services will be held at the late home Tuesday at 2:30 and will be private. Rev. Albert O. Caldwell, pastor of the Presbyterian church, will officiate and interment will be in Glenwood cemetery.

October 10, 1927 Elmira Star-Gazette: GEORGE B. KNAPP FUNERAL TUESDAY; Shock to Valley. Waverly, Oct. 10. - The funeral of George Brinker Knapp, whose tragic death occurred Saturday afternoon at his home, 208 Chemung Street, will be held at the home Tuesday at 2:30 p. m. The Rev. Albert O. Caldwell, minister of the Waverly Presbyterian Church, will officiate. Burial will be in Glenwood Cemetery. Mr. and Mrs. Knapp were preparing to go for an automobile ride, and Mr. Knapp had gone upstairs to prepare for it. Mr. Knapp had been preparing to go hunting and had his shot gun out getting it ready. In some manner it exploded. Mrs. Knapp, hearing a noise as if something had fallen, rushed upstairs to find her husband's body lifeless. Dr. F. Hallett Spencer was called but life was extinct and he immediately notified Coroner John T. Tucker who pronounced death due to accidental shooting. Mr. Knapp was 41 years of age and is survived by his widow; one daughter, Charlotte; his mother, Mrs. Joseph W. Knapp, sr., and three brothers, Harry W. and Joseph W., of Waverly, and Ralph W. Knapp, who is in Poland. Mr. Knapp took an active part in the Shepard Hills Country Club, holding several offices in that club, at the time of his death being vice president. He was a member of the Presbyterian Church, Tioga Hose Company and Loyal Order of Moose. He was not in active business, but was a director of the Citizens' National Bank. Mr. Knapp had a pleasing personality and had a host of friends.

October 13, 1927 Elmira Star-Gazette: George B. Knapp. Waverly, Oct. 12. - Funeral of the late George B. Knapp was held from the home on Chemung Street, Tuesday afternoon. The Rev. Albert O. Caldwell officiated. The bearers were Philip Finch, Robert Fish and Edgar Sebring, of Elmira, Cecil Berry, Wilton Hall and Harold Watrous, of Waverly. Burial was in Glenwood cemetery.

October 14, 1927 Elmira Star-Gazette: Directors Take Action On Death Of Geo. B. Knapp. Waverly, Oct. 14. - The board of directors of the Citizens' National Bank Thursday adopted resolutions on the death of the late George Brinker Knapp, a member of the board up to the time of his death. The resolutions: "Whereas, God, in his wise providence has seen fit to remove from our midst our associate and fellow director, George B. Knapp, therefore, be it. "Resolved, that we, the Directors of the Citizens' National Bank of Waverly, New York, express our profound and sincere appreciation that in the death of Mr. Knapp this Bank and the Community have lost one who was true in the fulfillment of all his obligations, earnest in every duty, valued for his ready co-operation, admired for his sterling qualities, and beloved as a genial and loyal friend and associate, leaving a void difficult to fill, and be it further "Resolved, that this resolution be spread upon the minutes of the Citizen's National Bank of Waverly, New York, and copies thereof be sent to the widow and mother of the late Mr. Knapp expressing our great sympathy for them in their bereavement.

1927 (circa 1927) Cooperstown NY The Glimmerglass: At The Fenimore The following guests registered at Hotel Fenimore on Friday; Mr. and Mrs. Walter R. Hill, Mr. and Mrs. J. M. Walsh, and R. L. Smith of New York City; Mr. and Mrs. N. S. Carland and Miss Betty Carland of Nutley, N. J.; Mrs. F. I. Burnell of South Norwalk, Conn.; Mrs. M. A. Gibbons and Mrs. M. H. Walsh of Scranton, Pa.; Mr. and Mrs. Louis C. Pilat and family of Ossining; Miss C. V. Donnelly and Dr. E. W. Masten of Albany; Miss Cecile Little of Glen Ridge, N. J.; Miss Grace Merrich of East Orange, N. J.; Mr. and Mrs. J. A. Firsching and son of Utica; Mr. and Mrs. A. C. Palmer (329 Chemung st. Waverly, NY), Mr. and Mrs. Chas. F. Kellogg (468 Pennsylvania ave. Waverly, NY), Mrs. F. B. Kinter, Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Knapp, Jr. (97 Center st. Waverly, NY), Mrs. G. B. Knapp (208 Chemung st. Waverly, NY) and the Misses Elnora and Charlotte Knapp (208 Chemung st.) of Waverly; Mr. and Mrs. D. R. Mixsell, Miss Ruth Walter and M. F. Mixsell of Rochester; A. O. Jillson of Grand Rapids, Mich.; E. R. Martin of Binghamton. Miss Flora Kemp of New York City arrived yesterday for a week's stay. Mrs. D. J. Schofield and mother and Mrs. Adolph Hoerner of St. Louis, Mo., on Friday.

From 1928 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 7 Athens Street - Henry G. Evans trucking and Gabriel W. Evans; at 208 Chemung Street - Mrs. Gertrude S. Knapp, Frances E. Knapp wid Joseph W. b, Ronald C. Van Atta

February 23, 1928 Elmira Star-Gazette: Washington's Birthday Observed By D. A. R. Chapter at Luncheon. Waverly, Feb. 23 - Carantouan Chapter, D. A. R., celebrated Washington's birthday with a luncheon meeting at the home of Mrs. Josephine Vastbinder on (443) Fulton Street Wednesday afternoon. ... At the business meeting Mrs. Frederick A. Sawyer was elected delegate to the Memorial Continental Congress to be held in April at Washington. The following alternates were elected: Mrs. George Vastbinder, Mrs. Cass Williams, Mrs. George Knapp (208 Chemung st.), Mrs. Charles Merrill, Miss Grace Hick, Miss Jean Merriam. ...

April 19, 1928 Elmira Star-Gazette: Plan Bridge Tea. Waverly, April 19. - A bridge tea wil be held Friday, April 27 afternoon and evening at the home of Mrs. W. N. Best, (202) Chemung Street for the benefit of the Girl Scout Council of Waverly. Mrs. Gertrude Knapp will be the assisting hostess.

July 27, 1928 The Binghamton Press: Mrs. Mills Gives Luncheon. Mrs. Daniel B. Mills entertained at luncheon at her home, 8 Johnson avenue, yesterday afternoon for several out-of-town guests. They were Mrs. Frank E. Munn (207 Chemung st.), Mrs. Fred Slawson (98 Center-Centre st.), Mrs. Joseph Knapp, Jr. (97 Centre st.), Mrs. George Knapp (208 Chemung st.), Mrs. Louise Benson, Mrs. William Clements (436 Pennsylvania ave.), all of Waverly, and Wallace Slawson of White Plains.

August 21, 1928 Elmira Star-Gazette: Waverly Couple Will Observe Fiftieth Wedding Anniversary. Waverly. Aug. 21. -Mr. and Mrs. G. W. Evans of 7 Athens Street, Waverly, will celebrate their golden wedding anniversary at their home on Saturday, with a reception for their friends and neighbors. Mr. and Mrs. Evans have lived on the same street since coming to Waverly 35 years ago, and enjoy the acquaintance of a wide circle of friends throughout this community. They reside in the same house with their son, H. G. Evans, well known truckman, and his family, at the present time, but formerly lived across the street from their present address. Mr. Evans has been a reader of The Star-Gazette for 35 years. Mr. Evans but recently returned from nearly a year's work as millwright in erecting one of the largest mills in the country at Geneva, and he and his wife are now planning the celebration of their fiftieth wedding anniversary. Mr. Evans has been both a millwright and a miller, and is equally proficient in either trade, although he has been working as a millwright now for many years past. Mr. and Mrs. Evans were married at Sherman, Wayne County, Pa., on August 25, 1878, by Mr. Evans' father, the Rev. George Evans, a Baptist minister, who came to the country with his family from England. Both Mr. and Mrs. Evans have been lifelong Baptists, and are communicants at the Waverly Baptist Church. They resided in Sherman for a time, and then moved to Elkland, Pa., where they resided several years, and 35 years ago they came to Waverly, where Mr. Evans installed the machinery in what was then known as the Personious' mill. This mill is now owned by the Kasco Company, and is one of Waverly's most prominent manufacturing establishments. He remained as head miller at this plant for seven years, and then branched out as a millwright for himself. Three children were born to them, two of whom are now living, the son, with whom they make their home, and Mrs. George E. Moffat of Seneca Falls. A reception will be held at their home from 2 to 4 and from 7 to 9 o'clock Saturday afternoon and evening, when it is expected a large number of friends will extend their felicitations on the happy occasion.

August 22, 1928 Elmira Star Gazette: Wheeler Man Buys Hotel at Waverly. William Carmady Sells the Norwood Hotel, Leading Hostelry in Waverly, to C. F. Steele and Takes Over Wheeler Business. Waverly, Aug. 22 - The Norwood Hotel, Waverly's leading hostelry for many years, has been sold by William Carmady to C. F. Steele of Wheeler, N.Y., who took possession yesterday. ... At the same time, Mr. Carmady made it known that he becomes part owner and manager of a large general store, with a garage, blacksmith shop and feed mill at Wheeler, which position Mr. Steele relinquishes to come here to take over the ownership of the hotel. ... (W. Carmady purchased the equipment and business of the Norwood 11 years ago from Charles Merrill and two years later purchased the building.)

October 12, 1928, Elmira Star-Gazette: Waverly, Oct. 12 - High School Honor Pupils. ... Second Honors. The second honor list is an average list. No single mark is below 80 per cent, and the general average must be 85 per cent or above. Many of the averages are above 90 per cent. .... seventh grade - .... Charlotte Knapp.....

October 12, 1928 Elmira Star-Gazette: Hundred Attend Dedication Of Guthrie Memorial Clinic; Surgeon's Labor Is Praised. .... Dr. Mayo Speaks ... Life Now Longer. "In the 16th century, the average span of life was 20 years; in 1850, if had doubled; in 1875, it was advanced another five years, and now it is 58 years. Preventative medicine is the medicine of today. We must have hospitals. How many of the sick would have been in hospitals today if they had been educated right in their earlier years? We must look after the child. It should have as much right to health as it has to an education. "Eighty seven per cent of the deaths of today are due to some infection, either chronic or acute. We don't know we're sick unless we have a pain. "By grouping medicine it is able to carry itself on without the great costs to the average person that would ensue if doctors did their work individually. Dr. Guthrie has sold modern medicine to this community. This is a remarkable demonstration, a whole community takes part in it. Hospitals should be developed in all communities for the care of the sick. "I am going to tell you something that Dr. Guthrie could not tell you. During the last five years, institutions, hospitals, colleges have been after him to come to them, to leave this little town of Sayre, and they would look after him, but he did not go. Some one has said we need a vision to carry on. I think it is about 10 per cent. inspiration, and 90 per cent. perspiration, and that's what Dr. Guthrie has given. Suggests Laboratory. "In concluding, I would suggest, after the modern six-story hospital building which is contemplated here is erected, that a building be erected in the rear of the grounds for a research laboratory, for in this lies the future of medicine, to develop preventative medicine and the intelligent care of the sick. The life of a man is always more valuable than the life of the guinea pig." ...

November 17, 1928 Elmira Star Gazette: Waverly Honor Roll Announced. Waverly, Nov. 17 - The Waverly Junior High School honor roll for the period ending Nov. 8, is announced by Principal Miss Mary Muldoon as follows: The first honor list is not an average list. It indicates that every subject has been passed with a mark of 90 per cent. or above. Ninth grade - Charlene Rouze, Helen Cade, Jeanne Giroux, Paul Betowski. Eighth Grade - Charles Ackley, Arthur Barton, Frank Boyle, Robert Looms. Seventh Grade - George Cade, Helen Bialy, Mary Conley, Margaret Hall, Charlotte Knapp, Geraldine Miller, Genevieve Peckally, Eleryn Schultz, Mary Sutherland, Grace Wright....

February 12, 1929 Elmira Star-Gazette: Students on Honor Lists At Waverly. Following is the list of honor students in the Waverly schools for January: First Honor Roll, ...Elm Street. Marie Covey, Helen Flynn, Elnora Knapp, Robert Lougher, Gertrude Macdonald, Clarence McCray, Phillip Perry, Palmer Simonds, Margaret Tyrrell, Irene Lofstrom....

February 13, 1929 Elmira Star-Gazette: Many Attend Party For Hospital Fund. Waverly, Feb. 13 - The benefit card party for the People's Hospital at the home of Mrs. George Knapp (208 Chemung st. Waverly, NY) yesterday was a successful affair and cards were played at 25 tables. A substantial sum was netted for the hospital funds.

February 15, 1929 Elmira Star-Gazette: Waverly, Feb. 15. - The Elmira College Club of the valley will meet Saturday at 3 p.m. with Mrs. Phillips Knapp, (311) Chemung Street, Waverly.

February 26, 1929 Elmira Star-Gazette: Waverly Leaders Confer With Hospital Workers in Preparation for Coming Drive. Waverly, Feb. 26. - With R. W. McEwen presiding, 35 men and women met Monday night in headquarters office of the $300,000 campaign for the Tioga County General Hospital on Fulton Street. ... At the meeting were D. M. Handrick, Mrs. W. M. Swain, Edward Snell, William C. Farley, R. W. McEwen, Floyd Beers, W. Manley Hollenbeck, Jesse Hart, Mrs. Edna DeWitt, Miss Ruth Fish, Miss Alice Fish, Mrs. George Atwood, Mrs. A. F. Eaton, A. F. Eaton, Mrs. Ida Horton, Mayor J. C. Drake, Glen Wilmarth, Quigg Albright, Ted McDonald, Mrs. Herman Olney, Mrs. Gertrude Knapp (208 Chemung st. Waverly, NY), Mrs. Louis Buley, Miss Jean Merriam, Mrs. Harry Gooding, Mrs. T. M. Clements, Mrs. A. O. Caldwell, Harvey Ingham, Mrs. L. S. Betowski, Mrs. Harvey Brewster, C. W. McCray, E. W. Eaton, Dr. Guy S. Carpenter, S. Zausmer and Luther B. Hardy.

February 27, 1929 Elmira Star-Gazette: Hospital Campaign Leaders Ready For Intensive Drive. Organization of Many New Communities is Reported -"” Presbyterian Women Are Ready to Aid Work "”Ulster, Owego, Organize.

Waverly, Feb. 27."”Increasing interest in the campaign to raise $300,000 for the Tioga County General Hospital is emphasized by developments Tuesday in both organization of communities and arrangements for the campaign, according to Hart I Seely, campaign chairman.
A group of women of the Waverly Presbyterian Church have resolved themselves into a campaign arrangements committee under the leadership of Mrs. George Knapp (of 208 Chemung st. Waverly, NY) on the request of Mr. Seely. This committee will have charge of the arrangements for the suppers which will be served to the entire workers' organization for reports and instructions during the intensive period of the campaign, Mar. 15 to 25. There will be an opening dinner for the workers when the intensive period starts, three rally report suppers and a closing victory dinner on the last night of the campaign. Mr. Seely expressed deep appreciation for the acceptance by the Presbyterian women of the responsibility for these suppers, all of which will be held in the social hall of the church. Arrangements with the women of other churches are now being made by the committee for assistance in serving the suppers.

March 19, 1929 Elmira Star-Gazette: Hospital Campaign Workers Will Attend Dinner Tonight; The Rev. L. W. Lunn to Talk. Waverly, Mar. 19 - The Rev. L . W. Lunn, rector of Grace Episcopal Church, will speak to workers in the $300,000 campaign for the Tioga County General Hospital who will attend the first rally-report supper at 6:30 o'clock this evening in the social hall of the Waverly Presbyterian Church. Workers from all parts of Tioga County and the adjacent communities which form the district to be served by the new hospital will be present. The method to be used in making reports was outlined Saturday at the campaign headquarters office in Waverly. Every worker will find a report envelope at his place this evening. In this envelope he will place the signed pledge cards of subscriptions which he has obtained. He will then give this envelope to his captain who will place the worker's envelope together with the envelopes of the other members of his team in a large envelope and will announce the results obtained by his team from the floor. Following the rally the amounts reported by each team will be posted on a special bulletin board in the hall which has been designed to record the progress of the various teams throughout the campaign. Harry LaBarr, certified public accountant of Sayre, had volunteered his services in auditing all reports during the campaign. After each report rally Mr. LaBarr, with his corps of accountants, will check the reports. Community singing at the meeting will be led by Fenimore Leonari of Owego. Mrs. Jessie Weller will accompany the singing on the piano. The supper will be served by the young women of the Waverly Catholic Church, according to Mrs. George B. Knapp, chairman of the arrangements committee in charge of the campaign suppers. Sunday was observed as "Hospital Sunday" by many of the churches in the district which will be served by the new hospital. In some churches the entire service was devoted to the movement for more adequate hospitalization and in others special announcements called attention to the humanitarian value of the project.

May 6, 1929 Elmira Star Gazette: Miss Crowell To Wed. Miss Lucia Crowell of West First Street entertained at a luncheon of charming appointments at the DeLuxe Inn Saturday, honoring Miss Fern Dowd of Waverly, whose engagement to Marcy Bartholomew of Waverly was recently announced. The color scheme was pink and white, the tables being centered with pink roses and maiden hair fern. During the luncheon, announcement was made of the engagement of the hostess to Edwin M. Knapp of Waverly. Miss Crowell is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Edgar G. Crowell of 511 West First Street. She is a graduate of the Elmira Schools and Elmira College, class of 1926. For the past two years she has been a member of the faculty of the Waverly High School. Mr. Knapp is the elder son of Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Knapp jr., of Waverly. He was graduated from Dartmouth College in 1927. At present he is associated with his father in businesss in Waverly. Invited to the affair were: Fern Dowd, Rebekah Fanning, Harriet Frey, Emma Westfall, Effie Scott, Katherine Kerrigan, Helen Knapp, Elizabeth Chapman, Martha Weeks, Jean Brown, Mrs. R. C. Frederick, Mrs. Arthur Parsons, all of Waverly; Margaret B. Thompson, Vera M. Ide, Kathryn S. Catlin and Mrs. Thomas Banfield, Elmira. Bridge was enjoyed during the afternoon at the home of the hostess. (Edwin Knapp is Mrs. Gertrude Slaughter Knapp's nephew. Edwin Knapp is Charlotte Knapp's cousin.)

June 21, 1929 Elmira Star Gazette: Wedding Invitations Issued. Invitations have been issued for the approaching marriage of Miss Lucia Ida Crowell, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Edgar G. Crowell of West First Street, to Edwin M. Knapp, son of Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Knapp jr., of Waverly. The ceremony will be solemnized Friday, July 5, at 11 a.m., in The Park Church, by the Rev. A. G. Cornwell.

July 5, 1929 Elmira: Crowell - Knapp. One of the prettiest of the Summer weddings took place at 11 o'clock this morning in The Park Church, when Miss Lucia Ida Crowell of 511 West First Street, became the bride of Edwin Mixer Knapp, son of Mr. and Mrs. Joseph W. Knapp, jr. of Waverly. The bride, who was given away by her father, was attired in a gown of flesh colored chiffon, with horsehair hat, slippers and hose to match. Miss Helen Knapp, as maid of honor, wore peach colored chiffon with matching horsehair hat, slippers and hose. The bridesmaids were Mrs. Thomas Banfield and Miss Margaret Thompson who were attired in orchid and green, respectively. A reception to sixty guests followed at the Elizabeth Inn, Horseheads. The Inn was profusely decorated with flowers. Miss Price's four-piece orchestra from Sayre, furnished music for the occasion. At the bride's table, covers were laid for sixteen. The table was centered with an elaborate wedding cake surrounded by pink and white rosebuds. For going away, the bride wore an ensemble of poudre an navy blue. After July 15, Mr. and Mrs. Knapp will be home at 9 Spring Street. Waverly. (Circa 1933 - about 1937, Ed and Lucy Knapp lived in part of the house at 208 Chemung st. Waverly, NY with Mrs. Gertrude Slaughter Knapp, Edwin's Aunt, widow of George Brinker Knapp.)

August 1, 1929 The Censor Fredonia: Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Knapp and daughter of Waverly, N. Y. were recent callers of Mr. and Mrs. H. A. Pierce of Central avenue. Mrs. Knapp will be remembered as Miss Ella Mixer.

August 5, 1929 The Auburn Citizen: Funeral of Thomas Keeler. The funeral of Thomas Keeler was held this morning from Mullen's funeral parlors at 8:30 o'clock. Services took place at Holy Family Church at 9 o'clock. Rev. Edward Dwyer of Waverly, N. Y., was celebrant of a requiem high mass which was followed by the burial service. The remains were laid at rest in St. Joseph's Cemetery. The services at the grave were conducted by Rev. Donald Cleary. The bearers were: David Long, Dennis Dwyer, Edward Bowes and Charles Bohrman.

October 29, 1929 Dansville Breeze, Dansville, New York: Auction - I will sell on Thursday, October 31, 1929 at 2 P.M., one of the most complete and up-to-date homes in the State of New York, located at 202 Chemung Street, Waverly, New York. Chemung Street is better known as the Susquehanna Trail. Home consists of 16 rooms, master living room and library, mahogany interior finish, with frigidaire and Oilmatic heat. Lawn all beautifully shrubbed and terraced with European shrubbery. Including a six-car garage. Lot size is about 220 ft.frontage on Chemung Street and a little over 400 ft. in depth, located in a very exquisite residential section of Waverly and located on the southeast corner of Chemung and Waverly Streets. This property was formerly owned by a banker and splendidly located for a club house, convalescent home, or a tourists' inn. The above property is the show place of Waverly. A descriptive catalogue showing pictures of the home and giving full particulars will be mailed on request, don't fail to send for one of these catalogues. The above property will positively be sold without limit or reserve on Thursday, October the 31st., at 2 P.M., at 202 Chemung Street, Waverly, New York. Waverly lies 18 miles east of Elmira on the Susquehanna Trail. For further particulars communicate with J. G. Ideman Auctioneer, 519 Powers Bldg., Rochester, New York. (Interesting, 202 Chemung st. was advertised for sale also in 1925. Mrs. Gertrude Knapp's friend, Mrs. Annie Best, widow of William Best, lived here at 202 Chemung st. in 1928, along with her son John H. Best and daughter Nelliana Best. Nelliana Best and Charlotte Knapp were best friends.)

Zehr Estate . Waverly NY 14892 . zehrestate.com
Home Contact Search Link Link