Zehr Estate

History Overview

News Clips A | Clips B| Designer & Builder | Timeline | Genealogy | Recollections | Proprietors | Octagon House | Main House | Carriage House | Outbuilding | Bungalow | Suffrage

We are researching the history of this property. The property consists of 208 Chemung St. Main House, 208 1/2 Chemung St. Cottage (Out Building), 9 Athens St. Carriage House, and 7 Athens St. Bungalow in Waverly, NY 14892. We welcome any information anyone has to offer us. We would really appreciate old photos of the property and of the Isaac Slaughter and Jane McBride Slaughter, Samuel Mills and Esther Stitt Mills, Alfred Wells and Lydia Nyce Wells, Joseph Warren Knapp and Frances E. Durkee Knapp, and John (Johannes) M. VanAtta and Elizabeth Albright VanAtta families.

We are also looking for photographs and information on the octagon home that originally stood on Chemung street just west of 208 Chemung street circa 1846 to 1879 and then at 7 Athens street from 1879 to the early 1930's.  See Octagon House.

Spanish Hill

1754 - 1763 French and Indian War

1760's-1780's through 1830's-1840's First Industrial Revolution started in Britain

American Revolution 1763

1775, Isaac Slaughter, father of Dewitt Slaughter, served under General Washington near Newburgh Orange county, NY. Isaac Slaughter served in the Northern Campaign at Ticonderoga and at the taking of Crown Point. In 1775 at the siege of Quebec, the regiment under General Montgomery, 500 strong joined General Arnold 700 strong. Isaac was at defense of Fort Stanwix against English and Indians under Col. St. Leger and prevented reinforcement of Burgoyne at Saratoga. He was at Fort Clinton in 1776 and at Fort Schuyler in 1777. Isaac was part of an expedition against Six Nations under General Sullivan and was at the Battle of Newton in 1779. After the war, he was a pensioner living in Orange county, NY.

United States Declaration of Independence 1776

The Battle of Newtown (August 29, 1779)

On April 27, 1784, an act was passed by the Legislature for the settlement of pay for the Militia and their services during the American Revolution. Their pay was not always in money. They could have been paid in State notes or tracts of land.

General T. Thomas, of Westchester county, NY, was given a military grant to buy land in this area. Thomas Thomas, born June 17, 1745, was the second son of Judge John Thomas, a sheriff of Westchester County. T. Thomas married Catharine Floyd from Mastic, L.I. Thomas was made colonel of the Second Regiment of the Continental Army of Westchester County, NY. His regiment was part of General Clinton's brigade at Peekskill. He was taken prisoner and held for awhile in 1777. At some point, Colonel T. Thomas was appointed Major General Thomas. Thomas and Catharine had the following children; Charles Floyd, Gloriana, Nancy, and Catharine. On May 29, 1824, Major General T. Thomas died.

Purchase College (SUNY) in Purchase, NY, was originally the Thomas's 500 acre estate and working farm. General Thomas Thomas's father was John Thomas. John Thomas gave the first public reading of the Declaration of Independence in New York at the White Plains courthouse on July 11, 1776. They are buried in the family graveyard located behind Neuberger Museum of Art on the campus.

John Thomas was imprisoned in New York City by the British in 1776 and died a prisoner. Thomas Thomas was also captured and shipped across the Sound to an English prison and then back to Flushing, NY. After the war, Thomas, now a General, bought the remaining 1500 acres in The Purchase (Harrison's Purchase) next to his father's estate.

Major General Thomas Thomas, a Revolutionary patriot, lived in Purchase, NY. On November 13, 1778, his house was surrendered to the British. He was captured and taken to Long Island, but escaped. He was Harrison's first Supervisor, and the Thomas estate comprised of all the land where the State University and Pepsico are now located. The main house was on what is now Lincoln Avenue, north of Anderson Hill Road, and the Thomas family lived there until the land was sold and subdivided in 1850. Major General Thomas died in 1824 and was buried in the Thomas cemetery behind the Neuberger Museum on the State University campus. The state of New York erected a handsome monolith over his grave. The inscription in part reads: "He assisted in laying foundations of those institutions that are intended to perpetuate the Republic."

On April 30, 1789, George Washington, standing on the balcony of Federal Hall on Wall Street in New York, took his oath of office as the first President of the United States.

In 1790, Thomas Thomas had eleven slaves and in 1810, Thomas and his brother, John, owned nine slaves. The Thomas family had been typical of the wealthy families during the Colonial and American Revolutionary time periods with owning slaves; Thomas's father, John, owned four in 1755 and John Jr. owned two. The slaves were farm hands.

In 1796 John Shepard purchased 1,000 acres, encompassing all of the site of Waverly, NY from General Thomas. He paid $5.00 per acre. Later, he purchased several more tracts of land. There were several mills along Cayuta Creek (Shepard's Creek) which were run by John Shepard. John was the son of Isacc Shepard and Dorothy Prentice. He was born at Plainfield, CT on April 17, 1765 and died at Milltown on May 15, 1837. On June 3, 1790 he married his first wife, Anna Gore (02/08/1772-09/07/1805), daughter of Judge Obadiah Gore of Sheshequin). They settled on a farm at Milltown. Anna had died from injuries due to falling from a carriage. They had 8 children, one of who was Isacc Shepard (02/16/1793-03/15/1858). John married his second wife, Deborah Hawkins of Stony Brook in 1811. They had 5 children. John was said to be a farmer, trader, merchant, miller, land speculator, and distiller (whiskey maker). John Shepard was constantly purchasing and selling real estate.

1797 - 1801, President John Adams

1801 - 1809, President Thomas Jefferson

Embargo Act of 1807 - restricting American ships from engaging in foreign trade and led to a depression in the United States

1809 - 1817, President James Madison

War of 1812

Isacc Shepard was son of John Shepard, the original land owner of Factoryville and Waverly, NY. On December 4, 1813 Isaac married Deborah Mills (daughter of Jonas, died May 6, 1811, and Elizabeth Mills, died May 28, 1812, of Smithtown, Long Island). Deborah Mills was descended from the George Mills family. George Mills was born in 1605 in Yorkshire, England. (Dewitt Slaughter's wife, Caroline Mills, descended from this same line, George Mills.)

1813 - John Shepard sold to his son, Isaac Shepard a large amount of land for $2,000, which Isaac made payments on and paid off in the year 1817. Our property was included in this. During my research, I found the Shepard name also spelled Shepherd.

Isaac Shepard was born Feb. 15, 1793 and died March 15, 1858. He is buried in Rest Cemetery Sayre, PA.

"The Star-Spangled Banner" 1814 poem written

At 425 Pennsylvania Avenue, part of this home contains the original structure built by Ephraim Strong. Taken from Early Times on the Susquehanna by Anna Shepard Perkins (1906), "In 1819 Deacon Ephraim Strong bought one hundred and fifty-three and one-half acres of land on this tract, just across the State line, one hundred rods in width, about an equal distance between Shepard's Creek and Chemung River, and extending back to the mountain." "Here Mr. Strong, with his numerous sons, made an opening in the pines, of several acres; planted corn and potatoes, sowed buckwheat, built a snug frame house, dug a well, and set out an orchard. Some of the trees are still standing on the lot now occupied by Mr. Fuller." "About 1825 Mr. Shepard paid Mr. Strong for his improvements and sold the land to General Welles. Shortly after November 1st, 1835, Mr. John Spalding, of Athens, bought the farm." This is an example of Greek Revival form. The house at 427 Pennsylvania Ave. was once part of this house (425), but it was removed and moved to 427 Pennsylvania St. after 1869. This land including 153 1/2 acres was bought by Deacon Strong from John Shepard. The land included the center of the current village of Waverly. This house was built around 1810 or before 1819. The Greek Revival additions were probably during 1840-1855. It is known to be the first documented house in Waverly. Ephraim Strong taught the first school in Factoryville. (Dec. 1871, Dr. F. M. Snook - Dentist over Corner Drug Store. In 1878, F.M. Snook, Dentist was listed at No. 17 Pennsylvania Ave., the same as his residence. Mercy Fuller sold this house and 427 Pennsylvania Ave. to Mary Snook, wife of F. M. Snook in 1880. In 1897 F. M. Snook was listed in the paper for unpaid taxes of 425 Pennsylvania Ave. Remained in the Snook family to early/mid 1930's. )

Around 1816, John Shepard built Shepard Tavern which was later enlarged by Isacc Shepard. The tavern was near 105 Chemung street. In 1825 the tavern was destroyed by fire.

1817 - 1825, President James Monroe

Missouri Compromise - an agreement passed in 1820 between the pro-slavery and anti-slavery factions in the United States Congress, mainly involved the regulation of slavery in the western territories

Industrial Revolution, about 1820-1870

In 1821 the Chemung Turnpike, road from Owego to Chemung, (Chemung Street) was laid out. (Before it was known as Chemung Street, it was called "Walker Road" since much of it went through the Walker property.)

In 1823 the first post office was kept in the woolen mill, built by Isaac and Job Shepard, sons of John Shepard. Later the post office was moved, to Chemung Road (Street),which was known as Owego road, into Mrs. Shepard's store. Isaac Shepard was the first postmaster of Factoryville. In 1824, the tavern was enlarged and opened by Isaac Shepard.

December 1823, Monroe Doctrine - the United States would consider European countries trying to colonize land or interfering with the states as an act of aggression

May 29, 1824, Thomas Thomas died. His wife, Catherine inherited the estate. Their four children had all died before this. Interesting is that he still owned 100 acres of land in Tioga county, NY, which in his will, he left to his close friends and neighbors, the Dusinberry Family. He made provisions for his few remaining slaves on his farm.

1824 - Isaac Shepard sold some of the farm land to Aaron Jackson for $645.00 starting at the 60th mile stone at the PA/NY line. Aaron Jackson paid this off in the year 1831. Elder Aaron Jackson had his house on or near Waverly street and his blacksmith shop at 208 Chemung street where our current house stands. The blacksmith shop must have been built in this time period. Elder Jackson also had a barn in this vicinity. These original buildings are all gone. Our property was included in this land that Aaron Jackson purchased.

There were two schools, one in Factoryville and one in the west part (Waverly), that were open prior to 1825. The school in the west part was near the residence of Charles H. Shepard (105 Chemung street), and was erected by Isaac Shepard probably in 1825.

January 6, 1825 Catherine Thomas died, about six months after her husband, Thomas Thomas. She was 70 years of age.

In 1825, Isaac Shepard built a pioneer hotel, it stood on West Chemung Street. It was later the residence of Charles Shepard. (105 Chemung St. see below.)

1825 - 1829, President John Quincy Adams

Erie Canal -"the first transportation system between the eastern seaboard (New York City) and the western interior (Great Lakes) of the United States that did not require portage"

July 4, 1828, President John Quincy Adams turned the first spadeful of earth at Little Falls, Maryland for the construction of the Chesapeake and Ohio Canal.

Baltimore and Ohio Railroad construction began on July 4, 1828.

1829 - 1837, President Andrew Jackson

"About 1830, the present site of the Methodist Church was a noted huckleberry field (Looking Backward Over the Years, Mar. 20, 1903)"

In the 1830's, Factoryville was the thriving area and the initial settlement at the eastern end of Chemung St. It formed along Cayuta Creek for its water power. Deacon Strong sold his land holdings to John Spalding of Athens, who passed land to his son, Owen, in 1826. The Spalding Farm included most of the land between Factoryville to the east and Shepardville to the west. According to Mrs. Diantha Newkirk, in 1830, there were only 3 houses (Amos and Owen Spalding's and Benjamin Davis near Dry Brook) between Factoryville and Villemont. Mrs.(Ezra) Newkirk lived in a house near Isaac Shepard's on Waverly Street.

In 1830, Chemung Street was still full of stumps and roots.

March 28, 1831 - Athens Borough incorporated

In 1832, Elder Jackson tried to sell his house and 45 acres of land to Jesse Kirk for only $500.00. Kirk did not buy it. Elder Jackson had bought his property from Isaac Shepard.

Owen Spalding was one of the greatest benefactors to Waverly and his house was built at 403 Chemung St. in 1833. 403 Chemung St. is now the location of Pudgie's Pizza plaza. In 1870, his home was moved to 471 Pennsylvania Ave. around 1870, (example of Federal Style) while a new home was being built at 403 Chemung Street. Owen's wife died soon afterwards so he only remained in the new home a short while before returning to the home at 471 Pennsylvania Avenue. They had no children of their own, but adopted many children. Owen died in 1882. He had donated much land for churches, the old Village Hall (362 Broad Street), and Muldoon Park (Pennsylvania Ave).

In 1833 Joseph Hallett Senior came here and bought 100 acres. He was accompanied by his sons, Gilbert H. and Joseph E. Hallett. He paid $1,100.00 for the 100 acres. 15 buildings were in Waverly (around Chemung and Waverly streets, known as Shepardville but as Villemont by Mr. Shepard) at this time: one hotel/tavern (Isaac Shepard's Villemont Hotel, built in 1825 at 105 Chemung street and it later became the residence of Charles Shepard), one distillery (Jacob Newkirk's), one blacksmith shop (Elder Jackson's at 208 Chemung street), one log dwelling (Amos Spalding's but lived in by Gilbert Hallett, at 311 Chemung street), one plank dwelling (Owen Spalding's, first built at current location of Pudgie's Pizza plaza, then later moved to 471 Pennsylvania Avenue), 6 small frame dwellings and 4 barns (Spalding's, Jackson's, Newkirk's, and Shepard's barns). The six small frame homes were Amos Spalding's, Thomas Hill's, Jacob Newkirk's (Waverly street), Elder Jackson's (just west of 202 Chemung street) and one home near the Villemont Hotel, and a house of Valentine Hill (Joseph E. Hallett and family lived in). Only one of these original buildings remain, Owen Spalding's at 471 Pennsylvania Avenue. (There was also Deacon Emphraim Strong's house at 425 Pennsylvania Avenue which was built circa 1819, today half of the original home is at 425 Pennsylvania Avenue and the other half at 427 Pennsylvania Avenue.) {Elder Aaron Jackson's wife, Asenath, had a brother named Valentine Hill and a nephew of the same name}


Joseph E. Hallett "Uncle Joe" was born in Lispernard Street in New York City on October 17, 1810. He was the son of Joseph and Betsy Hallett. He became one of the fireman of "Old 23 Machine" in NY, located on Pearl Street. At twelve years he became a torch boy as streets were very poorly lighted at the time. In 1827, he became a signal - bearer and in 1829 became a full member, donning the red shirt and leather helmet.
He also learned the carpenter trade, working with his father until 19 years of age, when he moved to Circleville, NY. In 1832, he married Mary Ann Houston, a cousin of Gen. Sam Houston. She was born June 10, 1810 in Circleville, NY and died September 7, 1894 in Waverly, NY. In March of 1833, they drove to Waverly with his brother, Gilbert and his wife and three children. Joseph rented a part of old Shepard tavern in Villemont.
In April following, Joseph bought a piece of land of one hundred acres on the north side of Chemung Road, from 207 Chemung Street to Cadwell Avenue for $1,100. The house they built at 153 Chemung Street was the second house in the area. Both Joseph and Mary Ann are buried in Forest Home Cemetery, Waverly, NY. When the Hallett's came to Waverly, there were only 15 homes in the area, known as Shepardsville or Villamount. Joseph died October 25, 1891 in Waverly. At that time, the house they built at 153 Chemung St. was in the middle of what is now Fulton St., it was probably demolished to build the road.

Aaron Jackson (1798-1868) was a blacksmith from Brookfield, Orange County, NY. Aaron Jackson married Asenath Hill (born April 19, 1799 in New York and died July 7, 1849) on January 3, 1822. On August 16, 1825, he joined the "Ulster & Athens" church (Baptist). Aaron Jackson was chosen as a deacon. They had a daughter, Harriet, who was born in Elmira, NY October 21, 1828, while they were living in Waverly, near or on present day Waverly street. He was ordained in 1833. Aaron Jackson sold his home and blacksmith shop in Waverly to Gilbert Hallet in 1834. During his lifetime, he was active in several churches in several areas. He preached in Horseheads, NY. Asenath's parents were Tilton Eastman Hill, born March 16, 1765 in Orange County, New York, died March 30, 1845 in Wallkill, Orange County, NY and Esther Cooley, born July 28, 1769, died in NY in the year 1821. Around 1838, Aaron and Asenath had another daughter, Mary Amelia Jackson (1838-1902). In 1848, Reverend Aaron Jackson, his wife Asenath and two daughters, Harriet and Mary Amelia moved from Ithaca, NY to Quincy, IL. Asenath died in Quincy in 1849. Harriet met her future husband in Quincy, attorney, judge, and Illinois legislator James H. Ralston. In 1852, Rev. Aaron Jackson, Harriet and Mary Amelia Jackson moved from Quincy to Richmond, Staten Island, NY . October 20, 1853 Rev. Aaron Jackson presided at his daughter's wedding to Judge Ralston at the North Baptist Church in New York City. The newly weds left the next day for Sacramento. In 1855, Mary Amelia married attorney Thomas Sunderland, the first law partner of Judge Ralston in Sacramento. In 1857, Harriet and James' son, Jackson Harvey Ralston was born (1857-1945). In 1858, Harriet and James' daughter, Mary Aurora was born (1858-1869). Jackson Ralston was in school in San Francisco while Harriet and Aurora were living with Aaron in Oyster Bay, Long Island, NY. In 1868, Aaron died at Oyster Bay, Long Island where he had pulpited the Baptist Church of Oyster Bay. In 1869, Mary Aurora "Rory" Ralston died from Scarlet Fever in Ithaca, NY. Jackson Ralston went to Waverly, NY to be with his mother, Harriet, after Rory's death. In 1871, Jackson and Harriet moved to Ithaca, NY. where Jackson was a printer's apprentice. In 1873 they moved to Washington D. C. where Jackson was a clerk in the government printing office. In 1874, Harriet took a job as a copyist in the U. S. Attorney General's office and did this for almost 20 years and stayed close to her son in Hyattsville, MD and D. C. until her death in 1920.

The following on Harriet was taken from "books.google.com": "A woman of the century: Fourteen Hundred-Seventy Biographical Sketches...", Volume 3 edited by Frances Elizabeth Willard, Mary Ashton Rice Livermore 1893, page 594 (EBook-Free)
Ralston, Mrs. Harriet Newell, poet, born in Waverly, N.Y.,21st October, 1828. She is the daughter of Rev. Aaron Jackson. Her youth was passed in New York, Massachusetts and Illinois, and her education was received in the institutions of learning in the first two named States. Upon her removal to Quincy, Ill., she formed the acquaintance of Hon. James H. Ralston, whose wife she became shortly afterward. Judge Ralston was a leading man in Illinois and held various important offices in that State. After serving as an officer in the Mexican War, he turned his attention again to the practice of law, settling in the then State of California. On their wedding day Judge and Mrs. Ralston set out from New York for the Pacific coast, enjoying on the way the tropical beauties of the Nicaraguan Isthmus. Following the death of Judge Ralston, his widow left her home in Austin, Nev., for the East, eventually settling in Washington, D. C., where her son is at present a professor of law in the National Law University of that city. Mrs. Ralston has written many fine poems, which, although never collected in the form of a volume, have been published and widely copied by the press. She is the author of Fatherless Joe, Decoration Day, The Spectral Feast, The Queen's Jewels and The White Cross of Savoy, for which poem King Humbert of Italy sent her a letter of thanks and appreciation. Her poems are very numerous among which may be specially mentioned The Queen's Jewels, written for the occasion of a banquet given by the Woman's National Press Association of Washington, D. C., of which she is a member, to the delegates of the Pan-American Congress assembled in that city, and for which poem she has received many acknowledgments from the representatives of Central and South American governments. She still takes an active interest in philanthropic and social movements tending to ameliorate the conditions of individuals and of society at large."

There is an historic house in Hyattsville, Maryland, named for her. The following was found on this website:http://www.preservehyattsville.org/designated-historic-sites#Ralston
The Harriet Ralston House is a three-story front-gabled frame retreat cottage which stands on one of the original streets platted for the Town of Hyattsville. It is distinguished by its fine late Victorian trim and its prominent three story veranda. The house is three stories high, two bays by two bays, with principal entrance and three-story veranda on the main south gable front. Entrance is in the eastmost bay of this south gable end, through a four-panel door with two-pane transom. Filling the entire south gable front is a three-story veranda supported by chamfered posts with molded capitals and bases, and jigsawn brackets on the first story. Bounding the first and second stories of the veranda is a railing of flat jigsawn balusters. There are three openings onto the second story of the veranda; a central door with a single-pane transom is flanked by two 2/2 windows. The same chamfered posts are still visible at the third level in the gable end. The house is sheathed with German siding. At the intermediate level in the east facade is a circular "porthole" window which lights the stair.
The Harriet Ralston House is a fine and unique example of a late Victorian suburban retreat cottage; it is distinguished by its excellent Queen Anne style trim, and its prominent three-story veranda. It was built in the 1880s on one of the original lots platted in the Town of Hyattsville. In 1882, Harriet Ralston, widow of Judge James H. Ralston, purchased Lot #26 of Hyatts Addition to Hyattsville, and a few months later purchased Lots #27 and #28 which adjoined it to the east. It is probable that this house was constructed soon after Mrs. Ralston's purchase, Within a few years, "Wing Rest", a second fine Queen Anne style house was built on Lot #26, and it became the home of Mrs. Ralston's son, Jackson H. Ralston, one of early Hyattsville's most prominent civic leaders. Hyattsville."

Harriet and Judge Ralston had two children: a daughter, Mary Aurora Ralston, who died in early life, and a son, Jackson H. Ralston, who was an eminent attorney of Washington, D. C.

In 1834, Gilbert Hallett had moved into the log house (was at 311 Chemung St. Waverly, NY site) previously lived in by Amos Spalding. In 1835, Gilbert Hallett bought out Elder Jackson's house and 45 acres of land. This land had all been Isacc Shepard's. The purchase price was $1,000.00

1835 - Aaron Jackson and his wife, Asenath, sold their house and 45 acres of farm land to Gilbert Hallett for $1,200. The land lied on the south side of Chemung street. The boundaries were on the East by a line almost identical to the course of Lincoln Avenue, passing southward through 337 Broad street to the 60th mile stone; then west along the state line to the center of Dry Brook, then following the center of the course of Dry Brook to the Chemung Road, then eastward along said road to the starting point. The 60th mile stone's history is that it was placed by the Commissioners of New York and Pennsylvania to mark the boundary between the states in 1785. It was originally placed near the east side of Fulton street, but was removed to make room for a foundation of a building, which then the stone leaned against a nearby fence for years and then it disappeared. (In 1853 Rev. Aaron Jackson, was a Baptist minister in New York City, and several years before this had been stationed in charge of a church at Quincy, Illinois.)

In 1835 Gilbert Hallett and wife owned the property at 208 Chemung St. Gilbert Hatfield Hallett was born June 4, 1807 in New York, married in 1828, and died August 5, 1883. His wife's name was Emily Philipine (Tissot) Hallett. On the NY state, Tioga County 1845 census, there appeared 7 males and 4 females in the household. His children's names may have been; Gilbert, Oliver, David, Manly, John, Judson, Lydia, Philipine and Cormelia.

1836 Morse Telegraph

1837 - 1841, President Martin Van Buren

Panic of 1837 - financial crisis in the United States due to buying and selling of houses with no intent to live in them, and it was followed by a five-year depression due to failing of banks and high unemployment levels.

On June 20, 1837, William IV died and Alexandrina Victoria became Queen Victoria of the United Kingdom. She reigned longer than any other British monarch and also held the longest reign of any female monarch in history up to this point in the year 2011. Her reign of 63 years and 7 months was known as the Victorian era.

By 1840, the corner of Waverly and Chemung Streets was a flourishing business community. 202 and 208 Chemung Street included some of these original buildings. The business remained there until the Erie Railroad came and around 1852 the businesses moved down to Broad Street. The few blocks on either side of this original corner were foremost real estate. (Where our main house sits today was Elder Jackson's blacksmith shop) This area on Chemung Street was up until 1840 or 1845 called "Villemont," named by Isaac Shepard. The word Villemont is French in origin and derives from villages called Villemont in Normandy. Villemont translates as the settlement on the hill. The name villemont has been recorded during the medieval period in England.

1841, President William Henry Harrison - only served one month before dying with pneumonia

1841 - 1845, President John Tyler

Squire Alva Jarvis opened the first store in the spring of 1841.

In the fall of 1841 Gilbert Hallett opened the second store (201 Chemung street lot) in Waverly and in 1842 Mr. Hallett and Andrew Price built a foundry on corner of Chemung and Waverly St.(159A Chemung St.), later this was the site of A.I. Decker's residence, and then a cabinet shop was started by Daniel Moore on the second floor. Later, by 1850, the foundry converted into a hotel, Clarmont House, run by James A. Whitaker. 159A Chemung St. was the site of the earliest industry in Waverly. In 1854 Gilbert Hallet sold the property to James Buck, then on March 7, 1856, a fire completely destroyed the building. In 1866, Albert Bunn bought the property and Mrs. Bunn sold it to J.G. Smith. The current home at this site was built around 1866-1869.

Between 1833 and 1859, Villemont (Waverly) prospered from 15 buildings assembled around Chemung and Waverly Streets to more than 30 stores, six hotels, 3 churches, one bank and an academy. Most of these new buildings were located on Broad Street .
In about 1852, several stores were being built on Broad Street. Amos Spalding, Hiram Moore, John A. Corbin, and T.J.Brooks (general store) opened stores. Isaac Shepard built the Shepard Block, corner of Clark and Broad Street.
The places that were opened up on Chemung Street thought they better get down town. The settlement on Chemung Street was called Villemont, a name given by Isaac Shepard. Later it was known as Waverley.

Some of the more typical houses in Waverly during the 1840's- 1850's were: 452 Cayuta Avenue, known as the Fordham place and later known as the G.H.Grafft residence; 154 Chemung street (built around 1847), the F. H. Baldwin residence and later his son's residence, Albert B. Baldwin; 207 Chemung street (1841) known as J. E. Hallett's "Woodbine Cottage" and later owned by Frank E. Munn; 209 Chemung street, Henry Sharp Davis and later owned by A. H. Roberts (house was replaced sometime between 1869-1874 with the current house at that site); 411 Chemung street known as the Senator Bristol property (replaced sometime between 1874 and 1908 with the current house); and 300 Chemung street (built in 1852) known as the New Moore House and later as the Hiram Payne residence, after that owned by Thomas Senall.

At 207 Chemung St., the Woodbine Cottage (Greek Revival) was built in 1841 by Joseph E. Hallett. Joseph was a carpenter like his father. Joseph built some of the homes on Chemung and Lincoln streets. His brother, Gilbert Hallett, built the first industry in Waverly in 1843 (the above foundry at corner of Waverly and Chemung Streets). Joseph bought this land from Amos Spalding, built the house, and lived here until he died October 25, 1891. He was known as "Uncle Joe" father of the Waverly Fire Department. In 1850, he established an insurance company, known as Ransom Insurance on Broad Street. Joseph Hallett also suggested the name Waverly for the village taken from his favorite author, Sir Walter Scott, from a work of fiction, Waverley: or Tis Sixty Years Since.

At 203 Chemung St., this house was built by the Reverend A. B. Stowell, preacher of Baptist church and a mason by trade. This was built around 1841-1845. It is an example of Greek Revival. (George Brinker Knapp's Aunt, Lucia Knapp, married Rev. A. B. Stowell on March 31, 1850)

At 301 Chemung St.(currently an empty lot, house was torn down) Amos Spalding had owned this land as it was used as farmland.

At 309 Chemung St., the original was a 2 story 3 bay Federal Style structure. It was known as the Dr. Clute House. There have been extensive alterations from the original. This may have been Waverly's first brick residence. This home has been totally remodeled as the brick structure had too much damage to be repaired. The original was built around 1842 or 1847. After 1874, the roof was raised and two cross gables and a turret was added. The renovations were being completed in 2011.

The construction of the Erie railroad was started in 1843 and at this time there were about 200 to 300 people living in the village of Waverly.

1845 - 1849, President James K. Polk

Mexican-American War - 1846 to 1848

July 30, 1846 - Gilbert Hallett and Philipine E. Hallett his wife, sold part of their farm land to Andrew S. Rice for $1,900. This was previously part of Aaron Jackson's farm. This sale included current day 208 Chemung Street, 208 1/2 Chemung Street, 9, 7, 5, and 3 Athens Street Waverly, NY.

At 154 Chemung St., Francis H. Baldwin purchased this lot from Joseph Swain. About 1847-48, Baldwin built this Greek Revival home. Next to this house was Robert Shackleton's blacksmith shop and a tavern or hotel run by E. Brigham at the southwest corner of Waverly and Chemung Streets. Baldwin founded the Waverly Advocate paper, in 1852. He sold the paper and then repurchased it with William Polleys in 1854. This is one of Waverly's homes from the initial development still intact.

At 319 Chemung St., this Federal Style house was built in 1849. This lot was once part of a larger parcel owned by Squire Whitaker. This home remained in the Whitaker family until 1928.

The site of 311 Chemung St. used to have a log house which Amos Spalding lived in. Then there was a 3 room frame house where the Tannery family lived in around 1853 until late in the 19th century. The present house on this site was built sometime during 1920-1927.

In 1849 Asenath Hill Jackson died. (Aaron Jackson's wife)

1849 - Andrew S. Rice sold a piece of his land to Thomas J. Brooks for $400.00 which Brooks had paid off in 1853. Brooks purchased about 1/2 of the current 208 Chemung St. property, east 1/2, and front 1/2 or east 1/2 of current 9 Athens St., while Andrew Rice kept the rest of our current property plus that of 7 Athens St. There is a rectangular shaped dwelling on an 1853 map where our current main house stands. This was the start of the current home at 208 Chemung street. Our basement to the main house does have a rectangle shape foundation with several areas added on to that rectangle shape, so it is possible that the dwelling shown on the 1853 map as Thomas Brooks', was added onto throughout the years, which newspaper articles do imply. Also on the 1853 map is the octagon home to the west of our main house, our yard on Chemung Street, owned by Andrew S. Rice.

In 1849 the New York and Erie Railroad opened for traffic. Owen Spalding, Isaac Shepard and Capt. Benjamin Davis gave right of way through their lands for this. The Depot was the first building raised there. It is said that Waverly owed its existence to the construction of the Erie Railroad. Sayre and Athens were dependent on Waverly as a main center of trade.

In 1849, Amos Spalding built a large store building which Hiram Moore sold Christmas goods from. William Gibbons, started the first store, with T. J. Brooks and John A. Corbin to follow. These stores were all in the Spalding block. Isaac Shepard then built the Shepard block.

1849 - 1850, President Zachary Taylor

On the 1849 tax assessment roll for the town of Barton, Tioga County, N.Y., there is listed: James V. Andress, Jacob Albright, James Albright, Adam Albright, Isaac Albright, Charles P. Avery, Absalom Bowman, Stephen Bennett, Francis Baldwin, Edward Brigham, Isaac Beekman, John Benedick, Elmer Brigham, Nathan Bristol, Hiram Barns, T. J. Brooks, John Barker, Aaron Brougham, Alexander Brooks, Brooks & Co., Henry Beard, William Bensley, Daniel Bryant, J. J. Brinerhoff, Isaac Barnes, Joseph Brock, Charles Bingham, Christopher Brown, Clark Bruster, O. M. Bruster, Daniel V. Brown, Kelsy Brown, Jesse Blue, Samuel Blue, Chester Brown, Julius Brown, D. W. Brown, Avery Brown, Mary L. Bruster, William H. Brown, Jacob J. Brown, Ira Barden, Charles Barden, Margaret Barden, Salmon Barden, Albert Barden, Levi Barden, Ahira Barden, Nelson Batchelor, Stephen Barden, George Bennett, John Bensly, Joseph Bartron, Joseph Jr. Bartron, Nicholas Bare, Hiram Bloodgood, Bloodgood & Fitch, David Bensly, Daniel Bensley, John Cahill, Jacob Clute, John Case, Nathaniel Crain, Adam Crane, Robert Curtis, H. W. Camp, Joseph Crotsley, Cruts & Crotsley, Stephen B. Cooly, J. D. Cortright, Alexander Cashada, John Cashada, Elizabeth Cashada, John Cole, Arnold Cary, William Cary, Abraham Cortright, Levi Cortright, William E. Cortright, Timothy Cashada, D. B. Cure, Lewis Canfield, Solomon Cumber, Nathan Crausmer, D. V. Coleman, Harvey Carl, Alfred Coleman, Ezra Carey, Alanson Carr, Willard Crotsley, Gabriel Conklin, Lewis Crotsley, B. H. Davis, Adam Davis, Henry V. Davis, Jacob P. Dunning, A. C. Dean, George Dickerson, Andrew Dewitt, John B. Dickerson, Moses Delany, Isaac Deo, Samuel A. DeForest, Nathan Dunbar, William Denslow, William Daily, Jonathan Dickerson, Jedediah Drake, Joseph Drake, Benjamin Drake, Benjamin Drake Jr., David Davenport, Alonzo Davenport, Stephen Dewitt, Benjamin Ellis, Joseph Ellis, John Ellis, Seeley Ellis, Alexander Ellis, Charles B. Ellis, Ira D. Ellis, Christopher Ellis, William T. Ellis, G. G. Edgcomb, William Ellison, John Ellison, G. & W. Ellison, Elias Edwards, Edgecomb, Brinkerhoff & Co., G. L. Edgecomb, Robert Evenden, Levi Edson, Evelin & Edgecomb, Phil Edwards, Jenkins Elston, J. B. Everett, Wm. M. Freemire, Jedediah Field, Delia Fincher, Asa A. Fitch, Franklin Foster, Robert Fox, James Fitzgerald, Silas Fordham, Daniel Fairchild, Rice Fairchild, S. Pekins Fordham, Philip Finch, James French, Robert French, L. Fitch, Jacob Fitzgerald, Philander Foster, Josiah Follett, Noah Field, William H. Farling, Martin Fuller, Allen Fuller, E. S. Fleming, Charles Frisby, Henry E. Forsyth, Joseph W. Fassett, Ebenezer Foster (Henry Foster's brother), Samuel Foster, William L. Galloway, William Gregory, Jacob Giltner, Isaac H. Grafft, Floyd H. Goodwin, Benjamin Golden, Nathaniel Golden, William Gee, John Gee, Parker Gee, Philemon Gee, Joseph Gee, Nathaniel Genung, Francis Giltner, John Giltner, William Giltner, Eliza B. Georgia, Harrison Giles, Charles Howard, Milo Hulett, Job Hulett, Isaac Hamlin, Joseph E. Hallett, Gilbert Hallett, Conrad Hay, Jerry Hancock, Charles Harsh, William Hinman, Robert Hedges, Jackson Harford, Pierre Hyatt, Micah Horton, John Hyatt, George Hanna, William Hanna, Seely Hanna, Daniel B. Hallock, Elisha E. Hill, Thomas W. Hill, Miriam Hill, Armanda Hill, Mahala Hill, Lyon Hedge, Christopher Hedges, Esther Hedges, James W. Harding, Reuben Harding, Ezekiel Hyatt, Samuel D. Hutchins, Volney Hubbel, Sylvanus Hedges, Hedges & Hoyt, John Hedges, Richard Hollenback, Samuel Hess, Abraham Hess, E. H. Hoyt, Thomas A. Hamilton, Simon Hamilton, Josiah Hanard, Josiah Hamilton, Ellen Hamilton, J. L. Holister, Sidney Hoyt, E. D. Hoyt, J. T. Hoyt, J. S. Hoyt, Lewis Hanford, Henry Hanford, B. A. Hoyt, J. S. Hoyt, S. H. Howell, John J. Horton, L. D. Hamilton, Charles B. Holt, Owen Hill, John J. Hanna, Lucius Hubbel, Lydia Hubbel, John Hevener, Peter Harford, James R. Hash, Joshua Howland, George B. Hollenbeck, Lewis Islett, Cyrus Johnson, Alvah Jarvis, Jared Jarvis, Thomas F. Johnson, William Johnson, Morgan R. Jones, Washington Johnson, Leonard Kingsworth, James King, Freelove Kirk, William H. King, Willard King, George King, William Knapp (George Knapp was a descendant), Barnabas Kline, Jonas Kishpaugh, Jacob Kinkle, Joseph Kishpaugh, William A. Lane, Justus Jr. Lyons, Philetus Lowery, Archibald Little, Allen Lott, Ann Lyons, Jonathan C. Lyons, Ransom Lyons, Moses Larnard, R. P. Levis, Henry Lyons, John Lambert, Isaac Lippencot, Elias Lunn, William Lott, Urseph Larnard, Montgomery Mead, E. S. Mandeville, Henry C. Myers, Lewis W. Mulock, Peter Maloy, Lewis Mills, William Manners, Joseph Manners, Joseph Moore, Robert Manning, Samuel Jr. McCutcheon, Urial Masterson, Job Manning, U. Meeker, John Meeker, Seth Mosher, William Marley, Amos Moore, James T. Mills, Solomon Minier, E. H. McQuigg, Jacob Masterson, Samuel Mills (Caroline Mills, Dewitt Slaughter's wife, had a father and brother named Samuel Mills), Daniel Mills, Robert T. Nichols, Jacob Newkirk, Loton Newell, George W. Newell, Heman Nettleton, Jacob I. Nichols, Jonas Newman, John Osborn, William H. Overton, William P. Owens, Isaac Osborn, George Oakley, John Parke, Clarke Parke, George Parke, James Partridge, John Platt, Gershom Pennell, Charles Pembleton, James Parker, J. W. Pierce, William Presher, Daniel Pool, Gabriel Pool, Joel Parks, Charles Payson, Joseph Quackenbush, Jason P. Russell, Andrew Rice, John Reading, M. B. Royal, Lucinda Robbins, Jacob H. Russell, William H. Rathbon, A. C. Reed, Alfred Reed, Mandeville Reed, D. B. H. Rodgers, Stephen Reed, James S. Rumsey, E. D. Ransom, Silas G. Root, Jonathan Rolf, George Ricky, Thomas Richards, Isaac L. Raymond, William Raand, James I. Reaves, William Shepard, F. H. Sutton, Job Shepard, Isaac Shepard, John Swain, Robert Shackelton, Shackelton & Hallett Store, Aaron Stowell, Amos Spalding, Nelson Stewart, Neil Strauss, Joseph Smith, Cela Spicer, Isaac Shepard, Hiram Sanders, John Shackelton, Jabez Sanders, Nathan Sanders, Harry Swartwood, Christopher Sanders, Jane Shelp, George Shelman, Freeman Shelp, Hiram Smith, John Saterlee, John Solomons, James M. Sliter, Benjamin Sawyer, John W. Sawyer, J. L. W. Shepard, Harvey Sliter, Shepard & Reeves Store, Jesse H. Soper, Owen Spalding, Sanford Shafer, George Shafer, Shafer & Golden, Abiram Stebbins, Samuel Stebbins, John Smith, William S. Smith, Giles Skilling, John Skilling, David Smith, Lewis B. Smith, Joel Sawyer, Elijah Sager, James Jr. Sager, Henry Sebeylor, Moses Shoemaker, Robert Swain, John Speers, Benjamin Shackelton, John Sabine, Merritt Sorter, Richard Spear, John Spear, Simon P. Sager, Ann Stewart, Solomon Stewart, Shaler Shipman, Philip C. Schuyler, A. H. Schuyler, Henry Spear, William G. Schoonover, William Swartwood, Seely Swartwood, John Shoemaker, Gilbert Smith, Nathan Smith, Julia Smith, Samuel Sibley, John Stratton, Charles Shoemaker, Aaron Shoemaker, Daniel D. Shoemaker, Leander Stephens, James Swartwood, Ezekiel Swartwood, Burgess Stone, Henry Tozer, Edward Tozer, Frederick Tozer, A. H. Tozer, Harris Tozer, Elishama Tozer, John R. Tozer, Charles V. Tozer, Almeron Tozer, Martin Thayer, William Tuttle, James Tannery, Elisha Tew, Abraham Thomas, William Thorp, Sutherland Tallmadge, William Terry, Charles E. Taylor, Eli Taylor, Owen Taylor, James T. Tenant, Jerusha Talcott, Hamilton Updike, James VanDerBogart, Ira Vanderlip, Daniel Vangorder, William VanAtta (Azariah's brother), Nathaniel VanDerBogart, John VanSike, Eliza VanAtta (Azariah's niece), Cornelius VanAtta, Aaron VanAtta, Wash. Vandemark, Henry Vandemark, James Vandemark, Elisha VanAtta, Peter VanAtta (Azariah's brother), John M. VanAtta (Azariah's father), Joseph VanDeBogart, Peter 1st VanDeBogart, Abraham VanHorn, Leander Walker, George Walker, Portia Walker, Marian Walker, Hutchins Wilcox, Thomas Wilcox, Squire Whitaker, Silas Wiggins, Timothy Wheeler, James Whitaker, Elias Walker, J. G. Wilkinson, B. O. Vanerlip, Adam VanAtta (Azariah's brother), John VanDerBogart, Sylvenus Wright, J. G. Washburn, Amazah Woodward, S. H. Williams, Eliphilet Wilber, Samuel West, William B. Wilbert, Alice Wilber, John W. Walden, James Willey, Ladawick Walden, Howland Wilber, Thomas Walden, Delia Wilcox, Stephen Wilson, Grant Wheeler, Daniel Williams, Oliver Welton, William Willis, Joseph Walling, Morris Walker, Seymour Wright, T. and T. Yates, Arthur Yates, Yates & Washburn, Albert Yaples

1850 - 1853, President Millard Fillmore

Compromise of 1850

On January 26, 1850, the Commissioner of Highways for the town of Barton, County of Tioga, State of New York, at Waverly, Hiram Bloodgood, ordered that a highway be laid out in Waverly along Broad street at a width of four rods. He also ordered a width of 3 rods along Pennsylvania avenue and along Tioga and Athens streets of 3 rods widths on the application of Owen Spalding, and by the consent of Isaac Shepard, Benjamin W. Davis, Owen Spalding, Robert Swain, John Shackleton, F. H. Sutton, Edward Sutton, Job Hulet, Gilbert H. Hallett and Joseph E. Hallett, through whose improved lands the highways were to pass through.

On March 15, 1850, Capt. Benjamin H. Davis, was made the first postmaster at Waverly. He had a home similar to that of 154 Chemung street built at 153 Chemung street, which had been demolished in the nineteenth century.

In April of 1850, Fulton, Clark, and Loder streets were also opened as public highways.

Part of our property at 208 Chemung St. : on April 1,1850 Andrew S. Rice sold to T.J.Brooks and Cynthia Lowman Brooks, his wife (about 1/2 of the current 208 Chemung St. property, east 1/2, and front 1/2 or east 1/2 of current 9 Athens St. ). Andrew S. Rice owned the octagon house on Chemung St. at this time and also north east half of current 9 Athens Street. On an 1853 map, the octagon house is shown west of the current main house and on the site of our current main house is a rectangular shaped house owned by T. J. Brooks.

1850 BARTON CENSUS
TIOGA COUNTY, NEW YORK
Andrew Rice, 40 yrs. old, Male, Foundry Man, 1,000
Eliza Rice 30 F England
Geo. Rice 4 M New York
Henry Rice 2 M New York
Frances Rice 1 F New York (They were family #92, and value of real estate owned was $1,000.)

The family # 91 was Aaron B. Stowell (35 yrs., Regular Baptist Preacher), Lucy L. (26 yrs.), Labaron (3), and Lucy A. (1). {This famly was known to live at 203 Chemung St.}

Family #93 was E. Brigham (39, hotel keeper, value of real estate $3,000.), Clarissa (34), Chls E. (9), Enbulus H. (8), Leister (4), Mary E. (3), Clarrisa (1), Chls Aldrich (35, brick maker), Jas M Smith (32, Tailor), Geo, W. Ayers (19, laborer), Sophia Bruce (22), Lenora Bruce (17), Michael Morrison (28,brick maker), Micheal Griffin (21, brick maker), Chls W Brown (17, brick maker), Jas M Brown (18, brick maker), H. Hoyt (30, laborer), D. Randall (32), H. Wilcox (34, Sawyer), John Sanders (25, Artist), Abel Townsend (25, blacksmith), John Shahay (27, Laborer), G. W. Myers (26, capenter), John Swain (28), Wm Myers (22), John Cornell (30, laborer), J. D. Sigler (25). {This hotel/tavern was known to be at the southwest corner of Waverly and Chemung streets}

With those families being in that order, it makes sense that the Rice's probably were in the octagon home at that time on Chemung St., Waverly, NY.

1850 BARTON CENSUS
TIOGA COUNTY, NEW YORK
Page 6
19 line #
127 dwelling #
132 family #
T. J. Brooks 33 age M sex Merchant occupation 1,300 value of real estate
Cynthia Brooks 26 F
Rosmond Brooks 3 F
Joseph Biers 13 M
Henry McCane 18 M Clerk born PA (previous on the list was Penning's family and after Brooks on list was Thomas Hart and then G. H. Hallet)

From the U.S. 1850 census: Hamptonburgh, Orange County, NY- Dewitt Slaughter (47 yrs., farmer), wife, Caroline (38), son, Sam W. (13), daughter, Antoinette (4), Thomas Hamilton (28 yrs., born in Ireland, laborer), Anthony Conner (14 yrs.), and Martha I. Millspaugh (13 yrs.)

1850 census: Barton, Tioga, NY
Isaac Shepard 57 PA Farmer
Deborah Shepard 58 NY
Chls H Shepard 36 NY Farmer
R F Floyd 18 NY
Betsey Johnson 15 NY
Lyman Brook 21 NY
Chilson Tolliver 60 NY

1850's started Second Industrial Revolution

Oct. 3, 1851.
The first newspaper was the Waverly Luminary Published (1851-1852), Thomas Messenger, editor and proprietor. The initial number of the Luminary bore the date Oct. 3, 1851.

In the spring of 1852, four hundred maple trees were planted on the primary thoroughfares of the village of Waverly.

In 1852 T. J. Brooks opened a general store.
Thomas Jefferson Brooks was born December 18, 1816, in Otsego county, married September 3, 1844 and died September 29, 1857. Thomas married Cynthia Lowman who was born March 4, 1824 and died December 4, 1874. Their daughter, Rosamond Lillis Brooks was born February 11, 1847 and died March 11, 1923. Rosamund married Samuel Murray Tubbs (born March 31, 1835 in Elmira, NY) on October 25, 1865 in Chemung Co., NY. Samuel Murray Tubbs died February 15, 1900. Children of Samuel and Rosamond Tubbs; Susie Brooks born August 25, 1866 in Elmira, died March 6, 1868 in Waverly, Mary Alice born October 1, 1872, Frances Brooks born May 23, 1875 in Elmira, she was on the Jan. 13, 1920 census in Elmira, unmarried and living with her mother, and Helen Rosamond born December 8, 1877.

In 1852, Capt. Benjamin Davis, built the Davis block, later known as the "Exchange."

In 1852, there were between 400 and 500 people who lived in Waverly.

At 300 Chemung Street, "Payne House", built in 1852, is an example of Federal/Greek Revival era. The Hiram Payne house was sold by his son to pay a debt in 1909. Hiram Payne had a furniture store on Broad st. (1855-1865).This is an example of a typical home of the 1840's-1850's. Earlier known as "New Moore House" maybe built by Hiram Moore, a prosperous businessman.

1853 - 1857, President Franklin Pierce

April 25, 1853, a formal application to incorporate the village of Waverly , was made by H. S. Davis, Owen Spalding, T. J. Brooks, W. A. Brooks, R. O. Crandall, Richard A. Elmer, Alvah Jarvis and others. On December 12, 1853, a notice for a call of election was made and on January 18, 1854, voters of the village cast a total of 158 votes; 114 for and 44 against. The election was held at the old hotel, run by James Whitaker, on the corner of Chemung and Waverly streets.

In 1854 Waverly was incorporated. It was the only village in the town of Barton. Joseph Hallett, chose and copied the name from Sir Walter Scott's "Waverley", and dropped the second "e", but for several years, it was still spelled "Waverley". New York, Connecticut, and Pennsylvania are where most of the early settlers to Waverly came from. The incorporation was actually December 12, 1853 and the first village officers were elected on March 27, 1854.

In 1854 Gilbert Hallett moved to Chicago where he died in August of 1883 at 76 years of age.

Mr. Howe came to Waverly in 1854 and opened a school on the corner of Lincoln and Chemung streets. This school was closed in the winter of 1856.

Kansas Nebraska Act - In 1854, the territories of Kansas and Nebraska were created, the Missouri Compromise of 1820 was repealed, and allowed settlers in those territories to determine if they would allow slavery within their boundaries.

1855 New York State Census: A. S. Rice 45 years old foundry man, Eliza 35 y.o., George 9 y.o., Henry 7 y.o., Frances 6 y.o., Arthur 1 y.o., family order of visit 104, Frame dwelling $4,000. (Octagon home on Chemung Street, in yard of current 208 Chemung Street)

1855: T. J Brooks 38 years old Agent for G & E, Cynthia 30 y.o., Lilian Rosamond 8 y.o., family order of visit 103, Frame dwelling $1,000. (208 Chemung Street)

1855: Hirham Paine, family order of visit 102, Frame dwelling $2,500. (300 Chemung Street)

1855: J. E. Hallet , carpenter, order 106, frame $2,000. (207 Chemung Street)

According to the 1855 New York State Census, the beginnings of our home at 208 Chemung street when lived in by Thomas J. Brooks and his family was a more modest home of the times being worth only $1,000. While the home at 300 Chemung street was worth $2,500. The home across the street at 207 Chemung street was worth $2,000. Interesting is that the octagon home lived in by Andrew Rice and family and in our current Chemung street yard was worth $4,000.

1855: Davis, merchant, order 103 frame $1,500. (Could have been at 153 Chemung st. home no longer there, destroyed or there was also a Henry S. Davis at 209 Chemung st in a previous home on the site who was a merchant and he dealt with several real estate transactions.)

1855: Goshen, Orange county, NY; Alfred Wells 49 farmer, Lydia N. Wells 47, James E. Wells 21 farmer, Catharine R. Wells 16, George W. Wells 14, Moses A. Wells12, Eugene F. Wells 10, Lewis A. Wells 8, Charlotte Wells 6, Charles S. Wells 4, Joshua Wells 76 father farmer, Francis Wells 35 sister, Elisar McCabe 20, Isac Gaul 55, John B. Newman 25. (Charlotte Wells, Samuel Slaughter's future wife)

1855 NY state census: Frame house worth $1,000. Dewitt Slaughter 51 or 57 Farmer, Caroline Slaughter 42, Samuel Slaughter 17, Antoinette Slaughter 9 along with Victor Hokey 25 from Switzerland Farmer, Sarah Hokey his wife 26, Jacob Hokey 3, Charles Hokey 1, Nancy Caveno 13 servant, William Jackson from England 50 servant, Priscilla ? 54 mother inlaw (Hamptonburg Orange county, NY) {Two years before Dewitt buys 208 Chemung street Waverly, NY}

1855 NY state census: Wallkill Orange County,(Caroline Mills Slaughter's family) stone house worth $500. Samuel Mills 78 yrs old farmer, Esther Mills wife 65 yrs old, Albert Mills son 29 yrs old farmer, David Kipp 22 yrs old servant, Mary I Wislon 20 domestic, Heziekah Cullen 73 yrs old servant.

December 11, 1856 Andrew S. Rice to Luman Rice for $700.00, land of current day 3 and 5 Athens Street Waverly, NY. Andrew Rice, living in the octagon house on Chemung Street, was dividing up his land and selling it off. (Back in 1850, Rice had sold part off to T. J. Brooks, part where current house is at 208 Chemung Street and part of current 9 Athens street land)

1857 - 1861, President James Buchanan

Dred Scott Decision - March 6, 1857

Part of our 208 Chemung St. property (the main house): on April 8, 1857, Thomas J. Brooks and Cynthia Lowman Brooks sold to Dewitt Slaughter for $1,500. On the 1853 Waverly and Factoryville map, it is a rectangular shaped house.

Our Zehr Estate was known as the "Slaughter Residence." In 1857, Dewitt Slaughter and his family came to Waverly and Dewitt Slaughter was said to have had the house built for his son (rebuilt in the Eastlake style as a wedding gift), Samuel Slaughter, who did inherit it upon his father's death. Dewitt along with his wife Caroline and their two living children, Samuel and Antonette, all lived here. Caroline died in 1861 and Antonette died in 1868. Samuel married Charlotte Wells in 1873. Dewitt Slaughter died in 1875.

DeWitt Slaughter, son of Isaac Slaughter, was born in Orange county, New York, September 3, 1803, and died at Waverly, New York, September 18, 1875. He was a farmer at Hamptonburg. He was married on January 9, 1834 to Caroline Mills, born May 4, 1812, and she died November 9, 1861. Caroline was the daughter of Samuel Mills, born Aug. 27, 1776 in New Windsor, Orange, NY and Esther (Stitt) born Aug. 28, 1787 in Bloomingburg, Sullivan, NY. Children of Dewitt and Caroline Slaughter were: Sarah Elizabeth, born May 26, 1835, died July 3, 1841; Samuel Wickham, born Nov. 8, 1837, died August 24, 1894; James DeWitt born March 9, 1840, died March 1, 1842; Antonette born July 10, 1846, died March 18, 1868; Mary Caroline, born June 22, 1850, died September 4, 1854.

Samuel Wickham Slaughter came to Waverly with his father's family from Orange county. Samuel operated the Corner Drug Store in Waverly for more than thirty years.

The following is taken from, Our County And Its People. Tioga County, New York, Leroy W. Kingman, Editor, W. A. Fergusson & Co. Elmira, N. Y. 1897 pages 616-617: SAMUEL WICKHAM SLAUGHTER, second son of Dewitt and Caroline (Mills) Slaughter, was born at Hamptonburg, Orange county, November 8, 1837. He was educated at Chester and Middletown academies, and when twenty years of age, in 1857, came with his father's family to Waverly. He engaged in the drug business, and for over thirty years occupied the "corner drug store." In 1883, on account of failing health, he retired from active life. Mr. Slaughter married, on May 13, 1873, Miss Charlotte, youngest daughter of Mr. Alfred Wells, of Goshen, N.Y., a lady whose sterling qualities of womanhood were well fitted to make his home life pleasant and attractive. They have one child, Gertrude. During the long period of his business operations Mr. Slaughter was a leader in the commercial interests of Waverly, and all things tending to advance the prosperity of the village found him a ready helper. It has been truly said of him: "As a citizen Mr. Slaughter enjoyed to its fullest extent the confidence and respect of his fellow townsmen. Naturally of a retiring disposition, he always refused positions of public honor, yet he was ever interested in affairs, and with every plan whose purpose was the commercial or spiritual prosperity of the village, his name was closely associated in wise counsel and generous contribution." In the few civil and educational offices he was persuaded to fill, his promptness, clear judgment and accurate intuitions gave evidence of his pre-eminent ability to fill any station with credit and honor. His long connection with the Citizen's bank of Waverly, of which he was vice-president from its organization in 1874 until his death on August 24, 1894, demonstrated that he possessed the characteristics of a successful financier. His nature was both studious and artistic, and his beautiful home and place of business bore ample testimony to his correct taste and his love of the beautiful. His business sagacity and his skill in investing brought him wealth, which his generous nature forbade him to hoard. His ear was ever open to the tale of the deserving poor, and those who needed sympathy and aid were bountifully and delicatley supplied. He was truly "the poor man's friend," and at his death among the most sincere mourners were the many whose lives had been brightened and cheered by his christian benevolence. His life for long years was dominated by the spirit of Christ, and in 1874 he made public profession of his christian faith by joining the First Presbyterian church. For many years he served as a member of the board of trustees, and to his business qualities and generosity this church is largely indebted for the high position it occupies. In his church life Mr. Slaughter was a man of few words, but of generous impulses and noble actions. His piety was unaffected, deep, reverent and full of sunshine. He was a diligent student of the bible, and pre-eminently a man of prayer. His faith in God was strong, his hopes for the future were bright. The end of such a life is peace. Mr. Slaughter was interred in the family burial-ground at Phillipsburg, Orange county, where his body rests awaiting the resurrection summons. (In 1898, Samuel Slaughter's remains which had been resting in a vault in Phillipsburg cemetery were sent for and brought back to Waverly for burial in Glenwood Cemetery.)

"July 4, 1857, Waverly's biggest celebration. Three enormous flag poles erected. The tallest was 150 feet and situated on the corner of Broad and Fulton. Probably 5,000 people in town that day for the festivities. (Looking Backward Over the Years, No. 39 )"

On Sept. 29, 1857, Thomas Jefferson Brooks died in Lowman, NY.

February 9, 1858 Andrew S. Rice to Amelia J. Foster for $1,500.00, the octagonal house on Chemung street, with parts of current day 9 and all of current day 7 Athens street.

March 15, 1858 Isaac Shepard died.

June 14, 1858 Luman A. Rice & Melissa his wife to Amelia J. Foster for $1,000.00, land of current day 3 and 5 Athens Street, Waverly, NY.

June 25, 1858 Ameila J. Foster and Henry S. Foster to Edwin Mills for $3,000, Octagon house on Chemung Street plus the part of the land of current day 9 Athens Street, lands of current day 7, 5, and 3 Athens Street, Waverly, NY. (Henry S. Foster January 20, 1825-June 28, 1901 and Amelia J. Dodge Foster 1831-1864, daughter Minnie 1861-1874.)

On July 2, 1858 (recorded) Amelia J. Foster and Henry S. Foster sold to Edwin Mills and Libbie, his wife, the octagonal house up to land owned by Dewitt Slaughter. (This Edwin Mills was probably Caroline Slaughter's brother) There is an Ely (Ebineezer) Foster, born Feb. 6, 1790, died Oct. 16, 1843, buried in Factoryville Cemetery, East Waverly, Tioga County, NY. His parents were David and Lydia Susanna Foster. Ely's wife was Susan and they had Henry S. Foster born in 1810 and Ebenezer Foster born in 1811. Henry married Amelia. Ebenezer married Sarah Van de Bogart and they had Henry F. Foster born July 1844 in Barton, Tioga county, NY. Amelia J. Dodge Foster was born September 5, 1831 and died May 15, 1864. Amelia's parents were Robert (1801-1875) and Susan J. Dodge (1811-1887). Amelia's spouse was Henry S. Foster (1825-1901) and their child Minnie A. Foster (1861-1874). They are buried at Ridgebury Cemetery in Ridgebury, Orange county, NY.

December of 1858 certificate filed by Cynthia L. Brooks for Thomas J. Brooks, late of the town of Owego, Tioga county.

From the U. S. 1860 census: I could not find Henry Foster in Waverly. Dewit Slaughter - 56, Caroline Slaughter -46, Samuel W. Slaughter -21, and Antonette Slaughter -13, ( 208 Chemung St.) since Hiram Paine-57, was listed as the next one, and on the 1869 map, H.P. was at 300 Chemung St. (Census has misspellings)

1860 census: Wallkill Orange County, NY Middletown (Caroline Mills Slaughter's family) Albert Mills 35 yrs old farmer, Louisa Mills 26 yrs old, Samuel Mills 83 yrs old retired farmer, Esther Mills 72 yrs old, Silas J Miller 23 yrs old farm laborer, John Brown 16 yrs old farm laborer, Samuel A. Bull 15 yrs old laborer, Elizabeth Foster 18 domestic

1860 census: Wallkill NY Henry S. Foster 31 yrs carriage maker, wife Amelia A 25 yrs, Ewin D son 6 yrs, Susan daughter 4 yrs, Mary A. daughter 4 months, Mary E Hyatt 19 yrs domestic

1860 census: Great Bend, Susquehanna County, PA, George W. Orange (44 yrs.), Wife, Emily H. (38 yrs.), Martha I (20 yrs.), and Sarah A. (15 yrs.).

1860 census: In Barton, Tioga County, NY- Azariah VanAtta (32 yrs., born about 1829, lumberman), Clista, his wife (31 yrs.), Eugene C. (2 yrs.), and John C. (8 months).

1860 census- Wallkill, Orange county, NY- Henry S. Foster (31, carriage maker), wife, Amelia A. (25), Edwin D. (6), Susan (4), Mary A. (4 months), Mary E. Wyatt (19, domestic servant)

1860 census - Brooklyn, NY- Andrew Rice (50, machinist), Elizabeth Rice (39, real estate worth $3,000), Henry Rice (12), Frances Rice (11), George Dean (42, painter), George Dean (12), William Dean (4), Celina Dean ( 64), Silliman Beden (40, tin smith).

In 1861, Caroline Slaughter died.

From 1850 to 1860 there were many improvements made in Waverly. It was said that a visitor to Waverly in 1850 who would come back 10 years later, in 1860, would hardly recognize Waverly due to the roads being opened and the pretentious or elaborate residences that had been built. After Dewitt Slaughter purchased our home from T. J. Brooks, Dewitt had the home enlarged by adding on to it as can be seen by looking at the basement's foundation and also by looking at maps. Somewhere between 1857 and before 1869, our current foundation layout was completed. Possibly the changes took place around 1866 for that is when Dewitt Slaughter had his will made out, leaving the home to Samuel and its furniture to Antonette. In 1873 it had major alterations done to give it its current Victorian Eastlake style with a touch of Gothic appearance.

Taken from "A Survey Of Waverly" Village of Waverly Tioga County, New York. Preservation Planning Workshop College of Architecture, Art, and Planning Cornell University July 1982. page 9 : "During the last decades of the nineteenth century Waverly acquired some of its most exceptional buildings. A complex of buildings at 208 Chemung Street featuring elaborate Eastlake style detail was built for Samuel Slaughter, owner of the Corner Drug Store on Broad Street. The house was originally built before 1869 and received its present form after alterations in the late nineteenth century. The main house retains its exquisite turned members in porch, dormer, and gable ornamentation. Its slate roof is capped by an intricate wrought iron cresting. The accompanying well, carriage house and apartment, which may have been a stable, are embellished with similar carved Eastlake detail. " from page 11, "Several prominent local landmarks have been demolished. An unfortunate loss was a two story octagon house built before 1853. It was originally built between 202 and 208 Chemung Street and was moved to Athens Street sometime before 1927 and finally demolished by 1949." "Many slate sidewalks still remain on Park and Pennsylvania Avenues and Athens and Chemung Streets." from page 156, "This building sits on one of the largest lots on Chemung Street at the corner of Athens Street. With the Palmer House next door also on a corner lot, this block is a major landmark along the street characterized by a variety of nineteenth century architectural styles predominantly of wood frame construction." (The octagon home was built on Chemung street for Andrew S. Rice circa 1846 and it was moved down to 7 Athens street in 1879 by Samuel Slaughter)(The main house at 208 Chemung street received its Eastlake detail in 1873, the year Samuel Slaughter married Charlotte Wells)

American Civil War (1861-1865)

On August 14, 1861 Jacob B. Floyd married Matilda H. Snyder of Scranton, PA. Florence was one of their children. J. B. Floyd practiced law in Waverly.

1861 - 1865, President Abraham Lincoln

Emancipation Proclamation - freeing slaves

Transcontinental Railroad - The world's First Transcontinental Railroad was built between 1863 and 1869 to join the eastern and western halves of the United States.

January 16, 1863, Samuel Slaughter borrowed $2,250.00 from his father, Dewitt Slaughter for the building on corner of Broad and Waverly street, this would become the Corner Drug Store. It was to be paid off in 10 years. This building was previously owned and occupied by Henry S. Davis as a dry goods store.

In the year 1864, DeWitt Slaughter was one of the trustees for Waverly.

As early as 1864, according to the mortgage records in Owego, NY, Dewitt Slaughter held deeds to several properties as collateral for loans to several people. He did this right up til his death in 1875.

1865 NY state census: at 208. Dewitt Slaughter 61 yrs. old (Gentleman), Samuel Slaughter 25 yrs. old merchant, Nettie Slaughter 17 yrs. old Worth $1,500 or $1,600

Interesting that Walter Lewis (Cooper), Esther his wife, Mary, John, Hanna, their children were living in same house as Azariah Vanatta (Carpenter), Corlista his wife, Eugene, and John. Don't know where this house was. It was worth $800. In order of visit for census next family was John (lumberman) and Julina Sawyer, home worth $5,000.

Family prior to Slaughter's visit was Hiram Payne Lawyer, Sarah his wife and Hiram Payne 22 yrs old teacher and Forrest Payne 19 yrs old clerk with 8 boarders (300 Chemung St.)

Next family was Arthur Yates,Elizabeth his wife and children, worth $2,000, family after that was Dunning worth $1,500

On April 14, 1865, Good Friday, President Abraham Lincoln was assassinated at Ford's Theatre in Washington.

1865 NY state census: In Goshen, Orange county, NY district one; Alfred Wells 58 farmer, Lydia Wells 57, John W. Wells 26 farmer, Geo. W. Wells 24 student, Eugene F. Wells 18, Lewis A. Wells 17 farmer, Charlotte Wells 14, Chas. S. Wells 12, Francis Gleger 21 servant from Ireland. (Charlotte Wells, Samuel Slaughter's future wife)

1865 - 1869, President Andrew Johnson

208 Chemung St.: October 31, 1866 Dewitt Slaughter had a will made that would leave his property and home to his son, Samuel Wickham Slaughter. Dewitt's household goods and furniture he wanted to leave to his daughter, Antonette Slaughter. (Antonette died, two years after (1868) the will had been made and before the death of her father (1875.)

The first building for the First Presbyterian Church was on the current site and built in 1849. The current building was built by architect, T.L. Solly of Binghamton, NY in 1866. It is an example of English Gothic Revival style.

1867 Miss N. A. Williams opens school for Young Ladies in the Octagon House on Chemung St. (still owned by Edwin Mills)

In 1868, Antonette Slaughter died.

July 9, 1868 Fourteenth Amendment - prohibits state and local governments from depriving persons of life, liberty, or property without certain steps being taken to ensure fairness, and overruled the Dred Scott Decision.

On August 21, 1868, Mark Twain stopped in Waverly, on his way to Elmira, on the Erie R.R. Samuel Clemens was on his way to Elmira to visit with the Langdon family for a "few days", he mixed up the time tables of the trains and ended up taking a slower train, "Express Mail," instead of the "Daily Express", so Langdon decided to meet the train in Waverly. This is when Twain started courting his friend's sister, Olivia Langdon, and then fell in love with her.

The 1860's and 1870's experienced much building. Several Italianate style homes were being built. 151 (c. 1860) and 155 (c. 1872-73) Chemung St., and 431(1862-1869), 440 (1869-1871), 444 (1853-1855) , and 446 (Pre 1853) Pennsylvania Avenue, were some of these homes being built. Pennsylvania Avenue used to be known as "The Lane."

In 1868, Aaron Jackson died. He had the blacksmith shop on site of current house at 208 Chemung Street.

At 105 Chemung St., the house was built for Charles Henry Shepard (born 1814, died 1903). Charles was the son of Isaac Shepard. This home does not appear on an 1855 map, but does appear on an 1869 map. The date of original construction may have been around 1860. This house remained in the Shepard family until 1951 when Marion Shepard gave it to Robert Packer Hospital. She died in 1957. This home is an example of Italianate Style. The area around this home was known at one time as Villemont. It was and is still known by some as Shepardville. In 1981, Louise Shallenberger owned this home. She passed away July 2, 2009 after a lengthy illness. Louise was the daughter of the late Charles and Arpa Ruebling, who were frequent visitors to the Valley area. Her husband, Doctor Paul Shallenberger, predeceased her on January 15, 1981. In 2009, Louise was survived by her four children, Anne (Lou) Shaffer, North Cumberland, PA, Lynn Anderson, Pacific Palisades, CA, Kathryn L. Shallenberger, Hector, NY, and John Shallenberger, Los Angeles, CA

1869 - 1877, President Ulysses S. Grant

An 1869 map shows a house at 208 (D. Slaughter) with Octagon house (E. Mills) and home at 202 (Richardson), all on Chemung St. Waverly, NY

Tioga County NY tax information: Main house may have had alterations done in 1866 or 1869. 1866 would make sense, since that is the year Dewitt Slaughter made out his will leaving the house to Samuel. Dewitt died in 1875.

At 209 Chemung St., this current home (Colonial Revival) was built between 1869-1874. In 1853 this site had a 5 bay 1 1/2 story Greek Revival home on it. It was the Henry S. Davis residence. He owned two dry goods stores. By 1869, no structure was on the property. In 1875 Cyrus Warford, owner of Warford House Hotel on Broad St., purchased this property and probably current house.

At 416 Chemung St., this was the Charles Sawyer (b.1827, d.1892) residence, built around 1869-1870. It is an example of Second Empire Style and one of the best examples in Tioga County. Hal Sawyer (Fred's son), grandson of Charles, lived in the home after retiring from work in New York.

1870- 1918 Athens gazette. (Athens, Pa.) Newspaper. Absorbed by: Evening times (Sayre, Pa.), 1918.

From the U.S. 1870 census: Family #23- all living in the same house with Dewitt Slaughter (retired farmer, 66 y.o.) and his son Samuel Slaughter (Drug Merchant, 32 y.o.) was Walter H. Lewis (Cooper, 58), Esther M. Lewis (keeping house, 51), Mary J. Lewis (book keeper, 21), John E. Lewis (stenographer, 14), Annie L. Lewis (at home, 6), Nathaniel Ackerly (farm laborer, 31). 208 Chemung St.

Nathaniel Ackerly moved to Waverly in 1870 and took a position with the Lehigh Valley railroad company and was later (1873) a witness in Samuel and Charlotte Slaughter's wedding. John E. Lewis also took a job in 1870 with the Erie railroad as a telegraph messenger boy.

Family #21 was Lewis Richardson (Western ticket agent, 53), Julia Richardson (keeping house, 50), and Ellen Terry (domestic servant, 25). This was probably site of 202 Chemung St.

On an 1869 map of Waverly, there was a L. S. Richardson at 202 Chemung Street (not the current home, a former home) and the octagon home on Chemung Street owned by Edwin Mills. Edwin owned the "Octagon House" and rented it out. (In 1867, There was a Young Ladies' School at the "Octagon House" and in 1871 Dr. M. B. Weaver moved his practice into the "Octagon House". Edwin Mills was also trying to sell this at that time.)

Family #22 was Frank Gallagher (? physician, 28), Mary E. Gallagher (keeping house, 30), Frank Gallagher (school, 12), John F. Esch (Episcopal Minister, 30), and Eliza Persley (domestic servant, 30). {This family lived in part of the house at 202 Chemung St.}

1870 in Waverly, NY: Geo. W. Orange 57 station agent, Emily W. Orange 50, Josiah T. Buck 27 clerk at depot, Abbie Buck 25.(152 Chemung st. was sold by Azariah J. Vanatta to Geo. Orange) Next on list in order of visit was George Walker 38, Catharine 34, Robert 7 months, Arthur 18, Ellen Norah 20 domestic servant.(on 1869 map there was a G. Walker at 465 Fulton st. Next was Azariah Van Atta 41 real estate worth $5,000, personal $1,000 carpenter and joiner, Corlista 40 keeping house, E. Clare 12, John C. 10, Eddie 1 (on the 1869 map Azariah was at 152 Chemung st) next were two more families, then Francis Baldwin (1869 map shows at 154 Chemung st.), next is Lewis Richardson and Julia, (1869 map shows Richardson at 202 Chemung St. This is not the same house at current day 202 Chemug st, it was an earler house that was taken down) then Frank Gallagher (supposidly lived in part of a section of a house at 202 Chemung st.), then The Slaughter's at 208 Chemung St.

1870 in Goshen, Orange county, NY; Alfred Wells 64 farmer value of real esate 24,700. value of personal 10,000. Lydia (Westbrook Nyce) Wells 60, John Wells 30 working on farm, Charlotte Wells 18 living at home, Charles S. Wells 16 working on farm, John Krance 50 farm laborer from Holland, Henry Kranse 24 farm laborer from Russia, Fourke Shakespeard from Baccer? 22, Alfred Coleman 10, next house in order of visit: Jesse Holbert 30, Elizabeth Holbert 25, Harrick Holbert 6, Adrian Holbert 4, Harriett Holbert 2, Anna Holbert 1 month, William Galliga 24, John Byar 26, Ann Mcgough 27. (Charlotte Wells, Samuel Slaughter's future wife)

In 1871, sixteen blocks and 25 business places were burned.

In 1871, Jacob B. Floyd graduated from Albany Law School and immediately started practicing in Waverly. He held the office of special county judge and was a member of the state assembly in 1882. His wife was Matlida H. Snyder from Scranton, PA. They had 3 children, one of whom was Florence. They were friends of the Slaughter's.

1871 Dr. M. B. Weaver has his practice in the Octagon House on Chemung st.(still owned by Edwin Mills)

In 1872, Mr. J. T. Sawyer married Alice Lyman, of Goshen, Conn. They had a child, Ellen, born in 1874.

1872 directory: G. W. Orange Waverly station agent Erie Depot

October 11, 1872 Lydia Nyce Wells passed away at age of 63. Charlotte Wells' mother.

On May 13, 1873, Samuel Slaughter married Charlotte Wells (witnesses were James E. Wells and Nathaniel Ackerly). She was the youngest daughter of Alfred and Lydia (Nyce) Wells from Middletown, NY. Charlotte was born on July 13, 1850. They were married at the First Presbyterian Church at Goshen, New York.

On July 24, 1873, the village of Waverly, NY was lighted with gas.

Summer of 1873: The "Slaughter Residence" was rebuilt and designed by Azariah J. Van Atta (Vanatta), Architect and Contractor. (Born December 15, 1827, moved to Waverly in 1850, but previous to 1850, lived outside of Waverly on a farm, died May 1913) See newspaper August 15, 1873 - "rebuilt"

In 1873 Hall & Cummings established the Novelty Furniture Works of Waverly, but in 1876 they moved to Athens, PA. It was one of the largest in the state of PA. In 1884, it was destroyed by fire. Waverly citizens wanted them to move back to Waverly. In 1884 they reopened in Waverly. They opened a large sales room in Philadelphia and sold their products throughout New England, New York, and Pennsylvania.

In 1874, the Citizens' Bank of Waverly was organized and Samuel Slaughter was the vice president from the start until his death. The other officers of the bank were; J. T. Sawyer, president, M. Lyman, cashier and then F. A. Sawyer as cashier. In that same year, Samuel joined the Presbyterian Church (the First Presbyterian Church of Waverly was organized June 8, 1847) where he served for many years on the board of trustees. It was said of Samuel Slaughter that, "His nature was both studious and artistic, and his beautiful home and place of business bore ample testimony."

1875 NY state census: framed house worth $8,000. S. W. Slaughter 37 druggist, Mrs. C. Slaughter 24, Dewitt Slaughter 72 father.

1875: Goshen, Orange county NY; frame house worth $2000. Alfred Wells 70 farmer, Charles S. Wells 23 son, Elizabeth Space 40 servant house keeper, James Healey 25 servant farm laborer, Pat McKinly 20 servant from Ireland farm laborer.

1875: Josiah T. Buck 33, A. B. Buck 30, Howard O. Buck 5, George C. Buck 3, G. W. Orange 60 father -in-law, E. H. Orange 49 mother-in-law, Julia Cole 13 domestic servant. Framed house worth $6,000. Possibly on Chemung st. Waverly, NY. Searcing for house number?

1875 census: Orange county NY brick house worth $3,000. Edwin Mills farmer, wife Elizabeth Mills, daughter Bertha Mills, and son Ralph Mills

1875 census: Wallkill Orange county NY frame home worth $3,000 John S. Conkling 45 yrs, wife Addie 28 yrs, son Dewitt 19 yrs bank clerk, daughter Nellie 4 yrs, son Wilbur 1, in same home; Samuel Shaw carpenter, wife Susan, boarder Carrie Banister.

On March 16, 1875 the octagonal house was sold by Edwin Mills and Libbie B, his wife to John S Conkling. Part of our property at 208 Chemung St. plus 7 Athens Street: on March 19, 1875 Edwin Mills sold to Conkling, about 1 acre with an octagonal house on it. (John S. Conkling, Addie Conkling wife, Dewitt 19 yrs old bank clerk, Nellie and Wilbur were living in Wallkill, Orange county, NY in a home worth $3,000.) (1875 census, Edwin Mills 45 farmer and wife Elizabeth 30, Bertha 5, Ralph 2, were living in a brick house worth $ 3,000 in Wallkill, Orange county, NY.)

On September 18, 1875 Dewitt Slaughter, Samuel's father, died.

In 1875 there was an M. B. Weaver, 42, doctor born in Tompkins County with wife M. J. Weaver, 40, born in Tompkins county and son M. L. Weaver, 10, born in Seneca county. All living in 4th voting district in framed house worth $3,000 and all surrounding homes worth about the same in Waverly, NY. He advertised in the Elmira directory as physician boarding at 414 N. Main St in Elmira. (In 1871, he was practicing in the Octagon home on Chemung st. Waverly, NY)

According to mortgage records at Owego, NY, Samuel Slaughter held on several deeds starting in 1876 as collateral for several loans he made to different people. (These loans could have been the ones his father had given out, and after his death, Samuel inherited them)

In 1876, Samuel Slaughter also owned a house at 146 Chemung Street, he paid $2,800.00. This house was built sometime between 1869 and 1876.

On Sept 14, 1876 John S Conkling and Addie to Charles A Luckey, Octagonal House plus current day 7 Athens Street land and 1/2 of current 9 Athens Street.

1877 - 1881, President Rutherford B. Hayes

Sept. 5, 1877 Luckey to John S. Conkling, Octagonal House with about one acre.

October 25, 1877 John S. Conkling and Adeline, his wife, to Samuel W. Slaughter, octagon house and lot immediately to the east, $2,600.00

October 25, 1877, Our property consisted of current day, 208 & 208 1/2 Chemung St. and 7 and 9 Athens St, Waverly, NY. All owned by Samuel Slaughter. The main house and octagon house were at 208 Chemung Street.

In December of 1877, the first telephone was put in.

Annual Report of the American Bible Society
"Oct. 1899 Library of the University of California
Presented May 10 1878 S W Slaughter donation $30.00
Members for life Mrs. S W Slaughter Waverly, NY"

The Waverly Water Co. was organized in 1880. Officers of the company were J. T. Sawyer, S. W. Slaughter, and J. B. Floyd. In 1880 Samuel Slaughter was vice president of Waverly Water Company.

From the U. S. 1880 census: on Chemung street, Wick Slaughter (Drugist, 45 y.o.) and his wife Charlot Slaughter (keeping house, 40 y.o.) Notice Samuel went by his middle name, Wickham and the misspelling of Charlotte.

1880- At Pennsylvania Avenue- Azariah VanAtta (51 yrs., carpenter), Corlista E. (51 yrs., keeping house), John C. (20 yrs., clerk in store), Edwin H. (11 yrs., school)

1880- At Athens St. - no house #'s given- dwelling house # in order of visitation- #244{this was probably today's site of 3 & 5 Athens St. which had one larger home. Current day homes at 3 and 5 Athens Street are still not on a 1914 map, but do show up on a 1927 map} is Minnie Quick (Head, 42 yrs., widowed, school teacher), Sarah Horton (sister, 53 yrs., keeping house), Peter S. Dunning (brother-in-law, 58 yrs., widower, carpenter), Frank H. Dunning (nephew, 23, single, school teacher), Clayton H. Dunning (nephew, 14, printer), John E. Dunning (nephew, 9, at school), William Schoot (Head, 26 yrs., painter), Ella P. L. Schoot (wife, 34 yrs., keeping house), Edna M. Schoot (daughter, 1)-{the following homes were probably on the even numbered side or east side of Athens Street}; #245 Anna C. Westfall (head, 50 yrs., keeping house), Laura Westfall (daughter, 21 yrs., teacher), Sintah Westfall (daughter, 21, teacher), Charles B. Westfall (son, 18, grain clerk), Mary L. Westfall (daughter, 14, at school), Levi Westfall (son, 12 at school), Anna J. Westfall (daughter, 10, at school), Cora Quick (servant, 17). #246 Charles Bray (head, 25 yrs., painter), Blanche E. Bray (wife, 22, keeping house), Lena G. Bray (daughter, 10 months). #247 Edwin Hubbard (Head, 31, dentist), Emma Hubbard (wife, 23, keeping house), Florence M. (daughter, 5), Ray W. Hubbard (son, 1). (Octagon home was removed from Chemung street to 7 Athens street in Oct. 1879)

I found Edwin Mills (farmer, 50 y.o.) with wife, Elizabeth (keeping house, 35 y.o.), daughter, Bertha (9), and son, Ralph (7), living in town of Wallkill, Orange County, NY.

Also from the U.S. 1880 census: On Chemung Street, but doesn't give house number- Emily H. Orange (widowed, 60 yrs., born about 1820, mother-in-law to Josiah Buck), Josiah T. Buck ( 38 yrs., R. R. Clerk, Head of house), Abba B. Buck (35 yrs., keeping house), Howard Buck (9 yrs.), George Buck (7 yrs.), Francis Buck (3 yrs.), and Mary Rockett (white female servant, 17 yrs., single, father from Ireland, mother from PA). In 1877 Josiah T. Buck was Village of Waverly trustee for 2 years.

1880- Towanda, PA- Harry W. Gore was in the same household and several servants and several boarders- had to be a hotel or apartment building type. He was a boarder, 19 years old and worked as a drug store clerk.

1880 census - Middletown, Orange county, NY- John S. Conkling (51, manufacturer), Addie M or B Conkling (31, keeping house), Nellie (8), Wilbur (5), Bertis (4), Hattie A. (2), Carrie L. Bannister (21, sister-in-law, no occupation).

1880 census - At a hotel in NYC on Broadway St.- Margret Kane (20 yrs. old, parents born in Ireland, servant). {This is more than likely the Margret Kane that later in the early 1900's worked for Charlotte Slaughter and continued to work for George and Gertrude Knapp.}

1881, President James A. Garfield

(April 1881, Samuel Slaughter Collector's Bond- $4200.00 to Town of Barton)

Samuel Slaughter, due to ill health, retired from active business in 1883.

1881 - 1885, President Chester Alan Arthur

1885 - 1889, President Grover Cleveland

In 1885, Moses Lyman financed the Waverly Toy Works that was started and managed by Charles M. Crandall. One of Charles' sons, Fred, then managed the toy factory, which Charles already had, in Montrose, PA., and which later burned in August of 1886. The burned factory then relocated in Elkland, PA in 1887. (Moses Lyman family were friends of the Slaughter's)

In 1886, Charles Martin Crandall moved to Waverly from Montrose, PA. The Crandall family were friends with the Slaughter family. His specialty was inter-locking tongue and groove lithograph paper-on-wood joints which children used to make multiple figure forms. One of Charles' sons, Jesse, started his own toy business after the Civil War in Brooklyn, NY.

Taken from the 1887-88 directory Waverly Village NY:
Slaughter & Van Atta, (S. W. S. and J. C. Van A.) drugs, medicines and wall paper, 233 Broad
Slaughter, S. W., (Slaughter & Van Atta) also vice-prest. Citizens Bank, h 208 Chemung

John C. VanAtta, druggist in Waverly, married Carrie Campbell, daughter of Burt Campbell, and they had one son Ronald VanAtta. VanAtta took over Samuel Slaughter's drug store. VanAtta's home was at 449 Park Avenue. This home was built by Pierce and Bickford, Elmira, NY in 1895. This home was built around 1895. It is the Queen Anne style. It is currently the Luckner Funeral Home.

http://tioga.nygenweb.net/waverly3.htm1887 - 88 Directory - Waverly Village, NY:

Morgan, David, painter, 51 Waverly, h do. (He had worked with Thomas Keeler, painters and decorators, TKeeler's name is on one of our basement walls)

Keeler, Frank W., foreman Waverly Advocate, h Pennsylvania ave.

Keeler, George L., clerk, h Athens cor. Tioga

Keeler, Thomas, painter and paper-hanger, Broad, h Lyman ave.

Orange, Emily H., widow George W., h 206 Chemung (where was 206? the octagon home was moved down to Athens street in Oct. 1879)

Scott, Charles E., Loyal Sock coal, 256 Broad, h 7 Athens
Gore Harry W., drug clerk, h 7 Athens (Octagon house)

VanAtta, Azariah, contractor and builder, 111 Pennsylvania ave., h do.(this must be a typo, should be 441 Pennsylvania ave.)
VanAtta, Clarence, clerk, h 109 Fulton
VanAtta, E. Clair, clerk, h 9 Tioga
VanAtta, Edwin H., drug clerk, bds. 5 Park ave.
Van Atta, John C., (Slaughter & VanAtta), h 5 Park ave.

George W. Orange - died 1878, he had worked in the Erie freight office, maybe as a station agent. In 1876, he was president of Waverly board, with DeWitt C. Atwater, James R. Stone, James N. Weaver, and Frederick R. Warner as trustees.

In 1887, Nathaniel Ackerly was in the directory living at 457 Waverly St. and working as a clerk for the L.V. R. R. frieght office.

An 1888 Sanborn map shows the octagon house at present day 7 Athens St. is. It also shows the "Carriage House" at 9 Athens St. and a small building where the current garage apartment now is. (Appears that our carriage house and other outbuilding were built sometime between 1878 and 1887.)

1889 - 1893, President Benjamin Harrison

In 1889, Charles M. Crandall created "Pigs In Clover" puzzle. This puzzle became popular all over the country. President Benjamin Harrison was said to have played the game in the White House. Orders for the game were exceeding 8,000 a day by 1890. According to the 1887-88 Waverly Village Directory, the Crandall's lived on Howard Street.

Samuel and Charlotte W. Slaughter had one child, a daughter, Mary Gertrude, born on April 26, 1890. Mary, later went by her middle name, Gertrude (1890-1956), and married George Brinker Knapp (1885-1927).

At 201 Chemung St., this lot was the site of the second store in Waverly, built by Gilbert Hallett. Around 1850-52, the store was moved down to Broad St. as a furniture store. The current home was built around 1890 by William Hopkins (carriage finisher, painter, and owner of an oyster bar on Broad Street. In 1920, Mrs. Leiser owned this home, and she also operated a tourist home called "Green Gables".

The First National Protective Legion Lodge was organized in Waverly on October 16, 1890.

Special Objects donations Waverly, S.W. Slaughter for Indus. dep. The Missionary Herald vol. 87 (for foreign missions) 1891

June 8, 1891 newspaper clippings - Charlotte's father, Alfred Wells, died.

Taken from:
Middletown, Orange Co., New York
News Clippings, June 8, 1891
Alfred Wells, a wealthy and esteemed resident of Goshen, died at the residence of his daughter Mrs. Edson Coleman at 9 a.m. Sunday. He had been failing gradually during the past few months and the direct cause of his death was general debility. The funeral will take place at the house of Mrs. Coleman at 11 a.m. Tuesday. The remains will be interred in the Phillipsburgh cemetery. Mr. Wells was a direct descendant of Hon. William Wells, of Norfolkshire, England, who is stated to have been a passenger on the ship "Free Love," of London, on June 10, 1635. He was an educated lawyer in England and high Sheriff of New Yorkshire on Long Island. Deceased was a son of Joshua Wells Jr., who died on the homestead farm in 1867, and Jemima, daughter of Jonathan Sayer, who died in 1811. Mr. Wells was borne on the homestead Nov. 17, 1805. His early education was received in the common school and at the Farmers Hall Academy at Goshen. For one term he was teacher but succeeded to the homestead property upon which he spent most of his business life. He was a man of determined effort, judicious in the management of his affairs, and when far past the active duties of life, found pleasure in the care and superintendence of the place of his birth, where he and his wife spent so many happy years together. In June 1832 he married Lydia, daughter of John Nyce, of Wheat Plains, Pike county, Pa. He is survived by eight children, J. Ed. Wells, of Goshen, John N. of San Francisco, Dr. Geo. W. of New York, Moses A., a soldier of the late war and now a merchant of Chicago, Mary F., wife of Edson Coleman of Goshen, Charlotte, wife of S.W. Slaughter of Waverly, Eugene F., of Waverly and Charles S. of Goshen.

1891- Sayre Borough Incorporated

The evening news. (Athens [i.e. Sayre], Pa.) 1892-1918. The Evening Times in Sayre, PA absorbed: Evening news (Athens, Pa.), Dec. 1918

In 1892, the city or village hall was erected at a cost of $18,000. The basement was used for a prison and also for heating. The first floor was occupied by; Tioga Hose Co., No. 1, Waverly Hook and Ladder Co., No. 2; Spalding Hose Co., No. 3; the fire police, trustees, and the police justice. The second floor had the business rooms of Spalding Hose and the Hook and Ladder Co. The third floor had the business rooms of Tioga Hose Co. and the fire police.

1893 - 1897, President Grover Cleveland

1893 Sanborn Map shows large house at 208 Chemung St., small building at 208 1/2 Chemung St., barn (carriage house) at 9 Athens St. and Octagon house at 7 Athens St.

Aug. 24, 1894 Samuel Slaughter died from Bright's disease {kidneys} (was born Nov. 8, 1837) 56 years old : Charlotte Wells Slaughter, wife of Samuel, owns our property.

1895 directory: Charlotte W. Slaughter, widow Samuel W. h 208 Chemung street

April 28, 1896 Edwin Mills passed away. His wife, Libbie V. B. Mills and his children, J. Ralph Mills and Bertha E. Mills petitioned his will. He owned a 110 acre farm on Mills Avenue in town of Wallkill Orange county, NY.

The following is found on one of the brick walls in the basement that was covered over with concrete at 208 Chemung St. : 1897 TKEELER. Near it appears to have been written again with Thomas. Writing is in the room that contains the cistern. This may have been when the exterior walls of inside basement were all concreted over, the stone and brick were done at some point, and now in 2010, most of it has disintegrated and fallen off into piles of dusty material. Keeler repainted the house in 1897.

1897-98 directory: Charlotte W. Slaughter, widow Samuel W. h 208 Chemung street

1897 - 1901, President William McKinley - at the beginning of his second term, he was "standing in a receiving line at the Buffalo Pan-American Exposition when a deranged anarchist shot him twice. He died eight days later."

1898 Sanborn Map shows large house at 208 Chemung St., small building at 208 1/2 Chemung St., carriage house at 9 Athens St., octagon house at 7 Athens St. with 2 smaller buildings behind it, one on each side. Shows 3 lots within current 202-208 Chemung St. Medium size barn building near back inbetween the two larger houses. According to deeds, this drawing of property lines is wrong. Finding that the Sanborn map property lines were not accurate.

1898 Spanish-American War - over Cuban independence from Spain

On October 13, 1899, Theodore Roosevelt was in Waverly, at Senator (William E.) Johnson's home on (440) Park Avenue -Waverly Free Press, 1899.

From the U. S. 1900 census: Living at 208 Chemung St. were; Charlotte W. Slaughter (head of house, 49 yrs, widowed), daughter, M. Gertrude Slaughter (9 yrs.), and servant, Julia Sheehan (white, female, born about 1870, single, parents born in Ireland, 29 yrs. old)

During the later 1800's, there were a growing number of Irish immigrants and many were young (15 -25 years of age) men and women. There were many young women coming over to New York alone. These women were mainly employed as domestic servants. Between 1850 and 1900, domestic service was the largest type of employment for these Irish women. Usually the servants received free room and board in their empolyers' homes and earned regular paychecks. Many of the servants sent money home, back to Ireland for their families.

Neighbors in 1900 were: 205 Chemung St.- Hugh Harding (Head, 31 yrs.) with wife, Frances L. Harding (26 yrs.); 207 Chemung St. - Frank E. Munn (Head, 44 yrs.) with wife, Elle E. Munn (40 yrs.); 300 Chemung St. - E. Miner Payne (Head, 61 yrs.) with his wife, Mary J. Payne (63 yrs.), and daughter, Charlotte L. Payne (single, 24 yrs.); 202 Chemung St. - Percy L. Lang (Head, 39 yrs., bank cashier), his wife, Alice J. Lang (37 yrs.), daughter, Gertrude A. (13 yrs.), daughter, Alice J. (11 yrs.), son Percy L. , servant, Annie Decker (white single female, 24 yrs.), Cora Nerves (26 yrs., niece, single), and father-in-law, Nathan Johnson (widowed, 74 yrs.)

1900 census: J. W. Knapp 1rst (Head, 57 yrs., born about 1842, dry goods merchant), wife, Frances E. (55 yrs., born Nov. 1844), son, Joseph J (20 yrs., dry goods clerk), son Robert O. (18 yrs.), son Ralph W. (16 yrs.), son George B. (14 yrs.) and Margarett Shean (34 yrs., white single servant) No house # given.

1900 census: All listed as renting at 323 Chemung St. were: Cynthia Harding (Head, 74 yrs., widowed), her son, Charles H. Harding ( 29 yrs., single, teamster), Gabriel W. Evans (Head, 47 yrs., Miller), his wife, Mabel E. (38 yrs.),daughter, Esther (16 yrs.), daughter, Blanche E. (11 yrs.), son, Henry G. (3 yrs.), and brother-in-law, William H. Hobart (49 yrs., blacksmith).

1900- census: Smithfield, Bradford county, PA- Perry H. Elsbree (head, 48,farmer), Mary A. (39, housekeeper), John C. (18,teacher), Jese D. (16, farm laborer), Claude H. (14,farm laborer), Bessie M. (12, house keeper), Fontane R. (8, farm laborer), Floyd L.(6), Mary I (4). This is the Mary I Elsbree who married 1rst Loren Pierce and then Ralph Fralick.

1900: Azariah J. Vanatta at 441 Pennsylvania Avenue Waverly, NY superintendant of water works.

1900: John S. Conkling 73 book keeper, Addie B. Conkling 56, Wilbur 27 bulk grocery, Bertis 23 bulk shoe store, Julia 11; all living in 4th ward of Middletown, Orange county, NY 137Academy Avenue. John and Amelia were married in 1870. (In 1860- John S. Conkling 32 gentlemen was married to Caroline A. Conkling 27, Dewitt 4, Julia 2, Harriet Gardner 29, Rebecca Mead 37 in Wallkill, Middletown. In 1865, John S. Conkling 32 no occupation, Carrie A. 32, Dewitt 9, Addie Banister 19, living with Morgan L. and Julia F. Sproat in Middletown, Orange county, NY

1900: at 438 Pennsylvania Ave. Waverly, NY; Charles E. Scott 55 coal dealer, Georgiana Scott 52, Effie L. Scott 26 librarian school, Clarence S. Scott 23 clerk at coal office, Fanny Scott 21 school teacher, Jennie H. Pratt 31 lodger. Charles and Georgiana were married in 1872.

In the early 1900's about 41 trains entered the village of Waverly per day.

Six thousand people lived in the Village of Waverly in 1900. In the 2000 census, 4,607 people lived in the village. In the 2010 census, the Village of Waverly population was 4,444, with 2,042 housing units (1,872 occupied and 170 vacant).

On July 14, 1900, the first horseless carriage to travel the streets of Waverly arrived, It was owned by Dr. Ellsworth Gamble and had been ordered from the St. Louis Gasoline Motor Company on June 24, 1899. Dr. Ellsworth Gamble and wife were friends of the Slaughter's.

1901 - 1909, President Theodore Roosevelt

From 1901 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: Slaughter Charlotte W. widow Samuel W. Slaughter h 208 Chemung Street Waverly

On January 22, 1902, Queen Victoria died. The Victorian era ends.

From 1903 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 7 Athens Street - William W. Emmon, a plumber and William W. McEwen; at 208 Chemung Street - Mrs. Charlotte W. Slaughter

1903 Directory: Gabriel Evans, a miller at 323 Chemung st., Waverly, NY

1903 Directory: Thomas A. H. Paint Co., F. W. Merriam president, A. Hemstreet vice-president, F. E. Lyford secretary, manufacturers of paints, 456 Broad st, Waverly, NY

1903 Directory: Harry Westfall, architect, home at 413 Cayuta ave., Waverly, NY.; Simon Zausmer 322 Broad St.; 301 Broad St. J. W. Knapp & Son; 452 Cayuta Ave. George H. Grafft; 457 Cayuta Ave. Edwin H. Van Atta

1903 Directory: Charles E. Scott, estate Clarence Scott, manager coal and wood, 107 Lockhart St, Sayre, PA

Charles Ezra Scott (1846-1903) buried at Glenwood Cemetery, Waverly, NY. Georgiana Scott is the executrix.

The home at 303 Chemung St. was built by Edwin Mixer (owner of a hardware store on Broad St.) in 1904. Edwin had purchased the property from Arthur G. Dubois and tore down the building that was on it. He built it as a two family home. His daughter, Jennie and her husband, Joseph Knapp (furniture dealer) lived there also. The home was passed down to them from Edwin.

1905 New York State census: at 7 Athens st; Gabriel W. Evans head miller, Mabelle wife, Esther J. daughter telephone office, Blanche E. daughter at school 16, Henry G 8 at school.

1905 census: at 8 Athens Ennerst J Pulman head blacksmith, Grace A. wife, John H son 12
at 4 Athens George Page day laborer, Eunice Page wife, Thomas Stewart nephew day laborer
at 5 Athens st Emma Hubbard head, Ray B. son clerk, Minnie Quick Head.

1905 census: at 208 Chemung street Charlotte Slaughter head, Gertrude Slaughter daughter, Margaret Kane servant.

1905 census: at 207 Chemung street Frank Munn Insurance agent and wife Ella Munn. at 205 Chemung street Julies Sayles clothes merchant and wife Sophia Sayles with servant Elsie Hagew. at 203 Chemung street William Hopkins house painter, wife Jenna, and son D?. also at same house Mary Lawlo? head with nephew Leroy Hand. at 202 Chemung street Percy Lang Banker, daughter Alice, son Percy jr., Nathan Johnson F-in law and servants; Cora Neaves, ? Cox, Catherine Sheridan. at 209 Chemung street Charles Kefler R. R. Engineer, wife Mary and daughters; Viola, Ruth, and Henrietta, son Charles. at 300 Chemung street Payne a merchant and son Edward, daughter Charlotte.

The Daily times-record. (Sayre, Bradford County, Pa.) 1907-1917

1907 - 1908 Directory: Blanche Evans boards at 7 Athens Street, Gabriel Evans h 7 Athens

From 1908 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 7 Athens Street - Victor T. Emerson and Gabriel Evans; at 208 Chemung Street - Mrs. Charlotte W. Slaughter

1908 Sanborn Map shows large house at 208 Chemung St., small building at 208 1/2 Chemung St., carriage house at 9 Athens St. and octagon house remains at 7 Athens St.

Tioga Mills, Inc. was founded in 1908 by Arthur C. Palmer

1909 - 1913, President William H. Taft

From the 1910 U.S. census: I found an Amelia Foster (widowed, 72 y.o. born about 1838) with daughter, Carrie E. Foster (single, 35 y.o., book keeper at dry goods store), living at 312 West Seneca St.,Ithaca, with Francis M. Willis (Dentist, 41 y.o.), his wife, Minnie and daughter, Ruth. This could possibly be the Amelia Foster who was married to Henry Foster and owned the octagon home when it was on Chemung St.

1910: Elizabeth Mills (Libbie) was head of house , farmer, with Bertha E. and John R. Mills son and George W. Merritt servant 37.

1910 census: Living at 208 Chemung St. were Charlotte Slaughter (head of household, 59 yrs. old), daughter, Gertrude Slaughter (19), and Margret Kane (50 yrs. old, white female servant, born about 1860, single, parents born in Ireland).

Neighbors from 1910- At 4 Athens St. were George M. Page (Head, 69 yrs., janitor at high school),with his wife, Eunice (77 yrs); 6 Athens St. rented was Chas. Brink (Head, 72 yrs., retired farmer), his wife, Rosa ( 52 yrs.), son Burton L. Brink (24 yrs., brass molder), daughter Allie Brink (single, 40 yrs., dress maker at home), and Howard Blair (grandson, 7 yrs.); 8 Athens St. rented was E. H. Swain (Head, 47 yrs., saw tiller at mill), his wife, Ida A. (52 yrs.), daughter, Effie M. Swain (17 yrs.), son Lester A. Swain ( 16 yrs.), and son Chas. H. (6 yrs.); 5 Athens St. rented was Eunice Hubbard (Head, widowed, 53 yrs.) and son, Ray B. Hubbard (28 yrs., helper machinist); 7 Athens st. was rented by Thomas Brown (Head, 40 yrs., locomotive fireman) his wife, Millie Brown (34 yrs., wash woman), and daughter, Ruth Brown (12 yrs.). At 300 Chemung St. were Edgar Sebring (Head, 29 yrs., lawyer) and his wife, Caroline Sebring (27 yrs.), at 304 Chemung St. were Frank W. Merriam (Head, 44 yrs.), his wife, Florence (44 yrs.), daughter, Jean Merriam (12 yrs.), son Herbert F. Merriam (16 yrs.), daughter, Gertrude (2 months old), and servant, Mary Lynch (41 yrs.) At 202 Chemung St. were Percy L. Lang (Head, 48 yrs., bank cashier) with his wife, Maria L. Lang (43 yrs.), daughter, Alice Lang (21 yrs.), and son, Percy L. Lang (11 yrs.).

1910 census: Rents at 449 Park Ave. Waverly, NY- John C. VanAtta (Head, 50 yrs., carpenter), his wife, Carrie VanAtta (50 yrs.), son, Ronald VanAtta (13 yrs.)

1910 census- 441 Pennsylvania Avenue- A. J. VanAtta (82), wife, Corlista E. (81), and Ruth Davenport (63, widowed servant, parents born in Vermont)

1910 census: No house # given, can't read street. Joseph Knapp 69 yrs, Frances Knapp 67 yrs, George Knapp 24 yrs farmer batting and dairy, and Maggie Sheean 40 yrs, servant.

1910, 1915, and 1920: Addie B. Conkling 76 is a widow at 68 1/2 Academy Ave. Middletown Orange county, NY with Wilbur book keeper, Julia B 30.

Waverly Free Press 1910 Mrs. J. W. Knapp, Jr. at 303 Chemung St, Waverly, N. Y.

On August 26, 1910, the largest celebration ever in the village took place, known as "Old Home Celebration". The streets were packed with spectators and it lasted four hours.

1911 Clay Blackman lived at 203 Chemung St, Waverly, N. Y.

1911 - 1917 Women's Suffrage campaigning years in Waverly. 

April 15, 1912 the RMS Titanic sunk.

July 27, 1912 Charlotte Wells Slaughter died.

July 27, 1912 (Mary) Gertrude Slaughter (22 years old at that time), daughter of Sam and Charlotte, due to death of Charlotte, now owns our property.

1913 - 1921, President Woodrow Wilson

January 5, 1913 Libbie Mills died. (Elizabeth V. B. Mills) Bertha E. Mills Santee and Milton H. Santee petitioned Libbie's will on January 10, 1913. Libbie had resided at Circleville, Orange county, NY. In 1910 Libbie 64 was living with her daughter and son in law; Bertha 39, Milton 44 retail feed merchant and their children Helen M. Santee 9, Marion E. Santee 4 in Wallkill, Orange county, NY.

1914 Sanborn Map shows large house at 208 Chemung St., small building at 208 1/2 Chemung St. , carriage house at 9 Athens St., octagon house remains at 7 Athens St. Same as 1908 map.

From 1914 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 7 Athens Street - Gabriel Evans and D. Earle Harding; at 208 Chemung Street - M. Gertrude Slaughter

February 2, 1915, George Brinker Knapp, salesman, 29 years old, and Mary Gertrude Slaughter, 24 years old, were married by Parke Richards, in Waverly, Tioga county, NY. Witnesses - H. W. Knapp and J. W. Knapp, Jr.

1915 New York Census: 208 Chemung St.: George B. Knapp salesman for Dry Goods, M. Gertrude Knapp Housework, and servant Margret Kane general housework.

7 Athens Street: Earl Harding Railroad brakeman, wife Mary housework and mother Elizabeth Harding housework. Lived on one side of the octagon home.

7 Athens Street: Gabriel Evans, Miller, wife Mabel Evans, housework, son Henry 18 yrs school, daughter, Blanche Milliner. Lived in one half of the octagon home.

202 Chemung St.: Percy Lang, vice president bank and wife Marie housework, son Percy jr 16 yrs. school., daughters Frances and Phyllis both in college and servant Marguerite Sutherland.

300 Chemung St.: Edgar Sebring lawyer and wife Carolyn housework, sons John and Edgar jr. and servant B. Bartron.

Merriam's at 304 Chemung Street, Munn's at 207 Chemung St. Brink's at 8 Athens St., Haas at 6 Athens St., Page at 4 Athens St., E. Clair VanAtta at 7 Tioga St., Roberts at 209 Chemung St., Sayles at 205 Chemung St., John Slater at 478 Waverly St.

From 1916 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 7 Athens Street - Gabriel Evans miller and Henry Evans shophand, Andrew W. Durham; at 208 Chemung Street - George B. Knapp clk; at 300 Chemung Street was Edgar D. Sebring

Child of George KNAPP and Gertrude SLAUGHTER is:
Charlotte Slaughter KNAPP. Charlotte was born March 24, 1916.

1917, The Farm Journal Illustrated Rural Directory of Tioga County, New York (With a Complete Road Map of the County) Published by Wilmer Atkinson Company Philadelphia 1917: page 188 Knapp, George B. (Gertrude) 1 child clerk Owns Home & Lot, 2 autos 208 Chemung St. Ind tel.

- Sawyer, Fred A. (Mary) 1 child president Citizens Bank Owns Home & Lot 416 Chemung St. Bell telephone.

- Hayes, Mrs. Josephine (wid John N.) 1 child 146 Chemung St. {Interesting, since Samuel Slaughter owned this home at one time and John N. Hayes (insurance) rented space in 1903 in the corner drug store building. Also maybe this John Hayes is related to the Henry Hayes that Slaughter was partners with in the drug store business.}

April 19, 1917 Settlement Agreement between Gertrude Slaughter and Fred A Sawyer as Executor filed. (Dec. 10, 1912-transfer tax of estate was $399.29) Receipt of this tax was filed.

Frances E. Durkee, born on Talmadge Hill, Waverly, NY, was George's mother. His father was Joseph Knapp. George's siblings were:1. Harry William, 2. Joseph- partner in the firm of Mixer & Knapp, hardware merchants of Waverly ; married, January, 1901, Ella Grace Mixer; children : Ellen Elizabeth, Edwin Mixer and Joseph Warren, 3. Robert Shackleton, born 1883, died while a student in college, 4. Ralph Waldo, born 1885; was a student in Cornell University and Colgate College, from which he was graduated ; construction engineer at Seattle, Washington ; married, in 1911, Vera Taylor

More on George Brinker Knapp's father (Gertrude's father-in-law) archive.org:
"Joseph Warren, son of William (4) Knapp, was born in the town of Barton, Tioga county. New York, November 17, 1843. He was educated in the district schools, and attended Waverly Academy for about eight months.

He enlisted in the war of the rebellion, April 13, 1861, on the first call for troops, in Company E, Twenty-third Regiment, New York Volunteers. He was then about seventeen years of age, the smallest and the youngest member of the company. He served first in the drum corps, and later in the ranks. The first battle in which he participated was the Second Battle of Bull Run : he afterwards took part in several smaller engagements : the next battle of importance was that of South Mountain, then Antietam and Fredericksburg. The time of his enlistment was two years, and he was honorably discharged in April, 1863. He then returned to Waverly, New York, and attended the Eastman Business College of Poughkeepsie, New York, from which he graduated. He then clerked in the general store of Manning & Finch, at Factoryville, now East Waverly where he remained for two years. In 1866 he engaged in the grocery business on his own account in Waverly, at the corner of Broad and Clark streets, and about 1881 engaged in the dry goods business in the same place, and from time to time has added to the scope of his business, developing a large department store in the modern sense of the word. From a humble beginning Mr. Knapp has attained a foremost place in the business world, taking first rank among the merchants of his town and county. He has always been prominently identified with the Presbyterian church, and for twenty-five years has been an elder, and has been a member of the board of trustees for the same length of time. He is a strong Prohibitionist, and has been a candidate for member of assembly on that ticket. He is a member of the Free and Accepted Masons, of Waverly, and of Walter C. Hull Post, Grand Army of the Republic, of Waverly.

He married Frances E. Durkee, born on Talmadge Hill, Barton, New York, October, 1844. Children:1. Harry William, mentioned below. 2. Joseph Warren, born July 8, 1879; partner in the firm of Mixer & Knapp, hardware merchants of Waverly; married, January, 1901, Ella Grace Mixer; children : Ellen Elizabeth, Edwin Mixer and Joseph Warren 3d. 3. Robert Shackleton, born 1883, died while a student in college. 4. Ralph Waldo, born 1885; was a student in Cornell University and Colgate College, from which he was graduated ; now a construction engineer at Seattle, Washington ; married, in 1911, Vera Taylor. 5. George Brinker, born 1887; living at Los Angeles, California.

(1) Harry William, son of Joseph Warren Knapp, was born at Waverly, New York, October 18, 1870. He attended the public schools of his native town. He began his business career as clerk in his father's store and learned the business thoroughly. In 1891 he was admitted to partnership under the name of J. W. Knapp & Son, and this has been the style of the firm to the present time. He has been in the active management of the business in recent years, and to his energy, enterprise and sagacity are due much of the recent growth and prosperity of the firm. He is a director of the National Bank of Waverly. In religion he is a Presbyterian, in politics a Republican.

He married, June 21, 1894, Maria L., born in Waverly, June 12, 1871. daughter of Thomas J- and Augusta M. (Canfield) Phillips. Children, born in Waverly: i. Thomas Phillips, born July 28, 1895. 2. Frances Helen. June 24, 1899. 3. Romaine, May 12, 1903."

Harry W. Knapp is listed in the 1908 Directory as living at 455 Waverly street. This house was built by Mr. Phillips around 1868. A Thomas J. Phillips is also listed at this address in 1908. (According to Tina Alamo, this was known as the "Knapp House")

World War I (1914-1922) draft registration George Brinker Knapp b.day nov.9, 1885

From 1918 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 7 Athens Street - George W. Edsall and Gabriel Evans miller; at 208 Chemung Street - George B. Knapp

Sept. 12, 1918 WWI draft registration, 208 Chemung St. George Brinker Knapp, spouse - Mary Gertrude Knapp at same address.

Prohibition. 1920 to 1933 in the United States

Roaring Twenties - automobile, movie, radio, and chemical industries flourished

From the U.S. 1920 census: Living at 208 Chemung St. were; George B. Knapp (Head of household, 34) with wife, Gertrude Knapp (29), daughter, Charlotte (3), and servant Margret Kane (60), the same servant from 1910 census. George and Gertrude have none listed for occupation.

Renting at 7 and 7 1/2 Athens St. was- Henry M. Spear (Head, 68 yrs.) and his wife, Adelaide Spear (67 yrs.) and Gabe Evans (Head, 67 yrs.) with his wife, Mabel (58 yrs.) and brother-in-law, William Hobart (69 yrs. and widowed, blacksmith). The octagon home was divided in half for two families. At 4 Athens St. - George Page (Head, 79 yrs.) with wife Eunice (74 yrs.), and nephew, Thomas Stewart (62 yrs., janitor at Baptist Church).

Neighbors from 1920 census: Living at 202 Chemung St. were; Percy Lang (59 yrs. old, banker), daughter, Chula Lang (23), Elna Evans (servant keeping house, 52 yrs.old), Ina Evans, (16), and Fred Evans (14).

Neighbors from 1920: Living at 300 Chemung St. were; Jay S. Warren (Head, 47 yrs., ?furniture) with his wife, Victoria (40 yrs.)

From the 1920 census: Henry G. Evans (Head, 23 yrs., laborer at a garage) with wife, Alice (18 yrs.) and son, Henry G. Evans (infant), were living at 577 Clark St., Waverly, NY.

1920 census: 97 Center St. Waverly, NY- Joseph W. Knapp (40, hardware), Ellen Knapp (46, wife), Helen (daughter, 17), Edwin (son, 13), Warren (son, 11), Elnora daughter (?5 months)

1920 census- Schuyleville village, Saratoga, NY- Mary Sheehan (head, 73 yrs., widowed, born in Ireland-her husband was also born in Ireland), with her daughters: Margaret Sheehan (51, weaver at cotton mill), Julia Sheehan (50, weaver at cotton mill), Mary Sheehan (39, spinner at cotton mill), Agnes Sheehan (32, spinner at cotton mill), and sons: Dennis Sheehan (38, carpenter at cotton mill), John Sheehan (36, color mixer at cotton mill). This could possibly be the Julia Sheehan who worked as a servant for the Slaughter's during the 1900 time period. The Knapp's also had a servant by the name of Margaret Shean during that same time period, the spelling could be wrong and it could have been Julia's sister?

At 304 Chemung St. were; Frank W. Merriam (Head, 53 yrs., manufacturer at paint shop), his wife, Florence F. (50 yrs.), daughter, Gena W. (21), and Matttilda Floyd (mother-in-law, 83 yrs.)

At 207 Chemung St. were; Frank E. Munn (Head, 65 yrs., clerk at Lehigh office) with wife, Alice (59 yrs.)

From the U. S. 1920 census: On Athens Street there were listed: at 6 Athens- Julia Haas (widowed, Head, 54 yrs.), her son, Daniel (26 yrs., married, machinist at Ingersoll Rand), her daughter, Mary (20 yrs., single, stenographer at Lehigh R. R.), Mary (daughter-in-law,22 yrs.), John (grandson, 2 yrs). Listed at 5 Athens St. were- Lloyd Hedges (Head, 36 yrs., machinist at Lehigh shop), his wife, Lena (30 yrs.), his son, Richard (6 yrs.), and a boarder, Virral W. Smith (white male, 28 yrs., manager at Woolworth?). Listed as renting at 3 Athens St. were- Max Zupnix (Head, 36 yrs., manager at cigar factory, born in Austria), his wife, Sady C. (29 yrs.), daughter, Hilda M. (3 yrs.), and son, Hayram (infant)

1920 census: Owns at 449 Park Ave. Waverly, NY- John C. VanAtta (Head, 60 yrs., carpenter), his wife, Carrie VanAtta (60 yrs.), son, Ronald VanAtta (23 yrs., salesman for Bond Co.) Says that John VanAtta owns drug store, but Gertrude Slaughter still owned the drug store building in 1946 when she then sold it to Payne.

1920 census: Rents at 29 Lincoln street, Waverly, NY- Joseph W. Knapp (Head, 76 yrs.) with wife, Frances E. (74 yrs.)

In 1920 according to Tioga County tax information: The porches were added to the carriage house (5x7 covered, 9x14 enclosed and 9x14 porch -up enclosed) and a 286 sq. ft. covered porch and a 224 sq. ft. covered porch was added to the main house.

On August 18, 1920, the Nineteenth Amendment was ratified, prohibiting any United States citizen to be denied the right to vote based on sex.

From 1921 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 7 Athens Street - Henry Spear and Gabriel Evans; at 208 Chemung Street - George B. Knapp

1921 - 1923, President Warren G. Harding

From 1922 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 7 Athens Street - Guy M. Thompson and Gabriel W. Evans; at 208 Chemung Street - George B. Knapp

From 1924 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 7 Athens Street - Henry G. Evans, trucking and Gabriel Evans; at 208 Chemung Street - George B. Knapp and Frances E. Knapp (George Knapp's mother lived with George, Gertrude, and Charlotte Knapp after George's father died in 1924.)

1923 - 1929, President Calvin Coolidge

In 1925, only half the homes in all of United States had electric power to them. (From tags we found in one of the ceilings, some electric was put into the house between 1908 and 1918, and there were remnants of the gas piping to the center medallions also)

From 1926 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 7 Athens Street - Henry G. Evans, trucking and Gabriel W. Evans; at 208 Chemung Street - George B. Knapp and Frances E.

"Charles Albertson, a retired police inspector from Waverly, N.Y., established the Orlando library in 1926 with a gift of 20,000 books, many of them New York and New England histories." More information on Charles Albertson below.

On October 8, 1927, George Brinker Knapp died from accidental gun shot (42 years old). (Mary Gertrude Slaughter's husband) Charlotte Knapp is only 11 years old.

1927 Sanborn Map shows same as above 1914 Sanborn Map buildings.

It appears that after George B. Knapp died, that Gertrude S. Knapp rented out part of her house to friends of the family.

From 1928 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 7 Athens Street - Henry G. Evans trucking and Gabriel W. Evans; at 208 Chemung Street - Mrs. Gertrude S. Knapp, Frances E. Knapp wid Joseph W. b, Ronald C. Van Atta

1929 - 1933, President Herbert Hoover

Wall Street Crash, 1929

The Great Depression, 1929-early 1940's,

1930 census of Waverly Village shows Frances Knapp, Gertrude's mother-in-law, (born 1844 (Frances died in 1934),wife of Joseph Knapp,(J. W. Knapp, born 1843, died 1924), Charlotte Knapp (born 1916), and Gertrude (born 1891) at 208 Chemung street.

From 1930 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 7 Athens Street - Henry G. Evans, trucking and Gabriel W. Evans; at 208 Chemung Street - Mrs. Gertrude S. Knapp, Ronald C. Van Atta, Frances E. wid Joseph W. Knapp

From the U.S. 1930 census: At 208 Chemung St.- Gertrude Knapp (Head, no occupation, 39 yrs.), her daughter, Charlotte Knapp (14 yrs.), mother-in-law, Frances Knapp (84 yrs.), Ronald VanAtta (33 yrs., salesman) and his wife, Ethel (26 yrs., no occupation). Ethel Avice Justice (1903-1989). I am finding the dates on census are sometimes not exact and sometimes are off by a couple of years?

1930 census- 97 Center St. Waverly, NY- Joseph W. Knapp {junior}(head, 50, proprietor retail hardware), Alice M. (wife, 50), Helen E. (daughter, 27, saleslady retail hardware), Joseph W.{3rd} (son, 21), Elnora M. (daughter, 15)

1930 census- 455 Waverly St. Waverly, NY- Harry Knapp (58 yrs., merchant retail dry goods) with wife, Maria P. (58)

1930 census - 418 West Water St. Elmira, NY- Edgar D. Sebring (head, 49 yrs., manager at ? office), wife, Carolyn S. (47 yrs.), son John R. (18 yrs.), son Edgar D. (15 yrs.), Arthur R. Johnson (24 yrs., lodger), and John S. Bradt (22 yrs., lodger).

1930 census- 601 Desmond St. Athens, PA- Loren A. Pierce (head, 36, manager ?Tea store) and wife, Mary I. Pierce (34)

From 1931 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: no 7 or 9 Athens Street address listed; at 208 Chemung Street - Mrs. Gertrude S. Knapp and vacant, Frances E. wid Joseph W. Knapp r 208 Chemung

From 1931 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: Gabriel W. Evans retired r 537 Chemung, Henry Evans, trucking long distance moving

1932 - Ted Clark's Busy Market founded.

1933 - 1945, President Franklin D. Roosevelt

1933 Directory to 1935-36 Directory: at 208 Chemung st. Waverly, NY; Mrs. George B. Knapp and Edwin M. Knapp

1933 Directory J. W. Jr. Knapp, Hdwr, 317 Broad street, residence 97 Center street - H. W. & Son Knapp Dept. store 301 Broad street - Harry W. Knapp residence 455 Waverly street - T. P. Knapp 34 Cadwell av.

From 1936 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: no 7 or 9 Athens Street address listed; at 208 Chemung Street - Mrs. Gertrude S. Knapp, Edgar D. Sebring, Charlotte S Knapp student - Edwin Knapp at 89 Spring street. - J. W. Knapp Jr Hdwr 326 Broad street residence at 97 Center street

1937 to 1941 - The Manoil Manufacturing Company was in business on Providence Street. This company made hollow-cast toy soldiers, known as dime store soldiers. They also made toy airplanes and cars.

From 1938 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: no address for 7 or 9 Athens Street listed; at 208 Chemung Street - Knapp Charlotte S student r 208 Chemung, Knapp Gertrude S wid George B h 208 Chemung Edgar D. Sebring

June 20, 1938, Charlotte Slaughter Knapp graduates from Cornell University. Bachelors of Arts.

World War II (1939 to 1945)

From 1940 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: no address for 7 or 9 Athens Street; at 208 Chemung Street - Mrs. Gertrude S. Knapp and Edgar D. Sebring

From the 1940 census: 208 Chemung Street, Gertrude Knapp, widow, 49 years, owns, worth $12,000, completed highschool 4 years. Renting from Gertrude were Edgar Sebring (59 y.o.) and his wife, Carolyn (57 y.o.), and their son, Edgar Sebring, Jr. (25 y.o.). Also renting from Gertrude were, Edward Renton and his wife, Alberta Renton, both 64 years of age.

1940 census: at 202 Chemung Street: Ada Jenkins, widow, age 58, owns worth $10,000, with boarder, Kate Fairchild, widow, age 75.

1940 census: at 300 Chemung Street: Thomas Senall, age 70, his wife, Mary, age 52, their daughter, Lena, age 29, and their nephew, Eugene Signanelli?, age 30

1940 census at 544 East Chemung Street, owned, worth $1,000: Henry Evans, age 44, married, finished 3 years highschool, lived in same house in 1935, garage laborer. His sons were Henry Evans, jr., 20 years old, Robert Evans, 19 years old, and Richard Evans, 15 years old.

1940 census: 97 Center Street Waverly, NY, owns, worth $5,000. Joseph W. Knapp, 60 y.o., retail hardware, with wife, Ella M. Knapp, 60 y.o. Same house in 1935.

1940 census: 89 Spring Street Waverly, NY, worth $1800, Edwin M. Knapp 33 yrs old, wife Lucia Knapp 34 yrs old and son Edwin jr Knapp son 9 yrs old, Jeffry Knapp son 2 yrs old

1940 census Rochester, Monroe County, rented at 653 Aydrill Avenue from William Richter; Carrie Van Atta, 80 y.o. widowed, son , Ronald C, 43 y.o., salesman for industrial and commercial supplies, and wife, Ethel J. Van Atta, age 37, saleslady for ladies apparrel. In 1935, all lived in Waverly, NY

1940 census Ellistown Road Route 17 Loren A Pierce, head, 46 y.o, manager retail grocery, with wife, Mary, 44 y.o. same home in 1935, own worth $5,000.

1940 census: 8 Athens Street: rents, Amy Walsh, 68 y.o., widowed, with son, Justin H., 28, y.o., accountant at feed mill. (did not live in this house in 1935)

1940 census at 6 Athens Street, Waverly, NY: Julia Haas, head, owned, worth $2,000, 76 y.o. widowed, her son, Daniel Haas, 45 y.o., single, machinist for Steam R. R. shops. In 1935, same house. (Were also here in 1920)

1940 census: 4 Athens Street: rent, Chester Collins, laborer at feed mill, 34 y.o., wife, Dorothy Collins, 33 y.o. , son-Chester, Jr. 12, daughter-Doris, 10, son-John, 8, son-James, 6, and daughter- Joyce, 5. (was not there in 1935)

1940 census: 5 Athens Street: Owns, worth $3,200, head, Richard Hedges, 27 y.o., state trooper for state police, with wife, Jane , 26 y.o. and son John Richard, 7 months. (Richard lived here in 1920 as little boy)

1940 census: 3 Athens Street: Rents $25. Oakley with wife Sara, son William, daughter Edith, Samuel Cortright 21 yrs. old son-in-law and daughter Gladys 22 yrs. old with baby granddaughter Dawn Marie (March 1938 Samuel and Gladys were married and at that time were going to make their home at 12 Pine St. Waverly)

December 7, 1941, a surprise military strike conducted by the Imperial Japanese Navy against the United States naval base at Pearl Harbor, Hawaii

From 1942 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: no address for 7 or 9 Athens Street listed; at 208 Chemung Street - Mrs. Gertrude S. Knapp and Edgar D. Sebring, also, Knapp Charlotte S emp N Y City r 208 Chemung

1943 Directory - Mrs. George B. Knapp at 208 Chemung street. - Edwin Knapp at 89 Spring street. - J. W. jr. Knapp 97 Center street. - T. P. Knapp at 455 Waverly street.

1927 - 1949 somewhere in this time Carriage House was moved just a few feet. (9 Athens St.)

1927- 1947 Sanborn Map (this map was started in 1927, but wasn't finished until 1947) shows large house at 208 Chemung St., building at 208 1/2 Chemung St. which appears to be that like the current, building at 9 Athens St., but octagon house and two small buildings behind it are all gone. 7 Athens St. is an empty lot.

Albertson, Charles L.
History of Waverly, N.Y. and vicinity
Waverly N.Y.:Waverly Sun.,1943,325pgs

http://www.ocls.info/about/History/default.asp : "Captain Charles L. Albertson, a retired Police Inspector of New York City, and a winter resident of Orlando, had for many years been collecting books at his home in Waverly, New York. In November 1920, Captain Albertson offered his collection to the City of Orlando, on the condition that it furnish a suitable building to house it. The contract between the city of Orlando and Captain Albertson provided that Orlando would accept the gift of the Albertson collection and furnish the library building; that the library should be known as the Albertson Public Library; that Captain Albertson should be Advisory Superintendent of the Library throughout his lifetime; and that Orlando should suitably maintain the Library." Waverly Free Press article from 1906

1940's thru 1950's - The J. E. Rodeo Ranch was in Waverly. It was the only rodeo ranch east of the Mississipi River. It was known as "Rodeo Capital of the East." Colonel Jim Eskew and his family found a home for their traveling wild west show in the Town of Barton on Talmadge Hill Road. Ed O'Brien, the restaurant owner, played a major role in bringing the rodeo to Waverly. During the 4th of July week is when they did their homestand show in Waverly. Thousands of spectators were said to have come to the ranch to see bull riding, calf roping, and trick riding. Several hundred rodeo members spent the winters on the ranch and during the rest of the year, they traveled throughout the mid Atlantic and New England states. Jim Eskew had to sell the ranch property due to financial difficulties. Local developers bought the property in hopes of turning it into a western theme park, but this never happened.

1945 - 1953, President Harry S. Truman

May 8, 1945 Victory in Europe Day - celebrations also took place in Chicago, Los Angeles, Miami, and especially in New York City's Times Square, due to the unconditional surrender of the armed forces of Nazi Germany and the end of Adolf Hitler's Third Reich.

Sept, 21, 1945 Gertrude Slaughter Knapp. Abstract of Title. 208 Chemung St. property.

On November 15, 1945,Gertrude Knapp (55 y.o.) sold all the property to Mary I. Fralick.
Mary Fralick turned the property into the apartment complex.
Obituary: Mary I. Fralick, 95, of Hialeah, FL, died Saturday, January 18, 1992 in Florida. Born in Bradford County on February 15, 1896, she was the daughter of Perry and Mary Huff Elsbree. She was a 1912 graduate of East Smithfield High School. She and her first husband, Loron Pierce, operated the Marilorn Motel in Waverly for several years. She moved to Florida in 1962 with her second husband, Ralph Fralick. He also predeceased her. She was a member of the Order of the Eastern Star and the United Methodist Church. Surviving are several nieces and nephews including: Hilda Barrett, Flagler Beach, FL; Charles Elsbree, Columbia Cross Roads; George Elsbree, Troy; Esther Everts, Troy; Dorothy Hickok, Tamarac, FL; Gene Pierce, Waverly; William Elsbree, Vestal; Gail Haskell, Owego. Funeral services were held at the Lowery Funeral Home in Athens on January 22 (2 pm) with the Rev. James W. Barrett officiating and burial to be in the Tioga Point Cemetery, Athens. (TGR, Thursday, January 23, 1992)

It appears that Gertrude and Charlotte Knapp continued to live in the home even after selling it, but as tenants. And later they both moved into the converted apartments in the carriage house at 9 Athens street.

On the dining room wall of main house, west side of room, there is a patched up area, with the name Bub Lougher and more writing that had worn away with possible date of 1945. Above this patched area is original lathe and plaster wall. The patched up area may have been a serving area from original kitchen into the dining room, that they wanted closed in when turning into apartments. Information from Robert Lougher, grandson of the late David William Lougher, is that 3 of David's sons worked with him in the business of D. W. Lougher & Sons. The sons were: Arthur "Bub", Evan, and Robert "Feather" Lougher. The grandson says that they worked in the house on several occasions.

Cold War - 1947 to 1991

1947- 48 Directory - Mrs. George B. Knapp at 208 Chemung street renting one of the apartments from Fralick's.

From 1948 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 9 Athens - David C. Meyer and Paul Lipp; at 208 Chemung Street - Mrs. Gertrude S. Knapp, Ralph Fralick, Ben C. Young, Albert J. Williams, Dr. Harry S. Fish (died in 1960, was former chief surgeon at Tioga County General Hospital, Waverly, NY); at 208 1/2 Chemung Street - Donald Gustina; no 7 Athens Street address listed

About 1949 rear of main house, one story porch is replaced by two story addition.

After 1949 a porch was added on the west on top of existing porch.

(March 16, 1950, a piece of the property was sold to Mary Alamo- current 7 Athens St. Waverly, NY) As of 2010, Mary's daughter ( Mary Elizabeth Alamo) lives in the house that Mary had built. She goes by the names: Tina, Liz, and T. In April of 2010, she celebrated her 95th birthday.

March 16, 1950 Our property consisted of 208 & 208 1/2 Chemung St. and 9 Athens St. Waverly, NY .

According to Tioga County tax information: In 1950 attached garages were added to the small building that became known as the "garage apartment" because of the added garages (20x33). The garages show up on the 1927-45 Sanborn map (map started in 1927 but not completed until 1945 about).

1950 Directory - Mrs. Geo. B. Knapp at 9 Athens street, in the newly converted carriage house into apartments by Mary Fralick. - Edwin Knapp at 89 Spring street. - J. W. jr. Knapp at 97 Center street. - J. Warren 3rd Knapp at 94 Spring street. - T. P. Knapp at 455 Waverly street.

From 1951 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 9 Athens Street - Mrs. George B. Knapp, Charlotte S. Knapp and Jules Helfner; at 208 Chemung Street - vacant, Ralph W. Fralick, John Foster, Parvin Mensch, Roland P. Holmes, Earl E. Armstrong; at 208 1/2 Chemung Street - Robert G. Eisenhart

December 1951 Directory of Athens - Sayre- South Waverly And Nearby Communities: Mrs. Geo. B. Knapp at 436 Penna av.

From 1953 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 5 Athens - William V. Costello, at 6 Athens - James F. Nolan, at 7 Athens - Mary Alamo, at 8 Athens - Robert G. Draper, at 4 Athens - Elmer Lawrence, at 3 Athens - Robert M. Lockwood

From 1953 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 9 Athens Street - Aloys A. Kraus and Ralph Scott; at 208 Chemung Street - Edward C. Brown, Ralph W. Fralick, Donald Holton, Walter L. Kintz, Esther F. Cooper, Earl E. Armstrong, 208 1/2 Chemung Street was vacant

Nearby neighbors in 1953 from the directory: at 201 Chemung street were William C. Seymour and John Miller, at 202 Chemung street Palmer House, at 203 Chemung street Foster D. Van Noy and Mrs. Louise Warner, Known as Van Noy Tourist Home, at 205 Chemung street was Mrs. Frances C. Ringler, at 207 Chemung street was D. Myron Handrick, at 209 Chemung street were John Morningstar, Hugh R. Penmoyer, Bruce W. Bidlack, Charles S. Farr, and Edward Malone, at 300 Chemung street was Thomas Senall, at 301 Chemung street was John J. Hoefer, at 303 Chemung street was Justus H. Dimon, at 304 Chemung street were Mrs. Florence F. Merriam, Harold W. Amrheim, Unique Steel Block Inc, Clinton G. Davis, at 305 Chemung street was Dominick S. Motsay, physician.

From 1953 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: Knapp Charlotte S r 436 Pennsylvania Avenue, also Edward W. Eaton, Nellie L. Shedden, Mrs. Anna M. Burke, Mildred B. Smith; Knapp Gertrude S. wid. George B. h 443 Pennsylvania Avenue, but this may be a misprint or mistake, since that is the address for Muldoon Park?

1954 Manning's Ithaca Directory - Aurora Street - North, East Marshall crosses , 606 (house #), Charlotte Knapp 4-3511(phone) lived with Charles D. Goldsmith who owned the residence, also Edwin C. Hanselman lived there with phone, 4-2487.

1953 - 1961, President Dwight D. Eisenhower

November 1955 to April 30, 1975 Vietnam War

From 1956 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 9 Athens Street - Daniel Heryford and Jack A. Young; at 208 Chemung Street - Mrs. Lillian Shaw, Ralph Fralick, Richard Catlin, Walter Kintz, Gerald Peterson, vacant; at 208 1/2 Chemung Street - Donald Holton

From 1956 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: Charlotte Knapp emp Ithaca r 436 Pennyslvania Avenue, Gertrude Knapp h 436 Pennsylvania Avenue, also at 436 were Mrs. Helen D. Holcomb, Edward W. Eaton, Nellie L. Shedden, vacant, Mrs. K. Mildred Potter (This was a residential apartment structure built around 1925, #'s 434 and 436 were at this structure. The building is no longer there, the former site is an empty lot on the corner of Providence Street and Pennsylvania Avenue.)

In June of 1956, Mary Gertrude Slaughter Knapp died. (Daughter of Samuel and Charlotte Slaughter)

1957 Cornell University, Ithaca, NY Charlotte Knapp is listed as an "Honorary Member", Honorary Society In Mechanical Engineering.

Charlotte Knapp is no longer listed in the Athens, Sayre, and Waverly Directory in 1958.

From 1958 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 9 Athens Street - Daniel Heryford, Jack A. Young; at 208 Chemung Street - Mrs. Lillian Shaw, Ralph Fralick, Richard Catlin, Walter Kintz, Reuben Long, vacant; at 208 1/2 Chemung Street - Donald Holton

May 31, 1958 Robert G. and Vera C. Callison owns our property. Mary I. Fralick to Robert G. Callsion and Vera C. Callison.
They lived at 208 on first floor (east side) and rented out the other apartments.

From 1961 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 9 Athens Street - Gerald M. Maloney and William E. Hanson III; at 208 Chemung Street - Robert G. Callsion, Edward G. Statach, Ralph Snider, Walter L. Kintz, Katheryn Mays, Keith Davidson; at 208 1/2 Chemung Street - Robert Shafer

1961 Cornell Alumni News Vol. 63, No 12 March 15, 1961
1938 Women - We have had several changes of address:... Charlotte S. Knapp, 431 Pennsylvania Ave., Waverly.

1961 - 1963, President John F. Kennedy - November 22, 1963, he was assassinated

October 1962, Cuban Missile Crisis

From 1963 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 9 Athens Street - Mrs. Lena Bouse and Harold V. Cole; at 208 Chemung Street - Robert G. Callison, Clifford A. Johnson, David Packard, Walter L. Kintz, Joseph W. Knapp Jr., vacant; at 208 1/2 Chemung Street - vacant

It is said by Gordon Callison, son of Robert and Vera Callison, and also by nearby neighbors that, the Knapp's lived on the second floor of 208 Chemung St. during this time period when Callison's owned the property. Elizabeth Alamo also thinks that the Knapp's also lived on top floor of 9 Athens St. while a Dr. lived on the first floor of 9 Athens St. sometime during this time period. Neighbors, Elizabeth Alamo and Margaret Costello, remember Mrs. Knapp playing the piano beautifully. Gordon Callison also believes that the garage apartment at 208 1/2 Chemung St. used to be a blacksmith's living quarters.

Neighbors also say that the Knapp's who lived on the property, owned Knapp's hardware store. So, we figure it must have been Gertrude's brother -in- law and his wife that lived there in that time period, since both Gertrude and George Knapp were already deceased. A friend of Tina Alamo, said it was Joe Knapp and his wife who lived on the second floor of main house, then later, so they could get around better, moved down to the carriage house apartment. This same man also said that Joe Knapp's son, Warren, took over his father's business. (So that would mean the Joe Knapp living at the estate was Joe Knapp Jr. and his son "Warren" was Joseph Knapp III who took over the business.)

1963 - 1969, President Lyndon B. Johnson

From 1965 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 9 Athens Street - Leon Horton and Jos Daniels; at 208 Chemung Street - Robert G. Callison, Clifford A. Johnson, Donald V. Johnson, Walter L. Kintz, Joseph W. Knapp Jr., Otto Allen; at 208 1/2 Chemung Street - Cora L. Bingham

May 1965 Cornell Alumni News Volume 67, Number 10: 1938 Charlotte Knapp, 6439 Templeton, Huntington Park, Calif.

From 1967 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 9 Athens Street - Kenneth Draper and Pine Paul; at 208 Chemung Street - Robert Callison, Clifford Johnson, Donald Johnson, Walter Kintz, Jos W Jr Knapp, Dale Wright; at 208 1/2 Chemung Street - Cora L. Bingham

Henry Evans died March 1968. (His son may have died in 1995.) Henry Evans was living at 430 Fulton St. Apt. 305 Waverly, NY in 1990.

From 1969 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 9 Athens Street - Vivian Vose and Ethel Geiger; at 208 Chemung Street - Robt Callison, Robt B. Lutz, Richd E. Jr. Coleman, Walter L. Kintz, Eug Friel, Kenneth Whitbeck; at 208 1/2 Chemung Street - Cora L. Bingham

1969 - 1974, President Richard M. Nixon

The 208 Chemung St. property, on July 10, 1970, was sold on land contract by Vera C. Callison to Richard Morris

From 1972 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 9 Athens Street - Chas B. Rimbey and vacant; at 208 Chemung Street - Robt Callison, Eric Boehm, Jas R. Smiley, Walter L. Kintz, Randy Benjamin, Michl E. Foster; at 208 1/2 Chemung Street - vacant

From 1974 Directory of Athens, Sayre, & Waverly: at 7 Athens Street - Eliz Alamo; at 9 Athens Street - vacant and vacant; at 208 Chemung Street - Vera C. Callison, Eric Boehm, Albert Orso, Walter Kintz, Randy Benjamin, Michl D. Foster; at 208 1/2 Chemung Street - vacant

1974 -1977, President Gerald Ford

October 10, 1974 Redo land contract since Robert Callison had died.
Oct. 8, 1976 Vera C. Coveney formerly Vera C. Callison to Richard H. Morris and Ruth M. Morris

1977 - 1981, President Jimmy Carter

March 2, 1979 William J. Rynone and D. Scott Jewell

July 1, 1980 mortgage assignment Morris to William H. Vanderpool and Marjorie J. Vanderpool.
July 8, 1981 mortgage assignment Vanderpool to Morris.

September 1980 to August 1988, Iran-Iraq War

1981 - 1989, President Ronald Reagan

March 2, 1982 William J. Rynone and D. Scott Jewell to Richard H. Morris and Ruth M. Morris

1983 Southeast Los Angeles Directory - 5162 Florence St. Bell, CA 90201 Knapp, C. S. It appears that Charlotte Slaughter Knapp lived here in the Del Rio Mobile Home Park.

1984 - 1988 We (Amy and Brad Zehr) lived on the third floor, east side, of the main house at 208 Chemung Street.

On Feb. 7, 1985 Charlotte S. Knapp, daughter of George B. and Gertrude Slaughter Knapp died at Los Angeles CA. She was 69 years old. Burial at Glenwood Cemetery (ashes) (Charlotte S. Knapp was Samuel and Charlotte Slaughter's granddaughter)

Charlotte S. Knapp, S.S.# 579186354, female, born March 24, 1916, NY, Death, Feb. 7, 1985 Los Angeles.

August 2, 1990 to February 28, 1991, Persian Gulf War - a war waged by a U.N.-authorized coalition force from thirty-four nations led by the United States, against Iraq.

1989 - 1993, President George H. W. Bush

Jan. 18, 1992 Mary I. Fralick died.

1993 - 2001, President Bill Clinton

Obituary: Coveney, Vera Callison March 10, 1900-September 15, 1995 wife of Robert Callison d 1973, husband #2 Paul Coveney married September 2, 1976

2001 - 2009, President George W. Bush

September 11, 2001 attacks

2009 - 2016, President Barack Obama, the first African-American President of the United States of America

March 17, 2010 Bradley D. Zehr and wife, Amy R. Zehr, own. Took over Feb.1, 2010 per verbal agreement with Richard and Ruth Morris.
Amy is the daughter of Richard and Ruth Morris.

March 17, 2010 Richard H. Morris and Ruth M. Morris, his wife sold to Bradley D. Zehr and Amy R. Zehr, his wife. Ownership is official.

More on Samuel Slaughter's grandfather, paternal side- Isacc Slaughter:
Isaac Slaughter was born in 1735, died February 16, 1838. During the Revolution, he was a soldier in Washington's army. He took part in the battles of Ticonderoga and Crown Point. He served in the northern campaign. After the war, he lived in Wallkill, then moved to Shawangunk, NY in 1803. He bought two hundred acres of land in Wallkill. In 1817, he bought a farm and lived there in 1819. He spent the rest of his life on the farm (Hamptonburg). He had married twice and had 19 children.

Isacc's second wife was Jane McBride Slaughter (Samuel's grandmother). She was born on June 17, 1776. They had 10 children. Dewitt Slaughter, who was Samuel's father, was one of their sons.

More on Samuel's father- Dewitt Slaughter:
Dewitt was born on September 3, 1803 in Orange county and died at Waverly on September 18, 1875. He was a farmer at Hamptonburg. He married Caroline Mills on January 9, 1834. Caroline was born on May 4, 1812 and died on November 9, 1861. She was the daughter of Samuel(born 08/27/1777) and Esther (Stitt) Mills (born 08/28/1787). Dewitt and Caroline had five children. Caroline's father: Samuel MILLS b: 27 AUG 1776 in New Windsor, Orange, NY
Caroline's mother: Esther STITT b: 28 AUG 1787 in Bloomingburg, Sullivan, NY

More on Samuel Slaughter- Lived in the Main house of our now, "Zehr Estate", but during his time, known as the "Slaughter Residence":
Samuel Wickham Slaughter was born in Orange county on November 8, 1837 and died in Waverly on August 24, 1894. He outlived his siblings by quite a bit. His siblings died at 6, 2, 22, and 4 years of age. Sam lived to be 56 years of age. He attended public schools and Chester and Middletown academies. He was 20 years old when he came to Waverly with his father's family from Orange county.

Samuel was known to be a leader in the commercial life of Waverly. He helped with projects that promoted the growth and prosperity of the village. It was said of him, "As a citizen Mr.Slaughter enjoyed to the fullest extent the confidence and respect of his fellow townsmen. Naturally of a retiring disposition, he always refused positions of public honor, yet he was ever interested in affairs and witli ever)' plan whose purpose was the commercial or spiritual prosperity of the village, his name was closely associated in wise counsel and generous contribution." He was credited to be a successful businessman and financier. He helped the poor and unfortunate with advice and material aid. It was also said of him, "He was of few words but of kindly impulses and noble deeds."

I found the following on a google search, but the site is no longer there:
Mary Gertrude SLAUGHTER. George Brinker KNAPP ... Tuesday, 2 February at half after 7 o'clock in the evening at 208 Chemung Street, Waverly, NY (This was their wedding invitation)

Located on Moore St., Waverly, NY by the Waverly Glen Park. GLENWOOD CEMETERY WAVERLY, NY:

Slaughter, Charlotte July 27, 1850 Goshen, N.Y. - July 28, 1912 Waverly, N.Y. Dau. of Alfred and Lydia Nyce Wells.

Slaughter, Samuel Wickham 1837- 1894

Gertrude Slaughter 1890 - 1956

George Brinker Knapp 1885 - 1927

In 1985, Charlotte Slaughter Knapp's ashes were sent to Glenwood cemetery, from California, to be buried with her family. There is no marker there for her.

Charlotte Wells Slaughter's paternal grandparents - Jemima Sayre born 04/27/1779 died 01/06/1812, married 02/10/1801, Joshua Wells, born 09/06/1779, died 11/24/1865.

Charlotte Wells Slaughter's maternal grandparents - John and Lena Westbrook Nyce, one of the wealthiest men in Pike county at that time. They were members of Dutch Reformed Church. They owned fertile wheat land. John lived to be 75 years of age. Lena was the daughter of John Westbrook who lived on the flats on the Jersey side. He owned slaves and gave one to his daughter when she married a wealthy man.

Charlotte's siblings - Jerome Wells, born 3/30/1832, died Oct. 1855, unmarried druggist. James Edward Wells, born 1/1/1834, married 2/17/1858 Frances Emily Conkling, he was a farmer. John Nyce Wells born 1/25/1836, dealer in mining machinery, California. Mary Frances Wells born 9/7/1837, married 5/3/1855 Lewis Edson Coleman, he was a locomotive engineer in Goshen, NY. Charles Snodgrass Wells. Catharine Rosetta Wells born 8/5/1839, married 10/23/1861 Samuel Mills Slaughter, farmer at Crystal Run, NY. Moses Alfred Wells married Elizabeth Southard, he was into real estate, Chicago, Ill. Lewis Albert Wells unmarried bank clerk in Chicago. George William Wells born 6/5/1841, married 6/29/1865 Emma Grant Hamilton, daughter of John Randolph and Virginia Hamilton, New Jersey. George Wells was a physician, editor of Medical Examiner magazine, and wrote a book "The Medical Examiner:What He Does and Why He Does It." They had two children, John Hamilton Wells and Virginia Grant Wells.

We have named our property at 208 Chemung street, 208 1/2 Chemung St., 9 Athens St and 7 Athens street in Waverly, NY 14892, "Zehr Estate."

The Zehr Estate's main house sits at 208 Chemung St., which is a mixture of the Stick - Eastlake and Gothic Styles. The Eastlake style is named after Charles Locke Eastlake. We have named this, "Enchanting East Empress."

The Zehr Estate also consists of 208 1/2 Chemung St., which the apartment at the end of the garages may have been the living quarters for a blacksmith. Others think that the apartment may have been a tack room where the bridles, saddles, and other supplies were kept with the stables being underneath. We have named this, "Alluring Artiste." In history, the horses were usually kept in another barn, separate from where the carriage was stored. On the 1888 Sanborn map, there is a small building, not labled, it may be today's garage apartment. The 1927 Sanborn map shows the same small building. The Sanborn map that was started in 1927 and not finished until 1947, shows a similar small building, but with the cinderblock garages added to it.

9 Athens St. was the original carriage or coach house that went with the mansion. We have named this, "Whimsical Haven." As far back as 1888, according to the Sanborn map, it was a 2 story barn building. It may have stored the Slaughter family's carriage and other supplies. On a 1927 Sanborn map, it is no longer a barn, but not a dwelling either. On a Sanborn map started in 1927, but not finished until 1947, it was labeled with an "A" meaning an automobile garage. In December of 2010, I talked with a great niece of the late, Gertrude and George Knapp. She remembers the carriage house at 9 Athens street to have been known as "Gerty's playhouse". The woman I talked with is the daughter of the late Joseph Warren Knapp, III.

Since we purchased this property, all tenants have found other living arrangements. As of July 1, 2010, we no longer had any tenants.

We received this from Cornell University on Nov. 10, 2011 on Charlotte Knapp:

Your question has reached the division of rare and manuscript collections.
Regarding Ms. Charlotte Slaughter Knapp, we have the following information:

-Her photograph, which is her yearbook photo.
-Born 3/24/16 in Waverly, NY to Mrs. G.B. Knapp
-Last attended Wellesley College
-Died 2/7/85 in Bell California
-Names of personal friends: Nelliana Best, Booklyn NY. JW Knapp, Jr,
Waverly NY. CA Kellogg, Waverly NY.
-Member of Delta Gamma

We finished the outside restoration and painting of Whimsical Haven (former carriage house), in October of 2011. We will eventually replace the roof with slate as it originally had.

We finished painting the exterior of Alluring Artiste and adding slate roof over storage areas in 2013.

2015 The Waverly Historical Society has formed.

November 8, 2016 Mr. Donald Trump elected 45th President of the United States

We purchased 7 Athens street on January 17, 2017 from John O'Hara living in Farmingdale, NJ and his mother Isabelle O'Hara living in Sun City, AZ., Co-Executors of the Last Will and Testament of Elizabeth Alamo, a/k/a M. Elizabeth Alamo, late of 7 Athens street, Waverly, NY. With the purchase of this property, 67 years later, Amy and Brad Zehr have put back together the original Samuel Wickham Slaughter and Charlotte Wells Slaughter estate, and will keep the history of this former "Alamo" home at 7 Athens street alive.

In 2018, we are continuing with painting on the exterior of the main house, Enchanting East Empress. In previous summers, we worked on restoration of windows, rotted wood, ornamentation, porch work ...

Discover Waverly, NY!

Home Contact Search Zehr Estate Waverly NY 14892
zehrestate.com