Zehr Estate

News Clips 1910 thru 1919

1910 census: at 5 Athens street (home still covering current day 3 and 5 Athens street) Eunice Hubbard, widowed with son Ray Hubbard. At 7 Athens st. Thomas Brown with wife Millie and daughter, Ruth. (9 Athens, is a carriage house.) At 4 Athens st. George and Eunice Page. At 6 Athens st. Chas. and Rosa Brink with son, Burton and daughter, Allie and grandson, Howard Blair. Renting at 8 Athens st. was E. H. and Ida Swain (maiden name was Hemstreet) with daughter, Effie and son, Lester and Chas.

1910 census: A. J. VanAtta, 81 yrs, and his wife, Corlista, 81 yrs. were living at 441 Pennsylvania Avenue, Waverly, NY along with Ruth Davneport,63 yrs. their servant.VanAtta was listed as superintendant of the Water Works.

January 19, 1910 Elmira Star Gazette: Wealthy Citizen Dies In Athens. Nathaniel C. Harris Succumbs To Pneumonia During Night-Was Ninety Years Old and Long Prominent in Valley. Athens, Jan. 19. - Nathaniel C. Harris, aged ninety years, one of the richest and most influential men of Athens, died at his home on Main street at 11 o'clock last night of pneumonia. Mr. Harris was a resident of Athens nearly all his life and had been identified in the business and social life of this place for many years. He was formerly president of the Athens Bank and at the time of his death was president of the Athens Furniture Company. He was the owner of much real estate, among which is the Snyder Hotel, one of the finest buildings in Waverly. Mr. Harris is survived by three children: Frank Kirby Harris of Athens, Mrs. Minor of Jackson, Mich., and Miss Katherine at home.

January 21, 1910 The Waverly Free Press: Poultry Show Big Success. Howling, is not the proper word, but the first exhibit of the Waverly Poultry and Pet Stock Association is a success - a cackling, crowing success. Not only is the number of exhibits large, but they are remarkably fine and embrace a big variety of birds. ... Waverly exhibitors, being most numerous, naturally fared well in the distribution of prizes, but Judge Alden showed no favoritism, and nearly every town that sent birds carried off a ribbon. The awards were as follows: ...R. C. Brown Leghorns - L. K. Hoagland, first cockerel, second pen. Geo. Knapp, first pen. ... The Assn. officers are C. A. Neaves, president; J. W. Start, vice president, and D. P. North, secretary and treasurer. The executive committee consists of A. R. Whitley, Harry Tozer and J. N. Hoyt.

Gutherie Will Open Hospital. Dr. Donald Gutherie, recently appointed surgeon-in-chief of Packer hospital, came to Sayre last Thursday and then immediately returned to his home at Wilkes-Barre. He had been taken suddenly ill. When he reached Towanda his condition was such that he was obliged to leave the train and go to the Ward House, where medical aid was summoned. Later reports from Towanda stated that while his condition is not serious, it would be several days before he is able to come to Sayre and assume charge of the institution. He is suffering from a bad case of tonsilitis. At six o'clock Saturday evening, Dr. Russell B. Lynn, who has been in charge of the Packer Hospital ever since the illness of the late Dr. C. H. Ott began, nearly a year ago, severed his connection with that institution and turned the reins over to Dr. Molineux and left for New York to resume special duty of the eye. During the week Dr. Molineaux, who had been selected as the permanent assistant to Dr. Gutherie, has been in Sayre and taken charge of the hospital. ...

January 24, 1910 The Evening Gazette, Port Jervis, NY: Mrs. J. M. Haggerty, of Goshen, N. Y., and Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter of Waverly, N. Y., are the guests of Mrs. John D. Swinton, Jr., on Sullivan Avenue. (John D. Swinton, Jr. was a wealthy hardware merchant in Port Jervis){Charlotte's sister, Mary Frances Wells married Lewis E. Coleman, whom their daughter, Frances Louise Coleman married James Mapes Haggerty. So, Mrs. J. M. Haggerty would be Charlotte Wells Slaughter's niece.}

January 28, 1910 The Waverly Free Press: First Gun of the Campaign. The first woman's suffrage meeting, for Waverly, under the new movement in this state, was held at the Masonic Temple Wednesday night under the "near auspices" of the eight women's clubs and organizations of the Valley - for none dared stand squarely as sponsor for the suffrage idea. The meeting was very well attended, some 250 perhaps being present, with a very fair representation of men. Rev. Geo. E. Briggs was the only person who appeared conspicuously in an introductory capacity and he introduced the speakers in his usual happy manner. The first speaker was Dr. Burton Aylesworth of Colorado, one of the members of the national board of Women's Suffrage. He was not a fluent speaker, but was very evidently in earnest and his talk consisted mostly of interesting facts regarding the workings of the system of suffrage for women as it has been in operation in his state for sixteen years. Some of the principal points brought out are as follows: Women do vote when they have the chance. The woman vote ranges from 43 to 52 per cent of the total, and the largest per cent comes from the best districts and not from the city slums, where the percentage is lowest. Colorado Springs, the home of the aristocracy, the "Athens" of the state, casts the heaviest woman's vote. It has proven perfectly easy and safe. Nobody laughs or thinks it any more strange for husband and wife to go to the polls together than they do here when they go to church together. The conditions surrounding the casting of the vote have been greatly improved. In a great many instances the polling places are now in church lecture rooms. Though women cast half the vote there are 40,000 more men than women in the state. The ratio of the female vote is steadily increasing. There are two arguments advanced against woman's suffrage: One that it will result in family quarrels and breaking up of the home; the other that it would not change the result, as the women would vote as do the men of the family. Each argument refutes the other. There has not been a single record in the state of divorce asked for resulting from voting differences. As a matter of fact, women do generally vote as their husbands do, but with this difference: It has been shown in many instances, when a close moral issue is at stake, when a bad man is nominated, the women will not follow the men voters. They swing the balance of power, and in every instance it has been for the moral issue. Woman's suffrage was given because it became the despair of good men to enforce reforms. Two-fifths of the men can be depended upon for the good cause and three-fifths of the women and that constitutes the majority. A striking example is offered in the women's support of that great moral hero Judge Lindsey, whose work has become world famous and which marks a new era of society's dealings with a certain class of weaklings we have called "criminals." Lindsey has only been able to do his work by the support of women's votes. The story of how the machines of both parties have united to put him completely out of the way time and again is familiar. Last year both refused to nominate him or allow him to speak in convention. The women nominated him independently and he got more votes than the combined vote of his two opponents. The legislative leaders listen carefully to the demands of the women, for they know that the women hold the balance of power to defeat them. The leaders ask the representatives of the organized women's clubs what they want and they get it. In 16 years there has never been even a change made that women were concerned in working any deal of graft in legislative matters. Twenty-eight advanced laws have been passed for which women are directly responsible - all of them humane laws, relating to the home, the children and labor conditions - and few of these would have been possible had not women had the ballot. The women do not seem to be eager for office. Very few hold office and those only where great demand has been made upon them. One woman was forced to take the office at the head of all schools of the state for six years. She saved the state untold millions by steadily blocking a scheme of corporations to buy school lands cheap on which they knew were valuable coal deposits. A great deal is now being said of the white slave trade. The men of the nation and many states are now struggling with it. By women's votes Colorado settled it last year without any great fuss. The cadet system is admitted absolutely killed and train loads of these vile creatures left the state, many of them coming to this state.

Miss Harriet M. Mills of Syracuse, a vice-president and organizer of the State organization, was the next speaker. She is a very bright woman, a very fluent and positive speaker, who held the undivided interest of her audience. She is witty and had her hearers laughing continually at her clever points and keen sarcasm. She said she had opinions and of that there was no doubt, and she knew how to express them. Miss Mills said that the suffragettes simply demanded the privilege of expressing their opinion, in the only way it could really count, by the ballot, in the management of the government and the regulation of laws which they were compelled to obey and in the expenditure of funds for which they were taxed. They do not claim that all women should vote. Those who don't want to are not fit to vote, as they don't know enough to yet. But some women are as fit to vote as some men, and any man who is 21 years of age, is not an idiot and can keep out of prison or out of a lunatic asylum can vote. An educational qualification might be fairer. But then many more women in this state could read their ballot than men. A great many more are going to college, so that they might be more fitted to think and act intelligently on great questions of state. If there was a morality qualification, the fact can be cited that women commit but 5.5 per cent of the crime. The argument has been advanced that women should not vote because they could not meet the supreme national test - to take up arms in defense of country. Miss Mills thought she herself could, if necessary, put up as good a fight as "Old Doctor Abbott" or "Old Doctor Parkhurst" who make this argument, but that fact is that never in the world's history has this been made the voting qualification. Abbott also says them don't need the "protection" of the ballot, because every woman is protected by some man. There are 40,000 more women in the state then men. There are 750,000 who are self-supporting, (and that with calling all the millions of those who do their share in keeping the home as dependents) and thousands of these women not only support themselves but their "protectors." The women have "influence" to secure good laws and laws to give them just rights, it is true, but without the ballot it takes so long. It took 55 years in Massachusetts to make the mother joint guardian with the father of her own children. In Colorado it was done in one year. Miss Mills ended by stating that the women would go to Albany this year once again to demand the ballot and again they would got to Washington to ask Congress to amend the constitution to allow women to vote just as they did allow the negro - and she believed the women were as fit to vote as were or are today the negroes. She said the object of these meetings was to get people to thinking and talking of the woman's suffrage movement and if they believed in it to let their representatives know it; know that there were many who favored it.

Questions were called for. One person stated that the argument had been advanced that woman's suffrage would not work for good in this state as in Colorado owing to the differences in population; with our large cities with a great ignorant foreign element. Dr. Aylesworth answered that of his own experience and those of others working in the New York slums, he was convinced that the change there would be for the good, for the greater elements of good, of better vision and higher ideals were held among the younger women of the foreign element than among the young men.

The question was asked if women sit on juries in Colorado and if not, why not. They can, but do very seldom. The custom has simply not been inaugurated. They are simply excused, as certain classes of men and professions are excused in this state. Probably they soon will begin to serve as jurors. In Kansas they have in some places frequently served and it is a fact that the women seem to be harder on malefactors than men.

At this meeting the women did not have the "last word." As the meeting closed some man asked: "Could you ever find enough women who had reached the voting age to cast any appreciable number of ballots?"

February 4, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Lockwood. Henry Spear and family of Elmira, who bought a farm of Lockwood, will move on the farm March 1st. Mr. West's people, who have been living on the farm, will move to North Waverly.

Suffrage has a "Chance." The several different representatives of the women's suffrage movement have opened their campaign for the passage of their constitutional amendment giving them the right to vote. Their measure has already been introduced in the senate by Henry W. Hill of Buffalo, chairman of the senate finance committee. It will be introduced in the assembly on Monday by a member from New York city. This member states that the bill will have much more support than it received a year ago and that at the present moment there are at least fifty votes pledged for the bill in the lower house. Last year there was no vote on the measure on the floor of either the senate or the assembly. It was voted on in the assembly committee on judiciary and received but two votes out of thirteen. The two men who voted for the suffragist measure on the committee were Fowler of Ulster county an Hamn of Wayne county. Fowler has returned this year but Mr. Hamn was not renominated. Several votes are required to report out the bill. Committee Has Changed. The makeup of the judiciary committee in the assembly, to which the bill will again be referred, is radically different from that of last year and this is one point that the suffragists consider to be in their favor. There are five new men on this committee and there is reason to believe that they will be more favorable to the suffragist movement than the men they have replaced. Jesse Phillips of Allegany county is again chairman of the committee, and he is on record as an uncompromising opponent of the suffrage cause. Whether or not he will be able to control the committee on the issue this year is, however, and open question, owing to the new members thereon.

February 18, 1910 Waverly Free Press: Married Sixty Years. Mr. and Mrs. A. J. VanAtta, of Pennsylvania avenue, the parents of John and Clare VanAtta, celebrated the 60th anniversary of their marriage last Saturday. Mr. VanAtta, who is one of our best known citizens, and has been associated with the Waverly Water Works Co., since its organization, was born at Barton 82 years ago. His wife is 81 years of age and is a native of Candor. Their host of friends here and elsewhere will extend congratulations to the venerable people on this occasion and wish them many happy returns of the day.

The sixtieth anniversary of the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. A. J. VanAtta was informally, but pleasantly celebrated on Saturday. Many friends called during the day and offered their congratulations and the venerable couple were the recipients of many small tokens of the high esteem in which they are held. Mr. VanAtta is eighty-two years of age and his wife but a year younger, but both were in excellent health and fine spirits as they received their callers.

March 18, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Eggs for hatching from the Crawford strain of Rose Comb Brown Leghorns. These birds took first prize at the Waverly Poultry Show. 57c per setting. Geo. B. Knapp, Valley Phone 568Y

March 25, 1910 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Mrs. Coleman of Goshen is the guest of her sister, Mrs. S. W. Slaughter of Chemung street.

The well known contracting firm of Corneby & Harris have begun work on what is known as the Mead house, 110 Providence street. The rear portion of the building is being torn down and the porch removed and the building is to be moved to one side of the large lot, and it is to be built over into a six-room house. On the other side of the lot A. D. Harris of the contracting firm mentioned is to erect for himself a large residence, modern and complete in all its appointments. The change will make a decided improvement to Providence street.

Extensive changes also will be made in the house of Mrs. Chas. Lane, corner of Chemung and Lincoln street. The work is being done by Corneby & Harris and the house is to be practically rebuilt, making it an elegant, modern residence. An octagon corner, with cupola roof, is to be constructed, with a large porch. Large windows are to be placed in the front, with new windows throughout the house, while the interior is to be built over, with a new staircase, etc. 309 Chemung st.

April 15, 1910 Waverly Free Press: Henry Evans, who is at the Ithaca City Hospital for treatment is gaining slowly. Thus far 147 pieces of skin have been grafted and some more will be used. He is contented and among the many things done for his amusement was an Easter post card shower given him by the members of a Baptist Sunday School class in that city.

George H. Grafft, one of Waverly's best known and most esteemed citizens, died at one o'clock yesterday afternoon at his home at 452 Cayuta avenue. Death was caused by kidney trouble, complicated with other diseases and occurred after only about a week's confinement to his bed, although the deceased had been more or less of an invalid for years. Mr. Grafft was 70 years of age and had been twice married, his second wife having died only a few years ago. He is survived by four daughter's, Mrs. Jennie Hathaway of Chicago, Mrs. Rose VanAtta of Waverly, Miss Anna Grafft, a teacher in the Waverly High School. Miss Margaret Grafft, a student in the Elmira Female College, and one son, Edwin Grafft, a student in Union College, at Schenectady. At the time of his death he was a justice of the peace and secretary of the Board of Education, both of which positions he had held for years. In his younger days he was one of Tioga Hose Company's most active members, and from 1882 to 1887, was its foreman. He was also for a time chief engineer of the Fire Department of the Village. Although a man of quiet habits and never seeking publicity, Mr. Grafft has always taken an important part in village affairs, especially in educational matters, and filled very ably many positions of trust and importance. Before his health failed he was associated with his brother-in-law, B. W. Bonnell in the flour and feed business and was known as one of Waverly's most prominent and respected merchants. He was a kind neighbor, a valuable citizen and a courteous and kindly gentleman and his death will be a distinct loss to Waverly and will be mourned by innumerable friends. The funeral will be held tomorrow at 2:00 p.m. (Friends of the Slaughter's)

Elmira newspaper: Waverly, N.Y., April 16.- George H. Grafft, one of Waverly's foremost citizens and a man known and respected throughout the southern tier, died at his home on Cayuta avenue Thursday of this week, aged seventy-two years. He had been in ill health for more than a year, but had been confined to the house for only about a week, with a complication of diseases. Mr. Grafft had lived nearly all his life in the town of Barton, coming from New York city with his parents when a boy and settling on a farm on Talmadge Hill. Upon his marriage when a young man he moved into the village, and in the years since then he was a prominent factor in the town's welfare and advancement. A Democrat in politics, he was elected a justice of the peace in this Republican town twenty-five years ago and he was continued in the office up to the time of his death - a splendid tribute to his fairness in the administration of justice and of the esteem in which he was held by his fellow citizens. For twenty-five years also he had served as a member of the board of education, and a large part of the credit for the high standing of the Waverly school system to-day is due to his influence. Mr. Grafft was active in various other affairs of the town, was a charter member of Tioga Hose company, No. 1, and served at one time as chief engineer of the fire department. He is survived by four daughters, Mrs. Jennie Hathaway, of Chicago; Miss Anna Grafft, a teacher in the Waverly grammar school; Mrs. Rose VanAtta, of Waverly, and Miss Margaret Grafft, a student in Elmira College; one son, Edwin Grafft, a student in Union College.

(Special to the Telegram) The funeral of George H. Grafft was held at the home on Cayuta avenue this afternoon and was largely attended. The Rev. P. R. Ross, of Hornell, until recently pastor of the Waverly Presbyterian church, officiated. The floral tributes were numerous and beautiful, among them being pieces from the Barton town board, the board of education, the teachers of the schools, and the senior class of the high school. Interment was made in Forest Home cemetery. The bearers were Frederick E. Lyford, Fred A. Sawyer, John C. VanAtta, Percy C. Meserve, A. I. Decker and Wilbur Finch. The honorary bearers were Dr. W. E. Johnson, J.T. Sawyer, A.A. Slawson, J. K. Murdoch, J. F. Shoemaker, Amasa Finch and H. G. Merriam. Most of the business places of the village were closed during the hour of the funeral.

April 15, 1910 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record - Mrs. James Wright of Laceyville, is the guest of her parents, Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Johnson of Chemung street (Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Johnson are the parents of Mrs. Wilbur A. Spraker, Gertrude and Charlotte Knapp's friend) 123 Chemung st. J. E. Johnson was a carpenter.

May 6, 1910 Waverly Free Press: OLD HOME WEEK AUG. 21ST- Committees Now Named and Everybody will Get to Work at Once. - PLENTY OF ENTHUSIAM IS DISPLAYED. - Send in the Names of all Former Residents. Waverly will Have the Biggest Time in its History. A meeting of Old Home Week committees was held in the Village Hall Tuesday night, while the attendance was not large on account of the threatening weather, there was plenty of enthusiasm and much important work was done. Capt. C. L. Albertson, chairman, presided and Miss Lilian Barnum acted as secretary. Captain Albertson announced that, after looking up the dates of the various fall fairs he had decided that Sunday, August 21st would be the best time for beginning Old Home Week and, after some discussion, the dates of August 21st to 25th inclusive were announced as those adopted. It is proposed to devote the first four days to "Old Home Week" celebrations, beginning with religious services on Sunday and ending with Old Institute day on Thursday. After deciding on the dates Captain Albertson announced the appointment of the following committees: Finance - Julius Sayles, Harry W. Knapp, Simon Zausmer, Charles Roe, M. W. Kennedy, Hon. J. T. Sawyer, Hon. Byram L. Winters, Wm. Bouton, Geo. H. Moore, J. D. Hoagland, John H. Murray, John Storms. Sunday Service - Rev. Robert L. Clark, Rev. Father Griffin, Rev. C. T. Raynor, Rev. Park Richards, John Johnson, Elbert Smith, Clifford Parshall, Ann Nichols, J. M. Slawson, T. C. Thorpe, W. K. Hart, A. Hemstreet, Jas Angell, Alva Quick, Dr. Nelson, A. B. Baldwin, N. W. Falsey, W. C. Farley, G. C. Higgins, Fred Grenell. Amusements - Fred B. Appleget, Wm. Bouton, Perey Weller, Dr. Snook, H. N. Daniell, E. A. Tilton, Harry Thatcher, Dr. Betowski, Edward Betowski. Schools - Percy Meserve, Dr. W. M. Hilton, Frank Munn, D. G. Stark. Grand Army - Wm. T. Harris, Fred Morgan, John Morgan, Mrs. John Morgan, Jennie Miller, S. D. Barnum, Benjamin Bonnell, J. F. Sheemaker, W. Gabiel Mullock. Parades - E. Barton Hall, Seward Baldwin, Edgar D. Sebring, Leon Snyder, Amos White, John Connoly, W. R. Weller, E. M. VanMarter, Harry Ellis, Geo. Baxter, Edward Snell, F. A. Bogaczynski, M. Enevolsen, Wm. Harris. Music - John Daly, Horace H. Kinney, Harold Watrous, Harvey Ingham, David O. Decker, John C. VanAtta, E. F. Perkins, Louise Lane Blackmore, and all members of the Polyhymnia Music Club. Advertising - Geo. D. Genung, G. E. Purple, Fred C. Simmons, Fred B. Appleget, Ray McEwen, Charles L. Albertson. Decorations - Fred C. Simmons, A. K. Gore, Ralph Bouton, Edward Eaten, Joseph Knapp, Dr. Thompson, Floyd Curran, Edward Rhodes, E. G. Whitley, Edward Beardslee, Wm. Turney, H. M. Ferguson, Matthew Bennett, A. J. Terry, Ora Harding, C. F. Chaffee, Fred Brown. Lighting - Simon Zausmer, M. A. Thompson, Sidney Ellis, W. E. Case, John Merkle, Wm. Rolfe, E. J. Neaves, W. W. Jones, F. S. Nicholson. Transportation - Wm. C. Buck, Jas. H. Smith, Monroe Lyford, W. E. Case, John Tozer, John W. Clark. Securing of Names and Reception - F. E. Lyford, H. G. Merriam, E. M. Letts, Herman Olney, F. A. Sawyer, F. W. Merriam, Hugh McDonald, Jas. Guyer, C. F. Spencer, Dr. Tucker, Wm. Swain, Hon. E. S. Hanford, Coe Mullock, E. D. Mixer, Lester Swain, L. J. Buley, W. E. Tew. A. M. Bouton, Walter Ware, Harry Baldwin, O. H. Lawrence, J. W. Knapp, Levi Curtis, G. E. Foote, Hon. F. A. Bell, W. H. Scofield, Fred Pilgrim, H. C. Bruster, Hon. F. L. Howard, Dr. Hart, C. M. Young, Dr. Carpenter, F. E. Hawkes, C. A. Jayne, I Prentice Shepard, Dr. Griswold, S. C. Hall, U. E. Harding, G. N. Pike, Dr. Annable, John Higgins, Wesley Brougham, Benj. Barnes, Dr. Spencer, Hon. A. I. Decker, W. H. Ballenstedt, John Shear, Willis Carey, Hon. Wm. F. Johnson, C. H. Larnard, Amasa Finch, Geo. W. Bingham, Capt. Mills, D. Clement, J. G. Heldleman, H. S. Lane, A. J. VanAtta, J. I. Ford, W. H. Mandeville, Hon. J. B. Floyd, Robert Shaw, J. F. Bingham, P. Nelson, Dr. R. S. Harnden, S. O. Shoemaker, Joe Hanna.

Send in Names. As we have before stated, the first work to be done by those planning for Old Home Week is the securing of a list of names, which shall, if possible, include that of every living person who ever resided in Waverly and vicinity. Capt. Chas. L. Albertson, at the head of the committee, is urging that all shall send in such names with full addresses. He says if more convenient for anyone, send or leave such names and addresses at the office of the Free Press-Record, from which they will reach the proper committed. In his talk here Hon, F. M. Baker stated that his greatest regret over the Old Home Week at Owego, was occasioned by the disappointment of a few old persons in various parts of the country who were former residents of Owego, but failed to receive an invitation. Send in at once all you can of names and addresses of former residents of Waverly and vicinity. Send them to Captain Albertson, to the office of the Free Press-Record or any other place so they will reach the commitee. Only through the co-operation of all can a complete list of the names desired be obtained.

Ad - WALL PAPER 5C PER DOUBLE ROLL Mouldings 2c ft. up. Gas Tar for Corn. Hydrogen Peroxide 15c per lb. today. Strong's Pharmacy Broad St. Waverly (using an inflation calculator, in 2014 a double roll would cost $1.25)

May 13, 1910 "Waverly Free Press": Pittsburg & Atlantic City, Tests. Tests made under the supervision of the painters association, proved that paint made with metal Zinc Oxide combined with White Lead was superior in lasting quality, to hand made pure White Lead Paint. This won a great victory for scientific-machinery-made L & M Paint. Every color is bright and lasting and won't need renewal for 12 to 15 years. It wears and covers like gold. Sold by E. G. Tracy, Waverly, N. Y.

May 20, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: David J. Nelson, a colored man who, just previous to the civil war, was very active in the operations of the famous "underground railroad," for assisting slaves to escape to Canada, died on Friday at Scranton, Pa. Nelson was born, free, in Ithaca, 77 years ago. For several years he was the chief guide for escaping slaves who came by the way of Montrose, Pa., and through this section of New York state and the promoters of the refugee route placed great dependence on his courage and sagacity.

May 27, 1910 The Troy Times: Emma Willard School Notes. ... Miss Marjorie Van Zandt of Troy has been elected Editor-in-Chief of The Triangle for next year. Miss Mary Gertrude Slaughter of Waverly has been elected News Editor and Miss Doris Loraine Crockett of Troy Business Manager. ...

May 27, 1910 Waverly Free Press: Fred Emerson Brooks of New York City, the well known poet and entertainer is soon to leave for California, but his many friends hope he can be here for the celebration and be heard in an original poem. (referring to Old Home Week)

May 27, 1910 Waverly Free Press: Died at Lodi. Mrs. George Wiggins, formerly Miss Florence VanAtta of this village and a niece of A. J. VanAtta, died Friday morning at her home in Lodi. About two weeks ago she was taken to the People's Hospital at Sayre for an operation, but her condition was so critical that it could not be performed and she returned home. Mrs. Wiggins was about 55 years of age and besides her husband, is survived by one son, Ray Wiggins.

June 10, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: While cleaning up a barn at Mrs. Harriet Lowman's on Chemung street, Tuesday morning, Thos. Brown found three sticks of dynamite and a long fuse, which had evidently been left there by some cracksman. The material was handed over to the police and is now in the hands of Street Commissioner Hanna, who will use it in his work. (Thomas Brown with wife Millie and daughter, Ruth were renting one half of the octagon home at 7 Athens street, from Mrs. S. W. Slaughter in 1910)

Mrs. Charlotte W. Slaughter and Mrs. L. D. Atwater left town Sunday to attend the commencement exercises of the Emma Willard School at Troy, N. Y., where their daughters are pupils. Miss Dorothy Atwater is a member of the graduating class, while Miss Gertrude Slaughter will complete her course there next year.

June 17, 1910 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Invitations Out. Chairman Albertson is now sending out the official Old Home Week invitations. They are handsomely printed in three colors and under a picture of Waverly taken from Spanish Hill contain an urgent personal appeal to old Waverlyites to come home once more. With each invitation is sent a program of the week. Chairman Albertson has already a list of over 2,000 addresses to which the invitations will be sent and will be glad to receive new names.

July 1, 1910 Waverly Free Press: Mrs. S. W. Slaughter and daughter, Gertrude, have gone to Goshen, and later will go to the mountains, near Port Jervis, for the summer.

July 8, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tigoa County Record: Visitors to the Theatorium will be surprised and pleased by the really artistic appearance of the front, which is being re-decorated by E. W. Lougher. The color scheme is mainly white, brown and green and an old Dutch glazed effect is produced that is remarkably attractive, clever imitations of various kinds of marble being predominant. The work will be entirely completed within a day or two and when finished will make one of the most unique and attractive fronts anywhere in this section, as Mr. Lougher is an artist of ability.

Announcement is made that the last of the old windows of Grace Church is to be replaced by a new window, the gift of Mrs. J. T. Buck of Springfield, Mass., the new one to be a memorial for Mrs. Buck's late husband, Josiah Taylor Buck and her mother, the late Emily Harriet Orange. Mrs. Buck and her family were formerly well known residents of Waverly. Her father, Geo. W. Orange was for many years Erie station agent here and her husband, J. T. Buck was the ticket agent at the station, both men dying here. The gift of Mrs. Buck is much appreciated by the members of Grace Church and completes a work of improvement in the putting in of new windows that adds much to the appearance of the church edifice.

July 22, 1910 "Waverly Free Press": RECOVERING FROM HIS BURNS Waverly Boy, After a Year's Suffering, Slowly Coming Back to Health. The Ithaca Journal of Friday devoted a half column to a report of the case of the little Waverly boy who was so terribly burned by his clothing catching fire on Aug. 15 last. Aside from a report of how his back was burned while putting gasoline on a fire he had built in the yard, the Journal speaks of the case as follows: A little, pale, wan faced boy in a wheel chair, pushed about the city by his mother, has been a familiar sight to most Ithacans for the past six or eight months. This little fellow is Henry Evans of Waverly, N. Y., fourteen years of age, who was seriously and painfully burned on August 15, 1909, at his home in the above place. A Journal reporter has watched the little fellow while receiving his daily outing in his chair and has noted the gradual improvement in his health. Last week, through the doctor's orders, the wheel chair was discarded and Henry was compelled to walk in order to gain some strength. Last evening Henry Evans and his mother were interviewed. After he was burned, he was at once taken to the Packer Hospital where it was ascertained that nearly two square feet of his body surface had been burned seriously. Some weeks later he was brought to the Ithaca Hospital where he was attended by a local surgeon, who during the past six or eight months has made over twenty skin grafts from as many people. Little Henry remarked last evening that he was made up of a great many prominent personages and that he had as many as twenty odd skin grafts, the most of them being from professional people, such as doctors, lawyers and students. Chief among those who gave of their cuticle was his own father. Many of the grafts he stated did not grow and but about half of the burned surface of the body has healed up to this time and as he is gaining in general health and strength every day the doctor thinks that he will, in a very short time, recover completely. Henry Evans and his mother are living on Esty street and will remain in Ithaca, in the care of a local surgeon, until such time as Henry is perfectly well, when they will return to their home in Waverly. Henry Evans is a brave, intelligent little fellow and a perfect little gentleman; and while the subject was a painful one to talk about, the Journal man enjoyed his interview with this little fellow very much." (7 Athens st. octagon home)

A Visit To Packer Hospital. When the party of Waverly gentlemen entered the doors of the Packer hospital by invitation of G. H. Merriam, one of the Trustees, on Wednesday afternoon, their first impression was of the boyish appearance of its surgeon-in-chief, Dr. Donald Guthrie, their second to the immensity of the institution. In the hour that followed the first impression steadily decreased and the second steadily grew, until, at the close of their visit they could not tell whether Packer was more fortunate in securing such an able head or the young surgeon in finding such a splendid field for his talents. Young, Dr. Guthrie certainly is, and he has all the enthusiasm of a boy over what is at once his hobby and profession, but as he walks among his patients and talks of operations one realizes very thoroughly that it is a man's work he is doing and a very big and capable man's work at that. The lamented Dr. Ott has an able successor. As to the hospital, there were few among the visitors who were not surprised at its size and completeness. It is a remarkable institution to find outside of a large city and one who wanders through its halls cannot fail to be impressed by the evidences of wealth and generosity that have made it possible. In the older part, the Packer mansion, which formed the nucleus of the institution, the wood work and mural decorations are still remarkably beautiful, although the rooms everywhere are admirably adapted for their purpose. Entering the main building one sees the general office, the Board room, which is also used as a room for nurses' and the nurses' and officers' dining room and kitchen. Upstairs is the nurses' dormitory, and it is doubtful if nurses in any other hospital in the country have such ample and attractive quarters as these rooms. Next comes the pathological laboratory and the male wards in what was formerly the dining hall of the Packer mansion, and which, with its elaborately carved ceiling, is still remarkably beautiful. Passing through the second male ward one comes to the private rooms, diet kitchens, bath rooms and sun room, to the female ward. There are in the building three large open wards, a maternity ward with six beds, and nine private rooms, giving the hospital a capacity of sixty-five patients. In spite of this, however, eighteen new beds have recently been ordered and will be used in case of emergency, as, for instance, a big railroad wreck nearby. Few departments were skipped by the visitors and everywhere were found the same cleanliness and order and the same completeness of equipment. The operating room is a model of antiseptic thoroughness and efficiency, and the sterilizing and dining rooms are as complete adjuncts as can be found anywhere. All the anesthetizing is done by the directress of nurses, Miss Mary D. Mitchell, who also has full charge of the training school. The drug room is in charge of Miss Elizabeth Lane, a graduate nurse, who personally attends to dispensing all medicines to the nurses. The x-ray room was found especially interesting by the guests. It is in charge of Albert Weaver, an expert photographer, and, as was explained by Dr. Guthrie, is most valuable in certain diagnoses. In explaining the various departments of the hospital Dr. Guthrie showed that he is not only a skillful surgeon, but a man of much executive and business ability. He keeps in close touch with every line of work, and, in the supply rooms, the information he volunteered as to the great saving by careful buying of drugs, etc., was a revelation to the visitors, who are used to drug store prices. Not the least interesting part of the visit was the inspection of the gigantic heating plant, where three great boilers consume a ton and a half of coal on a cold day. Even here the same cleanliness was noticable as is so pronounced everywhere else and one might eat his supper off of the floor without fear of germs. The hot houses (Contiuned on Second Page.) Visit To Packer Hospital. (Continued from first Page.) and flower and kitchen gardens were also visited and Dr. Guthrie detailed his plans for a poultry farm which is to be started in the near future. Everywhere was found the same spaciousness, the same attention to detail, the same completeness and perfection. As a fitting climax to the trip, the visitors called at Dr. Guthrie's home, where he and two of the other physicians live, and found one of the most comfortable and attractive bachelor quarters imaginable under the care of one of the best housekeepers. Packer's staff consists of Dr. Guthrie, surgeon-in-chief; S. D. Molyneux, assistant surgeon; Drs. F. M. Pogue, A. T. McClintock and J. Nutt, internes; Albert Weaver, x-ray expert; Miss Elizabeth Lane, assistant and pharmacist, and 21 nurses in training. The hospital at present has 60 patients, more than ever before in its history, and Dr. Guthrie expressed himself as much pleased at the extent to which its territory of patronage is growing and especially at the increasingly large number of patients that come from New York state to the Pennsylvania hospital. Packer is a big affair and when the guests left it was with an increased respect for and pride in one of the most flourishing and notable institutions of the Valley.

RETURNS AFTER 25 YEARS. Andrew Slawson, Who Started Big Milk Company, Returns to that Line of Business. Andrew A. Slawson, long and prominent resident of Waverly spent Sunday and Monday here and then returned to his work in the northern part of the state, where, for some time past, he has been working as an inspector of creameries and dairies for one of the great milk concerns of New York City- the Sheffeld Farms-Slawson-Decker Co. Mr. Slawson can be counted as one of the pioneers in the milk business of New York city. Some 45 years ago A. A. Slawson, with two brothers, organized what was long known in the city as the Slawson Milk Co., each of the brothers at first starting out on a milk wagon and gradually building up a big business for that day. He is now the only survivor of the three brothers. Some 25 years ago Mr. Slawson sold his interests in the milk business and engaged in business in Waverly, continuing in various lines here until a few months ago. He was for many years in the furniture and undertaking business. He was also long prominent in public matters, serving at different times as Postmaster and as Supervisor and in other official positions, at one time being elected as President of the village, all in spite of the fact that he was always a Democrat. As stated above, Mr. Slawson has returned to the milk business, after being out of it for 25 years, and he states that he finds now among the most prominent and wealthy men in the business in the city many of whom as young men he gave their first lessons in the work, some of them starting as helpers on the Slawson Company's delivery wagons.

August 5, 1910 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: To The Ladies. We want to have a little talk with the ladies about Old Home Week and politely request the men folks not to listen. What we want to say is this: Old Home Week will be a busy week and you will all have plenty to do, but don't over do it. Don't kill yourselves. You will have company to entertain, your house will be filled. If you want to you can make your duties as hostess fill up your whole time, keep you from enjoying the celebration and probably lay you up in bed for a few weeks afterward. Don't do it. You want to get the good Old Home Week yourselves; the friends who will visit you will want you to and they will enjoy their visit a thousand times more if you do. Plan your entertaining with that end in view. Get it in your dear heads that the people who come here are coming for Old Home Week and that your part is incidental and minor. Don't try to compete with the circus or the midway. Take things calmly and do things moderately. For instance, to get down to the very practical, take this question of meals. If you plan big dinners you will be busy all the time and ten to one at the hour you name your guests will want to be watching Zingarella or a parade. Don't do it. As nearly as you can, adopt the English house party plan. Tell your guests when they come that the house is theirs, that you have beds for them and food for them to make themselves at home and do exactly as they please. When they leave the house in the morning tell them that if they get around after noon they will find lunch on the table and can help themselves at any hour. Tell them the same thing at supper. If you are there all right; if not all right, but don't think you must spend your time getting up big dinners for people who will not have time to eat them. Cold meats and that sort of thing when they want them will suit them much better, and will give you all a freedom that will do much to make the week a delight for guest and hostess. Try the "buffet" plan.

April 8, 1910 The Waverly Free Press and Tioga County Recorder: Mrs. Margaret Sager. Mrs. Margaret Sager, wife of T. A. Sager died Wednesday at their home, Suffern, N. Y., after an illness of two years. The deceased was a sister of the late Mrs. F. E. Munn, and was well known in Waverly, having visited here frequently. Besides her husband she is survived by one son, Harry L. Sager, of Passaic; two sisters, Mrs. Agnes Kinsman and Mrs. Jennie Everson, and one brother, J. M. Brady, all of Oswego. The remains were brought to Waverly for interment on the Erie Wednesday morning at 5:50 and funeral services were held at Mr. Munn's residence, at No. 207 Chemung street, at 2:30 o'clock yesterday afternoon.

Reception to Dr. Guthrie. One of the most notable and enjoyable social events of the season took place Friday night at the home of Dr. W. Elling Johnson, on Park avenue, the occasion being a reception given in honor of Dr. Donald Guthrie, the new, surgeon-in-chief of Packer Hospital, Sayre. At seven o'clock an elaborate dinner of eight courses was served, at the conclusion of which Dr. Johnson, in a few well-chosen words toasted the guest of honor and bespoke for him the friendship of the men of Waverly. Dr. Guthrie responded in fitting language and the hours of pleasant sociability that followed left no doubt as to the cordiality of the reception accorded to the young chief by Waverly or the favorable impression he has made upon those with whom he has come in contact. At the close of the dinner, Mrs. Johnson, assisted by Mrs. John H. Murray, re-enforced the genial Doctor in the entertainment of the guests and the attractions of the billiard and bridge tables and smoking room combined to make the time pass with incredible swiftness until midnight. 440 Park Ave.

May 13, 1910 Waverly Free Press: The following gentlemen were nominated for vice-presidents of the Old Home Week Association and, on motion, were unanimously elected: Hon J. T. Sawyer, N. S. Johnson, J. W. Knapp, H. G. Merriam, C. F. Spencer, Hon. J. B. Floyd, Levi Curtis, Hon P. R. Ackley, Jefferson Bingham, M. H. Mandeville, G. E. Foote, C. H. Shipman, Amass Finch, A. J. VanAtta and W. E. Moore

August 12, 1910 "Waverly Free Press": Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter and Miss Gertrude Slaughter are home after a month's outing in Orange county.

August 19, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: "Susquehanna." Capt. Charles L. Albertson has just received the following characteristic letter from Fred Emerson Brooks, who has written an original poem for Old Home Week: St. John's Mine, Vallejo, Calif., August 9, 1910. Capt. Charles L. Albertson, President Old Home Comm., Waverly, N. Y. My Very Dear Friend: - I am so glad you agreed with me about the subject of the poem for "Old Home Week," "The Susquehanna." Your letter so encouraged me that I have nearly finished a beautiful, poetic legend of the making and the naming of the glorious river after the beautiful daughter of the great chief of the Susquehannocks named Susquehanna; with a love-idyl in it. If, in the lieu of certified legends, I have been forced to create one out of the imagination, it will. I trust, be none the less original; and I am certain a dozen fold more reasonable than countless impossible legends we are compelled to digest. A legend is a story that goes back of all provable history - often changed in the telling. Then why may not I create a legend by going further back -so far back that no one can dispute it? That reminds me of a man who was boasting that he could trace his pedigree back to James I and I retorted by declaring that my crest was an apple, and that my pedigree went back to Adam. In further proof of which I have an abnormal taste for apples. I will send the poem on to you in a few days - though I have a mind to keep it a while for polishing - and send extra copies later to be sure of one copy reaching you. If, by any chance, I can not come, you will get some thunder-voiced reader to give it expression. You will have free voice in using or printing it. It belongs to you and Waverly and I will be satisfied with the glory in the song. Yours devotedly, Fred Emerson Brooks.

The Athletic Events. ... Most of the contests will take place on Park avenue, a dirt street being more desirable and the nine-mile Marathon will be run around the belt line....100 yard- dash...Hook and ladder race...Hub and hub...There will also be bag and potato races with prizes of $1.00 each.

The Indian Fight at Spanish Hill. Whatever else happens during Old Home Week, the fight at Spanish Hill will not be forgotten. The decorations- speeches, parades, music, everything will be the best of its kind, but these things have been seen or heard before. The open air play at Spanish Hill will be the one unique feature of the week; few towns in the whole country could even contemplate such a spectacle - they have no Spanish Hill. It is an auditorium with a capacity of thousands of spectators and a stage for a realistic and dramatic presentation that will never be forgotten. Few who have not stood upon it and had the plot of "Early Days in the Valley," pictured to them can realize how wonderfully the place is suited to such a performance; no one who had fails to become enthusiasitc over the possibilities. Whatever is produced, the natural scenery and the setting of the hills and river will dignify and, beautify it and with very little trouble the presentation will be made one of the most unique and memorable features of the week. That the show will be a success is more than assured. With good weather "Early Days in the Valley" will go on record as the greatest play ever produced in the Valley and before the greatest audience. Edward Betowski, of the Amusement committee has the management of the production and is busily engaged in arranging the details. The Boys' Batailion of Sayre has volunteered to furnish the nucleus of Sullivan's army. Fifty Red Men from Dia-Ho-ga Tribe of Sayre will furnish the main body of the Indians. Volunteers for settlers and additional soldiers and Redskins are coming in daily and are being assigned to their parts. Guns and other weapons have been requisitioned in quantities, plans for a cabin have been drawn and work men selected.

Auto Ride for the Aged. A pleasing part of Old Home Week will be the auto ride which will be given to the oldest residents of the village and vicinity, on Thursday afternoon at 5 p. m. Numerous owners of autos have volunteered the use of their machines and in charge of careful chaffeurs, all the veteran residents who desire will be given a spin around town.

Polyhymnia Committee. Mrs. Richard Blackmore, president of the Polyhymnia Club, has appointed the following committees for the concert. Executive and Reception, Mrs. H. N. Daniell, Mrs. Lizzie Waldo Taylor, Mrs. William Schofield; Ushers, Miss Mary Finch, Miss Frances Lyons, Miss Mary Blood, Mrs. Jesse Green, Miss Edith Lyon. Baby Parade Committee is as follows: Mrs. E. Barton Hall, Mrs. John Murray, Mrs. E. D. Sebring. Assistants: Division No. 1, Miss Mary Wilcox, Miss Harriet Lewis, Mrs. Edgar D. Sebring; Division No. 2, Miss Mary Schofield, Mrs. H. N. Daniel, Miss Mary Blood; Division No. 3, Miss Janet Lyon, Mrs. John Murray, Mrs. E. Barton Hall.

Infant Son Dead. David Lougher, Jr., the two-year-old son of Mr. and Mrs. David Lougher, died Sunday at their home on Clark street, after a brief illness. The funeral was held at the residence Monday. Mr. Lougher is a decorator who has many contracts here for Old Home Week and only removed his family here a few days ago from Dansville. 436 Clark st.

August 22, 1910 Elmira Star Gazette: Home Comers Fill Waverly. Formal Reception Held This Afternoon in Loomis Opera House - Tomorrow Another Big Day. Waverly, Aug. 22. - The union services in the Loomis Opera House yesterday really marked the opening of Waverly's Old Home Week, but the festivities began at 7:30 o'clock this morning when every whistle and bell in Waverly, Sayre and Athens gave a loud united salute to the home comers. Members of the reception committee have met every incoming train to give information and aid to the thousands of home coming people who have returned to the good old town to renew acquaintance with valley people and scenes. Formal Reception. This afternoon at 2 o'clock the formal reception and welcoming exercises were held in the Loomis Opera House. Addresses were made by Captain Charles Albertson, who spoke for the Old Home Week Association; Village President John T. Tucker, E. W. Eaton and Assemblyman Frank Howard. An historical address, "Through the Gray Dawn," was given by the Rev. George A. Briggs, former pastor of the Waverly Baptist Church. Fred Emerson Brooks of Vallejo, Cal., wrote a poem, "Susquehanna," especially for the occasion, which was read by Professor Howard C. Conant. The music was furnished by Kramm's Band. Baby Parade. The baby parade this afternoon at 4 o'clock under the auspices of the Polyhymnia Club is one of the prettiest features of the entire week's program. Kramm's Band played appropriate selections while the little folks marched about the High School Park, attracting no end of favorable attention. This evening in the Loomis Opera House the musical festival will be held. Admittance will be by card obtained either of the Polyhymnia Club or at the Old Home headquarters. Among the home comers who have a place on the program is Miss Nettie Knise, who will whistle and sing. Circus Tomorrow. Tomorrow the Forepaugh-Sells circus will be here, the G.A.R. reunion will be held, the farmers', merchants', manufacturers' and automobilists' parade will be held at 9:30 o'clock, and the Baptist reunion and festival will be held on the lawn at the Baptist Church.

August 26, 1910 Waverly Free Press: Mrs. Sarah Miller of Paterson, N. J., daughter of Joseph Hallet for years one of Waverly's most prominent citizens, is stopping with her sister Mrs. C. F. Spencer.

One of the most notable features of the afternoon was an original poem, "Susquehanna, " written specially for the occasion by Fred Emerson Brooks, the well known poet, of Vallejo, Cal. It was read with fine effect by Prof. Howard Conant of Holyoke, Mass.

Mrs. Gabriel Evans of Ithaca, is among those here today. She reports her little son, Henry, who was so badly burned last summer, as steadily improving.

Mrs. Walter Lockerby of Ithaca, spent Wednesday with her sister, Mrs. Harry W. Knapp.

August 26, 1910 Waverly Free Press: (I Only transcribed the Waverly Graduates from 1873 to 1910, who still lived in Waverly in 1910: some of the middle initials, I, may be L's and vice versa, could not decipher)
1910 Mrs. Charles H. Swain (Ida A. Hemstreet class of 1878) living on Athens St.
1910 class of 1878, Fred A. Sawyer, Cashier Citizens Bank - 416 Chemung st.
1910 class of 1878, Mrs. Edw. Simmons, (Jessie L. Shaw) Johnson St. - 11 Johnson st.
1910 (Florence Floyd class of 1881) Mrs. Frank Merriam Chemung St. - 304 Chemung st.
1910 class of 1881, Mary McCarthy, Principal Sayre High School, Wilcox St, Waverly
1910 Lewis D. Atwater, class of 1882, Sales Agt for International Text Book Co. of Scranton; Park Place - 112 Park Pl
1910 Mrs. Wm Hopkins (Jennie M. Buley, class of 1882) Chemung St. - 201 Chemung st.
1910 I. Grant Dodge, Ice and Real Estate, Ithaca St., Class of 1885 - 479 Cayuta ave no longer standing
1910 Horace H. Kinney, Teacher vocal and instrumental music, Providence St. Class of 1885 - 103 Providence st.
1910 (Anna B. Quigley) Mrs. John Higgins, Fulton St. class of 1885 - 460 Fulton st.
1910 class of 1885 Mary Finch, journalist, Cayuta Ave. - 495 Cayuta Ave
1910 class of 1885, Mrs. Charles M. Young (Margaret E. Vought?) Fulton St 
1910 class of 1886, Etta Barnum, teacher, Pine St. - 19 Pine st, Esther Barnum, teacher
1910 class of 1886, Lewis J. Buley, Asst. Cashier Citizens Bank - 444 Fulton st.
1910 class of 1886, Mrs. Wm D. Earley, (Margaret J. Carrol) Fulton St.
1910 class of 1887, (Grace M. Merriam), Mrs. W. H. Stevenson Chemung St.
1910 Anna H. Grafft, teacher, Cayuta Ave., class of 1887 - 452 Cayuta ave
1910 Lena A. McCarthy, teacher in Sayre Schools, Wilcox St Waverly, class of 1887
1910 class of 1887 Mrs. Ed. VanAtta, (Rose Grafft), Cayuta Ave.
1910 class of 1887, Mrs. I. Grant Dodge, (Gertrude Mercereau), Cayuta Ave. - 479 Cayuta Ave
1910 class of 1887, Lewis B. Shriver, bookkeeper, Elm St. - 109 Elm st.
1910 Class of 1887, Mrs. Phillip Kerrigan, (Katherine E. Smitt), Fulton St. - 449 Fulton St.
1910 Class of 1887, Grace B. Tuthill, teacher, 494 Waverly St.
1910 class of 1888, Seward Baldwin, manufacturer, Pennsylvania Ave. -  474 Penns Ave and then 472 Penns Ave
1910 class of 1888, Lillian N. Barnum, librarian, 103 Chemung St.
1910 class of 1888, Effie C. Cohan, teacher, Broad St. - 149 Broad st.
1910 class of 1888, Mrs. Ernest G. Whitley, (Mary E. Osborn), Elliot St. - home at 6 Elliot, grocery at 8 Elliot st. in 1914. 
1910 class of 1888, Mrs. Arthur J. Terry, (Nellie E. Simpson), Dry goods merchant, Broad St. - 320 Broad st. Their home at 415 Chemung st. in 1914.
1910 class of 1889, Anna C. Curran, bookkeeper, Broad St. - in 1914 was living at 114 Broad st, bookkeeper at 434 Fulton st.
1910 class of 1889, Mrs. Harry Case, (Alice L. Deidrick), Lincoln St - possibly 6 Lincoln st. 
1910 class of 1889, Mrs. Harry W. Knapp, (Maria I. Phillips), Waverly St. - 455 Waverly St.
1910 class of 1889, Lila A. Shoemaker, teacher, Chemung St. - 421 Chemung st.
1910 class of 1889, Mrs. Ellis Crandall, (Mildred E. Topping), teacher Waverly St. - 484 Waverly St.
1910 class of 1890, Mrs. Wm. Kinney, (Fannie I. Clark) 
1910 class of 1890, Mrs. Edmund Pickley, (Lizzie T. Cohen), Broad St. - 149 Broad st.
1910 class of 1890, Mrs. Frank I. Howard, (Josephine Frisbee), Waverly St. - 475 Waverly St.
1910 class of 1890, Wm. A. Personius, Milling Business, Pennsylvania Ave. - 423 Penns. Ave.
1910 class of 1890, Lizzie T. Shehau, bookkeeper Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1891, Mary Eliza Arnts, teacher, Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1891, Mrs. Edward Eaton, (Mabel Shoemaker), Ithaca St. - 36 Ithaca st.
1910 class of 1892, Abigail I. Morgan, Decorative Artist, Lincoln St.
1910 class of 1892, Mrs. Albert R. Tozer, (Anna Mullock), Elm St. - 108 Elm st.
1910 class of 1892, Effie I. Scott, librarian, Pennsylvania Ave. - 440 Penns. Ave.
1910 class of 1892, Mrs. Albert I. Hill, (Grace O. Tompkins), Ithaca St. - 43 Ithaca St.
1910 class of 1893, Mrs. Ernest L. Weller, (Martha E. Ball), Chemung St. - her husband in 1014 was cabinet maker at 430 Chemung st. and they lived at 431 Chemung st.
1910 class of 1893, Mrs. Alfred Brink, ( Susie M. Millage), teacher, Waverly R. D. No.1
1910 class of 1893, Halet Spencer, Physician, Chemung St. - home at 327 Chemung st. office over 337 Broad St. -  In 1914 at 423 Park Ave. home and office.
1910 class of 1894, Harry C. Baldwin, lumber business, Penna. Ave. -  472 Penns Ave.
1910 class of 1894, Alice P. Fish, Chemung St. - 151 Chemung st.
1910 class of 1894, Grace A. Weller, teacher 568 Clark St.
1910 class of 1895, Mrs. Fred D. Gillan, ( Claudia B. Andre), Elm St. - 120 Elm st.
1910 class of 1895, George A. Harding, Clerk with Harding & Hoyt, Fulton St.
1910 class of 1896, Leon S. Betowski, Physician, Broad St. - office at 342 Broad St., boarding at 10 Johnson St. - In 1914 office at 329 Broad St. and home at 524 Clark St.
1910 class of 1896, M. Theresa McHale, teacher, Johnson St. - living at 19 Johnson St.
1910 class of 1896, Curtis W. Morgan, Supply Clerk Sayre Shops, Lincoln St. Waverly - 42 Lincoln St.
1910 class of 1896, Horace S. Morgan, Railroading, Howard St. 
1910 class of 1896, Clarence S. Scott, Mail Carrier, 410 Pennsylvania Ave.
1910 class of 1896, Charles C. Murray, Sign Painter, Elizabeth St. - 12 Elizabeth St. home and office
1910 class of 1897, David O. Decker, Lawyer, Fulton St. - 475 Fulton St. with office at 330 Broad St.
{1910 class of 1897, Harry S. Fish, Physician, Sayre Pa}
1910 class of 1898, Harriet B. Beardslee, Missionary, Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1898, Mrs. Lewis Grant, (L. Mabel Hoyt), Waverly NY - In 1914 at 424 Park Ave.
1910 class of 1898, Ellen Kendrick, Stenographer, Howard St. - 134 Howard St.
1910 class of 1898, Jessie L. Whitaker, Teacher, Howard St. - boards at 104 Howard St.
1910 class of 1899, Mrs. Fred C. Simmons, (Lavantia H. Russell), Pine St. - 29 Pine St.
1910 class of 1899, Mrs. Harold C. Watrous, (Chrissis J. Scott), Park Ave. - 436 Park Ave
1910 class of 1899, Fanny Scott, 440 Penna. Ave.
1910 class of 1900, Eva G. Blizzard, Dressmaker, Fulton St. - 503 Fulton St.
1910 class of 1900, Mrs. Geo. Carlyle, (Margaret Campbell), Liberty St. Waverly, NY - 33 Liberty St.
1910 class of 1900, Wilton S. Hall, Secy. Hall & Lyon Furniture Waverly, NY - boards at 427 Park Ave. by 1914 living at 8 Orchard St.
1910 class of 1900, Ella L. Johnson, Teacher, Pine St. - 58 Pine St.
1910 class of 1900, Robert S. Knapp, died in 1903.
1910 class of 1900, Amy VanAtta, Teacher, Waverly St. - boards at 426 Waverly St.
1910 class of 1900, Harold C. Watrous, Teller Citizens Bank, Park Ave. - 436 Park Ave.
1910 class of 1901, Lucille A. Genung, Teacher, Chemung St 
1910 class of 1901, Mrs. Harry Baldwin, (May A. Hilton), Penna. Ave. - 472 Penns Ave.
1910 class of 1901, Elizabeth Kenrick, Nursing, Howard St. - boarding at 134 Howard St.
1910 class of 1901, Jeanette Lyon, Lincoln St.
1910 class of 1901, Mary W. Muldoon, Teacher, Chemung St. - 418 Chemung St.
1910 class of 1901, Emma Jean Park, Teacher, Lincoln St.
1910 class of 1901, Mrs. Asa Nichols, (Matie B. Riggs), Chemung St. - 115 Chemung st.
1910 class of 1902, Edward Betowski, Tailoring Business, Johnson St. - 10 Johnson St.
1910 class of 1902, Louis B. Goff, Ice Business, Clark St. - boards at 514 Clark St.
{1910 class of 1902, Ralph W. Knapp, with Webster & Stone Construction Co. Seattle, Washington (George Knapp's brother)}
1910 class of 1902, Anna L. McCarthy, bookkeeper Waverly, NY - boards at 15 Ithaca St.
1910 class of 1902, Harry Westfall, Bookkeeper for Sayre Bank, Cayuta Ave. - 413 Cayuta Ave his father's home. In 1914, he had a home at 128 Elm St. Waverly
1910 class of 1903, Mrs. Manley M. Latham, (Nellie Bensley), Barton NY
1910 class of 1903, Jessie Bullard, Stenographer, Waverly, NY 
1910 class of 1903, Rachael Crans, Stenographer, William St. - most likely 207 William St.
1910 class of 1903, Mary Curry, Bookkeeper, Spaulding St. - bookkeeper at 426 Broad St., lives at 6 Spaulding St.
1910 class of 1903, Mrs. A. W. Bouton, (Marion Harding), Clinton Ave. - boarded at 12 Lincoln Ave in 1907. By 1914 living at 103 Center St.
1910 class of 1903, Mrs. Arthur E. Bradley, (Ethel Hunt), Lincoln St.
1910 class of 1903, Mrs. Rollin G. Perry, (Grace Lawrence), Clinton Ave. - In 1907 her husband listed at 126 Howard St., by 1914 her husband was repairman at 10 Elizabeth St. and living at 78 Lincoln St.
1910 class of 1903, Hattie Lewis, Bookkeeper, Chemung St. - In 1907, Harriet Lewis bookkeeper boarding at 431 Loder St./ Harriet Lewis a stenographer at 316 Broad St. living at 326 Chemung st. in 1914
1910 class of 1903, Agnes Snyder, Bookkeeper Waverly, NY - boards at 16 Orchard St.
1910 class of 1903, Mrs. M. E. Gore, (Nettie Swain), Park Ave. - boards at 433 Park Ave
1910 class of 1903, Job Tozer, Electrician, Broad St. -  boards at 486 Fulton, by 1914 was an electrical contractor at 417 Park Ave and boarding at 462 Waverly St.
1910 class of 1904, Jessie R. Angell, Teacher, Chemung St. - 414 Chemung St.
1910 class of 1904, Jessie J. Austin, Stenographer, Fulton St. - boarding at  505 Fulton St., by 1914 boarding at 433 Broad St.
1910 class of 1904, Virginia H. Canoll, Chemung St. - 145 Chemung St. 
1910 class of 1904, John Dillon, Bookkeeper, 31 N. Chemung St. 
1910 class of 1904, Mrs. Theodore Weeks, (Verna Emily Gore), Waverly, NY - 10 Lincoln Ave
1910 class of 1904, Robert W. Johnson, Clerk Erie R. R. Office, Chemung St.
1910 class of 1904, Zalda E. Smith, Bookkeeper, Clark St.
1910 class of 1904, Pearl Stackhouse, Stenographer, Park Ave. - boards at 430 Park Ave.
1910 class of 1904, Walter S. Thatcher, Clark St. - 511 Clark St.
1910 class of 1904, M. Elting Gore, Physician, Waverly, NY - boards at 433 Park Ave.
1910 class of 1905, Percy Alliger, Motor Car Conductor, Chemung St - by 1914, Mrs. Bertha (Percy) Alliger was living at 72 Pine St.
1910 class of 1906, Dorothy Crandall, Stenographer, Park Place 
1910 class of 1906, Lulu Crans, William St. -  stenographer living at 207 William St.
1910 class of 1906, Mildred Fuller, Teacher, Park Place - 116 Park Place
1910 class of 1906, Margret Grafft, Student Elmira College, Cayuta Ave. - most likely 452 Cayuta Ave.
1910 class of 1906, Margaret Hefferman, Teacher, Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1906, Eva M. Johnson Stenographer, Pine St - 58 Pine St.
1910 class of 1906, Florentine Knapp, Teaching, Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1906, Mrs. Robert E. Greer, (Satie G. Robinson), William St.
1910 class of 1906, Harold M. Sawyer, Student Cornell University, 110 Stewart Ave, Ithaca, NY
1910 class of 1907, Maude Barnes, Student Elmira College, Waverly NY
1910 class of 1907, Marguerite Kingsbury, Clerk N. P. L. Office, Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1907, Alice M. Lang, Student, Wellesley College, Waverly, NY - 202  Chemung St.
1910 class of 1907, Winifred Muldoon, Stenographer, Chemung St. - 418 Chemung St. - In 1914 was stenographer working at 434 Fulton St.
1910 class of 1907, Bernice Turney, Clerk, William St. - 206 William St. most likely
1910 class of 1907, Maude B. Thayer, Stenographer, Providence St. - 122 Providence St.
1910 class of 1908, Clara Frazer, Student at Cortland Normal School, Pine St. Waverly, NY - In 1914 directory has Clara A. Fraser, teacher, living at 114 Elm St. Waverly
1910 class of 1908, Mary Johnson, Student Elmira College, Pine St. Waverly NY - 58 Pine St.
1910 class of 1908, Barbara Lawrence, Student Sweetbriar College, Ithaca St. Waverly NY - 25 Ithaca St.
1910 class of 1908, Mary Lynch, Teacher, 456 Penna. Ave.
1910 class of 1908, Louise Maylon, Waverly St. - 514 Waverly St. a musician
1910 class of 1908, Josephine O-Brien, Student Rochester Business Institute, Howard St. Waverly, NY - boards at 201 Howard St.
1910 class of 1908, Lizzie Tuthill, Orange St. - 22 Orange St. a stenographer
1910 class of 1908, Rundio Zeigler, Clerk N. P. L. Office Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1908, Alice Westfall, Teacher, Waverly, NY - 413 Cauyta Ave most likely
1910 class of 1909, Edwin Grafft. Cayuta Ave. - 452 Cayuta Ave.
1910 class of 1909, Mrs. Seward Larnard, (Beth Jayne), Lincoln St. - 58 Lincoln St., by 1914 Seward Larnard was listed as a musician living at 417 Chemung st.
1910 class of 1909, Laura Johnson, Waverly St. - 502 Waverly St., in 1914 listed as student
1910 class of 1909, Ora King, Student Albany Normal, Fulton St. - by 1914 a teacher living at 464 Fulton St.
1910 class of 1909, Helen O'Neil, Student Rochester Business Institute, Providence St. - most likely 127 Providence St.,  by 1914 a teacher living at 21 Johnson St.
1910 class of 1909, Edward Sullivan, Broad St. - by 1914 a lawyer living at 541 Broad St.
1910 class of 1909, Gladys Wood, Pine St. - possibly 36 Pine St.
1910 class of 1909, Margaret Tew, Chemung St. - 313 Chemung St.
1910 class of 1910, Thomas B. Appleget, Park Ave.
1910 class of 1910, Thomas M. Austin, Fulton St. - possibly 505 Fulton St., by 1914 a machinist living at 433 Broad st.
1910 class of 1910, Roy L. Bruster, Chemung St. - bookkeeper for Tioga Mills, living at 155 Chemung St.
1910 class of 1910, Mabel D. Annabel, Chemung St.  
1910 class of 1910, Mabel E. Decker, Chemung St. - In 1914 living at 331 Chemung st. 
1910 class of 1910, Mildred Emerson, Waverly, R. D. - In 1914 a teacher boarding at 9 Elliot St.
1910 class of 1910, Margaret Ealsey, Chemung St.
1910 class of 1910, Hazel Johnson, Chemung St. - In 1914 a teacher living at 123 Chemung St.
1910 class of 1910, Mary J. Moyenhan, Howard St. - 138 Howard St.
1910 class of 1910, Fannie M. Nelson, Fulton St. - 497 Fulton St. 
1910 class of 1910, Raymond M. Smith, Chemung St. - clerk living at 3 N. Chemung st. in 1914
1910 class of 1910, Marjorie S. Surdam, Waverly St. - In 1914 listed as a student living at 504 Waverly St.
1910 class of 1910, Laura M. Stevens, Chemung St. - In 1914 there was Allen J. Stevens a janitor listed at 443 Chemung St.
1910 class of 1910, H. Clay Thatcher, Clark St. - 511 Clark St.
1910 class of 1910, Virginia VanAtta, Cayuta Ave. 
1910 class of 1910, Elnora Quick, Howard St. - 139 Howard St.

August 28, 1910 The Telegram (Elmira): On Old Home Week. Waverly Put A Fine Time For All. An Event Of Big Moment. The Celebration Was A Magnificent One, And Created A Most Profound Regard For The Old Town By Former Citizens - Brief, But Comprehensive Review Of The Great Events Of A Great Week. Waverly, N. Y., Aug. 27. - When the citizens of Waverly start to do anything, they do it right. This week was unquestionably the most memorable in the history of that village. It was Old Home Week, and never before did the village see such large crowds. Never before were the decorations so handsome and never before did the residents and thousands of visitors enjoy themselves more thoroughly. To say that the Old Home Week was a success would not be enough.

Whether the visitor arrived in Waverly by the steam railroad, or by trolley, he was met by members of the reception committee. The members of this committee wore badges and they were alert for all strangers. The first sight of the village dazzled the eyes, so profuse and magnificent were the decorations. Banners, American and foreign flags, bunting, festoons of red, white and blue were on every building. Arches of vari-colored electric lights spanned the streets. Many of the store window decorations could well be taken as a pattern by stores in the larger cities. The crowds were happy, and the new-comers caught the spirit. It was contagious.

The Old Home Week officially opened last Sunday with special religious services in the various churches and at the opera house. The residents and former residents were thus permitted to hear sermons by former pastors. Special singing was a feature of all these services.

On Monday the events of the week commenced by a reception which was held in the opera house. Captain Charles L. Albertson, president of the Old Home Week celebration, gave an address of welcome. Village President Tucker responded for the village. There were other prominent speakers, and an original poem written by Fred Emerson Brooks, formerly of Waverly, but now of California, was most interesting.

The Baby Parade Was A Pleaser. On Monday afternoon the babies were paraded and the little go-carts and carriages were decorated in a most handsome manner. The parade was held in the park near the high school building. Prizes were awarded to the babies as follows: First division - First prize, Harriet Adams; second, Dorothy Letts; third, Marion Cowles; fourth, Baby Hogan; fifth, Eva Sutton. Second division - First, Richard Van Duzer; second, Clifford Rockwell; third, Lang Hall; fourth, Arthur Carpenter; fifth, Harold Dewitt. Third division - First, Florence Loomis; second, Hubert Root; third, James Brooks; fourth, Eleanor Wright; fifth, Richard Robinson. The judges were: Mrs. J. C. Van Atta, Mrs. E. W. Eaton, Mrs. Harvey Ingham, Mrs. John Johnson, Mrs. C. Collins and Mrs. E. C. Brooks.

The first real big day was Tuesday. The parade of floats and automobiles in the morning was one of the finest that has ever been seen in this section of the country. The different floats which were exhibited by the business men was far in advance of the expectations of the citizens of the village. The first prize for the best decorated automobile was awarded to Arthur B. Sharpstein. George Fairchild secured the second prize in the decorated automobile class. David Caulkins had the best decorated farm rig. Coal Dealer John H. Murray carried off the prize for the best mule team. Fred Brink, of Litchfield, took first prize for the best appearing farm team and wagon. Charles Fields secured the second prize for a farm team and wagon. Mrs. Frederick Elsbree was awarded the first prize for the best appearing single rig, driven by a woman. David Caulkins won the $15 prize for the best farm float. The best matched team was driven by John Ketchum.

Handsome Floats In The Line. While the business men and manufacturers had handsome floats, no prizes were offered or awarded in this class. Among these floats one was worthy of special mention, although all were of the highest class. John H. Murray exhibited a miniature coal breaker, which was loaned for the occasion by the Scranton Coal company. The judges wished to have special mention made of the floats in the following order: Harry W. Knapp, dry goods; John H. Murray, coal dealer; F. W. Genung, coal dealer; Tioga Mill and Elevator company.

Following closely upon the industrial parade was the Forepaugh and Sells Brothers circus parade. It was with great difficulty that this parade could get through the streets, so great was the crowd. The parade was good as circus parades usually are. The crowd at the circus tent in the afternoon was a record breaker for Waverly. It is claimed that 14,000 tickets were sold. The bringing of the circus to Waverly was a clever scheme on the part of the executive committee. The circus was first booked to show at Sayre, Pa. Suddenly and unexpectedly to many the announcement was made that the circus would show at Waverly. About this time the enforcement of the Sunday "blue laws" at Sayre was commenced. Following this was the battle between the officials of the traction company and those who wished to enforce the law. When the announcement came that the circus was to show at Waverly many people in Sayre said that it was on account of the enforcement of the Sunday laws. Let these people be deceived no more. The reformers, or the anti-Sunday law people had nothing to do with the change. It was the old home week executive committee. When they learned that the circus was booked for Sayre, they immediately began to get busy, and as a result the circus showed in Waverly. The committee saw that this was an opportunity not to be missed, and they won out in their efforts. As a result thousands of people were brought to Waverly.

While it is difficult to estimate the number of people assembled in a village the size of Waverly, it can be said that there were fully 30,000 people on the streets during Tuesday. After the circus parade Broad street was literally packed from building to building from Loder street to Pennsylvania avenue. Wagons, automobiles and street cars were forced to discontinue running.

On Tuesday the veterans of the civil war held a reunion. Hundreds of old soldiers from all parts of the country were present. They were given dinner in the G. A. R. hall by the Women's Relief corps and the auxiliary to the Son of Veterans.

Tuesday evening Kramm's band played many selections about the streets of the village and then gave a concert on the midway. The large crowd was exceptionally orderly, and the police had little bother.

Wednesday Was One For Visiting. While Wednesday was a big day, the crowd was not so large as on Tuesday. The forenoon was given over to visiting and renewing old friendships. The merchants did a thriving business. At 1:30 o'clock the fraternal and civic parade was held. The fireman appeared at their best, while the different fraternal societies had handsome floats. The Redeemer Church Cadets were awarded much well deserved applause. The floats of the Odd Fellows, Eagles and Hibernians were the best ever exhibited in Waverly.

Immediately after the parade the races were held and resulted as follows: The nine mile Marathon was the most interesting of the individual running races. There were nine contestants and they ran around what is known as the belt line, a distance of three miles, three times. Thomas Holland, of Athens, Pa., completed first, time - fifty-five minutes, thirty-two seconds; Charles Capwell, of Sayre, Pa., second, time - fifty-five minutes and thirty-four seconds; Purie Capwell, of Sayre, Pa., third, time - fifty-five minutes, thirty-nine seconds. The three men who completed the race were awarded handsome silver loving cups.

Good time was made in the one hundred yard dash. Alfred Bird, of Forkstown, Pa., secured first prize, which was an elegant leather suit case, time - ten and three-fifths seconds; Earl Kitchen, of Sayre, Pa., was a close second.

It was impossible to get any fire company to race against the Waverly Hook and Ladder company in the hook and ladder race. The company gave an exciting exhibition run, covering two hundred yards in thirty and one-fifth seconds. They were awarded a handsome $10 rocker.

The hub and hub races were hard fought. The Spaulding Hose company carried off first honors by covering the distance of two hundred yards in twenty-six and one-fifth seconds. The Howard Elmer Hose company, of Sayre, Pa., was second, time - twenty-eight and one-half seconds. The Cayuta Hose company, of East Waverly, finished last, time - thirty and ond-fifth seconds. The winning company was awarded a leather upholstered oak rocker.

All roads then led to historic Spanish Hill. It was a case of walk over the hill, for it was barely possible to make the climb of several hundred feet on foot. In the valley on the south side of the hill a sham battle between Indians, who were represented by the Sayre Red Men, and General Sullivan's army, represented by the Redeemer Church Cadets, was fought. Nestled down in a corner of a large field was a small cabin. A settler's family was living in the cabin and the children were playing about the yard. An Indian was seen approaching the cabin and finally when he was near enough to be seen by the children they ran into the house.

The Battle Was A Thriller. They opened fire upon him, but he was soon reinforced by other members of his tribe. Before they were able to surround the house, one of the larger boys escaped and ran for the pasture lot, where he secured a horse, mounted it and rode away for assistance. The men were scalped and the women and children were held prisoners. The Indians then burned the cabin, and while the flames were mounting high into the air they danced about the fire and chanted a war song.

Finally the strains of "Yankee Doodle" sounded from the woods nearby and the army was seen marching towards the burning cabin. The Indians soon discovered the approaching army and the battle was on. It was truly realistic. The army had about 1,000 rounds of ammunition, while the Indians were equally qualified for the fight. General Sullivan displayed his strategy by flank movement and of the manoeuvers, which were applauded by the thousands of people assembled on the side and brow of Spanish Hill. The fighting lasted for nearly one hour, when the Indians were at last defeated and forced to retreat. The exhibition was more than pleasing. The entire battle was under the direction of Editor Fred B. Appleget, of the Waverly Free Press, and Edward S. Betowski.

On Wednesday evening, J. Alden Loring, of Owego, one of the field naturalists who accompanied Former President Roosevelt through Africa on his hunting expedition, gave a most interesting and educational lecture. Stereopticon views were used to illustrate the talk which made it all the more interesting.

On Thursday, the day was given to the present and former school children.

The Midway Had Its Sensations. The Midway, which occupied all of Elizabeth street, between Fulton and Waverly streets, was the center of attraction for thousands of people. The free exhibitions were excellent and consisted of Zingerella, who stood on a ball about two feet in diameter, and rolled this ball about forty feet to the top of a spiral. Sullivan and Peters, two Waverly boys, gave a clever aerial trapeze performance. Then there was a Ferris wheel, a merry-go-round, a "wild girl" and numerous side shows. Conspicuous on the Midway were numberless games or devices for separating the visitor from his money. Wheels of fortune, mechanical racing horses, prize packages, etc. The wheels hummed merrily, and the operators raked in the money. The "cappers" won considerable coin, but the "suckers" left theirs behind. It was noticed that the penny-in-the-slot cigar machines have been banished from the stores in Waverly, but the wheels of chance were allowed to operate on the Midway.

August 31, 1910 Ithaca Daily News: At the Hotels. Clinton House - N. C. Jeliff, J. B
Kellam, Binghamton. J. Pride, T. R. Perham, Philadelphia; D. D. Northrop, Cortland; W. Carmody, M. J. Leary, J. J. Allington, Elmira; B. S. Robinson, William C. Bennett, E.
Sciom, Allen W. Cox, D. Bryant, New York City; H. L. Kipp, A. J. Brown, H. W. Bedell, Richard Hargrave, Rochester; L. Ostrander, Auburn; E. J. Connor, Scranton; M. F. Osborne; J. W. Havens, Charles S. Kippley, Harry Backus, R. E. Kelly, A. C. Howe, Louis Halker, Syracuse; George H. Taber, Utica; H. N. Stillman, Troy; George
B. Weston, H. N. Ott, F. J. Leonard, Thomas J. Kissane, Buffalo; A. W. Baker, Freevllle; J. H. Parks, Canton, Ohio; C. A, Roberts, Windsor, N. Y.; J. H. Schillingmann, Wilkes-Barre;
F. B. Simons, Albany; J. F. Struble, Athens, Pa.; Leon S. Beckwith, M. S. Waite, Marcellus; J. W. Hartley, Detroit; J. A. Wheeler, Butte, Mont.; George J. Keeler, Cleveland; George B. Knapp, Waverly; R, C. Baldwin, Addison; H. G. Stanclift, Mt. Vernon, Iowa; W. B. Frear, Watkins.

September 2, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: An Old Waverly Society. Among the keepsakes at the Institute reunion was the record book of the "Societias Philalogo" a debating society organized in 1859 whose members were as follows: R. Alison Elmer, H. D. Jenkins, H. Payne, N. A. Lamphear, F. H. Payne, A. D. Warne, J. H. Millspaugh, Geo. S. Comstock, J. P. Bosworth, S. W. Slaughter, D. C. Delaney, Chas. H. Morgan, Hugh J. Baldwin, George E. Morgan, Chas. W. Bower, Waverly; A. Buck, Guy Wyncoop, Seth E. Holley, Martin T. Rogers, Nathaniel C. Rogers, Chemung; M. V. D. Sweetlove, Spencer; Walter C. Hull, Ellicottville; J. E. Bristol, Coventry; A. Y. Hubbell, North Barton; Wm. G. Tenbrook, Factoryville; Levi Morse, Litchfield, Pa.; A. Canfield, Smithboro; Rushton Smith, Factoryville; Francis H. Olmstead, Milltown. Most of these have passed to the great beyond but their wives, children and grandchildren are among our best known residents. The constitution contains many humorous sections among these the 5th which reads as follows: "The tellers shall keep the room occupied by the Society, in order-ie-see that it shall be kept swept, lighted and properly warmed, and shall also collect the votes and hand them to the secretary, who shall count the same. The by-laws state that the society shall meet each Friday eve at 6:45 p. m. (A somewhat early hour for these days). "The initiation fee shall be 12 cents" and "weekly dues three cents." The first meeting was held November 18th, 1859, and the following officers chosen: President, H. Payne; Vice President, J. Bosworth; Secretary, James Millspaugh; Treasurer, Guy Wyncoop; Teller, N. Lamphear. The subject chosen for the first debate was - Resolved, That the acquisition of Cuba to the United States would prove beneficial to the latter country." The decision was in favor of the affirmative. In January, 1860, a committee was appointed to act with a committee of citizens regarding a course of lectures to be given in Davis Hall. These were held during the winter and the following speakers were heard: Rev. Thomas K. Beecher of Elmira, William H. Bartlett, Hon. Nathan Bristol, Waverly; Hon. Wm. Shepard of SanFrancisco, Cal., Gabriel Smith of Elmira. March 23rd, 1860, the Society gave an "Exhibition" in Davis Hall, no complete program is given but the Secretary at that time - Chas. H. Morgan - in flowery language writes the minutes as follows: "At 7 1/2 o'clock Mr. Elmer (R. A.) the stage manager, made some introductory remarks which were very appropriate, reminding the audience of the feasts of literature they had listened to from eminent men and now had been invited to an exhibition of the society consisting of declamations, dialogues, tableaux, etc. Everything prospered in fine order and the exhibition was pronounced by all to be no secondary affair. The part of the exhibition performed by the ladies was a perfect success they being under the superintendance of Miss Green. The members of the Society Phil are very much indebted to the ladies for their assistance, and to Miss Green for her instructions. The Hall was crowded to its utmost capacity even down to the front of the stage. At eleven and a half o'clock the members of the Soc. Phil, retired to their respective homes to refresh themselves in the arms of Morpheous." At a meeting held Friday, April 12th, 1860, it was Resolved: "That the Literary Society known as the Soc. Phil. disband; that the business for the coming exhibition be kept entirely with the committee; that the meeting this evening be the last regular one, but there be a meeting held the 25th of April at 9 a. m. , when the books, viz: Treas. and Secy., and the lamps, etc., belonging to the Society be sold at auction to the highest bidder. ... and finally that after the aforesaid meeting be held the Soc. Phil. shall exist only in the memories of its members." Thus ends the history of one of the Institute societies and an interesting bit of local history. The names of the members are representative ones many of the minutes are in writing of Walter C. Hull, after whom our G. A. R. Post is named. Nine of its twenty-one members served in the Civil War and several died in southern prisons. Since that time others have been called home until only seven are now living. Most of the members however settled here and here are living their descendants.

September 16, 1910 The Waverly Free Press: Miss Dorothy Atwater of Park Place entertained at a luncheon Saturday which was one of the prettiest of the season. Covers were laid for twelve and the decorations were green and white. Following the repast, bridge was played by the guests, among whom were the Misses Mary Blood, Alice Westfall, Margaret Tew, Elizabeth and Agnes Moore, Gertrude Slaughter, Alice Lang, Dorothy Crandall, Georgia Duhig, Fresno, Dal, Catherine Bryam, Boston, Ethel Kinsmen, Oswego.  Atwater's lived at 112 Park Place.

Mrs. Haggerty and Miss Florence Mapes of Goshen are guests of Mrs. S. W. Slaughter and daughter, Miss Gertrude.

Miss Gertrude Slaughter entertained Monday evening for her guest, Miss Florence Mapes. Bridge and 500 occupied the early part of the evening and Miss Mapes and Miss Duhig gave a number of piano and vocal numbers. Among the guests were the Misses Hazel (123 Chemung St.) and Laura Johnson (502 Waverly St.), Alice Lang (202 Chemung St), Dorothy Atwater (112 Park Place), Georgia Duhig (NYC), Elizabeth and Agnes Moore (431 Park Ave), Alice Westfall (413 Cayuta Ave), Dorothy Crandall (106 1/2 Park Place), Miss Mapes of Goshen, Miss Bryan of Boston. Messrs. Edwin Grafft (452 Cayuta Ave.), Thomas Appleget (Thomas Applegate at 426 Park Ave. Couldn't find any Appleget's), Robert Johnson, Hernard Nelson, George Tilton (14 Tioga St.), Harold Sawyer (416 Chemung St.), Clay Thatcher (511 Clark St.), Lester Merrill (boarding at 425 Fulton St.), Earl Albertson (111 Park Place), Fletcher Wynkoop, Chemung (working as farm laborer on his Dad's farm): Raymond Palmer, Brooklyn.

September 23, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: David W. Lougher of Waverly has received the contract for re-decorating the Catholic church at LaPort, Pa., and left for that place with his men Monday.

September 30, 1910 Elmira Star-Gazette: D. A. R. Chapter Luncheon. At the annual luncheon of Chemung Chapter D. A. R. held yesterday in the Federation Building about 75 of the ladies were present and enjoyed the five course luncheon. Mrs. Louise Park gave a program of beautiful harp selections during the afternoon and Dr. Vida Moore of Elmira College, the first vice regent of the Chapter presided. ... The following guests were present: Mrs. Frank C. Payne of Corning, Mrs. George Farley of Rerlands, Cal., Miss Frances Lewis of Wellsville, E. L. Roys of Goshen, Mrs. S. W. Slaughter of Waverly, Miss Newton of Chicago, Miss Marie Thomas of Ithaca.

October 14, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Estimable Young Man Dead. William H. Adams died at 11:30 Sunday night at home of his parents, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph W. Adams, at 441 Fulton street. Death was caused by a complication of diseases, in which kidney troubles predominated, and occurred after a lingering illness. Mr. Adams was first taken sick in June, but recovered so as to be able to go to work again. However, he was again stricken down on August 3rd, since which time he has steadily grown worse. Several weeks ago he was taken to Cambridge Springs for treatment, but his case baffled the skill of the physicians there, as it had here, and it has been known for some time that his recovery was impossible. Mr. Adams was twenty-three years of age and besides his parents is survived by one sister Mrs. M. L. Beebe, of New York, and his grandmother, Mrs. George B. Witter. For a number of years he has been employed as bookkeeper in the Tioga Steam Laundry, of which Mrs. Witter is proprietor, and was known as an industrious and conscientous young business man. Few young men in Waverly were more respected and although of a quiet and unassuming disposition, he had many friends who admired his many sterling qualities of head and heart. He was a steward and usher in the Methodist Episcopal church and an officer in it Sunday school, and will be much missed in these organizations as one of their most faithful and efficient members. In the death of Mr. Adams the community loses a fine type of Christian manhood and many friends will mourn a gentle, kindly and helpful companion. The funeral was held on Wednesday afternoon. The Rev. Robert L. Clark, pastor of the Waverly Methodist Episcopal Church, officiated and in his sermon paid a fine tribute to the high character of the deceased. The floral tokens were remarkably numerous and beautiful, especially noticable among them being a large bunch of white roses given by his boy friends. The pallbearers were Robert Johnson, George Tilton, George Knapp, Thomas B. Appleget, Bernard Nelson and Robert Fish. Interment was made in Glenwood cemetery. Among those here from out of town to attend the funeral were: Hon. D. P. Witter, Mrs. F. A. Witter, Mrs. S. S. Dewitt, Mr. and Mrs. H. Thuillard and Lewis Morton, Berkshire; Mr. and Mrs. F. W. Witter, Newark Valley.

October 21, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Wellsburg. Mr. and Mrs. Henry Spear of Lockwood, spent Sunday with Mrs. Spear's sister, Mrs. Wm. Hillman. (Spear's rented 1/2 of the octagon home at 7 Athens street in 1920's)

Country Road Signboards. Town Board is Preparing to Have all the Principal Cross Roads Marked with Iron Signs. Will Be Welcomed By Travelers. About 150 Signs will be Erected on all Roads Leading to Villages About This Section. At a recent meeting of the Town Board, a committee was appointed to procure and erect signboards throughout the town for benefit of automobilists and other travelers. It consists of Justice C. O. Hoagland, Superintendent of Roads P. B. Johnson and Harry Ellis, the later representing the automobilists of the town. They have already made several trips through the country, mapping out the roads and designating the locations of the signs, and in a short time will order them from the manufacturer. It is proposed to put them up at every cross-road. They will show the distance to Waverly and for travelers going the other way the distance to nearby towns, Lockwood, VanEtten, Spencer, Halsey Valley, Barton, Sulphur Springs, Owego, Elmira, Chemung, etc. In the village they will be placed at the corner of North Chemung and Chemung, at the corner of Cayuta and Chemung and at the corner of Cayuta and North Chemung, and elsewhere. Through the entire town probably 150 signs will be erected. They are made of porcelain-enameled iron, blue in color with white letters and are of varying sizes, according to the number of names they contain, and are guaranteed not to scale, fade or tarnish in ten years. The work is a good one and will be much appreciated by automobilists and a distinct benefit to Waverly and the other villages of the town. It is suggested too that it would be an excellent idea for the village trustees to co-operate with the town board in the work and order street signs at the same time. They have contemplated putting them up for some time and by ordering with the town board could undoubtely save money by buying a large quantity.

Crowds Attend Hooks Fair. Biggest Thing of the Kind Ever Pulled Off in Waverly. Scene At Night Brilliant Spectacle. The Great Floor of the New Silk Mill is Surrounded by Booths and Merchants Make Fine Display. They're off. The Hooks started their big fair in the new silk mill on E. Broad St. Tuesday night and they did it with the snap and energy and sureness of success with which they run a race or start for a fire. The fair is a winner. The fact that the mill is quite a walk down Broad street from the center of town did not seem to interfere at all with the attendance and from seven o'clock to late in the evening there was a steady procession to the place. When one enters the big room he is disappointed at the size of the crowd, but a glance around shows that this is due to the immensity of the building, the floor being so large that with a thousand people present there would be over ten square feet of space for each. At no time Tuesday night was the place crowded, but the total paid admissions were close to 700. The doors were opened at seven o'clock and about eight o'clock the formal address of welcome was made by Assemblyman Frank L. Howard. He briefly reviewed the history of Waverly Hook and Ladder Co. and recounted a number of their victories and achievements, paying a high tribute to the efficiency not only of the Hooks but of all of Waverly's fire companies. He said that the boys liked to put up a good appearance and wanted uniforms and urged everyone to be liberal with a company that had done so much for the town without compensation. Everyone evidently took his advice, for from that time on the various booths were kept busy and the jingling of dimes and nickels was almost loud enough to drown the excellent music of the Waverly Band. There are plenty of chances for investment at the fair and it is a "tight wad" indeed who can resist the big bargains offered everywhere, the alluring smiles of the ladies in charge of the booths or the more strenuous efforts of the Hooks venders. One of the most difficult places to get by is the candy booth near the door, which is filled with sweet things and is one of the busiest places in the room. It is in charge of Misses Alberta Hern, Hazel Bell and Harriet Schoonmaker and Mrs. E. S. Coleman. On the right alternate the Hooks' booths and the displays of various merchants, all prettily decorated and all well filled with attractive articles. The kimona booth is in charge of Mrs. Frank Parmenter, Mrs. Lloyd Hedges, Mrs. John Whitley and Mrs. Wm. Everett. Next is a fine assortment of gentlemen's furnishings in charge of Charles Lewis. Highly attractive to the chidren especially is a doll booth in charge of Mrs. A. McKarrow, Mrs. Fred Thomas, Mrs. Fred Hess and Miss Flora McKarrow, and next door Unger & Ellis have a fine display of clothing. A comfortable place is the quilt booth in charge of Miss Hazel Parmenter, Mrs. Hattie Austin and Mrs. Charles Lewis and offers a splendid chance to prepare for cold winter nights at a reasonable cost. Mrs. Maud Wallaver has charge of the sale of flowers and potted plants and the apron booth, which did a big business all the evening, is in care of Mrs. Mary Thomas. Mrs. Frank Pittsley, Mrs. Fred Tucker, Mrs. Archie Kelsey, Mrs. Charles Gunderman and Miss May Hyatt offer rare bargains in the fancy goods department. G. L. Drake, assisted by Lena Crawford, shows and attractive exhibit of photographs, next to which is the Hooks' art gallery, conspicuous in which is D. W. Lougher's painting of a caged tiger, an excellent piece of realistic work. Next comes J. S. Hull & Son's displays of groceries and next to that a finely furnished bed-room, the exhibit of J. W. Knapp & Son. Arthur Gay and Fred Hess dispense Ice cream cones and moxie with a liberal hand next door and the Tioga Milling Co. ends the line with its display of poultry grain. This is by no means the extent of the fair, however, for in the corner Gould Tuthill, Ed. Beardslee and Harry Parmenter run the biggest kind of a grocery store, where you can buy anything from a box of matches to a ham. McGlenn & Co. occupy the end of the room with an attractive display of clothing and an electric sign. On the west side of the room is (Continued on Second Page.)

October 28, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Cows for Sale - Fine choice fall cows, all young and heavy milkers. Also double knife corn cutter and light democrat wagon. Inquire Geo. B. Knapp, Waverly. (Married Gertrude Slaughter in 1915)

October 28, 1910 Waverly Free Press: Geo. B. Knapp, who for two years, past has been serving milk each day to a large number of customers in this village, has this week sold his milk route to the Waverly Creamery Co., and will sell his cows.

November 4, 1910 Waverly Free Press: Contractor L. F. Lyford began Friday the work of erecting the new balcony at the city hall. Workmen are now removing the brick and digging holes in the pavement at the curb for the concrete foundations on which the supporting pillars will rest.

Dancing Class. Miss Virginia VanAtta opens her school for dancing, Saturday, Nov. 5, at 2 o'clock, at Masonic Temple. Special attention given to small children.

Desirable Real Estate at Auction. James P. Campbell, administrator of the estate of the late Thomas Paul will sell at public auction, at Keystone Park, Sayre, Friday, Nov. 11, commencing at 10 o'clock the following pieces of real estate: The home farm, adjoining Keystone Park containing ten acres of land, with dwelling and several other buildings, Keystone Park, adjoining the homestead, containing about three acres. Five acres of garden land on Pennsylvania avenue Sayre. Twelve houses in South Waverly and Sayre. Coal yard at Lehigh crossing near Springs Corners. Several building lots in Sayre and Athens. A quantity of lumber and other personal property.

David Lougher, the decorator with two assistants, left last Monday for Jersey Shore, Pa., where he has the contract for decorating the Catholic cathedral at that place. He expects the work to take about two months.

Mrs. Dell Talcott and Mrs. Vandermark of Richard, are guests at the home of Mrs. C. Brink, Athens street. ( 6 Athens st., later, her son buys 8 Athens. st.)

November 25, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: The condition of Mrs. Caroline Buck, who has for several weeks been ill at the home of her son, Capt. Charles L. Albertson, remains unchanged.

Mr. and Mrs. George Moffett of VanCouver, British Columbia are guests of the former's father, Gabriel Evans of Athens street. (7 Athens st. octagon home owned by Charlotte Slaughter at 208 Chemung st. Waverly, NY)

Mrs. Arminda Evans is home from a months visit with her sister at Penn Yan.

Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Knapp, Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Knapp Jr. and family, Mrs. and Mrs. H. W. Knapp and family and George Knapp spent Thanksgiving with Dr. and Mrs. H. L. Lockerby, at Ithaca.

Louis Lang of Brooklyn arrived in town today on a visit to his mother, Mrs. A. J. Lang, who is seriously ill.

December 16, 1910 "Waverly Free Press": Little Boy Recovering. Mrs. Gabriel Evans has now returned to her home in this village, after a long sojourn in Ithaca. Mrs. Evans has been in Ithaca all this time to assist in the care of her young son, Henry, whom, it will be remembered, was so terribly burned in the yard of his home on Athens street about a year and a half ago, while putting gasoline on a little fire he had built. The flesh was burned on the boy's back and sides and he was at once hurried to the Packer Hospital at Sayre. After some weeks he was returned to his home and later taken for treatment at the Ithaca hospital. The first attempt at skin grafting proved unsuccessful, but the surgeons and the mother have persevered and many friends and sympathizers here now rejoice to know that the boy is gaining nicely and it is hoped he will be able to return home by Christmas.

December 18, 1910 The Telegram, Elmira, N.Y.: HON. J. T. SAWYER. Death of One of the Most Eminent Citizens of Waverly, N. Y. Waverly, N .Y., Dec. 17 - At 9 o'clock yesterday morning the career of one of Waverly's most prominent citizen's came to a close when Hon. J. Theodore Sawyer died at his home on Chemung street, after an illness of six weeks of neuralgia. His condition was not considered dangerous until last Wednesday when he suffered an attack of apoplexy. During the last few days of his life he had been conscious only part of the time. He gradually grew weaker until yesterday morning when the end came. The deceased was born on Talmadge hill, October 8, 1834. He received his early education in the district school, finishing his schooling in Farmer's Hall academy, at Goshen, N. Y., after which he became engaged in the lumbering business, having large interests in Canada. He also owned a large planing mill and door and sash factory on Pennsylvania avenue. In the early sixties he became engaged in the banking business with his father and others. In 1875 he organized and established the Citizen's bank and was made its president, which office he has held until his death. He was a member of the committee which organized the present New York State Banker's association. It was chiefly through his efforts that the Waverly water company was organized in 1877. He has been president and treasurer of this organization since its organization. Mr. Sawyer was for many years interested in politics, having served in many political offices of the village, town and county. In 1878 he was sent to the assembly from this county and served as chairman of that body at the first session held in the new capitol building. He was an active member of the First Baptist church and this institution received many liberal gifts and much financial assistance from him. He was always a liberal giver to charities and was loved by a multitude of friends. In the death of Mr. Sawyer, Waverly loses one of its most highly respected citizens and most prosperous business men and his death casts a gloom over the entire community. The funeral will be held at the late home Monday afternoon at 3:30 o'clock. Rev. George A. Briggs, of Buffalo, will officiate, assisted by Rev. Miles. His mansion was on the site of 329 Chemung St. It was taken down to build the current home that is there now, which was built in 1921.

December 20, 1910 Elmira Star-Gazette: Sawyer Funeral Largely Attended. Long, Active Life Was Devoted to Upbuilding of Village and Many Gather to Pay Last Tribute of Respect. Waverl, Dec. 20 - Many sorrowing friends gathered at the spacious Sawyer mansion yesterday afternoon to attend the funeral of the late J. Theodore Sawyer. Waverly has suffered a severe loss and will greatly miss Mr. Sawyer's counsel in business and municipal matters; many individuals and organizations will miss his assistance in a financial way. He was a man of many charitable acts but always observed the maxim of "Let not your left hand know what your right hand doeth," and very seldom his liberality was known. The Rev. George A. Briggs of Buffalo formerly pastor of Waverly Baptist Church, had charge of yesterday's funeral service and was assisted by Rev. J. E. Miles, the present pastor, who offered prayer. A quartet consisting of Mrs. Blackmore, Miss Wilcox and Messrs. Kinney and Harris sang two appropriate selections beautifully. Mr. Sawyer was a member of Newtown Chapter, Sons of American Revolution of Elmira, and the following members of the society attended the funeral: President, William H. Lovell; past president, Henry C. Hoffman; chaplain, The Rev. Charles H. McKnight, and Phillip G. Sawyer. The honorary bearers were: Dr. William E. Johnson, J. B. Floyd, Henry G. Merriam, Gilbert E. Foote, William C. Buck, Theodore Mills, A. J. Van Atta, C. F. Spencer. The active bearers were: James Owen, John C. Van Atta, G. E. Hawkes, John H. Murray, Louis J. Buley, Harold Watrous, F. W. Merriam, Frederick E. Lyford. The interment was in the Forest Home Cemetery.

December 23, 1910 "Waverly Free Press": Miss Gertrude Slaughter, of the Emma Willard School at Troy, is home for the Christmas vacation.

There will be matinees on Monday, Wednesday and Saturday at 2:30. Prices will be as follows: Gallery, five cents; Three rows in Balcony, ten cents; whole orchestra floor, ten cents. There will be two performances every evening; the first at 7:30 and the second at 9:00; but the people can come in at any time and stay as long as they wish. You will be able to see at the Loomis, beginning with Monday, exactly the same performance that you could see at the Happy Hour Theatre in Elmira. Vaudeville will change Monday and Thursday of each week.

Dances Next Week. Among the social events scheduled for next week are the following dancing parties. On Tuesday evening, the Delta Theta Delta young ladies will give a large party at Masonic Hall. A number of well known ladies will be the patronesses and a Towanda orchestra of nine pieces will furnish the music.

Our Leading Citizen Dead. ... Hon. J. T. Sawyer died at nine o'clock a.m. Friday at his home on Chemung street. He was taken ill some six weeks ago, the first illness being due to neuralgia. From this he recovered so that about a week later he was able to get out doors for a couple of days. He then had a relapse and, as the neuralgia manifested itself about the heart, the patient was during severe attacks of the disease, in a critical condition at times. However, his condition improved somewhat until Wednesday, Dec. 7, when he suffered a shock of apoplexy which left the larger part of his body paralized, though for a time he was conscious and able to talk with those about him, but from that time he gradually failed until the end came. (329 Chemung St. His mansion was torn down in 1921 to build the current home.)

Joseph Theodore Sawyer was born Oct. 8, 1834, in the town of Barton, on what is now called Talmadge Hill, a son of John L. and Julia Smith Sawyer. The father, John L. Sawyer, with his brothers, Benjamin and Samuel, coming to this section from Orange county, were with the Ellises, Hannas and Talmages, the first settlers of what is now known as the town of Barton. As is usually the case, these early settlers, in selecting their farms, chose the hill lands rather than those of the more fertile valleys, because of the much better timber on the hills.

Theodore Sawyer obtained his education at the district school of the day, with two years at the Farmers' Hall Academy, at Goshen, Orange county, N. Y., and his early manhood was taken up with clearing the lands and lumbering in this vicinity. Later, with his father, he purchased large lumber interests in Canada and owned and operated a large planing mill and door and sash factory at the corner of Pennsylvania avenue and Erie street, in this village. He was also among those who were interested in the development of the oil territory at Pit Hole, in the Bradford district of Pennsylvania.

In the sixties, in company with his father and TenEyek Depuy, he established the banking house of J. T. Sawyer & Co., the banking office being situated in the store at the corner of Broad and Fulton streets, now occupied by H. M. Ferguson & Co., which business was sold about 1870, because of the ill health of Mr. Sawyer. In 1874, after returning from a trip abroad, he organized and established the Citizens Bank, becoming its President, which office he has continued to hold since that time, and in this, which has been his principal work for thirty-six years, he has built up one of the most solid and substantial institutions of its class in the State. Among the bankers of the State, he has always been held in high esteem and was a member of the committee which organized the present New York State Bankers' Association.

However, Mr. Sawyer has also been interested in other local enterprises, the most prominent of which is probably the Waverly Water Works Company. In the seventies, he was one of those who most keenly felt the need of a system of water works for this growing village and for a long time, both in public meetings and in private conversation, urged that the municipality should take hold of the matter and construct such a system, but, as a majority of those in control of the village declined to take up the matter, he, with others, organized, in 1877, the Waverly Water Works Company, of which company he has been the President and Treasurer since its organization. The actual work of constructing the water system was not begun until August, 1880, but from that time to the present, Mr. Sawyer has given his personal attention to both the construction and operation of the system, and it was chiefly through his efforts that this has been brought to its present state of efficiency.

In other local enterprises Mr. Sawyer has also been interested and, aside from those mentioned above, he has for some time been a Director and the Treasurer of the Loomis Opera House Company and the Treasurer of the Cayuta Land Company. He was also a member of the Elmira Chapter of the Sons of the American Revolution, in which organization he was greatly interested.

For many years, Mr. Sawyer was active in the political affairs of the village, the town and the county. For several years he served as a Trustee of the Village and as its President. For a number of terms, he was Supervisor of the town of Barton as was his father before him. He was one of the original members of the Waverly Board of Education, under our present school system.

For the years, 1878 and 1879, he was the representative of Tioga County in the Assembly at Albany and served as the temporary chairman of that body at the first sesssion held in the new capitol building. Mr. Sawyer drew, introduced and got through the legislature the law changing the system of electing school trustees, so that in the larger districts, the electors vote by ballot the day after they are nominated.

A short time after Mr. Sawyer returned from the legislature he was offered the position of Superintendent of Banks of the State of New York, and was urged to take it, but he declined the offer on account of his own private business and local affairs.

At Goshen, Conn., in 1873, Mr. Sawyer married Miss Alice Lyman, who survives him, together with one daughter, Miss Ellen Lyman Sawyer.

In the death of Hon. J. T. Sawyer, Waverly loses one who has for nearly half a century been one of her most prominent business men, one who has ever been interested in the progress and development of the village and one whose honesty and integrity has never been questioned.

In charitable matters, Mr. Sawyer has always been very generous, and in many cases, the source of the benefaction has been unknown to the recipient. In church matters he has always been liberal, especially in his contributions to the Baptist Church of Waverly. When the pipe organ was installed, Mr. Sawyer told Mr. Briggs, the pastor that if there was any deficiency, he would pay it. When the church was re-decorated and re-furnished, Mr. Sawyer made the same pledge, and when sufficient funds were raised so that there was no deficiency, he told Mr. Briggs to have the church painted and send the bill to him. The same was true in doing over the parsonage and building the new porch on the same, and in work of this kind, the name of the giver was uknown except to a few intimate friends because he was always very quiet in his manner and business.

Mr. Sawyer had traveled extensively through Europe and Egypt, all over this country, including Alaska, through the West Indies, South America and Mexico. He was a great reader, and gave talks before different associations, descriptive of his travels. His great scope of knowledge and information on state and national affairs was well known to his associates. He was one of the most prominent and active men in erecting the Sullivan monumemnt, at Lowman.

It is hard to estimate the value for good of such a man in the community. His great loss will be felt, not only by his family and intimate associates, but by the entire community, for he was a man of high ideals and of the strictist integrity.

Waverly has lost one of her best citizens and one of her most respected business men.

The funeral took place from the home on Chemung street at 3:30 Monday, a large number being present.

The services were conducted by Rev. Geo. A. Briggs of Buffalo, for seven years pastor of the Waverly Baptist Church, assisted by Rev. J. E. Miles, the present pastor. In his short address Mr. Briggs spoke of Mr. Sawyer as he had known him during is residence here. He called especial attention to the great benefit Mr. Sawyer had been to this community, to his many noble qualities and referred to his willingness, though he was a man of strong mind and ways of his own, to fall in with plans of others and give generous aid in many public matters.

The singing was by a quartet composed of Mrs. Louise Blackmore, Miss Mame Wilcox, H. H. Kinney and W. T. Harris.

A large quantity of flowers, including many beautiful pieces, were sent by friends and various organizations, as evidence of their friendship and esteem, and during the hour of the funeral practically all to the business places in Waverly were closed, as were the schools of the village.

The honorary bearers selected for the occasion were Dr. W. E. Johnson, H. G. Merriam, Hon. J. B. Floyd, A. J. Van Atta, C. F. Spencer, W. C. Buck, G. E. Foot, E. W. Horton and Theo. Mills, while the active bearers were J. H. Owen, J. C. Van Atta, F. E. Hawkes, J. H. Murray, F. E. Lyford, F. W. Merriam, L. J. Buley and H. C. Watrous.

Among the friends who were here from out of town were four members of the Newtown Battle Chapter, Sons of the American Revolution of Elmira - Wm. H. Lovell, Rev. Chas. McKnight, Phillip Sawyer and Harry Hoffman. Others from Elmira were Mr. and Mrs. Charles Rappalia, Mr. and Mrs. Edward J. Steele, Mrs. Henry Spaulding, Mrs. Kate Parsons, from Rochester, Mrs. Moses Lyman, Mr. and Mrs. Moses Lyman, Jr., Charles DePuv; from Owego, John Gorman and Frank S. Truman; from Ithaca Harold M. Sawyer; from Port Jervis, Miss Eleanor Van Etten; from Homer, Mrs. Harry B. Winters; from Ridgebury, N. J. Daniel Bacon. Many of the business men from Sayre and Athens were present together with many friends from surrounding nearby towns.

George B. Knapp is getting his initiation this week as "cub" reporter for the Free Press-Record in Waverly. Any news item you wish to get in the paper George will attend to. He also has his instructions regarding those you want to keep out of the paper.

Ralph W. Knapp, son of Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Knapp arrived home yesterday from Wellington Washington, where he has just completed a job as the superintendent of construction work in the building of steel and concrete sheds over the North Pacific railway. Mr. Knapp has been in the state of Washington for over a year and expects to return there about Feb. 15th. (George Knapp's brother)

Mrs. Elvira Lyford Lang, who has been ill and gradually failing for some time, died about four o'clock Tuesday afternoon, at the home of her son, Percy L. Lang on Chemung street (202 Chemung St.), aged 76 years. In the death of Mrs. Lang Waverly loses one who has for more than half a century been closely identified with all that has tended to advance the moral, educational and religious interests of the community. Her early life was spent in the state of Maine, she being educated at the Waterville Classical Academy in that state. In the fall of 1857, she came to Waverly as the bride of Prof. Andrew Lang, who had been engaged as the first principal of the Waverly Institute, which had just been established by a stock company and was opened in November, 1857. For thirteen years, or until his death, in 1870. Prof. Lang continued at the head of the school and to him, perhaps more than to any other man in the history of this section, is due the solid foundations upon which were builded the educational interests of Waverly. In the early years of the Institute, especially during the civil war, the man at the head of the new educational institution had a hard struggle, but he persevered and succeeded in establishing a school that was a most prominent one in its day and one of which the people of Waverly will always speak with pride. In all his work Prof. Lang was ably seconded and assisted by his young wife, and, being a talented musician, for 51 terms she had charge of the Department of Music in the Institute. In all this work Mrs. Lang made for herself a warm place in the hearts, not only of the pupils, but of the people of Waverly generally, and, as the years have gone by since, the feeling of respect for her and the appreciation of her many noble qualitites, as a teacher, as a wife, a mother and one of the foremost citizens of the village, have increased year by year, and a large number of the people of the village will feel her death as a personal loss. In the Presbyterian church, in the W. C. T. U., in the musical organizations and all matters of general public welfare she has always been very active. In the orgainzation of the Institute Association, two years ago, and in the work of getting together the names and addresses of the former pupils, she took an important part and wrote many letters and accomplished a work such as few others were able to. Mrs. Lang is survived by two sons, Percy L. Lang of this village, and Louis Lang who has for some years held a prominent position on the New York American, also by two brothers and two sisters - Frederick E. and James M. Lyford of this village, Mrs. Maria Thomas of Brooklyn, N. Y., and Mrs. Walter Campbell of SanFrancisco. The funeral of Mrs. Lang was held at the home of Mr. Percy L. Lang at 2:30 yesterday afternoon the Rev. Parke Richards officiating and interment was in Glenwood cemetery. The pallbearers were Percy L. Lang, Louis Lang, Fred E. Lyford, Munroe Lyford, Charlie and Percy Lyford. The services were largely attended by the many friends of the deceased.

December 30, 1910 Waverly Free Press: Dr. and Mrs. Walter Lockerby of Ithaca will spend Christmas with Mr. and Mrs. Harry Knapp, on Waverly street. (Gertrude Slaughter's future brother-in-law when she marries George B. Knapp in 1915.) (The former Knapp house is said to be at 455 Waverly Street.)

The girls of the Delta Theta Delta society entertained their gentlemen friends at an enjoyable dance Tuesday evening in Masonic hall. The hall was prettily decorated with evergreen and ground pine and presented a most attractive appearance. Walker's orchestra of Towanda furnished delightful music for thirty couples that were present. Delicious refreshments were served.

Henry Evans, who was so badly burned over a year ago and has been at the Ithaca hospital for treatment for so long, was able to return to his home here Saturday. He stood the journey well, and as all the skin grafting is now completed and healing nicely, he will not have to return to the hospital. (7 Athens Street Waverly, NY, living in Slaughter's Octagonal Rental home)

January 3, 1911 Auburn Citizen : Fire At Waverly. Unoccupied Hotel Destroyed - Work of a Fire Bug. Waverly, Jan. 3 - The business section of this town was threatened with destruction for several hours this morning by an incendiary fire which destroyed the Tioga hotel. The fire started shortly after midnight. Help was summoned from Sayre, Pa., a few miles away, and the entire fire department of that town responded. With its assistance the fire was finally gotten under control. The hotel was unoccupied, having been closed about two weeks ago.

January 6, 1911 "Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Will of Joseph Theodore Sawyer. The following is a copy of the last will and testament of the late Joseph Theodore Sawyer, filed in the Surrogate's office: First, I give and bequeath to my wife, Alice L. Sawyer, $20,000 to be paid to her one year from my death, which said legacy given to my wife as aforesaid, I hereby declare is intended to be given to her in full satisfaction, and of, and for, her dower and thirds which she may or can in any wise claim demand out of my estate. Second, I give and devise to my wife and daughter, Ellen L. Sawyer, during their joint lives the use of my homestead, No. 329 Chemung street, Waverly, N. Y., with the furniture therein and the lands thereto adjoining. Third, I give and bequeath to the First Baptist church of Waverly, N. Y., $3,000, to be paid one year after my death. Fourth, I give and bequeath to Fred A. Sawyer $1,000 in trust, nevertheless, for his son, Harold Sawyer, the same to be kept invested and with its income paid to said Harold Sawyer when he becomes 21 years of age. Fifth, I give and bequeath to Louis J. Buley $1,000, in trust, nevertheless, for his son, Theodore S. Buley the same to be kept invested, and with the income paid to the said Theodore S. Buley when he becomes 21 years of age. If said Theodore S. Buley should die before attaining the age of 21 years, the same to go to Louis J. Buley. Sixth, I give and bequeath to Fred A. Sawyer $3,000, to be paid him one year from my death. The same said sum, so given, is intended as a compensation to him for assistance he will give my executor in caring for my estate. Seventh, I give devise and bequeath all the rest of my estate, real, personal and mixed, to my daughter, Ellen L. Sawyer, in fee. Eighth, I hereby nominate and appoint my daughter, Ellen L. Sawyer, sole executrix of this my last will. In witness whereof I, the said Joseph Theodore Sawyer, have hereunto set my hand and seal this 27th day of March, 1908. Witness, John C. VanAtta and E. H. VanAtta.

February. 3, 1911 "Waverly Free Press":... Nov. 3 Missionary Work in Lumber and Mining Camps, Mrs. F. W. Merriam, Mrs. S. W. Slaughter....

February 10, 1911 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Married at Elmira. An Elmira wedding of special interest to Waverly people was that of Miss Claribel Merrill, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. C. S. Merrill, formerly of this place, and Frederick E. Kingsbury, which took place at the home of the bride Monday evening. The ceremony was performed by the Rev. R. Lew Williams, and Miss Hazel Bell of this place and Lester Merrill were the attendants. The bride who was given away by her father was gowned in white chiffon messalline, trimmed with pearl trimmings and eider down, made entrain, and her veil was fastened with orange blossoms and lillies of the valley. She carried a shower bouquet of roses. Miss Bell's gown was of embroidered chiffon over blue silk and her bouquet was of pink roses. The house was elaborately trimmed with ropes of laurel, carnations, roses and sweet-peas and Mrs. Markham and Miss Reidy catered. Mr. and Mrs. Kingsbury left on a trip over the Lackawanna for New York city and will make their home at Elmira. Almost forty guests were present, among whom were Mrs. Ellsworth Gamble, Mrs. Rich, Mildred Case, Beatrice Lane, Hazel Bell, Joseph Robinson and George Knapp of this place, and Florence Grumme of Sayre.

February 17, 1911 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Waverly Couple Celebrated an Anniversary which Comes to but Few People. Married Sixty-one Years. Mr. and Mrs. Azariah Van Atta of Pennsylvania avenue, celebrated their 61st wedding anniversary Sunday, but on account of the poor health of the latter, no formal celebration was held. Mr. Van Atta, who is 83 years of age, was born near Barton, and Mrs. Van Atta was a native of Berkshire, Vermont. They were married at South Danby and immediately came here, and have witnessed the growth of Waverly from a few farm houses to the present village. Mr. Van Atta has been closely associated with the business interests; first as a contractor, when he built some of our churches and finest homes; and from 1880 until a year ago has been superintendent of the water works. The married life of this aged couple has been an ideal one and they have the congratulations of the entire community. 441 Pennsylvania Ave. (Azariah VanAtta re-built our home in 1873.)

E. Minor Payne, one of our earliest prominent business men, passed away in Brooklyn, Monday, February 13, after a short illness. His father, Hiram Payne, moved his family to this place in 1854 and he and his sons were identified with the business interests of the village. For years they conducted a large store in the Shepard block, now occupied by the Tioga Steam Laundry, but some time ago the deceased left here to become manager of the New York house of E. J. Heraty & Co., and took up his residence in Brooklyn. During this time however the family came here each summer occupying their home at the corner of Chemung and Athens streets, thus keeping in touch with their early friends. Mrs. Payne died here about five years ago and since that time Mr. Payne has made his home with his daughter in Brooklyn. He was 73 years of age and is survived by the following children: Mrs. F. S. Benedict, Miss Charlotte Payne and George Payne of Brooklyn and Edward Payne of Sayre. The remains were brought here yesterday morning and a short service was held at Glenwood conducted by the Rev. Parke Richards of the Presbyterian church. (300 Chemung Street- Hiram Payne house)

March 3, 1911 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Waverly And Its Advantages. Address of Wm. C. Buck, Delivered at the Business Men's Banquet, Last Week. For the Business Men's Banquet, last week Wm. C. Buck, station agent of the Erie railroad at Waverly, was assigned the subject of "Glittering Generalities" and the address was so filled with matters of interest to Waverly that we give below the principal parts of it: Mr. Toastmaster and Gentlemen of the Buiness Men's Association and Honored Guests: Your genial and efficient toastmaster called on me to give a three and one-half minute talk on glittering generalities, which means anything general, not specific; call it what you pleases I am going to say a few words, and will first treat of the railroads, and tell you of their worth to our village and Valley. It has been said, and I fully concur, that when a man works for a railroad corporation ten years, he is then unfitted for any other occupation, and if for fifteen years with a railroad he is unfitted even for that. I have served my ten years four fold, and yet I think I know of many benefits to be derived from our railroads by the shipping and traveling public. I, at times, think they do not appreciate their worth. Would you believe gentlemen, that these same railroads, about whom we hear at times many complaints, pay out each month at Waverly and Sayre large sums of money. It seems incredible, yet true that $1,500,000 was disbursed at Sayre and Waverly during the year ending January 31st. This may cause some of the business men to stop, look and listen, but these figures are substantially correct and shows to your Association the value of railroads to this Valley. Speaking of shipping facilities, I think I know what is necessary, and yet I cannot call to mind a village with any better than that of our own Waverly. You reach the east, the west, the north and the south with fair rates and prompt service, and that is all any village may or can do. Then has it ever occurred to you, have you ever given a thought to the trolley system right at our door? Service to Sayre and Athens every 10 minutes for 17 hours a day and all night, after 12 o'clock, every hour. Do you know, can you tell me of a village that can boast of better service? I think not. Has it ever occurred to you that right at our door you can take a car every hour going to Elmira and return every hour from 6 a.m. till 11 p.m. and the service has been and no doubt will be during the summer months, every 30 minutes. Do you know of a village or even a city, that can boast of any such service? So there is nothing to complain of, nothing that we can ask for, that I can see, that would improve our shipping and traveling facilities in and out of Waverly. Then we have in the village of Waverly, the best water system of any village in the state, for which we feel justly proud. It has taken years to bring this to perfection, and the question now being agitated as to who shall own it, matters not, you cannot destroy the water system, which is the best in the land. Another matter I want to call your attention to. Have any of you gentlemen stopped to think, do you know, what we have in the way of wholesale grocery houses? When I first came to Waverly I could at once see that it was a desirable place for a wholesale grocery house. I went to my friend, Ray Tompkins at Elmira, who is the head of C. M. & R. Tompkins, and talked to him, but he was then in the banking business, and was not giving his personal attention to the grocery business. I then went to our friend who is now passed away, Mr. Walker, suggested it to him, but he had his hands full in his retail trade. I saw Mr. E. F. Layton of the S. Mills Ely Company of Binghamton; he came here looked it over, and we now have a wholesale grocery house, whose business has more than doubled. The we have the Tioga Mill and Elevator Co. You would be surprised if I should tell you of the number of cars of grain that are milled in transit, by this and other firms in Waverly. The East Waverly Milling Co. has the milling and transit arrangement, and I regret to say are making carload after carload of corn flakes, which is used in the manufacture of (Concluded from 12th Page.)

March 3, 1911 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Waverly And Its Advantages. (Continued from First Page.) beer. When I was a young man and drank beer, they told me that beer was made from malt and hops, but now I believe they use everything but hops. We have Personius & Son. Yes you would be surprised to know the number of cars this firm handles, built up by D. V. Personius, and ably carried on by his son, Mr. William Personius. We have the Hall & Lyon Furniture Co., who manufacture furniture which used to be the cheap cottage variety but I understand now they are the rivals of Grand Rapids, where the best is made. We have the A. H. Thomas Paint Co., and the Matress works under the management of my young friend, Mr. F. W. Merriam, whose business is growing. The Lawrence-Letts Elbow Co., known throughout the west and northwest for their elbows, and who have been very successful in building up a large trade, and who have a national reputation for making the best elbow on the market. The George H. Moore Fruit Co., and the F. L. Norton Fruit Co., of whom you gentlemen can purchase the best fruit and candies on the market, and yet how many of you are purchasing these commodities from Elmira and Binghamton. E. Stein the Junk Dealer, who ships during the season two and three cars a week; the Waverly Silk Ribbon Co., who have just commenced operation and will give employment to a large number of hands. I dare say that there are members of the Association about this board who do not know the fact that we have two mitten factories here in our town, the Chemung Mitten Co., and the Spencer-Delemater Co., the latter just starting operations, and who are going to succeed. Then we have the Cudahy Packing Co., ably managed by Mr. W. H. W. Jones, who has five salesmen on the road starting from here covering the states of New York, Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Delaware and Maryland, and who have sold over one-half million dollars worth of canned meats during the past year. Then I must not forget to mention the W. H. Denslow Heating Co., who manufacture, as I am told, and I get my information from Brother Denslow, the best furnace on earth; and last, but by no manner of means least gentlemen we have the Capt. T. Mills Bottling Works where you can get the beer not made from "Corn Flakes." In connection with this milling proposition, I am going to touch upon rather a tender spot, and that is what I want to do. Generalities is what I was to talk about and I hold I have the right to say what I please. I tried to get hold of Mr. Palmer, the manager of the Tioga Milling Co., and talk with him regarding his way of ingress and egress to that mill. During the summer months I know they ford the creek; in the winter months he has to drive around back of Barton and over Talmadge Hill. He never has complained to me, but I am going to complain about their employes walking down on the Erie railroad in order to reach their plant: it is dangerous, against the law, and they ought to be arrested. Now gentlemen of the Chamber of Commerce has purchased some 29 or 30 acres of land, the exact acerage I am not able to state, in that locality; they have purchased two bridges which the Erie R. R. sold them at less than scrap rates to encourage the building of a highway, which would eliminate trespassing upon the Erie right of way, and to complete the bridges over the creeks the Lehigh Valley R. R. has consented to furnish them sand and gravel to make their concrete piers, and they ask you, I say you, because the Business Men's Association of Waverly are the proper ones, to see that your village and town officials assist in building up our business industries by opening the necessary highways therefor. That is what your Association is for. Now then why not take the bridges purchased by the Chamber of Commerce, they offer to present them to you, all they ask, as near as I can learn - I have not had the opportunity to talk with any of them of late- to extend Broad street east along the line of the Erie to the intersection of where it comes across and connects with the old stage road or what is known as the Ellistown road. With this, I believe other industries might be induced to come over on that tract. Now do not say it is too far out of town, because it is not. I don't care where the factory is located, east or west of us, it must naturally benefit Waverly. If there is any feeling regarding the Chamber of Commerce, cut it out; I repeat, cut it out. That is what this banquet and meeting is for. Bury the hatchet. Now I want to say a word regarding our Fire department. I tell you that you have one of the best, it not the best volunteer Fire Departments in the State of New York. The best organized, the best equipped. Now that is saying a great deal, but I get my information from friends outside of Waverly, some who have visited here, and others who were never in town, but know of our efficient Fire Department. So you see we have acquired a good name in one respect, if no other. If it had not been for our Fire Department, during the past few weeks, I fear that we would have had a loss that would have greatly embarrassed you members of this Board, but by their united efforts, they saved the village from partial destruction, at least. The coming summer the boys are going to have a holiday, they are going to have a convention and you gentlemen should make every effort, to show your appreciation of their good work. That is all the boys ask, and I hope there will be none but what will contribute and assist in every way possible. It is not generally known, but I want to say to you that I am an old fireman, a member of Linta Hose of Towanda. I have talked longer than I intended and I do not know of anything especially interesting that I have said, but in conclusion I want to say that we need a new name, or perhaps not a new name, but the first thing we should do is to adopt a resolution agreeing to "Get Together." We also need a little more grit. Grit makes the man. The want of it, the chump; The men who win, lay hold, Hang on and hump. To get results we must do this; some people get results if kindly encouraged, which is very commendable, but give me a Business Men's Association, that can do things, in spite of hell.

March 10, 1911Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: George Knapp spent several days this week at Newark Valley.

March 17, 1911 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Miss Nyse of Stroudsburg, Pa., is spending some time with her cousin, Mrs. S. W. Slaughter of Chemung street.

Death of George Buck. The remains of George Buck, who died last week of consumption, at Colorado Springs, Col., were brought here Sunday morning and brief services were held at Forest Home Cemetery, conducted by Rev. Charles Raynor of Grace Church at 9 o'clock. The deceased was the son of the late Josiah Buck, for many years one of our best known residents and the Erie ticket agent. He had resided at Springfield, Mass., for several years but his health failing had gone to Colorado, hoping the change would be a benefit. He is survived by his wife, mother and two brothers Howard and Frank of Springfield, Mass., all of whom were here for the interment.

March 24, 1911 "Waverly Free Press": J.W. Knapp & Son have added a millinery department of ready to wear hats, which will be in charge of the Misses Maria and Mildred Case. The same firm will soon add another department, which will contain a complete line of colonial glass.

March 31, 1911 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Fire at Riverside Farm. During Monday's storm lightning struck a large hen house on Riverside farm, about three miles east of this village and the building was totally destroyed. It was an octagon building about 50 feet in diameter, two stories high, and cost, when built by James Forsyth, in the neighborhood of $3,000. The property is owned by Mr. Berry, who came here from the west about three years ago, and was not insured. Soon after Mr. Berry purchased the property a large barn on the premises was struck by lightning and burned, together with its contents, and the year before a small building was also burned by lightning. Fortunately the building had recently been cleared of its contents, which will lessen the loss by several hundred dollars.

April 21, 1911 Waverly Free Press: For Sale or Exchange. Fine house and lot on Lyman avenue with 3 1/2 acres, 13 more acres that could be purchased or rented. House piped from a never failing spring, hot and cold water, bath, telephone and all modern improvements. Large roomy barn, sufficient to winter 10 head of cattle. Fine chicken house, 40x60. Twelve minutes walk from Broad street. Street car service within five minutes walk from house. Ideal place for poultry and dairy farm. Inquire, J. W. Knapp & Son, or George B. Knapp, Waverly, N. Y.

Tioga Chapter Meets. The April meeting of Tioga Chapter D. A. R. was held on Wednesday afternoon at the home of Mrs. J. N. Weaver in Sayre. The meeting was well attended and much interest was manifested in the subject for the day, which was ably presented in two papers the first a brief sketch by Mrs. Chas. Smith on the "Conflicting Claims of States", the second a very able and interesting paper by Mrs. Willard Murray on the "Character and Work of Timothy Pickering." Mrs. C. M. Driggs rendered two vocal solos and Mrs. Snow entertained the chapter with an original poem lauding the heroes of the Revolutionary and Civil Wars. Tea and cake were served by the hostess. The chapter is planning a Colonial Tea for the May meeting.

April 24, 1911"Waverly Free Press": WAVERLY HOSPITAL TO BE AIDED BY SOCIETY Musical Tea at the Home of Mrs. Gamble, for Which Tickets Are Selling at $1, Expected to Furnish the Ambulance Fund Waverly, April 24-An event of the utmost interest and importance in social and benevolent circles will be the Musical Tea, to be given at the home of Mrs. Ellsworth Gamble on the evening of Tuesday, April 25, at 8 o'clock. This tea will be given under the auspices of the Ladies' Auxiliary of the People's Hospital for the benefit of the ambulance fund. Tickets are on sale at $1 each, and more than 100 have been sold. The worthiness of the object alone is sufficient attraction, but a musical program of a high order has been arranged, and the guests will have the pleasure of listening to some of the best vocal and instrumental talent in this section. Several Elmira musicians will assist in the program, donating their services on this occasion, though they are numbered among the best of the paid musicians. The program will be as follows: Overture, Kramm's orchestra; soprano solos, Mrs. Wiegand, (a) "Song of the Soul" (b) "Come to the Garden, Love" (Mary Turner Salter), (c) "Ah! Love but a Day" Mrs. Beach: baritone solo, "Only In Dreams" (Dekoven), Perey Weller; Kramm's orchestra, selected: contralto solo, Miss Mary Fennell, (a), "Creole Lover's Song" (Dudley Buck); (b), "Lullaby," (Schuman-Heink): violin solos, Miles Minnie Smith, (a) Hungarian Dance (b) Berceuse (Joslyln): baritone solo, selected. Clarence Carpenter: piano solo, Rondo Brilliante, (C. N. VonWeber), Mrs. Leon Betowski; Kramm's orchestra, finale. Accompanists, Mrs. Charles Weller, Waverly; Charles X O'Brien, Elmira. The patronesses are: Mrs. F. A. Sawyer, Mrs H. C. Thatcher, Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter, Mrs. Ellsworth Gamble, Mrs. Leo Betowski, Mrs. E. Walker, Mrs. P. L. Lang of Waverly; Mrs. Albert H. Murray and Mrs. M. C. Hunter, of Sayre; Mrs. Robert E. Page, Miss Charlotte Snell and Miss Anna Snell of Athens. The People's Hospital has felt the need of an ambulance ever since it was organized about a year ago, and it is hoped that the tea on Tuesday evening will go far toward supplying the necessary amount for the purchase of one. Since the organization of the hospital to meet a long felt need, it has been a paying proposition, in spite of the fact that one-third of its work is exclusively charitable. In fact, so great has been the demand for accommodations, that the directors are talking of enlarging the place - if not at once, at least as soon as possible. (I have been told the original People's Hospital was in Sayre, 1910, and later a motel was there, and now it is a parking lot for the Packer Hospital. In 1930, the People's Hospital was in Waverly, later known as Tioga General, and was demolished in April 2011, making way for green space for Elderwoods's residents.) Dr. Ellsworth had an office at 329 Broad st. and his home at 481 Fulton St.

April 28, 1911 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: WORKING "Quiet Deals" - Many who are really interested in the welfare and progress of Waverly, and the organizations and associations that have been formed to help in the line of municipal advancement regret exceedingly the effect of the attempt to work, in the name of the Business Men's Association, a "quiet deal" like that reported in these columns two weeks ago. Though the party who reported the matter, at the meeting of the Association, had no authority from the Business Men's Association, he worked it, as he has in years past been working similar deals in other lines. In the more than a year and a half since the present organization of Waverly business men was formed, good work has been done in various lines, all matters being openly discussed and acted upon. The party to whom we referred above, has seldom attended the meeting, but as soon as he attends, seems to take for himself a prominent part having the majority of the men named under his control or interested with him. Those who were early at the March meeting of the Association, saw President Harry Knapp and Fred E. Lyford at one end of the room in earnest private consultation. When the meeting was called to order, by Mr. Knapp, the first business was the election of officers. Upon motion of F. E. Lyford, a committee was appointed by Harry Knapp to name such officers. He appointed F. E. Lyford, C. R. Rogers and C. F. Roe. They retired and in a few moments Mr. Lyford came back, and from a slip of paper nominated the officers selected as follows: Mr. Lyford named Harry Knapp, director of the First National Bank, as President of the Association; Mr. Sebring, one of the attorneys of the First National Bank, and a partner of Mr. Howard, as directors, Mr. Lyford himself and others. The slate went through without a hitch, and Mr. Lyford had really selected all of the officers and directors of the Business Men's Association for Waverly. It remains for Mr. Knapp to appoint the committees, which may be made up, so that the majority of each committee will be dominated by men from the Post Office, the "Waverly Sun," the N. P. L. and the First National Bank. Mr. Lyford, as one of the directors, took the place of an active, energetic young merchant who has done most excellent work for two holiday carnivals, also at the time of Old Home Week, and in all the meetings and work of the Association. Without really consulting any one, the number of directors was changed from fourteen to nine. We have not seen a detailed report of the receipts and expenditures of the money raised by the Business Men's Association for the last carvival at Christmans time. Some of the prizes which were awarded have not yet been paid.

May 5, 1911 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: John E. Lewis Dies Suddenly. Seldom has the community been so shocked as by the news of the sudden death of John E. Lewis, which occurred at his home on Park Place Saturday morning. Mr. Lewis, whose headquarters were at Philadelphia, usually came home to spend Sunday and following this custom arrived here about three o'clock when his sister, Miss Mary, went to call him, she thought him sleeping so well she would not arouse him, and so did not attempt to call him until 9 o'clock, when it was discovered that he had passed away. In January the deceased was ill with grippe and the coroner found that death was due to apoplexy caused by a weakened condition of the heart. John E. Lewis was the only son of Mr. and Mrs. Walter Lewis, who were among our most respected residents, and was born here 55 years ago. His first railroad work was with the Erie at this place. He commenced as telegraph messenger boy in February, 1870, at the age of 14 years. Later he had been a trusted employee of that company being promoted from time to time until he laid a fine position as accountant in the auditing department. His record as a fireman was a fine one. He was a charter member of Tioga Hose Company and the second oldest active fireman in length of service of the Waverly Fire Department. His entire life, with the exception of the past few years has been passed here, and from boyhood, he has been one of the most regular attendants of the Presbyterian church. He was a genial, whole souled man, and a host of friends not only here but along the Lehigh system, will mourn his death. His surviving relatives are two sisters, Miss Mary, of this place, and Mrs. George Adams of Geneseo, and a nephew and two nieces of the latter place. The funeral was held at the home Monday afternoon at 3 o'clock with the Rev. Parke Richards of the Presbyterian church, and the Rev. P. R. Ross, D. D., of Hornell, a former pastor officiating. The bearers were W. H. W. Jones, F. A. Sawyer, E. F. Perkins, H. C. Thatcher, L. D. Atwater and J. C. VanAtta. Interment was at Forest Home cemetery. (John and his family had lived with Dewitt and Samuel Slaughter in 1870)  117 Park Place.

Rev. P. R. Ross, of Hornell, formerly pastor of the Presbyterian church, was here Monday attending the funeral of the late John Lewis.

Mr. and Mrs. George Adams of Geneseo; Robert Holbert, of Philadelphia; John Semple, of New York, and Mr. and Mrs. T. Lewis of Towanda, were called here by the death of John E. Lewis.

Mrs. S. W. Slaughter came home Monday from a visit with her daughter, Miss Gertrude, at the Emma Willard School, Troy, N. Y.

Planning for Colonial Tea. The social committee of Tioga Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution, consisting of ladies from Sayre, Athens and this place, met at the home of the chairman Mrs. Frank A. Bell, Friday afternoon, to make arrangements for the Colonial Tea to be held at the home of Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, Chemung Street, Wednesday, May 17th.

May 12, 1911 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: D. A. R. to Have Colonial Tea. Tioga Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, will give a Colonial Tea at the home of Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, Chemung Street next Wednesday afternoon. Each member will have the privilege of inviting one friend. Among the interesting features will be the report of the Continental Congress held recently at Washington.

AD - Plumbing Perfection. You cannot exercise too much caution in the selection and specifying of your plumbing fixtures. Their construction and manner of installation is of paramount importance to you if you would have good health. The reputation of "Standard" Porcelain Enameled Ware and our own good name for high character. Let us estimate for you. Whether you are going to build or remodel, it will pay you to examine the fixtures we have on display and get our prices. P. H. Stanton 450 Waverly St. Valley Phone 520-A Waverly, N. Y.

May 19, 1911 "Waverly Free Press": HAD COLONIAL TEA. Many Members of D.A.R. Attended Pretty Social at Home of Mrs. S. W. Slaughter.
Fully 100 members and guests of Tioga Chapter, D. A. R.. attended the Colonial Tea Wednesday afternoon given at the home of Mrs. S. W. Slaughter. The officers, Mrs. J. W. Bishop, Mrs. Bert Hayden, Mrs. F. W. Merriam, Mrs. Edward Tozer, Mrs. E. B. Joachim, Mrs. G. Bonafoey. Mrs. Charles Kellog, Miss Finch and the hostess received the guests, while the entertainment committee consisting of Mrs. Bell, Mrs. John Murray, Mrs. Daniell, Mrs. Knapp, Mrs. Weaver, Mrs. Smith and Mrs. Davies, assisted by Vivian, and Kathleen Bell, Ruth Baldwin, Frances Knapp and Jean Merriam looked after the welfare of the guests in the dining room. Mrs. Bell and Mrs. Joachim, who represented the Chapter at the Continental Congress at Washington, gave reports of that meeting and Marjorie Connor was heard in a number of piano numbers. The dining-room was most attractive in smilax and yellow daffodils, and many yellow candles shaded with dainty brass shades carried out the color scheme. Flags were used in profusion in the other rooms, and the young ladies who served and most of the officers wore quaint colonial costumes.

Mrs. A. Clinton and Miss Mary Milard of Elmira were guests of Mrs. S. W. Slaughter Wednesday for the D. A. R. Colonial Tea.

Taken from : The National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution Volume 64, page 97. "Mrs. Charlotte Wells Slaughter. DAR ID Number: 63293 Born in Goshen, N. Y. Wife of Samuel Wickham Slaughter. Descendant of Joshua Wells and of Jonathan Sayre. Daughter of Alfred Wells and Lydia Westbrook Nyce, his wife. Granddaughter of Joshua Wells, Jr., and Jemima Sayre, his wife. Gr-granddaughter of Joshua Wells and Rhoda Boothe, his wife; Jonathan Sayre and Mary Monell, his wife. Joshua Wells (1747-1820) was a private in the 3rd regiment, Orange County, N. Y., and served on the Committee of Safety. He was born and died in Goshen, Orange County, N. Y.
Jonathan Sayre (1752-1829) served as a private in Captain Woodhull's company of “Light Horse Cavalry” of Orange County, N. Y., where he was born and died.

May 23, 1911 The Troy Times, Troy, N. Y.: The Graduating Class. The members of the graduating class of the Emma Willard School are: Miss Eleanor Akin, Johnsonville; Miss Dorothy Beardsley, Stratford, Conn.; Miss Emily Booth, Troy; Miss Florence Burns, Huntington, Ind.; Miss Dorothea Campbell, Troy; Miss Mildred Child, Troy; Miss Elsie Clague, Winnetta, Ill.; Miss Margery Cowee, Troy; Miss Doris Crockett, Troy; Miss Anne Fegan, Dallas, Tex.; Miss Marion Gabeler, Troy; Miss Edith Gilbert, Pottstown, Penn.; Miss Loraine Harrington, Troy; Miss Dorothy Hunt, Oswego, N. Y.; Miss Loranah Jack, Canisteo; Miss Randie Jeldness, Spokane, Wash.; Miss Ruth Johnson, Troy; Miss Regina Metcalf, Troy; Miss Gertrude Norton, Troy; Miss Edith Sabin, Troy; Miss Penelope Seymour, Troy; Miss Gertrude Slaughter, Waverly; Miss Marion Smith, Menands; Miss Ocna Staples, Troy; Miss Ruth Taylor, Troy; Miss Florence Tenny, Granville, N. Y.; Miss Marjoried Van Zandt, Troy; Miss Edna Wales, Troy, and Miss Grace Witter, Wellsville.

May 26, 1911 "Waverly Free Press": George Knapp, son of Mr. and Mrs. J.W. Knapp of this place, started last night for Seattle, Wash., where he will engage in engineering with his brother Ralph, who is superintending the construction of a large snow sheds at Wellington near Seattle.

Among the former pupils who will graduate at other schools this year are Harlold Sawyer, Cornell; Alice Lang, Wellsley; Rosamond Dodge, Rye Seminary; Gertrude Slaughter, Emma Willard School; Frances Stevenson, Margle Blood, Kent School.

Ad; DECORATION DAY EXCURSIONS Buffalo and Niagara Falls $3.00 round trip May 30th, limited for return within two days including date of sale, good on all trains, except the Black Diamond Express. Rochester $2.25 Round Trip May 30th, limited for return within two days including date of sale, good on all trains, except the Black Diamond Express. Lehigh Valley Railroad See Ticket Agent at WAVERLY

May 26, 1911 Waverly Free Press: Has Resided Here Seventy Years. Henry Laine Who Came to Waverly In 1841 Is Going to Pittsburg to Reside Has Many Recollections of Village in the Past. Henry Laine one of our most respected residents, who is soon to leave with his wife and daughter Mrs. Blackmore, to reside at Pittsburg relates many experiences of early life in this vicinity. Most of these have been published in "Looking Backward Over the Years" but a few will bear repeating. 70 of Mr. Laine's 80 years have been passed here and his memory is excellent. His father upon coming to this part of the state purchased what is known as the Mandeville farm above the Water Works on West Hill. On it was a log house, and near it the log school house which the children attended, thus experiencing all the comforts and discomforts of log buildings. A large number of Methodists resided on the hill, their preaching services and revivals being held in the school house, and as many were what was known as "shouting Methodists" the place was nick-named Glory Hill. In 1844 the Laine family moved to West Chemung Street, just opposite the West End School. The street did not curve as it does now, but passed in front of I. P. Shepard's residence, and among the nearest houses on the north side of the highway was one on what is now the corner of Cadwell Avenue, and further on the Davis residence on the site of the Tracy property. He remembers no buildings on the south side until the erection of the Baldwin place at the corner of Fulton. Later the senior Laine opened lower Pine Street, and built a house on the corner of that and Chemung Street. There were no stores on what is now known as Broad Street, and all business was transacted at Factoryville now the east ward.

The Old Neptune Company. The recollections connected with Old Neptune Engine Company, No. 1, are pleasing, Mr. Laine with Horace Whitaker, James Partridge, Dr. W. E. Johnson, and Hatfield Hallet, who was a torch boy, are the only charter members now living. Much of the work of the company is well known but as the Central New York Firemans' Convention is soon to be held here a few stories will be of interest. The company was organized at Davis Hall, May 27th, 1855, or 56 years ago next Saturday. There was ofcourse no water works system the water being pumped from cisterns placed in different parts of the town among them was one at the corner of Broad and Fulton Streets; one in front of Bouton's hardware store, and one in front of the M. E. church. Another was located in the park. In these early days a liberty pole stood near what is now the First National Bank building, and it was a proud day when the trial for height was made and it was found the engine could throw a stream over this pole which was 410 ft. high. Fourth of July was a great day with Old Neptune's members for they always went to some near by town like Owego, Elmira or Towanda to take part in the celebration. There were no railroads in those days, and the engine had to be drawn by horses and the members go in carriages. A trip to Towanda is particularly remembered on account of the difficulty experienced in reaching there. However in spite of all the many troubles of this kind, the company never met defeat in a contest with hand engines. The first fire to which the company was called was that of the Phillips and Murray tannery, situated on the site just south of th East Waverly Mills, where water from Cayuta Creek was used. One of the greatest feats of the company was two years later when without any outside assistance they saved the Courtney Hotel which was situated only two feet from the Warford House, which was burned to the ground. Old Neptune was the only organized fire company until 1871 and the old hand engine with a few hundred feet of hose the only apparatus for fighting fire until that time. When the brick Baptist church now the residence of O. H. Lawrence was built, Mr. Laine's father donated the big timbers and they were drawn to the desired site by the son, who was only a lad. The building of the church aroused much interest and older residents tell how the pastor, Elder Stowell, who living after Revolutionary times was not called to be a "fighting parson" to fight for his country, was a "mason parson," for to save money for his congregation he laid bricks during the week and preached the word of God, Sundays. Thirty-five years ago, when Mr. Laine entered the employ of the Lehigh, Sayre was scarcely dreamed of and the Lehigh shops were located here at "the junction" where the Lehigh joins the Erie. 4 machinists, 4 helpers, and 3 boilermakers were employed and engines and cars were repaired, but most of the boiler work was done at Ithaca. In 1880, what is now known as the old shops at Sayre were built and all Lehigh work taken to that place.

May 26, 1911 Waverly Free Press: Beauty of Color Painting. Nice shades of color like L. & M. Tuxedo Yellow or Silver Grey, and solid trim of Olive or Shaker Green, both ornament and wear, when used by adding 3/4 of a gallon of Oil to each gallon of the L. & M. colors as produced at Factory. Then the paint costs only about $1.60 per gallon because the user himself makes about half the paint used, and reduces cost by adding the Oil. Thirty-five years use in N. A. & S. A. "Longman & Martinez, Manufacturers. The L. & M. Pure Paints, Varnishes and Paints for every purpose, for sale by Herman Olney.

June 2, 1911 Waverly Free Press: Firemen Will Inspect Lehigh Shops. Lehigh Management Through Superintendent McGill Supplies Free Press With Exclusive Description of World Famous Plant for Benefit of Visiting Firemen. It has been arranged by the Fire Council of Waverly to take the delegates to the Convention of the C. N. Y. V. F. Association on a tour through the Lehigh Shops Tuesday p. m. July 26th, a treat which no doubt will be greatly appreciated. This concession was obtained through kindness of Mr. A. M. McGill, Superintendent of Shops to whom the Fire Council and delegates owe their grateful acknowledgement. The body of delegates, divided into convenient squads for safe handling, will be marshalled on the trip by members of the Fire Council who are employees in the Shops and who will explain all the principal features of interest. - We are also assured of the cooperation of Mr. J. C. Seeger , General Foreman, in making the tour one of great interest and pleasure. - Sayre System Shops is the real hospital of the Lehigh Valley Railroad and is fast becoming what its name signifies, - the plant which cares for all ills of the system in the motive departments. Planned with a view of caring for all future needs, its permanency insured for all time by the investment involved, it stands today without a peer in the same category, in the industrial world. - Not only in repairs, but in new construction the plant has proven beyond doubt its ability to cope with any competitors. Five newly constructed engines, modern in every detail, have just (Continued on Second Page.)

(Continued from First Page.)- broken all records for speed and economy of full consumption. They are of the "Atlantic" type, with Walschaert valve gear, all the parts outside the frame. - Ten new combination, for either passenger or fast freight, ten-wheel type. - Fifteen new consolidation engines for freight service and six for switch service have been turned out of the plant, complete in the past eighteen months, and have given general satisfaction to all. - They are all up-to-date "straight shot" single door boilers of the most modern type, and their success is the assurance that the company will construct a great majority of their motive power at Sayre. - To make an intelligent tour one starts on Lehigh Avenue at the Subway underlying 14 tracks of solid concrete construction, augmented with re-inforced steel rail and concrete roof, terminating well inside the shop yard. - First we see the Power Plant with its two gigantic stacks, (two hundred feet high), wherein the power, heat and light for the entire plant is generated. Note first the system of handling the fuel. You will observe the mechanical devices take the coal from the hoppers of the cars with the least possible aid of man-handling. Also note the contrivance deposits the coal at the feet of the stokers in front of the fire-doors and removes the ashes automatically. Note the great cooling fans, immense water and steam pipes and the pumps continually at work. - Now enter the Engine Room with its generators, dynamos, agitators, switchboard and the wonderful air compressors. Observe the numerous devices showing indicated pressure of steam, air and water and electricity generated and the elaborate safety system. Here you have a maintained 6,000 horse power of electricity transformed into working conditions of both alternating and direct currents and 90 pound air pressure constantly flowing into the arteries of the great plant. - From here we go into the Locomotive Repair Shop. Six and one-half acres under one roof. Starting at the Boiler department in the south end - here the sheets of tested steel, some as large as 10 feet by 20 feet square and up to 13-16 inches thick, await the engine requiring a new firebox, or a new boiler. See the lay-out, flanging, hydraulic presses and oil fires; the punching, beveling and shearing processes and the immense gap riveter over which is dropped an engine boiler complete. Here also the cisterns for tenders and small detail sheet steel work is done. This Department is so equipped, that, when worked to its capacity, can build a boiler complete, ready for service, in 70 hours. - Note now that all heavy materials area carried by overhead Shaw cranes, of which here are thirteen in all, two carry 120 tons tested, one 35 tons tested and ten 15 tons tested, operated by electricity, and equipped with patented safety devices. - Move up along the East Erecting Bay with its twenty-five pits and accommodations for forty locomotives. Note the various conditions of the engines in process of overhauling. Here one with all parts asunder, frames broken, wheels gone and scarcely a thing left to show it is an engine, and from that stage to the completed locomotive with its shining brass and newly painted jacket and cab ready for its work on the road. - Note each pit has its individual equipment of air, steam, electricity and water connections, and all allow workmen to stand upright under the locomotive. Observe each part is marked plainly and intelligently, awaiting its erection and that each locomotive bears the date of its coming and going from the shop, all figured on a carefully compiled systematic schedule. - Now go down the East Machine Bay with its rough castings, raw material, each piece in its proper place, awaiting the hand of the skilled mechanic and modern machine and up-to-date methods of handling. The machines being so systematically arranged in clusters that the moving of an article for its next operation in the course of manufacture is often not more than a couple of feet, or the distance from one machine to the next. Note the great wheel lathes on which the axles, tires, etc., are shaped; the large planer on which the larger work is done; the double slotter ready for its 20 inch cut on steel frames; the various processes of drill presses, lathes and planers and the lay-out bench on which all parts are marked for machining.- Pass on to the following Departments, Pipe.-See the brazing and bending fires, the cutting apparatus and the intricate net-work of piping ready for erection; Tin.-Jackets everywhere. Like a tailor they cut and seam and bind together these great engine coats. Here also the headlights, eccentric straps, crossheads, brasses, etc., receive their lining. Here also is an emergency foundry and where small articles of tinware are repaired and made; Paint.-See the Jacket iron, headlights, window frames, dials for gauges and th numerous odd jobs awaiting the turn; Electric Repairs.-Here are car lighting armatures, lights of all kinds, controllers, etc., all going through their reconstruction process. - Tool Room.-See the thousands of tools and appliances, dies, plates, air machines, all the machanical devices one could imagine, each in their proper niches awaiting the call of the mechanic. - Rod and Motion Department-Links, blades, valves and yokes, rocker-boxes, reverse levers, rods, brasses here, there, everywhere in all stages of development. Air Department-Note the triple valves awaiting repair and test, encased in a rough casting, but which protects the most delicate mechanism, the least defect of which would plunge a train into a disastrous wreck, where an emergency stop required to avert it. See the rack on which they are tested, this being the same equipment which the train and engine has. Here also the injectors, pumps, gauges and innumerable appliances for train safety which makes railroading the puzzle of the ages. - Now we are ready for the West Machine Bay, and here you stop to wonder at the great depth of mechanical genius apparent in the turret, automatic lathes. See five bars of iron going into the jaw of the rotary turret lathe and coming out the finished product without a finger touching the machine. See the six inch bar being cut into bushings as easily and quickly as you whittle a stick of wood. Here you have a whole battery of machines which do wonderful things, even to drilling a square hole in one process and the Fox lathes which turn brass and copper into all shapes and sizes so quickly you are amazed. - Here also note the grinding machines giving a polished surface to rods and guides that is wonderful. Now slotters, boring mills and shapers get attention, each a duty and always forming some part of the locomotive. Here, too, is the piston and crosshead fitted to its function. - Now the West Bay, and here again we see the same process the East Bay showed. Engines torn down, half completed and engines ready to go out on the road. You will have noted there are two crossovers on which locomotives can be put in and taken out, traveling transversly, and from which tracks the monster engines are lifted intact by the mighty electric cranes skyward until they are in the roof of the great shop, so to speak, and are then carried by the cranes over the tops of other engines to any part of the Erecting Department and lowered on the pit where repairs are to be made. If you are awed at this spectacle, regain your composure for it is assured by scientific test that the great crane slings and appliances have been carefully prepared for the work they are required to do, and, were the engineer to stick to his throttle, he would reach his destination after a flying trip of several hundred feet through air as safe and unharmed as if running under control on a straight track. Also from these cross-over tracks intersects the industrial narrow gauge railway over which all the forgings and most of the castings pass in the various processes. This railway extends over the whole plant, to the Blacksmith Shop, Car Shops, Lumber Yards, Storehouse, etc. - We now go to the gallery for a birdseye view of the interior of the great shop. Here you are amazed by the roar of the machinery, and the immensity of the place is more apparent. Note the very sufficient system of ventilation and heating installed, the motor driven fans driving fresh air in and foul air out. See the elaborate wash and locker rooms provided so that every individual has a locker with a key for himself. Here also is the lighting switchboard controlling every group of lighting in the shop. Down again, we visit the great lye vats in which dirty, greasy engine parts are emersed and cooked with a solution of caustic soda until as clean and free from all greasy accumulations as a hound's tooth. Now the tire floor, on which tires of the driver wheels are removed and applied by a fuel oil burner in less than five minutes, three times as quick as you could change a tire on an automobile. - Now to the front of the shop where stand the engines awaiting their turn for shipping, and from here to the "graveyard." Forgotten glories of bygone days, where awaits engines for the final process of dismantling, and one must realize the process of evolution in railroading. These you see here were once the "Pride of the Valley", a few short years since and, like the humans who built and planned and ran them, await dissolution and the passing away of their individualities. Now we pay a short visit to the tank and cab shops and see the same processes going on. Tanks and cabs in all stages of repairs. Note the destruction and complete removal of old paint from the cisterns and other parts by the sand blasting process which is done in an almost incredible short time. Perchance the acetylene gas outfit would be in operation here, if so, you would see a damaged section of a cistern being cut out with simply a blaze from the torch, as clean and to the line almost as quickly as you would draw a chalk mark around the section of sheet steel to be taken out. - Close by are the flue shop and wheel shop, well worth a close inspection. Now we pass into the Blacksmith Shop where the great steam hammers shake the roof and the clang of the hammer on the anvil is omnipresent, forges, fires, flying metal and seething furnaces of oil, driven mad by air, generating a white heat, all adding to the usual glamor of a smithy. See the ingots here weighing a ton; this a side rod in embryo; then the chains, bolts, hangers, pilots, stay plates, etc., etc., all singing the song of the anvil. Bolts made faster than you can count them, pile on pile, every size and style, make them by the hundred thousand. Close by the dormitory where the gritty Smith washes under shower-bath and fine lavatory where he has an indivdual locker for his clothing, etc. - Next the Scrap Dock, the natural destintation of the broken and worn out metals from the entire plant are here sorted and shipped to possibly again be re-incarnated into a more modern "Pride of the Valley." - Next the mammoth Storehouse where hundreds of thousand dollars worth of materials are stored and given out on authentically signed orders, which must bear the detailed purpose for which it is to be used. - Passenger Car Shops. Here all passenger cars are cleaned and painted, the Paint Shop accommodating about 40 passenger cars at one time. Every detail of sanitation is observed here for every car passing through the shop. All removable equipment and trimmings, seats, cushions, sash, doors, everything removed, cleaned and refinished before replacing. Glass crackled if required, storage batteries recharged, all brass trimmings relacquired, seat cushions re-dyed, cars painted and varnished, interior and exterior, fit for most fastidious when released from the shop and placed in service. - Freight Repair Shop and Yards. Many points of interest in this department all worth inspection. - See the locomotive crane with magnet attachment for picking up scrap irons which lie scattered about the yard from repaired cars. The magnet is lowered to the ground and pulled along and every piece of metal, large or small, either adheres to the magnet or some piece already fastened by attraction until a load is obtained, when the magnet is hoisted over a car provided for loading and the electric current cut, releasing the load into the car. - We have only mentioned a small part of the many important features to be seen on a touring trip through this great plant, enough, however, we hope, to at least stimulate your curiosity and a desire to participate in the happy realization of seeing the "facts without figures." - In conclusion, it may be your pirvilege to see the world famous Black Diamond Express, with its solid train of Pullman cars, whirling along at a mile-a-minute clip, arriving at Sayre at 1:05 p. m. east bound, and 6:32 p. m. west bound, daily.

June 9, 1911 Waverly Free Press: Mrs. S. W. Slaughter will leave today to attend the commencement exercise at the Emma Willard school at Troy, where her daughter, Gertrude, will graduate.

June 1911 Ithaca New York Daily News: (Stayed at) Clinton House - ....Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter, Miss Gertrude Slaughter, Waverly; ....

June 13, 1911 The Semi-Weekly Times, Troy, N. Y.: Young Graduates. The First Class to Graduate From the New Emma Willard School Numbers Twenty-nine - ... All Troy applauds the fair graduates of the Emma Willard School, because with every year the prestige of the famous institution is increased and its standard educationally raised. What Emma Willard began almost one hundred years ago is being zealously carried out in obedience to her wishes, as voiced by the founder nearly a century since. The campus surrounding the beautiful monuments erected to her memory pictured Commencement Day in all its buoyancy this morning, when visitors, including the parents and relatives of the students, reached the commanding acres overlooking the lowlands on the south and the higher hills on the north and east. During the last year the faculty has labored assiduously to enhance the fame of the school and their work has not been lost, and the prospects for the ensuing terms are bright with the hope that is entertained, that before long the institution will become a college for young women. ... The exercises for this, the ninety-seventh Commencement, were held in the gymnasium, to which the procession was led by the marshals, the Misses ... The twenty-nine graduates made a pretty picture as they were seated upon the stage. ... Miss Kellas, the Principal, addressed the graduates most pleasingly, and then presented them to William F. Gurley, the President of the Board of Trustees, who conferred the diplomas as follows: College Preparatory Course. ... General Course. ... Miss Mary Gertrude Slaughter, Waverly. ... Music Course. ... The Address. ... (This was an all women's seminary school originally)

June 23, 1911 Waverly Free Press: L. W. Losie and family, of Elmira, have moved their household goods to 331 Chemung Street of this place. Mr. Losie will have charge of the Losie Bros., roofing office in this place. (Chemung St. in Sayre, PA)

June 23, 1911 Waverly Free Press: Attended Packer Hospital Auxililary Meeting. Mrs. John Murray, Mrs. I. P. Shepard, Mrs. E. C. Brooks, Mrs. F. E. Lyford, Mrs. W. E. Johnson, Mrs. J. C. Van Atta, Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, Mrs. James Guyer, Mrs. Seward Baldwin, Mrs. L. D. Atwater, Mrs. George Genung, Mrs. H. Kiple, Mrs. C. Bullard, Mrs. W. C. Buck, Mrs. A. I. Decker, Mrs. J. W. Knapp, Mrs. H. W. Knapp, and the Misses Antoinetter Elmer, Ellen Sawyer and Mary Finch attended the annual business meeting and luncheon of the Central Committee of the Packer Hospital and its auxilliary branches, at the Parish House, Sayre, Tuesday.

June 30, 1911 Waverly Free Press: Mrs. W. E. Johnson Gave Party In Honor of Mrs. Crandell.
Mrs. W. E. Johnson entertained at a porch party Wednesday afternoon in honor of Mrs. Mildred Crandell, who is soon to leave to spend the summer at New York City. The veranda was enclosed with asparagus and other decorations were yellow daisies. Three tables of bridge were played and a four course supper was served at 6 o'clock, the decorations in the dining room being red and white roses and vines of honeysuckle. The ladies present in addition to the honor guest were: Mrs. F. M. Snook, Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, Mrs. Adele Tobins, Mrs. J. H. Murray, Mrs. F. A. Bell, Mrs. J. C. Van Atta, Mrs. H. N. Daniell, Mrs. George Moore, Miss Bessie Perkins, and Miss Mary Finch. 440 Park Ave.

July 9, 1911 The Telegram, Elmira, N. Y. : First 1912 Chalmers Goes to Waverly. Isaac Shepard, of Waverly, will receive the first 1912 Chalmers, and will be in advance of them all. He placed his order with the LaFrance Motor Car company for a 1912 Chalmers 30 touring car, and will receive his car tomorrow. By the request of the Chalmers agents the 30 and 40 models will be contiunued for the year 1912. These cars required no radical changes in construction, but have been refined and improved and fully equipped until their value in relation to price is still more remarkable than ever before. The "30" will be equipped with magneto, Chalmers special made mohair top, automatic wind shields, ventilated foredoors, Prest-o-lite gas tank, horn, pump, jack and tire repair outfit. Price $1,500, a reduction of $250. The LaFrance Motor Car company will give you further particulars of the Chalmers "30" at its new salesrooms, corner of Carroll and Fox streets. (Using inflation calculator what cost $1,500 in 1912 would cost $38,669.76 in 2017.)

July 21, 1911 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Irish Pictures. David Lougher Paints Three Beautiful Irish Scenes for the A. O. H. Hall. Three beautiful paintings of famous Irish scenery have just been hung up, in the assembly hall of the Ancient Order of Hiberians on Clark Street. The paintings which represent the Lakes of Killarney, Blarney Castle, and an Irish Round Tower, are the work of David Lougher, a well known Waverly man. Two of the paintings, the lakes and Blarney Castle are about 8 feet high, by 6 feet broad. The round tower is 8 feet high and 4 feet broad. Mr. Lougher is to be congratulated on his fine workmanship. His paintings, thoroughly Irish in tone, will prove inspiring to all who have the pleasure of seeing on canvas, scenes that are dear to the heart of every proud Irishman. Members of the A. O. H. express great delight at having the pictures in their splendid little hall.

L. W. Losie is laying a slate roof on the new Clohessy house, Fulton Street. Parties having roof work to do, can find him there for a few days. 455 Fulton st.

The members of the Berea class gave Mrs. Gabriel Evans, of Athens Street, a surprise party Monday evening, in honor of her birthday.

PARADE THREE MILES LONG. Barnum and Bailey Circus Re-establishes Pageant at Cost of $1,000,000. It has cost the management of the Barnum and Bailey circus $1,000,000 to re-establish the morning parade as a part of its day's program. Their new street spectacle is a wonderful achievement, absolutely departing from the beaten path. Those who turn out on the streets of Waverly, Friday, Aug. 4, in the forenoon will see something entirely different from what they have been used to seeing on circus day. The equipment stretches out for a length of three miles like a panorama of the world. It was designed by the best artists of France and Italy and built under the direction of the property masters of seven of Eruope's largest producing theaters. Over 300 artisans and master-mechanics labored in the foreign workshops of the circus for many months, both night and day, to build the various vehicles, floats, howdahs, palanquins, carriages of state, thrones and tableau wagons. The costumes were made in Paris. The laces came from Ireland. The scarfs, flags and banners are expensive works of Japanese art. The rugs and tapestries are from Turkey and Persia. The harnes is the only part of the equipment that was made in America. The foreign agents of the show had a great deal to do with this pageant. They have peopled it with strange types of the human race and have added to its variety a vast collection of Italian statuary, the graven images of savage tribes and the idols of Oriental religions. In fact the parade is a congress of nations, a zoological garden on wheels, a fairyland carnival, a gallory of mythology and a horse fair. Fifty different kinds of music are introduced, from the weird string and reed musicians of the barbarian to the great brass bands of European and American nations. Taking part in this parade are 1,280 people, 40 elephants, 700 horses, 20 camels and 500 menagerie animals displayed in open dens. Some idea of the magnitude of this great circus may be had from the fact that it travels on five long trains, the combined length of which is more than one mile. When the twenty-eight tents are erected, fourteen acres of ground are covered. Thirty-two nations are represented by the company of 400 performers. The circus has visited every city of size in the civilized world during its fifty-five years of travel. In a single season it often covers 40,000 miles. Its tours may extend from New York City to San Francisco and from Quebec to New Orleans in a single summer. On the show grounds are a dynamo plant furnishing current for 5,000 electric lights; a postoffice, receiving mail daily from all parts of the earth; all the shops found in the average town, and a hotel where 4,000 meals are cooked and eaten every day in the week. The main tent is the largest audience room in the world. Besides its many grandstands, it has three rings, two stages and a quartermile hippodrome track. The show carries fifty of the best clowns in the world and the greatest traveling zoo. Among the 1,200 wild animals is the only giraffe ever exhibited in America. With it in the same pen are the three tallest giraffes in captivity. Tickets at VanAtta's Drug Store. (In 1907Adam Forepaugh and Sells Brothers Biggest Show on Earth, proprietors, Mrs. James Bailey and Ringling Brothers, were in Waverly. In 1910 Adam Forepaugh and Sells Brothers Big United Shows, owned by Ringling Brothers were in Waverly) {In 2017, Ringling Brothers and Barnum & Bailey Circus to close in May 2017. Phineas Taylor Barnum with his traveling animals and more had combined with the five Ringling Brothers, who performed juggling acts and skits from their home base of Wisconsin, to form the Ringling Brother's and Barnum & Bailey's circus. The circus traveled by train all across America to any city of good size. In 1967, the circus was bought by the Feld family. In May of 2016, the elephants were removed from the show due to a long expensive legal battle with animal activists. The lions, tigers, camels, donkeys, alpacas, kangaroos, and llamas will all go to suitable homes.}{In the 1880's and 1890's, their were at least 50 different traveling shows. On July 3 and 4th of 1889, Bob Hunting's Great Show, based in New Castle, PA, came to Waverly. Hunting's circus' program: Trick Ponies, Clowns, Contortion, Trapeze, High Wire,Rideing Dogs, Triple Horizontal Bars, Slack Wire, Egyptian Jugglery, Tight Rope, Acrobatic Act, and Dog Circus}

August 4, 1911 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: An Enlarged and Improved Lippincott's. Thirty-two extra pages in the August Lippincott's enables that publication to present to its readers and unusually imposing table of contents, as well as some attractive new features. As usual, the magazine opens with a complete novel, "The Little Green Door," by Dorothea Deakin, author of "Georgie." This is a rare story, full of humor and charm, yet with a touch of pathos, too. The heroines are twin sisters, ingenious girls who fly in the face of convention when Fate plays them a shabby trick. Charles Egbert Craddock, author of "The Fair Mississippian," contributes a long short story of the Civil War, entitled "The Lost Guidon," Ellis Parker Butler, the "Pigs is Pigs" man, is responsible for "Where There's a Will." Ella Middleton Tybout's offering is "The Efficiency of Miss DeLong," a story of Department life in Washington, which may open the eyes of many in the service and out. Other short stories are "Tea from Japan," by Edwin L. Sabin; "Square", by Anna Rozilla Crever; "The Arraignment of Sarah McElwell," by Luellen Teters Bussenius; and "Fun," by W. Carey Wonderly. Another attractive feature coming under the head of fiction is a new department devoted to translation of tales by foreign authors, and entitled "Short-Story Masterpieces." This month's story is Guy de Maupassant's "Moonlight," with an introduction by the Editor. "Athletics for School-Children" forms the theme of an inspiring article by Dr. Luther Halsey Gulick, one of the founders of the famous Public Schools Athletic League of New York. Other noteworthy papers are "Thou Shalt Not Steal," by Willard French; "Toward the Open," by Minnia Thomas Antrim; "Let the Head-Lines Tell," by George Knapp; "The Boy Scouts Movement, " by Edwin L. Sabin; "The Summer Girl," by John Kendrick Bangs; and "The Plans of the Bureau of the Census," by R. T. H. A new departure for Lippincott's is the "Financial Department," which will be helpful to all investors, especially small ones. Verses by Madison Cawein, Ruth Guthrie Harding, Dysart McMullen, Charles Hanson Towne, and W. J. Lampton, some pungent epigrams, the usual big department of humor - "Walnuts and Wind" - and a new department devoted to motor-cars and motoring, complete this noteworthy issue of a long-established magazine. (This is not George B. Knapp, but George L. Knapp)

The tenth annual reunion of the Brooks family will be held in Eldridge Park, Elmira, on Wednesday, August 16th.

Ad: Losie Brothers - Slate, tile, gravel, and composition roofing. Repair work a specialty. If you need a roof, let us give you an estimate. Address, 331 Chemung St., Sayre, Pa.

September 1, 1911 "Waverly Free Press": Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter entertained informally Monday in honor of her guests, Mrs. Celia Dexter, of Ann Arbor, Michigan, Mrs. May Lewis, of Detroit. She was assisted in receiving by the guests of honor also Mrs. J. C. VanAtta and Mrs. L.D. Atwater. The house was very prettily decorated with flowers and was lighted with candles. Delicious refreshments were served by the Misses Gertrude Slaughter, Florentine Knapp, Dorothy Atwater, Katharine Byram and Georgia Duhig. Several vocal numbers by Miss Duhig were a delightful feature of the afternoon's enjoyment.

THE TRAIL OF 'THE BEAST' IN WAVERLY.(front page) Damaging Relations Between National Protective Legion, Business Men's Association, School Board and Politics. Unequal and Unfair Assessment -- A $12,000 Mortgage on an $8,000 Building -- How Lang and Other Bank Clerks Handle Insurance Funds -- Betrayers of School Girls Go Unpunished -- Political Postmaster Genung Upholder of System That is Killing Waverly. Some time ago The Free Press published an article showing the relations which existed between certain business men of Waverly and the National Protective Legion. In that article it was shown the National Protective Legion controlled other men whose names had not been given. In order that the people may more fully understand the conditions which exist; this newspaper gives a list today of some of the directors of the First National Bank of Waverly, and of the trustees of the National Protective Legion who are also stockholders of the Bank. / Officers of the Bank. Fred E. Lyford, Director and Pres. First National Bank. Percy L. Lang, Director and Cashier. Frank L. Howard, Director and Attorney. Frank Bell, Stockholder and Director. Dr. John T. Tucker, Stockholder and Director. Harry W. Knapp, Stockholder and Director. Harry Ellis, Assistant Cashier. Officers of the National Protective Legion. George A. Scott, Pres. and Stockholder of First National Bank. Percy L. Lang, Trustee and Chairman of the Board, charged with investing and handling the funds of the N. P. L., and Stockholder and Cashier of First National Bank. E. D. Born, Trustee and Stockholder of First National Bank. B. F. Spencer, Trustee and Stockholder of First National Bank. Dr. Wm. Hilton, Medical Examiner. Frank L. Howard, attorney for the N. P. L. and director and attorney for the First National Bank. / The report of the Superintendent of insurance states that the following trustees of the N. P. L. are also stockholders of the First National Bank of Waverly. / "In this connection, it should be noted that Mr. Percy L. Lang, the chairman of the board of trustees of the National Protective Legion, is the cashier and a large stockholder of this bank. Messrs. George A. Scott, H. C. Bruster, E. D. Born and B. F. Spencer, all members of the executive board of the National Protective Legion, are also stockholders in the bank" and Frank Howard, the attorney for the National Protective Legion is a stockholder and director of this bank, and attorney for both. / Fred E. Lyford, the President of the First National Bank of Waverly, was also President of the National Bank of Sayre, and while he occupied that position Martin Sawtelle, the cashier of the National Bank of Sayre was the Treasurer of the Modern Protective Association, another five-year dividend paying insurance company, modeled after the National Protective Legion. This insurance company has its headquarters in Sayre, Pa., and keeps its funds in the bank which Mr. Lyford was President. / The M. P. A. Shortly after this Modern Protective Insurance Company was formed and in active operation, Mr. Lyford together with Martin Sawtelle, the Treasurer of the Modern Protective Association, who was Cashier of the National Bank of Sayre, and the President of the Modern Protective Association, Mr. Cross secured control of another Insurance company in Brooklyn. The name of this insurance company was changed to the Columbian Protective Insurance Company, and offices were opened by them in Binghamton, N. Y. Louis W. Dorsett, a clerk in the National Bank of Sayre, of which Mr. Lyford was President, was made Treasurer of this insurance company. This clerk was formerly a clerk in the First National Bank of Waverly. / Insurance, Bank Officers and Politics. There has apparently been very close and intimate relations between certain officers and directors of the First National Bank of Waverly, the National Bank of Sayre, the National Protectitve Legion, the Modern Protective Association of Sayre, and political affairs of Waverly. For instance, Dr. John T. Tucker, a director of the First National Bank of Waverly, had been put forward several times as President of the Village of Waverly, and defeated the last time. That he was merely a tool in the hands of other men has been clearly demonstrated, and especially, last winter when he went to the Loomis Opera House and pretended that the fire escapes were not in proper working order, although admitting afterwards that he knew nothing whatever about the condition of the fire escapes, and they were absolutely perfect in every particular. / The Free Press has tried to tell the people of Waverly something of the evils of the National Protective Legion in many published articles on the Insurance Report, stating that it was unjust to obtain money for the Class B insurance under the representations made by the N. P. L. In this belief, this newspaper has been sustained by the Post Office authorities at Washington and by the Superintendents of Insurance of seven different states, including New York State. Read what the report says about the company and its officers, and its false and fraudulent literature circulated through the mails. The Postmaster at Waverly is its ally and supporter. / The Press Exposes the N. P. L. Because The Free Press has exposed the N. P. L. every person in Waverly who is under financial obigations to it and its allied interests, boycotted the Loomis Opera House. After the boycott had been worked to its fullest extent, Dr. Tucker, the President of the Village of Waverly, was sent to the Opera House, apparently for the sole purpose of scaring the people and injuring the attendance. Remember that Dr. John T. Tucker was at that time and is now one of the Directors of the First National Bank, and whether the close relationship existing between certain officers and stockholders of this bank and the N. P. L. and its friends had any influence in this matter, is for the people of Waverly to determine. / National Protective Legion Controls School Board. Harry W. Knapp, a director of the First National Bank, is President ot the Board of Education. George Pike, another director of the First National Bank, was a member of the Board. Dr. Hilton, the medical examiner of the N. P. L. is a member of the Board. (Continued on Last Page.)

The Trail Of The Beast." (Continued from First Page.) Mr. A. I. Decker was a member of this Board, and they hired his brother-in-law to draw plans for the school building. There was no competition and they paid him a large price for them. Frank Munn, another of the School Board, is one of the poormasters of the Town of Barton. While he is apparently greatly interested in the building of the new school house and the education of the young, he is the man who stated that he had been advised to say nothing about the matter of the young girl in the graduating class getting into trouble. Somebody committed a serious crime, and yet, Mr. Munn, as a member of the Board of Education of Waverly, as well as the Poormaster, felt it was advisable to remain quiet. Dr. John T. Tucker a director of First National Bank was the attending physician, and he was at that time Mayor of Waverly, but he kept still about this great wrong. / The Tioga Hotel Insurance. The Free Press is informed by insurance adjustors that Mr. Munn tried to place the insurance on the Tioga Hotel, which had already been on fire several times, but succeeded in placing only two of the policies, and then took the balance of the insurance to another agent not familiar with the former fires, who placed it at Mr. Munn's request. This refers to the insurance on this building which was placed after there had been several fires and two others planned and arranged for, which were not set. In these two instances, Chief Brooks found the material, took it from the building and did nothing. Mr. Munn, as an insurance agent, should have notified the companies, as well as the new agent, of the repeated attempts to burn this building. Who got Mr. Munn to place this insurance although he knew about all the former fires? / Business Men's Association Under Thumb of N. P. L Harry W. Knapp, a director of the First National Bank, is the President of the Business Men's Association of Waverly. He appointed various committees which had charge of handling the funds during the Old Home Week and the two carnivals held at Waverly. On these occasions, large sums of money were raised by subscription. Observe that the committees were made up so that the majority in control of the finances were friendly to the interests of the National Protective Legion. The last carnival was held in December, 1910, but there has been no itemized accounting published showing the income and expenditures of the money the people contributed. The Free Press was awarded the twenty dollar prize for the "best float". The prize has never been received. On the advertising committee, Mr. Knapp appointed George D. Genung, the postmaster of Waverly, who has stood sponsor for the N. P. L., Fred Simmons, the Assistant Postmaster, who reports news as directed, and Raymond McEwen, and employee in Postmaster Genung's printing office. / A $12,000 N. P. L. Mortgage. Percy L. Lang, who has handled the N. P. L. funds, purchased and sold its bonds, at a loss of more than one hundred thousand dollars, has been very considerate in dealing with some of the directors of his bank. / The National Protective Legion loaned Knapp & Sons twelve thousand dollars for ten years at four and one-half per cent., on the store building on the corner of Broad and Fulton Streets. This building is assessed for eight thousand dollars. Knapp, Hilton and others made the interest of the school bonds 4 1/2 per cent., although a lien on property assessed for over two million dollars. Mr. Knapp is able to borrow one and one-half times the assessed value of his property at a greatly reduced rate of interest, although usual custom of insurance companies is to loan not over fifty or sixty per cent. of the assessed valuation, which would make this property a proper loan for four thousand or four thousand eight hundred dollars. This may be the reason why the N. P. L. and its allied interests in Waverly have controlled Harry W. Knapp on the School Board and the Business Men's Association, and why they have apparently been able to suggest the men whom he appoints on various committees. The School Board, for instance, has selected Harry Ellis, as Treasurer. He is assistant cashier of the Bank. / The N. P. L. Policy. This is in line with the policy followed by the N. P. L. trustees who are supposed to get all the interest possible on their funds for the policy holders, but instead, deposited their moey in the First National Bank of Waverly, without interest, were they evidently derived some benefit, directly or indirectly, for themselves. The officers have taken a million dollars worth of securities belonging to the N. P. L. from New York and put them in this bank where some of them are being sold each month under the direction of Mr. Lyford to pay the expenses of salaries, etc., is that fair to the Class B policy holders? / The agents represented that the lapses in Class B enabled the Insurance Company to pay the dividend of two hundred and fifty dollars. Mr. Lyford and Mr. Howard have stated that they paid this dividend from lapses. Read the insurance report to find what the trustees are doing with this fund. / Lyford's Anxiety to Boom Waverly. After The Business Men's Association was formed and Harry W. Knapp made President, Mr. Lyford was apparently very anxious to boom Waverly. He thought it would be a fine scheme to establish a big shipping station for hay and grain and other farm produce, but it very soon developed that his project to boom Waverly was a scheme to sell either the property of the Lemon estate (belonging to his wife), or part of the Stark coal yards, which the Bank or its representatives had owned or held a mortgage on. / Mr. Lyford has sued the editor of this paper for libel. One of the things which he states in his complaint as libelous is the article we published, stating that the First National Bank of Waverly had made a loan to Mr. Higbee who was in the dry goods business on Broad Street, and that Mr. Lang and Mr. Lyford had then made an individual loan to Mr. Higbee and had a written agreement that they were to have one-third of Mr. Higbee's profits. / We will take great pleasure in cross-examining Mr. Lyford and Mr. Lang on the facts connected with this loan. / Lyford's Letter Admitting Banks Mistake. Mr. Lyford has also sued the editor of this paper for libel because of our publication in regard to the deposit of one hundred dollars to the credit of The Free Press, which was made without the pass book, and credit for which was not given to the Free Press-Record account. We were notified in writing by Cashier Lang that the Free Press-Record account was overdrawn. After receiving the notice, the editor of this paper went to Mr. Lyford and asked him if there was not some mistake. Mr. Lyford said there was no mistake-that the account was overdrawn. Our bookkeeper was then sent to the bank by the editor an upon her return, said they had told her that they did not make mistakes in that bank and they would be greatly obliged if we would make good our overdraft. After this had taken place, Mr. Winters wrote a letter to Mr. Lyford, stating that the account was not overdrawn and asking him to explain. The following is a copy of the letter: 12 Oct., 1907. First National Bank Waverly, N. Y. Gentlemen: I received your notice dated Oct. 8 that the account of the Free Press-Record was over-drawn $15.67. I immediately made an investigation of our deposits and checks and am unable to figure how you arrived at such an amount and how you made this mistake in your bookkeeping. The account was not overdrawn, but instead there was a balance. Will you kindly explain to me how this occurred and where the error was made by you? Very truly yours, (Signed). Byram L. Winters. Dict. BLW-MEC. / Within a few days after the letter was sent, we received a reply from Mr. Lyford apologizing for his mistake and saying that they were not infallible, - that they made mistakes as well as other people. We shall be glad to cross-examine Mr. Lang and Mr. Lyford about this matter. The following is a copy of Mr. Lyford's letter: First National Bank of Waverly, N. Y. F. E. Lyford, Pres. N. S. Johnson, Vice-Pres. Percy L. Lang, Cashier. 277 - October 14, 1907. Hon. Byram L. Winter, Waverly, N. Y. Dear Sir, In reference to the notice of overdraft sent you would say that instructions are given in the bookkeepers to always send a notice when an account is overdraft, and if you will read the notice you will see that is states that it is sent to obtain the pass book so that the account may be written up and the error, if any, discovered. / Our bookkeepers are not infallible, and it sometimes happens that the error is theirs and not that of the customer, although the rule is the other way. / The notice is sent to insure prompt solution of the difference in the account. I am informed that the Free press book was brought over and balanced and the error found to be ours, for which we apologise and I trust that no such error will occur again. / Mr. Ellis explained this to your bookkeeper and I trust that he did so to her entire satisfaction. Yours very truly, (Signed) F. E. Lyford, President. FEL-LCJ. / It took Mr. Lyford from Oct. 8th, the date of the notice, to Oct. 14th, six days, to find out that they had made a mistake. / The Free Press asks Mr. Lyford to explain how his books could balance and a mistake in balancing of one hundred dollars pass unnoticed for the several days that intervened. / N. P. L. Funds. For twenty years, some of the leading business and church men in Waverly have tried to justify in their conscience the obtaining of money by making poor people believe that they would return to them at the end of five years, two dollars for every dollar received, in the meantime, they have taken out over two million dollars for expenses and salaries. Any man who can bring himself to believe that such a scheme is honest and right, is susceptible to any teaching. These men knew it was wrong. The money handled by the officers of this insurance company does not belong to them. It belongs to the policy holders. They are merely the agents of the people, and they have no moral right to handle theses funds, except for the benefit of the policy holders. Insurance men should not turn the funds of the Insurance Company over to banks, without interest, for the private manipulation of the directors and stockholders of such banks in which they may be interested. What has been done with the funds of the N. P. L. in Waverly? Ask the high salaried officers of the N. P. L. / Trail of the Beast. Judge Lindsey of Denver, says that prominent members of churches, those having the highest social standing and practically controlling the churches because of large contributions, were engaged in the lowest forms of villany, dishonesty and immorality, - making and unmaking public officials at will, and keeping men in office, or defeating them only as they showed their willingness or unwillingness to do any kind of dirty political work for the machine politicians. / The danger to any community is not from the man who is openly and avowedly bad and dishonest, but from the man who poses as a pious, courteous gentleman, while he is unloading gold bridge on innocent, confiding people, on the one hand; and on the other, quietly attempting to injure anyone who fails to obey orders. / These evils are common. We are not attacking men. We are simply attacking conditions that debauch men. We are not attacking the victims of the Beast in the system, but simply trying to show the power of the Beast and the effects of the system. / "You must set the dogs of publicity upon th Beast if you wish to drive it form its burrow."

September 8, 1911 "Waverly Free Press": Miss Gertrude Slaughter Gave a Dancing Party. Miss Gertrude Slaughter entertained at a large dancing party Monday evening at Masonic Hall in honor of Miss Georgia Duhig of Tresno, Calif. The guests were received by the hostess and her mother, Mrs. S. W. Slaughter; the guest of honor and her mother, Mrs. Sarah Duhig and the hall was decorated in a color scheme of red and white, many flags and bouquets of gladioli forming the principal decorations. A cozy corner carrying out the same colors occupied one corner of the room and fruited punch, ice cream and cake were served during the evening. A program of 20 dances and 4 extras was enjoyed, a pretty novelty being a starlight waltz.

THE TRAIL OF "THE BEAST' IN WAVERLY - (front page) National Protective Legion Thrives on Poor While Its Officers Draw Fat Salaries and Live in Costly Homes. - Compare Homes of Poor Around Waverly with Luxurious Mansions of Men who Control N. P. L. --- Where Did They Get the Money to Build Such Magnificent Homes? Can Lang (202 Chemung St), Lyford (446 Pennsylvania Avenue), or Even Genung (325 Chemung St.) Explain? N.P.L Officers Get Fat Salaries From The Poor People's Money- The following are the names of the men and their princlely salaries, who are the officers of the National Protective Legion. This is the company which The Free Press has been exposing, and which the Pennsylvania Attorney General's Department is now investigating. President...George A. Scott (467 Pennsylvania Ave)...$5,400. Secretary...H. C. Lockwood (Holley, NY)...3,600. Treasurer...H. C. Bruster (155 Chemung St)...3,600. Medical Examiner... W. M. Hilton (435 Pennsylvania Ave)...3, 600. Trustee, Chairman...P. L. Lang (202 Chemung St)...1,620. Legal Advisor...Frank L Howard (475 Waverly St)...2,700. The Free Press last week began the first of a series of articles showing the damaging relations which have existed, and do exist between the National Protective Legion, the Business Men's Association, the School Board and politics in this town. This remarkable revelation told a story of unequal and unfair assessments. It described for the first time a $12,000 mortgage on Knapp's $8,000 building, showing also how Lang and other local bank clerks handle certain insurance funds. Finally it showed Postmaster Genung to be the upholder of a system that is positively killing a town that has the finest advantages in the state. / The article in this issue on "The Trail of The Beast in Waverly," should be read by every man and woman who has the interest and welfare of his home town at heart. Read the following facts about The National Protective Legion, and how it has grown upon the money which it has received from the poor people...Read about the fat salaries and the magnificent homes of the officers of the N. P. L..Then having read this astounding story of injustice ask yourselves, are these conditions right? Read this story word for word, then stop and think the matter over. Your conscience should give the right answer. / How long are we to permit men to say to merchants on Broad Street: If you advertise in the paper which exposes conditions, we will not permit you to borrow money? How long are men like George A. Scott, Percy L. Lang, Frank L. Howard, Harvey Bruster and Dr. Hilton to be permitted to draw their enormous salaries from the funds of the Class B policy holders, which were obtained upon the representation, that the policy holders would receive large sumes of money in return for these monthly payments, when they knew, they were taking the funds of the new policy holders to pay off the old ones? Some policy holders were told they would be paid two hundred and fifty dollars out of lapses and interest. There were very few lapses while the Legion paid two hundred and fifty dollars, and now there are thousands of lapses a year and they pay the policy holder forty-five dollars. They use your funds for their own large salaries. Do you think they earn them? These men walk the streets, ride in automobiles or look out of the windows, and get full pay. How long are they to be permitted to maintain the enormous expense account which they have taken from this Class B fund and which rightfully belongs to the poor, hard-working people from whom they obtained it? Read the Insurance Report which we are publishing and see what you think of these men and their salaries. Answer us, honestly, are theses things right? / How did They Get The Money? Look around Waverly and the surrounding country at the poor homes in which the people live who have paid in this money, on the representation that they would get two hundred and fifty dollars every five years, and then visit the homes of the men who have created the conditions which we are seeking to correct and who are drawing these large salaries out of the funds thus obtained. Who built the homes of these officers of the National Protective Legion? How did they get this money? The Insurance Report says the National Protective Legion literature is false and misleading. Obtaining money from poor people by misrepresentation is the lowest form of dishonesty. The report says that on blotters, fans, circulars, cards, dodgers, in the street cars and on bill boards, they advertised that they were paying two hundred and fifty dollars. When the five years was up, they hired halls and brass bands, called the members to the stage and in the presence of the audience gave them checks for two hundred and fifty dollars, in return for one hundred and twenty-five dollars received and thus deceived the people. / Do The People Know? If the majority of people in Waverly believe that such conditions are right and should prevail, then we have misjudged them. We do not believe that Waverly will sustain such men, and we believe it is our duty to tell the public what they are doing. We do not believe the people of Waverly know how the National Protective Legion and the village affairs have been conducted. / Lyford And Others Try To Silence The Free Press. We have already published how a committee, consisting of Fred E. Lyford and certain officers and trustees of the N. P. L. called upon the editor of this paper four or five years ago, when we first began to publish the report of the National Protective Legion filed at Albany by Frank Howard, and stated that if we gave publicity to the affairs of the National Protective Legion, our newspaper would be boycotted and we would be driven out of business. / Did Not Dare Make A Written Statement. We then made the offer that if they or any of them would make a written statement explaining how they could pay the $250 every five years, for $125 paid in to the society, and take out two million dollars for expenses, and sign (Continued on Last Page.)

September 11, 1911 "Waverly Free Press": Mrs. Celia Dexter and May Shipman Lewis, of Ann Arbor, Michigan, are guests of Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter.

September 15, 1911 Waverly Free Press: Mrs. J. C. Van Atta Entertained.
Mrs. J. C. Van Atta entertained informally Friday afternoon for her guest Miss Smyth of Syracuse. The rooms were prettily decorated with fall flowers and those assisting the hostess were: Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, Mrs. E. J. Campbell, Mrs. H. N. Daniell, Gertrude Slaughter, Elizabeth Moore, Dorothy Atwater and Georgia Duhig. During the afternoon, Mrs. Ellsworth Gamble and Miss Duhig were each heard in a number of beautiful songs. 449 Park Ave.

Many Waverly Young People Leave For Other Schools and Colleges. Among the Waverly young people, who have left recently for various schools and colleges are: Robert Johnson, who will take a course in Mining at the University of Missouri; Miss Margaret Tew, who returns to Mechanics Institute, Rochester, to continue her studies in Domestic Science: Frances Stevenson, who is taking an art course in interior decorating in New York City; Miss Gertrude Slaughter leaves next week to take Post Graduate course at the Emma Willard School of Troy, and Miss Mary Blood left Monday to continue her musical studies at Philadelphia.

Mr. and Mrs. Warren J. Knapp will leave the 20th for Seattle, Washington and other western cities where they will remain until Spring.

September 17, 1911 "Waverly Free Press": Miss Gertrude Slaughter leaves next week to take a post graduate course at the Emma Willard School in Troy.

September 29, 1911 "Waverly Free Press": Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Knapp, Sr., left Monday to visit their sons near Seattle, Washington and later will go to California for the winter. (Ralph and George Knapp)

Ad: P. H. Stanton - Plumbing, Hot Water, Steam, Hot Air Heating, Gas Fitting, Tin and Sheet Iron Work, Slate Roofing, Repairing in all lines. All Plumbing Fixtures are of "STANDARD" make. Every thing carried in stock for any and all work in my lines. No job too large and none to small. Prompt attention given all repair work and if you are thinking of putting in a Bath Room or Heating plant it will pay you to call and see the fixtures which I have on display. Get your furnace cleaned now while not in use. - 450 Waverly St. , Valley Phone 520-A Waverly, N. Y.

October 13, 1911 Waverly Free Press: ad. Dr. John F. Krill. Osteoopathic Physician, Graduate under the Founder, Dr. A. T. Still, at Kirksville, Mo. Office, 337 Broad Street, Hours - 9 to 12 a. m., 1:30 to 4 p. m. Other Hours by Appointment. Valley Phone 514-X Waverly, N. Y. {rented part of building of corner drug store, probably second floor)

ad. Ellsworth Gamble. Physician and Surgeon. Office. 427 Waverly St., - Residence 481 Fulton St., Waverly. Office hours, 1 to 3 and 7 - 8 p.m. Both phones, residence and office.

Beauty of Color Painting. Nice shades of color like L. & M. Tuxedo Yellow or Silver Grey, and solid trim of Olive of Shaker Green, both ornament and wear, when used by adding 3/4 of a gallon of Oil to each gallon of L. & M. colors as produced at Factory. ...

October 16, 1911 Elmira Star Gazette: Many Daughters To Go Towanda. Waverly, Oct. 16. - Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter, Mrs. A. D. Whitaker, Miss Jessie Whitaker, Mrs. F. A. Bell, Mrs. George Moore, Mrs. E. S. Hanford, Mrs. H. N. Daniell, Miss Mary Finch, Mrs. Charles Kingsbury, Mrs. W. S. Norley, Mrs. I. S. Tilton, Miss Lida Murray, Miss Mary Fairchild, Mrs. G. E. Blizzard, Mrs. A. K. Gore, Miss Jane Pratt, Mrs. Alice Dodge, Mrs. Ed. Brooks, Mrs. F. L. Howard, were the Waverly members of Tioga chapter, D. A. R., who were the guests of Mrs. George Hill at her home in Towanda Saturday afternoon when she also entertained the members of the George Clymer chapter of Towanda.

October 20, 1911 Waverly Free Press: D. A. R. Entertained at Towanda.
Members of Tioga Chapter D. A. R. from Waverly, Sayre and Athens to the number of 35 were entertained with the members of the George Clymer of Towanda, Saturday afternoon, by Mrs. George Hill of the latter place. The guests were met by autoes and taken to the beautiful home of the hostess where a musical and literary entertainment was given. A delightful social hour occupied the latter part of the afternoon. Among Waverly ladies who made the trip were: Mrs. F. A. Bell, Mrs. George Moore, Mrs. C. E. Brooks, Mrs. C. D. Kingsbury, Mrs. 1. S. Tllton, Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, Mrs. Alice Dodge, Mrs. H. N. Daniell, Mrs. E. S. Hanford, Mrs. A. K. Gore, Mrs. Richard Whitaker, Mrs. Edson Blizzard, Mrs. Frank Howard, and the Misses Jessie Whitaker, Mary Finch, Jane Pratt, Mary Fairchild and Lida Murray.

October 27, 1911 "Waverly Free Press": Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter will leave next week to visit her daughter, Gertrude at Troy, N. Y. - Womans' Missionary Society. The Woman's Missionary Society of the Presbyterian Church, will hold a rally day meeting at the church next Friday afternoon. A program on "Work in Lumber and Mining Camps" will be given with Mrs. F. W. Merriam and Mrs. S. W. Slaughter as chairmen, and the officers and a committee of ladies will serve supper. All ladies of the congregation whether members of the society or not are urged to attend.

October 27, 1911 Ithaca Daily News: Mrs. G. W. Evans and her son, Henry Evans, who have been visiting friends in this city, returned to their home (7 Athens St.) in Waverly yesterday. They were accompanied by Miss Eleanore Carey, who will make a week-end visit with friends in Pennsylvania.

November 10, 1911 Waverly Free Press: For Sale - House for sale, also Antique Mahogany China Cabinet. Inquire, 146 Chemung Street. 45p (In the year 1876, Samuel Slaughter owned this house) In 1908 John J. Smith lived here.  In 1914 Mrs. Flavilla Anneman lived at 146 Chemung St.

Rally Day Is Fitly Celebrated. The Women's Missionary Society of the Presbyterian church held a Rally Day meeting at the church Friday afternoon, which was attended by 90 ladies. The subject for the afternoon was "Work In Mining and Lumber Camps," and the following program was presented by Mrs. F. W. Merriam and Mrs. S. W. Slaughter - "The Work Among Pennsylvania Miners," Mrs. S. C. Hall; "The Miners of New Mexico," Mrs. C. C. Strong; "Lumber Camps in the Adirondacks," Mrs. A. M. Bouton; "Natives of the Adirondacks," Mrs. S. W. Slaughter; "Lumber Camps of the South West," Mrs. W. A. Stevenson; "Outline of Norman Duncan's Book, 'Higgins - A Man's Christian'," Mrs. F. W. Merriam. During the social time Mrs. C. M. Weller and Miss Jessie Weller played Liszt's composition, "Les Preludes," and Miss Pauline Hall gave the reading, "The Marriage of the Flowers, " with musical accompaniment by Miss Ruth Fish. At 5:30 a supper was served by the officers and a committee of ladies, assisted by the officers of the Girls' Mission Circle.

November 24, 1911 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Two Delightful Luncheon Parties. Mrs. P. R. Ackley and daughter, Mrs. John Bailey were hostesses at two delightful luncheons last week, one being given on Friday and the other on Saturday. The guests on the former day included, Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, Mrs. B. Baldwin, Mrs. E. Neaves, Mrs. H. W. Weeks, Mrs. Emmett Holbert, Mrs. H. W. Knapp, Mrs. Charles Wilbur, Mrs. S. W. Hall, Mrs. W. M. Hilton, Mrs. Harry Storms, Mrs. W. C. Buck, Mrs. F. C. Munn, Mrs. E. C. Brooks, Misses Lida Murray, Bessie Perkins, Mary Wilcox, Mrs. Robert Page, Athens, Mrs. Charles Leggett, Babylon, L. I. On Saturday those present were, Mrs. Grant Dodge, Mrs. John Murray, Mrs. F. A. Sawyer, Mrs. Frank Merriam, Mrs. F. M. Snook, Mrs. F. A. Bell, Mrs. John Shear, Mrs. E. Gamble, Mrs. E. Sebring, Mrs. George Moore, Mrs. W. E. Johnson, Mrs. I. P. Shepard, Mrs. E. S. Hanford, Mrs. P. L. Lang, Mrs. E. E. Walker, Mrs. F. E. Lyford, Miss Lida Murray, Miss Annie VanDuzer, Miss Mary Fairchild, Miss Carrie Mercereau, Elmira, Mrs. George Byram, Chemung, Mrs. Will Ralyea, Elmira. Henrietta Murray and Harriet Van Duzer served.

November 24, 1911 Waverly Free Press: A catalogue of the publications of Forbes and Company of Chicago, contains a picture of Fred Emerson Brooks, "The California Poet," whose boyhood was passed here, and a list of his books. Among them are "Buttered Toasts," "Picketts'' charge and Other Poems," "Old Ace". Flattering press notices are also given.

December 1, 1911 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Albert Baldwin of Cortland, was a recent visitor at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Gabriel Evans. 7 Athens st.

December 8, 1911 Waverly Free Press: Twenty Five Years Ago. Dec. 4, 1886. H. H. Sniffin, was president of the Village. Hugh Ward, age 35 years died Nov. 28. Miss Edna Purdy of Waverly, was teaching the Winter term of school at Halsey Valley. Dr. W. B. Nicol and wife, sailed from New York, Dec. 2, for Liverpool. The new Corner Drug Store will be opened by Slaughter and VanAtta Dec. 8. Lehigh Valley Engineer, John R. Kennedy of Waverly, won a horse and buggy at a raffle in Buffalo.

December 15, 1911 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Mrs. Joseph Morgan, Mrs. William Garrison, Mrs. Morris Hanford, Mrs. James Miller, Mrs. George Eisenhart, and Mrs. W. H. Mitchell were guests of Mrs. Gabriel Evans, Friday afternoon. 7 Athens St.

December 22, 1911 "Waverly Free Press": Miss Gertrude Slaughter, who is taking post graduate work at the Emma Willard School Troy, is home for a two weeks vacation.

P. O. of A. Surprised Mrs. Giltner. A number of the members of the P. O. of A. gave Mrs. Alice Giltner a surprise party Friday evening in honor of her birthday. A delicious supper was served and the guests were Mrs. Rhodes Sager, Mrs. Burt Huckle, Mrs. Joseph Morgan, Mrs. Edgar Stewart, Mrs. Guy Thomposn, Mrs. Kittie Crandall, Mrs. Flora Durham, Mrs. Luther Sabin, Mrs. W. R. Garrison, Mrs. A. Richardson, Mrs. Gabriel Evans, Mrs. Parisade Manning, Mrs. Herman Holt, Miss S. Holt and Frances Greer.

Brother Scott's "Exclusive Interview" Will Not Hold Water - Attempt to Justify Methods of National Protective Legion is Weak and Misleading--Statements Demolished by Letter From Superintendent Hotchkiss.- Legion's Benefit To Waverly Is Largely Imaginary. Co-incident with the publication of the order to the National Protective Legion issued by the State Insurance Department, in these columns last week, to refund to Classs B all moneys transferred or reverted therefrom, there appears in a local paper an "exclusive interview" generously given out by President Geo. A. Scott, in which he delcares that everything done by the Legion during the past eighteen months has been done with the approval and knowledge of Mr. Hotchkiss. It is rather unfortunate for the success of Mr. Scott's "interview" that the two articles should have appeared the same week. It makes the president's statements look a little peculiar. One might be led to question why, if Mr. Hotchkiss approved of the transfer of Class B members to another class, he should order refunded all moneys transferred. Mr. Scott states that the opinion advanced by Attorney General Carmody was the opinion of a deputy, and had not received the sanction of the Attorney General himself. He also states that "From our view point the action of the N. P. L. was legal and final determination of it will have to be made through suit by any member who felt themselves injured by the transfer." However sincere Mr. Scott may be in his belief that the transfer was legal, he has not sufficient courage of his convictions to move him to start an action to determine that legality. If the State Department is wronging Mr. Scott and his institution he is entitled to redress. Why does he not take steps in his own defence? Mr. Scott very well knows that his challenge to any member of old Class B to start suit amounts to nothing. Old Class B is too thoroughly disgusted with the National Protective Legion to spend any more money on anything connected with it. Furthermore, if Mr. Scott is convinced that his action was proper and legal, it is asking a little too much to expect the members of old Class B to set him right with the public, and spend their own money do it. Mr. Scott also states in his "exclusive interview" that "It is not likely that Mr. Carmody will take any action, since the Insurance Department recommended the transfer." If there is anyone who is for a moment deceived by this statement, we would call his attention once more to Superintendent Hotchkiss' letter, published last week in the columns of the Free Press-Record. Mr. Scott again ring the changes on the old cry "The Legion is benefitting Waverly." He uses the worn out argument that because employes of the N. P. L. have spent their money with Waverly merchants, the institution is a benefit to the town. If a gang of smooth burglars were to spend their ill gotten gold with Waverly merchants, it might benefit the town in a way; but would they be allowed to continue their operations for that reason? Granted that the N. P. L. has "benefitted" a few merchants, that does not alter the fact that it has taken from thousands of poor people money for which it has made no return. Does the town still desire to be "benefitted" when every dollar has been unjustly obtained? Is nothing to be considered but the money side of the question? With all the money spent by the N. P. L. it is more than doubtful that the Legion has benefitted the town to any great extent. The fact that the town has harbored an institution that has been declared illegal by several states will hardly help it with outsiders. The fact that the town would up hold such an institution after the spotlight of publicity has brought into startling relief its many flaws and illegalities would place the village in an undesirable light, to say the least. It is too late to attempt to whitewash the N. P. L. If the public possessed no means of information besides the statements of "Brother Scott" the farce might be carried on a little longer. As it stands, however, any attempt at justifying the methods of this organization are worse than useless.

December 29, 1911 Waverly Free Press: Gave Delightful Luncheon.
Mrs. Ellsworth Gamble gave a delightful luncheon yesterday afternoon. The house was prettily decorated with holly and poinsetta, and place cards and nut cases were in red. (481 Fulton St.)
Mrs. Kingsbury, Miss Onalee King, Miss Margie Blood and Miss Alice Lang served and the guests included Mrs. F. A. Sawyer, Mrs . F. W. Merriam, Mrs. I. G. Dodge, Mrs. E. S. Hanford, Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, Mrs. A. B. Baldwin, Mrs. John Bailey, Mrs. H. N. Daniell, Mrs. Ed. Walker, Mrs. F. A. Bell, Mrs. W. H. Jones, Mrs. C. C. Strong, Mrs. H. L. Adams, Mrs. J. C. VanAtta, Mrs. J. H. Murray, Mrs. C. F. Chafee, Mrs. L. D. Atwater, Mrs. Leon Betowski, Miss Annie VanDuzer, Miss Mary Finch, Mrs. Howard Conant, Holyoke, Mass., Mrs. Squires and Mrs. Wakeman, Hornell, Miss Mercereau and Mrs. Wiegand, Elmira, Mrs. Chas. Hall, New York City.

1912 - 1914, at 337 Broad Street, Dr. John F. Krill, osteopathic (from Don Merrill's collection) Building owned by Gertrude Slaughter, after death of her mother, Charlotte Slaughter, in July 1912. VanAtta's drug store remains on first floor.

January 5, 1912 Waverly Free Press: Prospect Valley. George Rice has been very sick with mumps for the past few days but is a little better at this writing.

Catlin Hill. Thomas Brown is working for Elbert Bowers, Owego.

Ralph Knapp Married. Relatives have received word of the marriage of Ralph Knapp, son of Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Knapp of this place, which took place at Seattle, November 4. Mr. Knapp is a Waverly High School boy, a graduate of Colgate University and at present has a large contract at Vancouver. He is one of the Waverly boys who are making good in the west and has the best wishes of his many friends here. (George Knapp's brother)

Why Not A County Sanitarium? Some time ago the village purchased the Hallet house on upper Waverly Street, for use as a pest house. Fortunately, since that time there has been no necessity of its use for the purpose for which it was purchased. But owing partly to that fortunate circumstance, the house is getting out of repair, as all houses will do when not occupied. This fact naturally suggests that some good use should be made of the building. The house is a fair sized one, and there are several vacant lots adjoining. Moreover, land in the neighborhood is very cheap, and there are some farms near at hand that could be purchased at a reasonable figure if so desired. We are suggesting the use of this pest house as a sanitarium for tubercular patients. Epidemics of small pox are few and far between, while tuberculosis we have always with us. There are several cases in Waverly at present, some of them well advanced, and some of them in the incipient stages. It is to those latter that such a sanitarium would be especially beneficial. There is no doubt among intelligent people today, that practically any case of tuberculosis can be cured, if taken in hand early enough. In cases where the dread disease has made so much progress as to be beyond the hope of a permanent cure, death may be postponed for many years, and often the patient may be restored to his earning capacity. There is in Tioga county no place, where patients suffering from the "Great White Plague" may go to be treated. Provision is made for every other malady under the sun, but for the one which carries off every year almost as many as all others combined, no provision is made. Why should not Waverly take the lead, and establish for the county a place where these sufferers may be cared for? It seems almost incredible that in this age of enlightenment so little attention has been paid to the tubercular patient. It is only within a very few years that physicians have concentrated a large part of their efforts upon the cure and prevention of the disease. But at the last time has come when consumption is no longer regarded as a dispensation of Providence, and any attempt at curing it as flying in the face of the Almighty. Waverly has on hand the sum of three hundred dollars, earned by the sale of Red Cross seals last winter. The proceeds of this season's sales will add considerably to the amount. In all probability the total amount will be sufficient to put the building in good repair. It could then be equipped, at small cost, with accommadations for a nurse and caretaker, and the necessary apparatus for a diet kitchen, etc. Tents or shacks for patients could be erected at a small cost on the adjoining vacant lots. Such an institution would be largely self supporting. Patients who could afford to pay for treatment should be charged a sum large enough to cover the cost of such treatment. For those who are unable to pay, a fund should be provided. This fund should consist of fixed amounts appropriated in each town in the county represented by patients at the sanitorium, augmented by voluntary gifts from persons interested in the enterprise. We believe there would be many of the latter, especially among those who have lost near and dear friends by the fatal disease. Moreover, since a moderate amount of work is good for tubercular patients, the stronger of the patients could with profit to themselves and the institution, assist in the necessary work of the sanitarium, and even raise many of the necessary supplies, if land were acquired for that purpose. The location of the Hallet house is good. It is high enough to be dry, and to insure good air. Waverly's excellent water supply is a strong argument for placing such an institution here. No resident physician would be necessary, as the building is so near the village that medical aid could be secured in a very short time if necessity arose. It may be argued that the tubercular patient may treat himself at his own home with beneficial results. We grant that this is possible, but not very probable, for the efficacy of any treatment depends largely upon perseverance, no matter what the odds. The person who starts out to treat himself, ordinarily allows his vigilance to relax sooner or later. If he has decided to sleep with his windows open wide, zero weather urges him to close them, and nine times out of ten he complies. The rigid routine of a sanitarium will accomplish wonders for such a patient. The matter is worth considering. Should Waverly take the lead in the movement, it would reflect much credit upon the town. This however, is of minor importance. The only thing to be considered is the benefit to suffering humanity. Shall Waverly lead?

January 12, 1912 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Knapp, Sr., and son, George, who were for a time at Seattle, Wash., are now at Los Angeles, where they will pass the winter.

January 16, 1912 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: GAVE TWO VALENTINE LUNCHEONS. Mrs. Edmund J. Neaves and Mrs. Frank E. Munn (207 Chemung St.) were the hostesses' at two valentine luncheons at the home of the latter, last week. Friday's party took the form of a thimble party, while cards were enjoyed Saturday. At both the color scheme of the decorations was red and green and hearts and valentines were used profusely. Among the guests Friday were Mrs. James Rhodes, Mrs. Andrew Slawson, Mrs. L. D. Myers, Mrs. E. D. Mixer, Mrs. John Johnson, Mrs. Oliver Lewis, Miss Harriet Lewis, Mrs. Nellie Jones, Mrs. J. F. Shoemaker, Mrs. E. W. Eaton, Mrs. J. E. Angell, Mrs. Charles Sweet, Mrs. Jud Vorhis, Mrs. Jesse Green; Mrs. B. W. Bonnell, Mrs. F. W. Genung, Mrs. C. J. Coolbaugh, Mrs. A. I. Decker, Mrs.L. E. Deforest, Mrs. R. S. Harnden, Mrs. A. R. Bunn, Mrs. J. W. Slawson, Mrs. F. W. Drake, Mrs. G. A. Scott, Mrs. Harvey Ingham, Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, Mrs. Willis Carey, Mrs. Cyrus Johnson, Mrs. Harvey Cooley, Mrs. George Connell. On Saturday the guests were Miss Lida Murray, Mrs. F . E. Hawkes, Miss Jane Pratt, Mrs. H. C. Bruster, Mrs. Charles Rogers, Mrs. I. S.Tllton, Mrs. Lizzie Bailey, Mrs. W. M. Hilton, Mrs. Eason Blizzard, Mrs. J. C. Van Atta, Mrs. E. K. Kitchen, Mrs. E. D. Sebring, Mrs. G. D. Genung, Mrs. L. Topping, Mrs. Mildred Crandell, Mrs. C. C. Strong, Mrs. W. E. Tew, Miss Cora Platt, Miss Gertrude Slaughter, Miss Mary Wilcox, Miss Jessie Whitaker, Mrs. H. M. Ferguson, Mrs. LaPette Harding, Mrs. R. D. Whitaker, Miss
Ella Atwater, Mrs. William Personius, Mrs. H. C. Kinney, Mrs. C. M. Weller, Mrs. F. H. Spencer, Mrs. William Kinney, Mrs. Clayton. Smilh, Mrs. J. H. Murray, Mrs. C. D. Kingsbury, Mrs. C. E. Brooks, Mrs. W. H. Weeks, Mrs. Charles Shipman, Mrs. E. C. French, Mrs. H. L. Garvin, Mrs. Z. B. Lormor, Mrs. D. G. Stark, Mrs. A. M. Bouton.

Taken from Cass City Chronicle p.6, website: A Thimble Party. Since sewing is again classed among the fine arts, thimble parties are much in favor for afternoon entertainments. The hostess sends her card with day and date written thereon, with a needle threaded with some gay-colored silk thrust through one corner.
After the guests have arrived and an hour or more of merry chat, with comparison of work has past, cards bearing the following words are handed to each with a pencil and the request to straighten out the seemingly unintelligible conglomeration into good words, the objects described being in common every~day use.
After a limited time, the cards are to be collected and compared with the key, which is kept secret by the hostess. No help is allowed and each guest is to work out her own problem. A dainty prize is given to the one who succeeds in transposing the most words, also a consolation prize to the one having the least. Such dainty trifles as work bags, embroidery, scissors, emery, needle eases, etc., make the most appropriate prizes. Refreshments, elaborate or simple, may be served. lces and creams frozen in molds to represent thimbles, spools, and emeries are a pretty conceit, but expensive.
Sewing Intricacies.
1. Nips - pins.
2. Radeth - thread.
3. Reasnetemap - tape measure.
4. Scossics - scissors.
5. Blimeth - thimble.
6. Eselden - needles.
7. Hopso - hoops.
8. Kucd - duck.
9. Tubnot - button.
10. Reyme - emery.
11. Witst - twlst.
12. Dbira - braid.
13. Nelin - linen.
14. Stork be daw - work basket.
15. Tonoct - cotton.
16. Evetviene - velveteen.
17. Ebinoawhe - whalebones.
19. Pcelanire - percaline.
20. To listet - stiletto.
21. Bald girl arm - darning ball.

January 26, 1912 "Waverly Free Press": Mrs. S. W. Slaughter is at Alden Springs for a short stay.

February 16, 1912 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: D. A. R. Meets With Mrs. Kellogg. Tioga Chapter D. A. R. will meet with Mrs. Charles Kellogg of Athens, Wednesday afternoon when the program will be devoted to Lincoln and Washington. Members will note the change of place.

March 1, 1912 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Wesley Parshall has sold the house No. 8 Athens Street to Burton Brink.

Mr. and Mrs. George Moffit of Portland, Ore., are guests of the latter's parents, Mr. and Mrs. Gabriel Evans. 7 Athens st.

Mrs. Arminda Evans returned last week from a two months' visit with her daughter, Mrs. Charles Heydt of New York.

Harold M. Sawyer of Scranton, was home for an over Sunday stay.

March 8, 1912 Waverly Free Press: There will be a regular meeting of the Home Mission Circle of the Presbyterian church, Monday evening, March 11 at the home of Miss Amy Van Atta on Waverly Street. As there will be special business a good attendance is desired.

March 29, 1912 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Mr. and Mrs. Geo. Moffitt, who have been visiting the latter's parents, Mr. and Mrs. Gabriel Evans, are now at Norfolk, Va. 7 Athens St.

March 31, 1912 The Telegram (Elmira, N. Y. ): For Sale - Having decided to make my home in California. I offer my place for sale at a bargain. The house is in perfect repair and has all the modern improvements. There is a large barn and a hennery to accommodate 500 chickens. Inquire J. W. Knapp, Waverly, N. Y.

April 5, 1912 Waverly Free Press: Wall Paper and Window Shades. We are now ready for the spring trade with the best selected line in the Valley, at prices CHEAPER than ever before. Call and see for yourself. All graded from 3c a roll to the HIGHEST GRADE. VANATTA'S Corner Drug Store. Prescriptions a Specialty. The Rexall STORE (2014 inflation calculator 72 cents)

POST OFFICE 100 YEARS OLD An old history of Tioga County, is authority that the post office was established in Factoryville in 1812, this making it 100 years ago that an office was organized in what is now Waverly. Isaac Shepard, a grandfather of I. Prentice Shepard was the postmaster. The post office was established in Waverly in 1849, Benjamin H. Davis first Postmaster.

Attention. PURE MAPLE SYRUP IS A RARE PRODUCT. But the users of Fred A. Wheaton's maple syrup know its superior quality is only equalled by more from the same source. For the convenience of his old customers, as well as those who want the best it has been placed on sale at the following stores: EAST WAVERLY U. E. Harding. WAVERLY Floyd Curran, ED. Rhodes SAYRE J. A. Sheddon ATHENS G. B. Van Cise, D. E. Mc Mahon. Fred A. Wheaton ULSTER, $1.25 Per Gal. PA. (2014 inflation calculator $30.20)(2017 inflation would cost 32.22)

April 5, 1912 Waverly Free Press: Justus C. Wright died at eight o'clock yesterday morning at his home No. 203 Chemung Street, after an illness of three weeks with inflammatory rheumatism. The deceased was fifty years of age and formerly resided at Oneonta, N. Y. He is survived by his widow and two daughters Miss Adalee, age 8 years and Miss Wilma, age 7 years. The deceased was a member of the order of Railway conductors, and of the I. O. O. F. at Newark Valley. A short prayer service will be held at the home at eight o'clock this evening and the body will be taken to Newark Valley Saturday morning for interment.

Postoffice 100 Years Old. An old history of Tioga County, is authority that the post office was established in Factoryville in 1812, this making it 100 years ago that an office was organized in what is now Waverly. Isaac Shepard, a grandfathet of I. Prentice Shepard was the postmaster. The post office was established in Waverly in 1849, Benjamin H. Davis first postmaster.

April 26, 1912 Waverly Free Press: Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Knapp, Sr., who have been spending the winter at Los Angeles, Cal., will return here in about three weeks.

TWENTY-FIVE YEARS AGO. April 30, 1887:

According to the annual report of B. B. Clark, there was a fall of 77 inches of snow during the past winter. The first fall was one inch on Nov. 6; the last, April 18, when ten inches was recorded. The heaviest fall in any one month was November, when 31 inches fell.

Patrick Hurley, the oldest resident of Ridgebury, died April 23, age 96 years.

Andrew A. Slawson commenced his duties as postmaster today.

The Willard House, Candor, was destroyed by fire April 26.

They were working eleven hours per day at the Hall & Lyon factory.

John C. Van Atta purchased his partner's (S. W. Slaughter) interest in the Corner Drug Store.

Miss Maria Curtis of Waverly, and J. G. Grant of Syracuse, were married April 27.

Harry W. Hallet and Miss Carrie E. Woodruff were married April 27.

Dr. Geo. M. Cady and Miss Fronia Harris of Nichols, were married April 20.

C. E. Purdy was treasurer of the Ideal Comedy Co.

May 10, 1912 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: The engagement of Miss Blanche Evans, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Gabriel Evans of Athens Street to Ernest Hoyt was announced Wednesday evening at a party given by Miss Evans. Fourteen friends of the bride were present. (Would have been 7 Athens St., octagon home owned by Charlotte Slaughter)

May 31, 1912 Waverly Free Press: Catherine Byram and Gertrude Slaughter were at Horseheads, Saturday.

June 18, 1912 Ithaca Daily News: Former Ithaca Woman 85 Years Old Writes Poem on the Titanic. Mrs. Harriet N. Ralston of Washington, D. C., well known to many of the older residents of this city, has written a poem entitled "The Sinking of the Titanic." It appeared in the Washington Post a few days after the Titanic sank off the Banks of Newfoundland, carrying with it a majority of the passengers. Mrs. Ralston lived in this city when her father, the Rev. Aaron Jackson, was pastor of the Baptist church. She is now 85 years old. Mr. Jackson was an uncle to Mrs. Mary J. Seaman of 405 North Aurora Street, and his daughter was a classmate of Jane Hardy of this city at Elmira. The poem follows: The Sinking Titanic. By Harriet N. Ralston. A brave ship sailed the northern deep Is coursed the path shere icebergs reep. No force should loose his plates of steel, Or cleave in twain its rounded keel. Yet Fate's sharp missile, deftly hurled, Transfixed it in the nether world. The life-boats swing above the wave. "Tis Ocean's quest they seek to save; The rocket's glare illumes the night, The wireless calls in dire affright; The Wrath of Doom is looming near, Yet ships can neither see nor hear! Titanic's hull is llsting low, Borne downward by its weight of woe; Yet in that hour of black despair, Of stern resolve, farewells, and prayer, The sacrifice its heroes brought. Loves Creed unto a world has taught! Scions of Chivalry - men stood In holy purpose like to God! So great are souls of those who give Their lives that helpless ones may live! So high their place on Honor's roll, Encircled by its auronle! "Nearer in Thee" - the Ship of Doom Replies not, as the waves give room; A maeistrom's prey - it whirls, it reels - Its masthead breaks on sunken keels - While floats afar Faith's melody - "Nearer, My God; Nearer to Thee!" (This was Elder Aaron Jackson who had the blacksmith shop at the site of our main house, 208 Chemung St., and his daughter, Harriet)

July 19, 1912 Waverly Free Press: Miss Rosamond Dodge (483 Cayuta Ave.) entertained Wednesday afternoon and evening in honor of her guest, Miss Ethel Gaddys of Denver, Colorado. The following young ladies from Elmira were at 6 o'clock luncheon: Ruth Clinton, Hazel Howell, Gertrude Cushing, Dorothy Bisbee and Clutha Relyea. In the evening they were joined by Elizabeth Angell, Virginia Van Atta, Mildred and Marie Case, Esther Blizard, Onaleo King, Marjorie Blood, Dorothy Atwater, Gertrude Slaughter, and Elizabeth and Agnes Moore of Waverly; Miss Sarah Ammerman of Washington; Miss Maud Thayer of Warrensburg, N.Y.; and The Misses McFadden of Philadelphia. All enjoyed a merry evening with cards, music, etc. Refreshments were served by the hostess.

July 26, 1912 Waverly Free Press: Chemung Street Must Be Paved With Macadam - Delay Of Board to Act Forfeits $9,000 State Money - Brick Pavement Would Have Cost Little More - Board Scores Street Commissioner for Work on Center Street. An adjourned meeting of the board of trustees was held on Monday evening to consider the question of the Chemung Street pavement. During the past few weeks the board has made a canvas of the property owners of the street, in order to find out what kind of pavement was desired by the majority. As a result, the greater number asked for macadam. Some of the property owners would have preferred no pavement at all, not wishing to pay the cost of curb and gutter. ... A lengthy discussion of the merits of brick and macadam followed, and O. H. Lawrence was called upon to present his views in the matter. Mr. Lawrence is a large property holder on the street, and had prepared figures showing the relative cost of the two pavements. Mr. Lawrence expressed himself in favor of the brick pavement, giving as a reason the fact that the taxpayer receives more value for his money in brick than in macadam, which would cost more to keep in repair. In the discussion it was brought out that in a few years at most it will be necessary to construct a sewer on Chemung Street, and the use of madadam would make this impossible, while with brick paving it would be a very simple matter. ... 24 feet between curbs ... The board expressed itself as in favor of brick, ...

July 27, 1912 Charlotte Wells Slaughter died.

July 29, 1912 Elmira Star Gazette: Charlotte Slaughter Dies Of Apoplexy. Waverly, July 29. - Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter, widow of the late S. W. Slaughter, died at her late home on Chemung street Saturday evening at 9:30 o'clock. For the last year she had been in ill health and a week ago suffered a stroke of apoplexy. She was a member of the Presbyterian church and was for many years a leader in church and social circles. One daughter Miss Gertrude Slaughter survives her, also two sisters, Mrs. Samuel Slaughter of Crystal Run, N. Y. and Mrs. A. F. Coleman of Goshen; two brothers, Moses Welles of Chicago and Charles Welles of Goshen. The funeral will be held at the home on Chemung street Tuesday afternoon at 2 o'clock. The Rev. Parke Richards will officiate and the interment will be in Glenwood cemetery.

July 29, 1912 Elmira Star Gazette: Elmira Contractor Will Build Church. John Cunningham to Receive $34,000 For Erecting St. James Structure. Waverly, July 29. - Saturday the Rev. James Griffin awarded the contract for building the new St. James church to Contractor John Cunningham of Elmira, his bid being $34,000. The only local builder who filed a bid was Sherman A. Genung. The dimension of the new church will be 45 x 122 feet and the material pressed brick, with white stone trim. The main entrance will be from Chemung street and there will be another entrance on Clark street. The auditorium will be 33 x 43 feet, with a ceiling 40 feet high. The seating capacity will accommodate 600 people. The plans were made by Architect Joseph H. Considine of Elmira.

Charlotte Wells Slaughter, of Waverly, N. Y. , a member of Tioga Chapter, D. A. R., of Athens, Pa., died July 27, 1912. Mrs. Slaughter was a descendant of several prominent Orange County, N.Y., pioneers and will be greatly missed, not only in Daughters of the American Revolution circles, but in the Presbyterian Church and other organizations having as an object the uplifting of her home town. Taken from page 21 of The American monthly magazine, Volume 42 By Daughters of the American Revolution

August 2, 1912 "Waverly Free Press": Charlotte Welles Slaughter- By the death of Mrs. Charlotte Welles Slaughter, which occurred Saturday evening, our village is called to mourn one of its most influential women and one whose passing will bring sorrow to a large circle of friends. Mrs. Slaughter had been in ill health for the past year and a week before her death suffered a stroke of apoplexy. She was born in Orange County in 1850 and coming here 39 years ago with her husband, the late S.W. Slaughter, has since been most active in social and religious circles. A devout member of the Presbyterian Church, she was interested in all the branches of its work, taking a particularly active interest in the Ladies' Benevolent and Missionary societies. She was also a liberal giver to all of the church's charities. Mrs. Slaughter was descended from well known Revolutionary stock and was a member of Tioga Chapter, Daughters of the American Revoltion. Her hospitality was unbounded and she was never happier than when entertaining for friends and relatives at her beautiful home on Chemung street. Surviving relatives are a daughter, Miss Gertrude of this place; two sisters, Mrs. Samuel Slaughter of Crystal Run, N.Y.; Mrs. A.F. Coleman, Goshen, and two brothers Moses Welles of Chicago, and Charles Welles of Goshen. Funeral services were conducted at the family home Tuesday afternoon at 2 o'clock by her pastor, the Rev. Parke Richards and burial was made at Glenwood. The bearers were L.D. Atwater, J.C. VanAtta, F.E.Munn, P.L. Lang, E.D. Sebring, and F.W. Merriam

August 3, 1912 Elmira Star Gazette: Slaughter Property Is Worth Large Sum. Waverly Woman's Will Disposes of $40,000 Estate. Owego , Aug. 3 - (Special) - The last will and testament of Charlotte Slaughter, late of the village of Waverly, deceased, was admitted to probate in surrogate's court yesterday and letters testamentary issued to Fred T. Sawyer of Waverly. Mrs. Slaughter left an estate valued at $40,000. (using inflation calculator for the year 2014, $954,346.38 )(2017 inflation, $1,031,193.68)

August 9, 1912 "Waverly Free Press": MRS. SLAUGHTER'S WILL ADMITTED TO PROBATE - The last will and testament of Mrs. Charlotte W. Slaughter, late of Waverly, N.Y., was admitted to probate, August 2, and letters testamentary issued to Fred A. Sawyer, of Waverly. The estate is valued at $40,000. The following are the bequests under the will, which was dated June 24, 1903, and witnessed by J. T. Sawyer and Ellsworth Gamble: First, I direct my Executor, hereinafter named, to pay all my just debts and funeral expenses.

Second.To my sister, Mary F. Coleman, $2,000, the use of the same during her life, at her death to go to her daughters, Irene T. Glover and Frances L. Haggerty. (2014 inflation calculator, $47,717.32)(2017 inflation, $51,559.68)

Third. To Clara Wells, daughter of my brother, Charles Wells, $1,000. (2014 inflation calculator, $23,858.66)(2017 inflation, $25,779.84)

Fourth. To Hattie Slaughter Smith, daughter of my sister, Kate Wells, $1,000. (2014 inflation calculator, $23,858.66)

Fifth. To Charlotte C. Glover, daughter of my niece, Irene C. Glover, $2,000, to be paid when she is 18 years old. (2014 inflation calculator, $47,717.32)

Sixth. To William A. Hurtin, Elizabeth Hurtin and Charlotte Hurtin, children of Sarah Wells Hurtin, share and share alike, $3,000. (2014 inflation calculator, $71,575.98.00 to share or $23,858.66 each)

Seventh. To Susan B. Wells of Morehead, Minn., daughter of William Wells, $1,000. (2014 inflation calculator, $23,858.66)

Eighth. To the First Prebyterian Church of Waverly, $1,500. (2014 inflation calculator, $35,787.99)(2017 inflation, $38,669.76)

Ninth. To the Presbyterian Church of Scotchtown, Orange County, N. Y., $500. (2014 inflation calculator, $11,929.33)

Tenth. All the rest and residue of my estate to my executor in trust for the care and education of my daughter, Gertrude, until she becomes 21 years of age, (April 26, 1911), at which time the whole amount remaining in his hands shall be paid to her. Should my daughter die, without children before receiving the amount coming to her. I direct that the amount remaining shall be paid share and share alike to my surviving nephews and nieces. I hereby appoint as the Executor of my last will and testament, Fred A. Sawyer, and should he be unable to conclude the execution of his trust, I appoint in his stead J. T. Sawyer, and succeeding E. E. Walker. A codicil, dated January 25, 1904, and witnessed by J. T. Sawyer and Louis J. Buley, directs that the bequests shall not be paid until six months after her daughter shall become of legal age, and gives directions as to the meaning of some of the provisions of the will, but does not change any of the bequests. (The remainder was about $28,000.00 which translates to about $668,042.47 with 2014 inflation calculator. Gertrude at 22 years of age, also inherited the property at: 208 Chemung Street which included the carriage house at current 9 Athens street; the former two family octagon rental home at 7 Athens street; the former Corner Drug Store, which at that time the bottom floor was rented out by proprietor of the drug store, John C. VanAtta, and the other two floors were being rented out to various people.)(2017inflation, $711,835.58)

Miss Gertrude Slaughter left the later part of the week for Syracuse.

August 9, 1912 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Tuesday, while excavating for the new W. C. T. U. drinking fountain, workmen found a heavy pine post 24 inches in diameter, deeply embedded in the ground, which is believed to be the stump of the Liberty Pole erected where the First National Bank now stands, when Lincoln was nominated for president. The following interesting bit of local history is recalled by the discovery. The pole, which was 125 feet high was one of the highest ever erected and was cut on the Wyncoop farm at Chemung. The site of the First National Bank was a vacant lot, and the raising was accompanied by a great demonstration and a stabbing affair which aroused the community occurred at the time. Absolom Bowman, who then resided on West Broad Street but later on Walker's Hill, was stabbed in the neck by Benjamin Saunders, and had it not been for William Stone, who stepped between the two men and was badly cut on the hand, Bowman would have been killed. Saunders was arrested and placed in the lockup, which was on the site of Van Nostran's saloon, but during the night cut his way out and escaped. Saunders lived in an old house in Factoryville on the site of the Amasa Finch residence, and after escaping from the lockup spent several days in a barn on West Hill. One night he was driven by a relative to Danby and later escaped to Canada. Afterwards he went to Kansas where he was visited by a number of relatives but never dared return here. The Waverly Advocate of August 30, 1861, gives the following account of the pole raising, which will be of interest to all those whose near relatives took part in the great struggle: The Union Meeting at Waverly. The great Union demonstration which came off at this place, on Friday last was a success beyond expectations. The farmer left his harvest, the mechanic his shop, and the professional man his musty records, to testify their devotion to the country and her institutions of freedom. At an early hour the people assembled in large numbers, and assisted in raising a splendid "Liberty Pole," painted red, white and blue. Thirteen guns announced that the national flag was floating from its peak. By four o'clock the crowd was immense, and prominent among them we observed a company of Chemung Volunteers, under command of G. W. Buck, the Factoryville Guards, under the lead of G. G. Manning, and a company of cavalry being formed in this place. Excellent martial music quickened the pulsation of every heart. Honorable Gideon O. Chase presided. Speeches were made in the afternoon by Colonel S. G. Hathaway, and Hon. A. S. Diven. It was our misfortune that we could not listen to those gentleman, but we learn they took most decided ground in favor of a vigorous prosecution of the war, and of the union of all patriotic citizens in support of the government until the rebellion should be put down, and the national authority everywhere respected and obeyed. At evening, Davis Hall was filled to its utmost capacity. Speeches were made by Wm. Smyth of the Owego Times, Elder J. J. Pierce, Hon. Lyman Truman, Rev. Geo. P. Porter, and Hon. H. A. Beebe, of the Owego Gazette. Elder Pierce, was in favor of not only having the rebellion "wiped out," but thrice plucked up by the roots, and buried beyond the reach of a possible resurrection. Hon. Lyman Truman made a characteristic speech. He was for ignoring anything like party in the present crisis. Rev. Mr. Porter, made a short speech, burning with fire and fervor of patriotism. The speech of Mr. Beebe was judicious and argumentative, and reached the judgment and consciences of the people. Many persons who came here with their ears and hearts inclining to the siren song of peace, went away satisfied that the only course which their sense of honor dictates, and which their desire for peace suggests, was to wipe out party politics, and then roll up their sleeves and wipe out rebellion. The following reolutions were adopted unanimously: Resolutions. Resolved, (in the language of the Crittenden resolutions), That the present deplorable Civil War has been forced upon the country by the disunionists of the Southern States, now in arm against constitutional government, and in arms around the capitol; that in this national emergency, banishing all feelings of mere passion, or resentment, we will recollect only our duty to the whole country; that this war is not waged on the part of the government in any spirit of oppression, or for the purpose of conquest, or for the purpose of interfering with the rights or established institutions of those states, but to defend and maintain the supremacy of the constitution, and to preserve the Union, with all the dignity, equality, and rights of the several states unimpaired; and that as soon as these objects are accomplished, the war ought to cease. Resolved, (In the language of the Binghamton Democrat) That we are for maintaining the government of the Union and the constitution so long as there is a loyal citizen, north or south, to battle with rebellion, or a dollar to furnish the sinews of war. Resolved, That we are in favor of peace, and therefore seek it in the only direction that will give honorable and enduring peace-by putting down armed rebellion, so that the union loving citizens of the south can support the constitution of their fathers, without a revolver to their ears, or a bowl knife to their throats, to drive them into rebellion. The following are the reolutions offered by Honorable Lyman Truman, amidst great applause. Resolved, That we will stand by the Union, fight for the Union, and maintain the Union, and not a grain of sand belonging to the Union shall ever be surrendered to foes abroad or rebels at home, and the union of all Union men for the sake of the Union, is the unchangeable will of all partiotic Democrats and Republicans. Resolved, That the patriotic Republicans and Democrats of Waverly are a band of brothers, in this terrible crisis of the country's history, and politicians of every hue and dye are requested to dry up until the Stars and Stripes float again in security over every portion of the Union. Resolved, That our brave soldiers who are fighting our battles, must and shall be maintained, and it is the duty of those who stay at home to pay the bills, and we will pay them in spite of the sneaking whinings of traitors, and we will pay as long as they will fight, and both will fight and pay, and pay and fight, until every Tory and Rebel in the land shall acknowledge there is a God in Israel, and bow down in reverence and obedience to the flag of the country, and acknowledge obedience to the great, indissoluble and immortal republic.

August 16, 1912 Waverly Free Press: Phillip Finch, George Knapp and Harold Watrous returned Tuesday from a camping trip near Barton.

August 23, 1912 Waverly Free Press: STATE ROAD IS NOW WELL BEGUN. Condemnation Proceedings to be instituted at Once Against Property Owners. Work upon the "hill route" from Waverly to Chemung, which was started about ten days ago, is well under way. A huge steam shovel was put to work Monday on the Shepard place, cutting down the hill, and a large force of men and teams is employed in removing the earth. The route of the new road is beautiful, and when the work is completed, persons going from Chemung to Waverly will travel over as fine a piece of road as can be found in the state. The curves are broad and sweeping, and the grade everywhere is less than five per cent. The view from almost every point of the route magnificent. The plans for the road were prepared by Division Engineer Perry Filkin. The contract was let to the John F. Dolan Co., of New York, and the construction is in charge of R. C. Kirkpatrick, Waverly-Owego engineer. The refusal of several property owners to grant a right of way is holding up the signing of the contracts, but the delay probably will not be long, and condemnation proceedings are to be begun at once. There has been much difference of opinion as to the route the new road should take, a large number being in favor of, the route through the narrows, which was abandoned when the Erie refused to build the $60,000 retaining wall necessary. A protest was made, but the state declared that the road, if built this summer, must go over the hill. The new route is likely to find favor with all.

J. W. Knapp has sold his property on Lyman Avenue to Mrs. Harry Merrill of Binghamton.

A party of young people, chaperoned by Miss Alice Lang picnicked up the Indian trail Friday afternoon.

September 13, 1912 Waverly Free Press: Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Knapp, who have sold their home on Lyman avenue (past village limits), will move to the Parsons house, Clinton avenue. 225 Clinton Ave.

Mrs. Harry Merrill and daughter of Binghamton, are here and November 1 will take possession of the J. W. Knapp property, which Mrs. Merrill recently purchased.

September 20, 1912 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Mr. and Mrs. George Moffit; who have been passing a month with the latter's parents, Mr. and Mrs. Gabriel Evans, have gone to Dallas, Texas.

J. W. Riley of Sayre, has rented the residence of Mrs. J. B. Floyd on Waverly street (456 Waverly St.), and will take possession about October 1. Mrs. Floyd will make her home with her daughter, Mrs. F. W. Merriam of Chemung street (304 Chemung St).

Members of Tioga Chapter, D. A. R., will remember that the next meeting will be held Wednesday afternoon at three o'clock with Mrs. Robert Page of Athens.

October 4, 1912 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Mrs. Gabriel Evans and son, Henry, were at Ithaca Monday consulting a doctor regarding additional skin grafting for the latter, who was so badly burned some time ago. 7 Athens st.

October 18, 1912 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Mr. and Mrs. J. C. VanAtta, and son Ronald, and Azariah VanAtta spent Sunday at Ithaca with Mrs. E. H. VanAtta.

Mrs. Gabriel Evans and daughter, Blanche, of  (7) Athens street, were in Elmira Monday.

October 25, 1912 Waverly Free Press: Lewis Westfall has commenced the erection of a house on lower Cayuta avenue. (He fell from the roof of our house to the stone sidewalk below in 1907 while painting it.)

David Munson and family, who have been residing at Flatbush, L. I., have moved to Rochester, N. Y., and Mrs. Munson, who has been the guest of her mother, Mrs. Charles Ott left Saturday for her new home. (Mrs. Munson attended George and Gertrude's wedding February 1915)

November 1, 1912 Waverly Free Press: Sayre's Benefactress Passes Away. Mrs. Cummings, Whose Gifts and Noble Works Made Her Best Loved Philanthropist, Dies at Her Home in Mauch Chunk. Mrs. Mary Packer Cummings of Mauch Chunk, Pa., passed away at her home Saturday afternoon. She had been seriously ill only a short time, though her health had been frail for several years past. Mrs. Cumming's death is a great blow to the people of Sayre, to whom she had endeared herself by her many benefactions, as well as by her kindness of heart and noble character. Her gifts to the borough have been numerous and substantial. It was she who built the beautiful Church of the Redeemer, and who recently gave $15,000 to beautify the interior and to place a new marble altar. She gave the Robert Packer mansion to be used as a hospital, besides endowing the institution generously. This is probably the most important and far reaching of her gifts, for the hospital is ranked as one of the best in this section. A short time ago she gave $25,000 for the erection of a children's ward. To the Nurses Training School she gave the Wilbur Block as an endowment. A few years' ago she erected the Coleman Memorial Parish House, in remembrance of the late Bishop Leighton Coleman, and endowed the building with $100,000. Later she gave the children's playgroung and the athletic field. Other gifts include the endowment of the Church of the Redeemer, books to the Mary Packer Cummings Public Library, furnishings for the Robert Packer Hose Rooms, and many others. Her gifts amount to half a million dollars. Besides her gifts to Sayre, Mrs. Cummings erected churches at White Haven, Slatington, Lehighton, and Mauch Chunk, and had made many other gifts to charitable institutions. Mrs. Cummings was the only surviving child of the late Judge Asa Packer, who built the Lehigh Valley Railroad and founded Lehigh University. The funeral, which will be attended by representatives from the Church of the Redeemer and the Robert Packer Hospital, as pall bearers, will be held from St. Mark's cathedral, Mauch Chunk, this afternoon, and burial will be made in the Mauch Chunk cemetery.

December 6, 1912 Waverly Free Press: Miss Gertrude Slaughter, who has been passing some time at Goshen, N. Y., has returned home.

The American Monthly Magazine. Edited by Miss Eliza Olver Denniston. 1913 (Volume 42), page 21. Charlotte Wells Slaughter, of Waverly, N. Y., a member of Tioga Chapter, D. A. R., of Athens, Pa., died July 27, 1912. Mrs. Slaughter was a descendant of several prominent Orange County, N. Y., pioneers and will be greatly missed, not only in Daughters of the American Revolution circles, but in the Presbyterian Church and other organizations having as an object the uplifting of her home town.

December 16, 1912 Elmira Star-Gazette: "Paranoiac, " Says The Wife "Suffragette," Says The Husbby. Mrs. Alice Zimmerman Brings Action For Separation - George J. Zimmerman Opens Habeas Corpus - Mother Gets Custody of Two Children. Mrs. Alice Zimmerman, who resides at 605 West Clinton street, a bookbinder by trade, has begun proceedings for separation from her husband, George J. Zimmerman, a tailor, formerly employed by the leading tailors of Elmira as a coat maker and at one time a merchant tailor with a downtown establishement. The family formerly resided at 310 DeWitt avenue. They are a well known family and Mrs. Zimmerman was Miss Alice Tubbs, a daughter of Samuel Tubbs, a well known farmer down the river road. She is a sister of Mrs. William R. Compton. The action has followed efforts of more than a year to settle family differences without getting to the public. The separation proceedings which were begun recently ended in habeas corpus proceedings which came up Saturday in supreme court before Justice Andrews in Syrucuse. Miss Julie Jenney, a Syracuse attorney appeared for Mrs. Zimmerman, with Attorney Boyd McDowell of this city who was in consultation. Mr. Zimmerman was represented by Attorney George W. O'Brien of Syracuse. Mrs. Zimmerman was successful in the case. The custody of two children, Helen Frances, aged fifteen and Karolene R. age 11 years was given to the mother pending a conclusion of the separation case which comes up in Syracuse in January. Mrs. Zimmerman says her husband earns $40 a week. Zimmerman married Miss Tubbs here in 1896. They lived on adjoining farms down the river road, Zimmerman then owning a farm down there. Their troubles date back some time and culminated in charges made in court by the wife that the husband in a paranoic and religious fanatic, and by the husband that the wife is a suffragette to the point of neglecting her children and her home. The wife's counter claim is that she was forced to leave her home and work to support the family when the husband would make them live on salt pork. She has worked a great deal in the local book binderies. An incident which has romantic features occurred about a year ago in this city, resulted in the family moving to Syracuse. One day he took the younger daughter out for a walk. He told her that they would ride to Corning on the E. C.& W. and that he would buy her a pony. They arrived in Corning and the father told his daughter that he couldn't get the pony there so they would have to come back to Elmira. The boarded a train and after riding some time the father lamented that they had boarded the wrong train and were in Buffalo. He said it was too late to get a train back so they would have to stay overnight. Takes Child To Convent. He took the child to a convent, which she supposed was a hotel. In the morning the father made no appearance. The child waited and cried for him to return. But he did not. He had paid her tuition and returned to Elmira. The frantic mother was greeted by the explanation from the husband that he had put Kerolene where she would never hear from her again. He finally said that if she would move with him to Syracuse she might find the child there. Mrs. Zimmerman consulted with her relatives and decided to move to Syracuse. They did so. This was before last Christmas. The late William R. Compton, United States marshal, Mrs. Zimmerman's brother-in-law, interested himself in the case and learned that the child was in a Buffalo convent. Unbeknown to the father, Mrs. Zimmerman telegraphed the sisters in the convent to send the child to her, which they did willingly on Christmas day. Mrs. Zimmerman was separated from the child for three weeks, during which she was almost frantic and part of the time could not learn Kerolene's whereabouts. When Mr. Compton found the little girl in the convent the child was broken hearted. She thought she had been deserted and never would see her mother again. It is alleged that a few weeks ago, in October, Zimmerman tried again to steal the child away from a parochial school which she was attending in Syracuse. Mrs. Zimmerman consulted Miss Jenney, her attorney, and Miss Jenney had Zimmerman arrested. He was convicted, fined $50 and put under bonds to keep the peace. In the meantime Attorney McDowell and the relatives have been trying to effect a quiet separation and settlement, which they were unable to bring about. The day before Thanksgiving, Mrs. Zimmerman took her children, left her husband in Syracuse, came to Elmira and started separation proceedings. The husband brought a habeas corpus demanding that the children be brought into court in Syracuse. In the course of the arguments for the possession of the children pending the separation, much of the couple's affairs came out. The father declared that the mother had become affiliated with the suffragettes in the American Women's League, and that since that time she had neglected her children. He said that prior to their marriage she had said that she was going to join his church bu that since then she had condemned the church to his children and was bringing them up without any religious training. The mother denied all his claims and said that she never even mentioned religious affairs to her children and that at present they were members of the church referred to. Attorney O'Brien said that the couple were married in Elmira, January 8th, 1896. He said that prior to that time Zimmerman had told her that he could not marry her because of their religious differences, but that she had declared that she would join his church and that, therefore, the contract was entered into. He claimed that much of the trouble between the couple resulted from the influence that Mrs. Rose Tubbs, of Elmira had over her daughter. He said that Mrs. Tubbs had interfered with the domestic affairs of the couple and that on one occasion about five years ago Zimmerman had refused to allow his wife's mother and sister to live in the same house with him. His wife insisted that "her family had been insulted." Mr. O'Brien said that Zimmerman thought if he could change his place of residence to Syracuse, bringing the children with him, he could get them away from what he termed the "evil influence" of their grandmother, his mother-in-law. He said and that the children and then wife were brought here. Threatens To Burn Bible. His wife received pamphlets concerning religious affairs, he alleges, and showed them to the children. Furthermore, he claims, she refused to have religious pictures on the walls and often hid them. When he threatened to burn up the pamphlets which she received he says that she in turn threatened to burn up the family Bible and prayer books. He claims much to the alleged neglect to the suffragette cause and says that Mrs. Zimmerman attempted to poison her children's mind against him. On Thanksgiving day morning, Mr. O'Brien said Zimmerman asked his wife to purchase a chicken for the dinner. He went to work. When had had returned his wife had departed, taking the children with her. She began a proceedings for separation and alimony upon the same day. Throughout the recital of her alleged misdeeds, Mrs. Zimmerman remained defiant. It remained for her own attorney to bring tears to her eyes by mentioning a time shortly before the couple came to Syracuse, when it is alleged that father went out with his child and she did not see the child again until after she had moved to Syracuse. Mrs. Zimmerman, through her attorney, denied each allegation made by her husband. She declared that she had never mentioned religious matters to the children. She claimed that she had left his home in Elmira to secure work and had neglected her children was false. She said that the work was forced upon her because of the fact that he had only parially supported her. Said He Shot At Her Father. She denied everything and alleged that Zimmerman was possessed of an ungovernable temper. She said that one time shortly after the marriage had occurred that his temper ran riot and that he had taken a shot at her father. She said that she had been forced to live on salt pork and potatoes for weeks at a time and that it was such a condition that drove her to work. Miss Jenney startled everyone in the court room by declaring that Zimmerman was a paranoic. "A paranoic?" asked Justice Andrews incredulously. Miss Jenney then exhibited a doctor's certificate in which it was declared that upon a partial examination a physician had determined that Zimmerman had exhibited signs of unsoundness. Miss Jenney went on to tell that Zimmerman had been arraigned before Judge Shove in police court and that he had been fined $50 as the result of a quarrel which he had with his wife. She cited an incident in connection with his arrest and said that it was sufficient to disprove all of his statements. Mr. O'Brien jumped to his feet and said that he could explain whatever had happened. We went on to discuss the alleged kidnapping of the child by the father and said that it was actuated by a desire to better the condition of the children. He said that they were running about the street half clad and half starved. "He lied to her," called Miss Jenney loudly and Mrs. Zimmerman broke into tears. Talke With The Children. Justice Andrews smiled and asked if Mr. Zimmerman was in the court room. Mr. O'Brien pointed him out and the Justice asked him to stand up. He then asked if the children were there, and was told that they were. "I want to talk to them, " he said. Helen, the oldest, neatly dressed and unembarrassed walked across the court room and conversed with Justice Andrews in whispers. Then he called for the younger girl, Korolene. He told her to lean over near him and he conversed with her for five minutes. When he told the children that they could go, the younger ran across the room and threw herself into her mother's arms. "Ofcourse I will not take these children away from their mother," Justice Andrews said easily. "I will hear the separation proceedings in February. In the meantime the children will be in the custody of the mother." Mr. Zimmerman's attorney protested that it was a long time and that the father was willing that the children be placed in some institution. He wanted them away from the influence of their grandmother, he said. "Oh, well, its only a little over a month," said Justice Andrews, "there won't be much harm done in that time. The children have both told me that they wish to return to Elmira with their mother. If you are ready your case can be the first on the February term." "We're ready now," called out Miss Jenney, and everyone in the court room smiled. Justice Andrews said that he would deny a motion for alimony and counfees until the trial of the action in February. (Thomas Brook's granddaughter and great grandchildren)

January 10, 1913 Waverly Free Press: William Huckle and Thomas Keeler attended the New York Poultry show last week.

Mrs. Gabriel Evans entertained six friends at dinner Wednesday at her home on (7) Athens street.

STEAL WAVERLY MAN'S POULTRY AT NEW YORK SHOW. In spite of the fact that the many benches of valuable fowls are carefully watched, the chicken thief was at work. Monday or Tuesday morning at the Madison Square Garden Poultry Show. A very valuable Silver Campine pullet, the property of Thomas Keeler of Waverly, mysteriously disappeared from its coup, where it had been placed securely, as he supposed, for the night. Every effort was made by the association and every class in the exhibition was closely inspected but the bird was not found. Mr. Keeler had a number of exhibits at the show, all valuable birds lately imported from England, among them some Crystal Palace winners for 1912. The missing pullet had been selected and pronounced one of the best of its class ever imported. It cost Mr. Keeler $50 in Europe, not including the price of transportation. Mr. Keeler was offered large sums for some of his birds at the garden. He has made a great study of the Campine fowl, and being in close touch with the most prominent breeders and exhibitors in Europe, secures the best pedigreed stock obtainable, and for the past six years has specialized in breeding this wonderful "egg machine."

January 15, 1913 Cornell News Vol. XV No. 15: '03, LL. B. - Edgar D. Sebring has been appointed village attorney of Waverly, N. Y.

January 17, 1913 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Notice To Creditors. Pursuant to an order of Hon. George F. Andrews, Surrogate of the County of Tioga, notice is hereby given, according to law, to all persons having claims against Charlotte W. Slaughter, late of the Village of Waverly, in the County of Tioga, deceased, that they are required to present the same with the vouchers thereof, to the undersigned. Fred A. Sawyer, as Executor of the last will and testament of the said deceased, at the Citizens Bank of Waverly, N. Y., at Waverly, in said county, on or before the 10th day of February, 1913. Dated Owego, N. Y., August 2, 1912. Fred A. Sawyer as Executor, Frederick E. Hawkes, Executor's Attorney, Waverly, N. Y.

January 24, 1913 Waverly Free Press: TWENTY-FIVE YEARS AGO. January 28, 1888. ...A. S. Eccleston opened a glove factory in the A. V. C. Vail building, Elizabeth street. The Campbell block (town clock block) was sold at foreclosure sale, January 24. It was bid in by Calvin Parsons of Parsons, Pa. Consideration $15,000.

March 14, 1913 Waverly Free Press: The funeral of Mrs. Minnie Quick, who died Thursday at the home of her nephew, Clayton Dunning, of Sunbright, Tenn., was held Sunday afternoon at the home of her niece, Mrs. Charles Tuthill. Rev. J. E. Miles officiated and burial was in Forest Home cemetery. Mrs. Quick was the widow of James Quick, and a number of years ago conducted a private school at her home on Athens street. She was a devout member of the Baptist church, and until her health failed, one of its most earnest workers. (This was the larger home that covered the lands of current day 3 and 5 Athens St.)

March 28, 1913 Waverly Free Press: Mr. and Mrs. Harry Knapp returned Sunday from a trip to the Pacific coast. Considerable time was spent at Los Angeles and at Seattle, Wash., where they were the guests of Mr. Knapp's brother, Ralph, formerly of this village.

April 4, 1913 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Mrs. F. A. Sawyer is visiting relatives in Goshen and New York.

Miss Gertrude Slaughter is passing a few days at Goshen and New York.

Mrs. Gabriel Evans was called to Knoxville, Pa., the latter part of last week, by the death of her father.

Mrs. G. Evans has returned home after being called to Knoxville, Pa., by the death of her father, Henry Hobart, who was 93 years old.

Mr. and Mrs. E. C. Van Atta are home from a visit at Scranton. They were accompanied by their niece, Helen Spencer, who will remain with them for some time.

Aid Society Chooses Officers. The annual meeting of the Baptist Ladie's Aid Society was held Tuesday afternoon. Mrs. W. E. Garrison was re-elected president, Mrs. Arthur Harris, secretary; Mrs. Harry Thompson, treasurer. Vice presidents were elected as follows: Mrs. H. R. Cronk, Mrs. James Miller, Mrs. W. L. Tuthill, Mrs. Alida Young, Mrs. J. Morgan, Mrs. Wm. Bellis, Mrs. Ed. Barden, Mrs. Charles Roe, Mrs. G. Evans, Mrs. A. Stevens, Mrs. P. Nelson, Mrs. Emra Northrup, Mrs. A. C. Quick.

April 4, 1913 Elmira Star Gazette: A prayer service over the remains of Samuel Evans will be held at the Vunk undertaking rooms at Elmira Heights, Saturday at 10 a.m., the Rev. F. M. Windnagle to officiate. The remains will be removed at 12:12 p.m. over the Erie Railroad to Waverly where the funeral will be held at the residence of Henry Evans. Burial will be in Waverly instead of at Horseheads as was first announced. (In 1914, there was Henry G. Evans at 7 Athens st. and also Henry L. Evans at 122 Moore st., so not sure which Henry Evans this is referring to.)

April 13, 1913 The Elmira Telegram: Automobile for sale cheap. 1912 Oakland 40 horse power, newly painted and over-hauled a beautiful car for $900.00, cost $1,800.00 new. Demonstration at any time. Don't fail to see this car. George B. Knapp, Waverly, N. Y.

April 25, 1913 Waverly Free Press: An Interesting Fact About Tioga Street. The proposed paving of Park avenue calls to mind a fact which perhaps is not generally known, especially to the youngest people of the village. This is the fact that Tioga street extends from Waverly street to Pennsylvania avenue, instead of from Waverly street to the park, as is now recognized. A petition was presented to the commissioners Octoer 13, 1851 to extend Tioga street from Athens street to Pennsylvania avenue, and to lay out a new street from Broad street to intersect Tioga street and to be known as Meadow street (now Park avenue). The commissioners met on October 15, two days after the presentation of the petition, at the store of Fordham & Perkins to consider the matter. Both petitions were granted and recorded on October 17, 1851. The commissioners were Squire Whitaker, Joel Sawyer and Shalor Shipman. Silas Fordham was clerk.

May 27, 1913 Azariah J. VanAtta died.

May 30, 1913 "Waverly Free Press": AZARlAH J. VANATTA HAS PASSED AWAY
Aged Resident Dies at His Home on Pennsylvania Avenue. Was Former Architect and Contractor.
The death of Azariah J. Van Atta, one of the oldest and most prominent residents of Waverly, occurred at his home, 441 Pennsylvania avenue, Wednesday night about nine o'clock. The funeral was held yesterday afternoon at 2:30 from the residence, Rev. Parke Richards officiating, and burial was made in Forest Home cemetery.
Azariah J. Van Atta was born at Barton on December 15, 1827. His parents were John W. and Elizabeth Albright Van Atta, and he was the ninth child in a family of eleven children. The family originally came from Rockburg, Warren county, about 1827. Mr. Van Atta was married in 1850 to Miss Carlista Ames of Danby, and moved at once to Waverly, where he has lived ever since.
On May 1, 1867, Mr. Van Atta joined Waverly Lodge 407 F. & A. M., and in 1871 was chosen Worthy Master of that body. He was the oldest living Past Master of the lodge. Besides being a member of the Masonic lodge here, he was a member of St. Omer's Commandery Knights Templar, of Elmlra.
Mr. Van Atta was one of the most highly respected of Waverly's residents, and up to a few years ago, when his advanced age compelled him to abandon his more active pursuits, he was active in the affairs of the community. By occupation he was an architect and contractor. Among the buildings in Waverly which he designed and built are the Shipman building, the Merriam block, the building occupied by Simon Zausmer, the town clock block, the Slaughter residence, the Methodist Episcopal church and the old Baptist church. After the building of the water works plant he gave up his work as an architect, and from that time until a few years ago he was superintendent of the water works. In his later years, though unable to follow the strenuous life he had lived so long, he still retained much of his vitality, and never lost his interest in anything that pertained to Waverly.
He is survived by two sons: John C. Van Atta and E. Clair Van Atta, both of Waverly; and a daughter-in-law, Mrs. E. H. Van Atta of Ithaca.

Harris Murray Estate Is Sold To Edward J. Ball Of Boston. Will Divide Property Into Building Lots, Lay Out Streets and Sewers, and Build Many Houses. Another real estate transaction of great importance to Waverly is the purchase of the Harris Murray estate, consisting of 28 acres, by Edward J. Ball of Boston. Mr. Ball will at once begin the improvement of the property, and will erect a large number of houses. The estate which is one of the largest individual estates here is valued at $28,000. It consists of 21 acres of land on the east side of Pennsylvania avenue between the Lackawanna Railroad tracks and Division street, also about seven acres on Bradford street near Pennsylvania avenue. The old Murray homestead on Bradford street is also sold to Mr. Ball. The residence, which is built of stone, and commonly called by the village people, "The Old Stone House," was built in 1821 by Harris Murray and rebuilt in 1855 by John H. Murray, Sr. The property was purchased in 1821 by Harris Murray at the rate of $10 per acre, and is at present valued at $1,000 per acre. The stone house is one of the oldest buildings in the State and is Waverly's oldest building and landmark. It is Mr. Ball's plan to divide this property into building lots and construct homes which will be placed on the market for rent or sale. Streets will be constructed through the property, pipes laid, several trees planted and the place improved in every respect. Mr. Ball has been in town this week making plans to begin the laying out of the property and the letting of contracts for the construction of the houses. It is expected that the work will be completed by fall, opening up to the people of this place several beautiful homes and a large amount of valuable property. Mr. Ball will spare no trouble in making this one of the most beautiful places in the valley. Things are indeed looking up for Waverly. The work upon the proposed buildings, streets and sewers, together with the work upon the Quaker Oat building, will make a busy, prosperous time for the village.

June 6, 1913 Waverly Free Press: The Home Mission Circle of the Presbyterian church, will meet with Miss Gertrude Slaughter on Monday evening, June 9.

W. R. Stebbins has purchased the Azariah Van Atta residence on (441) Pennsylvania avenue. (

Mrs. Ed. H. Van Atta of Ithaca, and her daughter, Miss Virginia Van Atta, were in town last week to attend the funeral of the late Azariah J. Van Atta.

CROWDS WITNESS MEMORIAL DAY PARADE - Day Is Full of Attractions. Many See Wild West Show and Keystone Park Also Draws Crowds. The weather man, who for a week had been playing all sorts of tricks upon helpless mortals, relented on Memorial day, and as if to make amends for his former annoyances, furnished a day without a flaw. It was just sunny enough, just warm enough, and just cool enough so that the sunshine was welcome. From early in the morning until late at night, the streets of Waverly were thronged. Every neighboring village was well represented, and every age, from the tiny babe in arms to the tottering steps of old age, was in evidence. Thousands witnessed the Memorial Day procession. The parade was led by the Boy Scouts, with their fife and drum corps. The school children followed, and the rest of the line was made up of the members of the G. A. R. , the Sons of Veterans, and the P. O. S. of A. Only 19 of the old soldiers marched, carriages and automobiles carrying the rest. After the decorating of the graves at Forest Home, the procession marched to the Baptist church, where a very able address was delivered by the Rev. John Knox of Painted Post. Prayer was offered by the Rev. Alanson J. Tilden, chaplain of the G. A. R., and a male quartette sang several patriotic songs. There was plenty going on, aside from the real business of the day. At two o'clock in the morning Young Buffalo's Wild West pulled in at the station, and a large number of citizens rose early in order to see the circus unload and the tents go up. At half past ten the long parade started from the show grounds. It was an excellent parade, including many features of historical interest, such as the twenty ox team, the emigrant wagons, the Deadwood coach, etc. The show drew a very large crowd, the managers stating that business was better here than in any other place they had played since starting out. Keystone Park, which opened that day, also drew large crowds. Service on the street car lines was doubled, and all the attractions at the popular resort did a flourishing business. The home talent minstrel show, put on by George Swartwood, was a pronounced success. The show is running all this week.

June 13, 1913 Waverly Free Press: The Home Mission Circle of the Presbyterian church met on Monday evening with Miss Gertrude Slaughter.

June 20, 1913 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Cynthia Farnham Gore. Cynthia Farnham Gore, wife of Major W. H. H. Gore, died at their home on (406) Welles avenue (Athens, PA) Monday afternoon about 3:45 o'clock after a short illness, aged 76 years and four months. She was a daughter of Leol Farnham, and was born in Owego, N. Y., March 16, 1837. She was married to Major Gore over 53 years ago and they have lived in Towanda, Sheshequin, and Athens ever since, excepting about three years, when the Major was serving in the army. She was a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution, and an honorary member of the Athens Library Club. She leaves beside her husband, a son, Harry W. Gore of Marlboro, Md., and a daughter, Mrs. M. L. Kilmer of Buffalo, N. Y. The funeral was held yesterday afternoon from her late home at 10:30 o'clock and her remains were taken to Sheshequin, where interment was made, Rev. F. L. Payson officiating. (Harry Gore lived at 7 Athens street around 1887)

Mr. and Mrs. M. L. Kilmer and son, Stanley, of Buffalo, were in Athens this week, where they were called by the death of Mrs. Kilmer's mother, Mrs. W. H. H. Gore.

The last will and testament of Azariah Van Atta, late of Waverly, was admitted to probate and letters testamentary granted E. Clair Van Atta and John C. Van Atta of Waverly. Estate valued at $4,500. (What cost $4,500 in 1913 would cost $113,290.32 in 2017)

July 18, 1913 "Waverly Free Press": The following people have aided the work of the bureau by giving the services of their automobiles, by donations of money and of clothing: Mrs. J.W. Knapp, Charles Roe, Miss Gertrude Slaughter, Mrs. J. T. Sawyer, Mrs. Sarah P. Elmer, Ei Barton Hall, Prof. P. C. Meserve, The Sunshine Club, Miss Elmer.

July 31, 1913 The Binghamton Press: The Rounds reunion was held at Casino Park Tuesday. Ninety-two were present at the dinner table in the Casino building. At the business meeting held immediatley after the dinner George Rounds of Sayre, Pa., was elected president in place of J. D. Rounds of Binghamton, resigned, afterward elected vice-president. David H. Plough of Brooklyn was elected second vice-president. Mrs. Nellie Rounds Brooks of Hallstead, Pa., was elected secretary to succeed Mrs. Frederike Rounds Zimmer of Union, resigned; Mrs. F. A. Sawyer of Waverly was re-elected historian. She gave a very interesting report of her research into the history of the family, showing conclusively that four of the ancestors bearing the Rounds name served in the Revolutionary War. Harry C. Rounds of Brooklyn, Tobias Plough of Tracy Creek and George Rounds of Sayre, Pa., gave short, interesting talks. From out of town were David H. Plough, wife and son of Brooklyn, Harry C. Rounds and wife of Brooklyn; L.S. Rounds, wife and daughter, of Albany; M.S. Rounds, wife, son and daughter, of Wayland; David G. Rounds and wife, Sayre, Pa.; George Rounds and two daughters, Sayre, Pa.; Fred Brooks and wife, Hallstead; Mrs. F. A. Sawyer, Waverly. The meeting adjourned subject to the call of the president. (Mrs. F. A. Sawyer gave Gertrude Slaughter and George Knapp their engagement party)

August 15, 1913 Waverly Free Press: ENJOY PICNIC AT SHEPARD'S GROVE -
A number of Waverly people enjoyed a picnic at Shepard's Grove on the new state road last Friday given in honor of former residents who are visiting here. Those present were., Mr. and Mrs. L. D. Atwater, Mr. and Mrs. C. C. Strong, Miss Ella Atwater, Mrs. C. M. Weller, Mr. and. Mrs. E. S. Hanford, Mr. and Mrs. H. N. Daniell, Mr. and Mrs. F. A. Sawyer, Mr. and Mrs. Seward Baldwin, Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Angell, Miss Jessie Angell, Mr. and Mrs. H. W. Knapp, Mr. and Mrs. J. C. VanAtta, Miss Bessie Perkins, E. J. Perkins, Mr. and Mrs. W. H. W. Jones, Miss Annie VanDuzer, Mrs. J. H. Murray, Miss Lida, Murray, Miss Gertrude Slaughter, Mrs. J. B. Bailey, I. P. Shepard, George Knapp, Rev. E. J. Hopper, Mrs. George Grant and Sherman Grant of Akron, O., Mrs. Sarah Duhig and Miss Georgia Duhig of New York, Mr. and Mrs. Frank Wolfe, and Miss Ruth Wolfe of Scranton, Mr. and Mrs. H. C. Thatcher of Detroit, Mich., Miss Ellen Lemon of Ithaca, Mrs. George Byram of Cleveland, O., Mr. and Mrs. J. F. Hallstead of Goshen.

September 12, 1913 "Waverly Free Press": WAVERLY-CHEMUNG ROAD IS OPEN TO TRAVEL. The new state highway from Waverly to Chemung was opened for travel Saturday. The road was constructed by the John F. Dolan Company of New York, and all the wagons, machinery and other equipment has been shipped from here. The Italians who worked on the road left last week. It is said by one of the state officials, who was here that the view from this road is excelled by only one other state road in New York.

Gabriel Evans, who has just finished a large contract at Clyde, N. Y., is now at Geneva installing a mill.

September 19, 1913 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Dr. Thomas Evans. Word was received in Waverly yesterday of the death of Dr. Thomas Evans, who died at his home in Oneonta, N. Y., Wednesday. The funeral will be held this afternoon and burial will be made in that city. The deceased is survived by his widow and several children, and was well known here, as he had frequently visited his brother, Gabriel Evans of (7) Athens street.

September 26, 1913 "Waverly Free Press": Miss Gertrude Slaughter and Miss Cornelia Grant autoed to Binghamton, Wednesday.

Dr. H. S. Fish is moving his offices from his residence at the corner of Wilbur avenue and Hospital Place to the office rooms over Ike Samuel's jewelry store on Lockhart street. Dr. Fish has sold his home to the Packer Hospital, to be used as a home for nurses. The terms of the agreement are that he is to vacate on Oct. 1. He will before that time move his office and he will store his household goods in the Carey building. One week after moving Dr. Fish, his wife and daughter, will go to New York City, where apartments will be rented. From that time until Jan. 1 of next year Dr. Fish will study at the New York Post Graduate College and will visit the different hospitals in New York. About January 1 the family will return and Dr. Fish will then continue the pracitce of medicine here and will reside until next spring at the home of his mother, Mrs. Anna D. Fish in Waverly. Dr. Fish's mother and sister will spend the winter in Florida. In the spring Dr. Fish will have a bungalow erected on the outskirts of the town, but inside the borough limits.

October 3, 1913 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: AD - Rest While You Wait! The W.C.T.U. REST ROOM is a place for rest and relaxation. Anyone will be heartily welcomed here Farmers with their wives and families are especially invited to stop here during their leisure hours in Waverly. Here you will find the latest and best Books, Papers, Periodicals and Magazines to help you while away hours that might be spent less profitably elsewhere. And You Boys Here is your chance for AMUSEMENT that helps to develop your minds along the line of your own good mother's training. Here you'll find the "Youths' Companion", the "American Boy" and the "Boys Companion", together with the Popular Magazines. COME!________ W. C. T. U. REST ROOM Waverly Street, Waverly, N. Y. Open until nine o'clock in the evening.

October 24, 1913 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Mrs. E. C. Hart and Mrs. Gabriel Evans are at Atlantic City this week attending the International convention of the P. O. of A.

Booze Club Included Minister. It was a Private Organization Formed in Waverly, but Two of Its Members "Hit the Sawdust Trail" and Are Now Looking for the Third - Quits Pastorate and Will Leave Hornell. (From the Elmira Advertiser.) An astounding story is told in connection with some recent developments in Sayre and Hornell. Since the Stough revival has been in progress in Sayre two of the best known men in Waverly, one of them a well known publisher and the other a large coal merchant, have been converted and have hit the sawdust trail. One of these men on Sunday afternoon at Doctor Stough's meeting for men made a talk from the platform in which he made reference to a certain Presbyterian minister, who he claimed had been living the life of a hypocrite. He said that he was going to have it out with this minister and he would see that he did just what he had done, hit the sawdust trail and get-down on his marrow bones and pray for forgiveness for his sins. These two Waverly men tell a story that when this same minister was at the head of a church in Waverly the three of them, at the solicitation of the minister, formed a private booze party. The minister made the proposition that they would not drink in public, nor alone, but that any two of them could drink together at the home of either member of the Booze Club. This is only one part of the doings that went on, in which the minister was a leading spirit. True to their promise that they would have it out with the minister, the two Waverly men took a train for Hornell early Monday morning and when they arrived there they went to the home of the Rev. P. R. Ross, pastor of the First Presbyterian Church, whose sudden resignation of his pastoral charge on the day before greatly shocked that city. It is reported that Dr. Ross will go to Binghamton to reside and that he will withdraw from the ministry. Dr. Ross fought the coming of Dr. Stough to Hornell and his congregation remained out of the campaign in that city. Later, it is reported, he exerted his influence on the Waverly Presbyterian Church to get it to remain out of the Stough campaign in the valley, which it has done officially, being the only Protestant Church in that section that is not co-operating in the campaign in a body, although many of its members are strong supporters of the campaign.

Will Print Testimony. The Free Press-Record will shortly begin the publication of the testimony in the First National Bank and Lyford cases on appeal. The testimony of F. E. Lyford, P. L. Lang, I. G. Dodge, Harry Ellis and F. S. Nicholson will make interesting readings.

November 7, 1913 "Waverly Free Press": Mrs. John Taylor of Asbury Park, wife of the late Rev. J. L. Taylor, a former pastor of the First Presbyterian church, was the guest of Miss Gertrude Slaughter last week.

November 28, 1913 "Waverly Free Press": (picture) THE QUAKER OATS BUILDING AT EAST WAVERLY. This is an illustration of one of the many large warehouses maintained by the Quaker Oats Company at points best adapted for the quick distribution of its products. In this respect Waverly offers splendid facilities. The plant located in Waverly through the efforts of the Chamber of Commerce. The Quaker Oats Company is famous the world over for its cereal products. Offices and mills are maintained by the Quaker Oats Company in England, Canada, Germany, France, Austria, Australia, South Africa, and India, and agents in China, Japan, Philippines, Hawaiian islands and nearly all the countries of South America and the West Indian Islands. Certainly no stronger indorsemnet can be given Waverly as an industrial center than the fact that an institution of international reputation has seen fit to locate one of its warehouses at Waverly. For the purpose of assisting in the finding of new homes for concerns that have outgrown their present quarters or that contemplate moving because of other reasons, and to assist new industries in the way of suggesting new locations, arranging for side-track facilities, etc., the Lackawanna Railroad maintains an Industrial Department, and upon request, will gladly furnish information as to vacant buildings and sites along its line. WAVERLY CHAMBER OF COMMERCE. John H. Murray, Secretary.

Ed. Van Atta moved Monday from Cayuta avenue to North Chemung street. - Mrs. E. H. Van Atta and daughter Virginia, of Ithaca, were Thanksgiving guests in town.

December 5, 1913 Waverly Free Press: Gabriel Evans is recovering from a severe attack of typhoid fever.

Mrs. George E. Moffat of Dallas, Texas, came here Wednesday night to visit her parents, Mr. and Mrs. G. Evans. Mr. Moffatt accompanied her as far as New York.

December 12, 1913 Waverly Free Press: ad. Dr. J. F. Krill, Osteopath. (Graduate under the Founder.) 337 Broad Street. Both Phones. Waverly, N. Y. (rented part of building, probably on second floor of corner drug store) {He also advertised in the years, 1911, 1912 and 1914}

December 14, 1913 Elmira Telegram: Old Landmark. Erie House Barn On Way From Waverly To Towanda Burned. Waverly, N. Y., Dec. 13 - The old Erie House barn on Loder street, here, was destroyed by fire. A large amount of hay and straw caused the fire to burn rapidly and when the firemen arrived the flames were beyond control. Proprietor Foster was sleeping when the alarm was sounded, and when he arrived his two-year-old colt was still in the barn. The firemen kept a steady stream of water on the stable, and as soon as possible the colt was rescued. The halter rope had been burned in two, where it was fastened to the manger. The intelligent animal had laid down in the straw on the bottom of the stall, and apparently was none the worse for the experience. Mr. Foster and every one present supposed the animal was dead. Six little pigs, two days old, refused to follow their mother, and were found huddled in a corner, dead. Two hogs, five six-weeks-old pigs and a quantity of grain were saved. Mr. Foster, who owned the contents of the barn, said that when he sold his team a short time ago, he had let his insurance expire. The barn belonged to the Powers estate and was one of the oldest buildings in Waverly, and years ago used to be the shelter and stopping place of the old-time stage coaches en route from Elmira to Towanda. In after years it was a rendezvous of many a gang of roisterers and formed a shelter while they imbibed from the social "can" of beer. Several years ago a murder was committed in the barn when a gang of tramps shot one of their number and then made their escape. The motive of the crime was never learned. Of late years the barn has lapsed into the respectability of old age. While the firemen were fighting the fire, Tuesday morning, a fast Erie freight train cut the hose in two places and before it could be stopped four cars had passed over it.

1914 Directory: 5 Athens st. Mrs. Ida L. Chandler, Ira Chandler. (1914 map shows one larger home at 3 and 5 Athens st. with most of the home on current day 5 Athens st. Ira Chandler was brother-in-law to Iva Chandler. Iva was daughter of Ida. Ida Chandler was mother-in-law to Ira Chandler) At 7 Athens st. (octagon home owned by Gertrude Slaughter) Gabriel W. Evans and D. Earle Harding. 9 Athens st. carriage house of Gertrude Slaughter at 208 Chemung st.) At 4 Athens st. George M. Page. 6 Athens st. Mrs. Julis Haas. 8 Athens st. Burton L. Brink.

January 11, 1914 The Telegram, Elmira, N. Y.: Sleighride Accident. A happy party of Elmira Business Institute students and friends en route in a bob sleigh to Big Flats Friday night, are counting themselves lucky for the miraculous escape from serious injury when the vehicle being caught in a drift opposite Cleveland avenue on West Water street , overturned. Miss Leona Moyer, of No. 615 West Water street, suffered a wrenched arm. Most of the young people were thrown out. The king bolt on the vehicle broke, freeing the horses, who were caught after running a few feet. The party later took an E. W. & C. car to Big Flats, where they held an enjoyable evening at Masonic Hall. The lucky ones who escaped injury included: Misses Margaret Murphy, May Leonard, Genevieve King, Elizabeth Hough, Florence Hill, Loretta Buckley, Francis Ten Broeck, Marion Goode, Elizabeth Carpenter, William Osborne, Theodore Kelly, Ernest Sweet, Douglas Mylen, Thomas Mack, John Ryan, George Knapp.

Janurary 23, 1914 Waverly Free Press: The old Finch wagon shop next to the Cayuta hose building collapsed Friday night about midnight. The building was one of the oldest in Waverly and was located on the old Factoryville road before Waverly was in existence.

February 6, 1914 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: A Brief History Of The National Protective Legion. (Continued from Page 1.) executive committee is responsible for this management, which included a gambling scheme, false and fraudulent representations, "robbing Peter to pay Paul," in order to catch the new members. The members of the Executive Committee in Waverly were, Percy Lang, George Scott, and others who are set forth in another place. Frank L. Howard was attorney for them. When the attention of the postal authorities and the Insurance Department was called to this, the condemnations which they received were lengthy and severe. Then the management signed a written contract with the government at Washington, to stop these excessive and improper payments. The government compelled them to reduce their fraudulent dividends. They cut their dividend to $113. When they did this, George A. Scott, the president of the society, hired the Loomis Opera House in Waverly, advertised the meeting extensively, and announced to the public that the Legion was in better condition financially than it had ever been, and that within a short time, they would be paying larger dividends than ever before. They published this in the Legion's paper and in our postmaster's "Sun." What was the object of this meeting and these announcements? As simple as it was clever. It was to keep the old Class B policy holders in the Legion, who had only two more years to pay, - in other words, to get $48 from every one of them, by making them believe that they would get $113 or more. The scheme worked. Most of them who had paid three years, stayed in, but when the two years passed the N. P. L. had again greatly reduced the dividend, and now they are paying two dollars and seventy cents ($2.70) to the poor men and women who were led to believe they would get two hundred and fifty dollars ($250). They have sold the building for thirty-four thousand dollars, and the expense fund had borrowed it, although it belongs to the old Class B policy holders. The Insurance Department or Attorney-General should take action to preserve this money for the rightful owners. They have no right to use it for other purposes. The reports show that in some western cities, Mr. Scott hired brass bands when they were to have a payoff. Upon the arrival of Mr. Scott's train, great crowds were gathered at the station, the bands were playing, and boys were carrying banners through the crowd, showing that the N. P. L. was paying $250 to each policy holder who had belonged five years and had paid in $125. Insurance reports show that this was merely a scheme to fool the public and get new members, whose money they used to make these improper payments to the older members. Assistant United States Attorney Generals claimed that the N. P. L. was a gambling scheme; that it was a lottery; that is was fraudulent, because it was taking one man's money to pay another. Who are the men behind it? They paid each man every five years twice what he invested, took out hundreds of thousands of dollars, each year, for expenses, and kept hundreds of thousands of dollars, without interest, in the First National Bank of Waverly, in which many of the trustees of the N. P. L. were stockholders. Do the men connected with the N. P. L. want the public to believe that they had some legitimate, unknown and magical method by which they could turn one dollar into two, and then make it earn another dollar for expenses? They had to take that one dollar paid in, and an additional dollar and hand it back to each policy holder five years later, and then they had to have another dollar for expenses of the officers, trustees, managers, etc. Expert insurance examiners have told us, that the officers, trustees and management of the N. P. L. have taken out about four million dollars for salaries and expenses. We call upon the officers of the N. P. L. and the banker for an analysis and explanation of how they handled this fund. It is due the public that they explain how they made these payments. The insurance report says that the purchase and sale of all the bonds of the National Protective Legion were made by Percy L. Lang, the chairman of the financial committee of the N. P. L. and cashier of the First National Bank, and that the securities then on hand were worth one hundred thousand dollars less than Mr. Lang paid for them. The reports of the N. P. L. show that in the re-sale of these same bonds, there was another heavy, additional loss to the Legion. Therefore, the officials of the N. P. L. cannot claim that they made any profit from legitimate investments. The warning which we received when we first came to Waverly and bought the Free Press, the Owego Daily Record and the Tioga County Record, was that we had better keep still about the N. P. L., or we would be boycotted, ruined and driven out of town, or words to that effect. Frederic E. Lyford made this threat to Mr. Winters personally, because he said they were bringing lots of money into Waverly and loaning it to the merchants, and doing lots of good, that they had a great many policy holders in the county and the valley who would resent any publicity on the part of the Free Press. We would like to have Lang and Lyford explain that demand; what they meant by it, and what they have done since to aid in the carrying out of that threat, mabe about six years ago. We are not asking this explanation on behalf of the Free Press; we are asking it on behalf of the public. These gentlemen came to the Free Press and made this demand of a newspaper which is supposed to give the news to the public. We have repeatedly offered them the columns of the Free Press to publish any signed statement they desire to make, of their connection with the N. P. L., its finances, methods and management, showing how they used the money to make these payments. Surely, no banker or public man should be connected with a Legion which is taking funds from thousands of people as the N. P. L. had done, without being willing at all times to make a perfectly free and frank statement of its management, showing just how it did the trick, of paying two dollars for one. It should be made for publication. There appears in the expense account, a large bill, for services rendered by an attorney who was state senator, and, in Ohio, there was a bill rendered by a leading political lawyer for many thousands of dollars. Will these men explain the nature of the services rendered by these lawyers and politicians? The public has a right to know what the money was used for and what services were rendered for it. Attorney General Carmody rendered a decision, that the action of the N. P. L. in transferring old Class B to another class of membership, was illegal. This was in 1911. On August 10, 1909, George A. Scott, the national president, wrote a letter to each of the district managers, instructing them to enroll a thousand new names in the N. P. L., before the next annual convention. They were to do so regardless of payments. The home office was to pay the examination and other fees and expenses, among other things, he said: "The changes which have been effected in the organization during the past two years make it important that our delegates assembled shall be buoyed with hope, to the end that they may view the condition of society optimistically. If you could enroll a thousand or more new members during the month, it will, to my mind, tend to pass certain amendments very needful to the future of the Legion. I am going to advise and urge that the bars be let down, and that all who shall be induced to enter, regardless of payments and fees. I am going to advise you still further that you take chances upon the continuation of their membership beyond those that you have taken, that they will stay with us after they have once joined." What do you think of Mr. Scott's method of increasing the membership of the N. P. L., in order to get the delegates to vote increased expenses at the annual convention? It is a clever scheme to enroll a lot of men as members, simply for the sake of fooling the delegates. They even drew out of home office the money to pay the expenses to put these fake members on the list. If it is not wrong, then a law should be passed, without delay, making such schemes a crime. The expense account has always been very important with the officials of the N. P. L. The report of January, 1912, shows that the Legion ran behind for three months, $258,518.44. Other reports show that they ran behind as high as a million dollars in about one year. While the finances of the N. P. L. seem to be getting worse, Mr. Scott manages to continue to draw a pretty large salary for such a man, and his expense account is the envy of every fellow who would like to take a joy ride. At the beginning of the Legion, the trustees, or authors, made some clever contracts with the Legion for themselves. There was no criticism. The organization or its men controlled the postmaster and his newspaper and one of the banks in town. Therefore, they could do as they pleased. The postmaster got a large amount of printing and advertising from them. At that time, Percy L. Lang received a salary of $1,620 per year from the Legion, and "$5.00 per day, additional, when working." He also got a salary from the bank. Explain why Mr. Lang should draw $1,620 for the time he does not work, and $5.00 for every day that he does work. We shall be glad to publish it in the Free Press. All the trustees, organizers and authors were drawing big salaries, and some of them had big expense accounts. There was another contract, which provided that the organizers, who called themselves authors, should receive for themselves one dollar from every member who joined the N. P. L. That looks so small that it escaped notice (Continued on Page Seven.) [Continued from page 4.] The Legion had 288,000 members when we began to expose the officers and trustees. These fellows had a nice, private snap, which they did not want the Free Press to disturb. "What's the odds? What difference does it make if every poor man who joins the Legion gives these good fellows in Waverly one dollar of his money? Who would know the difference if the Free Press would only keep still?" What a nice thing it would be for Waverly. We have drawn some cartoons, which we are publishing that may to some extent throw light upon the history of this organization and its management. One shows the N. P. L. kicked out of Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Virginia, Illinois and Ohio. This is only a short review of what has been going on in Waverly for the past twenty years. We want the public to judge whether we are justified in calling attention to the N. P. L. and what the men back of it have stood for in this town. If their theories of honesty in business are correct, then the Free Press is mistaken. While these men have been conducting this gambling scheme called the N. P. L., some men have been busy in other directions, the result of which is shown most clearly in the Higbee agreement, the Conrad Land & Water Company, the Big Lost River Irrigation Company, the New York Central Realty letters, the Arcadian Lands investment Company, the Waverly Board of Fire Underwriters prior to Jan. 2, 1911, and the Interlocking of the directors and trustees of the N. P. L. with the stockholders and directors of the First National Bank. Some of these schemes have taken thousands of dollars out of Waverly and the valley, and made some very sad and poor homes. Some of these worthless securities have been recommended by a banker and two of his attorneys; others, by a bond salesman, who is his close friend. Many thousands of dollars have been lost to innocent people. What do you think of the connection of these men with the Legion? Should bankers and prominent citizens promote schemes like the N. P. L., the Arcadian Lands Investment Company and the New York Central Realty Company? We ask Lyford, Lang, Howard and Scott to make an explanation of their connection with the N. P. L. during the many years they practically directed, controlled and managed it. Lang is a nephew of Lyford. We have offered them the columns of the Free Press many times for the purpose of explanation, and we feel quite sure they will have no difficulty in explaining their views in any way they may desire through the columns of the "Sun."

February 1914 Elmira Star Gazette: Experienced Milliner wants position, best references, city preferred. Address 7 Athens St., Waverly, N.Y.

May 8, 1914 Waverly Free Press: Mrs. F. A. Sawyer and Miss Gertrude Slaughter are expected home today from New York.

May 15, 1914 Waverly Free Press: W. C. T. U. The W. C. T. U. held a very well attended meeting Wednesday afternoon at the rest room. Devotional exercises were conducted by Mrs. Knapp, the evangelistic superintendent. Mrs. Tozer read a letter from our national vice president, Miss Anna A. Gordon, in response to our letter of sympathy at the loss of the national president, Mrs. Stevens. The meeting was then given in charge of Mrs. Gabriel Evans, whose subject was "The Lure of Luxury." She stated that the report of those who do rescue work among the fallen women in the "red light" districts of the great cities find that nine-tenths of them were baited to their downfall by the lure of fine clothes, jewels and things to make them look pretty. The "Lure of Luxury" is the unfailing bait with which the white slave trader sets his fiendish trap. It is a subject serious enough to set any mother thinking. A most interesting article was read by Mrs. Thomas and several other members contributed to the program. All were urged to attend the annual spring institute to be held in Richford, May 28. Entertainment over night will be free, giving all opportunity to hear our state president, Mrs. Boole which is always a treat.

Last week Dailey Brothers of Owego sold touring cars to Wheeler Stedman of Owego and to Harry Knapp and Mrs. George Fish of Waverly.

May 22, 1914 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: OLD RESIDENT WRITES OF FORMER DAYS. G. F. Edgecomb, Now Florida Resident, Recalls Many Interesting Things. This office is in receipt of the following letter, written by G. F. Edgecomb, a former Waverlyite, who now resides in Florida and who will be remembered by many here: Thonotosassa, Fla., May 13, 1914. To the Waverly Free Press and Tioga County Record. Mr. Editor: I received a copy of your paper a few days since announcing the death of Charles W. Sweet. I always liked him. He was agreeable, pleasant and had a smile on his face that wouldn't rub off. In your fire notes you gave a list of ex-Chiefs that have passed away. I knew all of them, except C. W. Jones. I didn't know that Ed. E. Walker and Charlie Sliney were dead. Reading of the fire department there, set me thinking of the Fourth of July celebrations in Waverly. The first I remember was held at the corner of Chemung and Waverly streets. The center of attraction seemed to be the old Clairmont House, which stood on the ground where the Methodist church now stands. My father George G. Edgecomb, at that time was lumbering on Dean Creek and brought a two horse load of mill hands and their families to the celebration. Two men, "Og Grey and "Ed" Hyatt working for Corey Lyons on Shepard's Creek, had broken a bull to drive to a dump cart. We passed them on the way down. They had the whole outfit trimmed with laurel blossoms (which makes me remember that laurel blossoms and Fourth of July came about the same time). When they arrived at the hotel. "Bill" Stone asked Hyatt if he would take some of the ladies out riding. His reply was, he would as soon as his horse rested a little. I was born in 1849. That year the Erie R. R. laid its tracks into Waverly. Being small and living up there in the woods, my greatest desire was to see the cars and locomotives, and I took a walk down that way. There was about two houses south of the hotel, beyond were wheat fields, both sides of the road, it seemed as high as the fences turning yellow, and waving. Beyond those wheat fields in the distance, were two brick buildings, which I learned after, were the Snyder House (Hotel Warford) and the Davis block, (now the Exchange block). I think both are standing yet. The next celebration I call to mind was on Broad street. Waverly had invited several fire companies from other towns, the "Red Rovers" of Elmira being one, a company composed wholly of Irish. They and the "Neptunes" had a trial throwing water. They took it from a cistern under the street in front of the Davis block and tried to put it to the top of the Liberty pole on the corner where the First National bank now stands. The Rovers shot their stream over the top, but the Neptunes didn't quite get there. They gave the Rovers the cheers, but Absalom Bowman would not have it that way. He called for the cheers for the Waverly boys, and I remember the heavy, long drawn out T-i-g-e-r he gave afterward. That day, I took a walk to the foot of Loder street, front of the old Waverly bank to see the cars. I stood on a knoll at the right hand corner. While standing there a fight took place across the tracks in front of the Bradford House. That knoll I stood on was there the last time I was in Waverly at the corner of a saloon. The next celebration I think was in '76. The management set out to let every body have a good time. No one was arrested except for fighting. If they got too full to navigate, they would put them in a box car, to sober off. When they got so they could walk they would go back and begin where they left off. That was a great day for young "Cap" Powers kept saying so. Waverly is a beautiful town, nicely situated, with plenty of fine shade. I have four sisters living there and if it wasn't in the cold frozen north I would like to end my days there. But here we don't have your long tedious winters nor the extreme heat of summer. They seem long though, about 14 months. We hardly get out of one before another commences, but considering all climates, I think I will remain here a while. Yours G. F. EDGECOMB.

May 22, 1914 Waverly Free Press: Mrs. David Munson of Rochester, is the guest of her mother, Mrs. Charles Ott. (Mrs. David Munson attended Gertrude's and George's wedding in February 1915. There was a David Munson in Rochester about this time period who was a lawyer. Mrs. Ott was in the Polyhymnia club and the Missionary society of Presbyterian church with Gertrude's mother, Charlotte Slaughter.)

May 29, 1914 "Waverly Free Press": MISS SLAUGHTER ENGAGED TO MR. GEORGE KNAPP
Mrs. F. A. Sawyer (416 Chemung st) entertained at an elaborate four course luncheon at 1 o'clock Wednesday at her home on Chemung street. The function was given to announce the engagement of Miss Gertrude Slaughter to George Knapp and was one of the prettiest ever given in town. The color scheme was in pink, the centre piece being of lilies of the valley and pink honeysuckle, while bouquets of pink carnations at each end of the table added to the beauty of the decorations. The place cards were pink butterflies, which had the appearance of flying as they, rested on the glasses at each plate. On one side of the cards were the guests' names while on the other were the names of the guest of honor and her fiance. The ice cream, cakes and bonbons carried out the pink scheme of decoration. As soon as the announcement was made the guest of honor was heartily congratulated for both she and Mr. Knapp are among the most popular of Waverly's young people. 

Following the luncheon bridge was played: The guests were Miss Dorothy Atwater, Miss Elizabeth Moore, Miss Agnes Moore, Miss Margaret Tew, Miss Barbara Lawrence, Miss Maria Case, Miss Flora Milne, Miss Eleanor Crum, Mrs. E. D. Sebring, Mrs. F. H. Spencer, Mrs. W. S. Hall, Mrs. Robert Fish, Mrs.Franklin Pierce, and Miss Clara Bolich of Sayre.

Auxiliary Of Hospital Holds Annual Meeting. The Ladie's Auxiliary of the People's hospital held its annual meeting at the home of Mrs. N. P. Hunter in Sayre Monday afternoon. Officers were chosen as follows for the coming year: President, Mrs. F. K. Harris, of Athens; First Vice President, Mrs. M. C. Hunter, of Sayre; Second Vice President, Mrs. Daniel Clarey, of Sayre; Third Vice President, Mrs. Sison, of Sayre; Corresponding Secretary, Mrs. Kraus, of Sayre; Financial Secretary, Mrs. Carpenter, of Sayre; Treasurer, Miss Gertrude Slaughter, of Waverly. Reports showed $536 to have been raised during the last year. The Auxiliary has maintained a free bed in the hospital, has bought dishes for the organization to use when entertaining and has $230 left which will be applied on the cost of the X-ray outfit. Refreshments were served by the hostess, Mrs. Hunter, and the wives of the physicians at the hospital.

THOMAS KEELER IS WAVERLY CAMPINE KING. One of the Campine headquarters in America today is the home of Thomas Keeler, the Campine specialist of (29) Lyman avenue, Waverly. Mr. Keeler was among the first to import and breed these wonderful layers in this country, and believes they out-class all other breeds in numbers of large white eggs. Mr. Keeler specializes, having egg records dating back for the last sixteen years, and keeps a pedigree of his birds by toe punching chicks and recording them from his best layers. In importing he gets the best birds obtainable. There is an increasing demand for his stock and eggs, from Maine to British Columbia. Many of his finest specimens bring long prices. Both Mr. and Mrs. Keeler are enthusiastic Campinists and constantly with their birds, which are of the finest strain of Silver Campines in America. (The name T Keeler and the year 1897 is written twice on one of our basement walls, room that contains the cistern. It is written on concrete that was laid over brick. He repainted the house in that year of 1897.)

"THE IRON TEAKETTLE" IS NEARLY COMPLETED. The "Iron Teakettle," the new tea house in the pine grove at the west end of town, is practically completed, and will soon be opened to the public. The "Teakettle" is located in an ideal spot, and the view from the balcony in the rear cannot be excelled anywhere. The tall pine trees, the velvet green of the grass, the glimpses of the river, wood and hill, form a scene of surpassing beauty, and to take a meal from that balcony would be like partaking of nectar and ambrosia in fairyland. The inside of the tea house is finished rough, and stained in green. A fireplace ornaments one end of the dining room, and will make it cozy on cool or dampy days. The whole place is attractive in the extreme.

June 5, 1914 "Waverly Free Press": George Knapp was at Rochester Memorial Day.

Miss Gertrude Slaughter and Miss Cassie Miller passed the week end in Rochester.

A son, which has been named Joel Robinson Davis, was born to Mr. and Mrs. E. Corning Davis of Schenectady, May 29. Mrs. Davis was formerly Miss Blanche Robinson, of Waverly.

Mrs. Mary Willard of Elmira, is the guest of Miss Gertrude Slaughter.

Decorator David Lougher, of this place, has been given the contract to decorate the new St. Lucy's Catholic church at Syracuse. Mr. Lougher had competitors from New York and Boston but his sketches were considered the best and he secured the contract. He also has the contract to decorate the Catholic church at Churchville, N. Y.

June 19, 1914 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: A Brief History of the Waverly Methodist Church. Many Pleasant Memories Cluster Round Edifice Soon to be Torn Down. As the present M. E. church is soon to be torn down perhaps a short history of the buildings built here by the Methodists will be of interest. The greater part of the article is taken from writings of Joseph E. Hallett, who for years was among the active members of the church. One of the earliest of the meeting places of the Methodists in Waverly was in a little plank school house at the forks of North Chemung street and Cayuta avenue, on the property now owned by Mrs. S. Maloy. The congregation soon became so large that it was decided to build a chapel. Thursday, December 10, 1840, was a red letter day to the Methodists in this vicinity, who now numbered about a hundred, for at 2 o'clock in the afternoon one of the greatest and happiest events of their lives occurred. A pretty white church stood proudly on a knoll in the western outskirts of Factoryville on what is now known as Ithaca street. A broad hospitable porch extended across its entire front while within, after passing through an ample hall, where flights of stairs led to the galleries and class rooms above, one entered a neat and comfortable audience room. This pretty church, called Fletcher Chapel, had cost $3,000. The interior was in keeping with the exterior. What if it was heated by two box stoves and pipes that encircled three sides? This was for comfort. When one entered his pew he shut the door and turned the button and lo, every man's pew was his castle. The long galleries which extended on three sides were perhaps a place for more fun sometimes than piety even though the east gallery was intended for the boys and the opposite one for the girls, while the choir held possession of the center. A tuning fork was the only instrument heard there for many years. One day the tiniest of melodeons found its way there mysteriously and since it was there the congregation decided it might as well be used. After this innovation had become an old story and people had become accustomed to it, a bass viol slid in beside it. This caused a little more commotion, but it stayed. The first trustees of Fletcher Chapel were Gilbert H. Hallett, Luther Stone, Philip Finch, Joseph E. Hallett, Frederick and Alpheus H. Tozer. The Methodists organized their own Sunday school May 30th, 1841. Peter Wentz was the superintendent; Philip Finch, first assistant; Luther Stone, second superintendent; Joseph E. Hallett, secretary and librarian with five teachers and thirty-three pupils and a library of 250 volumes. In 1849 the school had increased to twenty-four teachers and one hundred and seventeen pupils. The membership increased so that in 1853 forty of its Waverly members were set aside as a new class to meet in Waverly in the school room of Miss Lois Wells on Waverly street. Charles Harsh was appointed leader, an office he held till death released him. Twenty-three years had elapsed since Fletcher Chapel had been dedicated. After the advent of the Erie Railroad buiness people had drifted a little to the west and Waverly was now no longer a hamlet of two hundred people but a thriving village. The old chapel seeming just a little inconvenient, trustees and members decided that westward the chapel must take its way and a committee was appointed to secure a lot in Waverly for this purpose. A plot of land on Waverly street, opposite where Elizabeth street now opens, was selected and immediate preparations were made for building. Horatio Clark was then the pastor. On February 27th, 1864, was held the last quarterly meeting in the old Fletcher Chapel, and although a handsomer church was soon to claim its members, yet sad hearts and tearful eyes testified to the loving memories felt for the dear old home that had gathered within its hallowed walls so many years. The melodeon which Mr. Hallett mentions was played by the Hallet girls, and the bass viol by William Finch, who was one of the best musicians in the locality. Among the choir leaders were Joseph Hallett, Gershom Pennell and William Brooks, father of Harry Brooks of the Elmira Telegram. The Fletcher Chapel stood on the lot on Ithaca street now owned by the Lydia Maxwell estate. It was sold at auction when it was decided to build a new church, bought by Allen LaMonte, and forms a part of the First Baptist church at the corner of Lincoln avenue and Tioga street. The new church on Waverly street was dedicated March 17, 1864, by Bishop James and the week following the 13th session of the Wyoming Conference was held there. The church at this time numbered 250 members. The new building was larger and more commodious than Fletcher Chapel, had an organ and was painted a drab color. On the 24th of December, 1865 just as the communion services were drawing to a close, the building was destroyed by fire. In a few hours the Methodists were homeless, but not friendless, for Presbyterians and Baptists came forward offering their places of worship. The building destroyed had cost $8,000. Plans at once were made for a new building and the very next day a meeting was held at Leander Walker's office. $5,000 was subscribed. In the meantime the Ladie's Aid Society had been working and plans were made for a festival to be held in the old Davis hall. This was so well attended that $460 was raised. There was an insurance on the church and organ of $600 and after paying debts, etc., the trustees had $3,400 to add to the money just raised. It was resolved to sell the old lot and to purchase one more nearly central on the corner of Waverly and Chemung streets. The corner stone of the new church, the one now soon to be torn down, was laid June 15, 1866. Dr. Bristol of Binghamton, conducted the services and delivered the address, his subject being, "Economy of Church Building-Christ the Head and Corner Stone." A collection of $400 was taken. The church was dedicated to the services of God, April 4th, 1867, by Rev. H. Mattison, of Jersey City, who delivered the first address in the morning followed by B. M. Ives in the evening. The pastors and their years of service in this church are: Henry Wheeler, 1867; William B. Whitaker, 1868, '69, '70; Luther W. Peck, '71 and Dr. William Olin, '72, '73; Samuel F. Brown, '74; De Witt C. Olmstead, '75, '76; George R. Hair, '77, '78, '79; Albert Smally, '80, '81, '82; Samuel Moore, '83, '84, '85; James Woodruff, '86, '87, '88; Willis Thorpe, '89. Later pastors have been, C. M. Surdam, J. W. Nicholson, M. S. Godshall, II. B. Cook, W. J. Hill, R. L. Clarke and the present pastor Rev. George Connell.

June 26, 1914 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Gave Two Parties At Iron Kettle: Mrs. Robert Fish entertained Monday and Tuesday afternoons at the Iron Kettle. Pretty score cards were given the guests and a two-course super was served. The guests on Monday were: Mrs. R. W. Whitaker, Miss Jessie Whitaker, Mrs. E. S. Hanford, Mrs. Carl Merrill, Mrs. Philip Finch, Mrs. G. F. Fish, Mrs. F. H. Spencer, Mrs. H. E. Peck, Mrs. Will Bouton, Mrs. Ralph Bouton, Mrs. W. S. Hall, Mrs. Bruce Roff, Mrs. Hart Seely, Miss Ruth Watson, Miss Elizabeth Moore, Miss Agnes Moore, Miss Gertrude Slaughter, Mrs. C. F. Chaffee, Miss Jane Pratt, Mrs. F. E. Hawkes, Mrs. F. A. Sawyer, Miss Lida Fassett of Franklin, Pa., Miss McCoy of South Bend, Ind., Mrs. Robert Lange of Allentown, Pa., Mrs. Luther Adams of Pittsburgh. On Tuesday the guests were: Mrs. W. E. Tew, Mrs. E. D. Sebring, Mrs. E. Clair VanAtta, Mrs. T. P. Snook, Mrs. H. C. Watrous, Mrs. A. M. Bouton, Mrs. L. D. Atwater, Mrs. J. C. VanAtta, Mrs. C. H. Wilbur, Mrs. W. M. Hilton, Miss Ruth Fish, Miss Alice Fish, Mrs. H. E. Ellis, Mrs. Ami Kinney, Miss Cassie Miller, Mrs. Dayton Handrick, Miss Kidder of Wilkes Barre, and Mrs. VanAttta of Ithaca.

Grammar School Commencement. The high school auditorium was bright with daisies and buttercups Monday afternoon when seventy members of the grammar school held their commencement exercises. ... The 70 members of the class are as follows: Montgomery Brown, Ray Bruster, Edward Hopson, Leslie Merrill, Ethel Harding, Mabel Hoxsie, Lucile Ryon (honor), Laura Weld, Marjorie Cardwell, Henrietta Wolf, Fay Albee, John Dunlea, Arthur Harding, J. Gray Hilton, Miles Landon, William Lougher, Harley Munn, Harry Munn, Samuel Underland, Ernest Walker, Ellsworth Whitley, Edmund Baxter (honor), Garry Coleman, Henry Crandall, James Dunlea, Henry Evans, Frederic Fahey, Paul L. Gillan, Leon Hall, Lewis Hastings, James Kennedy (honor), Kenneth Lord (honor), Gerald L. Lyons (honor), John H. Murray, Harold Rider, Harold Shafer, Frederick Slater, Treadwell Smith, Ahral Sutton, Robert Thompson, Paul Titus, Harold Wilkinson, Frederick Marvin, Louis Lynch, Lillis Besley, Amanda Cole, Elizabeth Corcoran, Mildred Cronkwrite, Marjorie Doan, Marguerite Drobnyk, Marion Eliis, Eva Flanagan, Mildred Garrabratn, Myra Hall, Charlotte Harding, Alice Henson, Laura Hoxsie, Gertrude Kinney, Ethel Kipp, Ruth Pike, Helen Roberts, Pearl Seacord, Bernice Shappee, Mildred Tappan, Eloise Updike, Gladys Walch, Mae Weed, Ruth Weller, Laura Carpenter.... The class history, written by Ruth Pike, contained these interesting facts. The class entered the grammar school in September 1912, 30 coming from the Lincoln street, 32 from the Grove school. Eleven were left over from the preceding year, and of this number 70 graduated.... Fourteen have not been absent or tardy this year: They are Paul Gillan, Leon Hall, Edmund Baxter, Henry Evans, Lewis Hastings, James Kennedy, Harold Rider, Frederick Slater, Lillis Besley, Marguerite Drobnyk, Laura Hoxie, Ruth Pike, Pearl Seacord, Eloise Updike. John Murray and Gerald Lyons passed 100% in Regents in history; Frederick Fahey and Paul Gillan 90%. Paul Gillan aged 12 is the youngest graduate, Gladys Walsh, the youngest girl.... Superintendent Meserve in his address said this was the largest class yet graduated from the grammar school and was quite unusual as the village is not growing much. There were also more boys than girls, and he greatly doubted if this were the case in any other grammar school in the state.

How Scott Attempted To "Sell Out" The N. P. L. - The Story of a Deal That Hotchkiss Foiled---Order to Close the Natioanl Protective Legion Still Pending--- A Word About Assessments.- The recent decision of the Board of Pardons, which refused to release Beaman and Cowell, the officers of the Keystone Guard found guilty of conspiracy to defraud the policy holders of the organization, calls to mind the fact but that for a single happening, the circumstance might have been repeated in Waverly. We refer to the plan on the part of George A. Scott, president of the National Protective Legion, to turn the Legion over to another company. None of the policy holders ever knew of this attempt. The knowledge has been in the possession of the Free Press-Record for a long time, but the time has never before seemed just right to use it. A little more than two years ago it became evident to Mr. Scott that a crash was inevitable. The Legion was running behind every month, and matters were in a desperate state. Mr. Scott conceived the idea of turning over the Legion to an Illinois organization, which we will call the Loyal Americans. This organization had no charter in New York, and in order to take over the N. P. L., it was necessary to procure one. When applications for a license was made to William K. Hotchkiss, the State Superintendent of Insurance, he declined to grant it. "If the policy holders of the National Protective Legion" said Mr. Hotchkiss, "are to be defrauded further, it will be without my assistance." This plan on the part of Mr. Scott was made with the knowledge of a chosen two or three of his executive board. It was carefully guarded from certain others, who had not at all times agreed with Mr. Scott's methods. It transpired on a certain Friday night, that the executive board was in session, and a member of the board from out of town was carefully sounding another member to find out if he was "on". In the midst of the meeting a knock sounded at the door. Mr. Scott went to the door, and was immediately served with papers, issued under the direction of the superintendent of insurance, directing him to close up the N. P. L. There was consternation in the camp. The following morning Scott, Frank Howard, and some of the members of the board went to Binghamton to consult Howard and Hinman, who undertook to smooth things out for them. The case was tried secretly in Binghamton. Scott represented to the state department that the Legion was $14,000 in debt. Those on the inside say that the total indebtness was much more than that at the time, but this was the amount sworn to. Scott promised to pay $1,000 a month till the debt was paid off, and not to incur any more indebtness, if the state department would allow him to continue. Upon this consideration, the closing up was deferred for a time, and is still pending. The indebtedness has not been paid, and is at present about four times what it was represented to be at the time the case was tried. Mr. Hotchkiss, however, went out of office. It is due to this fact that the Legion is still permitted to do business. Whether the department as it stands now is not familiar with the details of the workings of this organization, or whether it is simply biding its time, remains to be seen. As the matter stands, however, the Legion may be closed up at any time. The plan to sell out to the Loyal Americans was in many particulars similar to the sale of the Keystone Guard. Howard, Scott, and Abb Landis, the actuary, were to benefit by the sale. But for the intervention of Mr. Hotchkiss the deal would have been put through. Mr. Scott and other officials of the organization have long been congratulating themselves that the Free Press never got wind of the scheme or of the order issued by Mr. Hotchkiss to close up the Legion. While the present department is inclined to let Mr. Scott work out his salvation if he can, that department has ruled that it is not legal to raise the assessments in any class in order to meet the deficit in the expense account. To get around this, the Legion terms a new class discontinuing the writing of policies in the old class, and the old class members are forced to join the new class at the higher rate, in order to protect themselves, as the class to which they belonged necessarily dies out. Thus the person who joins today at a low rate tomorrow may be compelled to enter another class and pay a higher rate, or else lose what he has already paid in. In spite of this, the Legion is steadily running behind, and the desperate efforts to bolster it up seem to avail not at all.

July 10, 1914 "Waverly Free Press": MISSIONARY SOCIETY HAD INTERESTING PROGRAM. The Women's Missionary Society, of the Presbyterian church, met Friday afternoon, the meeting being attended by over eighty members of the society, the Home Mission Circle, and The Light Bearers. The leaders were Mrs. Howard Elmer and Mrs. Charles Ott. As Mrs. Elmer had not been able, on account of ill health to attend the meetings for some time, her friends were delighted to have her with them again. The president, Mrs. C. F. Chaffee had charge of the devotional exercises and Mrs. Ott, who presented the program, gave a short sketch of the early history of the local society, saying that two of the members, Mrs. Elmer and Mrs. E. G. Tracy, who were charter members when the society was organized, were present Friday. Mrs. Ott also gave a short talk on "Immigration" which was the subject for study. Miss Gertrude Slaughter read Van Dyke's "Opinion of the Spirit of America," Mrs. J. W. Knapp read an article on the same subject and also a beautiful poem, and Mrs. Seward Baldwin gave a talk on "Why Our Country Increased in Population."

July 17, 1914 "Waverly Free Press": Entertained for Miss Slaughter. Mrs. H. W. Knapp (455 Waverly st.) entertained at bridge Wednesday afternoon for Miss Gertrude Slaughter, whose engagement to George Knapp was recently announced. The rooms were prettily decorated with nasturtiums and other summer flowers and the guest of honor drew the ring which was in the trinket cake. The guests were Miss Slaughter, Miss Maria Case, Miss Alice Westfall, Miss Margaret Grafft, Miss Frances Stevenson, Miss Margaret Tew, Miss Elizabeth Moore, Miss Blanche Frisbie, Miss Mary Blood, Miss Dorothy Atwater, Miss Hazel Johnson, Mrs. E. D. Sebring, Mrs. J. W. Knapp, Jr., Mrs. Will Bouton, Mrs. Ralph Bouton, Mrs. Philip Finch, Mrs. Charles Shipman, Mrs. Fred Wallace, Mrs. Hart Seeley, Mrs. Wilton Hall, Mrs. Garnet Roberts, Saratoga, Mrs. Luther Adams, Pittsburg, Miss Frances Hall, Montour Falls.

July 24, 1914 "Waverly Free Press": Miss Gertrude Slaughter, Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Knapp , Jr., and George Knapp are on an automobile trip to Bufffalo, Fredonia and Rochester. The trip will also probably include the Thousand Islands.

July 24, 1914 Waverly Free Press: Pulford And Dempsey Get Church Contract. The contract for the new church has been let to Pulford & Dempsey of Elmira, and work will be commenced Monday. The building will be of Hummelstown brown stone and will be 108 by 120 feet. It will face Chemung street and on that side there will be three entrances. There will also be an entrance on Waverly street and the bell tower will be on the west side and attached to the church. The basement will contain the social room, kitchen and boiler room, while on the second floor will be the auditorium, which is 58 feet square. At the south of this are the class rooms which can be made a part of the auditorium if desired. The vestibule will have a tile floor and from it will be five entrances to the auditorium. The lighting will be gas and electricity and the heating system will be strictly up-to-date. - Tore Down Church In Six Hours. It took only about six hours for a force of men under Cyrus Bogart, foreman of the Lackawanna bridge construction gang, to tear down the old Methodist church. A big wire cable was fastened to two windows at a time, and with a tree for a lever and two teams of horses for the power, the work was easily accomplished without an accident. Mr. Bogart did not have to work Monday and volunteered to do the work, refusing to take any compensation. $300 was the lowest bid received for the work, and Mr. Bogart gave the amount given him, to the new church fund. (Waverly Methodist Church)

July 26, 1914 The Brooklyn Daily Eagle. New York: Deaths. Rice - At her home, Roosevelt, L.I., on July 24, 1914, Eliza S. Rice, aged ?1 years. Funeral private. (Andrew S. Rice had died pre 1866.)

July 31, 1914 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Knapp, Jr., Miss Gertrude Slaughter and George Knapp are home from an automobile trip to western and central New York.

August 7, 1914 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: OPEN CORNER STONE BOX M. E. CHURCH. Most of Its Contents Decayed But Some Still Intact. The box placed in the corner stone of the Methodist church more than 48 years ago, was opened Saturday, in the presence of many interested observers. The contents of the box were not well preserved, since the container was made of tin, which soon corrodes. Only fragments were left of the more perishable articles entrusted to the care of the box when the old church was built. The contents of the box included a copy of the Waverly Advocate of April 12, 1866; and internal revenue stamp; a bible; a testament; a hymnal; a copy of the discipline of the church; the conference minutes of Wyoming conference, 1866; three pieces of continental scrip, one worth $60, one $20 and the other $4; fifty coins of various denominations; an almanac issued by Slaughter & Hayes, druggists; a First National Bank check; a copy of the by-laws and constituion of Neptune Hose Company, published by Baldwin and Polleys; some fragments of cloth so decayed that the form of the original article is lost, though the binding of some of the pieces suggests a Masonic apron; and a photograph so black no faces can be distinguished, but with the name "Hallet" visible in type below it. The articles were placed in the box on June 15, 1866. They are now on exhibition at John A. Johnson's store. The Waverly Advocate of June 22, 1866 contains an account of the laying of the corner stone, but strangely enough, omits all mention of the box and the articles placed therein. It speaks of the address upon that occasion, given by the Rev. Mr. Bristol of Binghamton, who in the course of his talk on "Economy in Church Building" said: "It was as ungenerous as it was an unchristian idea, that old log schoolhouses, barns and other places in which a farmer would not stall his horse nor his faithful ox after the toils of the day, was good enough for God to come into to perform his wonderful works. We do not entertain our friend by taking him into our homes the back way and seating him on an uncushioned board. Let those occupy boards in our churches who cannot enjoy their religion any other way. The refined tastes of the greatest and best of this world give the most beautiful of their architecture to God. The house with the best appointments, the most easy of access, and the most perfect in every respect, should be the house of God." The Advocate says: "Dr. Bristol closed with an eloquent appeal to the people to sustain the trustees of the church in their efforts to erect so fine and so valuable an edifice in this thriving and beautiful village. There was a large attendance of ladies-not so large of gentlemen-and about $350 was subscribed on the occasion towards the building of the church."

August 14, 1914 "Waverly Free Press": Miss Elizabeth Moore (431 Park Ave.) entertained at cards Monday for her guests Miss Angel of Pittsburg and Miss Little of Towanda. Others present were Mrs. F.A. Sawyer, Mrs. Harry Knapp, Mrs. J.P. Shepard, Mrs. J. C. Van Atta, Mrs. E. S. Hanford, Mrs. Charles Weller, Mrs. Ellsworth Gamble, Mrs. Robert Fish, Miss Gertrude Slaughter, Miss Margaret Tew, Miss Dorothy Atwater, Miss Pauline Hall, Mrs. Garnet Roberts, Saratoga; Mrs. Sarah Duhig, New York; Mrs. Luther Adams, Pittsburg, Miss Catherine Byram, Cleveland; Miss Regina Lutz, Wheeling, West Virginia.

October 23, 1914 "Waverly Free Press": Tuesday evening a very pleasant surprise party was given to Burton Brink at his home on (8) Athens street, the occasion being his twenty-ninth birthday. The evening was passed with music and games, followed by refreshments. The following were the guests: Agnes Gibbs, Anna Karr, Mary Krom, Arvilla Terwilliger, Ella Rhodes, Marguerite Beams, Helen Sutton, Leonora Brown, Miriam and Bertha Hand, Gertrude Lee, Blanche Evans, Mauly Brink, Oamon Lampher, Harry Henson, Ellicott Lee, Russell May, Archie Bellis, Ralph Persons, Arthur Ellis, Arthur Brink, Lewis Chamberlain, Elmer Merrill.

November 13, 1914 Waverly Free Press: Political Club Will Issue Cook Book. Waverly Suffragists Will Show How to Reduce the Cost of Living. The regular meeting of the Political Equality Club was held on Tuesday afternoon in the auditorium of the high school building, the president, Mrs. J. W. Knapp, presiding. Mrs. Charles H. Ott gave an interesting report of the convention of the Federated Cubs of Pennsylvania, which she recently attended at Pittsburg. Mrs. Leonora Morgan gave a pleasing account of the speech of Commissioner Katherine Bement Davis, to which she listened at Newburg. Mrs. Robert J. Lockhart repeated her talk on "Women and the War," given at a former meeting. The club is investigating methods of reducing the cost of living, and will soon hold a demonstration of foods used as substitute for meats. A cook book will soon be issued containing recipes for the dishes demonstrated, as well as many others which have meat value. The demonstration will be held in the vacant half of the Towner jewelry store on Nov. 20-21. The meetings of the club are decidedly interesting, and should have a large attendance.

Mrs. Emma Smith Devoe, of Tacoma, Wash., has few equals as a lecturer and organizer. She has campaigned in 29 different states, and the brightest star in her own crown is the winning of Washington where though she was splendidly supported, many people say that she was the campaign. Mrs. Devoe will speak here for the Political Equality Club on Saturday evening, Nov. 21, in the high school auditorium at 8 o'clock. Her interest in suffrage began early. When she was a little girl she heard Susan B. Anthony speak to a large audience and ask those who believed in woman suffrage to rise. The little girl was the only one who responded, but she was not afraid to stand alone nor has she been since. ...

November 20, 1914 "Waverly Free Press": All kinds of repairing done on short notice. Horses, mules and cattle insured against death from any cause. E. Clair Van Atta 340 Broad Street Waverly N.Y. Horse Furnishing Goods. Heavy and fine harness a specialty.

Farm For Sale - About 250 acres situated on the Dean Creek Road in the town of Barton, Edwin Van Atta estate. Inquire of Mrs. Abbie Van Atta, 5 N. Chemung street, Waverly. 48p

November 27, 1914 "Waverly Free Press": Contributions to Methodist Bazaar. (Continued from last week.) Gertrude Slaughter, apron; Mrs. A. H. Roberts, 10 lbs. sugar; Mrs, E. D. Sebring, embroidered collar; Mrs. Oliver Lewis, kimona; Mrs. C. A. Jayne, lingerie and baby jacket;...

Sawyer - Lutz. The Wheeling, W. Va., Register of last Thursday contains the following account of the wedding of Harold Moore Sawyer, of this place, and Miss Regina Lutz of Wheeling. One of the prettiest and most important home weddings of the season took place Wednesday evening when Miss Regina Lutz, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William J. Lutz, became the bride of Mr. Harold Sawyer, the son of Mr. and Mrs. Fred A. Sawyer of Waverly, N. Y. Only the immediate relatives were present at the ceremony which was read at seven o'clock by Rev. O. H. Moye, V. C. The bride who was given away by her father, was charming in a gown of white crepe meteor fashioned en train, with bodice of chantilly lace. Her wedding veil of tulle with Juliette cap of lace was held about the coiffure with a strand of pearls. A bridal bouquet of white roses and lilies of the valley was carried. The bride's only ornament was a diamond La Valliere, the gift of the groom. Immediately following the wedding ceremony was a reception attended by a large number of the friends of the families. Supper was served by Ziegenfelder. The bride is a well known and highly accomplished young lady, a graduate of Mt. de Chantel and a member of several local clubs. The groom, a graduate of Cornell University, Class of 1911, degree of Mechanical Engineer, Member of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers, Engineers Society of North Eastern Pennsylvania, is well and favorably known as the Power Engineer of the Wheeling Electric Company of this city. Mr. and Mrs. Sawyer left the same evening for a Southern trip and will be home, after December fifteenth at 126 North Park avenue, Edgewood. Among the out of town guests at the wedding were: Mr. and Mrs. Fred A. Sawyer, of Waverly, N. Y. ; John Lutz of Pittsburgh, Pa.; Miss Gene Dittman, of Pittsburgh, Pa.; William McGuigan, of Pittsburgh, Pa.; Mr. and Mrs. David A. Keefe, of Athens, Pa.; Miss Ella Murphy, of Parkersburg, W. Va.; Miss Genevieve Robinson, of Parkersburgh, W. Va.; Mr. and Mrs. John Slater, of Washington, Pa.; Miss Hazel Eagan, of Washington, Pa.; Mr. and Mrs. James Hughes, of Bedford, Pa.; Mr. and Mrs. Francis Allen Wheeler, Jr., lf Newcastle, Pa.

PRESBYTERIAN RECEPTION IS GREAT SUCCESS. The reception given by the Ladies' Benevolent Society of the Presbyterian church at the manse Tuesday evening was a delightful affair. Rev. and Mrs. Parke Richards received, assisted by the following head officers of the various church organizations: F. G. Bell, superintendent of the Sunday school; Mrs. C. F. Chaffee, president of the Woman's Missionary Society; Mrs. Nellie Jones, Home Mission Society; Mrs. Nellie Jones, Home Mission Guild, and Mrs. Harry Knapp, Light Bearers. After enjoying a social time at the manse the guests went to the church where refreshments were served. Mrs. George Fish, Mrs. George Newman, Mrs. L. D. Atwater and Miss Pauline Hall presided at a table prettily decorated with bittersweet and red candles, and Mrs. F. H. Spencer, Miss Elizabeth Moore, Miss Helen Ferguson, Mrs. Ralph Bouton, Mrs. Robert Fish, Miss Gertrude Slaughter and Miss Frances Stevenson served. A musical program was given consisting of piano solos by Frances Knapp, Bernice Howe and Marjorie Connor, and vocal numbers by Robert Fish.

Dec. 25, 1914 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record - Miss Hazel Johnson, who is teaching in Monroe, N. Y., is spending the holidays with her parents, Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Johnson, (123) Chemung street. (Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Johnson are the parents of Mrs. Wilbur A. Spraker, Gertrude and Charlotte Knapp's friend.)

A Birthday Surprise. A pleasant birthday surprise party was given Mrs. A. J. Stephens at her Chemung street (Allen J. Stevens at 443 Chemung st. /possible Stephens typo) home Saturday afternoon. The ladies present were; Mrs. Emma Blackburn, Lockwood; Mrs. Lewis Turner, Mrs. David Gray, Miss Gray, Mrs. Elmer Jones, Mrs. Ed. Sison, Sayre, Pa.; Mrs. B. D. Barnes, Mrs. Luther Sabin, Mrs. Nellie Genung, Mrs. William DeWitt, Mrs. Jas. Lawrence, Mrs. D. O. Blackburn, Mrs. Wesley Brougham, Mrs. Joseph Morgan, Mrs. Gabriel Evans, Mrs. Charles Parks, Mrs. William Personius, Waverly. "Five hundred" and other games were enjoyed.

January 27, 1915 Middletown Daily Times Press : Goshen - To Wed At Waverly. Invitations have been received in this village for the marriage of Miss M. Gertrude Slaughter and George B. Knapp on Tuesday, February 2 at Waverly. Miss Slaughter is well known in this village where she has visited frequently.

February 2, 1915 George Brinker Knapp, 29 years old, and Mary Gertrude Slaughter, 24 years old, were married. Parke Richards officiating. H. W. Knapp and J. W. Knapp, Jr. were witnesses. Place of marriage, Waverly, Tioga Co., NY.

February 5, 1915 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: KNAPP-SLAUGHTER WEDDING IS BRILLIANT AFFAIR
The prettiest and most elaborate wedding of the season occurred on Tuesday evening, when Miss Gertrude Slaughter was united in marriage to George Brinker Knapp at the (208) Chemung street house of the bride. The prominence of the families and the popularity of both the young people made the occasion a notable one. The ceremony was performed by the Rev. Parke Richards, pastor of the Presbyterian church.
The bride was given in marriage by F. A. Sawyer (416 Chemung st.). She was exquisitely gowned in white satin made with court train, trimmed with hand-run Chantilly lace seeded with pearls. Her tulle veil was fastened with a band of pearls and orange blossoms, and she carried a shower bouquet of roses, lilies of the valley and smilax. Her ornaments were a diamond LaValliere, the gift of the groom, and a sunburst of diamonds, a family heirloom. She was attended by her maid of honor, Miss Florence Mapes of Goshen, who wore pink messaline and carried white roses. Her bridesmaids, Miss Dorothy Atwater, Miss Frances Knapp, Miss Hazel Johnson, and Miss Katherine Smith of Middletown, N. Y., were charmingly gowned in pale blue silk, with short tulle veils. They carried pink roses. Joseph W. Knapp, 3rd, acted as ring bearer, and the ribbon bearers were Miss Gertrude Slaughter Smith of Middletown and Miss Helen Knapp. Joseph W. Knapp, Jr., officiated as best man. The ushers were Harry W. Knapp, Harold Watrous, Philip Finch.
The house was beautifully decorated with cut flowers and greenery, roses predominating. The ceremony was performed in the library, before a bank of white roses and smilax. The drawing room was decorated with Jacqueminot roses, while the dining room was a symphony in pink, white, and green. The bride's table was decorated in pink and white roses and pink favors, while Japanese lilies and carnations were used about the room with charming effect. Coleman's orchestra of Ithaca played throughout the evening, and Alberger of Ithaca served the four course wedding breakfast.
The bride's gift to her maid of honor was a pearl and sapphire brooch, and to her bridesmaids strings of pearls. To the little ribbon bearers she gave forget- me- not pins and to the ring bearer a signet ring. Her gift to the groom was a watch. The groom's gifts to his best man and ushers were gold cuff links.
The ceremony was performed in the presence of about two hundred guests. Among those from outside Waverly were Mrs. David Munson of Rochester; Mrs. Eugene Smith, Harry and Eugene Smith, Miss Katherine Smith, and Miss Gertrude Smith of Middletown; Miss Edna Slaughter of Middletown, Mrs. James Haggerty and Miss Florence Mapes of Goshen, Miss Edna Day of Canandaigua, Mr. and Mrs. George Dayton of Towanda, Miss Marion Freestone of Tacoma, Washington; Miss Mary Millard of Elmira, Dr. and Mrs. Knapp and the Misses Knapp of Newark Valley.
The gifts were many and beautiful.
The bride's going- away gown was of sand colored gabardine trimmed with fur, with duvetyne hat to match, trimmed with fur and flowers.
Mr. and Mrs. Knapp left for Palm Beach and other southern points. Upon their return they will be at home to their friends at 208 Chemung street.

1915 New York census: 208 Chemung St.- George B. Knapp salesman for Dry Goods, M. Gertrude Knapp housework, and servant Margret Kane general housework.

at 7 Athens st. (two-family octagon home) 1. Earl Harding railroad brakeman, wife Mary housework and mother Elizabeth Harding housework. 2. Gabriel Evans, miller, his wife Mable houswork, son Henry 18 yrs school, daughter Blanche milliner.

March 13, 1915 The Morning Sentinel, Florida: Drennen, Fla, March 10. - ... Mr. and Mrs. George Knapp, of Waverly, N. Y., who were visitors here last week, have gone to Daytona and will spend another month in the South before returning home.

April 25, 1915 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record - FOR SALE CHEAP- On easy terms; most desirable building lot in Waverly. The McDonald property at 312 Chemung street, Waverly, 66 feet front by 364 feet depth. Price if taken at once $1,100. (Using inflation calculator, what cost $1100.00 in 1915 would cost $27,067.13 in 2017)

1915 Franklinville, N.Y. in Pictures and Story By Roy William Van Hoesen 1915, p. 69: Mrs. Frances Perley. Miss Frances Perley has been a highly successful piano teacher since she came to Franklinville several years since. She has had training from Mr. A. K. Virgil and Mrs. Stella Hadden Alexander, both of New York, and Dr. Jedliczzka and the composer, Moszkowski in Berlin, Germany. While studying at New York she taught in that city for three years; she also taught at Clinton Institute, Fort Plain, four years. She has had several years experience in private class work, and is a most accomplished pianist and teacher.

May 2, 1915 The Telegram Elmira N.Y.: Mrs. Edmund S. Elston. Mrs. Mary Frances Elston died Thursday afternoon at 4:10 o'clock at the family home, over the East Hill, aged fifty-eight years. She is survived by her husband, Edmund S. Elston; two step sons, Harvey and Herbert Elston, of this city, and a step-daughter, Mrs. Lewis Westfall, of Sayre, Pa. The decedent had been ill of pueumonia one week. The funeral will be held at the home to-day at 2 p.m. Burial in Woodlawn cemetery. (Lewis Westfall fell from our roof at 208 Chemung st. He was holding onto the iron cresting which broke loose from the widow's walk, and he fell to the stone sidewalk below in 1907.)

1916 Directory: First time that two separate homes show up at 3 and 5 Athens st. At 3 Athens st. Thomas K. Downing. At 5 Athens st. Samuel O. Shoemaker. (3 and 5 Athens st. homes were built sometime after the death of Minnie Quick in March of 1913. And after the 1914 map was completed, so possibly both built in 1915 by the same contractor). At 7 Athens st. 1.Gabriel Evans, miller and Henry Evans, shop hand 2. Andrew W. Durham. At 9 Athens st. our carriage house owned by Gertrude Slaughter Knapp. At 4 Athens st. George M. Page. At 6 Athens st. Mrs. Julia Haas. At 8 Athens St. Burton L. Brink.

January 8, 1916 The Ithaca Daily News: C. E. Treman Gets License Plates 678. While Gov. Charles S. Whitman as first citizen of the state has been allotted the reserved automobile license numbers 1 and 2, Ithaca is not so far behind. In this - zone State Senator Henry Walters of Syracuse, a former Cornell man, has secured license No. 5, and Charles E. Treman of this city has secured state license plate 6, 7 and 8. Percy L. Lang of Waverly drew No. 13 for this, the Buffalo zone.

1916, at 337 Broad Street, Olive M. Rogers, public stenographer (from Don Merrill's collection)

March 9, 1916 The Binghamton Press: Sayre, March 9. - The annual meeting of the members of the Valley View Country Club was held last evening in the Council chamber of the Town Hall. The financial report rendered was satisfactory. Seven new members were elected into the association. The following officers were elected: President, P. L. Lang; vice-president, Charles F. Kellogg; Secretary, Sam A. Blish; treasurer, Lewis W. Dorsett; directors, from Waverly, P. L. Lang, Frank W. Merriam, Frank S. Nicholson, John J. Higgins; from Sayre; Sam A. Blish, Dr. Harry S. Fish, Lewis W. Dorsett, J. N. Haines; from Athens, D. A. Keefe, Charles F. Kellogg, A. S. Maurice, Walter T. Page. Chairmen for the various committees were elected as follows: Greens, Dr. Harold A. Curtis; house, Fred A. Sawyer; entertainment, Hart I. Seeley; tournament, Frank S. Nicholson; membership, Edgar D. Sebring; tennis, George B. Knapp; roque, Frank W. Merriam.

Child of George KNAPP and Gertrude SLAUGHTER is: Charlotte KNAPP. Charlotte was born March 24, 1916.

April 7, 1916 New York Herald, New York, N.Y.: In the New York Hotels. Collingwood - Mr. D. D. Martin, Buffalo, and Mr. George B. Knapp, Waverly, N. Y.

May 13, 1916 Elmira Star-Gazette: ad - C. A. Georgia Electric Co. Everything Electrical. We have just received a new and complete line of Showers and Indirect Lighting Fixtures. Come in and look them over. Be sure and get our prices on your Wiring and Fixtures before you let your contract. 114 Baldwin Street. Phone 1020. {We found in ceiling of first floor west parlor, tickets from this company, supplies were sent to Mixer & Knapp at 317 Broad Street Waverly, NY. The supplies were sent on the Elmira, Corning & Waverly Railway, but no date. From researching I have found that Mixer & Knapp name was from 1908 to 1918. The C. A. Georgia Company name was from 1900 to 1918. The Elmira, Corning & Waverly Railway operated from 1906 to 1930. So from this, our house obtained its electric between 1908 and 1918. Evidence in the ceiling also from gas lighting fixtures before the electric.}{From Binghamton Newspaper 1919 60% of Binghamton homes had electric in 1919, there was a big push/campaign for the use of electricity and representatives in the electrical trade from Syracuse, Albany, Elmira, Sayre, Waverly, Cortland and Owego were guests. From June 1931 Elmira Newspaper, 70% of all homes in the United states were wired for electrictiy}

Another ad: A 9 Room House Wired Complete $52.88 Including Fixtures, Lamps and All. Whole Year To Pay. See Us Right Away. Elmira, Water, Light & R. R. Co.

Whole page of this paper promoting Lighting and showers. Also top headline of page: House Wiring Cheaper Than Ever. Interesting is it shows a picture with bathroom sink set up like ours on second floor.

Pioneer Electricians. About 100 B. C. Aristotle observed shock from contact with the torpedo, or electric fish. - In 1752, Benjamin Franklin obtained sparks from a wet kite-string during a thunderstorm. This gave him the idea of the lightning rod. - In 1800, Volta invented the electric battery. - In 1831, Faraday discovered that when a wire is moved in a magnetic field, a current is generated in the wire. - Faraday's discovery of electromagnetic induction made possible the dynamo which makes current for your home. - In 1837, Morse invented the telegraph, the first commercial use made of electricity. - In 1868, Bell a teacher of the deaf and dumb, in trying to make an electrical apparatus to assist his work, invented the Bell Telephone. - The electrical inventions and discoveries of Edison (born in 1847) have wrought changes in almost every electrical appliance and process. Electrical Heating is an important development of the last ten years. Many practical appliances are in extensive use.

June 14, 1916 Elmira Star-Gazette: Takes Red Lantern Student Fined $25. Ithaca, June 14 - Taking red danger lanterns from places where excavation work is in progress is a costly procedure in the opinion of R. C. Van Atta, a sophomore student in the College of Law. Van Atta evidently thought that one of the red lanterns on the excavation of the new Crescent theater on North Aurora street would look better adorning the walls of his room. The student annexed the lantern and started away with it but he was seen by an officer, who promptly took him to police headquarters. Van Atta was released until morning, when Judge Crowley imposed a fine of $25. The contractor on the Crescent theater job also made him pay for the lantern. Van Atta lives at Waverly. (Ronald)

July 30, 1916 The Telegram Elmira: It Rained Bottles. Waverly Street Cleaner Offers 1,000 Whisky Bottles For Sale. This is awful when it is remembered that Waverly is an "awfully dry town." A correspondent writing from that village says that the man who runs the street sweeper in Waverly has 1,000 empty whiskey bottles which he would like to sell. The bottles, all of quart size, were gathered up along the streets since Waverly went "dry" last October. He finds the bottles strewn along the way at 4 o'clock in the morning when he goes on duty. He alights, gathers them up, takes them home and washes them. But this is not all, they are found quarts, pints and half pints, all empty where bibulous Waverly citizens coming home from Sayre on the late cars have taken a final "night cap" or supplied their friends who have stayed at home. Along the country roads which lead to the outlying farms the same condition exists. One lot in South Waverly, near the depot, bears the appearance of a bottle factory. Another feature since Waverly became an arid waste is the loaded drays which brings the bottled "hops" and distribute the foaming beverage about town. One trip is made at night presumably to deliver to thin-skinned persons who do not wish their neighbors to know that "the goods" are being delivered to their homes. In spite of all this a drunken man on Waverly streets is the exception and when there were formerly twenty-fve or thirty "drunks" arrested every month, now there are only from two to six arrests by Waverly police for intoxication.

September 14, 1916 Elmira Star-Gazette: Iron Kettle Functions Are Enjoyed to Fullest Extent. Waverly, Sept. 14. - Mrs. Frederick Carpenter entertained at the Iron Kettle yesterday for Mrs. Henry Curtis of East Orange, N. J. The following ladies were present: Mrs. John Van Atta, Mrs. George Knapp, Mrs. Guy Carpenter, Mrs. C. C. Strong, Mrs. John Murray, Mrs. W. S. Hilton, Miss Frances Stevenson, Mrs. George A. Scott, Miss Lillian Scott, Mrs. Walter Peck.

November 19, 1916 The Telegram, Elmira, N. Y. : THE SUSQUEHANNA TRAIL. Scheme To Connect Elmira And Harrisburg Via Williamsport. Williamsport, Pa., Nov. 18 - Following a conference between George Dudley Proud, of Philadelphia; Max L. Lindheimer and others of the Lycoming Automobile club, held at the Park hotel, it was decided to make a concerted effort to secure an improved highway, comparable to the William Penn highway, connecting Elmira with Harrisburg by way of Williamsport. The name suggested for this proposed highway is "The Susquehanna Trail." Mr. Proud worked industriously for the William Penn highway, and it was stated that he would likely return to Williamsport in a few days for the purpose of taking up the local project more definitely. Relative to the proposed "Susquehanna Trail," it is very likely that the Bradford county automobile association will assist the local authorities. Motorists from Elmira to Harrisburg will undoubtedly do their part. Mr. Lindheimer stated that the membership of the club is growing. He is very anxious to have all motorists in Lycoming county join and the following letter was sent from the headquarters of the association in the Updegraff to all motorists not already affiliated with the organization: Dear Sir - As you are well aware the Lycoming Automobile club has been making marked progress in all its efforts for the benefit of the automobile owner. We are now making an effort to have an improved highway from Harrisburg on to Elmira through Williamsport. In order to obtain same it will be necessary for us to show to the highway commissioner a good representation as well as a large membership in our organization, and we are writing you this letter in order to make our club such as stated above. We feel sure that if you will aid us by being a member of our club that we will accomplish the desired results. Kindly fill out enclosed application blank and mail a check with same to us. Our club is fully equipped with an office in which we have a constant attendant stenographer, who will at all times be at your service and should you desire any particular routing for anywhere in the United States, we are able to furnish you with same. Other privileges are at the command of all members free of charge. Please give this your immediate attention and help the good cause along. Join now as we need you. Very truly yours, Lycoming Automobile Club, Max L. Lindheimer, Secy-Treas.

1917 The Farm Journal Illustrated Rural Directory of Tioga County, New York: at 7 Athens st. Andrew and Pearl Durham, one child, trainman, boards. at 7 Athens St. Blanche Evans, milliner. at 7 Athens st. Gabriel W. and Mabel Evans, 3 children, millwright, tenant. at 7 Athens st.at 7 Athens st. Henry Evans, machinist in Curtiss Airplane. at 208 Chemung st. George B. and Gertrude Knapp, one child, clerk, owns home and lot, 2 autos, telephone.

at 5 Athens st. Samuel O. and Mary E. Shoemaker, Federal Phone manager, Owns, telephone. at 3 Athens st. Lloyd M. and Lena Hedges, machinist, one child, owns home. at 4 Athens st. was George M. and Eunice Paige, owns home and lot.

at 202 Chemung st. Percy L. and Louise Lang, two children, vice president First National Bank, owns Home and lot, 2 autos. Analee Lang, telephone operator. Percy Jr. Lang, student. Phyllis Lang.

at 203 Chemung st. Elmer O. and Helen Rogers, machinist, tenant. at 205 Chemung st. Frederick D. Leipsziger, store bookkeeper, boards. at 207 Chemung st. Frank E. and Alice N. Munn, one child, overseer of poor, owns home and lot, one cow. at 300 Chemung st. Edgar D. and Carolyn Sebring, two children, lawyer, owns. at 304 Chemung st. Frank W. and Florence Merriam, three children, president A H Thomas Paint Co. ,tenant home and lot, one auto, telephone. Herbert Lloyd Merriam, A H Thomas Paint Co. Mrs. Matilda Floyd (wid J. B.).

February 18, 1917 The Telegram, Elmira, N. Y.: HOT ON THE SUSQUEHANNA TRAIL. The Telegram was the first paper to call attention to the probability of Elmira being shoved off the map of the "Susquehanna Trail," which was at first intended to run practically from Williamsport to Elmira. Influential men of Tioga county, Pa., have sidetracked the issue and are seeking to make it a Williamsport-Corning road rather than what was originally intended. The people of Corning and Lawrenceville are within their rights and if the good roads men want to sleep while opportunity is knocking at the door they will have nobody to blame but themselves. The Blossburg Herald, commenting on the matter, says: Elmira complains that Tioga county's route leads to Corning while Bradford county's route leads to Elmira. If Tioga county's route leads to Corning to the exclusion of Elmira it will be because Elmira people are so rapt up in their South Creek route that they fail to see the possibility of a connecting link between Lawrenceville and Elmira by way of Seeley Creek. Is Elmira alarmed at being compelled to compete with Corning for Tioga county's business? If such is the case it may pay Tioga's business men to look Corning over. Is it not reasonable to assume that they have something which alarms Elmira? Surely Elmira's disposition in road matters is not destined to foster a very close commercial relation and it probably makes but little difference. Williamsport looks good to the southern and central part of Tioga county and Corning to the northern part. The people of Pennsylvania will choose the route and build this road and Elmira will have about as much, and no more, to say about where it will go, than does Lindley. If Elmira does not care to build the Lawrenceville, Seeley Creek, Elmira route, she alone will suffer, Tioga county won't. Elmira needs Tioga county vastly more than Tioga county needs her. Tioga county throws its hat in the ring. She is going to rebuild the Williamson road. Help yourself Elmira.

Former Senator Walter T. Merrick, one of the ablest politicians in Pennsylvania, lives in Wellsboro. Senator Merrick spoke Thursday noon at a chamber of commerce luncheon in Corning. Among other things he said: We were the first in the field for the construction of this highway. We thought that the matter was all settled when Bradford county began a campaign to have the route run from Williamsport by way of Canton and Troy. Now we have got to fight for our road. But we are in the fight to stay, and we are going to win. We have the logical route, the shortest, safest route, the scenic route, the route of historic interest and the route which will serve the greatest number of people. We have eleven railroad crossings between Trout Run and Lawrenceville whereas by the other route there are twenty-eight. The Bradford county route has already become known as a dangerous route because of its many accidents. We are as closely related with the people of Steuben county by rail as it is reasonably possible for us to expect to be, but it will be to the mutual advantage of the residents of both counties to be more closely related through the means of the completion of this road by the Williamson route. The completion of this road is a practical commercial necessity. It will place Corning within an hour and a half's drive by automobile of any of the more important places in Tioga county. The people of Steuben can do much to enable us to secure this route by completing the coming summer if possible, the state highway running from the Painted Post-Addison highway to the Pennsylvania state line at Lindley. It will strengthen our position immeasurably if we can to Harrisburg showing that the road is already built. Elmira will see to it that its connecting link with the proposed Bradford route is built next summer, and if this is so and the Lindley road is not completed our opponents will be given and advantage over us. J. C. Calhoun, who was here at the time the chamber of commerce was organized also spoke briefly. He urged that the chamber encourage members to meet by groups for the discussion of mutual problems - manufacturers meeting together, shoe merchants together, dry goods merchants together, etc. The Canton Sentinel of February 15, makes the subjoined comment: The Tioga county papers make the open and unveiled threat that if Elmira does not at once cease favoring the Troy-Canton route for the Susquehanna trail that they (Tioga county) will boycott that city. Their principal arguments in favor of the Tioga route are copied from the Williamsport papers, which city, for reasons best known to itself, acted a very treacherous part toward the people of Troy and Canton. We are credibly informed that Canton merchants patronize Williamsport wholesalers to an amount of at least $250,000 per year. Added to this, business concerns in Ralston and Roaring Branch are liberal purchasers of Williamsport wholesalers, just how much we are unable to say, but a well-informed business man of the Lycoming creek valley informs us that he knows of six concerns in the valley whose checking balance in one Williamsport bank aggregates $60,000. Every dollar of this trade could be taken care of to equal advantage elsewhere, and only goes to the west branch city for the simple reason that we have (up to this time) preferred Pennsylvania to New York. Any point in Bradford county is nearer Williamsport than any other Pennsylvania city, by at least twenty miles, and if there was a decent road down the Lycoming creek valley, the natural outlet to the south would be by the way of Williamsport. We have shown our friendship for that city by initiating the movement to secure better means of communication, and we certainly deserved better treatment than we are receiving in the matter. This talk of boycott is ill-advised, as a boycott is always a two-edged knife, but Bradford county will certainly look after her interests and will remember her friends. The road that blocks our entrance to Williamsport is not a Bradford county road, but belongs to Lycoming and Tioga, and the manner in which it is maintained prevents the develpment of the Lycoming creek valley and is a sad financial loss to the towns of Roaring Branch and Ralston. It cannot be that the business interests of Williamsport will allow petty political factions to sacrifice the friendship and patronage not only of the Lycoming creek valley, but of Bradford county, with its 60,000 population. The very difference in the attitude of the two cities (Elmira and Williamsport) on this question of the Susquehanna trail cannot fail to have its effect. No one likes to be slapped in the face.

February 28, 1917 Ithaca Daily News: Mr. Anderson of the Anti-Saloon League has declared that New York State "is on the verge of a revolution on the liquor question," and the attitude of many of the legislators reflects this statement, according to those who have been sounding sentiment in the interest of the Hill-Wheeler bill. Last week townships in four counties voted on the liquor question. Not a dry town went wet, but eleven wet ones went dry. The big villages of Waverly and Owego in the southern tier increased their dry majorities.

March 12, 1917 Elmira Star Gazette: A meeting of the Woman's Guild of the Presbyterian church will be held this evening at the home of Mrs. George Knapp on Chemung street.

April 19, 1917 Gertrude Slaughter and Fred A Sawyer as executor filed.

July 29, 1917 The Telegram, Elmira, N. Y.: THE SUSQUEHANNA TRAIL. Wellsboro, Pa., July 28. - The board of governors of the Susquehanna Trail association start next Wednesday from Williamsport on a tour of the northern end of the proposed Susquehanna Trail, a projected main highway from the Lincoln highway at Harrisburg to the New York state line. Most of the route between Harrisburg and Trout Run, north of Williamsport, has been selected, but as nearly everybody knows, there is keen rivalry between Tioga and Bradford counties as to the location of the route north from Trout Run. The board of governors, after this tour, will decide on which route to recommend for improvement as a part of the Susquehanna trail. The governors and their wives will be accompanied by other members of the association and will be entertained along the route by the people of the various towns. They will stay in Wellsboro over night next Wednesday, August 1. Wellsboro's military band has kindly consented to give their weekly concert that night instead of Friday, and this will add greatly to the pleasure of the evening for the visitors. There will also be speeches and other forms of entertainment. Everybody for miles around who can come to Wellsboro August 1, to welcome out distinguished visitors, is cordially invited, and urged, to do so. There will be large delegations from Galeton, Gaines and vicinity, and other parts of Potter county, as well as from the Cowanesque valley, Liberty, Blossburg and Mansfield. Crank up your car, load in your family and come to the band concert on the public square. The board of governors is to be royally entertained at Liberty, Blossburg and Mansfield, en route to Wellsboro. Thursday Tioga and Lawrenceville and delegations from the Cowanesque valley will welcome the tourists in an appropriate manner. Thursday noon they will be guests of the Corning chamber of commerce at luncheon at the Corning club and Troy will entertain them Thursday night on the return trip via the rival route. It is expected that seventeen to twenty cars will make the entire trip, escorted on sections of the route by people of the repective towns through which the tour is made.

September 13, 1917 Binghamton Press: Waverly, Sept. 13 - Mr. and Mrs. John C. VanAtta, Mr. And Mrs. George B. Knapp, Mr. and Mrs. Daniel, G. Stark, Mr. and Mrs. Arthur C. Palmer, Dr. and Mrs. James Mills and Ronald VanAtta motored to Syracuse today to attend the New York State Fair.

October 9, 1917 The Binghamton Press: WAVERLY IS ENLISTED IN WAR LIBRARY PLAN. Waverly, Oct. 9.- The American Library Association has been asked by the War Department to assume responsibility for providing adequate library facilities in all cantonments and training camps. The Library Association is also raising a large sum of money with which to put up buildings to house the books and provide librarians to have them in charge; also to buy quantities of books along technical lines and others, which will not come in with the donations. Books which Waverly people wish to donate may be left at J. W. Knapp & Sons' store, Broad and Fulton streets, Waverly.

November 6, 1917 New York State Women's Suffrage. Voting Rights for Women. See video

December 19, 1917 Binghamton Press: Dies In Waverly. Waverly, Dec. 19. - Mrs. M. Moffet died early Tuesday morning at the home of her parents, Mr. and Mrs. G. B. Evans, in (7) Athens street. She was 32 years of age. She is survived by her husband, her parents, and a brother, Henry Evans, of Painted Post.

1918 New York Sun, N.Y.: Buyers in the City. ...House Furnishings. ...Waverly, N. Y. - J. W. Knapp & Son. J. W. Knapp, Jr. (dry goods, carpets and furniture), Hotel Collingwood.

1918 Directory: 3 Athens st. Lloyd M. Hedges. 5 Athens st. Max Zsupnik. 7 Athens st. (Octagaon home owned by Gertrude Slaughter Knapp from 208 Chemung st.) George W. Edsall and Gabriel Evans. 4 Athens st. George M. Page. 6 Athens st. Mrs. Julia Haas. 8 Athens st. Hammond Swisner.

January 2, 1918 The Binghamton Press: Samuel O. Shoemaker Buried In Waverly. Waverly, Jan. 2 The funeral of Samuel O. Shoemaker, manager of the Federal Telephone Company, who died Saturday, was held at 2 o'clock Monday afternoon at his home in Athens street. Rev. John Essington Miles, pastor of the First Baptist Church officiated. Burial was in Glenwood Cemetery. (In 1916 directory he was living at 5 Athens St. Waverly, NY)

February 3, 1918 The Telegram: Waverly - The Funeral Of The Late Mrs. Charles E. Scott Will Be This Afternoon. Feb. 2 - Mrs. Charles E. Scott died yesterday morning at the Packer hospital in Sayre. Mrs. Scott had resided a number of years in Waverly and her death will be mourned by hosts of friends. She was a devoted wife and mother and was possessed of a fine character and sweet, unselfish ways which endeared her to those with whom she was associated. She is survived by two daughters, Misses Ellie and Fannie Scott, and one son, Clarence, all of Waverly. The funeral will be private and will be held Sunday afternoon at 2:30 o'clcok at the family residence on Pennsylvania avenue. Rev. Peter R. Ross of Binghamton, formerly pastor of Waverly, Presbyterian Church, will officiate and burial will be made in Glenwood cemetery. ( Charles E. Scott was in the directory of 1887-88 as living at 7 Athens street and had Loyal Sock Coal)

February 17, 1918 The Telegram, Elmira, N.Y.: EDWIN D. MIXER. One Of The Prominent Business Men Of Waverly Died Yesterday. (Special to the Telegram) Waverly, N. Y., Feb. 16 - Edwin D. Mixer, one of Waverly's most prominent business men, died this morning at the Robert Packer Hospital, Sayre, aged seventy-one years. Mr. Mixer had lived in Waverly for the past twenty-six years, coming here from Fredonia and opening a hardware store, which he had conducted ever since. Ten years ago, he took into partnership his son-in-law, Joseph Knapp, and together they have run the business since. He was an honest and conscientious man who dealt fairly with every one and who had many friends. He is survived by his wife, two daughters, Mrs. Joseph Knapp, of Waverly, and Mrs. William Schofield, of Winter Haven, Fla. The funeral services will be held Tuesday afternoon, at 4 o'clock, at the home in Chemung street. Rev. Peter R. Ross, D. D., of Binghamton, formerly pastor of the Presbyterian church of Waverly, will officiate and the remains will be taken to Fredonia, for burial. (303 Chemung st.)

February 20, 1918 The Fredonia Censor: Death of Edwin D. Mixer. Edwin D. Mixer, aged 71 years died last Saturday morning at 1:30 o'clock at the Robert Packer Hospital, Sayre. He is survived by his wife and two daughters, Mrs. William Schofield, of Winter Haven, Florida; Mrs. Joseph W. Knapp, Jr., of Waverly, N. Y. Mr. Mixer went to Waverly 26 years ago from Fredonia, and opened a hardware store which he had conducted ever since. Ten years ago he took into partnership his son-in-law, Joseph Knapp, and together they have run the business since. Funeral services were held Tuesday afternoon at 4 o'clock at the home on Chemung street in Waverly. The body is to be brought to Fredonia this Wednesday for burial. The firm of Mixer Brothers is well remembered in Fredonia. They were a popular firm, now both have passed away. (303 Chemung St. Waverly, NY)

March 17, 1918 The Telegram, Elmira, N. Y.: OLD WAVERLY. To the Editor of the Telegram: I do not know when I have read anything that tickled me more than the article in the Waverly edition of last Sunday's Telegram about the exciting time in this town during the civil war. I am sure there are many others who enjoyed the same. The writer failed to record the names of several others who were on the wrong side of the war fence in those days. I have claimed that differences of opinion in the 60's caused more personal animosity than during the present war, and the article above referred to, proves it to a large degree, for I remember very clearly how strong the feeling was among the men whose names you have mentioned, and a few others. Among them were Squire Whitaker, Cyrus Fordham, Hiram Payne and Nathan Bristol. As H. S. B. says, Waverly was a "warm town" in those good old days- it even "sizzled." Get him to write some more articles about "old Waverly." They interest us "has beens" and amuse the present and rising generation. A story by him about the old Waverly academy in the early 60's would be awfully interesting. An Old Time. Waverly, March 12, 1918

March 24, 1918 The Telegram, Elmira, N. Y.: Miss Mary Haas of Athens street, who recently passed the Civil service examination for stenographer, has been offered a position at Washington at a salary of $1,100 a year. She has recently accepted a position with the Lehigh Valley at Sayre and will not avail herself of the offer. (6 Athens St. In 1943 Mrs. Julia Haas died in this home.)

May 3, 1918 Ithaca Daily News: Protective Legion To Hold Banquet At Ithaca Hotel. The annual Protective Legion will be held next Monday night at the Ithaca Hotel. The dinner will be served at 7:30 o'clock. Davis's Orchestra will play througout the evening. George Scott of Waverly, the national vice president, will act as toastmaster. Other speakers are Harvey Brewster, national treasurer of Waverly; Dr. H. N. Hilton of Waverly, Dr. C. H. Gallagher of this city, George A. Dudley of Elmira, Charles E. New, the local president, and Mrs. Gertrude R. Knapp, the secretary. (This is not the Gertrude Knapp who lived at our estate. This Gertrude was from Ithaca.)

July 28, 1918 The Telegram (Elmira): Waverlyites. Mr. and Mrs. George Knapp and Mr. and Mrs. Robert Fish will leave the first of August for an outing at the Knapp cottage, in the mountains near Port Jervis.

A patriotic mass meeting will be held in Loomis opera house, Monday evening, at 8 o'clock. Clinton N. Howard, of Rochester, will deliver an address on "Wake Up America." This lecture has been delivered before the United States senate, in forty states, and at many conventions. Every person should hear him. Admission free.

Mrs. George Knapp entertained a party of friends at the Iron Kettle Inn, Wednesday evening in honor of Miss Dorothy Atwater (112 Park Place), who today became the bride of Granville Swazy, of Massena, N. Y. Those present, besides the guest of honor were Miss C. C. Strong, Miss Atwater, Mrs. Herbert Merriam, Mrs. Walter Hall, of New York City, Mrs. Oscar Snyder of Orlando, Fla., Mrs. Oliver Miller of Mason City. la., Mrs. William Tew of Waverly, Mrs. Harold Sawyer of Wheeling, W. Va., and Misses Chrissie Field, Florence Westbrook, Jean Merriam, Marie Case, Ella Frances Riley of Waverly, Elsie Church of Ithaca and Helen Kerrick of Philadelphia.

August 29, 1918 Elmira Star-Gazette: Bargain - 26 H. P. Speedster; powerful, fast, fine tires, extras; needs overhauling; very cheap, or trade for motorcycle and sidecar; quick. H. Geo. Evans, 7 Athens St., Waverly, N.Y.

October 23, 1918 Elmira Star-Gazette: Marriage Announcement. Word has been received in the city by Elmira friends of the marriage of Miss Blanche Evans of this city, formerly of Waverly, and George Moffat also of this city, which took place in the city of Buffalo at high noon on Monday. The bride is well known here, having been employed at Tepper Brothers for some time. She resided on West Gray street. Best wishes go with the young couple. (Blanche had lived at 7 Athens st Waverly, NY. in the octagon home with her parents)

October 27, 1918 The Telegram: Waverly. A Large Body Of Young Men Called To Serve Their County. Waverly, N. Y., Oct. 26. - A call has been sent out by the Tioga county exemption board for the following young men to report at the office in Owego next week for physical examination: Franklin F. Taylor, Tioga Center; Charles D. Spencer, Barton; James E. Hannon, Owego; Harry Erwin, Waverly; George B. Knapp, Chemung street, Waverly; Oscar B. Ruth, Waverly street, Waverly; Henry L. Decker, Owego; John G. Cook, Owego; Nathaniel M. Dunville, Owego; Leroy R. Brown, Apalachin; Benton M. Hall, Apalachin; Harvey E. Keeler, Nichols; William L. Mason, Nichols; Charles D. Snyder, Nichols; Jack Edwards, Nichols; Delbert Ackerman, Nichols; Raymond Sexton, Nichols; Paul Stickney, Nichols; George Briggs, Lounsberry; Lawrence Dennison, Owego; Edward Ayers, Berkshire; Leon Kellogg, Owego; Charles VanDemark, Candor; Harry Norton, Candor; Clayton Post, Thomas street, Waverly; Ralph Platt, Chemung street, Waverly; Leslie Beck, Owego and William Longcoy, Nichols.

-Elmira friends received word last week of the marriage in Buffalo, Monday, October 21, of Miss Blanche Evans and George Moffat, both of this city. The bride resided in Waverly before coming to this city where she has been employed at the Tepper Bros' store.

December 9, 1918 Elmira Star Gazette: Wanted, At Once - Dodge touring car; must be in good mechanical repair; also good tires and battery; price must be reasonable; don't answer unless you really want to sell; state price. Geo. B. Knapp, Waverly, N.Y.

December 1918 Erie Railroad Magazine: The death of William C. Buck, agent of the Erie railroad at Waverly, N.Y., is announced in the Binghamton Republican. About fifteen years ago Mr. Buck was the company's division freight agent at Binghamton, and was one of the most popular and best-liked railroad men doing business along the Southern tier. Owing to an accident that befell him in being thrown from his horse while out for a ride, he asked to be relieved from the duties of his office, which request was granted. He was then appointed agent at Waverly. About two weeks ago Mr. Buck had the misfortune to meet with a fall at his home, the result being that he fractured his hip. The shock to his system was so severe that it weakened his heart and death resulted. Mr. Buck was a genial soul, and among his close friends was called "Bill," by which name he was generally known. In March, 1917, Governor Glynn appointed him a member of the State Board of Managers of the Reformatories. He was a member of Chemung Lodge of Masons, of which he was past master, and a member of Battle Chapter, Sons of the American Revolution, of Elmira. He is survived by his widow and two sons.

December 26, 1918 Waverly Woman Dies While Preparing Meal. Waverly, Dec. 26 - Mrs. Thomas Keeler of (29 Lyman Ave), died unexpectedly of apoplexy Thursday morning at her home, while preparing breakfast. She is survived by her husband. Funeral arrangements have not been completed. (Thomas Keeler repainted 208 Chemung st. in 1897)

December 29, 1918 The Telegram, Elmira, N. Y.: Waverly. Mrs. Thomas Keeler died Thursday, at her home in (29) Lyman avenue, of apoplexy. Mrs. Keeler was preparing breakfast, when she was stricken and died soon after. She was a good Christian woman and was possessed of a fine character and a charming manner, which endeared her to many friends. She is survived by her husband. The funeral was held this afternoon from the home. Rev. G. S. Connell officiating.

February 15, 1919 Ithaca Daily News: FORMER ITHACAN, 90, PENS WAR LYRIC -Nonagenarian, Daughter of Baptist Pastor Here Long Ago, Sings of Brave "American Boy." The following little war poem is remarkable when it is considered that it is the composition of a woman more than 90 years of age. It is also of interest in Ithaca because its author formerly lived in this city. Mrs. Ralston is the daughter of the Rev. Aaron Jackson, who was pastor of the First Baptist church of Ithaca a half century and more ago. She was the wife of Judge Ralston, of California, but now lives in Maryland. Her son, John Ralston, ran for congress on the Democratic ticket in Maryland last year, but was defeated, largely because he took a brave stand for prohibition in a district strong against that policy. Here is the poem: THE AMERICAN ENVOY. - A War-Bit Song. The American Boy Is our U. S. Envoy to tryrants who scorn an adviser; He goes "over the top" A la militaire flop With the slogan: "We're after the kaiser." Our invincible sons Have trailed their war guns Over loftly and untrodden passes; They have braved the shell fire as the conflict waxed dire In the swoop of the Hun-poisoned gases. but tis Destiny's hour, And the Heavens give Power To struggle with mighty endeavor That the Nations may rest Upon Liberty's breast. With Justice to guard them forever! - Harriet N. Ralston. Hyattsville, Md. August, 1918.

May 6, 1919 Elmira Star Gazette: Presbyterian Church article listed, Investments In Hands Of Trustees. Charlotte W. Slaughter Fund $1,500.00. Martha M. Johnson Fund $2,000. Howard Elmer Memorial Fund $1,500.

May 25, 1919 The Telegram (Elmira): Waverly. George Knapp has returned from a fishing trip in the Adirondacks.

October 2, 1919 Elmira Star Gazette: Country Club Women Name New Officers. Waverly, Oct. 2. - The ladies department of the Valley View Country Club has elected officers as follows for the coming year: Chairman, Mrs. Louis W. Dorsett of Sayre; vice-chairman, Miss Anna Keefe of Athens; secretary, Mrs. Harry Knapp of Waverly; treasurer, Mrs. Charles Wellar of Waverly. Executive board, Mrs. Walter Page, Mrs. F. H. Albee, Mrs. F. K. Harris of Athens. Mrs. I. A. Samuels, Mrs. Donald Guthrie, Mrs. Heister Piolett, Mrs. Albert Murray, Mrs. Charles Woodburn of Sayre. Mrs. W. C. Farley, Mrs. J. J. Wellar, Mrs. Charles Berndick, Mrs. Seward Baldwin, Mrs. F. A. Sawyer, Mrs. George Knapp, Mrs. F. H. Spencer of Waverly. Mrs. George Davion, Mrs. H. Turner of Towanda.

October 31, 1919 Elmira Star Gazette: House for Sale. Inquire of Mrs. F. E. Munn, 207 Chemung St., Waverly, N.Y.

December 26, 1919 Elmira Star-Gazette: Control of Waverly Bank Passes to New Interests. Fred A. Sawyer, Arthur C. Palmer, Geo. B. Knapp, W. T. Goodnow and Robert Page Buy Majority of the Stock of Citizens Bank - Will Elect Officers Jan. 13. Waverly, Dec. 26. - Fred A. Sawyer and four men associated with him on Wednesday purchased a controlling interest in the stock of the Citizens' Bank, when they became owners of the stock of Mrs. J. F. Sawyer and Ellen Sawyer Hallstead. The new stock holders are: Arthur C. Palmer and George B. Knapp of Waverly, W. T. Goodnew of Sayre, and Robert Page of Athens. The annual meeting of stockholders of the Citizens' Bank will be held January 13. Fred A. Sawyer is president of the bank and has been its guiding manager for several years and the bank is just completing the most successful year in its history. Mr. Sawyer has been spending some time with his son, Harold, but came home last week and was active in the stock transfer. He returned to Wheeling Saturday but will come to Waverly for the annual meeting. Robert Page is cashier of the First National Bank of Sayre, director of the Farmers' National Bank of Athens, and president of the Waverly Gas Light Company; W. T. Goodnow is vice-president of the First National Bank of Sayre, general manager of the Sayre Land Company; general manager of the Sayre Water Company, and president of the Cayuta Manufacturing Company and the Sayre Stamping Company. Arthur C. Palmer is president and general manager of the Tioga Mill and Elevator Company, and a director of the Spencer Glove Company. George B. Knapp is one of Waverly's most progressive young business men. The capital stock of the bank is $50,000; surplus $75,000.

December 27, 1919 The Evening Leader, Corning N. Y.: Waverly Dec. 27 - Fred A. Sawyer and four men associated with him on Wednesday purchased a controlling interest in the stock of the Citizens' Bank, when they became owners of the stock of Mrs. J. F. Sawyer and Ellen Sawyer Hallstead. The new stock-holders are: Arthur C. Palmer and George B. Knapp of Waverly, W. T. Goodnew of Sayre, and Robert Page of Athens.

Home Contact Search Zehr Estate Waverly NY 14892
zehrestate.com