Zehr Estate

New Clips A

History News Clips

A Glance Into the Past

Thru 1910

We would like to thank the Fulton History website for historical newspapers. We use this site for searching "Old New York State Historical Newspaper Pages"

We would also like to thank Don Merrill for use of his private collection for our research. Thanks also to Barb Koehn for her assistance. As of 2015, we thank the Waverly Historical Society's museum for the research I am able to do there.

General T. Thomas, Revolutionary War Hero, of Westchester county, NY, was given a military grant to buy land in this area. This included all of what is now Waverly, NY.

1795 - Thomas Thomas sold 1,000 acres of the land to John Shepard for $5,000. This tract of land did include all of present day Waverly. This area was all wilderness covered by thick forest except for a large open field, supposed to have been cleared by the Indians for a corn field. John Shepard had been employed after the close of the revolution as an Indian trader. He was popular with the Indians and went by the name of "Conidehetcut" among them.

Taken from Our County And Its People. Tioga County New York, 1897 pages 634 & 635: JOHN SHEPARD, who is so prominently mentioned in connection with the pioneer and early history of both Barton and this region of country in another department of this work, was born in Connecticut April 17, 1765. His first wife was Anna Gore, born February 8, 1772, and died September 7, 1805. They were married January 3, 1790, and had these children; Prentice, who died young; Isaac, born February 16, 1793, and was a prominent figure in early history in this region; Miama, who married with Jesse Floyd and died on Long Island; Amanda, who married with Charles Hopkins and lived and died in the Susquehanna valley; Julianna, who married with George A. Perkins, of Athens, she was a lady of cultivated literary tastes, the author of valuable historical works, and died January 4, 1824; Job, a farmer, who spent his life in the Susquehanna valley, and by whose marriage with a Miss Ellsworth reared a family of prominence; Phebe, who married with John Hepburn, of Auburn. The second wife of John Shepard was Deborah Hawkins, born in 1778. The children of this marriage were Ruth, Lettie, John L., Mary (wife of Silas Fordham), and Joseph Shepard. John, the pioneer, died in Barton, May 15, 1837, and his wife, Deborah, January 18, 1844. Isaac Shepard, son of John the pioneer, married with Deborah Mills; who bore him these children; Charles Henry, Edward Prentice, William Wickham, Isaac (died on steamer Oregon in the Pacific), Mary Elizabeth, Anna, and Martha Shepard. Charles Henry Shepard was born December 2, 1814, and has been for many years a prominent figure in business and social circles in Waverly, a merchant, banker, real estate dealer, and public spirited citizen. His wife was the daughter of Dr. William Magee, of Paterson, N. J. Of their four children only one survives, Isaac Prentice Shepard, of Waverly.

1813 - John Shepard sold to his son, Isaac Shepard a large amount of land for $2,000, which Isaac made payments on and paid off in the year 1817. Our property was included in this.

1824 - Isaac Shepard sold some of the farm land to Aaron Jackson for $645.00 starting at the 60th mile stone at the PA/NY line. Aaron Jackson paid this off in the year 1831. Elder Aaron Jackson had his house on or near Waverly street and his blacksmith shop at 208 Chemung street where our current house stands. The blacksmith shop must have been built in this time period. Elder Jackson also had a barn in this vicinity. These original buildings are all gone. Our property was included in this land that Aaron Jackson purchased.

1824 - General Thomas Thomas died, buried in Purchase, Westchester county, N. Y.

Taken from Early Wills of Westchester County, New York, from 1664 to 1784, New York, Francis P. Harper 1898: page 330 - 624. Hon. John Thomas. "God's will be done, and this is the will of John Thomas. ESQ of Harrisons Purchase." "I leave to my wife and faithful partner Abigail ?500." To sons John and Thomas all the house and lands where I now live, on the west side of Blind Brook. John is to have the north part. Leaves to daughters Sybil - He was son of Rev. John Thomas, who came to Hempstead, L.I., 1754. His son, Hon. John Thomas, was born in 1705 and settled in Westchester County. He married Abigail, daughter of John Sands, February 19, 1729. He was first judge of Westchester County, and member of Provincial Assembly. During the Revolution he was an exceedingly active patriot, and on that account was particularly obnoxious to the British. He was seized in his bed on the morning of March 22, 1777, carried to New York, and confined in the Provost, and died there on May a following. His remains were buried in Trinity churchyard. His son John was High Sheriff of Westchester, 1776. His second son, Major General Thomas Thomas, was a distinguished officer and member of the State Legislature. He married Katharine, daughter of Nicoll Floyd of Smithtown, L. I., and sister of Charles Floyd, who married his sister Margaret. General Thomas died May 29, 1824, aged seventy-nine. His wife died January 15, 1825, in her seventy-ninth year. Leaving no children, their estate went to the heir of his sister Charity, wife of James Ferris. (Thomas Thomas had 4 children: Charles Floyd, died 1802, Gloriana, died young, Nancy, died 1795 and Catharine.) (Thomas Thomas' siblings: John Thomas, William Thomas - died young, Sibyl Thomas married Abram Field, Charity Thomas married James Ferris, Margaret Thomas married Charles Floyd and Glorianna Thomas married James Franklin.)

1826 NY New York Spectator: All Persons having any claims against the Estate of General Thomas Thomas, late of the town of Harrison, in the county of Westchester, deceased, are hereby requested to present the same for adjustment, to William Barker, of the town of Whiteplains, in the said county of Westchester, or Heathcoat Floyd, of the town of Chemung, in the county of Tioga. And all persons indebted to said estate are requested to make immediate payment to either of the undersigned. William Barker, Heathcoat Floyd, Executors, & c. of Thos. Thomas dec. Whiteplains, April 28th, 1826.

June 25, 1831 At Wheat Plains, Pa, on the 15th inst. Mr. Alfred Wells to Miss Lydia Nice, daughter of John Nice of the former place. (Nyce, spelling variation. These were Charlotte Wells Slaughter's parents.)

Elder Aaron Jackson was pastor of the Athens and Chemung Baptist Church during 1833-1834. At that time the church was located at Factoryville (East Waverly) on the south side of Chemung street nearly opposite Ball Street. In May of 1836, the name of the church was changed to the First Baptist of Factoryville. In 1843, the brick church was erected on Ithaca Street. In 1853, the church changed its name to the Baptist Church of Chemung and Waverly. In August 1862, they decided to sell the Brick Church in Factoryville and to erect a new church closer to the center of Waverly. In 1864, they purchased the current site on Park Avenue. The new church was completed in the autumn of 1865. The new church was a frame structure with steeple. This was most likely the church that was built by Azariah Vanatta. This new church was known as the Baptist Church and Society. In 1876, the name was changed to the First Baptist Church of Waverly. In 1890 plans were made to build the present church which is brick. The new brick church was erected on the site of the older one, which was moved to the rear of the lot to be used for Sunday school, prayer meetings, and social services. (Azariah J. VanAtta was the designer and builder of the former "Slaughter Residence", now our Zehr Estate)

January 23, 1834 Newburgh Telegraph page 2: Married. ...On the 9th inst. by the Rev. Mr. Baldwin Mr. Dewitt Slaughter of Hamptonburgh, to Miss Caroline, daughter of Samuel Mills, Esq. of Walkill.... (Dewitt and Caroline Slaughter along with their two living children, Samuel and Antonette, moved to 208 Chemung St. in 1857. Dewitt Slaughter purchased the lot with rectangular shaped home on it from T. J. Brooks)

1835 - Aaron Jackson and his wife, Asenath, sold their house and 45 acres of farm land to Gilbert Hallett for $1,200. Our property was included in this. The blacksmith shop must have been built and on the site after 1824 and maybe demolished sometime after 1835 and probably before 1849.

1837, John Shepard died.

June 20, 1837 Accession of Victoria , United Kingdom

April 1838 Argus Albany, NY: The people of the state of New York, to Jane Slaughter, the widow, and De Witt Slaughter, of the town of Hamptonburgh; Joseph Slaughter, Henry Moore and Fanny his wife, of the town of Wallkill; Ellison C. Scott and Harriet his wife, of the town of Newburgh; Benjamin Slaughter and Archibald Slaughter, of the town of Warwick, all of the county of Orange and state of New York; John Slaughter, James Slaughter and Isaac Slaughter of the town of Benton, county of Yates and state aforesaid; Jeremiah Slaughter, of the state of Indiana, town and county unknown; Andrew Rogers and Martha his wife, of the state of New Jersey, town and county unknown; Daniel Watkins and Catharine his wife, of the state of Ohio, town and county unknown; the heirs at law of Elizabeth Whiteside, deceased, the names of whom are unknown, except Robert and Isaac Whiteside, of the town of Montgomery, county of Hamlton and state of Ohio; and the said Archibald Slaughter, special guardian of Nancy S. Millspaugh and Amelia Slaughter, of the town of Hamptonburgh aforesaid, infants, the next of kin of Isaac Slaughter, late of the town of Hamtonburgh, in the county of Orange, deceased: You are hereby cited to be and appear before the surrogate of the county of Orange, at his office in the village of Goshen in said county, on the fourth day of June next, at ten o'clock in the forenoon of that day, to attend the probate of a certain instrument in writing, purorting to be the last will and testament of said deceased, bearing date the twenty-seventh day of May, in the year our Lord one thousand eight hundred and thirty-seven, on the application of William H. Slaughter, claiming to be one of the executors thereof; which said will relates to both real and personal estate. In testimony whereof, we have caused the seal of office of our said surrogated of the county of Orange to be hereunto affixed. Witness, John B. Booth, surrogate of the said county, at Goshen in said county, the fourteenth day of April, in the year one thousand eight hundred and thirty-eight. JNO. B. BOOTH, Surrogate. (This is relating to the death of Isaac Slaughter, Dewitt Slaughter's father)

September 17, 1839 Albany NY Evening Journal: CHEMUNG COUNTY YOUNG MEN'S WHIG CONVENTION. A Convention of the Whig Young Men of the county of Chemung convened at Fairport, Sept. 4, 1839, for the purpose of choosing delegates to attend the Democratic Whig Young Men's Senatorial Convention to be held at Owego, on the 18th...The Convention was called to order:... The object of the Convention having been stated, on calling over the towns, the following persons appeared, and took their seats as members of the Convention, ... Big flats-... Chemung - Dix - ... Catlin - ...Elmira - ...Erin - ...Veteran - ... On motion...The committee...On motion... ...reported the names of the following persons as delegates: ... Chemung - J Lowman, Jr. G W Buck, T J Brooks, Joseph Foulke, Jr. John Mitchell, Gorden Snell. ... Resolved, ... (T. J. Brooks purchased the lot where the main house at 208 Chemung street stands in 1849-50 from Andrew S. Rice. Brooks had his home built there which shows up on an 1853 map as being rectangular in shape.)

In 1840, 202 and 208 Chemung Street contained some of the original buildings of Waverly. None of the first buildings (blacksmith shop owned by Elder Aaron Jackson, Isaac Shepard's barns and more)

By 1842, T.J. Brooks opened a general store on Broad Street. He previously had a store in Factoryville (East Waverly) on Cayuta Avenue.

September 3, 1844 Thomas Jefferson Brooks married Cynthia Lowman.

1846 - Gilbert Hallett sold part of the above mentioned 45 acres of farm land to Andrew S. Rice for $1,900, which included our property. (Andrew S. Rice lived in the octagon home which originally stood in the yard just west of the current house at 208 Chemung Street, Waverly, NY) For more on the octagon home

1847 - Postage stamps were first used in the United States in 1847.

February 11, 1847, Thomas and Cynthia Brooks have a daughter born, Rosamond Lillis Brooks. (Owned just the lot where main house stands from 1849-1857. They built the first house on this property, which was most likely incorporated into the current home)

1849 - Andrew S. Rice sold just the lot where the main house now stands at 208 Chemung Street to Thomas J. Brooks for $400.00 which he paid off in 1853 (according to mortgage records in Owego).There is a rectangular shaped house on an 1853 map. Also on the 1853 map is the octagon home on the west side of our main house, our yard on Chemung Street, owned by Andrew S. Rice. It appears that Thomas J. Brooks built the first house (1849 -1853) on the site of where our main house now stands. The octagon house may have been built around 1846 to 1849.

In 1849, the New York and Erie Railroad opens for traffic. This is when and why the businesses that originally started out on the corners and in the vicinity of Waverly and Chemung streets thought they better move down to Broad street. Also, those in Factoryville thought the same thing, move closer or to Broad street.

1850 Rice's octagon home on Chemung street was worth $1,000.

April 1, 1850, Andrew S. Rice and wife, Eliza S. Rice, sold to Thomas J. Brooks and Cynthia Lowman Brooks, his wife. (Lot where main house now stands)

1850 census, 7 years before Dewiit Slaughter and his family move to Waverly: Dewitt Slaughter 47 years old, farmer, his wife Caroline Slaughter 38 yrs old, son Sam W. Slaughter 13 yrs old, daughter Antoinette Slaughter 4 years old, laborer Thomas Hamilton 28 yrs old born in Ireland, Anthony Conner 14 yrs old born in NY, Martha I. Millspaugh 13 yrs old. Living in Hamtonburgh, Orange county, NY.

April 2, 1852 The Luminary: on corners of Chemung and Waverly streets in 1852, were: southeast corner (202 Chemung St.), Joseph Chambers, dealer in cabinet furniture, chairs & c. southwest corner (Current Methodist Church), J. Reel, Waverley hotel. (used the second "e")

Among the numerous buildings erecrted within the past few months, we would mention the elegant mansions of Senator Bristol, and H. M. Moore, Esq., on Chemung street, and especially that of Mr. Bristol, which is located on a rise of ground overlooking the country for miles around. But still the work of improvement is going on, and new buildings are being put up in every part of our Village, and strangers are daily enquiring for stores and dwellings.

To give our readers at a distance, and idea of the rapidity with which we are moving along we will give a list of the buildings now under contract, and to be erected as fast as they can be put up, viz: On Broad Street - B. H. Davis, three brick stores, three stories high. P. B. Snyder, brick hotel, four stories high. G. Myers, machine shop and dwelling house. Wm. Manners, store and bakery. Mr. Johnson, Carriage shop. La Fayette Perkins, dwelling house. R. A. Elmer, marble shop. A. H. Rood, dwelling house. C. Hay, store. Fulton Street- A. Jarvis, dwelling house. J. Barto, dwelling house. G. Simonson, two dwelling houses. D. W. C. Millspaught, dwelling house. Peter Velie, dwelling house. Waverly Street - J. E. Hallett, two dwelling houses. Hunt & Hanford, stores. R. Swain dwelling house. A. Larnarnd, dwelling house ... Pennsylvania Avenue- G. W. Brown, dwelling house. D. Mills, dwelling house. Howard Street - Owen Spalding, dwelling house. Loder Street - Jacob Reel, large hotel. Providence Street - N. J. Newell, academical building, 42x88 feet, and four stories high, to be built of brick. The above list of buildings, will be up and finished in a short time.

Waverley -Its Business Mem, & c. (notice the second "e" in Waverley). ...T. J. Brooks, dealer in dry goods, groceries, & c., in Spalding block.

April 3, 1853 New York Herald: The public recognition of Rev. Aaron Jackson as pastor of the North Baptist church, in this city, will take place at their meeting house, corner of Christopher and Bedford streets, on Thursday evening, April 7th, at 7 1/2 o'clock.

April 17, 1853 The New York Herald: The public recognition of Rev. Aaron Jackson as pastor of the North Bapist Church, in this city, took place in their meeting house, corner of Christopher and Bedford streets, on Thursday evening, April 7.

November 28, 1853 New-York Daily Tribune: For Sale or Exchange for Western Land. - Two Store Houses, 22 by 50 feet, two-stories high, well situated for business, about 100 yards from the New-York and Erie Railroad Depot in the flourishing village of Waverly, Tioga County, N. Y. Also a beautiful Gothic Dwelling House on one-and-one-fourth acre of Land, within fifteen minutes' walk of said Depot. Waverly contains 2,000 inhabitants and is rapidly increasing; is situated at the head of the North Branch Canal, between the Susquehanna and Chemung Rivers, where the Philadelphia and Waverly Railroad, and the Sodus Bay and Waverly Railroad is to terminate. The very superior advantages of Waverly and its very desirable location, had caused its growth to its present size within the last 5 years, and it is destined in a short time, to vie with any town west of New - York City. For further particulars, address or apply to Wood & Brooks, Hamilton-av., cor. President-st. South Brooklyn.

February 21, 1854 New-York Daily Tribune: Married. Jackson-Quigley - ON Sunday evening, 19th inst., by the Rev. Mr. Gillette, the Rev. Aaron Jackson, Pastor of the North Baptist Church, to Miss Martha Quigley of this city.

March 22, 1854: The Broome Republican: Paymaster - We learn that T. J. Brooks, of Waverly, has been appointed paymaster on the New York and Erie Road. The Waverly Advocate speaks in high terms of the appointee.

April 5, 1854 The Broome Republican: ...T. J. Brooks also of Tioga County, but a few days since was appointed paymaster for the Susquehanna division.... (N. Y. & E. R. R.)

June 1, 1854 Binghamton, Broome County, N. Y.: ... Barton - organized by act of March 23, 1824. Taken from Tioga. The first families resident in this town, were those of Ebenezer Ellis, senior, and Stephen Mills. Mr. Ellis was from Wyoming and settled first, in 1787, on the Samuel Walker farm, in the town of Nichols, lived there about four years and then, 1791, disposing of his possession, removed to Barton, settling near the mouth of Ellis creek. About the same time, Mr. Mills, who had also, at first located in Nichols, changed his residence to Barton. He shared in our national struggle and became a pensioner under the act of 1832. At this time, a man by the name of Aikens lived near where the village of Barton now is, upon a tract of nine hundred acres, of which Mr. Gilbert Smith afterward became the purchaseer. Another early settler, was Ezekiel Williams, upon what has been since known as the Williams lot, and a family by the name of Curry lived at an early day in this town, but removed soon to Pennsylvania. John Hanna was an early pioneer in this town, removing with his family from Wyoming, about the year 1793. He died only a few years since, universally respected, at the remarkable age of 101 years. He was a soldier of the revolution, and a pensioner under the act of 1832. William Bensley, Luke Sunders, also a pensioner, and James Swartwood, were early settlers here. Some of the early pioneers upon Cayuta creek, in this town, were Charles Bingham, Layton Newell, Lyon C. Hedges and Philip Crans, Justus Lyons, John Manhart, and a family by the name of Reed, were early settlers upon that stream, and Silas Woolcott upon Ellis creek, who afterward removed to Ithaca. George W. Buttson was an owner of a saw-mill, built at Barton village in the early history of this town, from whom the creek, which passess through that village, received its name. John Shepard an emigrant from Connecticut, the father of Isaac Shepard and brothers, after his marriage with a daughter of Obadiah Gore, a distinguished pioneer of Bradford county, settled at Milltown, a short distance below the South line of this town in 1790-2. He was a resident at Tioga Point, it is believed, some five or six years earlier. The venerable Thomas Wilcox, now living near Milltown, upon the farm where he settled in 1799, was an emigrant from Lee, Berkshire county Mass. Gilbert Smith, after his removal from Nichols, became permanently a resident of this town. As a gentleman of energy and enterprise, his name for a number of years has been intimately associated with the early history of his town, in the transaction of business connected with extensive land agencies and otherwise. He has now reached the great age of 84 years. Elisha Saterlee became a resident of Athens on the East side of the river, not far below the South line of this town, in the spring of 1788. He was in the Continental service during the whole period of the war, and had the honor of having in his possession and honorable-discharge, under the hand and seal of Washington. The distinguished and intrepid Col. John Franklin, his confidential friend and co-laborer through all the trying scenes of Wyoming, soon after, took up his residence at Athens; and with Maj. Zephon Flower, their neighbor, also a revolutionary soldier of marked merit, who is still living at the great age of ninety years, they formed a trio of distinguished patriots, whose Roman virtues should not go unrecorded. It may be mentioned here, that Stephen Bidlack, a son of Captain James Bidlack, who fell at the head of the Wilkesbarre company in the Wyoming battle, and step-son of Col. Franklin, by the subsequent marriage of the latter with the widow of the patriot Captain, resided in the same vicinity until his removal to the town of Spencer, in the year 1800, where he died, in March 1849. He married Lois, daughter of the patriot, Captain Samuel Ransom, who fell in the same battle. She still survives; having attained to a very venerable age. ...

1854 Waverly was incorporated. On April 25, 1853, a formal application to incorporate the village of Waverly was made by H. S. Davis, Owen Spalding, T. J. Brooks, W. A. Brooks, R. O. Crandall, Richard A. Elmer, Alvah Jarvis and others. On December 12, 1853, a notice for a call of election was made and on January 18, 1854, voters of the village cast a total of 158 votes; 114 for and 44 against. The election was held at the old hotel, run by James Whitaker, on the corner of Chemung and Waverly streets. {the hotel was at current day 159a Chemung Street, northwest corner of Waverly and Chemung streets. It was a previous building on that lot that was destroyed by fire in 1856.}

Joseph Hallett, chose and copied the name from Sir Walter Scott's "Waverley" and dropped the second "e", but for several years, it was still spelled "Waverley." The first village officers were elected on March 27, 1854.

From the Waverly Advocate of February 19, 1885: Historical. Waverly, its History, Growth, and Development, With a Brief Review of the Early History of Tioga County. A large tract of land extending from the Chemung river to Shepard's creek, and from the State line north, a much greater distance, was originally known as the Benedict Location, as indicated on a map published in the early part of this century. On the east of Shepard's creek was a large tract known as Lorillard's patent, and in this Peter Lorillard, after the manner of English noblemen, had reserved a manor of "barton" and from here came the name Barton as applied to this town.
Waverly is situated on the southern boundary of the Benedict Location and in the southwest corner of Tioga county, as now established.
The name "Waverly" was not officially applied to the place until the year 1854 prior to that time it having been known as Factoryville. In that year the village was incorporated and at a meeting held in Brigham's hotel, it was given the name "Waverly" at the suggestion of Mr. J. E. Hallet, who borrowed the name from Scott's immortal productions. Several other names which were "Shepardsville," "Davisville" and "Loder", the latter being in honor of Benjamin Loder, vice-president of the then recently completed Erie railway. Many favored this name and it lacked but a few votes of being chosen.

From the Waverly Advocate Of March 12, 1885: Historical. Waverly, its History, Growth, and Development, With a Brief Review of the Early History of Tioga County. ... Another interesting fact that we have learned since the publication of the earlier numbers, and that appears to have been forgotten by all, save one or two of the older residents, is that until about 1840, '45, the little settlement on Chemung street was called "Villemont," a name given it by Isaac Shepard. This name preceded that of "Waverly," and was used to designate the settlement from "Factoryville" and was the first name given to the village. After this the place was called "Villemont" "Waverly" "Loder", etc., until in 1854, as stated in a previous number, the village was incorporated and at a ballot taken at a meeting of citizens, the name Waverly was selected. The name was then, and for several years afterwards, spelled, "Waverley."

From The Binghamton Press of February 3, 1954: Judge Clohessy Tells History of Waverly. Owego- Tioga County Judge Francis J. Clohessy, guest speaker at the annual dinner of the Waverly Chamber of Commerce held Monday night at O'Brien's Restaurant in Route 17, used the coming Waverly centennial this summer in the development of his speech. ... "Waverly," taken from the Waverley novels of Sir Walter Scott. "Factoryville was the father of the Village of Waverly," Judge Clohessy stated. "It was located near the Cayuta Creek, or Shepard's Creek and on the Towanda-Ithaca Turnpike and named by reason of the number of mills and factories erected along the creek." ... With the completion of the Erie Railroad in 1849, the erection of buildings and business establishments in the vicinity of the first depot led to the gradual movement of the settlement of what is now Waverly. In 1853, with a population of between 700 and 800 people, the need for water, police and fire protection developed, leading to a movement for the incorporation of a village. ... On Jan. 28, the certificate was endorsed by County Judge Charles P. Avery and filed in the Tioga County Clerk's office. On March 27, 1854, the first village election was held with five trustees elected and Hiram M. Moore chosen its first president. {Waverly absorbs Factoryville in 1889, see November 28, 1889 article}

1855 New York Morning Courier, NY: Some twenty persons are suffereres by the late fire in Waverly on the Erie Railroad. The largest loser is Owen Spaulding, whose loss is put down at $8,000; insurance $3,000. Peter Compton loses $5,000; insured $4,000. A. S. Mott, $2,000; insured $1,200. The whole loss is estimated at about $28,000; insurance about $18,000 or $20,000.

June 12, 1855 Andrew S. Rice along with Guy Tozer, town of Barton, Tioga county, State of New York, invented a new and improved Kind of Self-Setting Sawmill Dog, in the use of which lumbermen are enabled to saw their lumber of a uniform thickness. Patents Office.

1855 map; no homes at 3, 4, 5, or 7 Athens street, Waverly, NY.

December 1856, Andrew S. Rice sold off current day 3 and 5 Athens street to Luman Rice for $700.

1857 - Thomas J. Brooks sold the lot where main house now stands to DeWitt Slaughter for $1,500. Dewitt Slaughter was a retired farmer from Hamptonburg, Orange county, NY. It has been passed down thru all owners of the home, that Dewitt had the current home built for his only living son, Samuel Wickham Slaughter. We believe that Dewitt, along with his wife, Caroline and their only two living children, Samuel and Antonette lived in Brook's rectangular shaped house and that they started adding on to it as the years passed. In 1861, Dewitt's wife, Caroline died an then in 1868, Dewitt's daughter, Antonette died. In 1873, major changes took place and according to a newspaper article, "rebuilt" was used. We believe this is where the handed down information comes into play, that Dewitt had this done for Samuel and Samuels's new wife, Charlotte Wells Slaughter. In 1873 is most likely when Azariah J. VanAtta was hired as the designer and builder.

April 8, 1857, Thomas J. Brooks and Cynthia Lowman Brooks sold to Dewitt Slaughter for $1,500, indicating a moderately sized dwelling was on the property. On an 1853 map of Waverly and Factoryville, there was a rectangle shaped house at 208 Chemung Street.

The "Slaughter Residence" was built and designed by Azariah J. VanAtta, Architect and Contractor. (Born December 15, 1827, moved to Waverly in 1850, but lived outside of Waverly before this, on a farm, died May 1913) We are not sure of the exact date of our buildings. From the basement, there is evidence of remodeling and re-using of lumber. It remains a mystery if our house contains part of Brook's home. Maybe the Slaughter family moved into Brook's home and then slowly added on to it or had it torn down and re-used the lumber from the Brook's home?

September 29, 1857 Thomas Jefferson Brooks died.

Feb 6, 1858 A Question in Patent Law
MESSRS EDITORS :—As there are no lawyers here who are acquainted with Patent business, I wish to enquire if a man is not liable in an action of damages, in the Supreme Court of this State, for making a patented article when it is his intention to sell the same, even though he sells to those who own territory ? Or suppose I own a county right to make and sell, can any other make in said territory and sell to others out of said county or in it ? Please answer through the SCIENTIFIC AMERICAN. A. S. RICE. Waverly, N. Y., Jan. 27th, 1858.
[The Supreme Court of the State of New York has no jurisdiction in patent cases. Suits for damages can only be brought in the United States Courts. A patent is the monopoly of the right to make, sell and use the article secured by the grant of Letters Patent —therefore no one can manufacture a patented article upon territory owned by another without infringing the right of the latter.— EDS. {Andrew S. Rice, owner of the octagon home on Chemung street}

February 9, 1858, Andrew S. Rice sold to Amelia J. Foster for $1,500, Rice's octagonal home with parts of current 9 Athens and all of current 7 Athens street land. (Amelia J. Foster was born Sept. 5, 1831 and died May 15, 1864. She is buried at Ridgebury Cemetery in Orange county, NY. Her husband was Henry S. Foster. She had at least one child, Minnie. Her parents were Robert and Susan Dody.)

March 15, 1858 Isaac Shepard died.

June 14, 1858, Luman A. Rice and Melissa Rice, his wife, sold current day 3 and 5 Athens street land to Amelia J. Foster for $1,000.

June 25, 1858, Amelia J. Foster and Henry S. Foster sold to Edwin Mills for $3,000, the octagon home at what today could be considered 206 Chemung street along with current day 3, 5, 7 and parts of 9 Athens street land. (This Edwin Mills was probably Dewitt Slaughter's brother-in-law.)

1859 - (See article from September 2, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record) An Old Waverly Society. Among the keepsakes at the Institute reunion was the record book of the "Societias Philalogo" a debating society organized in 1859 whose members were as follows: R. Alison Elmer, H. D. Jenkins, H. Payne, N. A. Lamphear, F. H. Payne, A. D. Warne, J. H. Millspaugh, Geo. S. Comstock, J. P. Bosworth, S. W. Slaughter, D. C. Delaney, Chas. H. Morgan, Hugh J. Baldwin, George E. Morgan, Chas. W. Bower, Waverly; A. Buck, Guy Wyncoop, Seth E. Holley, Martin T. Rogers, Nathaniel C. Rogers, Chemung; M. V. D. Sweetlove, Spencer; Walter C. Hull, Ellicottville; J. E. Bristol, Coventry; A. Y. Hubbell, North Barton; Wm. G. Tenbrook, Factoryville; Levi Morse, Litchfield, Pa.; A. Canfield, Smithboro; Rushton Smith, Factoryville; Francis H. Olmstead, Milltown.

1860 census in Chemung county, NY, appears that after Thomas J. Brook's death in 1858, that his family moved in with his wife's parents. Cynthia Lowman Brooks 35 yrs old and daughter Rosemand 13 yrs old, living with George Lowman 64 yrs old farmer and wife Lillis 63 yrs old, John Jr. Lowman farm agent 32 yrs old, Susan Lowman 28 yrs old, Phebe Ann Lowman 266 yrs old, Clancy Lowman 1 yr old, Clarence Goodwin 26 yrs old farm laborer, James Hanington 20 yrs old farm laborer, Elizabeth Rowley 20 yrs old homestead, Mary Ann Doty 13 yrs old.

1860's Many families were boarding up their fireplaces and using parlor stoves, venting them through the chimneys.

April 12, 1860 - (See article from September 2, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record) At a meeting held Friday, April 12th, 1860, it was Resolved: "That the Literary Society known as the Soc. Phil. disband; that the business for the coming exhibition be kept entirely with the committee; that the meeting this evening be the last regular one, but there be a meeting held the 25th of April at 9 a. m. , when the books, viz: Treas. and Secy., and the lamps, etc., belonging to the Society be sold at auction to the highest bidder. ... and finally that after the aforesaid meeting be held the Soc. Phil. shall exist only in the memories of its members." Thus ends the history of one of the Institute societies and an interesting bit of local history.

November 9,1861 Caroline Mills Slaughter died of apoplexy (stroke). She was born May 4,1812. She is buried in Scotchtown, Orange county, NY

1861-1862, at current 337 Broad Street was J. F. Bosworth & N. F. Penney- drugs, medicines, paints, oils, glass and putty, lamps, books, stationary, Corner Drug Store, short time later changed name to Bosworth & Slaughter. (from Don Merrill's collection)

December 20, 1862 Utica Morning Herald And Daily Gazette: LITERARY MATTERS. THE HOLIDAYS. The annually recurrent mania for holiday literature has induced the publication of numerous choice gift books not hitherto announced. The New York, Boston, and Philadelphia houses have made large ventures in costly works, destined to be transported as Christmas and New Year offerings to libraries and parlor tables throughout the country, and to be heir-looms, as Fox's Book of Martyr's and other traditional books of the past are to us - to many future generations. What is cheeriog is that the rich covers of these books are many of them to clasp the noblest pages in literature-pages that we have learned to reverence and love. The dishwater element is small; "the wine of life, which who so drinketh lives, " is the chief distillation, and the lives of those who shall drink are pure indeed if they do not feel themselves stronger and purer after such a banquet. What gifts are these, for instance: Richard Grant White's Shakespeare: Large paper edition about $120; the Abbottsford edition of the Waverley Novels, in the neighborhood of $40, or Mr. James G. Gregory's edition of "Darley's Cooper Vignettes, " only $30. This last work is a novel - large folio, in superb morroco or antique binding. It is composed of artist proofs, taken before lettering, printed with the greatest care on India, and backed on large French plate paper. Each proof is accompanied by a page of letter press descriptive of the picture. Of course but a limited number of copies have been printed. Carleton, of New York, had prepared a beautiful pendant to Victor Hugo's romanceful Les Miserables. It consists of a richly bound quarto containing twenty-five or thirty photographs from a series of original designs, by M. Prior, a distinguished French artist, illustrating the dramatis personce and most striking events of this wonderful novel. ... The publication of exclusively juvenile gift books is considerably larger than was anticipated. Heaven bless the children! Their holidays, despite the gloom upon the land, will be as happy as ever; their holiday reading as welcome. That venerable, but ever beautiful legend of St. Nicholas' visit on "The Night Before Christmas," will come to them newly illustrated by Darley this year, and ...Jacob Abbot's series of books, published by Harper's. Everybody has heard of the Franconia and Marco Paul stories... "Child's Bible Story Book," six pretty little volumes of fifteen pages each, with pictures innumerable, carefully colored by hand....

January 16, 1863, Samuel Slaughter buys building on corner of Broad and Waverly street for his Corner Drug Store. Dewitt Slaughter holds the deed while Samuel pays off the mortgage of $2,250.00, to be paid in 10 years.

New York State Military Museum and Veterans Research Center: Civil War Newspapers Tioga County, New York. List of Men Drafted in Tioga County. The draft in this County took place on Tuesday and Wednesday, July 14th and 15th, the following being a full list of the names drawn in the several towns. (1863) ... under Barton is Samuel W. Slaughter

July 4, 1863 Samuel W. Slaughter merchant single subject to do military duty in the twenty sixth congressional district, consisting of the counties of Schuyler, Tompkins, Broome, and Tioga.

July 16, 1863 Samuel Wickham Slaughter drafted into Civil War.

1863 There was an Andrew S. Rice working as a Turner in Brooklyn, NY

1863 -1873, at 337 Broad Street, Slaughter & Hayes - Corner Drug Store, wall paper, stationery, wines and liquors (brick building). (from Don Merrill's collection) Henry M. Hayes, born in 1828, died in 1908.

1864 There was an Andrew S. Rice in Brooklyn, NY working as a machinist

1865 New York state census: at 208 Chemung street, Waverly, NY. Framed wood home worth $1,500. Dewitt Slaughter, 61 yrs. , gentleman, with son, Samuel W., 25 yrs., a merchant, and daughter, Nettie, 17 yrs.

1865, at 337 Broad Street, Dr. C. T. Bliss, physican and surgeon office, over Slaughter & Hayes Drug Store

August 1865 Brooklyn Daily Eagle: COUNTY COURT OF KINGS COUNTY-Thomas Longking against Eliza S. Rice, widow of Andrew S. Rice, deceased, and others. David Barnett, Att/y for Pltff. In pursuance of a judgment order of this Court, made in the above entitled action, bearing date the 16th of May, 1865, I, the undersigned referee, will sell by public auction, at the auction rooms of Cole & Murphy, No. 339 Fulton street, opposite the City Hall, in the city of, Brooklyn, on the first day of July, 1865, at 12 o'clock noon, the following described land and premises: All that certain piece or parcel of land, situate in the Village of East New York, Town of New Lotts and County of Kings, bounded and described as follows: Beginning at a point distant easterly one hundred and twenty-five feet (125 ft) from the centre line of New Jersey avenue, on a line drawn at right angles therefrom, and commencing on such centre line at a point distant, northerly, three hundred and forty-seven feet eight inches (347 ft 8 in) from the intersection of such centre line and the northerly line of the Brooklyn and Jamaica Plank road; thence running easterly one hundred and thirty feet (130 ft), at right angles with such centre line to the centre line of Vermont avenue; thence northerly, parallel with New Jersey avenue and along the centre line of Vermont avenue sixty-three feet (63 ft); thence westerly, at right angles with New Jersey avenue one hundred and thirty feet (130 ft); thence southerly and parallel with New Jersey avenue sixty-three feet (63 ft) to the place of beginning. - Dated Brooklyn May 16th, 1865. Thomas D. Pearsall. Referee. 22 Court street. my16law6wTu

October 31, 1866 Dewitt Slaughter had a will made that would leave his property and home to his son, Samuel Wickham Slaughter. Dewitt’s household goods and furniture were to be left to his daughter, Antonette Slaughter. (Antonette died, two years after the will had been made and before the death of her father. Dewiit died in 1875)

December 12, 1866 Buffalo Daily Courier: Our Pension System. We condense the following facts from the report of the Commisssioner of Pensions: Present State Of The Pesion Business. The grand aggregate of individuals on the pension rolls of the United States was, on the 30th of June last, 126,722. The grand aggregate of annual pension money for these was $11,671, 474, 31; in 1864, 39,509 had been added to the roll, in 1865,40, 176; in 1866, 50,177. - in the grand aggregate above are included army invalids, 54, 629; navy invalids, 1,032; army widows, & c., 68,957; navy widows, & c., 1,181. The Commissioner estimates that $33,000,000 will be required to pay the pensions for the ensuing fiscal year. About The Pensioners. With regard to the wars in which death or disability was incurred, it would seem that about 110,000 of all classes of pensioners have thus far arisen out of the war for the Union. The remainder now on the rolls, but rapidly dropping away, are from the war of 1812, Mexican and Indian wars, invalids, widows, &c., under general and special acts of Congress, 4,227; widows of revolutionary soldiers, 931, of whom but two survive who shared with their husbands the soldiers lot, viz. Nancy Serena, widow of Joseph Serena, of Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania who recieves $96 per annum, and Jane Slaughter, widow of Isaac Slaughter, of Orange county, New York, who receives $80 per annum. All the other surviving widows were married to the soldier subsequent to the termination of his revolutionary military service. One more completes the number. The Last Revoltionary Hero. But one remains on the roll- Samuel Downing, of Edinburgh, Saratoga county, New York, is alone now. The Commissioner of Pensions says: "This veteran, distinguished by fortune as the last known survivor of the heroic men who achieved by arms our national independance, enlisted from Carroll county, New Hampshire, and is now more than one hundred years old." ... (Jane Slaughter is Dewitt Slaughter's mother)

1867 The Waverly Advocate: Young Ladies School. Miss N. A. Williams, Will open a School for Young Ladies the Octagon House, Chemung st. Waverly. Rates Of Tuition Per Term Of Eleven Weeks. Reading, Spelling, Object Lessons and Mental Arithmetic $2.50. Reading, Spelling, Pennmanship, Practical Arithmetic, Geograpy and Elements of Grammar. 3.50. Philosophy, Physiology Grammar, Composition including any of the above 4.50. Chemistry, Geology, Astronomy and Botany 5.00. Extras. French, 3.50. Drawing, 3.00.Painting on Velvet 6.00. Painting in Water Colors 4.00. Monochromatic Painting 4.00. Pastel or colored Crayons 5.00. Oil Painting 10.00. Wax Flowers and Fruit each 6.00. Embroidery on Silk and Worsted and Fancy Work of different kinds. Tuition due at the middle of the Term. First Term will commence Nov. 4th, 1867. N. A. Williams. No deductin made on account of absence, except in cases of protracted illness. (Edwin Mills owns the octagon house)

1868 - Paints, Oils, Varnishes, Brushes, Glass, and Putty. All of the Best Quality and will be sold at the Very Lowest Market Prices. Slaughter & Hayes. (Corner Drug Store) Waverly, N.Y. No. 87, Broad St. Waverly, N. Y. {old number to Corner Drug Store}

July 2, 1868 The Waverly Advocate: Pictures Framed and Mirrors Repaired With Neatness and Dispatch, at the Corner Drug Store. Slaughter & Hayes Waverly, N.Y.
At the Corner Drug Store can be found the very best cigars. Just try them.

March 21, 1868 Waverly Advocate: Deaths. Slaughter - In Waverly, March 18, 1868 Nettie, only daughter of Dewitt Slaughter, aged 21 years and 8 months. (Antonette Slaughter)

September 3, 1868 Queens County Sentinel, Hempstead, N. Y.: Died. Jackson - At Oysterbay, August 22d, Rev. Aaron Jackson, in the 71st year of his age.

October 1868 Waverly Advocate: Ed. Mills gave us a drink of cider manufactured on Saturday last from the Harrison and Vandeveres. It was superior to the best Hammondsport line. The idea of making cider in spring from the best quality of apples is as good as it is new.

1869 - ads referred to: parlor sets, chamber sets, dining room table and chairs, hall stands, kitchen furniture

January 30, 1869 ITHACAN VOLUME 1.: Tioga County. On the 15th, the grocery of Atwater Bros. and the drug store of Slaughter & Hayes in Waverly were entered by burgulars and robbed to some extent. (Henry M. Hayes was a bookseller and also later went into his own drug business)

1869 map; shows one large home covering land of 3 and 5 Athens street, Waverly, NY. Early on this home's address was 3 Athens street, but later on this same home used address of 5 Athens street. Homes appear at 4 and 8 Athens street.

1869 Waverly Advocate: Hayes & Slaughter have enlarged their Drug Store as well as their stock.

1869 Waverly Advocate: Slaughter & Hayes have been getting in a tremendous stock of Wall Paper, of the latest and prettiest styles. When spring comes don’t fail to re-paper your walls - it is good for health and looks.

February 26, 1869 Waverly Advocate: Mr. Fisk of the Wellsville Free Press paid our village a brief visit a few weeks ago, and in due time the following very complimentary notice appeared in his paper. We thank Mr. F. for the justice he has done our enterprising village: Waverly. - A few hours spent in this village show that it is one of the most active, prosperous and promising ones on the Erie Railway. It is beautifully located on the plains which lie between the Susquehanna and Chemung just above the point of their junction at Athens, or Tioga Point, and it is the outlet of a very large and rich section of country both North and South. A railway runs South to Towanda in Pennsylvania, opening to them trade of a rich coal region and one is projected North to Ithaca. It now contains about three thousand inhabitants and the number of new buildings to be seen as well as the prices asked for all forms of real estate, indicate the faith its people have in its future. So far as we could judge by a hurried look, this faith seems abundantly justifiable. The village is beautiful far above most others, both in itself and surroundings. It has many costly residences; its streets are well laid out, and all are shaded; walks are built and free from snow; it has, as we have said, three thousand people and but five licensed drinking places, and our informant says, none unlicensed. - The only billiard saloon is put across the line, in Pennsylvania, so as to be out of the way of the village authorities. It has a flourishing academy, good churches and a village park; and a place where gambling of any kind can be carried on is unknown to the people. It is a model village. Its trade comes from the large and rich farming country surrounding. We found there many people from Wellsville. Mr. Wm. E. Armstrong is engaged in a large and flourishing trade in groceries and crockery. His friends will be glad to learn that he is on the road to prosperity in his new home. - Mr. Robert Manners, formerly in business here, is engaged in the music trade, and seems to be doing well. Free Press disciples are there in force and all prospering, as those who have had “so good a bringing up” should. Frank T. Scudder, of the neat little Waverly Enterprise, has as fine a job printing office as one could well expect to see in the country. He is winning both the good esteem of his townsmen, and the stamps, by his sterling qualities as a man. J. B. Bray is foreman in the Democrat office, and has from what we learn, invented a new printing press, which, if rightly managed, will “strike oil” for him. Miss Bell Bray is employed in the Advocate office. Waverly is bound to go ahead in the future, and seems to offer rare inducements for business to locate there.

April 1869 The Waverly Advocate: Slaughter & Hayes propose to curb and pave the gutter up Waverly street as far as their lot extends, which is well enough; but if you go up a few steps farther you will find the New Tin Shop of Cassius M. Harsh with a snug little assortment of tin, copper, and sheet iron ware, cutlery, and some beautiful pumps suitable for cisterns. … Remember C. M. Harsh above the Corner Drug Store.

August 22, 1869 Hisotry of Seven Counties 1885: Cayuta Chapter No. 245, R. A. M., was organized Aug. 22, 1869. Officers, O. W. Shepard, H. P.; R. A. Elmer, C.K.; A. J. Van Atta, S. ; E. P. Curtis, secretary; Thomas Marsh, treasurer.

April 28, 1869 To Railway Travelers. Tickets East, West, North and South sold at the Great Western Ticket Office, opposite the Depot. Western Tickets via Lake Shore and Michigan Southern, Grand Trunk and Great Western Railways. Travelers will find it to their interest to give me a call. Lewis S. Richardson.

May 14, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: Soda at Hayes & Slaughter at five cents a glass. That’s cool!

The Board of Waverly, at their meeting on the Evening of May 1st 1869, appointed Drs W. E. Johnson and L. B. Hawley, to act with Hugh T. Herrick, President of the Board of Trustees, as a Board of Health for Waverly, for the current year. Also at this special meeting held May 10, 1869 the Trustees passed an ordinance, changing the name of Meadow Street in this village to that of Lincoln Street, in accordance with the Petition of property owners on said Street. (Found in a previous article that they changed the name, Main Street, to Meadow Street)

May 28, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: The large flag-stone at the Corner Drug Store have been adjusted to the new grade, and new walk laid up Waverly street to the New Tin Shop, where Cassius keeps a splendid assortment of the most reliable goods in the tin and hard-ware line. If you want nice Dairy fixtures go to Cassius; if you want a little jobbing done go to Cassius - he can do it and will do it well and cheap.

1869 Several building lots for sale by R. A. Elmer (large number of lots on new street running east from the Park, 4 large lots on Grove Street, 4 lots on Providence street) Also building lots offered by Shepard & Elmer on Fulton, Center, South and Loder streets.

June 4, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: Paints, Oils, Varnishes, Brushes, Glass and Putty, All of the Best Quality, and will be sold at the Very Lowest Market Prices. Slaughter & Hayes. (Corner Drug Store) Waverly, N. Y.

June 11, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: Broad and Waverly streets are the handsomest streets to be formed within forty miles of this place.

Slaughter & Hayes have put up a fine cloth awning at the Corner Drug Store - They’re ahead.

June 25, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: To Everybody! We have the largest Stock of Wall Paper, (English and American) Window Shades, (Cloth and Paper) … Slaughter & Hayes, (Corner Drug Store)

July 2, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: Wood for Sale. Hardwood, Beech and Maple, or Hemlock. All orders promptly filled. A. G. Allen Office, Van Duzer’s Block.
A stand for the use of the Waverly Cornet Band is to be built at the Park. The funds have been raised and the structure will be a good one.

July 16, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: We hear many complaining that they have no water in their cisterns. - This is probably because they have not called on Cassius M. Harsh to have their water conductors repaired, or perhaps are using old leaky wooden ones which should be replaced with good tin ones. Cassius does those and all other jobs in the tin line promptly, substantially and neatly. Shop on Waverly street, above Corner Drug Store.

August 20, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: Gen. Grant In Waverly. - That looks well, reads well, sounds well. In fact it was well, and it would have been much better if the people generally had known that President Grant would honor this place with a call, for America holds no man to-day on whom Americans would feel so proud to look, or whose hand they would be so happy to grasp, as the man who fought it out on that line, crushed rebellion, made treason odious in fact, and established peace in all the land. The special train which brought him from the east on Friday evening last halted here for a few minutes; the General appeared upon the platform of the car, and paid his respects to the large crowd of citizens present by shaking hands vigorously for five minutes with both friends and foes, the latter being by no means backward in the business. - He was heartily cheered as the train moved away. The General looked fatigued and careworn, yet in good health and spirits. All were favorably impressed with his appearance. Although less in stature than many had supposed him to be, he looked that man of kindness and self-reliance: He is compact, and strongly built, with a happily balanced organization, both mental and physical. He is modest, unassuming, and unostentatious, yet thoughtful, prudent, forcible. We believe his administration will partake of these excellent characteristics.

September 3, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: Feather Beds are going into a decline, and Matresses and Spring Beds are becoming popular. This is a change for the public health. We know of no establishment that keeps such a large stock and such and excellent variety of mattresses spring beds and other bed furniture as F. Y. Payne of this village. Now is a good time to secure good bargains in this line - he has a large stock form which to make selections.

Moses Lyman Jr has bought ten acres of the side-hill known as the Camp Ground for $3,000. By this purchase he secures a fine spring, which will enable him to convey water to all parts of his new residence, now nearly completed. {535 Waverly Street, current owners are Don and Carol Merrill as of 2015} #169 and 173 of Waverly Advocate on Fulton History

October 1, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: {34 dwellings built on Clark Street in the last 4 years}

October 22, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: Forty new dwellings have been built in the village east of Pennsylvania Avenue within the past four years.

November 12, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: Postage stamps were first used in the United States in 1847. - L. B. Hawley, M. D., Homeopathist, Will attend to calls in Waverly, and prescribe at his residence on Athens St., near the new Baptist Church. Waverly, Jan 1, 1866

November 19, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: George Morgan has sold his house and lot on Clark St. to a Mr. Rice for $1,600.

November 26, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: Again there is a great complaint of the scarcity of dwelling houses in Waverly.

December 3, 1869 Corning Journal: Dr. George Merrill, of Waverly, has sold out his Drug business to Slaughter V. Hayes. Elmira Gazette. The "given -name" of the new Druggist in not calculated to invite custom. Nervous people would be apt to buy their pills and powders elsewhere. (The V was a typo and should be &)

December 17, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: For Sale. The subscriber going to leave, will sell his House and Lot on Chemung and Athens streets, containing about Two Acres of Land. - Also, a Top Buggy and half Portland Sleigh, both nearly New. A One Horse Lumber Wagon and Shelvings. Edwin Mills (This is referring to the octagon house that at that time was just west of our main house in our current yard)

1870 - 1883, at 337 Broad Street, Dr. F. M. Snook, dentist office over Corner Drug Store, entrance was on Waverly Street. (from Don Merrill's collection)

1870 census: Gabriel Evans along with his sibling, Jesse, was living with his parents; George and Esther Evans.

January 7, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: A New Floor Covering - An exchange says: “Save all your newspapers, and when you get enough for the purpose, make a paste as for putting on wall paper, and lay them down, one by one, pasting them till your floor is covered, then let it dry; then lay another in the same way. When again dry get some wall paper of a suitable color, and paste all over it. When dry go over it again with a good coat of varnish, and you have a good covering for your floor, which will wear as long as a carpet, and look as well as oil cloth. This is a cheap method of covering bedrooms that are not much used.”

January 21, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: The Spring Term of the Waverly Institute opened on Tuesday last. It is the best educational institution of the kind in the country. A large number of students from abroad commenced with this term—more may be yet received.

February 4, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: The cry for Houses! is great in this village.

February 11, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: Ground has been broken for the erection of the new Catholic Church on the corner of Chemung & Clark St. {wooden structure that was destroyed by fire in 1913 and then the current one was built}

February 11, 1870 Waverly Advocate: For Sale. The Very Best Situation Now For Sale In Waverly. The fine Large lot with neat and commodious Cottage House, On Pennsylvania Avenue, adjoining the Institute Park, House contains eight Rooms, Parlors connected by folding doors. An excellent Cellar, and Cistern, Ample Pantry and Closet Rooms. Lot has six rods frontage on Pennsylvania Avenue, eleven rods back, small Barn, fine Garden, choice Fruit Trees, Grape Vines, & c. For particulars inquire at the Express Office. G. F. Walker {current 441 Pennsylvania Avenue. In 1863, Mary Cooley purchased this lot from William Guthrie for $762.00. In 1866 Mary Cooley sold the property to George Walker for $1,800.00. In 1870 George Walker sold to A. J. VanAtta for $2,500. A. J. Van Atta, designer and builder of current Zehr Estate at 208 Chemung Street. Also, Van Atta donated some of this property for the school.}

February 18, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: Wood - While hauling from lot, will deliver for $4.25 a cord. Apply to C. Warford.

February 25, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: The Van Duser Block will here after be known as “Commercial Exchange Block,” and the Hall as “Exchange Hall.”

March 4, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: J. W. Knapp is doing quite a Grocery Business.
- Extensive preparations are being made for building in this place next season.

June 3, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: The proprietors of the Watkins (Seneca) Glen propose to improve a little on the wonderful works of the Creator by damming the stream above the highest point now accessible, and making a miniature lake of some 15 or 20 acres, to be stocked with fish and supplied with boats. It seems a pity to trespass on Nature’s wonder in this way, yet we think it would make a delightful place, and on the whole be a justifiable trespass. - The penalty for not answering the questions of the census takers is thirty dollars. - The Road Commissioners of Athens township have extended the Fulton street of Waverly southward to intersect Pitney street which leads from the Chemung road eastward. This is an extension of Fulton about a quarter of a mile from its present terminus.

July 1, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: The census of Waverly has been so far completed as to enable us to say that it lacks but a few babies of being 3,000.

July 29, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: A. J. Van Atta has sold his residence, corner of Fulton and Chemung St’s to Geo. W. Orange, Railway Agent at this station, for $5,100. (152 Chemung Street)

Chas. McDougal Esq. has sold his house and lot on Chemung street to Joseph Dubois, for $4,500. Mr. Dubois has also bought of Joseph E. Hallet three acres of land back of his residence for $800 per acre.

Levi Westfall has purchaces of Owen Spalding for $1,500, lot south of Broad street, 55 feet front, adjoing Lemon's Foundry on the east. Mr. Westfall will at once put up a grain store 25 feet by 60.

Westfall & Johnson are laying out their purchase, west of Dry Brook, into lots, and opening a street through it from Broad to Chemung street.

August 5, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: A. J. Van Atta has bought Geo. Walker's House and Lot on Penn's Avenue, adjoining the Institute property, for $2,500.

September 30, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: For Rent, The House occupied recently by Dr. Gallagher on Chemung St. adjoining the Residence of Lewis Richardson Esq. Enquire of M. J. Warner, or Dr. Gallagher. Waverly, Sept. 16, 1870. (former house on site of current day 202 Chemung St.)

November 25, 1870 Waverly Advocate: Select School, for Little Girls, at the residence of Mrs. Gilbert, on Waverly Street. To commence Nov. 28th. Terms per qr. of eleven weeks, $2.50. - Birds-eye view of Waverly, suitable for 8x10 frames, price 40 cents. Sent to any address on the receipt of price and warranted to reach destination safely. Address Well G. Singhi, Photographer, No. 73 Broad St., Waverly, N. Y. - There has been an unusual amount of building in this place during the past three or four months. We can count twenty dwellings that have been put up since August. Most of them, of course, are of the small or cheaper class. Business places have been added, but generally on a small scale. From appearance we judge there will be more of both classes built next spring. The railroad companies are constantly adding to their business facilities by building additional track, transfer platform, shops and the like. The future outlook for Waverly is good.

1871, at 337 Broad Street, L. W. Mulock, justice of the peace, real estate agent, over Slaughter & Hayes Corner Drug Store. (from Don Merrill's collection)

January 13, 1871 The Waverly Advocate: Wm. S. Smith has sold out the stock of his Post Office News Room to Slaughter & Hayes.

April 7, 1871 The Waverly Advocate: Dr. M. B. Weaver has removed to the "Octagon House" on Chemung street, where those desiring his services will be able to find him at all hours. (Still owned by Edwin Mills in 1871.Would be just west of today's 208 Chemung street main house.)

May 26, 1871 The Waverly Advocate: Ice Cold Soda at the Corner Drug Store.

June 6, 1871 New York Tribune: Extensive Fire In Waverly, N. Y. Waverly, June 5. - At 6 o'clock this morning a fire broke out in the grocery store of O.W. Shipman & Co., on Broad st., which destroyed a large portion of the business part of the village. Among the sufferers are the following: O. W. Shipman & Co., grocers; Meyers & Langford, hotel; Frederick E. Spencer, boots and shoes; L. S. Richardson, liquors; E. L. Green, restaurant; W. G. Singhi, photographer; F. M. Sutton, hotel; Faulkner & Co., restaurant; Dunn & Field, dry goods; A. J. Nichols, jewelry; A. S. Mott, tailor; Silaey & Murray, bakery; Baker & Co., grocery; A. E. Spalding, millinery; T. S. Walker, produce. Loss, $75,000; insurance, $50,000.

July 21, 1871 The Waverly Advocate: The very fine village property of E. M. Payne, corner of Chemung and Athens streets, is offered for sale. See advertisement in another column. (300 Chemung St. Waverly, NY)

Greatest Bargain in Waverly. For Sale!. The Residence of E. M. Payne, corner of Chemung and Athens Streets, Waverly, N.Y. Lot one hundred and sixty feet front on Chemung Street, and one hundred and thirty feet on Athens Street. The House is large, square two story and basement front and Ell, with Large Rooms, wide Hall, high between joists and large windows, has just been well painted, and is in all respects in thorough repair, as good as new. Has a never-failing Well and large cistern in the Ell, a Cellar that is frostproof and always dry, and from cellar to roof is as convenient as any house in Waverly. Fine Fruit and Shade Trees of large growth in the yard. Its location is a fine one and it certainly is one of the most desirable residences in Waverly. Price, $5,500. Of which $3,500 may remain on mortgage three years. For further particulars inquire of J. N. Dexter, 86, Broad St. Waverly, N.Y. (300 Chemung St.)

Work on the new buildings in this village is somewhat delayed for want of timber. The saw mills did not anticipate the fire which set all building at once, so it is difficult to supply the sudden demand.

20 Building Lots, For sale on the new street running East from the Park. These are among the best dwelling sites remaining unoccupied in Waverly. Loans in limited amounts will be made to purchasers who will erect dwellings of $1,200 value. Howard Elmer.

July 27, 1871 The Sabbath Recorder New York, NY: Mansard Roofs. A few years ago the monotonous style of roof used in our architecture was agreeably varied by the introduction of what is known as the Mansard roof, somtimes called the French attic. The splendid architectural piles in Paris received some of their best graces of expression from the handsome sky-lines the Mansard roof gave them, and almost every American traveling abroad wondered why so graceful a roof could not be adopted in our American cities, where the large buildings usually terminated with an abrupt, sharp, and unpicturesque sky-line. The Mansard roof after a time was introduced, and its peculiar beauty soon made it very popular. But like all fashions which become the rage, and which are adopted by people imitatively, without perception of the principle that governs them, the French attic has become with us an architectural infliction. The Mansard roof was designed for tall buildings. Its special purpose is to break the montony of a massive pile, and to reduce in appearance its real height. A structure that would seem awkwardly tall, with an unvaried succession of stories, has not only, by means of the Mansard roof, a more graceful caption, but attains more agreeable proportions. The specific purpose of this roof being recognized, the absurdity of it use in small buildings becomes at once apparent. Our builders, however, seem to lack all power of perception, and to have reduced the art of architecture to indiscriminate imitations. Everywhere now the Mansard roof confronts us. Every new cottage on the road-side, new cheap villas in those extemporized villages that line our Metropolitan railways, new public buildings of every sort and degree, railroad stations all over the country-everything of the kind now, no matter if only a story high, must have its Mansard roof, with entire disregard of fitness or propriety. It is exasperating to see a good idea thus dragged to absurd and ignobleness. As we at first hailed with pleasure the appearance of the Mansard roof, we shall now look with hope for the signs that will indicate the termination of its career. And yet, whatever may follow, it will have to undergo the same experience. It is our natural way to try and appropriate every big thing for every little purpose. - Appleton's Journal.

September 1, 1871 The Waverly Advocate: Horatio N. Beach, Editor of the Brockport Republic, who has been taking a "Horse and Buggy journey through the State," sees fit to speak thus complimentary of our village: "Next we came to Waverly, a nicely located and beautifully built village of about 4,000 population, which is being increased at the rate of about 500 per year. Most of the business portion of the place was burned over on the 5th of June, this year, and the work of rebuilding is now in rapid progress. - Twenty-one three story brick stores are being built, together with an opera house, town hall, &c., which when completed will make the business portion of Waverly as handsome or more beautiful than any village of its size in the State. It is in the heart of a rich farming district, and large quantities of grain, butter, and cheese are shipped abroad. The work shops of the Lehigh Railroad Company are located at this place, of which two are in operation and two more building. There are seven churches in the place - two Baptist, two Catholic, Presbyterian, Methodist, and Episcopal. The village has just adopted the Union Graded School system, and the Waverly Institute buildings and grounds have been purchased for this purpose. The place sustains considerable manufacturing, three banks, and two nice and sprightly newspapers, the Advocate and Enterprise."

The Methodist Parsonage, pleasantly situated adjoining the Church, is now completed. It is a very pretty residence and decidedly creditable to the society.

The Opera Block is now being pushed vigorously. Mr. Fishler is the architect; Mr. Harsh does the mason work; and Mr. Seacord superintends the wood work - good men all 'round.

December 8, 1871 The Waverly Advocate: SLAUGHTER & HAYES, Druggists, and dealers in Stationery, Wall Paper, Picture Frames, Periodicals, & c, & c, No. 87 Broad St., Waverly, N. Y. Aug. 21, 1868

L. B. Hawley, M. D., Homeopathist, Will attend to calls in Waverly, and prescribe at his residence on Athens St., near the new Baptist Church. Waverly, Jan 1, 1866

1872-1873 Gazetteer and Business Directory of Broome and Tioga Counties: Weaver, M. B. DR., (Waverly,) clairvoyant physician. Octagon Place, Chemung. {This was the octagon building on Chemung street}

Slaughter & Hayes, (Waverly,) (S. W. Slaughter and H. H. Hayes,) props. Corner Drug STore, druggists and booksellers, Broad corner Waverly.

Slaughter, S. W., (Waverly,) (Slaughter & Hayes.)

February 2, 1872 Waverly Advocate: T. Olendenny has purchased the News Business of Slaughter & Hayes, and about the 20th inst. will open a first class News Room in the Opera Block - Manners building. He will also keep confectionary, eschewing, however, the tobacco and cigar business. So about the 20th our people can depend on as fine a News Establishment as there is in the country.

1872, at 337 Broad Street, Slaughter & Hayes Corner Drug Store rebuilding completed, floors were dropped 18 inches to sidewalk level. (from Don Merrill's collection)

1872 -1873, at 337 Broad Street, John R. Murray, insurance, over Corner Drug Store. (from Don Merrill's collection)

1872 - 1873 Pratt & Comstock, successors to W. G. Singhi, Photographers and dealers in Stereoscopes, Views, Pictures, Albums, Frames & c., Waverly, N. Y., advertise on page 415. Messrs. P. & C. are prepared to take all kinds of Pictures known to the art, in the most approved style, and finishe them up in oil, water colors, or India ink, if desired. It should be a matter of duty with everyone to "secure the shadow ere the substance flies," and we know of none more competent to aid them in so doing than Mssrs. Pratt & Comstock. They also keep a fine assortment of Albums, Frames, Card Pictures, Stereoscopes & c., which it is worth while to call and examine.

March 1, 1872 Waverly Advocate: Merriam is introducing gas in his Hardware Establishment. It takes 100 burners to light it throughout, which may give some idea of its magnitude. - During a short visit at Waverly, not long since, we were much impressed with its general indications of thrift and enterprise, its Opera House - of which we speak elsewhere - not alone evincing the go-aheaditiveness of its citizens. Evidences are to be seen on every hand. The burnt district is entirely built up, and the places of the old buildings are supplied with a most magnificent class of brick stores, rivaling any to be met with in traveling through many a town of much greater pretensions. We will not now stop to particularize, but cannot refrain from mentioning the “Shipman Block,” on the corner of Broad and Waverly Streets, which is really imposing. We understand that some of the business young men of the place are about to erect a new first-class hotel, at a cost of $75,000, on Fulton Street, North of Opera House Block. Such a hotel may be called for, yet they have a pretty good building already, is the Snyder House. We are informed, also, that J. T. Sawyer has in contemplation the starting of an extensive Boot and Shoe Manufactory, probably in what is now called Exchange Hall; that Van Duzer & Hallet intend erecting a large Planing Mill on the site of their flour mill - burned about two years ago - on the South side of the Erie Railway; that Moses Lyman intends to erect, soon, somewhere in the village, an extensive Foundry; and also, that the Lehigh Valley, Southern Central, and Ithaca & Athens, Railroad Companies are now building a “Round House,” capable of holding sixty engines, and Machine Shops and other Works, at the Junction of those roads, about one mile from the center of the village. Waverly can boast of a large number of elegant private residences, and its surroundings are exceedingly beautiful. One great advantage enjoyed by Waverly over many other village, is its unlimited room for expansion; and its present and prospective railroad communications seem to warrant the most expansive ideas of its citizens. - T. Clendenny has purchased the News Business of Slaughter & Hayes, and about the 28th inst. will open a first class News Room in the Opera Block-Manners building. He will also keep confectionary, eschewing, however, the tobacco and cigar business. So about the 28th our people can depend on as fine a News Establishment as there is the country.

August 2, 1872 Waverly Advocate: For President Ulysses S. Grant Of Illinois. For Vice President, Hon. Henry Wilson, Of Massachusetts. ... Hon. Butler G. Noble, Ex-Gov. Of Wisconsin, Will Speak in the Opera House, In Waverly, on Wednesday Evening August 7th, In response to the following call. All Are Invited, Ladies Included. The undersigned citizens of Waverly, county of Tioga, believing the best interests of the country demand the re-election of Ulysses S. Grant to the Presidency of the United States, hereby call a meeting at the Opera House in the village of Waverly, for Wednesday evening, Aug, 7th, 1872, for the purpose of organizing a Grant and Wilson Club for the present campaign. ... J. W. Knapp, Wm. Knapp, ... Owen Spalding, ...Howard Elmer, ... R. A. Elmer, ... Wm. E. Johnson, ... S. W. Slaughter, ... L. S. Richardson, ... J. T. Buck, ... Geo. W. Orange, ... H. G. Merriam, ... C. H. Shepard, ... Dewitt Slaughter, ...John Seacord, ... (301 names)

August 23, 1872 Waverly Advocate: A few boarders can be accommodated at No. 3 Athens street, Waverly, N.Y. Inquire of G. F. Waldo, or O. H. P. Kinney at the P. O. (This home took up the lands of 3 and 5 Athens street)

1873, at 337 Broad Street, Dexter & Murray, general insurance, fire, life, lightning, office was over Corner Drug Store. (from Don Merrill's collection)

April 18, 1873 The Waverly Advocate: Eugene F. Wells of Goshen, N. Y., has bought out Mr. Hayes' interest of the firm of Slaughter & Hayes at the Corner Drug Store, Mr. Wells is a regular graduate of Princeton College. He brings recommendations as being a thoroughly scientific druggist and chemist. (Charlotte Wells' brother, Samuel Slaughter's soon to be brother-in-law)

The walls of the Opera House are going up finely.

May 8, 1873 Waverly Advocate: Owen Spaulding offers his beautiful residence on Chemung street for sale. - For Sale - My residence on the north side of Chemung street, I offer for sale. with the Furniture or without. Owen Spaulding. - Q. B. Corwin is building a very nice iron fence in front of his residence on Fulton street. - R. G. Crans has moved his dwelling to the west of the Fulton street extension. The street will soon be opened through his lands northward. - Another cistern is being built, adjoining the one just repaired, at the junction of Broad and Fulton streets, which will make ample water facilities for that locality. - We call attention to the advertisement of Slaughter & Wells on this page. It is the intention of Slaughter & Wells to keep as extensive and pure a stock of Drugs and Medicines as can be found in Southern New York or Northern Pennsylvania.

advertisement - The Corner Drug Store is the old stand for School Books, all School Material, Miscellaneous Books, Blank Books, etc. We shall keep a fine line of Initial Paper, Commercial Note, Legal Cap and tinted English Paper. We shall keep a stock of about 15,000 rolls of Wall Paper with Plain and Fresco Border, of all styles, grades, and prices, and shall constantly add to it as the trade demands. Cloth and Paper Window Shades and Fixtures will be found here. Our Paint and Oil room shall be kept stocked with fresh White Lead, Zinc, Oils, Kalsomine Material and Brushes, at reasonable prices.

Great Inducements Offered to Laboring Men. 128 Lots For Sale. In the very Heart of South Waverly, Situated on Pennsylvania Avenue and East 2nd street, directly South of the new and Commodius School House, only five minutes walk from the Depot. A part of the lots have nice Maple Trees in Front, with two year's growth. Prices Low and Terms of payment easy. A small amount required down and balance from one to five years credit. Map of the lots can be seen at any time at Crans & Suiter's Office, in the Post Office, where all accounts must be settled Immediately. R. G. Crans. John Ellis. Waverly, N. Y.

On May 13, 1873, Samuel Slaughter married Charlotte Wells.

May 16, 1873 The Waverly Advocate: Married. Slaughter - Wells - Goshen N. Y., May 13th, at the residence of the bride's sister, Mrs. L. E. Coleman, by the Rev. Dr. Snodgrass. Mr. S. W. Slaughter of Waverly, N. Y., and Miss Charlotte Wells of Goshen.

The partnership heretofore existing between S. W. Slaughter & H. H. Hayes, is this day dissolved by mutal consent. All person indebted to the firm are requested to make immediate payment to S. W. Slaughter, H. H. Hayes. Waverly, April 29th, 1873.

The undersigned have this day formed a co-partnership under the firm name of Slaughter & Wells, for the purpose of carrying on a general Drug business at the old stand, of Slaughter & Hayes, corner of Broad and Waverly streets Waverly N. Y. S. W. Slaughter, E. F. Wells. (Eugene Wells is Charlotte's brother, Samuel's brother-in-law)

Will be in Market The first of May and Thereafter, very desirable Building Lots, on Lincoln Avenue, on very reasonable terms and easy payment. Waverly, N. Y. April 18, 1873 J. G. Bush

May 23, 1873 The Waverly Advocate: Slaughter & Wells will run Soda Water free to all Friday May 23d. The soda at the Corner Drug STore is said to be the best in town.

1873 - 1882 at 337 Broad Street, Slaughter & Wells, drugs, school books, wall paper. (from Don Merrill's collection) Eugene Franklin Wells born 1846, died 1891, was Charlotte Wells Slaughter's brother.

June 13, 1873 The Waverly Advocate: Dr. W. E. Johnson is putting up a very fine residence on Park Avenue, adjoining the Institute property.

June 27, 1873 The Waverly Advocate: Slaughter & Wells At the Corner Drug Store, propose and are able to sell and dispense as Pure Drugs and Medicines as any pharmacy in N. Y. City and at lower prices. All the best Patent Medicines can be found here. We try to keep Pure Dye Stuffs only and give directions for use. The Corner Drug Store is the old stand for School Books, all School Material, Miscellaneous Books, Blank Books, &c. We shall keep a fine line of Initial Paper, Commercial Note, Legal Cap and Tinted English Paper. Farmers will find at the Corner Drug Store a full supply of Machine Oil of all grades and prices, also, Horse and Cattle Powders, Camphor Gum, Ayer's, Jane's, Radway's and Helmbold's standard Medicines, and all other articles usually found in a well stocked Drug Store. Our Paint and Oil room shall be kept stocked with fresh White Lead, Zinc, Oils, Kalsomine Material and Brushes, at reasonable prices.

The Waverly Gas Company have laid 13,668 feet of gas mains in our streets.

The Prescription and Chemical Department at Slaughter & Wells Corner Drug Store is in charge of E. F. Wells, the junior partner, a regular graduate in chemistry, who brings the following recommendations: I consider Mr. Wells much more than ordinarily competent to perform all duties that appertain to Pharmacy. My business is done solely by Prescriptions and Mr. Wells has been employed almost exclusively in compounding them. With a rare knowledge of Pharmacy and Analytical Chemistry he combines the qualities of caution, elegance and skill in preparing Prescriptions. H. H. Robinson, M. D. Office No. 75 W. Main st., Goshen, N. Y.- I am most happy to recommend Mr. Eugene F. Wells as a thorough scientific Druggist. W. S. Elliott, D. D. S. Firm of Elliott & Howard, Dentists offices. No. 112 W. 23 St. N. Y. city.

July 11, 1873 Waverly Advocate: We learn the Mrs. Fritcher has purchased of R. G. Crans the lot N. E. corner of Chemung and Fulton streets, and that Holland & Flemming will immediately put up for her a fine brick residence. This is a beautiful location, one of the best, if not the best, in the village. (current home there at 155 Chemung street is not brick)

August 15, 1873 The Waverly Advocate: Mr. Slaughter has repaired (rebuilt would be the better word) his house, corner Chemung and Athens streets, and the improvement is marked and commendable.

{Eastlake - (1860 - 1890) marked by its fancifulness, spindle work, lacy ornamental details, buttons, knobs, angular stick work, the sawtooth pattern is a Hallmark of the Eastlake style, patterns, ornamentations, pendants, capitals, open stick work, pent hoods, flower and geometric shapes as ornaments, chamfered (beveled edge) corners with lark’s tongue, low relief carving, the Eastlake ornamentation was usually carried on to inside the house as well. Some believe (http://starcraftcustombuilders.com 2014) this to be a “high Victorian elaboration of the venerable gothic style without the defining Gothic elements.”}

{Many of the Victorian homes (1820 - 1900) are a mixture of Gothic, Eastlake, Stick, Second Empire, Queen Anne, Richardsonian Romanesque and Folk Victorian. What most have in common is the asymmetry, two stories, steep pitched roofs, turrets, and dormers, large porches with turned posts, and decorative gable trim. The first known use of the chamfered edge was circa 1840.}

August 15, 1873 The Waverly Advocate: Dr. W. E. Johnson's new house on Park Avenue is enclosed, and it presents a neat and artistic appearance. (next to current Muldoon Gardens)

The glass cutting department of the Corning Glass Works, has received an order for several thousand dollars worth of glass ware for the state dinner service at the White House.- Wellsboro Agitator. (Corning Museum of Glass is about 35 minutes from Waverly.)

September 26, 1873 The Waverly Advocate: From the Towanda Journal. Elizabeth Holland. Biographical. The subject of this sketch was of pure African descent, and was born in Athens, this country, July 9th, 1836, and died in Waverly, N.Y., April 15th, 1862. Her father was born in the dark prison-house of American bondage - knowing not the date or place of his birth. Quite early in life he gazed, with a beating heart, at the North Star, and sought a home in the Free States, and for twenty-six years resided in this county, mostly in Sheshequin and Athens townships. He died July 31st, 1860, never having revealed the name of his master or the place he fled from, to a living soul. Having suffered untold tortures, he spared no caution to prevent his capture and a repetition of the cruel and barbarous treatment dealt him at the hands of men who were taught to believe they had a right to him, and who clamored with boisterous ingnorance every 4th of July of American Freedom. Her mother was born in Sheshequin and through the kindness of friends learned to read a little. She is still living - aged seventy-one - in Waverly, N. Y., entirely alone in a house kindly furnished by Owen Spaulding. I pay her a visit two or three times a year, and nearly always find her reading the Bible, or Elizabeth's Scrap Book, which is composed entirely of her own writings, in prose and poetry, contributed to various papers. She is very black, with regular features and is a quiet genteel old lady; waiting with ? and ? ? her departure to another and higher life. Elizabeth, from early childhood passed through all kinds of hardships, but always struggled onward and upward, amid bitter scorns and heart-crushing words from those who should have been her friends. In school or out it was always the same. She was made to feel that she must occupy the place of a menial, and for no other reason, only that she was black. She felt it keenly, and it no doubt had much to do in hastening her early death. In writing to a friend of her father's death, she says: "Yesterday as I gazed over the broad acres that surrounded my native village - Athens - I thought how often his stalwart arm had swept down the waving grain, or stripped the golden corn; and, how much the farmers would miss him at their annual gatherings. - But his time for toil is over and he is gathered into the garden of righteousness. He has gone from a world of care and oppression, and while the blooming cannon and martial music proclaimed the anniversary of West India emancipation, we were paying the last tribute of respect to one whose spirit is emancipated from its fetters of clay and was singing the song of the redeemed in Heaven. Although my aged mother and myself are left to grapple with this cold world alone, yet we are consoled by the thought that God had promised to be a father to the fatherless and a friend to the widow." She was a young lady of more than orinary talent, and had a great amibition to acquire and education. She displayed a brilliancy and power of intellect of which others, of any race, might well be proud. Her writings were admired for their earnestness and deep thought; and her appeals in behalf of her own downtrodden and despised race, and of the poor and oppressed of all lands, awakened a responsive echo in many noble hearts. The foolish and malignant prejudice against her color, which prevailed in the land tended very much to lessen her influence and circumscribe her reputation. She entered a school for young ladies at Factoryville, Tioga county, N. Y., kept by Mrs. Porter, the wife of Rev. Geo. P. Porter; they were, I think, her firm and fast friends through all her numerous struggles, and though she was the best writer and composer in the school she was, by a vote of the young ladies - strangely miscalled - obliged to leave on account of her color. After much delay and vexation her case was reconsidered, and she was reinstated in the school. In the meantime she applied to the New York Central College for admission and recieves a favorable reply; for in that institution good character, not the color of the skin or hair, fixed position and commanded respectability. I append a copy of her letter to that institution at the time. Factoryville, Tioga Co., N. Y., April 12, 1857. Honored Sir; - Having a desire to enter your institution as a scholar, I wish to know upon what terms your students are allowed to enter. I have been laboring for several years to obtain an education that I might benelt, my oppressed people. I have met with many discouragments, and have been thrown out of school on scourns of my color. My father is too poor to assist me any farther. I am willing to labor early and late to accomplish my ojbect - that of becoming an efficient teacher. I have a fair knowledge of the common English branches and have commenced the higher English and French. - Please let me know how and when I can enter. May you and all the friends of the institution be abundantly rewarded for your kindness to my despised race. Elizabeth Holland. In 1859 she became an agent for the Pine and Palm, a radica anti slavery paper, published in Boston, for which her labors were very effective. She also wrote for the Anglo African, and Fred Douglass's paper, and lectured extensively through New York and Northern Pennsylvania, always with credit to herself and he cause - often posting her own b? under all kinds of discouraging circumstances, meeting with derision and hisses from men and women, who would, at this time, like to have it forgotten; and who would listen to her now - were she living - with attention and pleasure. How time and events soften our blind and ignorant prejudices. In February, 1860, she lectured in Elmira, N. Y., her subject being, 'Our Codition as a People." And she, in a masterly way, showed how they might improve their condition by education and morality. She went from her to Troy, Pa., and spoke; but owing to the prejudice existing, the meeting was very small; yet some of the better minds who listened were so well pleased she was invited to speak again the next evening, which she did to a much larger audience. She was greatly "indebted to Horace Pomeroy for the use of his large hall almost rent free.', She spoke in Alba, Granville, Le-Roy, East Canton, Monroeton and Towanda. At Monroeton she was advised not to speak if she valued her life, but she could not be made to believe that in Republican Bradford and only four miles from the home of David Wilmont, a woman would be mobbed for pleading the cause of her enslaved race. So she procured the Babtist Church and had a large and successful meeting. The next evening she spoke in Moore's Hall in Towanda, to about thirty colored and two white persons. She was disappointed at the small audience in a town somewhat noted for Republicanism, and the home of David Wilmont - of Wilmont Proviso fame. But the good people of Towanda had not, at that time, learned that woman could, or should lecture in public, and that a colored lady should attempt such a thing, was hersey of the deepest and darkest type. Many have learned wiser lessons since then through the natural progress of events and may they still go on learning until the prejudice of caste is oblitertaed entirely. Towanda, Sept. 10, 1873.

October 1873, Charlotte Slaughter's mother died, Lydia Nyce Wells.

October 17, 1873 The Waverly Advocate: Dr. Wm. E. Johnson now occupies his new residence on Park Avenue, opposite the Episcopal Church, where he may be found when not otherwise engaged. His office is still on Waverly Street, three doors above the Corner Drug Store.

Try our Pure XL Spices, Cream Tartar and Bi Carb Soda and if not found pure as warranted return them. Spices are shamefully adulterated and such are dear at any price. We buy direct from the spice crushers and every pound is warranted. Housekeepers will find our pure XL Cream Tartar, Soda and Spices to give the best results besides being cheapest and healthiest. Try them. Slaughter & Wells.

Slaughter & Wells have added several of the choicest brands of Cigars to their stock. They now have the finest Cigars in town. Try them.

October 24, 1873 Waverly Advocate: The slaters are at work on the Opera House. - J. C. Hawkins is building a very nice house on Johnson street. - Fifty dwellings have been built in South Waverly during the present season, and nine more have been commenced. - J. D. Hawk is putting up a good style brick building in South Waverly, adjoining Lagersman’s. - J. T. Sawyer has commenced excavating for some dwellings in South Waverly on the rear end of the old Steam Flouring Mill lot. - C. Dickson has put up a very good building near corner of Broad street and Penn’s Avenue, to accommodate his marble business. - Manners has commenced work on his new steam bakery, in the rear of his new store, it is to be of brick, and a good building. - The Opera House is piped throughout for gas and service pipe already introduced from the street main. - One hundred and twenty new coaches have just been completed by the Pullman Palace Car Company. There are now seven hundred of the coaches running on one hundred and fifty-two roads. Every car costs from $17,000 to $20,000, and one of them of the Erie broad gauge, costs more than $50,000. - Wm. Manners has covered his building with patent iron roofing. The surface is so prepared as to entirely exclude the air from contact with it, and therefore is not liable to corrosion. It is a little cheaper than tin, and is believed to be more lasting. It stood the late storm without a leak. - The Opera House is fast nearing completion. We learned with regrets of its destruction by fire last spring, and we are now thrice glad to note that the present one is none the less beautiful or advantageous in all its apartments. This building is also provided with five stories besides the main entrance to hall. - A brick block is being built at the corner of Broad and Fulton streets. Here the proprietors of the Waverly Advocate will have an office finished off in fine style, and made to better accommodate their growing business. - Besides theses evidences of prosperity, which we have but briefly noted, there are many others We heard little else but the rattling trains and the hammers of busy builders during a stay of something like three hours. Waverly is growing, and is destined to be a city some day perhaps. We hope so. - Slaughter & Wells have added several of the choicest brands of Cigars to their Stock. They now have the finest Cigars in town. Try them.

An 1874 Bird's Eye view map of Waverly shows the main house and two story octagon home on Chemung Street.

1874 map shows homes at 4, 6, and 8 Athens street. The home at 8 Athens is drawn quite abit farther back then the current home there today.

1874 Dewitt Slaughter was one of the director's of Citizen's Bank in Waverly.

1874 Citizens’ Bank. at 72 Broad Street. J. T. Sawyer, President. H. W. Owen, Vice Pres’t. M. Lyman, Jr. Cashier. Directors. H. W. Owen, H. C. Spaulding, Dewitt Slaughter, J. T. Sawyer, Daniel Bensley.

February 27, 1874 The Waverly Advocate: Every Office, Desk and House should have one of these new patent glass ink-stands sold by Slaughter & Wells. They cannot spill ink when upset; can be cleaned when full; point of pen cannot strike the bottom; last drop of ink can be taken up; is corked when upside down; saves ink. Price, 40c., 80c., 1.00.

Corner Drug Store. Pure Drugs and Chemicals, at Slaughter & Wells'. Prescriptions carefully prepared by Slaughter & Wells'. All reliable Patent Medicines at Slaughter & Wells. Alcohol, Wines, and Liquors, at Slaughter & Wells'. Morphine and Turkish Opium, at Slaughter & Wells'. Fine Perfumery and Toilet Soap, at Slaughter & Wells'. Spices in bulk, warranted pure, at Slaughter & Wells'. Imported and Domestic Cigars at Slaughter & Wells'. Tooth Brushes, Hair Brushes Combs, at Slaughter & Wells'. Initial Paper, Latest Novelties at Slaughter & Wells'. French, English and Mourning Paper, at Slaughter & Wells'. School Books, and Blank Books, at Slaughter & Wells'. Picture Frames and Framing to order, at Slaughter & Wells'. Wall Paper and Window Shades, at Slaughter & Wells'. Paints, Oils, Glass, &c., at Slaughter & Wells'. We have the largest stock of Drugs and Druggists Sundries in Waverly - We give Good Weight, Good Measure, Good Quality and Bottom Prices, every time. Try us, at the Corner Drug Store.

April 30, 1874 Watkins Express Watkins N. Y.: On Sabbath, the 19th inst., the Presbyterian Church at Waverly received to membership one hundred and two persons, over sixty of whom were heads of families. The communion scene, was one of surpassing beauty and interest, and one never to be forgotten. (This is probably when Samuel Slaughter joined the church.)

July 17, 1874 The Waverly Advocate: Robert Packer Superintendent of the Pa. & N.Y., R. R. has purchased one of the "Thousand Islands" in the St. Lawrence, and has converted it into a place of beauty and magnificence, equal to the celebrated Pulman Island. Those who have ever visited these islands know that they are among the most lovely spots of the earth. Col. Packer designs his for a place of pleasure for himself and friends during hot season. On Monday evening last the Colonel, Robt. H. Sayre, Gen. Superintendent of the Lehigh Valley R. R., Harry Packer, brother of Robert, Dr. Lenderman, and some twenty-five others passed through this place on their way to that magnificent retreat.

The Elmira Advertiser says that Packer, Sayre and others, who hav gone on and excursion to the Thousand Islands, took along three thousand dollars worth of edibles. We fear they have squandered their money on crackers and herrings.

July 31, 1874 Waverly Advocate: By an arrangement now complete, persons leaving their name and money, ($2.00) with Mr. Wells, of the firm of Slaughter & Wells of this place, can on the 5th of August, visit the Watkins Glen and have admission to the same. The only restriction placed upon the action of individuals will be that, they shall return on the same day. Tickets must be purchased of Mr. Wells, on or before noon of the 4th and any further particulars will be furnished by him. The fair with Glen charge from Waverly and back is ordinarily $2.90, and if there are sufficient number who will go on this occasion the fare can be made even $2.00.

September 18, 1874 The Waverly Advocate: Citizens' Bank, 72 Broad Street. J. T. Sawyer, President. H. W. Owen, Vice Pres't. M. Lyman, Jr. Cashier. Directors. H. W. Owen, H. O. Spaulding, Dewitt Slaughter, J. T. Sawyer, Daniel Bensley

SAYRE. The new Town of Sayre, Pa., is situated on the plain between Athens and Waverly, and one and a half miles from each. It is the Southern terminus of the Southern Central Railroad, extending North to Lake Ontario, and of the Ithaca and Athens Railroad, extending North to Cayuga Lake and the New York Central. It is virtually the Northern terminus of the Lehigh Valley and Pa. & N. Y. Railroads, the most costly and extensive round-house of the latter road just having been completed upon the large tract purchased by the Company. During the year 1873, a Car Wheel Foundry, a Furniture Factory and a Planing Mill were put in operation, and numerous dwellings erected. Everything indicates a vigorous growth for 1874. The TOWN PLOT is now ready for examination and lots for RESIDENCES and BUSINESS PURPOSES will be sold on very FAVORABLE TERMS. Lots for Dwellings near Depot, $200 t0 $350 each. Half acre Lots on Keystone Avenue $300 to $400 each. Five acre Lots on Keystone Avenue at $300 to $350 per acre. Two Dwellings near Car Wheel Foundry. Three Dwellings near Depot. Lands for Manufacturers on specific terms. Apply at the First National Bank of Waverly, or at the Office at Sayre, Pa. Howard Elmer $100,000.

1874, Citizen's Bank of Waverly was organized and Samuel Slaughter was the vice president until his death in 1894.

1874: Madison Observer Morrisville, NY: KEEP YOUR AGREEMENTS. - One reason why many people do not get along in the world is because they cannot be depended upon. They do not keep their agreements. When they are weighed in the balance of actual affairs they are too often found wanting. They are seldom on time. The workman who is always on hand at the appointed time and place and does his work according to agreement, is sure to get along. To a young mechanic, starting life, the habit of punctuality is worth more than a thousand dollars cash capital - although that sum is not to be despised. The trust worthiness of the faithful workman produces money, but the distrust of faithless men is a source of loss. This is an unvarying principle. They who would be permanently prosperous must keep their engagements.

1874: Madison Observer Morrisville, NY: Ad- Read what experience proves about Hatch's Universal Cough Syrup: Hatch's Universal Cough Syrup has been put to a six years test in our trade, with the following result: It gives the best of satisfaction to all our customers, and they testify to that satisfication by buying far more of it than of any other cough remedy, although we keep in stock a large number of that class of medicines, in fact all that have been heretofore considered most salable. Slaughter & Wells, Waverly, N.Y.

1874, at 337 Broad Street, J.N Dexter, attorney was in the building. (from Don Merrill's collection)

December 4, 1874 Cynthia Lowman Brooks died.

December 1874 The Waverly Advocate: House And Lot For Sale Cheap, - The Subscriber offers his House and Lot for Sale known as the Octagon House on Chemung Street with land enough extending on Athens Street for two Building Lots. Esquire of J. E. Hallett, Waverly, N. Y. of of the subscriber. Edwin Mills, Middletown N. Y. {Edwin Mills was a farmer}

1875 New York state census: 208 Chemung street was a frame built house worth $8,000. Samuel Slaugher, 37 yrs., druggist and his wife, Mrs. C. Slaughter, 24 yrs. along with Samuel's father, Dewitt Slaughter, were living in the home.

January 1, 1875 The Waverly Advocate: House And Lot For Sale Cheap, - The subscriber offers his House and Lot for Sale known as the Octagon House on Chemung Street with land enough extending on Athens Street for two Building Lots. Esquire of J. E. Hallett, Waverly, N. Y. or of the subscriber. Edwin Mills, Middletown, N. Y.

January 8, 1875 The Waverly Advocate: Queen Victoria on a recent occasion was paying a visit to a great noble and official. When the hour for departure arrived, her host observed that the carriage was at the door and the train waiting. Somebody, however, observed that Brown, her confidential servant, was not there. "Oh, "said the Queen of Great Britian and Ireland, "we must wait for him. I suppose he is finishing up his morning pipe!"

January 29, 1875 The Waverly Advocate: Citizens’ Bank 72 Broad Street. - J. T. Sawyer, President. H. W. Owen, Vice Pres’t. M. Lyman, Jr. Cashier. - Directors. H. W. Owen, H. C. Spaulding, Dewitt Slaughter, J. T. Sawyer, Daniel Bensley.

DR. WM. E. Johnson, Physician and Surgeon, Office Waverly St., three floors above Corner Drug Store. Residence, Park Avenue, opposite the Episcopal Church, near the Academy.

Slaughter & Wells. Druggists and dealers in Sationery, Wall Paper, Picture Frames, Periodicals, & c, & c. NO. 87 Broad St., Waverly, N. Y. Aug. 21, 1868
- DR. F. M. Snook - Dentist. Office over the corner Drug Store, Waverly, N. Y. All operations performed by him are warranted as represented. Particular attention paid to the preservation of the natural teeth.
- Waverly Marble Works. W. P. Stone, Manufacturer And Dealer In American and Foreign Marble - Monuments, Tombstones, Mantles, & C. At Penny’s Old Stand, Broad Street, Waverly, N. Y. All orders promptly attended to. Wm. P. Stone.

On March 16, 1875 the octagonal house was sold by Edwin Mills and Libbie B, his wife to John S Conkling, about 1 acre with an octagonal house on it. (Would have been yard to the west of our main house at 208 Chemung Street with parts of 9 Athens and all of 7 Athens street.)

March 18, 1875 The Plaindealer. St. Lawrence. : Singular Snow Storm. We find the following in the Waverly Advocate of last week. Waverly is in the Tioga county, just on the Pennsylvania line, Athens perhaps five miles and Towanda eighteen or twenty miles farther south: "A very singular snow storm prevailed during Sunday and Sunday night. At Towanda it fell to the depth of nearly 18 inches; at Athens 5 inches and at Waverly about half an inch. Farther south the storm was still heavier, and the trains on the Lehigh Valley were completely blocked up. East of us to New York the storm was so heavy as to delay trains for several hours. Waverly is evidently not a snow center."

July 2, 1875 The Waverly Advocate: The Octagon House, on Chemung Street, in this village, with One Acre of Land. Inquire of J. E. Hallet, Opposite the Premises. (owned by John S. Conkling)

Dr. M. B. Weaver met with quite an accident on Tuesday last while out riding with his wife; his horse becoming frightened, overturned the carriage, throwing out both, breaking the Dr's collar bone. He is doing finely. Mrs. W. was not injured in the least. (He rented part or all of the octagon home for his office, was there in 1871, not sure for how long he was there)

The following census statistics were given us, of election district No. 1 of this town by H. J. Bonnell. The population of the district is 1,358. Factoryville village has population of 492. Number of dwellings in the district, is 304. Number of families, 322. Number of Farms 120.

July 13, 1875 Auburn Morning News: Cascade. - Dr. M. B. Weaver, Clairvoyant Physician, of Waverly and Elmira, is now permanently located at Cascade. Call and see him.

July 30, 1875 The Waverly Advocate: For Sale. The Octagon House, on Chemung Street, in this village, with One Acre of Land. Inquire of J. E. Hallet, Opposite the Premises. (owned by John S. Conkling)

On September 18, 1875 Dewitt Slaughter, Samuel’s father, died.

September 24, 1875 Waverly Advocate: Deaths. Slaughter - Sept. 18th at Circleville, Orange County of Apoplexy, Dewitt Slaughter, of Waverly, Aged 72 years and 15 days.b

Septemeber 1875 Port Jervis Tri States Union: Sudden Death in Middletown. Mr. Dewitt Slaughter, well known to many in this section as a former resident of Scotchtown, but for several years past of Waverly, N.Y., died very suddenly Saturday evening at the residence of his relative, Mr. Robert Bull, in Circleville. Mr. Slaughter came here several weeks since, and about the first of August had the misfortune to break his collar bone. He had got about again, however, and on Saturday ate his dinner as usual. He retired to his room, and in the evening was found lying on his bed dead. Apoplexy is supposed to have been the cause of his death. Mr. Slaughter had been subject to epileptic fits for many years. His age was seventy-two. Deceased was brother-in-law of Wm. and Jas. J. Mills, of this village. He had on son living in Waverly. It is mentioned as a noticeable circumstance that Mr. S. had just ordered a $500 monument from M. C. Owen, of this village. - Press.

September 30, 1875 Corning Journal: DeWitt Slaughter of Waverly died recently in Circleville, Orange county, aged seventy-two years.

October 8, 1875 The Waverly Advocate: They've got so they steal lamp globes from our street lamps. Enquire at the junction of Chemung and Athens streets.

January 7, 1876 Waverly Advocate: The Centennial. Something Of What It Was: Part Of What Was Done. Waverly seldom allows herself to be outdone by her neighbors, and never allows herself to be behind the times when the times will allow her to be otherwise. Although she began to begin at rather a late hour to welcome the Centennial year she made up in enthusiasm what was apparently lacking in preparation. No doubt the day would have found its way in without any special invitation, or noisy introduction, still it must have felt a little proud of the proud and gallant way the thing was done in Waverly. One hundred guns suggested themselves very loudly to our people, but 100 guns for the solid nations without any condiments or desert would hardly be the thing in these days of high toned etiquette; so bands, flags, bells, whistles, illuminations and other et ceteras suggested themselves in rapid succession, and no sooner said than done. Let us see about how it was. At 12 o’clock M. precisely, between the two years, the Methodist church bell struck the magic hour, which was by mutual understanding, the signal for every other conceivable noise to join in the concert. Accordingly every bell in town awoke the quiet, balmy air of 1876 to eloquent and patriotic vibrations; the old cannon, which had done proud service for the country (at 4th of Julys), shook the town form center to circumference, and its echoes from the surrounding hills symbolized the faintly answering responses from Lexington, Concord and Bunker Hill; military band with fifes and drums quickened the patriotic pulses of the people as in ye olden time; the dwellings and business places suddenly burst into brilliant illumination; the whistles of twenty locomotives stationed all the way from Waverly to Sayre, supplemented the screams of ten thousand American Eagles, and so shook the earth as to awaken the Old Continentalers from their quiet slumbers, and fancy saw them in their quaint uniforms striding around with their fingers in their ears, wondering what new fangled Gabriel the Yankees had invented during their hundred years’ sleep. - Everybody and his wife hurrahed, their children built bon-fires in the streets and danced around them like winter witches in Salem’s days; the rest of mankind extracted music from dry-goods boxes, rams’ horns, cow bells, tin pans, and whatever else could be pressed into the noisy service of the occasion. For one long hour these demonstrations of joy and gladness were kept up, nor did some of them cease until old Sol peeped over the eastern hills to see what “on earth” had turned up during his few hours’ absence. It was a glorious, hilarious, happy time, and everybody in Waverly had a hand in it. Everybody was intoxicated, yet nobody was drunk; and anomalous as it may see, those that drank the least were the most intoxicated. Perhaps we better particulate a little: The procession, headed by the military band, marched through some of our principal streets, and although the idea of illuminating had been suggested but a few hours before, it was found that the suggestion had been acted upon more generally than any had reason to expect. Some dwellings on the line of march were decorated and illuminated in really magnificent style. We learn of the illumination of the following residences, very many others, no doubt, escaping our notice: Dr. R. S. Harnden, John Shackleton, S. Kinney, C. F. Barager, F. R. Warner, J. F. Shoemaker, G. W. Orange, Mrs. F. H. Baldwin, R. D. VanDuzer, Mrs. E. M. Fritter, J. E. Pembleton, A. R. Bunn, J. K. Murdock, M. Lyman Jr., I. L. Richardson, W. M. Clark, J. E. Hallet, S. W. Slaughter, W. E. Moore, A. J. Lyon, Geo. H. French, Alfred Reed, C. E. Merriam, C. M. Harsh, E. J. Cambell, A. McDonald, Squire Whitaker, D. W. Gore, J. T. Sawyer, R. A. Elmer, Lew Dietrich, R. Canning, H. H. Hulton, Howard Elmer, C. J. Bergen, W. S. Thatcher, Mrs. Lang, B. B. Clark, C. C. Brooks, T. J. Phillips, G. F. Waldo, Levi Curtis, Mrs. N. Kinney. Nearly all the business places in town were lighted up, some of them in attractive style, among which we would mention the store of J. W. Knapp The Catholics, occupying the Opera House, kept that building finely lighted. The Hotels presented a very creditable appearance, especially the Warford and Courtney Houses. A flag, with “1876” thereon in large characters, was stretched across Fulton street from Mrs. Fritcher’s block to the Campbell block, and the ADVOCATE office and Post office so illuminated as to show the flag at a long distance. - There were large bon fires kept continuously burning in Broad street, which served to illuminate the town, and let the people at a distance know that Waverly was not in the dark on this Centennial business. There was one bon fire not in the bills. In the midst of the little Bedlam some mischievous person set fire to a small unoccupied building south side of the track in the western part of the town, and it was a long time before the real character of the illumination could be determined; and even after the truth was known it was some time longer before a real fire alarm could be distinguished from the general ? and uproar of the occasion. The Fire Department came out, but as its services were not needed it returned. A boy by the name of Merritt, in running to the fire, fell through the trestle work over Dry Brook, and broke one of his legs. Ed. Curren, in assisting at firing the cannon, had his left hand considerably injured by the premature discharge of the gun, but the cannon continued to announce that “our flag was still there” till daylight, when its 100 cartridges were exhausted and its work well done. The streets were thronged with people - men, women and children - and we noticed not a few from abroad attracted hither by the occasion. In the midst of all this noisy jollification we could distinctly hear similar evidences of patriotism at Factoryville, Sayre, Athens and Elmira; and the thud of cannon at even more remote places, was distinctly heard at times. This was really and substantially an improvised and spontaneous celebration, and perhaps the more ardent, heart-felt, and enthusiastic for that reason. There was no organization whatever, or even committee having the matter in hand, yet the credit of getting it up and setting the elements at work is mainly due to Hon. A. G. Allen, Rob’t. N. Manners, Fred R. Warner, Wm. Poles, E. J. Campbell, and a few others we cannot now recall.

1876 The Waverly Advocate: Mr. Slaughter has been repainting and sanding the Corner Drug store. The improvement is very marked and creditable.

Summer 1876 The Waverly Advocate: Visited Sayre on Tuesday, more especially Col. Packer's new mansion and grounds. The Colonel will have the finest residence in northern Pennsylvania or southern New York. No one can have any idea of the beauty and magnificence of the dwelling now approaching completion without a personal inspection of it. Although a wooden structure, there is a large amount of stone and brick work about it of the best and most expensive character. The Gothic style of the building is peculiarly appropriate to the elevated and commanding position it occupies. The grounds about it are already exhibiting the skill and taste of the landscape gardner, and in a few brief years it will present and appearance of beauty and luxury rarley found in this country. Mr. Packer is cleaning out a little lake in the rear of his grounds and mixing its vast accumularities of vegetable matter with the soil around his house which will make a most valuable and productive composition. The lake will be graveled and surrounded with drives, and otherwise ornamented, so that what has heretofore been known as "bush pond" will soon be the popular Packer Lake - not large, but beautiful. Mr. Flemming of Towanda has charge of the work, and on Tuesday was utilizing fifty, and four or five teams of horses. It is rough muddy business now, but ere long the scened will be transformed into surpassing beauty and loveliness.

September 7, 1876 Auburn Daily Bulletin: The losses by Thursday's fire at Waverly are: The Enterprise newspaper office, $7,000, insurance $5,000; building on Shepard block, $6,000, no insurance, and other smaller losses aggregating $1,500. The fire is supposed to have been accidental.

September 1876, from New York Times: The new wooden block on Broad street, near the railroad depot, at Waverly, N. Y., owned by W. W. Shepard, the livery stables of J. L. Bentley, and a small building used by Campbell Brothers for storage purposes were destroyed last night by fire. Shepard's block was occupied by the Enterprise newspaper office, Pbineas Terry, harness maker, and a private family. Loss on building $6,000; no insurance. The Enterprise newspaper loss $7,000; insurance, $5,000; Terry's loss is $250; no insurance. The livery stable loss is $600; insurance, $400, which is covered by insurance. The depot was on fire several times but it was extinguished. The fire originated in the passage between the printing office and harness shop, and is supposed to have been accidental.

September 14, 1876, John S. Conkling and Addie to Charles A. Luckey, the octagonal home, part of current 9 Athens and all of current 7 Athens street, about one acre.

November 1876 Waverly Advocate: A son of T. Campbell who resides on Athens street in this place, had his leg broken, while playing at school, one day last week.

November 1876 Waverly Advocate: Charles H. Sawyer has completed his splendid residence on Chemung street, and a visit to his mansion satisfies us that it is one of the best, if not the very best, in Waverly. It is an ornament to our town and a credit to Mr. Sawyer. It is complete and perfect in all its appointments. Gas and water fixtures have been put in throughout. The main part of the house is finished in ash and black walnut, and other portions of the building grained in imitation of those woods. And here is where the skill and artistic taste of D. S. Morgan is exhibited. The graining has been done by him, and so closely has he imitated the original wood that it will take an expert to distinguish the imitation form the genuine. In many instances the original wood and the imitations are in contact, and to a casual observer they would be declared one and the same. It is the best job of graining ever done in this town, and we congratulate Mr. Sawyer on the beauty of his house, and on having secured the services of such superior artists in the execution of the work. (This is referring to 416 Chemung St. Waverly, NY)

November 22, 1876 The Waverly Free Press: We have been shown plans and elevation of the proposed new school house, to be built on Lincoln street, which appears to be very complete in all respects, and if constructed in accordance with the plans and specifications, will be an ornament to our beautiful village and an honor to the architect, Mr. John Seacord. The building and grounds are to cost about $5,000.

December 6, 1876 The Waverly Free Press: Ground has been broken on Lincoln street for the new Primary School building. The job has been let to Mr. Asaph Larnard, and is to be completed by the first of April. It will be large enough to accommodate two hundred and forty children. There will be four school rooms, seated for sixty children each - two below and two above. The appointments in each room will be alike and quite complete. The rooms will be large and airy. The plan for ventilation is in accordance with the latest improvements. The whole will be heated two furnaces. The Board of Education has purchased an acre of land for a site for this building, about midway up Lincoln street. The ground is high, and it seems to be in every respect and eligible spot. We understand Mr. Larnard has engaged Mr. A. J. Van Atta to superintend the job for him. This means business on the part of Mr. Larnard, and no doubt the Board of Education will secure a good job of it. The plans and specifications for this building were prepared by Mr. John Seacord of this place. (VanAtta, the desinger and builder of our estate)

1877 and 1878 Citizens’ Bank at 72 Broad Street. J. T. Sawyer, President. H. W. Owen, Vice Pres’t. M. Lyman, Jr. Cashier. Directors. H. W. Owen, H. C. Spaulding, S. W. Slaughter, J. T. Sawyer, Daniel Bensley.

January 1, 1877 The Waverly Free Press: The annual election of officers for the Citizens Bank, took place on Monday, January 8, 1877, the following being elected for the coming year. J. T. Sawyer, President; H. W. Owen, Vice President; M. Lyman, Jr. Cashier; J. T. Sawyer, H. W. Owen, Henry C. Spaulding, Daniel Bensley, S. W. Slaughter, Directors.

January 3, 1877 The Waverly Free Press: The new school house on Lincoln street is being rapidly pushed forward to completion. The frame was raised on New Year’s day.

April 25, 1877 The Waverly Free Press: Rubber Paint - The Very Best of any in use. Makes a heavier body, spreads further and holds its fine gloss longer than anything else. No Cracking Nor Chalking. I have given it 5 years trial and will use no other. M. Lyman, Jr., Ag’t.

May 2, 1877 The Waverly Free Press: Water is coming into use as a fashionable beverage.
School was opened in the new school house on Lincoln street, on Monday last. This is said to be the finest school building in Tioga County.
Mr. E. G Tracy, is having his residence, corner of Fulton and Chemung streets repaired, and some very fine chimneys built thereon, which adds much to its looks. {153 or 155?}{152 in 1896 was A J Vanatta}
Now is the time to build a good plank walk in front of your lots. Nothing will add more to the beauty of your homes.

May 16, 1877 The Waverly Free Press: J. B. Thompson, formerly of Middletown, has leased the Buck House, and has taken possession.

May 23, 1877 The Waverly Free Press: A water works company has been formed in this village, with a capital of $40,000 with power to increase said stock to any amount found necessary to complete and maintain the works. Surveys will soon be made to ascertain the best site for the reservoir, and the cost of construction. The company is composed of our best men, and capitalists. Full particulars will be given at no distant day.

June 27, 1877 The Waverly Free Press: Milk 4 cents a quart.
Since we published that article in regard to hitching horses to shade trees, a number of complaints has been made to us in regard to the want of suitable hitching posts being provided. It is claimed, and we think justly, that not one lot in ten, has a post set in front of it, that is safe to hitch a horse to. One man who resides outside of the village, told us he had brought and set four posts in various parts of the village so he should have a safe post to hitch his horses to while here on business. He suggests that a fine of $5 be imposed on every owner of a lot who fails to set a good hitching post in front of the same, and then make a fine of $10 and 30 days in jail to hitch to a shade tree, but that the posts be provided before the penalties last named can be enforced. We think he is quite right, and suggest the “planting” of a hitching post in front of every lot, at an early day.
advertised for White Sewing Machine. White Sewing Machine Co., Cleveland, O. Agents wanted.

July 26, 1877 Clinton Courier.: Read what experience proves about Hatch's Universal Cough Syrup: Hatch's Universal Cough Syrup has been put to a six years test in our trade, with the following result: It gives the best of satisfaction to allow our customers, and they testify to that satisfaction by buying far more of it than any other cough remedy, although we keep in stock a large number of that class of medicines, in fact all that have been heretofore considered most salable. Slaughter & Wells, Waverly, N. Y. (Was Eugene Wells, Charlotte's brother)

August 8, 1877 The Waverly Free Press: If the people living on Athens street - not far from Tioga street - will have the kindness to make less racket after 10 o'clock p.m. with their organ and violin, they will oblige the surrounding community very much. X. Y. Z.

August 24, 1877 The Waverly Advocate: Mrs. Minnie Quick having been solicited to open a School at her residence, No. 3, Athens street, has decided to do so, and will begin Monday, September 3d, 1877. Instruction per term, $3.00, first lesson on Drawing included. The same text books used that are used in the public schools. (this home took up the lands of 3 and 5 Athens street)

August 29, 1877 The Waverly Free Press: G.W. Orange has taken up his strawberry bed and sown the ground with grass seed. His yard is much improved in appearance by the change.
School Books at Slaughter & Wells.

1877 Auburn Journal: To pay two certificates issued by C. A. Walrath, canal commissioner, to Thomas Keeler, on account of dredging the Cayuga inlet, the sum of two thousand six hundred and twenty-three dollars and seventy cents. (Thomas Keeler's name is on one of our basement walls. He was known as one of Waverly's artisans. In 1897, he re-painted the house)

September 5, 1877 Luckey back to John S. Conkling, Octagonal House.

1877 Waverly Advocate: E. F. Wells, President of the Waverly Rifle Association, received complimentary tickets to the Creedmore International Rifle Match, and is now there witnessing the contest between the finest marksmen of the world. We are glad our Rifle Team is thus recognized. (Samuel Slaughter's brother-in-law and partner in Corner Drug Store)

Mrs. Minnie Quick having been solicited to open a School at her residence, No. 3, Athens street, has decided to do so, and will begin Monday, September 3d, 1877. Instruction per term, $3.00, first lesson in Drawing included. The same text books used that are used in the public schools. (At this time current day 3 & 5 Athens street was one property with one large home on it.)

If you want a little repairing to your tin roof, gutters or conductors, D. W. Gore is ready to do it promptly, neatly and efficiently. When the weather is dry is the time to have these little things attended to.

September 6, 1877 Waterville Times, Waterville, NY: Read what experience proves Hatch's Universal Cough Syrup: Hatch's Universal Cough Syrup has been put to a six years test in our trade, with the following result: It gives the best of satisfaction to all our customers and they testify to that satisfaction by buying far more of it than any other cough remedy, although we keep in stock a large number of that class of medicines, in fact all that have been heretofore considered most salable. SLAUGHTER & WELLS, Waverly, N. Y.

October 25, 1877 John S. Conkling and Adeline, his wife, to Samuel W. Slaughter, octagon house and lot immediately to the east, $2,600.00 {John S. Conkling, 51 yrs, a manufacturer, in 1880 was living in Middletown, Orange county, NY.}

October 25, 1877, Our property consisted of 208 & 208 1/2 Chemung St. and 7 and 9 Athens St, Waverly, NY. All owned by Samuel Slaughter.

1877 The Waverly Advocate: On Saturday evening last Mr. P. B. Tompkins, clerk in the L. V. R. R. Freight office at this place, was violently assaulted on Tioga street, at the foot of Athens street, by a person supposed by Mr. Tompkins to be a tramp. This sort of thing happening as it did in the most thickly populated part of our village is a serious matter, and should be investigated by our police authorities, and persons of such a suspicious character should not be allowed to perambulate our streets assaulting and way laying innocent citizens and children.

December 26, 1877 The Waverly Free Press: Sugar 10 cents a pound at J. W. Knapp’s 30 and 32 Broad street. - Not an inch of snow has fallen in Waverly during the present winter, and grass still looks fresh and green. - It is estimated that there have been upwards of two hundred cases of diphtheria in this village since early fall, quite a number of which proved fatal.

1878 0r 1879 Waverly Advocate: The village of Middletown expended for year just closed $20,518.07 and Middletown is not much larger than Waverly. Our expenditures for the same period were but $5,094.11. We think no one can complain of extravagance on the part of our village officers. The Middletown Press boasts of a great Republican victory in the town of Wallkill. Well, with three Republican candidates in the field for Supervisor it must be a poor party indeed that could not elect one of them, when the Democrats had only one candidate.

January 11, 1878 Waverly Advocate: Waverly Mutual Loan Association. Statement of Business for the year ending December 31, 1877. … H. H. Sniffin, President, and Wm. S. Iliff, Secretary, of the Waverly Mutual Loan Association … L. R. Manning, E. F. Wells and C. E. Peneleton, a committee appointed to audit the accounts …. (E. F. Wells, was Charlotte’s brother, S. W. Slaughter’s brother-in-law and partner at Corner Drug Store)

January 12, 1878 The Waverly Free Press: Sarah Welles, widow of General Henry Welles, of Athens, Pa., died at Cleveland on Saturday, December 29th, age eighty-four.
John VanAtta, a gentleman over seventy years of age, and weighing over two hundred pounds, living in the northern part of this town, had a leg broken, the fore part of this week. (A. J. VanAtta’s father)
Assemblyman, J. T. Sawyer returned to Albany on Monday evening last.

February 15, 1878 The Waverly Advocate: Spanish Hill. Twenty Years Hence. The old song: "It will be all the same a thousand years hence, " has become obselete. In ye olden time that would do to sing, but in this fast age nothing remains "the same" over night. The old Spaniard that appeared to our reporter in a materialized form at the ushering in of our Great Centennial Year, and revealed much of the quaint legendry of Spanish Hill, has again visited the mythical cave of which our readers must have a faint recollection, and revealed the future of that, to him, charmed spot, extending his prophesies to the close or the present century. Our reporter, who is much given to the wonderful and mysterious, secured and interview, and, with his ever present note book, caught the substance of his forecast of what is to be. He was asked why he annually visited this quaint and weird place; why he came in such tangible form; and why "Spanish Hill" was so called! He replied that he was strongly attracted hither by reminiscences of the terrible events that occured on this hill nearly two-hundred and fifty years ago, in which he was a prominent actor; that the wonderful changes wrought in this locality within the last century, and which are being continually worked out, were among the most interesting affairs of his earthly and spiritual life; and he took a melancholly pleasure in noting the remarkable transformations which he could not fully take in without putting himself in physical rapport with them. It was not the physical changes that most interested him; the moral and intellectual growth of humanity in these valleys was particularly attractive and pleasing. The name had a meaning - a most remarkable one, especially to himself. About the year 1630 expeditions to the New World were frequent and intensely exciting to the Spanish people. Spaniards were a sordid race; gold was their God, and they expected to find that precious metal on the new Continent in marvelous quantities. When a ship load of gold seekers landed upon the coast they usually divided themselves into small bands, and armed with such weapons as were then in use, and with such mining tools and other necessary things as could be conveniently transported in their way, they penetrated the vast interior of America in search of gold, silver, or any other precious metals that might be discovered. He was one of a party of forty-five who wandered up the Chesapeake bay, and thence up the Susquehanna river; but finding the valley exceedingly rugged, and difficult to traverse they built two boats out of hewed oak boards and with them worked their way up to nearly this point. He said, "nothing serious interfered with our progress till we entered the territory of a powerful organization of Indians composed of five tribes, since known as the Five Nations. These disputed our progress, having learned through other tribes of the marauding and rapacious character of the Hispans who had already overrun portions of the South. A few miles below here we abandoned our boats, sunk them in a cove, and then sought to fight our way through, hoping to reach other Spanish parties at the west. In fact, all retreat had been cut off, and no other course was left us. (The song:) Down in the shining river - The "River of the Hills," Where the magic aspens quiver To the music of the rills. We sunk our oaken vessels From out of Human sight, Till the ice-floods of the ages Should bring them to the light. The sands, by torrents drifted, Their keel and prow o'erwhelm, and o'er them time uplifted The walnut and the elm. Two centuries, gently sleeping, Unknowing and unknown, Our oaken boats were keeping Their secrets all their own. Then came the ice-king crushing The trees and banks away; And the river swiftly rushing - Rushing night and day - Revealed our trusty barges, But their history nevermore, While we were rivals keeping Upon the "other shore," How little know, ye seekers Of those relics old and brown. Of the tragedy that followed The sinking of them down. (end of song) Arriving at this mound-like hill, we intrenched ourselves with our mining tools, throwing up breast work around the margin, and keeping a way open to a spring at the base of the hill on the west side. On this hill we were surrounded by the most persistent, war-like people we ever met. After weeks of fighting against thirst, hunger and Indians, we yielded to the inevitable, and death ended alike our aniticipations and our sufferings. The Indians had learned our nationality, and henceforth this mound was known to them as "Hill Hispanola." From them the name passed down to the English settlers who afterwards, more successfully, invaded their territory. That little world of forest and savagery has now become the home of light, life and civilization. The change, to me, is wonderful - to you less so, because you live in it, and grow in it, and but faintly realize what a hundred years have wrought. A magnificent future is before you. I see it more plainly than you, because, in my more exalted and enlarged vision, I can take in the causes at work to secure results you dream not of. This hill has had a bloody past - it is to have a brilliant and beautiful future. At its base is growing up a pleasant and prosperous village. Its people are enterprising beyond the average of peoples; and they will not let the opportunity slip, when the opportunity comes, so make it what I foresee is rapicly approaching. Unless men change beyond any reasonable expectations, this beautiful spot will make a history for Waverly of which Waverly in the future will be proud. Every event has an efficient preceeding cause, and they are linked together by laws as inevitable as fate. As the country becomes cleared and settled up, and the forests disappear, your necessities will reach a climax which will demand the use of this hill for purposes not heretofore comtemplated by your people. The question of water will then override the question of burying the dead. This will never be a cemetery. Nature seems to have planned it for pleasanter and brighter uses. Ere this century closes, the basin between the two sections of the hill will be a lake of clear bright water, surrounded by groves, fountains, flowers and other attractions, useful, and delightful, and eminently refining in their influence upon the thousands who will make them the companions of their leisure hours. Thence will be supplied to the large and busy population on the plains below, the pure water so much demanded even now. Necessity will inaugurate the enterprise and the fine tastes of the rising generation will adorn and beautify the work as time moves on. The entire hill, with all its variety of surface and forest, will be made a park, that for elegance, comfort and charming attractions, be will surpassed by anything of its size along theses rivers. You aks how water is to be raised to this hill to make such an enterprise as success. This may look a little formidable now, but time and genius will provide all. Nothing bu the expence stands in the way to day, but the wants of your village will surely compel the expenditure. It is said that necessity knows no law, but necessity will make a law by, which its demands will be answered. - Man lives too much for sordid ends, and not enough for life itself. You are gradually learning that money is good for nothing except to use in the current wants of life. There is annually spent in your town to gratify mere sensuality and passion enough to supply water from this hill for ten years. A tithe of this wanton waste of money and vitality would more than meet this demand. This may seem an extravagant statement, but I have reason to believe that after the necessary works, (paper ruined) my statement will be found within the circle of truth. A well, not unlike that already in use at your village by this great railroad, but more perfect and permanent, will be sunk at the base of the hill on the river side, and sufficiently deep to reach the bed of that ever flowing stream; and in it a steam engine of average capacity will be set to work. Two or three days work in a week will keep the little lake full after it once becomes thoroughly tight, and you will be astonished at the ease and economy of the work. Fuel will soon be much cheaper than now. - The little mountains of waste coal lying useless at the mines will in a few years be utilized for all such purposes, and long before that is exhausted a cheaper motor will be discovered and brought into use. Even now one man with a few tons of coal a week would supply your village with the purest and best water known to this valley; and the heatlh, cleanliness, comfort and even wealth of your village would be so enhanced that you would wonder that this little stroke of utility and genuine economy had been delayed so long. Twenty years hence double the water can be placed upon this hill at half the expense of to day. No, this mound was not made for the weak to fortify themselves against the strong; not for a theatre of war and starvation and blood; nor yet as the receptacle of the dead bodies of your people; but as the resort of the weary toilers of earth; the enjoyments of the old and the young; as the healthful and beautiful spot that shall gladden the souls of a weary and overworked humanity." Listening a moment for something further, our reporter looked up in time to see the venerable Spaniard vanish into thin air, leaving further revelation to ifself, unless he should see it to again report for duty in his favorite role. (For more information on Spanish Hill.) (For local Native American history, Susquehanna River Archaeological Center.)

March 2, 1878 The Waverly Free Press: Mr. Wm. Knapp left here on Tuesday evening last, for Minnesota, where he is to make his future home, he having purchased a nice farm there. He was one of our best citizens, and we regret his loss from among us, but wish him abundant success in his new home.

March 21, 1878 Corning Journal: Brick Pomeroy. Remininscences and Recollections of "Brick" Pomeroy. Chapter XI, Of His Life - From Pomeroy's Democrat of March 9th 1878. Another printer who worked here in the office, boarding with Mr. Messenger, and for a long time occupying the same room with the writer hereof, was David R. Locke, since generally known as "Petroleum V. Nasby." -....Thomas Messenger was, all in all, a singular man. So far as his range of vision extended, he saw clearly. He was more blunt and outspoken in the defense of manhood than he was anxious to curry favor or slide along to prosperity. In fact, his was rather a sturdy nature, although its woof was kindness. He wielded a sharp, caustic pen, and few were the editors anywhere in that vicinity who cared to lock horns or goose-quills with him. In politics he took to the Whig school, and in 1851 was made Postmaster in Corning, which office he held for several months, until by accident some one discovered that he was not a citizen of the United States, when he resigned the office in favor of a personal friend. For a long time it was a part of my duty to assist in the Postoffice nights and mornings in the distribution of the mails as they came in, and in helping to make them up in order to go out. ...Chapter XII. From Pomeroy's Democrat of March 16, 1878. .....Mr. Messenger, meanwhile, after leaving the Journal office, had gone to Waverly, a new village then just springing up along the Erie Railroad, distance thirty-six miles from Corning. Here he broke the ice and himself at the same time, by starting in this little village, which was then considered something like a thumb to Factoryville, (an old and pretentious settlement a mile from Waverly, at the mouth of Shepherd's Creek,) a newspaper, launched forth upon the frightened world under the title of the Waverly Luminary. It was a jolly, little paper, printed on new, fresh type; as saucy, jaunty and juicy as it was handsome. To this office, after Messenger had it well opened and the paper under way, I was called to come and fill out my unexpired term, with the further promise, that in consideration of the continued steady and rapid progress made, my wages should be increased, and that I should start in at Waverly, with the promised reward of $6 a month in addition to board and laundry-work, and that I should take my old place in the family as one of the sons of a childless man, because all the boys in the office looked upon him as a father, - that is, where he took kindly to them. Accordingly, in the early Winter of 1852, I rode on the cars from Corning to Waverly, found the office of the Luminary, was welcomed, not exactly as the Prodigal son, but fully as cordially, was assigned to a case close to the window, so that I could have a good light to work by, and then taken home by the proprietor to be welcomed by his wife, and to enjoy a romp with the two children of his widowed brother, George, who was at this time in Troy, Pennsylvania, conducting a small newspaper there. ... At Waverly he found no rings or combinations and old stagers, because the little village was too new to have any. Here he applied himself very earnestly to the work of establishing his newspaper. Such was his ability, not only to make friends but to make a newspaper, that in a short time the Luminary came to be looked upon as an increasing light and Messenger was in his glory. When I entered again in to his service, coming from Corning to Waverly, I found him full of hope of making a very desirable business. He had looked over the country and in his mind formed a conclusion that at some time Waverly must be a very large and important inland town. In this matter he did forecast correctly, as subsequent events and the growth of the place have proved, and will still further prove. Being of an active turn of mind with a brain never at rest, it was a necessity of his life that he should be constantly planning and carrying out ideas. He was a member of the Baptist church and long had held position and enjoyed good standing in that religious organization. He was also a thorough and persistant advocate of temperance. In Corning he had several times held position in the Lodge of Good Temlars and in the Temple of Honor, two very effective organizations in Corning that had been helped to their strength and popularity very materially by his work. So it was that when I went to Waverly I found myself still under the influence of a temperance man and one who was full of ideas and embryo business enterprises, and the employee of a man who was growing into popularity, perhaps a little too fast, for this popularity as he grew into it brought him enemies in those who were jealous of his success. ...

March 23, 1878 The Waverly Free Press: The large poplar trees in the Park are being cut down and removed. This is done to allow more room for the other shade trees.

“Buffalo Bill” (Hon. Wm. Cody) and troupe stopped in this place a short time on Thursday last, and attracted considerable attention.

April 1878 Waverly Advocate: G. W. Orange has commenced laying a flag-stone walk around his property, corner Fulton and Chemung streets. The stone are of very fine quality.

May 25, 1878 The Waverly Free Press: Bring your Pictures to Slaughter & Wells’ and have them framed, and save them.

For Rent - A house and lot on the corner of Chemung and Orchard street. Barn, garden, and fruit. Inquire of J. Dubois, No. 16 Waverly street.

June 1, 1878 The Waverly Free Press: Bring your Pictures to Slaughter & Wells' and have them framed, and save them. - Two vacant lots for sale. Situated on Clark, between Chemung and Broad Sts. Good well of water and fruit thereon. Price, $500 each. Inquire at Free Press Office. - For Rent.- A house and lot on the corner of Chemung and Orchard street. Barn, garden, and fruit. Inquire of J. Dubois, No. 16 Waverly street. - For Sale- Several Houses and Lots in Waverly and South Waverly. J. F. Shoemaker, office over Citizens' Bank.

June 1, 1878 The Waverly Free Press: We are requested to announce that the manuscripts of history, of Waverly, have been submitted to Wm. F. Warner and J. E. Hallet, and corroborated by authentic date in possession of the latter, and pronounced by those gentlemen, perhaps as good, if not the best authorities, on local history, in this village, to be correct. Everything is being done, possible for the gentlemen in charge to do, to make the history of Tioga, Chemung, Tompkins, and Schuyler Counties complete in all particulars, and the work bids fair to be one of great values and interest to the people. - A grand balloon ascension will take place in this village on Monday, June 3d, between the hours of one and six P. M. The aeronant, Mons. Laville, is said to be one of the best in the country. The balloon contains 4000 yards of oil silk, with a capacity of 150,000 cubic feet. As the exhibition is to be free, a large attendance is anticipated.

June 27, 1878 News and Democrat. (Auburn): Fire At Waverly. - A fire that broke out in the Waverly depot at six o'clock Wednesday evening entirely consumed the Erie depot, the Courtney House, kept by Jas. B. Davison, and the large livery and exchange stable of A. W. Bentley. The furniture of the Warford House was considerably damaged. The Courtney House lost on building and furniture about $12,000, and the railroad company and express company about $25,000. Several cars were on fire, but were saved by the firemen.

1878-1879 The Waverly Advocate:

G. F. Waldo has been putting down 1,500 square feet-300 feet lineal- of flagging walk around his property on Pennsylvania avenue and Howard street. It is the neatest and most perfectly laid walk in town. He has two finely worked hitching posts, and two cut stone steps for carriages - one on either street. The stone are from the Laceyville quarries, and furnished and laid by Mr. O'Bryan, proprietor of the quarries. This kind of walk is becoming popular in Waverly, and is rapidly taking the place of hemlock. It is furnished now at very low prices, and is regarded as more economical in the long run than plank walks.

Speaking of the building of stone sidewalks reminds us that Owen Spaulding, a few weeks ago, laid down a very fine flag walk around his residence on Chemung st., and Penn's avenue. On the streets he laid 2,494 square feet - 498 1/2 feet lineal, and within the grounds 899 square feet, making a total of 2,892 square feet, at a total cost of $440.20. This is the largest amount put down by any one of our citizens.

We also notice that Judge Yates has laid the same style of flag walk along his residence on Park avenue, the exact amount of which we have not ascertained.

Likewise, Dr. W. E. Johnson has built an equally fine walk in front of his property on the same avenue.

S. W. Slaughter, after greatly improving his residence on Chemung street, has laid a flag stone walk with curbing upon that street.

Mrs. Sharps on West Broad street has likewise built a very neat flag walk in front of her lot, by no means inferior to any in town, besides considerable yard walk.

Flagging is rapidly taking the place of the old hemlock walks in our village, and we would suggest that the corporation would do well to put down a similar walk on the east side of the Park. It can never be done so cheaply as now. We believe James O'Bryan of Laceyville has furnished and laid the flagging in the cases mentioned.

- Queen Victoria has reigned forty years.

Wall Paper. Slaughter & Wells, are ready for the Spring Trade with a large, new Stock of Wall Paper. Fresco and Kalsomine Borders, Window Shades, $c., new patterns and new styles. Call and see them. Also Kalsomine, Lime, &c Corner Drug Store.

August 3, 1878 The Waverly Free Press: Mr. S. W. Slaughter, has placed a very fine horseblock and hitching post in front of his residence on Chemung Street.

An Undeniable Truth. You deserve to suffer, and if you lead a miserable, unsatisfactory life in this beautiful world, it is entirely your own fault and there is only one excuse for you, - your unreasonable prejudice and skepticism, which has killed thousands. Personal knowledge and common sense reasoning will soon show you that Green's August Flower will cure you of Liver Complaint, or Dyspepsia, with all its miserable effects, such as sick headache, palpitation of the heart, sour stomach, habitual cositiveness, dizziness of the head, nervons prostration, low spirits, &c. Its sales now reach every town on the Western Continent and not a Druggist but will tell you of its wonderful cures. You can buy a Sample Bottle for 10 cents. Three doses will relieve you. For sale by Slaughter & Wells.

The fall crickets and katy-dids may now be heard every night.

Weaver & Shear are having a fine stone walk laid in front of their mill property on Broad street.

A new flag walk has been laid in front of Waldo & Tracy's drug store, and is one of the finest in town. Who will be the next to follow

August 24, 1878 The Waverly Free Press: We learn the new depot is to be completed by the first of November.

Our street commissioner is doing a fine job on Athens street foot of Payne's hill by filling in with gravel, thus making a better grade between Tioga and Chemung streets at their crossing.

The Fall Term of Mrs. Quick's School will open on Monday, September 2, 1878. No. 3 Athens St., Waverly, N. Y. (According to map drawings, 3 Athens Street included current day 5 Athens street and there was one larger home there, inplace of the two current homes)

September 7, 1878 Waverly Free Press: This is called the village of flags, owing to the number displayed on all public occasions. - The foundation of the new depot is progressing rapidly.

September 14, 1878 The Waverly Free Press: The following are interesting items concerning the commercial value and properties of the better known woods: Elasticity - Ash, hickory, hazel, lancewood, chestnut (small), yew, snakewood: Elasticity and Toughness - Oak, beech, elm, lignum vitae, walnut, horn-beam. Even grain (for carving and engraving) - Pear, pine, box, lime tree. Durability (in dry works) - Cedar, oak, yellow pine, chestnut. Building (ship building) - Cedar, pine(deal), fir, larch, elm, oak, locust, leak. Wet construction (as piles, foundation, flumes, etc.) - Elm, sider, beech, oak, whitewood, chestnut, ash, spruce, sycamore. Machinery and millwork (frames) - ash, beech, birch, pine, elm, oak. Rollers, etc - Box, lignum-vitae, mahogany. Teeth of wheel - Crab tree, hornbeam, locust. Foundry patterns - Alder, pine, mahogany. Furniture (common) - Beech, birch, cedar, cherry, pine, whitewood. Best furniture - Amboyna, black ebony, mahogany, cherry, maple, walnut, oak, rosewood, satinwood, sandalwood, chestnut, cedar, tulip wood, zebra wood, ebony. Of other varieties, those that chiefly enter into commerce in this country are oak, hickory, ash, elm, cedar, black walnut, maple, cherry, butternut, etc. - American Builder.

A new paper makes its appearance at Athens this week. It is to be called the Athens Gazette, and will contain twenty-eight columns. Chas. Hinton, publishers. We wish the new journal success.

September 28, 1878 The Waverly Free Press: Athens. Another bakery soon to be opened in Athens. Mr. Barnes does not take possession of the Gothic Hotel until October 1st.

October 11, 1878 The Waverly Advocate: Happenings At Home. ... The chestnut burs are opening. ....The Erie third rail is completed to Susquehanna. ... The squirrel and chestnut crops don't seem to flourish well together. ...D. A. Blizard has completed a very fine flag-stone walk in front of his residence on Chemung street. ...

School Trustees. The election for School Trustees of Union School District No. 7, on Wednesday, resulted as follows, two tickets being run: Whole number of votes polled 410, of which Thomas J. Phillips received 276, George H. Grafft 285, Samuel W. Slaughter, to fill vacancy, 279. Of the other ticket, George H. French received 127, Oliver B. Corwin 131, Charles O. Smith, to fill vacancy, 126.

Our new freight depot, which is now being built, will be 150 feet long by 30 feet wide. It stands so close to the main track that freight may be transported without the use of planks. The platform will be the same height as the car floors, which will also facilitate handling goods. A track in the rear will also accommodate freight business. On the whole it will be one of the best and most convenient freight depots on the road.

October 26, 1878 The Waverly Free Press: A new paper, called the Tioga County Democrat, has recently been started in Owego.

Slaughter & Wells, Drugs. The purest only, at reasonable prices. Prescriptions. Receive particular attention. Dye Stuff. with directions for using quickly and easily. Perfumes. All the most enduring and best known odors. Hair. Brushes, Tooth Brushes, Combs, &c, &c. Ladies' Toilet Goods and Toilet Powders. Soaps, for hotel and family use, in all quantities and prices. Paper. Boxed and plain, in great variety. Trusses. Elastic, Spring and others. Patent. Medicines, all the best advertised. School Books, English, Latin, Greek, French and German. Surgical Instruments and Medical Books at wholesale prices. Corner Drug Store.

November 15, 1878 The Tribune Hornellsville: Found Dead in Bed. George W. Orange, station agent at the Waverly Erie depot, was found dead in his bed on the morning of the election. Mr. Orange had been in the service of the Erie for nearly thirty years. He was station agent at Great Bend in 1853, and from there he went to Waverly. He was universally popular with the employes of the road and the citizens generally. He was always on duty and very faithful to his duties. His death was somewhat unexpected. He was subject to attacks of heart disease, but that fact was not generally known. Mr. J. S. Carroll, chief clerk at the Waverly Office, is at present in charge of the station. - Elmira Advertiser.

November 15, 1878 The Waverly Advocate: The funeral of the late George W. Orange occured on Monday last. Rev. Dr. McKnight, of Elmira, officiated. The burial was under charge of the Masons of this village. A funeral dirge was played by Tioga Hose Band during the march to the cemetery. There was a very large attendance of relatives and citizens. The parents of the deceased are still living in New Hampshire. Their feebleness in their extreme old age prevented their being present.

1879 advertisments referred to: bedsteads, chamber suits, parlor suits

January 10, 1879 Waverly Advocate: The following were elected officers of the Waverly Mutal Loan Association Jan. 8 for the ensuing year: President - F. R. Warner. Vice President - C. C. Brooks. Secretary - Wm. S. Iliff. Treasurer - L. R. Manning. Directors - W. H. Spaulding, H. N. Gridly, H. G. Merriam, J. B. Floyd, A. Hildebrand, S. W. Slaughter, W. W. Andrews, H. L. Stowell, W. E. Kinney. Financial report will be published next week. - J. W. Knapp & Son advertisement. Under Town Clock.

March 21, 1879 The Waverly Advocate: Levi Westfall is moving into Mr. Seacord's new house corner Lincoln street and Clinton avenue, Waverly.

May 16, 1879 The Waverly Advocate: There is not much new building, but a good deal of repairing and improving of residences in town.

Mr. Canning is adding to and greatly improved his dwelling, corner Chemung street and Penn's avenue.

Dr. M. B. Weaver has gone southward to near Philadelphia, in pursuit of a more genial atmosphere and renewed health. May he succeed in finding both.

May 30, 1879 The Waverly Advocate: Slaughter & Wells advertisement

June 13, 1879 The Waverly Advocate: There is a distant rumor that Mary Anderson will sell her home in Syracuse and buy a house in Elmira. - Advertiser. As our Owego friends say the handsomest residences in Southern New York are in Waverly, it is barely possible she may come here.

August 8, 1879 The Waverly Advocate: We noticed very briefly last week the death of Dr. M. B. Weaver, which occured at his residence on Park avenue, on Wednesday morning, July 30th, in the prime and meridian of manhood, his age being but 46 years. His prominence as a man of enterprise and buiness energy, and his high standing as a Spiritualist and spiritual medium, demanded more extended notice. And our intimate relations with him for the past ten years justify us in speaking a few plain, honest words with regard to him. He came to this neighborhood ten years ago in the capacity of head miller in the flouring mills of Phillips & Curtis, located a mile and a half from the village. We were early attracted by his quiet manners, sincerity and kindness of heart, and peculiar religious views, and warm friendly relations were maintained ever afterwards. After a year and a half with Phillips & Curtis, he removed to Waverly, which has been his home, with occasional intervals, to the day of his death. His peculiar phase of mediumship, then but partially developed, rapidly grew to greater perfection, till he became widely known as one of the finest mediums of the country. For many years he followed his healing and mediumistic powers - for a few months in Buffalo, for a longer period at Cascade - head of Owasco lake - but mainly in Waverly and vicinity, although he was frequently called hundreds of miles away to minister to the afflicted. Some of the most remarkable cures on record were the work of his hands; and there are hundreds of witnesses living to-day who gratefully testify to his wonderful healing powers; and thousands have been made happy in the demonstrated truth of immortality through his mediumship. His success was entirely the result of intuition and inspiration having never read a work of a scientific character, or devoted an hour's time to the investition or study of any subject coming within the range of his specialties. But the prejudices against Spiritualism, developed mainly through ignorance of what it really is, were so deep-seated, and at times so demonstrative and virulent, that his life was rendered burdensome. But Dr. Weaver, although of delicate constitution, timid, and sensative even to nervousness, was a man of marked courage and bravery, and he never hestitated, when occasions seemed to require it, to stand upright as a self-reliant man, and declare his convictions, even in the face of bitter and remorseless persecution. A virtue pre-eminent in him was his fidelity to his convictions, and his contempt for shams and hypocrisy, in what ever form they came. It is doubtful if the Inquisition of old could have extorted from him what it did from Galileo. The practice of his healing art proved injurious to his delicate health, as he took on, to a greater or less degree, the symptoms of his patients; and for the last two years or more of his life he refused practice altogether. Being a miller by trade, he conceived, and at the head of the firm of Weaver & Shear, successfully carried out the idea of building a steam flouring mill in this village; and at the corner of Broad street and Penn's avenue stands one of the most perfect structures of the kind to be found in the country. But his ambition and forgetfulness of self led him to overwork which, with mental anxiety connected with his business, prostrated him during the past winter, and he gradually sunk under that ever-flattering disease, consumption, till the 30th July, when the life-copartnership between body and soul dissolved, and he passed to a higher and brighter field of labor. It is pleasant to know that during his last sickness, up to the moment of his departure, nothing was left undone that could smooth the thorny pathway, or in any manner relieve his sufferings. The hands of a kind and loving wife were ever quick and untiring in ministering to his wants; but kindness could not stay the destroying angel's hand, nor love longer hold the departing spirit. To him this natural and beautiful change, called death, had no terrors. It occured in the most quiet and peaceful manner; and to the last moment he realized the truth, written by the sweet poet of Sheshequin, nearly half a century ago, that "Death is but a kind and gentle servant, who, with noiseless hand, unlocks life's flower-encircled door to show us those we love." Dr. Weaver was a lover of humanity, from the highest to the lowest and poorest; and there will ever stand recorded against his name: "A man that loved his fellow men." (He rented the octagon home on Chemung street for his office space)

August 15, 1879 Waverly Advocate: Work of grading the race track on Shepard's flats west of Spanish Hill, had commenced. The contract was let to A. A. Slawson. It is to be completed by the 1st of September.

October 1879 The Waverly Advocate: The old-Octagon House, formerly standing on Chemung street, has been removed to Athens street; and Mr. Slaughter is grading the grounds it occupied for a park adjoining his magnificent residence. (On 7 Athens street, the octagon home was continued to be rented out as a two-family rental up to 1930. We are still researching on its disappearance, whether it was destroyed by fire or torn down for other reasons?) {1881 drawing shows an iron fence around our property with several trees of all kinds in the yard}

October 10, 1879 The Waverly Advocate: Report of Receipts and Disbursments on account of Public Schools of the Village of Waverly, from October1st 1878, to Sept. 30th, 1879. ...Disbursments As Per Secretary's Order Book. ...Aug. 8, Slaughter & Wells, supplies $36.31 ...

October 17, 1879 The Waverly Advocate: The school meeting of Tuesday night voted the usual appropriations, and took steps to dispose of the old Factoryville school house, with the view to build a new one in a more central locality.

On Wednesday two Trustees were elected in place of S. W. Slaughter and Leander Walker, whose terms expire. E. G. Tracy and Leroy Edgcomb were elected, the former without opposition the latter by 12 majority over S. W. Slaughter. They will make good and efficient officers.

Big Fire at Athens. About 10 o'clock Wednesday night a fire broke out in Lyons' Furniture store on Main street which extended on the North to Carroll's dwelling; in the rear to Carroll's and Lyons' barns; and on the South to the Presbyterian church, destroying them all. The firemen lacked water so the fire had pretty much its own way. The loss must be heavy.

1880 - 1882 Boyds' directory City of Elmira: REID & COOPER, (J. R. Reid and John N. Cooper), iron and brass founders and machinists, W Church cor Railroad av
Reid James R. (Reid & Cooper), h 243 Lake

1880 census: At home covering 3 and 5 Athens street- Minnie Quick 42 school teacher along with Sarah Horton 53 keeping house (sister),Peter S. Dunning 58 carpenter (brother-in-law and a widow), Frank H. Dunning 23 school teacher (nephew), Clayton H. Dunning 14 printer (nephew), John E. Dunning 9 (nephew), William 26 printer and Ella P. L. Schoot 34 keeping house with their daughter, Edna M. 1.

on Athens street: Anna Westfall 50 keeping house with daughters, Laura 21teacher, Sintah 21 teacher, Mary 14, and Anna 10, and sons; Charles B. 18 grain clerk and Levi 12 and Cora Quick 17 servant.

on Athens street: Charles Bray 25 painter and Blanche E. Bray 22 with daughter, Lena G 10 months.

on Athens street: Edwin Hubbard 31 dentist and Emma Hubbard 23 wife keeping house with daughter, Florence M. 5 and son, Ray W. 1.

Luman, 46 yrs, and wife, Melissa Rice, 41 yrs. with Jennie, 22 yrs and George Rice, 1 yr were living in Veteran, Chemung County, NY.

Gabriel Evans was a farmer living in Scott, Wayne county, PA.

1880 census: Wick Slaughter 45 drugist and Charlotte Slaughter 40 keeping house. (Samuel Wickham Slaughter, it appears, used his middle name as a nickname)

1880 Report of the Regents by University of the State of New York p. 395:
220 Waverly Union School, Acad. Dept., Waverly, Tioga county. Name of Principal and Institution at which was educated - H. H. Hutton, M. A., Genesee College … Officers of the Board of Trustees - President Leander Walker … Treasurer, J. B. Floyd … Secretary S. W. Slaughter number of trustees - 7, Quorum - 4, Academic year ends Aug. 31

January 16, 1880 The Waverly Advocate: Officers the Waverly Mutual Loan Association for the year 1880 were elected the 14th inst., as follows: F. R. Warner, President, C. C. Brooks, Vice President, L. R. Manning, Treasurer, W. S. ?Hiff, Secretary. Directors, W. H. Spalding, H. Bogart, H. N. Gridley, H. G. Merriam, H. L. Stowell, J. B. Floyd, S. W. Slaughter, W. E. Kinney, A. Hildebrand.

June 25, 1880 The Waverly Advocate: Citizens Bank. 72, Broad Street. J. T. Sawyer, President. H. W. Owen, Vice Pres't. L. R. Manning, Cashier. Directors, H. W. Owen, H. C. Spaulding, S. W. Slaughter, T. Sawyer, Daniel Bensley

June 25, 1880 The Waverly Advocate: Supreme Court. - Orange County. Solomon G. Carpenter, Plaintiff, Against Sarah E. Richardson and Isaac L. Richardson, her Husband, Defendants. In pursuance of a Judgment of Foreclosure and Sale made and entered in Orange County Clerk’s Office, on or about the 29th day of March, 1880, a copy of which by order of the Court, was duly filed and entered in Tioga Co. Clerk’s Office, I, the undersigned the Referee in said Judgment named, will sell at Public Auction, at the front door of the Post Office, in the Village of Waverly, Tioga County, NY, at ten o’clock in the forenoon on the 10th day of July, 1880, the following described premises, vix; All that tract or parcel of land situate in the Village of Waverly, Tioga County, New York, being a part of the land formerly sold by Isaac Shepard to Elder Jackson, and bounded as follows, to-witt: “Beginning in the centre of Chemung Street at a point known as the corner of land owned by Andrew Rice, running thence South thirty-seven degrees thirty minutes along said Rice’s West line thirty rods and sixty-eight hundredths rods; thence South seventy degrees thirty minutes South nine rods and thirteen feet to East line of Churchills land; thence along the East line of land formerly owned by Wm. Price, and along the line of land formerly owned by Abram Day, eleven rods and fifteen feet to said Days North East corner; thence Westerly along North line of said Days lot eight rods and two feet to the centre of Waverly Street; thence Northerly along the centre of Waverly St. to the centre of Chemung Street; thence Northerly sixty four degrees East fourteen rods to the place of beginning, supposed to contain two acres of land be the same more or less. Excepting and reserving therefrom a piece of land sold Experience B. Clark, being a strip of the South end of previously described lot being forty-two feet in width on the East and West ends as described in deed of Lewis L. Richardson and wife to said Clark, August 8, 1872, and recorded in Tioga County Clerk’s Office in Liber 90 of Deeds, Page 365. The first above described land being the same as described by Joseph Chambers and wife to D. Bruce Goodell, July 13, 1853, and recorded in Tioga County Clerk’s Office in Liber 52 to Deeds, Page 341.” Dated, May 20, 1880. A. G. Allen, Referee, R. C. Coleman, Plff’s Att’y. {202 Chemung Street Waverly, NY. In 1876 Isaac L. Richardson was a ticket agent for the Great Western R. R., Grand Trunk R. R., Michigan Southern R. R. and Inman Line of Steamers. Broad Street, Waverly. He also owned Club House, I. L. Richardson, Prop’r. Broad St., Waverly. Warm meals at all hours. Oysters in every style. Warm and cold meats, everything first - class in all respects. All the finest Brands of Cigars, Ales, Lager, Porter, & C. on Draught. Wholesale and Retail Dealer in Foreign and Domestic Liquors at 66 Broad St. Waverly, N. Y. Basement of Sawyer Block, Entrance From the RailRoad. On an 1869 map it shows 202 property with L. S. Richardson and south corner of Waverly and Tioga street as I. Richardson}

June 25, 1880 The Waverly Advocate: Slaughter & Wells. Druggists and dealers in Stationery, Wall Paper, Picture Frames, Periodicals, etc., & o. No.87, Broad St., Waverly, N. Y. Aug. 21, 1868.

July 16, 1880 The Waverly Advocate: The flag walk put down by Slaughter and Wells on the Waverly street side of their Drug Store, is the best walk in town. It is a splendid job.

North Barton Items. Thomas Keeler is painting a church at Straits Corners. Tommy is a good painter and has plenty to do.

September 10, 1880 The Waverly Advocate: Many elaborate decorations will be made on the coming Annual Fire Parade. Among others, will be an arch between Campbell's Block, and 1st National Bank. One opposite Corperation Buildings. One opposite Dr. Snooks, on Penn. Ave. One at the entrance of Park Place. One at junction of Penn. Ave. and Chemung St. One opposite Mr. Slaughter's, and other elegant decorations. (part of the parade route was up Chemung St from Penn's Ave. to Fulton St, so it went right by the Slaughter residence at 208 Chemung St.) - 24th - Annual Parade Waverly Fire Department, Wednesday, Sept. 15, ’80 At 2, P. M. Sharp - Line Of March. Line to form a the tap of the Bell, forming on Fulton St. the right of the column resting on Broad St., down Broad to Pennsylvania Avenue, up Pennsylvania Avenue to Maple, down Maple to Spalding, down Spalding to Howard, down Howard to Pennsylvania Avenue, down Pennsylvania Avenue to Broad, up Broad to Park Avenue, up Park Avenue to Pennsylvania, up Pennsylvania Avenue to Chemung St. up Chemung to Fulton, down Fulton to Broad, up Broad to Clark, up Clark to Moore, across Moore to Waverly, down Waverly to Broad, up Broad to Clark, and counter march to the Engine House. … - The Fire Department especially request that citizens along the line unite with the Department in Decorating their places of Business and Residences in honor of the day. Grand Fireman’s Ball In The Evening, At The Opera House.

October 21, 1880 Addison Advertiser: The village of Waverly is to have water works.

School Books, Scholars, Blanks, Pens, Ink, Paper, Slates, and all kinds of School Material at Slaughter & Wells.

Citizens Bank. 72, Broad Street. - J. T. Sawyer, President. H. W. Owen, Vice Pres’t. L. E. Manning, Cashier - Director, H. W. Owen, H. C. Spaulding, S. W. Slaughter, T. Sawyer, Daniel Bensley

November 25, 1880 Corning Journal: The Waverly water works were completed last week. They cost $40,000.

December 1, 1880 The Syracuse Morning Standard: The Waverly water works, just completed, cost $40,000. (Azariah Vanatta was the contractor for this project and it was one of his last as a contractor, according to his obituary. He was the deisgner and builder of our estate.)

December 3, 1880 The Waverly Advocate: Pennsylvania mines 16,000,000 tons of coal annually, amid much trouble and vexation as to prices and profits.

The winter term of Mrs. Quick's school will commence on next Monday the 6th of December, 1880, No. 3 Athens street, Waverly, N.Y.

December 10, 1880 The Waverly Advocate: Which do you run now, a wagon or a sleigh?

This issue of the Advocate closes its 28th year.

Holidays At Slaughter & Wells. Holiday Books, Children's Books, Photograph Albums, Autograph Albums, Florence Mirrors, Fancy Box Paper, Pocket Books, Coin Purses, Perfumery, Diaries, 1881.

January 14, 1881 Waverly Advocate: Married. Van Atta - Campbell. - By Rev. Albert L. Smalley, January 12, 1881, Mr. John C. Van Atta and Miss Carrie A. Campbell. (Son of designer and builder of our estate and later to become partners in Corner Drug Store with Samuel Slaughter) - The wedding on Chemung street last Wednesday evening was a brilliant affair. It was the marriage of Mr. John Van Atta and Miss Carrie A. Campbell, both of our village. The attendance of invited guests was large, the presents beautiful and valuable, the happiness beyond measure, and all things lovely. We congratulate our young friends, and wish them all the happiness this world allows.

In Philadelphia, on Monday, Robert A. Packer of Sayre was elected President of the Pennsylvania and New York Canal and Rail Road Company in the place of Robert B. Sayre of Bethlehem. Howard Elmer of Waverly succeeds J. H. Swoyer of Wilkes barre in the boards of directors.

March 22, 1881 Geneva Advertiser: New York Central Iron Works. ... Mr. William B. Dunning, present proprietor of the New York Central Iron Works, took charge of the Johnston works as foreman in 1846. ... Here he has pushed the manufacture of Dunning's Steam Engines and Boilers from 1854 till 1881. ...The base-burning, steam-heating boiler, was invented and patented in 1870. He had no idea of manufacturing it extensively, but arranged it for use in his own house. He once offered his entire interest in the patent to Wyllis H. Warner for one thousand dollars, little thinking at that time there was a golden egg behind it. All this time he was pursuing his business of manufacture and repairs to steam engines and boilers. When the manufacture of these self-regulating boilers commenced, he kept twenty boiler makers at constant work, and received a royalty from several other manufacturers besides. Today it is the best apparatus for heating dwellings, stores, churches, and great buildings, and is so regarded by eminent practical heating men and leading engineers, and has grown to be one of the idustries of Geneva. So far not one of them has ever been returned on his hands. As our forests are being cut away, and farmers, too, are having recourse to coal for heating purposes, they will eventually put in a Dunning steam heating apparatus, by the use of which they are able to warm the whole house with the same amount of coal and like attention as would be required by one large base-burning coal stove. ... The Dunning Steam Heating Boiler. - At the close of this winter's test of steam heating apparatus, W. B. Dunning has received numerous letters as to the merits of his self-regulating boiler. The one below from a gentleman who had used those dusty, foul-air-producing furnaces, was received last Saturday, It is to the same effect as all other letters: Waverly, N.Y. March 18, 1881. We are well pleased with the operation of the Steam Heating Apparatus with Dunning's Boiler which was put in for us two years ago. We have no trouble from dust, gas or overheated air, and can maintain a pleasant and uniform temperature throughout our whole house. In fact we are rid of all the objectionable features of Hot Air Furnaces and stoves. Yours Truly, S. W. Slaughter.

April 12, 1881 Waverly Daily Review: Conference Directory. Official Visitors. Rev E G Andrews, D D presiding Bishop, guest of Albert L Smalley, Parsonage Chancellor C N Sims, D D L L D, Syracuse University, S W Slaughter, Chemung and Athens
ev A J Kynett, DD Cor. sec’y Church extension society, RN Manners Fulton Rev R S Rust, DD Freedmen’s aid society, R N Manners, Fulton
Rev C C McCabe, D D Ass’t Cor sec’y Church extension society, A I Decker. Chemung
Rev J M Buckley, D D editor Christian Advocate, A R Bunn, Waverly st
Rev O H Warren, D D editor N C Advocate, Rev G H Hubbard, Tioga
Rev J M Rend, D D Cor Sec’y Missionary society, S W Slaughter, Chemung and Athens
Prof A A Buttz, Drew Theological seminary H G Merriam, Park ave
Prof J P Griffin, agent N C Advocate, J E Holber, Park ave
Rev J F Brown, L L B, Northern N Y Conference, Albert L Smalley Parsonage
Mrs. Dr J L Humphery, Woman’s foreign missionary society, AL Smalley, parsonage
Rev A P Mead, Wis conference, I. Hett, Main and Broad e w
Rev James Moss, Gen Conference, E A Stout, 89 Broad
Thomas W. Durston, Esq Tioga Hotel.

May 13, 1881 The Waverly Advocate: Died, Monday, May 9, 1881, at the Residence of G. G. Manning Esq. on Clark St. Mr. Eugene F. Wells, aged 35 years. The quiet Sabbath was startled with the rumor through the streets that Mr. Wells was lying unconscious with an apoplectic fit, and no prospect of his recovery: He had retired the previous evening in his usual health, tho for several years past his health had been extremely delicate, Mr. Wells was a brother of Mrs. Samuel W. Slaughter, and a member of the prominent drug firm of Slaughter & Wells. A graduate of Princeton College, and having served a full term as a pharmacist, he became a member of the above firm some eight years ago, and by his quiet gentlemanly manner won to himself a large circle of friends and acquaintances. A gentleman of culture; of unobtrusive manners, but firm in his convictions, his death will be deeply felt among the younger business men and the community at large. The funeral took place at the residence of Mr. Slaughter Tuesday, at 1 P. M., and the services were conducted by the Rev. P. S. Hulbert, of the Presbyterian Church, of which Mr. Wells was a member. Mr. Wells had been identified with Tioga Hose Company since its organization quite prominently; and the company attended the funeral in body, supported by the entire Fire Department, and while all unnecessary display was avoided each company vied with the other in showing their respect to the deceased. The remains were taken on No. 8, to Goshen, where funeral services were held and buried at Phillipsburg, Orange County in the family burying ground. Tioga Hose Co. sent Wm. L. Watrous, J. K. Murdoch, L. R. Manning and F. E. Lyford with the remains to Goshen as a mark of respect and affection for the deceased.

May 13, 1881 Waverly Advocate: Water was last week placed in the Merriam Block, Chaffee Block, Knapp Block, and several residences. The extent to which water is taken by the residents of Waverly, surpasses our expectation, and speaks well for the success of the company.

May 20, 1881 The Waverly Advocate: To Builders. The Designs and Specifications of the School House Building, to be built in Factoryville, will be at the office of Geo. H. Grafft, on and after May 2nd for inspection, and bids by Sealed Proposals will be received for the same by E. G. Tracey, at Waldo & Tracy's Drug Store until May the 14th, 1881. Surities to be named in the proposals. The Board of Education reserves the right to reject any or all bids. T. J. Phillips, Geo. H. Grafft, S. W. Slaughter, H. G. Merriam, Building Committeel Waverly, April 28, 1881.

May 20, 1881 Waverly Advocate: O. B. Corwin has this week, introduced water into his elegant residence, on Fulton street. The Waverly Water Company are meeting with unexpected success, in the introduction of water into residences so soon after erecting their works.

June 3, 1881 The Waverly Advocate: To Builders. The Designs and Specifications of the School House Building, to be built in Factoryville, will be at the office of Geo H. Grafft, on and after May 2nd for inspection, and bids by Sealed Proposals will be received for the same by E. G. Tracey, at Waldo & Tracy's Drug Store, until May the 14th, 1881. Surities to be named in the proposals. The Board of Education reserves the right to reject any or all bids. T. J. Phillips, Geo. H. Grafft, S. W. Slaughter, H. G. Merriam, Building Committee. Waverly, April 28, 1881.

September 30, 1881 Waverly Advocate: Plush for trimming, Black, and all staple colors at Stowells. - A Corning man had invented a match safe painted with luminous paint, so that in the night time they are plainly visible.

November 23, 1881 Broome Republican, Binghamton, NY: Weary Of Life. A Young Elmirian Suicides with Morphine at the Hotel Bennett. Michael Feeny, a young man, nineteen years of age, and a resident of Elmira, died at the Hotel Bennett, soon after twelve o'clock Wednesday, from the efforts of an enormous dose of morphine, evidently taken with the intent of producing death. He arrived in this city on Erie train 8, on Tuesday afternoon and registered at the Hotel, where he wandered about in an aimless mamer which attracted the notice of the clerks, but to which no special attention was given. About nine o'clock in the evening he was engaged in writing a letter at the table in the sitting room where some guests of the house were having a little vocal and instrumental music. He suddenly left the table, and, pen in hand approached one of the officials of the House who was in the room, and proposed that they should dance. He was told to sit down and not interfere, a bit of advice which he accepted and quietly resumed his writing. His appearance and actions at that time indicated that he was slightly under the influence of drink. About seven o'clock in the morning one of the chambermaids called the attention of W. F. Perry, the night bartender and clerk of the hotel, to the heavy breathing and "snoring" of the occupant of room No. 7, which, on trying, was found to be locked. Knowing that this was the room assigned to Feeny, and suspecting that all was not right from the sounds which issued from the room, Perry went into an adjoining apartment and climbed through the transom of another door into No. 7. Here he found Feeny lying on his back on the bed, his pants, shirt and stockings on, and breathing in a manner which indicated that he was dying. Hed turned up the gas which was left burning low, and after a vain endeavor to arouse the sleeper by shaking, went down stairs and notified one of the proprietors. Dr. Ely was called by telephone, arriving in a few moments. He found the patient in a comatose condition and breathing heavily, the pupils of the eyes contracted, pulse feeble, and extremities cold, On the table was a nearly empty eighth ounce bottle of sulphate morphin, its wrapper bearing the name of Slaguhter and Wells, Waverly, a tumbler containing the sediment of a mixture of the poison with water, and a letter addressed to Mrs. Jane DeVoe, 470 West Second street, Elmira, and the cork and its tinfoil cover. From appearances of evaporation of the liquid, and the sediment in the glass, it was thought that the mixture was prepared between eleven and twelve o'clock on the previous night. Dr. Ely endeavored to administer an emetic, but the power of swallowing was gone. A powerful battery was applied, and restored thoraxial action, which had ceased. The stomach pump was used but to no purpose, and at a few moments past noon life was extinct. Following is a copy of letter found: My Dear Mother: - I take this chance to leave you as I am going to a better land, etc. I wish to thank you for all you have done for me, etc., and I am very much obliged for your raising me. Please forgive my sin which I have committed. (Next page). Mother I was not born to play second fiddle to any person. Tell Buff not to dringk for my sake. If it had not been for drink I would not have done this. To all my friends, good bye. Mother I thought of you last. It is better for me to die than to live, etc. Mother forgive me as I do my enemies, and you need not mind where you bury me, because I do not care whether it is consecrated ground or not. You need not go to much expenses, and oblige your dear son. Don't be ashamed of me for I won't play second fiddle to any person, etc. Please forgive me for this and your loving son, Michael Feeny. If you ever put up a headstone please put on it "died because he was poor" on the bottom of the headstone. I had better die by my own hand than to live the live that is marked out for me. Good bye dear mother and Johnny Pete and Captain. I hope I will meet you all in heaven. The letter was written with ink, in a coarse straggling school boy hand, and was badly blotted. The body was removed to Frear & Sullivan's undertaking rooms, and the mother of the unfortunate man telgraphed for. She arrived accompanied by her elder son Peter Feeny on train No. 8. The son testified that deceased was a shoemaker by trade, but of late had been "braking" on the Lehigh Valley road; that he last saw him alive in Elmira, when he stated that he was going to Waverly to try and get work in his brother-in-law's machine shop in the place. He had always been considered of sound mind, though subject at times to spells of drinking. Deceased was rather fine looking, dressed in black and wore under his shirt a sacred amulet. The remains will be taken to Elmira onNo. 8 this morning. The verdict of the jury summoned by Coroner Johnson which met at the Court House in the evening, was that deceased committed his death by an overdose of morphine administered by himself for the purpose of producing death. The following were the jury: Cyrus Clapp, S. J. Frear, Samuel Hanford, James Lathrop, Dr. Charles McCall, J. W. Sullivan.

December 9, 1881 Prof Moray has brought out his view of Waverly, and now has it on sale. We mentioned the fact a few weeks ago that the work was in the hands of the engraver, and now that we have seen a proof of the picture we can speak more advisedly with regard to it. The view of our village is taken from the hill on the northwest near Mr. Hemstreet’s and embraces the entire village. This constitutes the main picture, and is exceedingly accurate, everything, including streets, is brought out with such distinctness that any locality may be determined at a glance. The view as a whole is beautiful and picturesque. The artist could not have selected a better point of view to give effect to the grand landscape which includes Waverly, Factoryville, Milltown, Sayre, and a faint view of Athens. The engraver has done his work well, and made a beautiful and valuable picture. The margin of the large sheet is ornamented with isolated views in our village of more than ordinary interest. The view of Spanish Hill is the best we ever saw. Mr. Moray knew his business when he selected his point for that picture. The Lincoln St. school was a happy thought for the artist. The Park from Penn’s avenue is the most beautiful part of our village. - View in East Waverly includes Cayuta creek, in the vicinity of the Fordham place. The view on Broad street is from the west, and covers the finest part of that street. The view on Chemung street is from the east and embraces that street from Mr. Slaughter’s westward. Now these side pictures are not inferior affairs, but clear-cut, well defined, finely engraved views of great beauty and interest. - The picture, as a whole, is got up in the highest style of art, and is of value to every citizen of Waverly. They are on sale at the Drug Stores, and by Mr. Moray.

1882-1885? Waverly Free Press: Mrs. F. M. Perley and daughter, Miss Josie Perley, will return to this place the first of the year to reside, and will board with Mrs. D. C. Weed. Miss Frances Perley expects to go to Germany in January to continue her musical studies. - Franklinville Chronicle.

1882 - 1888, at 337 Broad Street, Slaughter & VanAtta Corner Drug Store, John C. VanAtta purchased the interest of the late Mr. Wells in 1882. (from Don Merrill's collection)

1882 Citizens Bank at 72 Broad Street. J. T. Sawyer, President, H. W. Owen, Vice Pres’t. L. E. Manning, Cahier. Directors. H. W. Owen, H. C. Spaulding, S. W. Slaughter, T. Sawyer, Daniel Bensley.

May 12, 1882 The Waverly Advocate: Mrs. P. A. Towner of Athens street, who has been failing for some weeks with consumption, died at Sheshequin, her former home, on Saturday last. Her age was 28 years.

Rev. H. D. Jenkins of Freeport, Ill, a former resident of our village, has been in town for the past two weeks, looking after the welfare of his uncle, Owen Spalding. He is Mr. Spalding's adopted son, and for some time past has had charge of his business. As he succeeds to the estate he will probably make Waverly his home for a portion of the time in the future.

Obituary. Last week we briefly announced the death of Owen Spalding, which occured at his residence, corner of Pennsylvania avenue and Chemung street, on Wednesday, the 3d inst. He had been in failing health for the past two or three years, and a few days before his death he had a fall which, though apparently unimportant in itself, induced a general paralysis by which his flickering lamp of life was gradually and gently extinguished. The funeral, which occurred from the Presbyterian church on Friday afternoon, was largely attended by all classes of Waverly citizens. Spalding Hose No 3 appeared in uniform, and Tioga Hose in their regulation caps. Rev. J. B. Beaumont, a former pastor of the Presbyterian church of this village, officiated. The following named persons acted as pall-bearers: Messrs. Moses Sawyer, Joseph E. Hallet, Hugh J. Baldwin, Hon. J. Theodore Sawyer, G. F. Waldo, and Professor H. H. Hutton. We can do no better in the way of a biography of Mr. Spalding than to copy the following which appeared in the Elmira Sunday Telegram: Mr. Spalding was the son of a prominent Bradford county man, known as "Sheriff" John Spalding, and was born at Athens, in 1803. At the age of twenty-one he married and started life as a farmer, to which he was educated, by moving upon the wild lands, now mostly occupied by the village of Waverly. It was mainly forest, and with his own energy made it a pleasant and profitable home. At that early day there was little market for farm produce except in exchange for goods at the stores, yet by dint of industry and economy, which never forsook him through life, he became a well-to-do farmer. When the Erie railroad pushed its way through to Elmira, and stuck a stake for the Waverly depot alongside of his farm he became, prospectively, a wealthy man. His lands were wanted for village purposes, and however liberal he might be in disposing of them, a large increase of wealth was inevitable. Yet in his days of prosperity he forgot not his early life, nor did he cease to respect those who, like himself, were struggling with their own hands for a competence. While he contributed largely to the growth of the village by building liberally of business blocks, some of which yet belong to his estate, his best thought was to induce mechanics of all kinds to come and start business in the new village, and to that end he sold and leased them lands at a mere nominal price, with a long term of years to run. It is doubtful if a case is on record of his foreclosing or forcing sale on any who were unable to meet their obligation. To give them more time and another chance for payment was characteristic of Owen Spalding. His warmest friends are the poor men of Waverly, and no truer friend had they than Mr. Spalding. That he had enemies we cannot doubt. For a man of his wealth and position in society for have steered clear of neighborhood bickerings and contentions would be wonderful; yet in his very nature he eschewed quarreling and war as he would the fire that burns. He was deeply and earnestly interested in educational matters and gave with a liberal hand to establish the old Waverly Institute, and made it the educational success that it became. Although not an educated man himself, he saw and felt the importance of good schools, and what Waverly has achieved in that direction, is due largely to the enterprise and generosity of Mr. Spalding. During his early life he was an ardent Baptist, and contributed liberally to the support of that church, but later his associations brought him en raporte with the Presbyterians, and for many years he was equally liberal in the support of that church. During the last few years of his life he seemed to belong to no denomination, but took the good of all, and made-the-well being of humanity the leading work of his closing life. His broad, liberal views and love of his fellowmen reached out beyond the boundaries of church or creed, and embraced all kinds, classes and beliefs. Although for some two or three years past he had been upon the streets but little and ignored business almost entirely, his final absence will be noted with sorrow, and his death regretted by the entire village of Waverly. He left no children, but his nephews and nieces will fall heir to a fine property, and we hope they will inherit the noble qualities of the good man gone.

March 24, 1882 Waverly Advocate: Editor Of The Advocate: I have long been thinking of the origin of the name of our town. "Barton." While reading this evening a work by that clever writer Thomas Hardy, I read theses words, "his nearest direction lead him through the dairy barton." (the first time I had ever met the word in this sense) what does this mean? I thought, "barton"! Is not this a clew to the origin of the name of our town? I opened the Lexicon and found the word and definition as follows: "Barton" "The domain lands of a manor; the manor itself, and sometimes the out-houses." Of course here is the solution. Some large land owner like the Lorillard, who had extensive possession of land here in an early day (as early as 1784, he owned land from the state line to Spencer) had marked upon his map of he wild, unsettled territory, a possible future manor, the word "Barton." Hence the name. W. F. W. Waverly, March 22, 1882.

For Sale. The Farm known as the Durkee Farm, Situated in the Town of Barton, Tioga County, containing about 120 acres of Land: Also, the House and Lot in Factoryville, formerly owned by Charles A. Durkee, Also, the House and Lot Known as the O. P. Smith House, situated on Spalding Street, in the Village of Waverly. For particulars and terms, enquire of S. D. Halliday, Ithaca, or F. A. Lyford at the First National Bank, Waverly N. Y.

In looking over our town we notice a large number of residences undergoing thorough repair, and a few new ones going up. It is evident Waverly needs more houses to rent. We have an old one for which at least a dozen application have been made. The Dodge block when completed, will have good living rooms for three families. But the cry is for more, and earlier.

March 29, 1882 Jefferson County Journal. Adam, N. Y. : Letter from Southern New York. Waverly, Tioga Co. N.Y. March 22, 1882. Editor Journal: Having a few leisure hours, I have concluded to spend the time in adopting a suggestion made to me by a few friends while at Adams, viz: To furnish the readers of the Journal a letter describing Waverly, and the surrounding country, which is picturesque. The village contains a population of about six thousand souls, including a large delegation from "Ould Ireland." It is situated on a fertile plain about eight miles square, surrounded on all sides by lofty mountains, which are densely covered with woods, dotted here and there by an open field or clearing made by the hard labors of the early settlers. Very little effort is made to clear the wood-lands at present, because of the great abundance of coal sold at nominal prices, thus destroying the market for the sale of wood as fuel, and the woods are left intact save the small amount cut for lumbering purposes. Down the northern valley thunder the railroad trains of the Geneva, Ithaca & Sayre railroad, parallel with Cayuta river, which possesses fine water-power. The southern valley is traversed by the Lehigh Valley and Pennsylvania and N. Y. canal and railroad companies. Through the eastern valley runs the New York, Lake Erie and Western, and New York, Lackawanna and Western, and Southern Central railroads; and the western valley serves as an outlet for the Erie, Lackawanna and Valley railroads, and an outlet for Chemung river. Two beautiful rivers, the Chemung and Susquehanna, perpetually flow on either side of the valuable plain between the converging ranges of mountains, and after mingling their waters at the entrance of the southern valley, roll down its extended expanse together; and the dwellers of this valley may say - "There is not in this wide world a valley more sweet. Than this vain in whose bosom the bright waters meet." The village of Waverly is divided by the boundary line of the states of New York and Pennsylvania, thus making the necessity of two separate governments. The borough of South Waverly contains nearly two thousand inhabitants, largely composed of the working men. To the southeast about one and one-half miles, lies the busy village of Sayre, which place contains a large number of railroad shops, car-wheel and axle foundries, and many other establishments employing many men. This spring one hundred wooden and one hundred brick houses will be erected by the Sayre company, which number of new edifices are in demand because of the large number of famillies constantly settling there. Athens, another village, of 2,600 inhabitants, is one mile southwest. Here are located Maurice & Kellogg's extensive bridge shops employing 500 men, besides several other manufactories of minor importance. One mile east of Waverly is located Factoryville, a small hamlet of 300 inhabitants. Two large tanneries are here located and employ a large number of men. To the east at an equal distance from the latter place is Ellistown. With these surrounding villages so near-and naturally the large amount of trading which centres at Waverly, coupled with the immense amount of railroad business-the village is a constant scene of activity, which reminds one of the scramble of boys after the rolling apples from an overturned apple-cart, or any other conveyance loaded with the aforesaid article. The water facilities are of the best, a large and never-failing reservoir being located on a hill to the north of the city, or cluster of villages, which contains power and quantity enough to meet the demands of the whole valley. The village contains eight churches, three banks, seven schools-employing eighteen teachers. Some estimate of the railroad business done in this village can be made when it is stated to your readers, truthfully, that eleven engines are constantly used, night and day, in switching at the various yards. There are enough conductors living at Waverly and vicinity to organize a Conductor's Brotherhood of nearly one hundred members.

The Historic Interest is unparalleled. It was here in the valley that the refugees from Wyoming found a comparative resting place. The protracted civil wars among the early settlers, the Indian massacre of Wyoming, and the military movements over these hills and through this valley, the soil of which has been made ? by the blood of our ancestors, will continue to furnish themes for historians. The views from the mountains are beautiful, and are always attractive to the artist.

Spanish Hill is among the ancient curiosities of the country. It stands completely isolated near the east bank of the Chemung river, the state line crossing near its northern point, leaving the principle portion of the hill within the bounds of Pennsylvania. It is about a mile in circuference and 200 feet high, easy of ascent, and from its summit is a charming view of beautiful landscape many miles in extent. It is surrounded by mountains, near the base of which flow the Chemung and Susquehanna rivers ...{can't read} ancient fortifications... of the hill have been.. of Spanish ... found there. These two facts have given rise to various conjectures. One has given it the name, the other the character of having once been warlike place-of defense. Some of the Indians called it Spanish hill, implying in that and their narratives concerning the hill that the Spaniards had been there, and the name had been perpetuated. The Indians, after a time seldom went on the hill. They had a tradition that a Cayuga chief once went to the top of the hill and the Manitou, or Great Spirit, took him by the hair of the head and whirled him away to regions unknown. Instead, the chief was murdered by the Spanish buccaneers. These Spanish refugees were met near this hill by the Indians, and after defending themselves they threw up for months and days, breastworks enclosing many acres, but finally perished by starvation at the hands of the savages. One end of the hill was used by the Indians for a burial ground, and there are some remains visible there still.There are several other places of equal interest in the surrounding country which I will leave for a future "leisure hour," and not thoroughly exhaust the patience of reader, editor and compositor by my first letter, I hope. Yours truly. H. G. Marbill

March 31, 1882 The Waverly Advocate: Prince Leopold, the brightest and best of Queen Vic's boys, is subject to epileptic fits, still he comtemplates marriage. - Hiram Payne Esq. and old resident of our village, died Thursday morning. His age was 78. A more expanded notice this week. - An exchange of land on a small yet quite important scale, has been effected between Squire Whitaker and J. T. Sawyer, both residing on Chemung street. Mr. Whitaker gets four acres adjoining his own on the north and $500 cash, and Mr. Sawyer gets three acres adjoining his nearer his residence. The exchange is a very good one and accommodates both parties. - For Sale The Farm known as the Durkee Farm, Situated in the Town of Barton, Tioga County, containing about 120 acres of Land: Also, the House and Lot in Factoryville, formerly owned by Charles A. Durkee, Also, The House and Lot Known as the O.P. Smith House, situated on Spalding Street, in the Village of Waverly. For particulars and terms, enquire of S. D. Halliday, Ithaca, or F. A. Lyford at the First National Bank, Waverly, N.Y.

May 19, 1882 The Waverly Advocate: The top of Spanish Hill has been plowed, and relic hunters have been busy picking up arrow heads, bitts of pottery, pipes, and other articles of the early Indian days. Mr. E. G. Tracy has a fine specimen of an Indian pipe which he values quite highly. Undoubtedly the Carantuans made the plateau on Spanish Hill their chief headquarters for this portion of their domain. (Spanish Hill)

July 28, 1882 The Waverly Advocate: The corporation is putting in a public watering place at junction of Park avenue and Broad street, front of Engine House. It is a good point, and the fountain of very large size. A. J. Van Atta is doing the work.

August 18, 1882 Pic-Nic Published at Waverly, N.Y. 1882

Ad: EXCURSION AND BASKET PIC-NIC, TO THE NEWARK VALLEY TROUT PONDS BY SPECIAL TRAIN, FRIDAY, AUGUST 18th, 1881. UNDER THE DIRECTION OF THE BAPTIST & PRESBYTERIAN SUNDAY SCHOOLS, OF WAVERLY, N.Y. FARE FOR ROUND TRIP: From Waverly and Sayre, Adults, ....$1.00 Children 75 Cents.

The Excursion. Arrangements are complete for a union excursion and basket picnic given by the Baptist and Presbyterian Sunday schools of this village, to Newark Valley trout ponds, Friday, the 18th, by special train. The grounds around the ponds have been arranged with great care and are among the finest in the country for excursion parties. There is a hall with tables and scats sufficient to accommodate 400 people at once. Kitchen and cooking utensils, swings, croquet grounds, ten enclosed harbors and numerous open ones, and tree platforms, in fact everything needed for picnic parties, whether the day be rain of shine. No pains will be spared by the managers to make the excursion a safe and pleasant one. The extremely low price at which the tickets have been placed brings the excursion within the reach of nearly all. Tickets for adults $1, for children 75 cents. Be sure and buy early in order that cars may be provided for all. Trains will leave East Waverly at 8:30 reaching the grounds at 10:00, and will return at 6:30 p.m.

October 6, 1882 The Waverly Advocate: Mrs. N. M. Bennett - Dress Maker, Octagon House, Athens St. (At 7 Athens Street Waverly, NY, owned by Samuel Slaughter)

It is said that a good many still insist on paying the toll on crossing the Susquehanna free bridge at Athens. Probably they don't take the papers, and have not yet learned that the bridge is free.

October 13, 1882 The Waverly Advocate: Notice. It you are indebted to the late firm of Slaughter & Wells please call and settle or your account will be left for collection.

Mrs. N. M. Bennett - Dress Maker, Octagon House, Athens St.

H. H. Hayes, for many years connected with the Corner Drug Store, has fitted up the building adjoining the Peoples Market in very good style, and will commence the Drug business there, but remove to the Dodge block when completed.

Slaughter and VanAtta ad.

October 27, 1882 The Waverly Advocate: John Seacord is finishing off the second and third stories of the Dodge block into living rooms with all the modern improvements. - They are nicely arranged, and have gas, water and improved water-closets for every family that may occupy the several apartments. It is only necessary to mention the fact that Mr. Seacord is doing the work to assure the public that it will be well done.

Mr. Dodge is putting down in front of his block a flag-stone walk of excellent material. It is after the style of walk around the Stone block. - A heavy wall is put between the gutter and the building on which the flag stones rest, the outer tier of flagging extending over the curbing, instead of against it.

October 27, 1882 The Waverly Advocate: Mrs. N. M. Bennett - Dress Maker, Octagon House, Athens St.

November 24, 1882 The Waverly Advocate: The Corner Drug Store now bears the sign of the new firm, "Slaughter & Vanatta." (Samuel Slaughter went into partnership with John C. Vanatta, the son of the designer and builder of our estate)

Mrs. Packer, widow of the late Judge Asa Packer, and mother of Col. Packer of Sayre, died at her residence in Manch Chunk last week. She was well advanced in life. - The new locomotive built at the Baldwin locomotive works, Philadelphia, for the Lehigh Valley company, and named the “Howard Elmer,” is a very handsome piece of mechanism, and one of the largest passenger engines ever built. It is destined to do good business on this end of the road. The name is a merited recognition of the services of Mr. Elmer in building up the village of Sayre. He is President of the Sayre Land and Building company, and has long been a director in the Pa. and N. Y. R. R. company. - For Rent. The former residence of the late Owen Spaulding at the corner of Chemung St., and Penn. Ave., for rent. Enquire of Wm. Fiske Warner Esq., on and after December 1, 1882.

December 22, 1882 Waverly Advocate: Dress maker at Octagon House on Athens Street. (Mrs. N. M. B.)

February 1883 The Board of Education appointed Mrs. Levi Curtis, Mrs. S. W. Slaughter and Mrs. H. J. Baldwin a committee to conduct Regents examinations and Miss C. A. Barber, Miss Lucie P. Clark and Mrs. C. F. Spencer a committee to conduct the examination of the teacher's class.

May 11, 1883 The Waverly Advocate: A drive about town shows that many buildings are being repainted.

In no part of the village has there been greater improvement made during the past year than is noticable on Orange street. Several handsome new houses have been erected, and others have been repaired and repainted, giving abundant evidence of thrift and enterprise, and making of this one of the most pleasant streets in the coporation.

William Knapp of west Chemung street, father of "Knapp brothers," had a slight shock of palsy, last Sunday morning.

Obituary. Fordham - At her residence, near Sayre, Pa., on Saturday, May 5th, Mary S. wife of Silas Fordham, aged 62 years. … Mrs. Mary Shepard Fordham was a daughter of the late John Shepard, the pioneer and early settler of this section of country.

May 18, 1883 The Waverly Advocate: The handsome new cresting on S. W. Slaughter's elegant residence was cast at Francis and Hall's foundry. It is a great improvement to the house, and is a very creditable piece of workmanship.

Tremendous Boom in the wall-paper trade, at Slaughter & VanAtta's.

An Elegant line of Picture Mouldings just opened, at Slaughter & VanAtta's.

New Designs in Window Shades Cheap, at Slaughter & VanAtta's.

May 26, 1883 The Daily Graphic: New York, N. Y.: FLAMES DEVASTATING WAVERLY, N. Y. -AID SUMMONED FROM ELMIRA. Elmira, N. Y., May 26 - At half-past ten this morning fire broke out in the Campbell Block, Waverly, at the corner of Fulton and Broad streets. A heavy wind was blowing, and although four steamers were quickly put on, the Campbell Block was soon in ruins. The fire is spreading rapidly, and it is feared that the Opera House block and Tioga Hotel will have to go. The buildings are the best in the town. A steamer with 500 feet of hose and a detail of men from the Elmira Department have just left for Waverly.

June 11, 1883 Waverly Advocate: A house on the corner of Chemung and Waverly streets, owned by J. DuBois and occupied by two colored families, took fire in the ceiling near the chimney at an early hour Saturday morning, but the flames were discovered and extinguished before much damage was done. (199 Chemung street)

H. J. Baldwin is preparing to erect a fine residence on the vacant lot South of Dr. R. S. Harnden. James Isley and Son have the contract for the cellar and foundations, and have commenced excavating for the same.

June 15, 1883 The Waverly Advocate: Undertakers are now called "funeral directors." They wear their faces a little shorter to comport with the new title.

Since June 1st, prices in Wall Paper are way down at the Corner Drug Store. - Come quick and secure bargains.

S. W. Slaughter, is attending the state association of druggists at Ithaca, this week.

August 10, 1883 The Waverly Advocate: C. E. Merriam is putting a gothic roof on his house and making other marked improvements. When completed it will be a very handsome residence.(?304 Chemung St.)

August 17, 1883 The Waverly Advocate: The new town clock will be here the last of next week. It was bought of the Ansonia clock company of Ansonia, Conn.

Gilbert H. Hallet, a brother of J. E. Hallet of this village, died on Monday, Aug. 6th at his residence in Rogers' Park, Chicago, in the seventy-seventh year of his age. He was formerly a resident of this village having moved here with his brother in 1833, where he resided until 1854 when he removed to Chicago.

Waverly Foundry And Machine Shop Francis & Hall, Successors to Jas. Lemon, Are now prepared to do all kinds of repairing to Steam Engines & Boilers, Horse Powers, Planers & Matchers, Threshing Machine, Cylinders Balanced and Spiked, All kinds of Boiler Making And Repairing. Lawn Mowers Repaired and Sharpened. Mowers and Reapers Repaired. All Kinds Of Saw Mill & Grist Mill Work Done On Short Notice. Morticed Wheels Cogged and Patterns of all kinds made. Plows, of all kinds, Scrapers, Land Rollers, Harrows, &c. We also have all of Mr. Lemon's Patterns. Also all kinds of Plow Points A Specialty. (They did the iron cresting on top or our roof)

August 24, 1883 The Waverly Advocate: S W Slaughter and wife are sojourning at Ocean Grove.

1884, at 337 Broad Street, Dr. E. J. Stone, physician and surgeon in the building. (from Don Merrill's collection)

January 4, 1884 Waverly Advocate: The post office at East Waverly is to be removed from C A Durkee’s store to Barns and Wood’s store. - Waverly Lodge No. 407 F. & A. M. meetings first, third and fifth Monday of each month at 7:30 in their Hall at Manners block. E E Rogers, W M; Nat. Ackerly, S W; A T Merrill, J W; W H Spaulding, Treas; J M Buley, Sec’y; Henry Bogart, S D; Chas. Tuttle, J D; I M. Terry, S M of S; Lewis Whitaker, J M of S; R R Shaw, Tyler; A J VanAtta, Henry Gridley and R N Manners, Trustees; M H Mandeville, Chaplain; J. M. Slawson, organist; Wm. P Stone Marshal.

January 18, 1884 The Waverly Advocate: Dr. W. E. Johnson had the good fortune to hold the lucky number, 63, which drew the $25 doll that has ornamented J. L. Tracy's show window for several weeks. - A scientist is advocating hot water as drink. It probably would better for a fellow to get hot water into him than to get into hot water.

April 1884 The Waverly Free Press: The first fire attended by old Neptune engine company after its organization, was that of Phillips & Murray's tannery, the fire occuring about two weeks after the arrival of the engine. The "machine" was stored in uncle Joe Hallet's carriage house on Chemung street, and when young Bert Whitaker, mounted on a horse came dashing up Chemung street yelling fire like a wild Indian, the "boys" were not long in responding to the call, and under any other circumstances their ludricous appearance as they came rushing into Uncle Joe's yard, would have produced an applause, for not one in twenty were fully dressed, but each was trying to don his clothing while on a run. Bert afterward became a torch boy of the company, and served long and well, and should he desire his exemption certificate or to have his name placed on the roll of Neptune Exempts, he should address J. E. Hallet, who is still foreman of the company. (An exempt association of "old veterans" from Old Neptune Engine Company No. 1, was organized In the company's headquarters on May 19, 1884, " for active duty in case of an emergency." Joseph E. Hallet was chairman of the meeting, and Dr. Wm. E Johnson, secretary. On motion of Howard Elmer, Dr. Johnson was elected president; Henry T. Laine, vice president; Hatfield Hallet, secretary and treasurer, and Joseph E. Hallet, foreman. Badges for members of the exempt association were presented to some fifty gentlemen who had comprised the pioneer fire company of Waverly, not all of them however being charter members. -taken from July 17, 1903 article)

April 17, 1884 Owego Evening Blade: Mr. and Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, of Waverly, are in town to-day.

1885, at 337 Broad Street, Dr. F.W. Severn was on second floor. (from Don Merrill's collection)

January 28, 1885 The Waverly Advocate: The Waverly High School. This establishment of learning was organized as the “Shepard Institute,” so named in honor of the movement that perfected its formation. The gentleman to whose benevolence and generosity the early existence of the institute owes more than to any other is Owen Spalding, one of the pioneers of the place, who not only took one-half of the capital stock, but also donated the land on which the building stands. The first board of trustees was elected August 30th, 1856, and consisted of Messrs. Owen Spalding, Arthur Yates, Benj. G. Rice, Alva Jarvis, William Manners, F. H. Baldwin, Isaac Shepard, R. A. Elmer, G. H. Fairchild and R. D. VanDuzer. The capital stock of the corporation was $4,000, which was afterward increased to not less than $5,000 nor more than $10,000. At a special meeting of the stockholders, Dec. 2nd 1857, the name of the association was changed to the Institute. The Institute was under the efficient care of Professor Andrew J. Lang, from its opening in 1857 until August 22nd 1870. During the thirteen years of his management, the establishment acquired an excellent reputation, Professor Lang being one of the finest educators of the country, and naturally advanced the institution to an elevated position among the best educational institutions of the state. Professor Lang died at the early age of thirty-nine leaving behind him a name honored among prominent educators. On the 15th day of April 1871, the Institute was merged into, and became the academic department of the Union school, under the visitation of the Regents of the University, and S. C. Hall M. A. became principal and continued in that position, giving excellent satisfaction until September 1878, he resigned and was succeeded by H. H. Hutton, M. A. Prof. Hutton’s superintendency was efficient and satisfactory, and he retained the position until September 1884, when he was succeeded by P. M. Hull, M. A., whose management thus far has been very satisfactory to the patrons and friends of the schools, and who is doing much to raise the standard and increase the popularity of the institution. The number of scholars in the academic department is about eighty; value of buildings and sites, $26,000; value of library, $800; value of apparatus, $750. Some important changes have been made, both in the arrangements of the building, and in the plan of study. But through them all the school has maintained its excellent reputation, and will, we hope, long remain a monument to those who have labored to bring it to its present advanced position. [The above article was compiled by Sidney Rogers, a high school student, and was read at a public entertainment given by the pupils of that institution March 5, 1884. The only change made by us is in continuing the subject from Prof. Hutton’s administration to the present time. - Ed.]

January 29, 1885 The Waverly Advocate: "Uncle Joe" Hallet has two complete sets of coin, proof sets, of the issue of '85, the first sent out from the mint. They were secured for him by Mr. S. W. Slaughter who chanced to be at the mint at Philadelphia when they were struck off. Mr. Hallet had the proof sets for the past twenty years.

The new furniture works at Athens have begun business in some departments, about twenty-four men being at work turning out designs in furniture, and the work of completing the setting of machinery is being pushed to the utmost. The firm is composed of N. C. Harris, Mr. Fitch and Wm L. Simmons, while the books, etc., will be in charge of Mr. W. M. Nevins, who held for several years a similar position with the Novelty works.

Citizen's Bank. 72 Broad St. J. T. Sawyer, President. S. W. Slaughter, Vice Pres't. L R. Manning, Cashier.

Feb. 2. 1885 The Waverly Advocate: The Athens furniture works employ about fifty hands. This is about half the number employed at the Novelty Furniture work here.

February 5, 1885 Waverly Advocate: The Advocate last week contained an article on the early history of this place, also one on the high school, and was a spicy sheet. - Cor. Telegram. The Waverly Advocate has commenced the publication of a series of interesting articles giving the history of Waverly and vicinity. - Elmira Advertiser. An interesting history of Waverly and vicinity, from the pen of Mr. G. D. Genung, has been commenced in the Waverly Advocate. - Towanda Daily Review.

February 19, 1885 The Waverly Advocate: It is probable that the Packer mansion at Sayre, will soon be converted into a hospital for disabled empolyes of the Lehigh Valley railroad company.

J. J. West is preparing to erect another fine house on Orange street. Judging from the plans and elevation it will be one of the most convenient and desirable residences in that locality, Mr. West is doing much to improve and build up that portion of the town.

J. B. Floyd's residence is soon to be remodeled and greatly improved in appearance. A gothic roof will be put on and other marked improvememts made. When completed it will rank with the finest buildings in the village.

February 19, 1885 The Waverly Advocate: HISTORICAL. Waverly, its History, Growth, and Development, With a Brief Review of the Early History of Tioga County. A large tract of land extending from the Chemung river to Shepard's creek, and from the State line north, a much greater distance, was originally known as the Benedict Location, as indicated on a map published in the early part of this century. On the east of Shepard's creek was a large tract known as Lorillard's patent, and in this Peter Lorillard, after the manner of English noblemen, had reserved a manor of "barton" and from here came the name Barton as applied to this town.

Waverly is situated on the southern boundary of the Benedict Location and in the southwest corner of Tioga county, as now established.

The name "Waverly" was not "officially' applied to the place until the year 1854 prior to that time it having been known as Factoryville. In that year the village was incorporated and at a meeting held in Brigham's hotel, it was given the name "Waverly" at the suggestion of Mr. J. E. Hallet, who borrowed the name from Scott's immortal productions. Several other names which were "Shepardsville," "Davisville" and "Loder," the latter being in honor of Benjamin Loder, vice-president of the then recently completed Erie railway. Many favored this name and it lacked but a few votes of being chosen.

Among the early settlers and principal owners of the village plot was Isaac Shepard, whose father in 1796 as before stated, bought 1,000 acres at 5 per acre embracing Waverly and East Waverly, and much valuable land north of these villages. In the year 1810 says Mrs. Perkins' "Early Times," De...(can't read) from this tract, a strip 100 rods wide extending northward nearly through the centre of the village. The first house in the village was built by Mr. Strong, and probably in that year, although one authority says it was built in 1810. It was located near the site of Dr. F. M. Snook's fine residence, and the large apple trees now standing upon Mr. Snook's lot were planted by the Deacon in those early days.

We can hardly believe that the site of the present business center of the place, thirty-five years ago was utilized for agricultural purposes, and that sixty years ago, where now stands the village, was an almost unbroken wilderness.

In 1821 the Chemung turnpike (Chemung street) was laid out, and in 1825 Isaac Shepard built the pioneer hotel of the place. It stood on the site of the present residence of his son Charles, on West Chemung street.

In the following decade the number of settlers was greatly augmented. Owen Spalding with his brother Amos came in 1831. The latter occupied a small log house near the site of the present residence of Mrs. Harriet Tannery until 1833 when he built what now constitutes the rear part of J. Dubois' house, opposite C. E. Merriam's residence, and moved into it. Owen Spalding occupied a plank house on the present site of Dr. Snook's residence. This was probably the house built by Deacon Strong. In 1833 Mr. Spalding built a house on the site now occupied by R. A. Elmer's fine residence. This house was afterward removed to the southwest corner of Chemung street and Pennsylvania avenue, where it now stands and where Mr. Spalding died about three years ago, after a long and useful life.

In March 1833 Joseph Hallet Sr., came up from Orange county and purchased of Valentine Hill, 100 acres of land between the present residences of J. E. Hallet and W. Cadwell and extending northward from Chemung street, for which he paid $1,100. He was accompanied by his sons Gilbert H. and Joseph E. The latter settled upon the above mentioned farm, his house standing on what is now Fulton street, between the present residences of Mrs. Fritcher and E. G. Tracy. At that time says Mr. Hallet, there were but fifteen buildings in the place, namely: one hotel, one distillery, one blacksmith shop, one log dwelling, one plank dwelling, six small frame dwellings and four barns. These were Isaac Shepard's hotel, Jacob Newkirk's distillery and dwelling, Thomas Hill's house and another small house all near C. H. Shepard's present residence; the dwelling of Elder Jackson, a Baptist minister whose house stood just west of the present residence of W. F. Inman, and the Elder's blacksmith shop, which stood where now stands S.W. Slaughter's elegant residence; the house into which Mr. Hallet moved, Amos Spalding's house, and Owen Spalding's plank house, and the log house into which Gilbert Hallet moved and O. Spalding's, Jackson's Newkirk's and Shepard's barns, the latter the large red barn now standing on Pine street the only remaining land-mark of those early days.

Gilbert Hallet moved into the log house vacated by Amos Spalding, and the following year built and removed into a house that stood where now stands H. L. Stowell's brick house. In the next year, 1835, he purchased Elder Jackson's house above referred to, together with 45 acres of land paying therfor $1,000. This place and the 100 acres bought by Joseph Hallet were purchased by Jackson and Hill respectively of Isaac Shepard.

The former are the 45 acres referred to in Mr. Warner's historical articles as having been "sold within the past 35 years for $1,000." Three years prior to this time, or 53 years ago, Elder Jackson, who was very anxious to return to Orange county, had offered the place to Jesse Kirk, father of Mrs. A. H. Plummer, of this village, for $500. The land lay south of Chemung street, the east line passing near E. J. Campbell's residence, southward through Slaughter & VanAtta's and E. G. Tracy's drugstores to the 60th mile stone, thence west. Along the state line to the center of Dry Brook, thence north following the center of Dry Brook to Chemung street, and west along Chemung street to the place of beginning, comprising what is now the business portion of the village. (Our property was included in this)

At this time Harris Murray, father of John H. Murray of this place, lived in a small wooden house where "Murray's stone house" now stands, in South Waverly, and Mr. Murray offerred to sell to Mr. Hallet 100 acres there for $1,000. These sales illustrate how lightly the land in this valley was valued fifty years ago.

While these settlements were being made along the Chemung road, other pioneers were pushing on beyond and locating on the hill northwest of the village, now called "West Hill."

This portion of the Susquehanna valley had been the scene of many forest fires, lighted either intentionally or carelessly by the hunters, and had been so frequently burned over that but little save second growth pines remained, and this is said to have been the reason why many of the early pioneers refused to locate here, they thinking that land that would produce naught but "scrub pines" was of little value, and accordingly pushed on to the highlands beyond believing that the heavy growth of timber there indicated a fertile and productive soil.

Among those who settled there first, probably during the years 1830-5 were Piere Hyatt, Paris and Robert Sanders, David Carmichael, Johnathan Robins, G. W. Plummer, Jacob Swain, Nathan Slawson, and Steven VanDerlip; after these came Daniel Blizard, David Mandeville Sr., Peter and Lewis Quick, S. T. VanDerlip, W. A. Lane, Jesse Kirk and others. Of these we believe none are now living and but few of their descendants remain on the old homesteads.

Between the years 1837 and 1850 the number of settlers in the village increased rapidly among the new comers being Captain Benj. H. Davis, F. H. Baldwin, H. M. and W. F. Moore, Richard A. Elmer Sr., and his sons Howard and Richard A. Jr., Jacob Reel, E. J. Brooks, J. A. Corwin, Sylvester Gibbons, R. O. Crandall, the first physician, Peter Wentz, the first justice, George Beebe, the first lawyer and many others.

The street running from Charles Sawyer's residence on Chemung street to Barnes' Hotel, East Waverly, was laid out in 1835, and in 1843 Pennsylvania avenue was laid out south as far as the present residence of Levi Curtis, and in the same year Waverly street was opened down as far as the present residence of Mrs. Joseph Aplin. On the avenue Charles Howard built a house where Levi Curtis' residence now stands, Isaac Drake built one where Mrs. Buck in now resides, Milo Hulet built one where H. S. Butts' residence now stands and Frank Sutton one on the corner of Pennsylvania avenue and Park Place. The latter was torn down by Mr. Elmer, a year or two ago.

In 1842 G. H. Hallet and Andrew Price built a foundry on the northwest corner of Chemung and Waverly streets, where A. I. Decker's residence now stands. A short time afterwards Daniel Moore opened a cabinet shop in the second floor of this building. Later the foundry was changed into a hotel and bore the name of the Clarmont house. {the hotel was at current day 159a Chemung Street, northwest corner of Waverly and Chemung streets. It was a previous building on that lot that was destroyed by fire in 1856. The hotel was where the election took place in 1854 to incorporate Waverly. The hotel at that time was run by James Whitaker. The hotel here was also known as Brigham's.}

In 1843 J. E. Hallet built a house on Waverly street, for one of the employes of the foundry.This was the first house on the street, and was situated on the site of Duncan McDonald's residence. In the same year Edward Brigham built a hotel on the present site of the M. E. church, and Robert Shackelton built a store and dwelling house combined where now stands the Methodist parsonage. The houses now owned by H. H. Hayes and Mrs. Smith respectively were also built in that year.

The first store was kept by Alva Jarvis, or "Squire Jarvis" as he was called, in the spring of 1841, in a wooden building between the sites of the present residences of Mrs. Fritcher and A. I. Decker. In the following fall G. H. Hallet opened a store just west of H. L. Stowell's present residence. (To be continued.)

SLAUGHTER & VAN ATTA, Druggists and Dealers in Stationery, Wall Paper, Picture Frames, Periodicals, & c No. 87 Broad street, Waverly, N. Y.

CITIZEN'S BANK. J. T. Sawyer President. S. W. Slaughter, Vice Pres't. L. R. Manning, Cashier

March 12, 1885 The Waverly Advocate: Historical. Waverly, its History, Growth, and Development, With a Brief Review of the Early History of Tioga County. The necessarily hurried manner in which these articles are prepared and written - the compositors frequently taking the copy as fast as written, and sometimes waiting for it - has resulted in our passing over some interesting events without mention. Hasty proof reading and correcting also, has led to two or three blunders, which perhaps it were better to correct here than later: In the initial number the phrase “connecting link between the Erie canal and Cayuga Lake,” should have read “with the Erie canal via Cayuga Lake”. In the second number, in speaking of the first settlers on Elliscreek, the name Ebenezer Ellis, by some unaccountable means got changed to “Ebenezer Miller,” in another number the name, Mrs. James Aplin, was made to read Mrs. Joseph Aplin, and “1833” the date of Mr. Hallet’s settlement here the types made read “1844.” In the article on the fire department last week the reference to “Merriam Bros’. store” should have read “T. Jenning’s store” the mistake being inadvertently made in copying from the files. The location was right, however, the name only, being wrong. These mistakes, if annoying to our readers, are doubly so to us, but in view of the difficulties attending such an enterprise we are satisfied that they are not greater. In future numbers, however, we shall make still greater endeavor to avoid even trifling errors. Among the few interesting “points” omitted are the following: the first barn built in the town of Barton, in 1798 as before stated, is still standing and forms a part of the barn now in use by Sela Ellis. The first brick house in the village was erected in 1843 by Dr. Clute; it stands on the corner of Chemung and Lincoln streets and is a good building now. Isaac Shepard’s store - the small white building near W. W. Shepard’s farm house at the narrows, - after the building of the Erie railroad, was called “Loder Summit and Station,” and this name may still be seen in large letters, on the side of the building. The American house was built in about 1851, for a grist mill but soon was changed into a furniture factory; in 1865 Frank Sutton converted the building into a hotel. A bird’s - eye view” of Broad st as it looked in 1855 just as Waverly’s ‘first great fire’ was breaking out, the lurid flames leaping from the windows of the Spalding block, is now in the possession of Maurice Bennet; it is an oil painting and belongs to the fire department. Another interesting fact that we have learned since the publication of the earlier numbers, and that appears to have been forgotten by all, save one or two of the older residents, is that until about 1840, ’45, the little settlement on Chemung street was called “Villemont,” a name given it by Isaac Shepard. This name preceded that of “Waverly,” and was used to designate the settlement from “Factoryville” and was the first name given to the village. After this the place was called “Villemont” “Waverly” “Loder”, etc., until in 1854, as stated in a previous number, the village was incorporated and at a ballot taken at a meeting of citizens, the name Waverly was selected. The name was then, and for several years afterwards, spelled, “Waverley.”
The following article on Waverly and its location, we take from the initial number of the first paper ever published in the village, the Waverley Luminary, published by Thomas Messenger. The “spirit of prophecy” was evidently upon its editor, to a limited extent, at least, and the place seems to be realizing its destiny in becoming “quite a large village,” although “Factoryville” is not yet incorporated as a “part and parcel of it.” Mr. Messenger’s appreciation of his town and the hopeful and enthusiastic manner in which he speaks of it commands our admiration.
{The initial number of the Luminary bore the date Oct. 3, 1851.}
These facts should have been given in earlier numbers, but in view of the fact that none of the older inhabitants, upon whom we are obliged to rely for the greater part of the material of these articles, kept a record of passing events but depend solely upon their memory for data given, it would be strange if mistakes were not made and important events forgotten.
Our Location. “Waverley is situated in the southwest corner of Tioga county, N. Y., on the line of the New York and Erie railroad; at which place there is a Station of said road, at which all the passenger trains, (the night express excepted) stop. It is located midway between the thriving Villages of Owego and Elmira, on a beautiful elevated plain, about four miles form the village of Athens, where the North Branch and Chemung rivers unite and form the Susquehanna. There is no place along the line of the Railroad whose growth has been so rapid as Waverley. One year since, and it was simply a station; now it is a neat village, containing over 1,000 inhabitants, with hotels, well-stocked Stores, Churches, and last, but not least, its Newspaper, - and is destined from its location, to become quite a large Village, if not a City. It is now pretty generally understood that the Williamsport Railroad will terminate at this place; which, when finished will have the effect of doubling our present population in a few months. A glance at our Business Cards and advertising columns will show the amount of business in the Village, better than we can do it, in an article like this, although not one-half our business men have as yet “got their names in the paper,” but they will probably do so in a few weeks.
Six miles East of us and in the same town, is the enterprising little Village of Barton, and four miles west is the village of Chemung - both of which have their Hotels, Stores, etc. The ancient Village of Factoryville, is right by our side - in fact, a part and parcel of this village will undoubtedly be incorporated as such, ere long. It also has a lot of splendid Stores, Shops, Mills, Factories, etc. As a whole we knew of no better location for a Village, in the state, than Waverly has - surrounded as it is, by neat and thriving Villages, Beautiful Scenery, Splendid Farms, and all the conveniences of Railroads, & c. A view from the top of the far-famed “Spanish Hill,” a few rods in front of the Village, would amply repay a person for a trip from New York City. As a desirable place of residence it is not surpassed by any other; for the Doctor’s can scarcely exist here it is so ‘miserably healthy,’ and they are thinking of turning their attention to the raising of grain - as they have no patients to raise.”
A few months after the publication of the Luminary began M. M. Pomeroy became an employe of the office and soon began to develop those traits that have since brought him a great deal of notoriety. It was one of his early efforts in wild-oat sowing, that gave to him the sobriquet “Brick”, a name by which he is known “the world over,” and one that has always seemed peculiarly adapted to him. …
The Luminary of April 2, 1852 contains the following article descriptive of Waverly and its business interests that we believe will be read with interest by all our readers: Waverly, Its Growth Prospects Etc. “Since we first started the Luminary, some six months since, the population and building in this Village have increased nearly one-fourth, and ere long it will be one of the largest as well as one of the most beautiful Villages on the line of the Erie Railroad. - Among the numerous buildings erected within the past few months, we would mention the elegant mansions of Senator Bristol, and H. M. Moore, Esq., on Chemung street, and especially that of Mr. Bristol, which is located on a rise of ground overlooking the country for miles around. But still the work of improvement is going on, and new buildings are being put up in every part of our Village, and stranger are daily enquiring for stores and dwellings. To give our readers at a distance, and idea of rapidity with which we are moving along we will give a list of the buildings now under contract, and to be erected as fast as they can be put up, viz: On Broad Street. - B. H. Davis, three brick stores, three stories high. P. B. Snyder, brick hotel, four stories high. G. Myers, machine shop and dwelling house. Wm. Manners, store and bakery. Mr. Johnson, Carriage shop. LaFayette Perkins, dwelling house. R. A. Elmer, marble shop. A. H. Rood, dwelling house. C. Hay, store. Fulton Street. - A. Jarvis, dwelling house. J. Barto, dwelling house. G. Simonson, two dwelling houses. D. W. C. Millspaugh, dwelling house. Peter Velie, dwelling house. Waverley Street. - J. E. Hallett, two dwelling houses. Hunt & Hanford, stores. R. Swain dwelling house. Tioga Street. - J. E. Hallett, dwelling house. A. Larnard, dwelling house. M. ? dwelling house. Pennsylvania Avenue. - G. W. Browning, dwelling house. D. Mills, dwelling house. Howard Street. - Owen Spalding, dwelling house. Loder Street. - Jacob Reel, large hotel. Providence Street. - N. J. Newell, academical building, 42 x88 feet, and four stories high, to be built of brick. The above list of buildings, will be up and finished in a short time. … Waverley - Its Business Men, &c. … T. J. Brooks, dealer in dry goods, groceries, & c. Spalding block. …Joseph Chambers, dealer in cabinet furniture, chairs & c., corner of Chemung and Waverley st. … W. H. Lewis, cooper, - St. … William A. Lain, Cooper, Chemung st. …J. Reel, Waverley hotel, cor. Chemung and Waverley sts. …(To be continued.) {The Waverley hotel by Reel was on current site of Methodist church while Joseph Chamber's cabinet wareroom was at current day 202 Chemung street.}

March 26, 1885 The Waverly Advocate: Robert Packer Hospital. An Interesting Communication, with Reference to this Additional Monument to the Packer Generosity. The following article relative to the Robert Packer Hospital soon to be opened at Sayre, is worthy of careful perusal by all our readers, and we trust that our citizens will realize the benefit to be derived from such an institution and thaty they will assist generously in its support. - Ed.] Mr. Editor: Doubtless many readers of the Advocate are already aware of the munificent gift about to be bestowed upon this community by Miss Mary H. Packer, of Mauch Chunk. The Packer mansion of Sayre, with its extensive grounds and gardens, after being put in readiness for the work, is to be conveyed to the trustees of a corporation to be called the Robert Packer Hospital, and will be devoted henceforth to the shelter and care of the sick and suffering. Robert Packer, whose heart was full of sympathy for the distressed and whose hand was ever ready to relieve the needy, would have been made happy by the knowledge that his costly residence would in time be appropriated to such a noble purpose by his sister. Dr. Estes of St. Luke's Hospital, of South Bethlehem, says of the house, "If it had been originally designed for a hospital its arrangements could hardly have been more complete." It is capable as it now stands of accommodating forty patients. The palatial dining-room forty feet long, is to be taken for the men's ward. Its elaborate mahogany wainscoting, and the splendid wall decoration will be removed for sanitary reasons, but the expensive inlaid floor and beautiful stained glass windows are to be retained, and will no doubt beguile many weary hours for the suffering inmates. Leading out of this room is a large conservatory, which is to be fitted up as a lounging room for the male convalescents. The elegant apartments over ther great dining- room, are to be used for the women's ward, while some of the airy bed-chambers on the second and third floors will be occupied when required by private patients who can afford to pay for care and sumptuous surroundings. The drawing-room with its beautifully frescoed ceiling is to be converted into a chapel, the parlor back ot it into an operating room, and the exquisite library into a dispensary. The breakfast-room alone, is to be reserved for the use at first intended. It is impossible in a limited article to give a full description of the luxurious appointments of this establishment - its extensive heating arrangements, its various bath-rooms, electric bells, speaking tubes etc., all adding to its extreme fitness for the proprosed object. It is of course expected, after the plan is carried out in all its details, the public wil sufficiently appreciated this gift of Miss Packer, to gladly contribute to its maintenance. Large sums will not be asked, but every adult in this village ought to be willings to make a small yearly offering to this institution, which includes in itself so many benevolences - giving shelter, food, nursing and medical attendance, and at the same time teaching grand lessons of practical christianity. It is hoped that every town expecting to be benefited by this charity, will at least support one bed, the cost of which will be $300, per annum, and also will be willing to contribute something towards the expense of keeping certain departments in running order. It is understood the ladies of each of the surrounding towns, are to assume the furnishing of some one of theses, and it is believed the women of Waverly will not be backward in the work. The Ladies' Hospital Aid Society of this place proposes to raise $500 this year for hospital purposes, which is a small sum considering the benefit that will accrue to our town. Although no sick will be turned away when the hospital is not full, yet the endowment of a bed will give the town a right to this accommodation at all times - $200 yearly, will cover the expense of a child's cot - an item to be remembered by lovers of children. If any of the readers of the Advocate have visited the children' wards of St. Luke's, the Presbyterian, or other Hospitals of New York city, their hearts must have been touched by the sight of the pale but happy little invalids clinging with waxen fingers to their treasured toys, and many of them no doubt learning for the first time the meaning of the word "home." And this recalls the fact, that in the minds of many good people, who have not kept informed of the great improvements in hospital management during the past fifteen years, there exists a strong prejudice against a hospital. Theses think the nurses are all "Fairey Gamps" and the physicians heartless experimenters. If they would take the trouble to visit, for instance, the one at Rochester, where it is the favorite object of benevolence, they would soon have theses ideas dissapated. A lady of wealth and culture of that city said to the writier, "Oh, the comfort of the hospital! There one can have perfect quiet, and too, the soothing assurance that the best that training and science can give, is at one's command." A man of education and high standing in his profession, also remarked a short time since, "The hospital is a blessed place, I should have died during my illness if I had remained at my hotel, and had I not been constantly attended by nurses who were as skillful in many respects as the best physicians." This we trust, will be the experience of all the sick in the Robert Packer Hospital. It is in such institutions as these, the wealthy of our day so often use their accumulations, for the public good, and rear structures upon foundations no financial earthquaker can overthrow, and by the Robert Packer Hospital at Sayre, the Chapel at South Bethlehem, and the Orphanage at Mauch Chunk Mary Packer will enscribe her own name not far below that of her benificent father.

April 2, 1885 Waverly Advocate: ... On motion the Clerk was directed to publish in connection with the proceedings of the Board, a list, so far as ascertained, of those who subcribed to the Town Clock Fund. No other business being presented on motion the Board adjourned. J. F. Shoemaker, Clerk. Subscribers To Town Clock And Bell. $50,Howard Elmer. $40, A. Andre (old bell). $25; Merriam Bros., J. T. Sawyer, Moses Lyman, S. W. Slaughter, Wm. Sedgwick. $20, Clark & Baker. $10; Wm. H. Plm, Murray Fairchild, Wm. Manners, H. W. Thomas, S. Bowen, W. Sweet, W. S. Thacher, A. I. Decker, A. A. Slawson. $6 Knapp Bros. $10; Levi Curtis. $5; J. O. Ward, D. McDonald, A. B. Smitt, John S. Carroll, R. N. Manners, E. L. Green, Sol. Unger, Geo. W. Fish, C. F. Spencer, John C. Shear, J. R. Jones, W. F. Warner, G. W. Moffit, Frank J. Campbell, L. J. Powell, B. Gerould, D. C. Atwater, J. Shackelton, C. H. VanNostran, D. W. Cain, A. Hildebrand, J. K. Murdock, Dr. Hilton, Stowell & Co., J. Rezeau, R. S. Haronden, J. B. Floyd, Squire Whitaker, M. E. Sawyer, G. H. Grafft, Joseph Dubois, Moses Sawyer, Mrs. M. E. Cuyler, Durfey, H. C. Clapp, Bert Hayden, G. B. VanVelsor & Co., W. H. Spaulding ( C. C. B.), Dr. W. E. Johnson, C. Waford, S. A. Genung, C. A. Lent. $4; E. J. Campbell. $3; E. F. Goff, Hiram Sherry, S. O. Shoemaker, J. T. Buck, W. E. Turney, A. Unger, J. F. Shoemaker, William Miller, Dr. D. D. Harnden. $2; J. M. Slawson, G. D. Wilkenson, J. J. Kaulback, Charles Turney, L. Edgecomb & Col., H. Hallet, H. H. Hayes, James Lemon, S. Kinney, Morgan & Keeler. $1.50; Geog. Riggs. $1; I. G. Lemon, M. McGuffee, E. Corby, John Mahoney, Mrs. John R. Murray, Prof. H. H. Hutton, C. Harsh, H. Terry, M. Holloway, James Isley, A. Thompson, P. T. Barnum, John Reigeluth, Timothy Brewster, Fred Weller, J. J. West, C. K. Myers, Thatleus Sager, F. E. Munn, Geo. S. Blizard, B. McArdle, Jas. McArdle, W. H. Simpson, M. Mead, Geo. Decker. 50 cents; P. Hotalen, L. C. Moore, R. Falsom, Wm. Corey. 25 cents, A. B. VanAmburgh. Received of E. J. Campbell, on subscription, $17, $8, $6, $6.

April 9, 1885 The Waverly Advocate: For wall paper and border to match, plain ceiling decorations, window shades - all the latest styles with fringes and ornaments to match, call and see Slaughter & VanAtta, at the Corner drug store. Also a large line of room mouldings, etc.

Ladies interested in beautiful Lace Curtains, should see those now being offered by Watrous Bros.

Bargains in lace curtains, at Knapp's.

Many swarms of bees have been frozen during the winter.

Howard Buck, son of the late J. T. Buck went to Salamanca last week, where he has a fine position in a leading store, kept by an old friend of his father. He is a bright boy and will make his mark.

Miss Mary Packer, of Mauch Chunk, and Mr. Charles H. Cummings, of New York, a well-known official of the Pa. & N.Y., railway, were married on Tuesday last.

April 16, 1885 The Waverly Advocate: The great attraction on the street is Slaughter & VanAtta's show window, where a minature train of cars drawn by a perfect working engine is evidently striving hard to find the end of a circular track. The perseverance of the engine is only equaled by the excellence of the "Lehigh Valley cigar," with numerous boxes of which the track is ballasted. Try them.

It is expected that work will be commenced at the toy factory in about ten days. Mr. Crandall is here and will be joined by his son to-morrow and both will give their personal attention to the work. The line shafting is up and the machinery is rapidly being put in position and in a few days it will be ready for business.

April 30, 1885 Waverly Advocate: C. W. Brooks and J. J. West are each erecting fine residences on Orange street. - The ladies of the Presbyterian church are preparing to publish a cook book. - House and lot for sale, south east corner Penna. avenue and Chemung street. House has twelve rooms. A very desirable property. Apply to H. Williston.

May 7, 1885 The Waverly Advocate: The members of Old Neptune No. 1, of Waverly, are preparing to take a place in line on Decoration Day. The forman has sent to Philadelphia, by Mr. Slaughter, for badges for the boys and they expect to turn out about forty strong. We shall be glad to see the old veterans on the street again as they used to appear thirty years ago when they were the sole proprietors of our dwellings and property, and see them get up their old rolicking swing as of yore. Their ages range from fifty to seventy-five years and they are the boys who had the run to Athens when the Athenians called for help. The foreman has bid the commissary not to let the boys have over four drinks apiece and the president, Dr. Johnson, will see that they do not get more than one straight flush on.

Before buying wall paper look at the elegant patterns at Slaughter & VanAtta's.

Mrs. A. J. Eastabrooks, of Towanda, is visiting her niece, Mrs. H. W. Gore, Athens street (possibly the octagon home at 7 Athens street)

May 21, 1885 Waverly Advocate: The Presbyterian society will sell at public auction on Saturday, May 23, at 10 a.m., the house on corner of Park and Pennsylvania Avenues. Terms made known on day of sale.

June 2, 1885 New-York Daily Tribune: Sport On The Water. ... With a spanking breeze from the northwest, and a strong flood tide seventeen yachts started in the fifteenth annual regatta of the Williamsburg Yacht Club yesterday. ... The fleet was divided into classes, A, B, C and D. The Manioch (caf) crossed the line first, at 10-51 46. She was followed by the others in quick succession. With a fair tide and the wind abeam most of the way, the yachts made excellent time. The E. Preston turned the Lighthouse first at 12-59-10. The run home was and exciting and close contest for all. The winners in their respective classes were the Carrie, Van Voorhees, Lancer, E. Preston and Amelia J. Foster. Their actual time was 4-11-05; 4-49-05;4-09-20, and 4-34-41. (Amelia J. Foster and Henry Foster owned the octagon house at one time)

August 20, 1885 Waverly Advocate: The elegant residence of Mr. and Mrs. W. E. Moore on Park Avenue was the scene of a large and brilliant assemblage last evening the occasion being the marriage of their only daughter, Miss Mame S. Moore to Mr. Fred A. Sawyer, the well known teller of the Citizens Bank. Special care and taste had been exercised in adorning the spacious parlors, the products of green houses and gardens, artistically arranged with forest flowers and ferns, displaying every shade and tint in perfect harmony, combined to produce most charming effects. At 7:30 Rev. J. L. Taylor performed the brief but impressive marriage ceremony, the bride and groom standing beneath a large evergreen arch from the center of which were suspended a large floral horseshoe and the significant cornucopia. J. T. Stone, of Oswego, F. P. Hotchkiss, of Williamsport, L. R. Manning and P. L. Lang, of Waverly, did the honors as ushers; there were no bridesmaids. The bridal costume was of elegant white satin en train, garniture of duchess lace; the front was a rise of white brocaded satin and satin plush with natural flowers. It would be impossible to enumerate the many rare and beautiful presents, but it was undoubtedly the richest and rarest collection ever before received on a similar occasion in this village and spoke more eloquently than words of the high esteem in which the young people are held, and for this they will be valued more highly than for their intrinsic value. The nuptial feast did honor to the occasion and was enjoyed by all. There were nearly two hundred guests present representing New York, Brooklyn, Albany, Auburn, Boston, North Adams, Williamsport, Lockhave, Troy, Philadelphia, Oakland, Cal., Stillwater, N. J., Elmira, Binghamton, Sayre, Athens, and the elite of our own fair village. After receiving the congratulations of the guests Mr. and Mrs. Sawyer left for New York and the sea shore. Mr. Sawyer is one of our most promising and popular young business men and his bride is one of Waverley’s fairest and most interesting young ladies and we join with their hosts of friends, here and elsewhere, in wishing them a long, happy, and prosperous life.

August 27, 1885 The Waverly Advocate: All kinds of toilet waters... New and second-hand school books... Buy your school books and school supplies at Slaughter & VanAtta's.

September 17, 1885 Waverly Advocate: Local Happenings. Cider mills are now the mashers. The chestnut drop is going to be large.

New and second-hand school books at Slaughter & VanAtta's.

November 5, 1885 The Waverly Advocate: Excellent schools, numerous churches, good society, broad clean streets, beautiful shade trees, unexcelled water-works, a No. 1 fire department, a thourough system of sewerage, moderate rents, healthful location and excellent shipping facilities, are some of the inducements to people to locate in our thriving village.

Mr. Howard Elmer's residence has, during the past few weeks been enlarged and remodeled, and made to conform more to the modern style of architecture, the effect being to transform the once plain building into one of the handsomest, most convenient and desirable residences in the village. A new, gothic, slate roof, with numerous gables and dormer windows, has been put on, extensions have been made, bay windows added, verandas and balconies built, and other marked changes made. The building is also being nicely painted in a pleasing combination of colors. At the first new foundations were built under it, and the cellar with its nicely cemented walls and bottom is one of the finest in town. The location is one of the most desirable in the village, and when the work is completed and the grounds fitted up, the place will be second to none, in price of value or of beauty. Mr. T. J. Lacey of Binghamton, was the architect, John Seacord had charge of the carpenter work and George and John Morgan of the masonry, and the workmanship in all its parts is alike creditable to each of these gentlemen. (Probably 458 Pennsylvania Avenue)

“Annual Report Of The Superintendent Of The Banking Department Of The State Of New York. “Transmitted To The Legislature January 3, 1886. The Troy Press Company, Printers. 1888. The Citizen’s Bank. 214 Broad street, Waverly. J. Theodore Sawyer, President. Samuel W. Slaughter, Vice-President. Frederick A. Sawyer, Cashier. Directors. J. Theodore Sawyer. Samuel W. Slaughter, Jacob B. Floyd, Levi Curtis, William E. Johnson, James R. Stone.

December 1885 The Waverly Advocate: Miss Hattie Slaughter, of Middletown, is visiting at S W Slaughter’s. - Miss Hattie S Slaughter, who has been attending school in the northern part of the state will spend the holiday vacation at S W Slaugher’s.

1886 -1888 ? Waverly Free Press: Mrs. Lathrop, Athens street, and her niece, Miss Allie Lathrop, are visiting Mr. and Mrs. I. H. Lathrop, of Binghamton.

January 1886 The Waverly Free Press: Miss Hattie Slaughter, of Crystal Run, Orange county, N. Y., is visiting at S. W. Slaughter’s.

January 1886 The Waverly Free Press: We have been shown a folding easel, the invention of Sela Ellis, a young man of this village, and after a careful examination, we are convinced it is a very fine article, and one that will meet the wants of all who engage in painting pictures, etc. It is adjustable to any desired angle, holds any size picture, round or square, from four inches to thirty or more inches wide, and can be furnished in any size. He has taken measure to secure a patent, and we learn already had an order for one hundred dozen.

January 1886 Waverly Free Press: The Waverly Toy Works are now engaged in manufacturing twenty thousand kites. The kite is the invention of T. P. Yates, of East Waverly, and is said to surpass any kite now made. Some two or three years ago Mr. Yates made a kite some three by six feet, which he was able to fly with an ordinary sized twine. This fact being brought to the notice of Mr. Crandall, of the toy works, he had an interview with Mr. Yates, and a test being made of the kite, it was found so satisfactory that arrangements were at once entered into, to manufacture them on a large scale. By actual test, it is found that a number eight cotton thread is strong enough to hold a kite of their construction, 12x15 inches, the thread being let out a distance of 1,000 feet. There is no running to give it a start, as it will shoot upward from the hand with but a slight breeze blowing. This will be a great boon to the boys, (and older folks may also take a hand in) as every lad in the land can now get a kite that will fly and no need of running their legs off to give it a start upward. The invention is protected by patent.

January 1886 The Waverly Free Press: Mr. and Mrs. G. L. Keeler's friends to the number of thirty-five, made them a pleasant surprise at their home on Athens street, New Year's eve, and "watched the old year out and the new year in," and Thad. Sager, on behalf of the guests, presented Mrs. Keeler and elegant plush album.

January 9, 1886 The Waverly Free Press: T. Keeler and wife spent the holidays with her parents, Mr. and Mrs. Wm. Ellison, and other friends at North Barton.

January 16, 1886 Owego: At about 2:30 o’clock Monday morning the fire alarm was sounded. The fire proved to be in the large house of Hon. R. A. Elmer, on Chemung st. The house was occupied by Sol. Martin, Mr. Elmer’s people being in New York city. The boys responded promptly and the fire was soon subdued, but not till the inside of the house was nearly destroyed. The goods were badly damaged by the fire and water. About the time the boys got back to the engine house the alarm was sounded the second time, the fire having broken out anew. It was a terrible night but the boys did their work well. The fire was supposed to originate form a defective chimney. The loss is probably covered by insurance. - Mrs. G. Bixby, of Athens-st., died very suddenly Monday afternoon. She leaves a husband and two small children to mourn her loss. The remains will be taken to Alfred Centre today for burial. Jan.12 Argus.

January 1886 The Waverly Free Press: Mrs. Gilbert Bixby, Athens street, who has been sick for a month or more, died on Monday, aged twenty-eight years. - Her remains were taken to Granville Centre, Pa., her former home, where the funeral was held on Wednesday. She leaves a husband and nine-year old daughter to mourn her loss.

March 26, 1886 The Montrose Democrat, Montrose, Susquehanna County, PA. : Stained Glass In Houses. A New Craze Which Costs Money and Gives Artists Steady Employment. "Through the increased demand for stained glass windows in the city as well as in the suburbs," said the foreman of a large jewelry establishment on Broadway a few days ago, "this firm has been compelled to go into the business, and to-day there is scarcely one of our richest customers whose dwelling is not adorned with stained glass windows. For centuries past stained glass was used only in churches and cathedrals and bore the imprints of holy persons. This is no longer the case, and a country residence without its artistically stained windows is considered out of place. Within a year or two the number of artists engaged in this profession or business has increased at least about twenty-fold, and yet our ability to fill our orders is sometimes overtaxed. Do stores have stained glass windows? No. What you see in restaurant and saloon windows is nothing but colored paper glossed over with varnish, and a very poor imitation it is at best. The first of the leading merchants in this new departure was the late Horace B. Claflin. He got us to decorate his summer residence at Fordham. The vestibule doors and the rear hall entrance are brilliantly decorated. The dome surmounting this palatial residence is also artistically glazed with stained glass of many hues and colors." "What are the favorite colors?" "They differ and vary as much as do the fashions. Just at present the colors most sought after are old gold, ruby, and an infinite variety of shades of green. There is also a large and increasing demand for what is known as jewelled work. These jewels are composed of small pieces of glass, which are either round or oblong, are cut in the style or shape of diamonds, or are left plain." "Are these jewels manufactured in this country and how are they made?" "Most of them are. They are made by pouring molten glass into moulds, and when cold the diamond is cut on the glass." "Have the general public begun to understand this artistic business?" "No, for in the first instance they think the work is very expensive. It is true that certain designs are beyond the reach of the middle classes, but they could have handsome decorations for one-half the price they believe it would cost them. It is amusing to see many customers come in here and give their orders without having the faintest idea of what they require. Their neighbors have stained glass windows, and they must have the same. "How do you meet the difficulty?" "For the accommodation of such customers we always keep on hand a multitude of designs, many of which are marked in glass and others drawn on paper. Frequently a selection from these is made; but very often we have to make special drawings for them. Let me give you and instance. A prominent bank president, who recently built himself a mansion on Long Island Sound, called here, went through every design in the place, but said that none suited him. What he desired most of all was something new for a large star window that overlooked the Sound. There was good boating and fishing in the vicinity, he added, and he wanted something appropriate. We made a design on paper. Ite represented a sportsman on one knee, gun in hand, at the shore of a lake, aiming at a string of ducks just taking flight from the water, having been disturbed by a water spaniel. This suited the gentleman in every particular, and he paid handsomely for the window and was well satisfied. To cut figures, or rather put them together with pieces of different colored glass requires time and the greatest care. There is another class of customers who come here with prepared designs on paper, and there is still another who leave the whole matter to us. For this class of customers we send to their residences, and having studied the surroundings carefully, either in town or suburb, submit designs that are suitable. It is astonishing how much of this latter work is done without a single complaint or alteration in the artist's design."

April 17, 1886 Owego Local Record: Waverly. A man by the name of Johnson has purchased the vacant lot on Chemung st., opposite the M. E. church and will commence at once to build a fine residence. Hugh Baldwin has the contract to build the house.

May 8, 1886 Owego NY Tioga County Record: Waverly. Mrs. J. T. Buck is preparing to build a fine house on the south-east corner of her lot, on Fulton st. The cellar is already excavated and ready for the masons.

Mr. Johnson's house, on Chemung st., is progressing finely and when finished will be one of the finest homes in Waverly.

June 1886 The Waverly Free Press: The floor timbers for the Dodge block were placed this week, and the timber for the Personius block is on the ground.

An alarm of fire was sounded Wednesday forenoon, caused by the burning of shavings on Chemung street near the M. E. church.
The pipe to be used for the Fulton and Waverly street sewers, is to be furnished by a firm in Rochester, and is considered the best sewer pipe manufactured.
The Waverly high school commencement exercises, class of ’86, will be held at the Presbyterian church next Monday evening, June 21st. Four graduate this year, vix: Margaret J. Carroll, Etta Barnum, Anna L. Johnson and Louis J. Buley.
It will take three car loads of pipe for the new sewers.
S. W. Slaughter is having his fine residence repainted.

July 1886 Waverly Free Press: H. J. Baldwin has a new residence nearly completed, on Fulton street. - Wm. Simpson is building an upright part to his residence on Chemung street, and when completed it will make a neat and comfortable home. - The Novelty Furniture Works never had a larger trade than at present, it being almost impossible for them to fill their orders. The new building which is soon to be erected, will be 75x100 feet, two stories and a basement high, and will be used for finishing, storage and packing. An iron bridge, will span the street, connecting the present building used for finishing and storage, with the new one. Mr. Hall is absent this week, purchasing lumber.

July 1886 Waverly Free Press: The painters are putting the finishing touches on S. W. Slaughter's magnificent residence, which, in its darker coat and trimmings, is an improvement, althought it was very fine before. - Over thirty residences have been connected with the city water, thus far this season. - The addition to Dr. W. E. Johnson's fine residence is nearly completed, and adds much to its appearance. - The plans for the new building of the Novelty Furniture Works, have just been completed, and work will begine on it in a few days. It will be built of brick. - We are told that if the Trustees would put the academy pagoda in proper shape the Citizens band would give our people open air concerts. The pagoda, as it now stands, is not safe. - The finest croquet ground in this village is that of B. B. Clark, on Pennsylvania avenue. By the way Mr. Clark is no novice at the game, and entertains his friends, who delight in the pastime, in a royal manner, and many accept his hospitality.

July 17, 1886 The Waverly Free Press: A. F. Slaughter, of New York, was in town on Tuesday.

July 24, 1886 The Waverly Free Press: Miss Elisabeth French is just completing a new dwelling on her lot on Athens street. (possibly 8 Athens street)

The Confectioner's Journal says that green cumcumber peel scattered about a building will rid it of cockroaches. It appears that they are poisoned by the peel which they eat with great relish. It is sometimes necessary to follow up the experiment several nights, using fresh peel every time.

September 1886 Port Jervis Evening Gazette: Tuesday evening the large drug store of Slaughter & Van Atta of Waverly, was totally destroyed by fire, causing a heavy loss. The fire was caused by the burning of red light in front of the premises during the parade of the fire department.

September 1886 The Waverly Free Press: The work of repairing Slaughter & VanAtta's store is being done under the direction of A. J. VanAtta.

Sept. 13, 1886 Fire at Slaughter & VanAtta's Corner Drug Store. Corner of Broad and Waverly street. They temporarily operated in the west side of G. C. Bruster store and began renovations immediately to reopen on December 8, 1886.

September 18, 1886 The Waverly Free Press: The thirty-first annual parade of the Waverly Fire Department, which took place on Wednesday, September 15th, 1886, will long be remembered as the grandest that ever occurred in the history of our beautiful and thriving village. Arrangements had been in course of perfection for two months, and everybody in all parts of the city took an active interest in the event, nor left nothing undone. ...From the moment the procession moved, to the finish of the parade, it was one grand and never ending display of rockets, Roman candles, colored fire, and the crack of fire-crackers, which, together with the thousands of Chinese lanterns and beautiful illuminations and decorations along the entire route, made it the grandest and most imposing evening parade ever witnessed in western New York, and we fail in descriptive power, to give it a "just painting." The pyrotechnic display along the route was so great and varied that it is impossible for us to give even a passing description, but without a question Spalding Hose company carried off the palm in that direction, of their headquarters, as it was but one continual flash of rockets, Roman candles and colored fire, and hundreds of rockets and candles were used there during the evening. The festivities of the evening were kept up until a late hour, but the ardor and enthusiasm kindled was not permitted to slumber only until early dawn on Wednesday morning, when they were again taken up. Wednesday forenoon was spent in giving the visiting firemen carriage rides through the valley, including the villages of Sayre and Athens and drives about our beautiful city. ... Decorations. In publishing the following list of deccorations along the line of march on Wednesday afternoon, .... Chinese lanterns having been used on Tuesday evening for illumination, many did not remove them. Broad Street.....Park Avenue....Maple Street... Spalding Street... Pennsylvania Avenue... Chemung Street.... S. W. Slaughter had colored windows, 64 flags and 82 lanterns... Johnson Street... Loder Street... Clark Street... Fulton Street...Waverly Street... Elizabeth Street... Tioga Street...(wreaths, arches, flags, trees, colored windows, drapery, welcome signs, and more were used)

September 25, 1886 The Waverly Free Press: The Dedication Services of Waverly's New Presbyterian Ediface. The large beautiful auditorium of the new Presbyterian church was filled to it limit on Monday afternoon, many extra chairs having been brought in. In front of the pulpit was a massive floral column and a mammoth basket of flowers from Mrs. R. Whitaker. The chancel railing from end to end was a bed of beautiful windows, rich with the artistic colorings and the many hues of the rainbow. The program was carried out completely. The Rev. Mr. Taylor's remarks, expressive of the happiness of his people, were echoed in the hearts of all. The dedicatory prayer by the Rev. Mr. Robertson, was a beautiful supplication, expressive of joy and gratitude to God and invoking his blessing on all. The Rev. Dr. Hodge selected as the subject of his discourse the first four verses of the eighty-fourth Psalm. The discourse was masterly, scholarly and gravely impressive. The vast congregation were highly pleased with the discourse by the eminent divine. Miss Dietrick sang sweetly and impressively "Come With Me." Her voice is peculiarly adapted to the perfect rendering of sacred song. The church complete has cost $26,000, on which there remains but $7,500 indebtednesss, and the debt, judging from the "spirit abroad," will soon be a thing of the past. To the pastor, the Rev. J. L. Taylor, who has labored incessantly for the completion of the grand edifice, the members must, and will always, feel most grateful. To the ladies and society the congregation owe a never-ending debt of gratitude, and to those who so generously contributed, regardless of sect or creed the people of Waverly are indebted for one of the finest churches in southern New York. The church officers are: The Rev. John L. Taylor, pastor. Session - George F. Waldo, Charles Sawyer, J. W. Knapp, C. E. Merriam, A. Hemstreet, Moses Lyman. Trustees - R. D. VanDuzer, Howard Elmer, S. W. Slaughter, M. Lyman, James Kenyon, James Clark, S. C. Hall. E. G. Tracy, secretary and treasurer. S. C. Hall, superintendent Sunday School. - Elmira Advertiser.

October 2, 1886 The Waverly Free Press: Harry Westfall, the architect, has charge of the improvements being made on the residence of Dr. W. E. Johnson .(440 Park Avenue) - Moses Sawyer has put down a number of much needed cross-walks in town.

1886-1888 The Waverly Free Press: S. W. Slaughter is having his fine residence repainted.

From the signs exhibited on the roof of H. W. Kinney's residence on Athens street, one would think he was a wheelwright - but it was only the result of halloween. A carriage was placed on the peak of the house, and a wheelbarrow in one chimney.

Miss Hattie Slaughter, of Crystal Run, Orange county, N. Y., is visiting at S. W. Slaughter's.

We have been shown a folding easel, the invention of Sela Ellis, a young man of this village, and after a careful examination, we are convinced it is a very fine article, and one that will meet the wants of all who engage in painting pictures, etc. It is adjustable to any desired angle, holds any size picture, round or square, from four inches to thirty or more inches wide, and can be furnished in any size. He has taken measures to secure a patent, and we learn already has an order for one hundred dozen.

October 8, 1886 The work of repairing Slaughter & VanAtta’s store is being done under the direction of A. J. VanAtta.

Ocotber 15, 1886 Waverly Advocate: The exterior of the corner drug store is being repainted under the direction of D. S. Morgan.

Novemeber 1886 The Waverly Free Press: The repairs on the Corner Drug Store are being pushed rapidly forward, and when completed the store will be even more beautiful than before. Messrs. Slaughter & VanAtta expect to occupy the same about December 1st.

Rooms to rent, corner of Chemung and Orchard streets. Inquire of Joseph DuBois, Waverly street.

November 1886 Waverly Free Press: Miss Carrie French, of Athens street, spent several days last week with Mrs. Dwight Trembly, of Elmira. - The last finishing touches are now being put on the Corner Drug Store, and on Wednesday, the 8th inst. the proprietors expect to open it to the public.

December 1886 The Waverly Advocate: Next Wednesday, the 8th, Slaughter & VanAtta will resume business at their well known Corner, with a beautiful store and an elegnt display of new goods.

Slaughter & VanAtta, at home, at the Corner Drug Store on and after Wednesday, 8th. No cards.

Slaughter & VanAtta opened their elegant new store Wednesday last. We doubt if there is another store in the southern tier with so rich and attractive and interior as has this.

A. B. Comstock is making some very fine pictures of many of Waverly's citizens of late. The holidays and holiday presents are coming you know.

1886 - 1889, at 337 Broad Street, Ida Tannery had her millinery and toiletries shop. (from Don Merrill's collection) Corner Drug Store

December 30, 1886 The Newtown Register: Annual Town Meeting held at house of Thomas B. Lowerre, April 6, 1817. William H. Furman Supervisor. William F. Furman Town Clerk. Edwin Mills Justice of Peace. John Van Gott, Thomas R. Hyatt, Overseers of Poor. (July 2, 1858 Octagonal House was sold by Amelia J Foster and Henry S. to Edwin Mills)

March 26, 1887 The Waverly Free Press: Waverly Fifty-Four Years Ago. Wondrous are the changes wrought by time! Since that great and glorious day upon which our old, respected townsman, Joseph E. Hallet, (now familiarly and generally known as "Uncle Joe") first covered a goodly portion of the soil of our now fertile and densely populated valley with his foot, just fifty-four years have elapsed. Just fifty-four years ago yesterday, Friday, March 25th, in the year 1833, Mr. Hallet informs us he landed in Waverly from Orange county, N. Y., whence he came by overland route, together with his wife and penates, - it requiring him then eight full days to make the journey, - a journey that is now easily performed in about half as many hours with convenience and safety, without fatigue, and at a trifling cost./ At that season, March 25th, the tract of land now covered by our thriving village, together with our suburb, Factoryville, was nearly all under cultivation, and nearly the whole tract was already plowed and the portion now covered by the business part of Waverly had already been plowed and sown with oats. Mr. Hallet had been but three days in this locality, when he also, assumed the plow and overturned, or turned over, a large portion of Waverly therewith./ At that time there were but seventeen persons residing in this neighborhood, of whom the following are the names: Owen Spalding and wife; Isaac Shepard, wife and five children; A. P. Spalding, wife and child; Aaron Jackson, wife and daughter; J. E. Hallet and wife./ Each of the above five heads of families owned a tract of land, and lived somewhere upon it - the whole five tracts comprising what is now Waverly and Factoryville./ Isaac Shepard owned a large tract lying westward from Dry Brook to Chemung county line, and southward as far as the Pennsylvania line and some distance northward. In the spring of 1833 Mr. Shepard had a large field of wheat between Chemung road - Chemung street - and the state line. As Waverly is now situated this would include Johnson, Pine and West Broad streets./ Mr. Shepard lived in a wooden house near the site of the present residence of Chas. H. Shepard. A few years later Mr. Shepard took up his residence with his family in the house situated at the east end of the narrows, which at that time was a very handsome place, - and which has since been owned by his son, W. W. Shepard. The former house was burned shortly after it was vacated./ Mr. Hallet purchased, on reaching Waverly, one hundred acres for $1,100, or at $11.00 per acre. This land was situated on the north side of the Chemung road, or Chemung street, bounded on the east by west line of A. P. Spalding - Mr. Hallet's present west line, - north by lands of Geo. H. Walker, and west by lands of Isaac Shepard./ Mr. Hallet took up his residence in a one story house situated upon the land of which the present site would be Fulton street, directly between the handsome residences of E. G. Tracy and Mrs. Fritcher./ Aaron Jackson's tract was bounded on the north by the Chemung road, on the west by Dry Brook, or Isaac Shepard's tract, on the south by the state line, and on the east by Owen Spalding's line. In 1833 this was all one field of oats. This comprised the present business portion of Waverly. It was purchased of Mr. Jackson by G. H. Hallet, (brother of Uncle Joe) in 1834 for $1,000 or $20 per acre. Portions of this same land have since been sold at the rate of thousands of dollars for a few feet./ Mr. Jackson lived in a one story house situated upon the site now known as the Inman property at the corner of Chemung and Waverly streets, as Waverly now is. Mr. Jackson's barn was situated on the site of the present Methodist church./Amos P. Spalding owned one hundred acres of land bounded east by Owen Spalding's line; north by lands of George H. Walker; west by J. E. Hallet's line; and south by the Chemung road./ Mr. Spalding lived in a log house, situated just east of Lincoln street, on Chemung street, the site at present being occupied by Mrs. Tannery's house./ Owen Spalding's tract consisted of one hundred and twenty-five acres, bounded east by Factoryville; it lay south of the Chemung road and south of it to the state line, and was bounded on the west by lands of Aaron Jackson and A. P. Spalding./ Owen Spalding lived in a plank house in a lane - now Pennsylvania avenue - about where at present stands the elegant residence of Dr. F. M. Snook./ This is Waverly, then owned by five men; then inhabited by seventeen persons, now inhabited by over three thousand persons; then worth a few hundred dollars, now worth a few hundred thousand dollars; then a farming land, now a thriving village./ Of the seventeen persons then living, but four are still alive, Mr. and Mrs. Hallet, William W. and Charles H. Shepard. In fifty years, three-fourths of them have died, and reckoning on the same proportion, fifty years from now three-fourths of the present population will be moulding in their graves, to say nothing of those who, not yet born, will die within this period. Reckoning all things in the same proportion, what will Waverly be fifty years hence? Without attempting to answer this question, which each may answer for himself; without attempting to prophesy what it will be even twenty-five years from now, we leave off as we began, "Wondrous are the changes wrought by time." (The above Aaron Jackson's tract included our Zehr Estate. Jackson had a blacksmith shop on the site of our current main house)

April 14, 1887 Corning Journal: The Elmira Advertiser says that the restoration of the sight of "Squire" Whitaker, a well known resident of Waverly, is attracting much attention. "He is eighty-three years of age and for several years past his sight has been failing until of late he has been entirely blind. For the past few weeks he has been severely ill of a heart disease and a few days ago found, to his surprise, that his sight had been entirely restored, and he now sees as well as in his boyhood days."

Hon. William W. Shepard, of Waverly, died April 10, aged sixty-seven. He died at the neighboring village of Athens, where he went some weeks ago on business, and fell down the stairs in the hotel, being so injured that he could not be removed home. He was born near Waverly, resided for a time in California, where he was a member of the Legislature. He returned to Waverly and became one of its leading business men. He built and operated a paper mill on a large scale. He was Republican Member of Assembly in 1865, and has ever since been active in politics. He was at one time quite wealthy, his family having owned the site of what in now the village of Waverly. He had many personal friends.

April 22, 1887 The Independent, Hamburg, N. Y., Erie County: State News. Squire Whitaker, of Waverly, 83 years old, who for several years was blind, had recently had his sight restored by a severe illness.

William Shepard of Waverly, who was supposed to be a bachelor, died April 10. A wife and child have turned up and claim his property.

April 30, 1887 See April 26, 1912 under newsclips B: They were working eleven hours per day at the Hall & Lyon factory.

John C. Van Atta purchased his partner's (S. W. Slaughter) interest in the Corner Drug Store. {Slaughter still owned the building. Samuel Slaughter's daughter, Gertrude Knapp sold the building in 1946 to Earl J. Payne who was already renting part of it}

April 1887 The Waverly Free Press: A petition was presented to the board of trustees on Monday evening for the opening of Lincoln street through to Park avenue, and a remonstrance has been circulated this week against it. Both documents are numerously signed.

The firm of Slaughter & VanAtta ceased to exist on Friday morning, Mr. VanAttta having purchased the interest of Mr. Slaughter in the Corner Drug Store, and took possession that day. Mr. Slaughter retires from business on account ot his failing health.

Some of the property owners on Broad and other streets raise objections to having the electric light poles and wires placed in front of their property, and suggest that the wires be carried above the buildings, and then lead down with the wires to the rooms below. The idea strikes us as a good one, provided property owners along the routes would consent, as it would do away with obstructing the streets by wires and poles.

Rev. Mr. Bowen, Rector of Grace church, has moved into the Canning house, corner of Chemung street ane Penn. avenue.

D. G. Carey has been filling up and grading the yard in front of his residence, corner of Chemung and Lincoln streets.

June 20, 1887 Golden Jubilee of Queen Victoria

1887 The Waverly Free Press: J. C. VanAtta, who purchased the interest of S. W. Slaughter in the Corner Drug Store last week Friday, is one of the best known young business men in this village, and his many friends are pleased to note his deserved prosperity. He has been connected with the store for many years, and is one of the most competent druggists in the county. We regret, however, that Mr. Slaughter finds it necessary on account of his continued failing health, to retire from business, but hope ere many months lapse he may be fully restored.

June 1887 The Waverly Free Press: The painters are putting the finishing touches on S. W. Slaughter's magnificent residence, which, in its darker coat and trimmings, is an improvement, although it was very fine before.

Mrs. Lathrop, Athens street, and her niece, Miss Allie Lathrop, are visiting Mr. and Mrs. I. H. Lathrop, of Binghamton.

Charles L. Albertson, son of Mrs. Buck, of Howard street, who has been on the New York police force for several years, was promoted from patrolman to roundsman last week Friday.

Record it as a matter of history, that the first electric lights seen in Waverly for lighting stores was on Monday, June 27, 1887.

November 1887 Tioga County Record Owego, N. Y.: North Barton. Nov. 16. Thomas Keeler, a Waverly artisan, will put on some finishing touches to the interior of O. H. Stebbius' residence, at this place, the coming week.

1887 From Elmira newspaper: Mr. and Mrs. S.W. Slaughter, of Waverly, were in the city for a day or two the first of the past week.

January of 1888 Waverly Free Press: There were 143 marriages, 60 births and 34 deaths recorded by the register of vital statistics in this village, during the year 1887. - The D. L. & W. railroad ice house west of the village, was filled this week with ice from the reservoir. It holds 3,000 tons. The water works company will also store about the same amount in their large house. - One hundred and nineteen arrests were made by the police of this village last year, one hundred and nine being for intoxication. What a fearful story that tells of heart-aches and sufferings at homes the world at large will never know. - While D. S. Morgan, the painter, was preparing some wax finish over the stove on Monday, during his temporary absence from the room, his wife lifted the tea kettle from the stove, and before she could replace the cover, the fumes from the finish took fire. The flames leaped to the ceiling above, filling the sitting room an kitchen with a soot-like smoke, which settled upon everything in the rooms and spoiled the paper on the walls as well. In attempting to remove or extinguish the burning mass, Mr. Morgan had his right hand severely burned. The damages are full covered by insurance in the Niagara Fall Insurance Company, through J. E. Hallett’s agency.

January 28, 1888 The Waverly Free Press: Miss Clara Steele, of Owego, sister of E. J. Steele, the operator at this station, was married at the home of her parents, on Tuesday evening, to T. B. Keeler, of that village.

Hold on Mr. Eagle, for we can beat you eight years in the person of Uncle Joe Hallett, of this village, who is now over seventy-eight years of age and has been an active fireman since 1820, he having been a torch-boy for No. 23, of New York City that year, and is now an exempt member of that company. He sleeps yet, as for years past, with one foot out of bed and the other in the street, like New York's Mose leaning against a hydrant, waiting for an alarm of fire, and has often been seen donning his vest and coat while on the run. He has been fire marshal in this place for the past twenty-six years, and is now foreman of Neptune No. 1 Exempts, and is as spry on foot as a boy. We claim Uncle Joe is the oldest active fireman in the United States.

Senator Henry W. Blair, of New Hampshire, the champion of the famous Blair Educational Bill, has written a book which is attracting wide notice throughout the United States. "The Temperance Movement" is the comprehensive main title of the book, but the sub-title, "The Conflict between Man and Alcohol," is perhaps more striking and significant. It deals with the temperance movememt in a larger way than any writer has previously attempted. The prominence of the author in public life and in politics, the present grandeur of the movement he describes and proclaims, and the enthusiastic welcome the work has received from influential elements in various parts of the country, have combined to make the appearance of this book and event of great interest and importance. It is a book of something more than six hundred handsome pages, and the fact that the index contains hardly less than four thousand references indicates the variety and extent of its contents. It is issued in three styles of binding, being ornamented with elaborate yet tasteful designs on side and back, and the effect is very pleasing. Mrs. T. S. Mitchell, Athens street, this village, is the agent for its sale in Waverly and vicinity, and those interested in the temperance cause should purchase a copy, as it will furnish them more information than can be obtained from any other one source.

February 4, 1888 newspaper Board of Trustees Meeting Jan. 31, 1888 a petition was placed on file and action deferred until survey could be made to “cause a street to be laid out and opened to public travel, commencing in the south line of Chemung street at a point opposite the intersection of Lincoln street with said Chemung street, and running thence southerly to a point in the north line of Tioga street between the Baptist church and the residence of John C. Shear, said street to be at least forty-five feet in width. The opening of said street will require strips of land to be taken from lots owned by Sarah Campbell, Josephine Curtis, Ella A. Shear and the First Baptist church of Waverly. We believe that the opening of such a street to be a public necessity.” (Referring to Lincoln Avenue)

February 14, 1888 The Waverly Free Press: To show what care is taken in the delivery of mail, we give the following as an illustration: November 29, 1887, Uncle Joe Hallett sent an invitation to S. W. Slaughter, who was then in New York, to attend their fifty-fifth wedding anniversary. It was delivered at 46 East Eleventh street, but Mr. Slaughter and wife had left there. It was then advertised, and finally sent to 150 State street, Brooklyn, but not reaching him, it was then sent to the dead letter office at Washington, and forwarded from there to Mr. Hallett, who received it January 31, 1888, and it was then delivered to Mr. Slaughter.

June 7, 1888 Evening Gazette, Port Jervis NY: Death Near Scotchtown. Mrs. Catharine Slaughter, widow of Archibald Slaughter (Dewitt Slaughter's sister-in-law.Was Caroline's sister and interesting that Archibald is DeWitt's brother. Samuel Slaughter's Aunt)

Death Near Scotchtown. Mrs. Catharine Slaughter, widow of Archibald Slaughter, of the town of Wallkill, died at the residence of her son, near Scotchtown, this morning, in the 81st year of her age. The deceased was the eldest child of the late Samuel Mills, and sister of the Rev. S. W. Mills of this village. The funeral will take place on Saturday at one p.m.

June 9, 1888 The Wavery Free Press: It is the almost daily practice for certain men to speed their horses on Chemung street, from Pennsylvania avenue to Athens street, and we have been requested to call attention to the matter.

We will soon publish our great article entitled "The growth and education of the American bedbug." Just here we will say that Tulip soap is excellent. Try it.

August 1888? The Waverly Free Press: Howard Elmer is having an elegant library added to his fine residence. Swanson, of Elmira, is the architect.

November 10, 1888 The Waverly Free Press: For Rent. The Payne Property, Corner of Chemung and Athens streets. Furnished with stoves, hot and cold water, water closet. Suitable for a large family of boarding house. Enquire of I. G. Lemon.

November 17, 1888 The Waverly Free Press: For Rent - The Payne Property, Corner of Chemung and Athens streets. Furnished with stoves, hot and cold water, water closet. Suitable for a large family of boarding house. Enquire of L. G. Lemon

Mortgage Sale. Supreme Court, County of Orange. Solomon G. Carpenter, against Willard F. Inman and Harriet A. Inman, his wife, James D. Buley, Walter Wood, Henry H. Sniffin, Robert H. Scott and Eliza J. Beach. In pursuance of a judgment of foreclosure and sale made in the above entitled action, and entered in the Orange County Clerk's office on the 1st day of September, 1888, and a copy of said judgment was duly recorded in Tioga County Clerk's office, pursuant to the order of the Court. The subscriber a referee for that purpose, duly appointed, will sell at the northerly front door of the postoffice, in the village of Waverly, Tioga County, New York, on the 20th day of October, 1888, at nine o'clock in the forenoon of said day, the real estate and mortgaged premises directed by said judgment, to be sold and therein described as follows, vis: All that tract or parcel of land situate in the Village of Waverly, Tioga County, New York, being a part of the land sold by Isaac Shepherd to Elder Jackson, and bounded as follows, to wit: Beginning in the centre of Chemung street at a point known as the corner of land owned by Andrew Rice, running thence south 27 degrees 30 minutes east along said Rice's west line twenty rods and sixty-eight-hundredths rods; thence south 70 degrees 30 minutes west nine rods and thirteen feet to the east line of lands formerly owned by William Price and along the line of lands formerly owned by Abraham Day eleven rods and fifteen feet to Day's north-east corner; thence westerly along the north line of said Day's lot eight rods and two feet to the centre of Waverly street to the centre of Chemung street; thence northerly 64 degrees east fourteen rods to the place of beginning; supposed to contain two acres of land, be the same more or less; excepting and reserving therefrom a piece of land sold Experience B. Clark, being a strip off the south and of previously described lot, being forty-two feet in width on the east and west ends as described in a deed of Lewis L. Richardson and wife to said Clark August 8, 1879, and recorded in Tioga County Clerk's office in Liber No. ?0 of deeds, page 365. The above described land being the same as deeded by Joseph Chambers and wife to D. Bruce Goodell, July 13, 1853, and recorded in Tioga County Clerk's office Liber 59 of deeds, page 341, etc. Dated Sept. 7, 1888. A. G. Allen, Referee. R. C. Coleman Plaintiff's Att'y. The above mortgage sale is adjourned until the 24th day of November, 1888, at 10 o'clock in the forenoon of that day, at the northerly front door of the post-office in the village of Waverly, Tioga County, N. Y., at the request of the defendant, Willard F. Inman. Dated October 20th, 1888. A. G. Allen, Referee R. C. Coleman, Plaintiff's Att'y. (This would be 202 Chemung street, Waverly, NY, plus more)

December 1888 Waverly Free Press: (202 Chemung Street, but the current home. ) The residence of W. F. Inman, corner of Chemung and Waverly streets, was sold on mortgage foreclosure on Saturday last, Wood & Co., of Philadelphia being the purchasers for $4,000.

In 1889 Slaughter's Corner Drug Store storefront was done in cast iron by Reid & Cooper of Elmira, NY. Mrs. Kinney had a millinery on second floor. (Samuel Slaughter owned the building and rented it out)

1889 - 1937, at 337 Broad Street, Van Atta's Corner Drug Store, the Rexall Store, wall paper, window shades, books, stationery. (from Don Merrill's collection)

February 9, 1889 Waverly Free Press: For Rent. The Payne Property, Corner of Chemung and Athens streets. Furnished with stoves, hot and cold water, water closet. Suitable for a large family or boarding house. Enquire of I. G. Lemon. (300 Chemung Street)

When you drive to town do not leave your team unhitched and unguarded on the street while you run into some place of business "just for a minute." The minute is apt to stretch to a quarter hour or longer, the horse that seemed so quiet gets uneasy, or some unaccustomed noise or object frightens him, and away he goes on the run. You can not afford to take any such risk.

Small monthly payments willl buy desirable houses and lots in town. Prices range from $600 to $2,000. Smith Bros, 207 Broad street, Waverly, N.Y.

Thompson & Keucher, machinist and foundrymen, of Athens, have thanks for a foot warmer. In order to keep up with their orders, they have to run their shop evenings.

February 1889 The Waverly Free Press: Corner Drug Store. We are Still on Deck. Having fully recovered from our recent fire, are now located at our old stand in our back room, formerly known as our Wall Paper Deparment, just around the corner from our old entrance. Having fitted it up in good style, will remain there until we can get our old store repaired, are now ready for buisness again, with a full line of new goods, pure and fresh, having lost most of them in our fire. Have the largest and most complete line of wall papers, borders, window shades and fixtures we have ever shown, also have some of the paper that went through the fire, damaged by smoke, that must be sold at some price regardless of cost; will be ready to show wall paper Monday morning. Those thinking of buying should call early and make their selection while the assortment is large, will be very much pleased to see all our old customers and as many new ones at our new place of buisness as may see fit to give us a call. Corner Drug Store, John C. VanAtta.

F. M. Perley has leased the Payne House, corner of Chemung and Athnes streets.

The toy works are turning out eight thousand of "Pigs in Clover," a day, and are twenty days behind with their orders. - J. L. Tracy is prepared to furnish that "teaser toy," Pigs in Clover, at wholesale and retail. It is the best selling toy on the market, and is the delight of old and young.

March 1889 The Waverly Free Press: The Corner Drug Store is being rapidly repaired, and when completed, will be fully as beautiful as it was before the fire. The plated glass front was put in on Thursday.

Don't forget the old and reliable Corner Drug Store is still alive and doing business in their back room, (just around the corner from the old entrance,) with a full line of drugs and medicines, school books and supplies, stationery, etc. Also a large line of wall papers, damaged by going through the fire, that we are selling at a great reduction in prices. John C. VanAtta.

March 30, 1889 The Waverly Free Press: S. H. Ellis is having the building he recently purchased of Mrs. L. Walker, on Broad street, repaired. We understand he will move his store there about the first of April, and that W. H. Ellis will occupy the rear portion of the building with his machine shop, and that the upper portion will be finished for living rooms.

March 30, 1889 The Waverly Free Press: D. S. Kennedy has rented the Inman property, corner of Chemung and Waverly streets, and will take possession April 1, and open an extensive boarding house. (site of 202 Chemung street)

Friday following the first day of May, will hereafter be observed as Arbor Day in the State of New York.

The report going the rounds of the papers that Moses Lyman is "a farmer living near Waverly, has a large number of children, and keeps a great many pigs," and made the "Pigs in Clover" puzzle to amuse his children, causes many of his friends to laugh over the absurdity of the report.

May 1889 The Waverly Free Press: The high school is now located in the old chapel on Providence street, the grammar school at the Lincoln street school house, and the intermediates that were in the high school building, are at the East Waverly school.

May 1889 The Waverly Free Press: The DuBois estate has moved one of the houses from the lot corner of Chemung and Waverly streets, to Orchard street, and placed the other on a foundation facing Waverly street. - The Church street tennis club of Elmira, played the Waverly club at their grounds on Orchard street, on Thursday afternoon, which resulted as follows: Robeson and L. Budd, vs. Lang and Kirby, the former won, score 6-4 6-3; Ed. Budd and Wilcox, vs. Baldwin and VanAtta, the latter won, score 6-4 9-7. In the finals Robeson and L. Budd played against Baldwin and VanAtta, and the former won by a score of 6-2, 6-4, 6-4. The was the first of a series to be played this season, the next to be played at Elmira, July 4.

May 25, 1889 The Waverly Free Press: (fire on Feb. 9, 1889 damaged the corner drug store for the second time.) The Corner Drug Store was re-opened to the public on Thursday evening, and the many friends of J. C. VanAtta, the popular proprietor, called to extend their best wishes. It is without doubt, the finest store in this county, and is excelled by none in the Southern Tier. It is simply magnificent in all its details. It is finished in cherry throughout, bordering on the Queen Ann style of architecture. As you enter the store, you see before you the prescription stand in which is mounted and elegant plate glass mirror 43 1/2x48 inches, which is flanked on both sides by borders of ornamented ground glass, giving it an elegant appearance. The west side of the store is devoted to stationary, books, patent medicines, toilet articles, etc., the shelving being enclosed with twenty plate glass doors, while on the east side is the drug department. Here we find seven tiers of drawers- 212 in all- mounted with elegant handles, and seven sections of shelving contain bottles, jars, etc., while at the left, near the front of the store stands elegant perfumery and toilet article cabinets. Eight counters, of fine design and workmanship adorn the store, on five of which, rest the finest show cases ever brought to this place, being made from the best French plate glass with bevel edges and rosewood frames. The ceiling shows exquisite taste in its decorations, and the handiwork throughout is faultless. Well may Mr. VanAtta, the propietor of the store, and S. W. Slaughter the owner of the building, feel a just pride as they are congratulated over the elegance of its finish, including the tile floor. Few indeed are the cities, not to say villages of the state that can boast of so finely a finished business place.

July 1889-1891? The Waverly Free Press: Mr. and Mrs. Frederick S. Benedict, nee Miss Fanny Payne, are visiting at the home of Mr. and Mrs. S. W. Slaughter.

There is a village ordinance prohibiting the hitching of horses to shade trees. Sometimes a man forgets it, and then Justice Spaulding puts "a tariff tax" of $5.00 on him to refresh his memory in regard to the ordinance.

For Rent. Desirable rooms for office of business purposes, over Corner Drug store. S. W. Slaughter.

Never in the history of Waverly has the death rate been so large as it has been during the past few weeks. The sick list is also very large.

Nature and the painters combined are beginning to make Waverly sparkle and shine like a jewel in the pleasant valley of the Chemung.

Rev. H. D. Jenkins, of Sioux City, Iowa, formerly of Waverly, is in town looking after his business interests in this vicinity. - - Hammocks, croquet sets, lawn tennis supplies, etc, at J. L. Tracy’s news room. - - Charles Henry Vaughn has been appointed dog catcher. By the by-laws of this village it is required to muzzle all dogs until November 1st. Dog owners will please attend to it. By Order Of The President Of The Village. - New York Doctors in Waverly —- The Sick to Receive Service Free. The Doctors of the New York Medical and Surgical Institute, consisting of several eminent physicians, will be at their offices in the Tioga House, Waverly, Saturday, July 25th. All who visit the doctors during their stay will receive services free, with only a fee in certain cases for medicine. They will visit Waverly every five weeks, and the only favor desired is the influence o those cured. These eminent physicians treat every variety of disease, but will in no instance accept and incurable case as curable. If your malady is beyond all hope, they will frankly tell you, also caution you against your spending more money for unnecessary treatment. - Try the Factoryville Imperial Flour.

August 17, 1889 The Waverly Free Press: Silas Fordham, and S. W. Slaughter and wife, visited Mt. Pisgah a few days since, but did not find the weather very propitious for long range observations from the mountain top, which is very fine when the atmosphere is clear.

A New Cemetery. Every day reveals to the public the need of a new cemetery, and the question has been discussed this week by many of our most prominent citizens. There is not a lot left for sale in Forest Home, and burial places are only secured now from those who own private lots. ... The majority of those we have conversed with favor the location northwest of C. B. Shepard's residence, which overlooks the valley, is easy of access, and can be made one of the finest cemeteries in the country. It is not advisable to extend the present limits of Forest Home, as it would only answer the needs for a few years, but if a new cemetery is located near Mr. Shepard's twenty or more acres can be had, ample for all needs for the next on hundred years. ... Editor of the Free Press: Probably there is no village in the great Empire state more beautiful for situation than Waverly. I tell myself so whenever I take a journey east, west, north or south, and again return to my quiet home on Providence street. Friends who visit me from distant places tell me so. The weather bureau confesses the assertion so far as salubrity of climate is concerned, by showing that the forty-second parellel of latitude that forms the southern line of out of town is the most favorable for health in the United States. Moreover, no town is better supplied with schools and churches, water, gas, and electric light. ...Waverly is growing and we all expect to see in the near future that our town is to become very large. ... W. F. W.

August 17, 1889 The Waverly Free Press: S. H. Ellis has put a new front in his art store, and otherwise improved it, which adds much to its appearance. (later Mandeville leased it, first door east of Hayes & Sons Drug Store)

August 24, 1889 Waverly Free Press: J. W. Knapp has sold his house on West Chemung street to Alanson Tilden, of Enfield. Consideration of $1,250 cash. He takes possession September 1.

1889-1891 Waverly Free Press: Rev. Andrew TenBrook, of Brooklyn, is visiting his sister, Mrs. Alexander Brooks, on Athens street.

August 1889-1891? The Waverly Free Press: Mr. and Mrs. Will Kirkam and Miss Lula Austin, of Port Jervis, are visiting their aunts, Mrs. J. Berry and Mrs. A. Jackson, East Waverly.

It costs but little to have feather beds steam renovated, and it makes them clean, taking out all dirt and vermin. Office on Elizabeth street.

Several families on Chemung street, had their refrigerators robbed of their contents last Saturday night, so they had to do without their "goodies" for their Sunday dinners.

August 1889 -1891? The Waverly Free Press: Mrs. S. W. Slaughter entertained a large number of friends at her home on Chemung street Wednesday evening. A very pleasant time is reported.

There is more work, building, etc., in Waverly at present than at any time in the past twenty years. It is said to be impossible to secure men enough to do the work.

October 1889 Waverly Free Press: As we go to press we learn that Mrs. S. W. Slaughter is very low, with slight hopes for her recovery. (She was about 3 months pregnant at this time with Gertrude and Mrs. S. W. Slaughter lived until 1912)

The fact that Edison’s new Phonograph, or as some call it “Talking Machine,” is to be on exhibition at the Rock Band concert at the opera house on Saturday evening, October 12, should attract a full house. It is one of the most wonderful instruments of the age. It reproduces with exactness any sound, vocal or instrumental.

November 28, 1889 Owego New York Tioga County Record: Waverly Absorbs Factoryville. A resolution which was introduced by Mr. Tracy of Barton, allowing the village of Waverly to annex Factoryville, was passed Monday by an unanimous vote of the board of supervisors. A RECORD reporter, in conversation with Suprevisor Tracy Monday asked that gentleman about the population of the annexed district and the total population of the annexed district and the total population of the new Waverly. He replied that he did not know, but should judge about 800 and 4,000 to 4,500 respectively. This makes Waverly quite a bit larger and, the RECORD trusts, will enable her to get free postal delivery in the near future.

December 1889The Waverly Free Press: Frances E. Perley, Teacher Of Piano And Harmony, 206 Chemung Street, Waverly, N. Y. "Miss Frances Perley had, for the past three years, been my assistant and pupil in Clinton Liberal Institute. Miss Perley is an accomplished teacher. As a performer she displays a refined taste in choice of music and a most graceful touch in execution. I, therefore, warmly recommend Miss Perley to all who wish an artistic instructor." - Carl Bodell, Professor of Music at Clinton Liberal Institute, Fort Plain, N. Y. (Must have been part of 202 Chemung st. current property or house number misprint?)

The shock of an earthquake is reported to have been heard and felt in this vicinity, about 3 o'clock Sunday morning.

Rev. Andrew TenBrook, of Brooklyn is visiting his sister, Mrs. Alexander Brooks, on Athens street.

For Sale Cheap - Four hives of bees, Inquire of N. E. Decker, Waverly, N. Y.

Dec. 14, 1889 Waverly Free Press: Death of J. F. Bosworth. The sad intelligence was received here on Tuesday morning, of the sudden death from heart failure, of John Frank Bosworth, of LeRaysville, Pa., a gentleman well known in this village and for many years a prominent business man here. He came to Waverly in 1850, and with E. A. Shaw, who also moved here that year, formed a partnership and together started a harness shop in a building which stood where Dr. W. E. Johnson’s office now stands. At the end of the year he purchased Mr. Shaw’s interest, and continued the business alone for a time, then sold his stock to Mr. Shaw and engaged in the drug business with Dr. Everett and later with G. F. Waldo, continuing with him until some time during the late rebellion, when he withdrew from the firm, and with Nelson F. Penny as partner, started the Corner Drug Store. Mr. Penny sold his interest to Mr. Slaughter, father of our worthy townsman, S. W. Slaughter, and this partnership was continued for some time. Mr. Bosworth finally exchanged his interest in the store with H. H. Hayes, for his interest in a drug store in LeRaysville, in which his son Jasper P. Bosworth was a partner, and then removed to LeRaysville, where he has resided most of the time since. He also started a hardware store at that place, which he conducted successfully for some years, and then sold it, the same now being owned by Gorham & Coleman. He was an active, energetic business man, of strict integrity, and enjoyed the confidence and respect of every person who knew him. He was nearly eighty years of age, and leaves his wife, who is nearly his age, one son and four daughters, vix: Jasper P. Bosworth, of LeRaysville, Pa,; Mrs. R. S. Harnden, Mrs. S. C. Carpenter, and Mrs. C. F. Chaffee, of this village, and Mrs. R. J. McCready, of Pittsburgh, Pa. The funeral was held from his late residence at two o’clock this (Friday) afternoon. {Dewitt Slaughter purchased the building and his son, Samuel made payments to his Dewitt until it was paid for and Samuel Slaughter owned the building. Corner Drug Store - Slaughter & Bosworth to Slaughter & Hayes to Slaughter & Wells to Slaughter & VanAtta to Vanatta to Payne's}

April 26, 1890 The Waverly Free Press: James Nolan, a switchman employed in the Lehigh yard, had his left hand badly smashed while coupling cars last Friday night.

The residence of W. C. Woodward, of Athens street, was entered by burglars last Saturday evening, between nine and ten during the absence of the family. Entrance was gained by smashing out one panel of the rear door, and the house was thoroughly ransacked. His daughter Lucy, who works for Mrs. LaBarr, on East Broad street, had $15 stolen from her trunk. There is nothing missing, except the money, so fas as he can tell. His wife was called to Sheshequin last week Friday, by the sickness of her mother Mrs. Sally Davidson, who had a stroke of paralysis, and on her return home she may find other articles missing. Suspicion points strongly to the guilty parties, and a return of the money may save them trouble.

Samuel and Charlotte W. Slaughter had one child, a daughter, Mary Gertrude, born on April 26, 1890. Mary, later went by her middle name, Gertrude.

May 1, 1890 From Owego "The Record.":Waverly. Mr. and Mrs. S. W. Slaughter of Chemung street rejoice in the birth of a nine pound baby daughter, which occured this morning. A host of friends congratulate them on the happy event.

1890 The Waverly Free Press: Mr. and Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, Chemung street, are rejoicing over the arrival at their home on Saturday, April 26, 1890, of a nine pound daughter. Wick's face has not been so wreathed in smiles in many a day.

August 9, 1890 The Waverly Free Press: S. W. Slaughter had his residence re-painted recently.

July 12, 1890 Waverly Free Press: A large show bottle, in the window of J. C. VanAtta’s drug store, fell last week Wednesday, and broke one of the front and side plate glass, causing damage to the front of about $150. - Hon. Wm. Fiske Warner, of No. 11 Providence street, had a new veranda built on his fine residence last week, which a model of neatness, and a pattern for others to copy. It is forty-two feet long, eleven feet wide, high and airy, making it a delightful place to while away the bright summer evenings. The grounds adjoining his residence are beautiful, and kept up in excellent style, all exhibiting fine fast and refinement. Mr. Weaver is one of Waverly’s most esteemed residents, and we hope he may live many years to enjoy the comforts of his elegant home.

August 1890 The Waverly Free Press: Frances E. Perley, Teacher Of Piano And Harmony, 206 Chemung Street, Waverly, N. Y. - “Miss Frances Perley has, for the past three years, been my assistant and pupil in Clinton Liberal Institute. Miss Perley is an accomplished teacher. As a performer she displays a refined taste in choice of music and a most graceful touch in execution. I, therefore, warmly recommend Miss Perley to all who wish an artistic instructor.” - Carl Bodell, Professor of Music at Clinton Liberal Institute, Fort Plain, N. Y. (206?, octagon was moved in 1879 and this was now a yard for 208 Chemung. Was 206 then on part of current day 202? Later, in 1896, she was a guest of Mrs. Slaughter at 208 Chemung St. It appears Frances Perley moved around quite a bit and rented at different places.)

August 14, 1890 The Record (Owego, NY Tioga County Record): Waverly is at last to have the free delivery system. Postoffice Inspector C. R. Darby of the free delivery department was here this week and made a careful inspection of the territory over which carriers would be obliged to travel, chose locations for twenty-five letter boxed and also laid out plans for three delivery districts, including South and East Waverly. A meeting of Waverly and South Waverly's representative business men and citizens was held at the insurancec office of Brooks & Hoagland in the evening. Levi Curtis presided and W. H. Spaulding was chosen as secretary. Inspector Darby explained the free delivery system fully and most satisfactorily, as was evidenced by the meeting passing a unanimous resolution in favor of free delivery in both places. This will necessitate the systematic numbering of the houses and business places of both Waverly and South Waverly and also the building of sidewalks, as free delivery is not maintained where there are none. There will be no regular postoffice at East Waverly as heretofore, but a stamp agency will be located there. The plan is for four daily deliveries, except Sunday, two business and two general, and collections of mail matters will be made at each delivery. The move is a good one and in the right direction and is a favorable indication of Waverly's energy and enterprise.

December 1890 The Waverly Free Press: The next musical will be held at Mrs. S. W. Slaughter's, Friday evening, December 26. Composer, Chopin.

The Waverly Free Press: St. James church has been repainted and decorated in a fine manner by J. G. Hoffman.

1891 - Manual of American Water-Works. Louisville, KY. 1891: 191.WAVERLY, Tioga Co. (Pop., 2,767-4,123.) Built in '80 by Waverly Water Co. Supply.— Surface water and springs, by gravity from impounding reservoir.
Fiscal year closes April 30. Distribution.— Mains, 10 mites. Taps, 400. Meters, 11. Hydrants, 25. Financial.— Withheld. Cost (in '86), $60,000. Management.—Prest. and Treas., J. T. Sawyer. Supt., A. J. Vanatta.

February 28, 1891 The Waverly Free Press: W. H. and S. H. Ellis are building a small steamboat. It is twenty-four feet long, six feet beam, is to have a stern wheel, and will be driven by a three horse power engine. It is to be used on the Susquehanna river, and will afford much pleasure to parties who may encamp up the river, also for picnics. We understand they can run nearly to Barton from Sayre.

April 11, 1891 The Waverly Free Press: A Landmark Removed. The death of Stephen Bennett occurred at his home on Clark street, Saturday evening, April 4, caused by the grip, complicated with other diseases. Mr. Bennett was eighty-four years of age, and was the oldest business man in Waverly. He came to this vicinity in 1834 and conducted a blacksmith shop for the Erie railroad, near the brick school house, in what was then known as Clairmont, before Waverly was ever thought of. In 1850, Mr. Bennett purchased the hotel owned by Captain Davis and changed its name to the Bennett House. It was situated just above where the Hotel Warford now stands, the property having been sold to Cyrus Warford in 1853. Mr. Bennett conducted a lunch room and restaurant in the basement of his hotel, which was the first store in Waverly. In 1853 he started in the grocery business on Broad street, which finally merged into the drug store which he conducted at the time of his death. He leaves a wife and four children, three of whom are married. The fourth, Maurice Bennett, is now critically ill, and his recovery is considered doubtful. Mr. Bennett was an honored and respected citizen, and many will regret his death, by which Waverly loses one whose sterling worth and integrity was well known. The funeral was held from the house Tuesday afternoon, at 2 o'clock, Rev. Linn E. Wheeler officiating. The interment was made in Forest Home cemetery.

April 27, 1891 Owego Daily Record: Miss Grace Woodruff, who has been the guest of Arra H. Ellis the past week, returned this morning to her home, No. 7 Athens street, Waverly.

May 2, 1891 Waverly Free Press: Miss Grace Woodruff returned Monday from a visit with friends in Owego. (rented octagon home at 7 Athens street from Samuel W. Slaughter)

Hon. J. T. Sawyer of Waverly, N. Y., is building a new dwelling house at corner of Fourth and Bridge streets. Mr. Abel Barner is the builder. - Towanda Reporter-Journal.

Clayton H. Dunning, a former Waverly boy, but now an employe of the Government printing office at Washington, was visiting friends in this place last week. He left Thursday afternoon for Sunbright, Tenn., his present home, accompanied by his aunt, Mrs. Minnie Quick.

The beautiful new flag for the school building has arrived. It has forty-three stars, but after July an additional star will be necessary.

May 14, 1891 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Press: Dedication At Waverly. -Waverly, May 14.- Yesterday afternoon and evening witnessed the dedication exercises of the new Baptist church. An audience that filled the auditorium of the church was present in the afternoon. The exercises opened with a historical paper read by B. W. Bonnell, who is secretary of the church. He was followed by Hatfield H. Hallett of this place, who made some excellent remarks. Mr. Hallett was followed by the Rev. W. L. Thrope, pastor of the Methodist church, the Rev. C. E. Baldwin, pastor of the Sayre Baptist church and the Rev. Dr. Lyoyd, of Hamilton college, who was a former pastor. The Rev. L. E. Wheeler, the present pastor read letters of regret and congratulation from Rev. S. T. Ford of Syracuse and Rev. J. C. Hubbard, both formerly of Waverly. This concluded the afternoon meeting. An audience of nearly 1,000 persons crowded into the church in the evening to listen to the dedicatory sermon. The exercises opened with a delightful solo rendered by Miss Nellie Lemon, after which the scripture was read by Rev. Dr. Lyoyd. Rev. Dr. McKee of Athens then offered prayer and a pleasing soprano solo "Abide With Me" by Miss Anna Johnson of the Elmira Female college was followed by a letter of regret from Rev. D. H. Cooper of Lockport, N. Y., who expressed his regret at being unable to be present, and congratulated the church on having erected so beautiful a building. The Rev. Mr. Wheeler then introduced the speaker of the evening, the Rev. Dr. Edward Jusdson, pastor of the Judson Memorial church of New York city, who spoke from the text "And the last will be first, and the first will be last." It was one of the most eloquent appeals for Christian worship ever heard here. An entertaining duet by Misses Johnson and Lemon concluded the exercises of the evening. The church is a handsome structure not only in architectural design but is neat and tasty in appearance. The building is of brick with stone trimmings. It cost $15,000.

Mr. C. C. Brooks the agent of the Jenkins estate in this place, informs the Gazette reporter that plans have been submitted and accepted whereby a very handsome brick building will be erected on the vacant lot next to Haye's drug store. (Rev. H. D. Jenkins, one of Owen Spalding's adopted sons, inherited Spalding's estate)

Dr. Farnham a retired physician of Binghamton has purchased the old Inman property of D. G. Carey, and with his family will move to Waverly. Rev. George Bowen who at present occupies the house has rented the Payne property corner of Chemung and Athens streets.

Six back loads representing the sporting element in this village meandered up towards the old paper mill last evening taking with them some gamey roosters who indulged in a "cock fight" for the amusement of the onlookers. A number of the would be sports, were present from Elmira, Binghamton and Sayre

Architect Pierce of Elmira has submitted plans for the new town hall building. His plans provides for a very handsome three story building with a basement containing six cells for police usage. The first floor will be used for the hose companies and fire apparatus. The second floor for the rooms of the fire companies, the offices of the village, and the third floor for a hall for town purposes. The building will be a brick and stone, lighted by electricity, heated by steam, and will be a model building in all its appointments. (2015 is currently Crooked River Artisan Co-Op)

1891 Waverly Free Press: For Rent. Disirable rooms for office or business purposes, over Corner Drug store. S. W. Slaughter.

May 28, 1891 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Press: WAVERLY NEWS IN TYPE. An Interesting Budget About All the Important Occurrences There. Waverly, May 28.-S. C. Hall and Geo. F. Lyons, proprietors of the Novelty Furniture Works, have gone to Buffalo and Tonawanda to look over the sites that have been offered them for the location of their factories. An employee of the Novelty works was interviewed by a GAZETTE reporter and stated that it was now the definite intention of the firm to move out of Waverly and accept one of the twelve offers that have been made them. The latest offer to them comes from Lestershires, N. Y.

The water company has placed papers in the hands of lawyers for the purpose of suing this village for $1,185 claimed by them to be owed for water tax.

A special meeting of the board of trustees has been called for Thursday evening, when Architect Pierce of Elmira will be present with plans and specification for the new town hall.

June 8, 1891 Middletown, Orange Co., New York:
Alfred Wells, a wealthy and esteemed resident of Goshen, died at the residence of his daughter Mrs. Edson Coleman at 9 a.m. Sunday.  He had been failing gradually during the past few months and the direct cause of his death was general debility.   The funeral will take place at the house of Mrs. Coleman at 11 a.m. Tuesday.   The remains will be interred in the Phillipsburgh cemetery.   Mr. Wells was a direct descendant of Hon. William Wells, of Norfolkshire, England, who is stated to have been a passenger on the ship "Free Love," of London, on June 10, 1635.  He was an educated lawyer in England and high Sheriff of New Yorkshire on Long Island.    Deceased was a son of Joshua Wells Jr., who died on the homestead farm in 1867, and Jemima, daughter of Jonathan Sayer, who died in 1811.   Mr. Wells was borne on the homestead Nov. 17, 1805.   His early education was received in the common school and at the Farmers Hall Academy at Goshen.  For one term he was teacher but succeeded to the homestead property upon which he spent most of his business life.  He was a man of determined effort, judicious in the management of his affairs, and when far past the active duties of life, found pleasure in the care and superintendence of the place of his birth, where he and his wife spent so many happy years together.   In June 1832 he married Lydia, daughter of John Nyce, of Wheat Plains, Pike county, Pa.   He is survived by eight children, J. Ed. Wells, of Goshen, John N. of San Francisco, Dr. Geo. W. of New York, Moses A., a soldier of the late war and now a merchant of Chicago, Mary F., wife of Edson Coleman of Goshen, Charlotte, wife of S.W. Slaughter of Waverly, Eugene F., of Waverly and Charles S. of Goshen.”

June 10, 1891 Elmira Daily Gazette: Waverly News. Information was received here yesterday of the death of Alfred Wells, a prominent citizen of Goshen, N. Y., and father of Mrs. S. W. Slaughter of this place. Mr. Wells was exceedingly well known here and had
numerous friends who will be pained to learn of his demise.

June 1891 The Waverly Free Press: Alfred Wells, a prominent citizen of Goshen, N. Y., died at his home in that village last Monday. Mr. Wells was well known here, and was the father of Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, who, with her husband, have been at Goshen for nearly two weeks.

More information on Charlotte Wells Slaughter's family: Portrait and Biographical Record of Orange County, New York, Part 1- 1895: Alfred Wells was a farmer near the town of Goshen. He owned a large farm, which he cultivated until his death, in 1891, at the age of eighty-seven years. Charlotte's mother was formerly Lydia Nyce, a native of Pennsylvania. She was a daughter of John Nyce, who was a farmer of Pike County, Pa., and was descended from German ancestors. Mrs. Nyce reached the age of sixty-three years, dying in October, 1873. The family were Presbyterians, and were thoroughly identified with the good works of that organization. They had eleven children, and all grew to years of maturity. Eight of the family are still living. Of this family we make the following mention: Jerome, the eldest, is deceased; Edward is a farmer; John N. is a resident of San Francisco, Cal.; Mary G. is the next in order of birth; Kate, now Mrs. Slaughter, makes her home in Orange County; George W. is a physician of Brooklyn; Moses A. is interested in real estate in Chicago; Eugene F. and Lewis are deceased; Charlotte, now Mrs. Slaughter, lives at Waverly, N. Y.; and Charles S. is on the home farm. {Charlotte's sister Kate, married Samuel Mills Slaughter. While Charlotte married Samuel Wickham Slaughter}

July 8, 1891 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Press: Waverly, July 8 - ... The Packer Hospital at Sayre is soon to be refitted throughout with steam heat apparatus and other improvements. ...One of the shoe merchants here kicked on the 7 o'clock closing movement, and in consequence the shoe stores now keep open until 8 o'clock. - The mason work on the new town hall building was commenced Monday and is progressing rapidly. It will take two weeks to lay the cellar wall. - The VanDerlip property on Park avenue was sold Monday at mortgage sale, the highest bidder being J. T. Sawyer who held the mortgage and bid $1,800 advance. - Mr. and Mrs. L. D. Atwater have issued invitations for a large reception to be held at their elegant home on Park place this evening in honor of their third anniversary. - The iron clad building on the Jenkins lot was moved to-day to make room for the erection of the Spaulding memorial block which, when completed, will be the finest in town.... The bids for the Spaulding memorial block have been advertised and will be opened on July 15th when the contract will be let. The plans of the building show it to be when completed, the handsomest buiness block on Broad street. It will be erected by the Jenkins estate in memory of the late Owen Spaulding, one of Waverly's earliest settlers and foremost citizens. ... (Rev. H. D. Jenkins, one of Owen Spalding's adopted sons, had inherited Spalding's estate)

September 10, 1891 Elmira Daily Gazette: Waverly News in Brief. Mrs. S. W. Slaughter of Chemung street very highly entertained about sixty young people last evening at a musical talent of this village. The entertainment was one of pleasure and delight, and a thoroughly enjoyable time was reported.

September 15, 1891 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Press: After a delay of two weeks, the stone work for the new town hall building finally arrived yesterday and is being put in position to-day. The building will now soon be enclosed.

October 17, 1891 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Press: Correspondence From Waverly, Sayre, Watkins and Other Places. Mr. and Mrs. Charles E. Scott and family of this place are in attendance at the funeral of Mrs. Scott's father, Amos Pennypacker, a highly respected citizen of Towanda who died on Wednesday.

John Secord will on Monday commence work remodeling the residence of Percy L. Lang at the corner of Waverly and Chemung streets, which when completed will be one of the finest in the village.

October 26, 1891 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Press: THE OLDEST FIREMAN. Joseph Hallett of Waverly Gathered to His Fathers. IN HIS EIGHTY-SECOND YEAR. An Interesting Sketch of the Venerable Gentleman Who Gave to the Village of Waverly its Beautiful Name and has Lived There so Long. Waverly, Oct. 26 - Saturday evening occurred the death of Joseph Hallett, the oldest recognized fireman in the state. Mr. Hallett had been upon a bed of sickness for many months, and his death had been momentarily expected. He leaves a wife and four children, namely: Hatfield Hallett and Mrs. C. F. Spencer of this village, Mrs. Fannie Robertson of Middletown, N. Y. and Mrs. Lon Miller of Patterson, N. J. Joseph Hallett, the subject of our sketch, was born in the city of New York, October 10th, 1810, and consequently was a little past eighty-one years of age. In his early boyhood he learned the trade of carpenter, and worked with his father in the metropolis until his nineteenth birthday, when he went to Orange county, where he spent four years of farming life. He was married March 18th, 1833 to Mary Houston of Middletown, N. Y., and a few days thereafter he left that village for Tioga county, making the distance in eight days owing to the then unavailable means of travel. With Mr. Hallett to Waverly came his father, Joseph and brother Gilbert. They purchased a farm of 100 acres, in the vicinity where his present residence is now situated, and for five years pursued the avocation of a farmer. He then returned to his old occupation as a carpenter which he pursued for some time. Mr. Hallett cast his first vote in Middletown for Andrew Jackson, and has voted at every presidential election from that time up to the present period. In the year 1843 Mr. Hallett built the first residence ever erected on Waverly street, and was, in fact, the first comfortable home ever erected in the village. He has in his possession a deed for 1,000 acres of land situated in "Ellistown," which was purchased by John Hanna of P. Lorillard of New York City. Mr. Hallett used to travel on horseback to the city with a saddlebag of gold to make payments upon the property. Mr. Hallett also enjoys the distinction and honor of being the person who named this village. He was accorded the privilege and selected the name from the immortal works of Sir Walter Scott. The warmest spot in Mr. Hallett's heart has always been upon the side of the firemen, and he justly deserves the honor of the title he bears, "that of the oldest fireman in the state." At the evacuation celebration in New York city a few years ago he was accorded the place of honor in the parade for being the oldest fireman in line. Mr. Hallett was a recognized leader in all the workings of the Methodist church, being an active, devoted and earnest Christian worker at all times. Kind and lovable in his family relations, honorable and active in his public workings, he leaves this world without an enemy. The funeral is to be held at the family residence on Chemung street Tuesday afternoon of this week and will be in charge of the local order of Odd Fellows, of whom he was an active member. All the secret orders of the village together with the hose companies of the village in uniform will take part in the exercises, and there will doubtless be large numbers of firemen present from all parts of the state. The pall bearers will be the grandsons of the deceased, namely: Harry Hallett and C. F. Spencer of Waverly, Edmund Robertson of Middletown and Lon Miller of Paterson, N. J. Through the kindness of members of the family the GAZETTE reporter was accorded the privilege of looking over a scrap-book, in which Mr. Hallett has clippings of all the incidents relating to his career as a fireman, and many other notes of interest. Among them was a note of thanks written in the handwriting of the LeMarquis de Rochambeau, who was stationed at the Arlington hotel in Washington, for a photograph of a chocolate kettle which was owned by Count Rochambeaus when he started from White Plains for Yorktown to take part in the capture of Cornwallis, and which kettle was left with Mr. Hallett's father. (207 Chemung Street, Known as Woodbine Cottage)

(Marquis de Rochambeau (1836-1897) was the grandson of the Count de Rochambeau, who commanded the French army sent to America in the later phases of the American Revolution and who shared with General George Washington in the triumph at Yorktown.)

October 28, 1891 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Press: Joseph Hallett Buried. One of the Largest Funerals Ever Held in Waverly. Waverly, Oct. 28-The funeral of the late Joseph Hallett, the oldest fireman in the state of New York, and interesting account of whose life and death appeared in these columns Monday evening was held at his late residence on Chemung street yesterday afternoon at 2:30 o'clock, and was without doubt one of the largest funerals ever held in this village. The house was crowded to its utmost capacity. The services at the house were in charge of the Rev. W. L. Thorpe, pastor of the M. E. church, who delivered a brief but very eloquent address in the course of which he paid a glowing tribute to the memory of the deceased. After the services at the house, the remains, escorted by the J. E. Hallett Order of American Fireman, the local order of Odd Fellows, Tioga Hose company who marched in the shape of a cross to the grave, Waverly Hook and Ladder company, Spaulding Hose company and Cayuta Hose of East Waverly, also a small delegation of the old Exempt Neptune Engine company of which the deceased was the honored foreman, proceeded to the Forest Home cemetery where a prayer was offered, and the remains were deposited in their last resting place. There was a large number present at the services from out of town including Chief Campbell of the Elmira department, and Dr. Henry Clarke of Binghamton. (207 Chemung Street, Known as Woodbine Cottage)

November 6, 1891 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Presss: Waverly, Nov. 6 - The residence of Percy L. Lang at the corner of Chemung and Waverly streets is being remodeled into one of the handsomest residences in this village. J. Munroe Lyford will occupy Mr. Lang's present residence.

November 21, 1891 The Waverly Free Press: Headquarters for overcoats and underwear, gloves and mittens, and all styles of clothing for men and boys at Sol Unger’s, at manufacturing prices. S. E. Ellis, Manager.

December 19, 1891 The Waverly Free Press: A Graphic Pen Picture from the Facile Pen of One of the Early Settlers. ... My Waverly! ...Thirty-Six Years Ago. My youthful feet first trod the streets of that now thriving town. At that time the village contained fewer than nine hundred inhabitants. There was but one building north of the line of Chemung street, except on Waverly street; and nobody was wild enough to believe that there ever would be another. A tavern and some industrial establishments which ante-dated the railroad, stood at and near Waverly and Chemung streets; but with the advent of the great New York and Erie Railroad, as it was then called, everybody supposed the future of the village or hamlet would be clustered around the depot, and Waverly's progress northward was merely a dreamy flight of fancy. Indeed, there was no Waverly even then. The village had been incorporated but a year or two, and the railway company of that date hadn't found it out apparently; for when I arrived I found my baggage had been checked to "Factoryville."/ Gallant Little Tioga. How well I remember my first glimpse of my new home as locomotive No. 23, "Tioga," let me down at your hospitable village. Little "Tioga" (for she would be but a toy now) was beloved in Waverly, for she proudly pulled the Day Express, which might have passengeers from New York or Boston for Chicago or San Francisco, and she was named for the county and Waverly, too. All the town was at the depot - oh, no; not to greet me, but little "Tioga." How fashionable it was in those days to crowd the station platform every afternoon when the Dunkirk Express was due; and then when she rounded the curve at Factoryville a Bert Whitaker, or a "Colonel" Davis, or an Ike Richardson could tell with his eyes shut from the tone of her whistle whether the engine was little "Tioga" or not. The Erie named its engines then; and after the counties of the state. There was plenty of material: there were fully sixty counties. But now - ! Well, go down-to the depot, and read the numbers. I, too, soon learned to love "Tioga." She must have long since gone to the locomotive heaven - the inexorable scrap heap./ Waverly's Single Railroad. In 1855 there was precisely one railroad in Waverly, the Erie; and, humiliating as it may seem now, the village was practically merely a watering station for locomotives; situated, as it is, about equi-distant from the then pompous villages of Elmira and Owego. She also bore the official railroad name of "Factoryville;" and her own true name when spelled by anybody ten miles out of town invariably found a redundant e in the last syllable. How well do I remember when, occasionally, some long-headed citizen delivered his oracular barrel-head lecture in some grocery to the effect that "some time or other; you mark my words; we may not live to see the day; a railroad to the coal fields will be built down through this here Susquehanna valley, where the grades are much easier," how we light-hearted, know-it-all boys got around behind the stove and laughed the old man to scorn./ Railroads then were merely railroads, and not immense systems as now; but an ordinary railroad then was a more serious thing than is a system now. How well I remember hearing in that year of 1855 a disgruntled Waverly merchant, who had been disappointed in the non-receipt of his freight, declare that "By jocks, I wish there was another railroad to New York right alongside of this Erie!" Little did anybody ever think then that within a few short years there would be three! Nobody had then so far gone out of his senses as to build up a possibility of a railroad along Shepard's Creek. Everybody knew that Jim Murray's merry ejaculation "Up the creek!" was a fair synonym for anything whatever that was ephemeral, absurd, or utterly out of the question. Not a Waverly man would have been able to understand where under the sun a railroad "up the creek" could possibly go to or come from. But, like the heathen Chinee, it got there all the same./ In 1855, Waverly had never felt the throbbing influences of railroadism. She was not a railroad town, as she most emphatically is now. Many of her citizens were, to be sure, railway men, but they were right at the station. You can count upon your fingers all those who were then employed on the trains. There were "Flying" Goodell, who was engineer of the night express, and ran old "No. 100" with her broken spokes, Lewis and Ike Richardson, Charley Graves (who gave me my first free ride, God bless him!) Doc. Mathewson, "Colonel" Davis, Hank Gridley, and possibly one or two more. The exigency of their work required most of even these to live in Hornellsville or Susquehanna; so that Waverly's contribution to the railway service consisted chiefly of a station agent, a telegraph operator, a baggageman, a book-keeper, two or three men of all work, including a man to switch cars with a pinch-bar. What would a railroad census of Waverly reveal now?/ Saved As By Magic. In 1855, when you left the Erie railway tracks to go southward you left civilization behind for a while, and traversed the sterile and dreary Athens plains, only to find relief four or five miles away at Athens itself. Not a dozen houses were on the corporation south of the tracks, (yet Waverly claimed Charley Millspaugh, Jacob Reel, Pen Ackley, Patsey Moore, and such, as her own) and with the exception of the picturesque winding lane, called Milltown, and a scattered farmhouse here and there over the shrubby area, there was nothing to relieve the eye till it rested upon that perennial, never-changing, glorious vista - that gateway through the mountains, where the beautiful Susquehanna bids Waverly farewell forever, and again takes up her long journey to the sea./ Yes, the mills that gave Milltown her name had stopped, and the factories of Factoryville had succombed to the inevitable. Athens, too, the birthplace of Joshua R. Giddings, with her long, straight, magnificent, beshaded avenue, had been stricken as with dry rot. A vigorous rival was springing up close at hand - one that had a great railway and a sure future, and one that was mercilessly demanding tribute from her conquered neighbors. Fences were leaning in Athens, buildings were remaining unpainted, and old hats were appearing in her broken windows, when presto! - the oracle delivered on the soap box in the Waverly grocery by "Old Smarty," as we thought him, became vividly and strikingly exemplified./ ...

We'll Call It Ours Anyhow. The delta between the Chemung and Susquehanna rivers that embraces part of the township of Athens and the boroughs of South Waverly, Sayre and Athens, ought to be part of the state of New York and part of the city of Waverly. There are nearly 20,000 industrious, enterprising inhabitants in all those communities, and New York influences brought them there originally. New York was generous to Pennsylvania once, and gave her part of a county, a city and a port of entry upon the great lake system - a region much larger and more populous than this delta we are clamorous for - and which she never could have enjoyed but by the bounty of the Empire state. Let those who doubt this follow the due east-and -west line of the boundary that passes Waverly, as displayed on any school map, and then consult the legal records, which are open to everybody. If New York hadn't opened her heart, Pennsylvania would have had no lake port, and the city of Erie would be in Chautauqua county, New York. We have high Biblical authority that we must not remember a good action done, so until Pennsylvania gets ready to give us that delta we'll call it ours anyhow./

North of Chemung street was a wide expanse of farm-land with scarcely a single house upon it. All the streets running up from the south ended at Chemung, and the corporation line itself was not far off. Capt. Davis's grove on the hill side, where we gathered May apples in the spring, attended camp meeting in the summer and slaughtered squirrels in the autumn, has ceased to exist. The delightful glen, to the west, the course of Dry Brook, so enchanting for a stroll on Sunday - or on any other day with you best girl - like a startled fawn - has vanished under the influences of rifle ranges, water works and other marches of civilization./ And now, speaking of Chemung street, how many of your good readers know its origin? That long, straight road, with its jog at the upper end, was there long before Waverly was ever thought of. Well, the highway between Elmira and Owego, when they were both in Tioga county, made a short detour into Pennsylvania, and there arose a legal question that prisoners while being taken to Owego jail, from Elmira, might be subjects for habeas corpus proceedings while in the jurisdiction of Pennsylvania. To meet the difficulty, the authorities cut a new road from near the state line part of the old road, to the Ellistown road in Factoryville, and that the new road is the beautifual village avenue to-day, called Chemung street./ Waverly On The East. To the east, the corporation ended at the "forks of the road" just beyond Senator Bristol's house. Then came Factoryville. Factoryville held her head high then, and she had reason. Think of it: all Waverly had to go to Factoryville to church. There were no Methodist or Baptist churches in Waverly. All Waverly had to go to Factoryville to vote. Factoryville had a long start of Waverly, and she knew it and was proud. Waverly's first offers to annex Factoryville were sarcastically met with Factoryville's offet to annex Waverly; and she tauntingly asked Waverly that if "Waverly" was her real name why she spelled it on her railway tickets and baggage checks "Factoryville." Waverly was abashed, and negotiations were postponed. There was considerable ill feeling developed on both sides, and some times when I read your Waverly papers, I am driven to the conclusion that thirty-six years has not altogether effaced the bitterness./ We boys felt the rivalry too; and to us it was much more serious than to the older politicians. Factoryville was again triumphant. We couldn't go bathing of skating without going to Factoryville; and what is life but a lingering grave to a boy when he cannot go in bathing or go skating? Waverly had no Shepard's creek, no Pembleton's pond, and so surrendered at discretion. But boys have a modus vivendi that is unknown to men. Given a tree to jump out of into a millpond; a pond to skate on; an orchard or a cider mill to rob, and minor difficulties are buried in oblivion. Oh, yes, we boys' were born diplomatists. An impending difficulty need not have been settled with clenched fists; it never was allowed to get as far as that. A mere visit to Nelse Stuart's barn ro chaff Nelse about his pet horse, was sure to make him storm, and rage, and chase us with a club, and peace flowed into all our souls immediately./ ...

The West End. Of Waverly is the same old west end it was in 1855, and the eyes that rested upon it then, and rest upon it now, take no note of the rolling years. The boys steal Mr. Shepard's chestnuts yet, as we did, I hope (they would not be boys else); but the numberless rattlesnakes in the "narrows" have disappeared, to the great regret of Mr. Shepard, I suppose, for the manifest reason conveyed in the connection. And there also is Shepard's island, where we fish all day with a result that is best described by the commercial term nil; and whence we bring home our bait again, as Hod Whitaker put it, "in the cleanest, purest condition - having washed it in the Chemung river all day." Spanish Hill still stands there in her majesty, and it would be iconoclasm to destroy its graceful contours on the plea of village improvements. I suppose the Waverly boys continue to pour into the eager ears of gaping strangers the same tough old yarns about the origin of Spanish Hill; that the Indians turned out en masse to cover up their gold mine, etc., just as we did over thirty years ago. I am writing ancient history, I confess; but I do not wish to be too infernally ancient; but the exigencies of the "straight tip" require me to inform all who are anxious to know the real origin of Spanish Hill, that they will find it in their geologies under the heading of the "Glacier System, or Drift."/ In my boyhood days Spanish Hill and its vicinity had a marvelous charm for me. Along its wooded foot was the home of the partridge and the quail and the squirrel; and a fishing rod or gun was often my dearest companion. If the killing of anything alive is scored up against us as murder, oh! what an account have I to settle! A little further along was the natural pigeon roost, where at certain times of the year, the migrating or returning pigeons rested from their long flights. They came in countless thousands and broke down the trees by their weight. My personal veracity being at stake, I would not dare here to recount the vast numbers of bags, barrels, bales, baskets and wagon-loads of these birds that have been slaughtered here in a single night with no more serious a weapon than a walking stick. Billy Courtright's boast of "forty pigeons at one shot," was not a marker to this./ ...

December 1891 Waverly Free Press: To one who left Waverly in 1855 and returned in 1891, his first impression would be that the forests had changed places with the village. Then the horizon all around was wooded; now the circumjacent hills are denuded of their forests, and the shade trees in the streets have grown amazingly. The shade tree was conspicuously absent in my Waverly days. Most of those that were, I could easily span with my hands; now they have got to be hoary old monarchs that I can scarcely clasp about with my two arms. It takes more than people and houses to make a town - the very trees, too, have an individuality. In 1855 a map of Waverly had just been produced, along the margins of which were views of several of the finest residences in town. Most of those residences are standing to-day; yet if another map were published it is not likely that a single one of them would hold the exalted honor. The inference is that you live in better houses; you have grown more wealthy; your artisans are more skillful; your tastes are higher; your education had advanced; you are a happier community. You have broadened out in every direction but one. Where once were fields now finds your centre of population. The same of all this is true of all “My Waverly.” Sayre had no existence, so that is all gain; but the buildings have improved also in Athens, in Factoryville, in Milltown - everywhere; and I congratulate you that you have felt the influence of the railroad, the telegraph, the newspaper, the pulpit and the school.

December 20, 1891 Elmira Daily Gazette: Elmira at Waverly. Architect Bickford was in Waverly yesterday, looking over Percy Lang's residence in that place, which is being modernized.

December 26, 1891 The Waverly Free Press: S. H. Ellis has recently invented and perfected an adjustable table for easels, which is applicable to those that have straight or beveled standards. It is the neatest thing of its class, we have seen. (In 1891 also invented “certain new and useful improvements in Bicycles” “new and useful improvements in attachments for bicycle forks and frames for destroying the vibrations of the wheels and axles” Patented Jan. 26, 1892.)

January 1892 The Waverly Free Press: Some of the "oldest-inhabitants, " have been figuring up how long some shaved pine shingles have been on some of the roofs re-shingled in this place the past month, and it was decided that one roof was put on about forty-five, and the other fifty years ago. They were worn through, but not rotten, as most roofs are.

April 2, 1892 Waverly Free Press: Mrs. Helen M. Bullock, of Elmira, delivered a very interesting address to a large audience at the Methodist church parlors last Sunday afternoon. Mrs. Bullock spoke in the interests of the "Anchorage" of Elmira, a home for erring and fallen women. The field of that institution has been widened by a law permitted justices in Tioga, Broome and some other counties to committ girls to the care of the "Anchorage." This act will cause interest in that noble work to increase, and it will doubtless be supported in the manner it deserves. After the address, Miss Clemmie Sheldon sang "The ninety and nine" in a very effective manner, after which a generous collection was taken, amounting to sixty dollars. Others who may whish to contribute to this noble cause may leave their contributions with Mrs. Emma C. Woodruff, Athens street.

1892 New York Census Waverly: no house numbers. William W. McEwen 44 janitor, Lunella M. McEwen 36, Arthur L. McEwen 14, Ray McEwen 11, Fred E. McEwen 7 - . Azariah VanAtta 63 carpenter, Corlista E. VanAtta 62, John C. VanAtta 32 druggist, Carrie A. VanAtta. - S. Wickham Slaughter 54 druggist, Laura Dewyer 25, Charlotte W. Slaughter 42, Mary G. Slaughter 2, Maggie Sheahan 24, Arminda Sharp 62.( Slaughter names were in order that way, no idea if in same household or not, census was just a list of people.) - Thomas Keeler 40 born in England painter, Mary D. Keeler 35.

April 18, 1892 Elmira Daily Gazette: Waverly, N. Y., April 18. - Charles H. Sawyer, a pioneer resident of this village, and one of the most widely known men in this section of the country, expired at his home on Chemung street, late Saturday afternoon, in the 65th year of his age. Mr. Sawyer was respected by all who knew him, and his death is a severe blow to the many friends whom he numbered in his acquaintance. He was a prominent member and elder in the Presbyterian church. For several years his health has been feeble, and he had lived a retired life, although he was always more or less interested in the welfare of the village. He leaves a wife and son, Fred A. who is cashier in the Citizen's bank. The funeral will be held at the family home on Wednesday afternoon at 2 o'clock.

Hatfield H. Hallett, who sold his grocery business on Friday last to James Whitaker, has accepted a position to manage the same, and clerks Bert Parsons and Beverly Davanport will be retained.

May 7, 1892 Waverly Free Press: Murray Fairchild, who was formerly an insurance agent in this place, has opened an office at his residence, corner Waverly and Chemung streets, as an adjuster of losses by fire.

May 7, 1892 Waverly Free Press: An old building was being moved up Waverly street this week, but was finally stopped not far above Chemung street, and is being torn down, as too worthless to move further.

May 17, 1892 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Press: A Wedding This Evening. Mr. and Mrs. James A. Clarke and Mrs. S. W. Slaughter of Waverly are in Elmira to-day in attendance at the marriage of Miss Gertrude, daughter of Henry G. Mercereau of No. 110 Chemung Place to Ira Grant Dodge of Waverly, N. Y. The ceremony will be performed at 7:30 this evening in the presence of only a few invited guests.

June 27, 1892 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Press: Waverly, N. Y. - June 27 - All the arrangements are now perfected for the elaborate celebration of the fourth of July. A brilliant street parade is to be given in the morning at 10 a.m. which will be headed by the Robert A. Packer band of Sayre, and followed by the various civic and military societies, fire departments from home and abroad, as well as a string of bicycles and fatastics. At 1:30 o'clock in the afternoon the races will be held, and in the evening will occur a grand display from some elevated point. It is expected that the village will be thronged with visitors.

Invitations are out announcing the marriage of Miss Carrie Huggins, a well known young lady of this place residing on Athens street, to Samuel Myers. The ceremony will be performed at the home of the bride Wednesday evening. (21 Tioga street, corner of Athens and Tioga street)

June 30, 1892 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Press: Waverly Weddings. Waverly, N. Y., June 30. - ... The residence of Mrs. Huggins on Athens street was the scene of a delightful social event last evening, the occasion being the marriage of her daughter, Miss Carrie, to Samuel Myers, the genial young agent at the Tioga laundry. The house was completely filled with their many friends, and a most delightful evening was the result. At promptly 7:30 o'clock the bridal couple were united by the Rev. Linn E. Wheeler, pastor of the Baptist church. Following the ceremony a delightful repast was served, and the newly married couple left for a sojourn throughout the Eastern states. Mr. and Mrs. Myers were the recipients of a large number of beautiful souveniers from their numerous friends. (21 Tioga Street)

July 30, 1892 The Waverly Free Press: E. L. Seeley was very pleasantly surprised by a company of friends, at his home on Athens street, last Saturday evening, the occasion being the celebration of his birthday anniversary, which occured on Sunday.

September 1892 The Waverly Free Press: For Sale- Phaeton in good running order, cheap. One wolf skin robe, nearly new, also 5 ft. nickle-mounted show case. C. R. Burritt, No. 7 Athens, Waverly, N. Y. (In July 1888, the Burritt's were living in Sayre, PA and their daughter was born) (In 1888, Mrs. H. A. Harris, of Ithaca was visiting her daughter, Mrs. C. R. Burritt and also Mrs. C. R. Burritt visited her mother, Mrs. Presher, in Ithaca May 1888.)(7 Athens Street, was the octagon home rental, owned by Samuel Slaughter)

October 15, 1892 Middletown Times: Mr. S. W. Slaughter, of Waverly, has been visiting in this vicinity.

December 8, 1892 Owego, N. Y. Tioga County Record: OBSERVATIONS. By The Record's Observer. Tioga county is to have an electric street railway in the near future and it will be built largely by Waverly money and enterprise. It will connect Waverly, Sayre and Athens, which will no doubt soon feel the beneficial effects of their activity and enterprise.

1893? The Waverly Free Press: A "grip social" will be given at the residence of Mrs. Huggins, on Athens street, Saturday evening. No, you will not get the grip by going, but will have an enjoyable time. It will be given by the Good Templars, who invite all their friends to attend.(21 Tioga street, Waverly NY)

1893 map; Large home covering lands of 3 and 5 Athens street, using address of 5 Athens street. Octagon home at 7 Athens street. Carriage house at 9 Athens street, with another carriage house behind and between 7 and 9 Athens street. Outbuilding back and between carriage house at 9 Athens and home at 208 Chemung street, our current "Alluring Artiste" . Homes at 4, 6, and 8 Athens street.

March 2, 1893 Owego, N. Y. Tioga County Record: Henry Foster of the Elmira National bank passed Sunday at his home on Fulton street.

June 3, 1893 The Waverly Free Press: Waverly now has the nearest to an electric railroad that has ever been seen in this valley. The tracks have been laid from the west end of Chemung street to Orchard street, with underground wire strung nearly as far. A large number of the poles have been erected, and the work is progressing rapidly, with about one hundred men toiling all the time this rainy weather will permit. No fault can be found thus far with the way the track has been laid.

Born. Vanatta - In Waverly, N.Y., Wednesday, May 24, 1893, to Mr. and Mrs. E. H. VanAtta, a daughter.

August 7, 1893 Elmira NY Star Gazette: Ad with picture. I know That Hood's Cures and cordially recommend Hood's Carsaparilla to all suffering with indigestion, impure blood, tremors, loss of appetite or run down. It will surely help you if there is any help for you. I have used it myself and in our family for at least fifteen years. I have found it of very great benefit for malaria, chills, and fever, rheumatism kidney complaint and catarra, even when I considered myself incurable. Henry S. Foster, Scarborough, N. Y. (From February to June of 1858, a Henry S. Foster owned the octagon house that was on our property)

August 12, 1893 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Press: From Waverly. Waverly, N. Y., Aug. 12 - Fred Chaffee has leased the Paine residence on Athens street and will take up residence there in the near future. (In most other references, the name was spelled, Payne)

September 14, 1893 Elmira NY Star Gazette: Waverly Firemen's Parade. Full Details of the Approaching Event - Other Waverly News. The thirty-eighth annual parade of the Waverly fire department will take place Tuesday, September 19th. Last evening Chief Smith visited all the business men and requested them to close their stores from 1 to 4 p.m. on that day. The line will form promptly at 2:15 p.m., in front of the town hall in the following order: R. A. Packer band of Sayre, Pa., Waverly Protective Fire Police, Tioga Hose Co., No. 1, Waverly Hook and Ladder Co., No. 2, New Waverly band, Spalding Hose Co., No. 3, Cayuta Hose Co., No. 4, President and village trustees and ex-chiefs in carriages. Line will form right resting on Pennyslvania avenue and move out at 2:30 as follows: Down Broad street to Pennsylvania avenue, through Park avenue to Tioga street, through Tioga street to Waverly street, to Broad street, down Broad street to Cayuta avenue, up Cayuta avenue to Chemung street and countermarch to Ithaca street, up Ithaca street to Chemung street, up Chemung street to Waverly street, up Waverly street to Clinton avenue, through Clinton avenue to Fulton street, down Fulton street to Broad street, up Broad street to Clark street, up Clark street to Chemung street, up Chemung street to Pine street, down Pine street to Broad street, to Pennsylvania and countermarch to headquarters and disband. In case of unfavorable weather, the parade will occur the next day at same hour. Citizens along the line should show their appreciation of our fire department by decorating their houses.

September 24, 1893 Elmira Telegram: Mr. and Mrs. Wick Slaughter and the Misses Elmer, of Waverly, were in the city Monday en route for Chicago. (Newspaper had a typo, they had and N inplace of W for Wick. Samuel Wickham Slaughter's nickname was Wick. and they had relatives in Chicago.)

November 1893 The Waverly Free Press: W. B. Camp is doing the acrhitect work for Dr. Tucker's new house in Waverly.

December 10, 1893 Elmira Telegram: S. W. Slaughter, of Waverly, was in the city on business on Thursday afternoon.

February 15, 1894 The Owego Record: Grand And Trial Jurors. Those Drawn to Serve at the Coming Session of the County Court and Court Sessions. At the court house this morning the following were drawn as grand and trial jurors to serve at a term of county court and court sessions, to begin on Monday, March 5. Grand Jurors.... Trial Jurors. Barton - ...S. W. Slaughter, ...

Spring 1894 The Waverly Free Press: House For Rent, - Inquire at No 5 Athens street. (An 1893 Sanborn map show a large house at 5 Athens st., which occupied today's 3 & 5 Athens St.)

1894? Owego: Waverly’s New Invention. The Ellis manufacturing company is a new local concern for which articles of incorporation are being drawn. It will manufacture an air gas generator which W. H. & S. H. Ellis of this place recently invented. This generator produces a vast amount of heat and takes the place of an alcohol lamp and blow pipe. The invention generates from gasoline a gas which can be used for brazing and melting metals, etc. It uses so little gasoline and produces so much heat at small expense that the backers of the company are confident that the invention will have a big sale. Waverly cor. Elmira Advertiser. (1893 invented new and useful improvements for inflators for pneumatic tires)

1894 The Waverly Free Press: Wanted - 400 pairs of pigeons. Address E. R. Cox, Waverly, N. Y.

May 29, 1894 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Press: Waverly, N. Y., May 28. - The specifications for paving Broad street have been drawn up by the trustees after a good deal of deliberation. They are very rigid, and any fraud on the part of the contractor will be impossible. The following are some of the specifications: Everyone who bids for the contract must enclose a certificate check for $1,000 to guarantee their good faith. The contractor whose bid is accepted must give bonds of $5,000 and ten per cent of the amount of his bid will be retained by the corporation for one year to cover any defects which may appear in the pavement. The work will be executed under the management of a supervisor appointed by the trustees, he will have complete control over the entire work. Labor living within the corporation shall have preference, unless combination on wages is effected to the detriment of the contractor. This does not apply to skilled labor. The brick and cement will all be thoroughly tested before it is accepted. The foundation is to consist of six inches of grouting covered with Resendale cement and two inches of sand. The bids will be kept open until Tuesday, June 5th at 12 noon. The contractor who receives the bid must complete the work in seventy-five days from date of execution of contract.

June 21, 1894 Elmira Gazette: Wedding at Waverly. Special Dispatch to the Gazette. Waverly, N. Y., June 21- The marriage of Harry W. Knapp of the dry goods from J. W. Knapp & Son, to Miss Mary Phillips, daughter of T. J. Phillips, occurred this morning at the home of the latter on Waverly street. The announcement of the marriage will be a complete surprise to every one.

June 28, 1894 Owego, N. Y. Tioga County Record: Waverly's Electric Cars. The First Trip Made Saturday Afternoon Amid Great Enthusiasm. Waverly, June 23, 2:30 p. m. [Special] - The first car on the Waverly- Sayre - Athens electric railroad came up to Waverly from the power house at 1:53 this afternoon and left on the return trip at 2:05. Great enthusiasm was manifested by the people along the line. The electric street railroad is no longer a theory but an assured fact. A. F. Broadhead and A. C. Wade of Jamestown, N. Y., the contractors by whom the road was built, arrived on Erie train S this afternoon and were among the passengers on the first run over their road.

Aug. 24, 1894 Samuel Slaughter died from Bright's disease (was born Nov. 8, 1837) 56 years

August 25, 1894 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Press: Waverly, N. Y. Aug. 25 - S. W. Slaughter, one of Waverly's formost citizens, died at his home on Chemung street last evening of Bright's disease after a long illness. He leaves of his immediate family a wife and baby girl to mourn his loss. He was for years engaged in the drug business in this town, and was always ready with his influence and money to forward any movement for the public good and his private generosity to the needy is known to every one. In his death Waverly suffers a severe loss. He was at the time of his death vice president and also director of the Citizen's bank. He was also a director in the Waverly Water Works Company and the Hall & Lyons furniture company. His funeral will probably be held Monday afternoon, and his remains will be taken to Goshen for burial. He was a member of the Tioga hose company and probably the entire fire department will attend the funeral in a body. Rev. J. L. Taylor, of Clevland, Ohio, the former pastor of the Presbyterian church at this place, will officiate at the service which will be held at the house.

August 25, 1894 Middletown Daily Argus from Middletown, New York · Page 5
Publication: Samuel W. Slaughter. Mr. Samuel Wickham Slaughter died at Waverly, last evening, after an illness of several years. He was a son of DeWitt and Carrie Mills Slaughter, the latter a sister of Dr. S. W. Mills, of Port Jervis. His wife, Charlotte Wells, of Goshen, with one child, survives him. Dr. T. D. Mills, of this city, is a nephew of the deceased. The body will be brought to this city, on Tuesday, August 28, and the funeral will take place at the Scotchtown Presbyterian Church at 2 p. m. on that day. The interment will be in the family plot at Scotchtown.{June 3, 1898 Middletown Daily Argus: Sent To Waverly For Burial. The remains of Samuel Wickham Slaughter, which have rested in a vault in Phillipsburg cemetery, since 1894, were today sent to Waverly for burial. Glenwood Cemetery}

August 1894 Port Jervis Tri States Union: Samuel Wickham Slaughter. Mr. Samuel Wickham Slaughter, a prominent and wealthy resident of Waverly, N.Y., died Friday evening at his home in that village. The remains will be brought to Middletown and the funeral will occur at Scotchtown Tuesday, at 2 o'clock p.m. The deceased was a son of Dewitt Slaughter and Caroline Mills Slaughter, the latter a sister of Rev S. W. Mills, D. D., of Port Jervis, and aunt of Dr. T. D. Mills of Middletown. The deceased was a namesake of Rev. Dr. Mills. Mr. Slaughter married Charlotte Wells, daughter of Alfred Wells of the town of Goshen. He is survived by his wife and one daughter, aged about four years. Mr. Samuel M. Slaughter of Crystal Run is a cousin of the deceased, and his wife is a sister of Mrs. Slaughter. The deceased was engaged in the drug business in Waverly for many years, retiring from business some years ago on account of his declining health. He has been in poor health for a number of years. - Middletown Times.

August 28, 1894 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Press: Regular Correspondence - NEIGHBORHOOD NEWS - OF - The Latest Current News in the Gazette's Territory. Our Letter From Waverly. -

Waverly, N.Y. , Aug. 28. - The funeral of the late S. W. Slaughter was held from the elegant home on Chemung street yesterday afternoon at 4 o'clock, and was very largely attended by the representative people of Waverly, who had gathered to pay their last respects to the deceased. The service was opened by the entire congregation repeating the Lord's Prayer in concert. The Rev. P. R. Ross then read the 90th Psalm, after which the Rev. J. L. Taylor of Cleveland, O., who was for many years pastor of the Presbyterian church at this place, and who was very intimately acquainted with Mr. Slaughter, made a very feeling and appropriate address. He said that instead of standing and talking to the friends and mourners it seemed to him more appropriate that he should set wtih them and listen to some one else. His relationship to the deceased had been so near and so intimate that he could scarcely control himself to speak in regard to it. He told how Mr. Slaughter came to Waverly as a boy, and after his marriage he had united with the Presbyterian church when the Rev. Mr. Bates was pastor, at the time when one hundred and twenty made a public profession and joined the church, and from that day he had been an earnest Christian, quiet and unassuming, yet always one of God's noblemen and that his life, though he be dead, speaketh. Our sorrow and tears are not for him, for he is better off, for he has gone to God; our sorrow is for the wife and fatherless child. After his talk Mr. Taylor offered prayer. Rev. P. R. Ross, the present pastor, read from Paul's first Epistle to the Corinthians, the xv chapter, commencing with the 26th verse. He then introduced the Rev. Dr. Jenkins of Sioux City, Mich., a friend of Mr. Slaughter's boyhood, and his remarks were mostly confined to that period of his life, and in a very beautiful manner he portrayed it. The Rev. C. M. Surdam pronounced the benediction. The remains were taken to Goshen for interment on Erie train No. 12 last night. There will be a memorial service next Sunday morning at the Presbyterian church. (In June of 1898, his remains, after resting in a vault in Phillipsburg cemetery, were brought back to Waverly in Glenwood Cemetery for burial.)

September 1, 1894 The Waverly Free Press: Samuel W. Slaughter. The death of Mr. Samuel W. Slaughter, whose serious illness was briefly mentioned in the Free Press last week, occured at his home on Friday night, at about 7 o'clock. Mr. Slaughter was born November 8, 1837, and had lived in Waverly about forty years. He engaged in the drug business about thirty-five years ago, and has been for years closely identified with the best interests of the village. He was succeeded in the drug business by John C. VanAtta, a few years ago, but he was director in the Waverly Water Co., and also in the Hall & Lyon Furniture Co., and was vice president of the Citizens Bank, at the time of his death. He was a man of large wealth which he used conscientiously for the bettering of his fellowmen, and his integrity of character was unquestioned. He was a consistent member of the Presbyterian church, and his loss will be keenly felt by that society. His widow and one daughter, Gertrude, about four years old, survive him. The funeral was held at the late home on Chemung street, Monday afternoon at four o'clock, and was attended by a large company of friends. Rev. P. R. Ross conducuted the sad service, assisted by Rev. J. L. Taylor, of Wyoming, Ohio, a former pastor, and Rev. H. D. Jenkins, of Sioux City, Iowa, a friend of the boyhood days of the deceased. The remains were taken to Scotchtown, about 5 miles from Middletown, for burial. Rev. P. R. Ross accompanied them, and officiated at the last sad rites at the grave.

Died. Slaughter - In Waverly, N. Y., Friday, August 24, 1894. Mr. Samuel Wickham Slaughter, aged 56 years, 9 months, and 16 days.

September 10, 1894 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Press: Mrs. Joseph Hallet died at the home of her daughter, Mrs. J. T. Robertson, of Middletown, Friday, aged 84 years. Her remains were brought to Waverly Saturday and the funeral was held Sunday from the Hallet homestead on Chemung street at 2:30 o'clock. Mrs. Hallet and her later husband, "Uncle Joe" as he was familiarly called were among the earliest settlers in Waverly and they were held in very high esteem by every one. One son, Hatfield Hallet, of this place, and three daughters, Mrs. C. F. Spencer, of this place and Mrs. A. E. Miller, of Paterson, N. J., and Mrs. J. T. Robertson, of Middletown, N. Y., survive.

September 15, 1894 The Waverly Free Press: Mrs. Joseph E. Hallet. The death of Mrs. Joseph E. Hallet occurred at the home of her daughter, Mrs. J. T. Robertson, in Middletown, N.Y., last week Friday night, where she had been ill for about three weeks. She was eighty-four years of age, and was highly respected by the entire community. Her remains were brought to Waverly on Erie train No. 5 Saturday night, and the funeral was held at 2 o'clock Sunday afternoon, at the old Hallet homestead on Chemung street. There was a large attendance. Rev. C. M. Surdam officiated, and the interment was beside he husband, in Forest Home. Mrs. Hallet was born at Phillipsburg, N.Y., near Middletown. Her maiden name was Mary A. Houston. She came to Waverly with her husband, in 1833, whene there were but fifteen houses in the place, and the surrounding country was a dense wilderness of forest. Her life has thus been indentified with the history of Waverly from its beginning, and she was widely known and esteemed by all, for her many good qualities and Christian virtues. Her husband died in 1891. She leaves four children, Hatfield Hallet, and Mrs. Charles F. Spencer, of Waverly, Mrs. J. T. Robertson, of Middletown, and Mrs. A. E. Miller, of Paterson, N.J.

October 11, 1894 Owego Daily Record: Real Estate Transfers. A. P. Eaton, ref to Charlotte W. Slaughter $700.00

November 10, 1894 The Waverly Free Press: Notice To Creditors. Pursuant to an order of Howard J. Mead, Surrogate of the County of Tiogao, notice is hereby given, according to law, to all persons having claims against Samuel W. Slaughter, late of the Town of Barton, in the County of Tioga, deceased, that they are required to present the same, with the vouchers thereof, to F. A. Sawyer, one of the Administrators of the said deceased, at the Citizens Bank, in Waverly, in said county, on or before the tenth day of May, 1895. Dated, Owego, N. Y., November 7, 1894. Charlotte W. Slaughter, Fred A. Sawyer, Administrators.

February 11, 1895 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Press: Gen. Thomas, of Westchester county N. Y., was the first white man who owned the land on which the village of Waverly is located. In 1796, 1,000 acres of this land was purchased by John Shepard. The boundaries of this piece include all of what is now known as Waverly and Factoryville. This tract, at the time, was a wilderness covered by a thick forest, with the exception of a large open field, supposed to have been cleared by the Indians for a corn field. John Shepard had been employed after the close of the revolution as an Indian trader. He was popular with the Indians and went by the name of "Conidehetcut" among them. He became the owner of the first grist mill in the valley, located a little east of Cayuta mills on the site of the old plaster mill. Grists came to his mill often from a distance of fifty miles in canoes down the rivers, or on horseback from the interior. Joshua Pierce, was the first person to locate in what is now Waverly. His house (the old tavern) stood a little west of the village, and was destroyed by fire in 1853. The exact date of Mr. Pierce's settlement is not known. Deacon Ephraim Strong, the next settler came in 1819. His house stood not far from the corner of Broad street and Pennsylvania avenue. About 1825, Deacon Strong's property was purchased by General Wells, who afterward sold it in 1835 to John Spaulding, father of Owen Spalding. The village of Waverly really began to exist when the Erie railroad reached that point in 1849. It was incorporated in 1854, and received the name of Waverly. A strong party contended to the name of Loder instead of Waverly for the village. - Waverly Free Press.

February 16, 1895 Waverly Free Press: A New Cemetery. The Free Press announces with pleasure that plans have been perfected whereby Waverly is to have a new cemetery. This is a subject of grave importance; it is of the dead, yet a very live question. Every lot in Forest Home cemetery was long since sold, and many have been compelled to go out of town to bury their dead. Forest Home is geographically near the center of town, and the time is approaching when it will be condemned and removed. It is not a pleasant thought, but in the natural order of things this will be found to be true. Recognizing this need, a few public spirited citizens have purchased the F. A. Schuyler farm of eighty-seven acres, and will plot a new cemetery early in the spring. But six acres will be plotted to begin with, and this will be enlarged as needed. The land lies southeast of the water works reservoir, a beautiful site, about half mile out of, and overlooking the town. The main drive will be at the brink of the west slope of the glen. The glen is also part of the purchase, and this will be cleared and fitted up as a park, beautified by miniature lakes, shrubbery, etc., and made a delightful resort - just what Waverly needs. A large plot in the new cemetery will be given to W. C. Hull Post on condition that they place a monument on it. This proposition will doubtless be accepted. The soil of the proposed cemetery is dry and is easy to excavate. It is a number of rods below the reservoir and the drainage is directly into dry brook, where none need be afraid of it. The name of the new cemetery will be "Olenwood Cemetery," and the promoters are Dr. W. E. Johnson, Hon. A. G. Allen, F. A. Schuyler, Romaine C. Cole and F. E. Lyford. The papers have all been signed and work will be commenced as soon as the weather will permit. (Olenwood must have been a typo of the paper, it should say Glenwood)

April 13, 1895 The Waverly Free Press: Joseph Knapp, for many years past a resident of this place, died at the state hospital in Binghamton Sunday morning, aged about eighty-two years. The body was brought to Waverly Monday afternoon by Funeral Director Hanford and funeral services were held Tuesday at 10 o'clock from the home of C. M Frisibie on Orchard street. The Rev. P. R. Ross officiated. The deceased leaves of his immediate family two sons, Joseph W. of Waverly and William of Redwood Falls, Wisconsin. Two daughters, Mrs. Brinker of Denver Col., and Mrs. Frisibie of this place, and one brother, Azel Knapp of Talmage Hill, and four sisters, Mrs. Snyder of Waverly, Mrs. Yates of Ithaca, Mrs. Cheeny of Jamaica, Vt., and Mrs. Lucie Stowell of Washington. Mr. Knapp was born in Delhi, N. Y., and came to Waverly in early youth, where he was a resident for the greater part of a century, respected by all who knew him.

April 14, 1895 Elmira Daily Gazette: William Knapp, one of Waverly’s oldest and most highly respected citizens, died at the state hospital in Binghamton, on Sunday morning last, aged about eighty-two years. The body was brought to Waverly on Monday afternoon, and funeral services were held on Tuesday at 10 a. m. from the residence of his son-in-law, C. M. Frisbie, Orchard street, the Rev. P. R. Ross officiating.

“Proceedings Of The Seventeenth Annual Meeting Of The New York State Pharmaceutical Association, Held At Saratoga Springs, June 25th, 26th and 27th, 1895. Also The Constitution, By-Laws and Roll of Members.” Elmira, N. Y.: Advertiser Association, Printers. 1895. Cornell University Library, Gift of N. Y. State Pharmaceutical Association 25/10/95. Samuel W. Slaughter, who joined this association in 1883, died at his home in Waverly, August 24th, 1894. He was born November 8th, 1837, and had lived in Waverly about forty years. About thirty-five years ago he engaged in the drug business, and though he retired from this a few years ago he retained his membership in the association of which he had been so long a member. He was for years closely identified with the best interests of the village. He had an active interest in affairs, being a director of the Waverly Water company; the Hall & Lyon Furniture company and vice-president of the Citizen’s bank at the time of his death. He was a man of large wealth, which he used conscientiously for the good of others, and his loss willl be keenly felt by the community and the church of which he was a member.

June 6, 1895 Van Etten, NY: Mrs. S. W. Slaughter and daughter, Gertie, of Waverly, visited Mr. and Mrs. Jacob A. Westbrook last Thursday. - Mr. and Mrs. Charles Purdy and daughter of Waverly, visited over Sunday at the home of Mr. Purdy's mother, Mrs. Jacob A. Westbrook, in this place.

August 15, 1895 The Tri-States Union, Port Jervis, NY: Beautiful "Camp Lee" One of the Most Attractive of Nearby Summer Resorts. Camping has become such a popular way of passing the summer that some of our citizens have purchased camping grounds and have spent much time and money in the improvement of their property. Such a camp is "Camp Lee" situated in Sullivan county, near Rio, on the beautiful Mongaup river, two miles below the Mongaup Falls. All who have seen the Mongaup river will agree that no more pictuesque or beautiful spot exists. "Camp Lee," as might be inferred from the name, is owned by our townsman, Horace Lee. Mr. Lee purchased a large farm house on the bank of the Maongaup river. It is a fine old house and very commodious. Two large ole-fashioned fire-places are in the house and a large piazza extends nearly the entire length of its front. Since Mr. Lee became the owner of the property he has made many improvements. As many as twenty have stopped in the house at one time. A large party from Middletown and Westtown go there every year and of course Port Jervis doesn't get left and the families of Horace Lee, Chas. Lord, E. M. Gordon and others or our citizens have taken advantage of "Camp Lee." It will not be inhabited during September and Mr. Lee informs us that he would be willing to let any responsible parties have the use of the building. A large number of pictures of the Camp, which are on exhibition in Mr. Lee's grocery store, give a very clear idea of the camp and the surrounding country. A number of camers from Middletown, Westtown and this village are so enthusiastic over the locality that it is the intention of Mr. Lee to build a bowling alley on the place before next summer. (Charlotte and Gertrude Slaughter with friends visited this camp for summer outings. And later Gertrude and George Knapp went on trips to the Knapp cottage, near the mountains of Port Jervis.)

August 29, 1895 Elmira Daily Gazette: Waverly, N. Y., Aug. 29 - Douglas, the two months' old child of Mr. and Mrs. Fred Mosier, died at their home at Chemung Tuesday. The funeral was held from the home yesterday. The burial was at Glenwood cemetery. This is the first interment at Waverly's new cemetery.

August 31, 1895 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Press: FROM WAVERLY. - Guy M. Thompson of Fulton street had the misfortune to have one of the fingers on his left hand cut off at the novelty furniture works yesterday. Two of his other fingers were badly bruised. Dr. Tucker dressed the wounds. (Guy M. Thompson rented one side of the octagon home at 7 Athens street in 1922)

Mrs. J. L. Taylor, wife of the Rev. J. L. Taylor, formerly pastor of the Presbyterian church at this place is visiting Mrs. S. W. Slaughter of Chemung street.

A reception will be given at the G. A. R. hall next Tuesday evening by Waverly's Society young people. The patronesses are Mrs. W. E. Johnson, Mrs. J. C. VanAtta, Mrs. T. A. Sawyer, Mrs. L. D. Atwater and Mrs. J. M. Crandall.

Waverly capitalists have purchased a mica mine near Griffin, N. H., and have organized at Kittery, Maine, under the name of the Waverly Mica Company, with the following officers: President, P. L. Lang; vice president, E. W. Horton; secretary, W. F. Seeley; treasurer, H. C. Clapp; directors, M. C. Chapman, M. S. Hoadley and John Ellis.

September 9, 1895 in the matter of administration of the goods, chattels and credits of Samuel W. Slaughter Deceased, petition by Fred A. Sawyer. County treasurer to deliver to Fred A. Sawyer the bond and mortgage made and executed by William ?S. Deyo to secure the payment of the sum of six hundred dollars.

November 30, 1895 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Press: From Waverly. Clifford Stark, professor of mathematics at Cook academy is spending a few days with his mother on Athens street.

December 22, 1895 Elmira Telegram: Mrs. S. W. Slaughter and little daughter and Mrs. Sharp of Waverly, were in the city shopping on Wednesday.

1896 or 1897 The Waverly Free Press: Mrs. P. R. Ross, Mrs. Slaughter, and Mrs. Elmer attended the synod at Utica last week.

Mrs. E. Swartwood, of Barton, spent Sunday with her brother, A. J. Van Atta, Pennsylvania avenue.

1896 or 1897 The Waverly Free Press: Mrs. J. R. Simmons, of Mt. Vission, N. Y., secretary of the home department of the sixth district of the Sunday school association of the state, gave a talk upon the home department work in the Baptist church last Sunday afternoon, and Monday afternoon at the same place met a number of persons from the several churches, who are interested in this work, and an organization for the town of Barton was partially effected. Mrs. Louise Benson was made secretary, and it is proposed to have a superintendent and visitors and canvassers from each of the churches. Mrs. S. W. Slaughter is the superintendent from the Presbyterian school, Mrs. W. Gordon Bentley from the Episcopal, Mrs. Frank Rogers of the Baptist. The Methodist is not yet selected. A meeting will be held in the Baptist church next Monday at 3 o’clock to complete the organization. All interested in Sunday school work are urged to be present.

1896 or 1897 The Waverly Free Press: The work at the newly organized "home department" of the local Sunday schools is progressing, perhaps slowly, because its new, but surely. A large number have been found by the canvassers who wish to take up the home study. The superintendents meet Saturday at the home of Mrs. Slaughter to appoint regular visitors.

Mr. and Mrs. A. J. VanAtta and Mr. and Mrs. Ed. H. VanAtta attended the annual reunion of the VanAtta family Thursday at the home of John Schuyler in Elmira.

Mrs. E. Swartwood, of Barton, spent Sunday with her brother, A. J. Van Atta, Pennsylvania avenue.

1896 or 1897 Waverly Free Press: M. W. Falsey is building an addition to his tenant house, corner Clark and Chemung streets, and is also putting water and sewer connections into the building.

March 1896 Waverly Free Press: J. C. VanAtta has moved into his handsome new residence on Park Avenue. (449 Park Ave.). Mrs. A. Jackson, of the east ward, is recovering from a severe attack of the grip.

April 26, 1896 Elmira Telegram: Mrs. Sharp and Mrs. S.W. Slaughter, of Waverly, were in the city shopping yesterday.

May 2, 1896 The Waverly Free Press: Miss Frances Perley will be the guest of Mrs. Slaughter during her stay in Waverly.

Coming Choral Club Concert. The choral club’s closing concert that takes place in the opera house Friday evening, May 8, has long been pleasantly anticipated, and gives promise of being the musical event of the season. Many of the best vocalists of the village will be heard, and the chorus and solo numbers will be exceptionally pleasing. Tickets will be placed on sale Monday at 10 o’clock at Chafee & Merkle’s. Admission thirty-five cents. As follows is the program: Part First. Anvil Chorus, (II Trovatore) …. Verdi - Choral Club. (a) Barcarolle, in F Minor, …. Rubenstein. (b) Gavotta, in D ….Bach - Miss Frances Perley. Relics, …. Loge - Mrs. Frank P. Kennedy. Gipsy Life …. Schumann - Choral Club (a) Etude, in G flat ….Chopin. (b) The Nightingale …. Alabieff Liszt. (c) Waltz, In E minor …. Chopin - Miss Frances Perley. Part Second. Sognal …. Schira - Mrs. Frank P. Kennedy. “O Hush Thee My Babie” …. Sullivan - Choral Club. Raphsodie Hongroise, No 8. …. Liszt - Miss Frances Perley. A Summer Night …. Thomas - Mrs. Frank P. Kennedy. Star of Descending Night …. Emerson - Choral Club. Mrs. C. M. Wellar, Accompanist.

The many Waverly friends of F. E. Perley, who left Waverly a few years ago to take a position with the Buffalo Express, will learn with pleasure that he has accepted a lucrative position with the New York Herald and enters upon his new duties next week. Here's our congratulations, Frank.

May 30, 1896 The Waverly Free Press: 100,000 Plants For The Garden For The Lawn. Chemung Street Greenhouses. 414 Chemung Street. Telephone 20.

June 22, 1896 Rochester Democrat And Chronicle: Will Go To Camp. The thirteenth annual encampment of the New York Division, Sons of Veterans, will be held at Waverly, N. Y., on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday of this week. The various branches of the organization throughout the state have made extensive preparations for attending the encampment and one of the largest gatherings the New York division ever held is expected at this time. Waverly is situated just east of Emira in the famous Chemung valley, bounded on the east by the Susquehanna river and on the west by the historic Chemung. Three miles below Waverly is Tioga point, where the two waters unite in wedlock and mingle in peace and tranquility on their way to the Chesapeake. Within this distance are Sayre and Athens, two lively bustling boroughs, joined to Waverly by one of the most perfect trolley systems in the country. Although separated from Waverly by the Pennsylvania state line, the three towns are really one and from a city of over 13,000 inhabitants. It is expected that Rochester will be as largely represented as any other city in the state. The three camps here have been making extensive preparations for the event and some of the delegates will leave to-day. Tomorrow, attached to the 7:20 o'clock train on the Erie, will be a special coach in which the Rochester delegation will go to the encampment. City Passenger Agent Chase has charge of the Rochester party and he will accompany the train to look after the comfort of the delegates. Those who will go on the special car tomorrow morning will be members of C. A. Glidden, J. P. Cleary and O'Rorke camps of this city, together with the local branch of the Ladies' Aid Society. The train will leave Court street station promptly at 7:20 A. M. and the run from here to Waverly will be made before noon. Large banners have been prepared which will be placed on either side of the car, the inscription being "Rochester Sons of Veterans Camps 6, 60 and 160." When the train reaches Waverly, the car will be dismantled and the banners placed on the hotel where the Rochester party will be quartered. There will be a meeting tonight at which final arrangements will be completed and the committee of arrangements will make their report. The Rochester delegation will go to the encampment fully uniformed and equipped. In the review which will take place on the second day of the encampment, the Rochester camps will march together. All members intending to go on the special car are requested to meet at the city building, Front street, tomorrow morning not later than 7 o'clock. It is necessary that members report at this time, as the company chest in which will be packed equipments will be locked and started for the station at that time. As it has been decided to take no more equipment than is actually necessary, the committee in charge request that members report in time to have their goods placed in with those of other members. When the Rochester delegation reach Waverly they will form in line and march to Deaker's hotel, where they will be quartered during their stay. The headquarters of the Ladies' Aid Society will be at the New Warford. The Sons of Veterans' business session will convene on Tuesday at the opera house and that of the Ladies' Aid Society will be held in the G. A. R. hall. Waverly Camp, No. 88, has charge of the emcampment and in the last division orders issued it was stated that the committee of arrangements had completed their labors and were awaiting the arrival of the delegates and other members of the order. The committee of Camp 88 having the encampment in charge, is composed of C. L. Demorest, W. T. Harris, P. W. Towner, C. E. Currie, J. G. Bogart and W. A. Personias. The residents of Waverly have donated liberally for the expenses of the encampment and at a special meeting of the board of alderman the hospitality and freedom of the city was tendered to the delegates.

July 26, 1896 The Waverly Free Press: A. F. Slaughter, of New York City, was calling upon Mrs. S. W. Slaughter and other Waverly friends Monday. Mr. Slaughter is a wholesale merchant and says that he has always been a democrat but that he shall vote for McKinley and sound money, believing that the best interest of the country demand it.

Red Men's Night. Wyanoke Tribe, No. 339, Improved Order of Red Men, was instituted Tuesday evening, in the opera house. There were a large number of braves present from neighboring towns, and the occasion of their visit was one of those happy events that help to make life worth living. District Deputy Great Sachem Frank Miller, of Apalachin, assisted by the necessary number of past sachems, instituted the new tribe. The degree work was performed by Sa-Sa-Na Loft Tribe, No. 312, of Owego, as follows: Prophet, S. C. Lynch, Sachem, M. J. Murray, Senior Sagamore, M. J. Sweeny, Junior Sagamore, A. L. Bullard, 1st Sannap, M. A. Lynch, 2nd Sannap, F. L. Stanborough, Warriors, John Carrig, Thos. Sweeny, Joe Hogan, Braves, Joe O'Shanghnessy, Frank O'Shanghnesry Charles, Wilmark, Jas. Goodspeed, Guard of the Foreset, P. Cusick, Guard of the Wigwam, Alex Stevens, Drill Master, F. T. Stan Borough, Leader of Orchestra, Prof. F. J. Morris.

Arrow Points. There were fifty nine men initiated. Elisha never got inot a place before where he couldn't get out at will. After wor was finished, refreshments were served in the opera house. E. E. Stickles, the one-armed brave, of Owego, was the biggest red skin in the wigwam. The new tribe will hole their next meeting in G. A. R. hall next Tuesday evening, at 8:30. It is said that M. D. O'Brian nearly went into 'histerics' on witnessing Martin Burgett take the Hunter's degree. The Adoptioin degree was worked on by Joe McCarthy, the Hunters' on Martin Burgett, the Warriors' on H. E. Spring and the Chiefs' on Jesse Randall, of Smithboro. They all knew something about Red Men before they were through. The Chiefs of the new tribe, Wyanoke, No. 339, are a follows: Prophet, John M. Clune. Sachem, Joe F. McCarthy. Senior Sagamore, John Keefe. Junior Sagamore, Francis P. Clohessy. Chief of Record, Thos. F. Pickley. Assistant Chief of Records, Jerry W. McMahon. Keeper of Wampum, F. M. Hough. Trustees, H. E. Spring six moons; Daniel Leary, twelve moons; Jerry W. McMahon, eighteen moons. The appointed chiefs will be chosen at the next council.

July 30, 1896 The Clifton Springs Press: The Clifton Springs Sanitarium. This weeks arrivals are: ...Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, Waverly; ...

August 1896 The Waverly Free Press: St. James Catholic church is being repainted by A. J. Roberts of Smithboro. The steeple is very high, being 124 feet to the cross, and painting it was not a very pleasant work this hot weather. It was carefully scaffolded under direction of builder, W. E. Seacord. - A room 20x42 feet is being built on the rear of St. James church for the use the Sunday school. L. F. Lord is the carpenter.

August 1896 The Waverly Free Press: Little Miss Gertrude Slaughter, a member of the primary department of the Presbyterian Sunday school, treated the little ones of that department to a trolly ride Wednesday afternoon. On their return ice cream and light refreshments were served in the church. It was a very pleasant affair.

Attend the great mark-down sale of summer millinery at Mrs. S. E. Ellis’. It will pay you. (Maybe Sela Ellis’s wife)

The farm of the late O. H. VanAtta near Barton was sold recently at mortgage sale. It was purchased by Mrs. W. H. Brougham for $1,000. A. G. Allen was attorney in the proceedings. (Oscar)

September 26, 1896 The Waverly Free Press: The purest and best butter, cream and milk always for sale. The City Creamery, corner of Waverly Elizabeth streets.

February 1897 The Waverly Free Press: An eight pound daughter was born Thursday, February 4, to Mr. and Mrs. E. M. Weed, Athens street. - We are in receipt of an interesting letter from C. T. Hull, of Athens, on the Waverly of long ago. Mr. Hull is a graceful writer and his article will be read with great interest. It will be published in the near future, following the article on the Methodist church. Other articles on Waverly’s early history have been promised us. - John H. Murray and D. L. F. Clarke, of South Waverly, were here on Friday to attend the sheriff’s sales. We had not seen Mr. Clarke in fifteen years, and were delighted to see him looking so well. He still lives on the old homestead farm under the shadow of Spanish Hill, one of the most beautiful places in the county. Mr. Murray, who is one of the prominent citizens of that town, reports business dull, but hopes it will improve - Towanda Argus.

February 27, 1897 The Waverly Free Press: The Waverly Of Long Ago. Interesting Reminiscences by C. T. Hull, of Athens. No. II Athens, PA., Feb. 22, 1897. Editor Free Press: Of the musicians in Waverly in early times I have but a faint remembrance. Gilbert Hallet was a fine tenor singer and Jared Jarvis, Mary Jane Hallet, (who afterwards became the wife of Mr. Jarvis,) Adam Davis and William A. Lain are about the only ones whose names I remember. A music teacher came along and arranged a class which met in the Methodist church in Factoryville every Sunday afternoon, and this was one of my most attractive seasons of enjoyment. I had commenced the study of music in Halsey Valley under the teaching of O. D. Davis, an old friend of my father, who came from Coventry, N. Y., my birthplace. We used to go to the school house weekly, taking a “tallow dip,” and the old “Methodist Harmonist” that held all the mysteries of the divine art in the labyrinth of “buckwheat notes” and the nomenclature of “four syllable” harmony. Whatever of ridicule may now attach to this course of study, I can truly say that I have found it the best foundation for a correct musical education I have ever known. I have often tried to recall the name of the teacher who organized the class in the Methodist church, but it has gone from me. We used Dr. Mason’s “Carmma Sacra” which was then a new book, and I took a lonely place on the front seat and “carried” the alto alone.
The old Davis Foundry was on the corner of Chemung and Waverly streets opposite where the Methodist church now stands.
A Mr. James Tuttle, of Nichols, N. Y., came to town and commenced the organization of a band. This was before cornets were the leading instruments, and I think Adam Davis played a key bugle in the band. Mr. Tuttle made a clarionet for one of the players and they tried to get me to play a piccalo, but I could not get my bill to fit the plaguey thing, and after a few weeks trial I gave it up. Of the band, I do not think they ever became very proficient, and after a time it broke up.
I had never seen a piano, organ, or melodeon at this time, and I think such instruments would have been a real curiosity in the town. Gilbert Hallet’s girls had an accordeon which they could play nicely and it was brought into requisition at all our evening socials.
Amos Spalding’s three sons, John, Edward, and Amos, were natural musicians. Edward played the clarionet beautifully, and often at the twilight hour he would come out among the residue of the flower garden and play the whole evening for the entertainment of the villagers who would sit in the quiet seclusion of their homes and drink in the harmonies that floated through the air. John was a cultured musician and his musical tones warbled in the air, filling the whole valley with its entrancing tones that even rivaled the birds in soul-stirring melody. Amos P. Spalding was my close friend and companion. He played the flute, and this occupation served to blend our two lives in a common interest and association while I resided in Waverly. Amos died soon after we left Waverly, and his remains were brought down to our cemetery in Athens for burial. His death was a real affliction to me, and as I looked at his calm features in the coffin at his burial, I felt a pang which can only be experienced in the severing of the heart fibres of true affection. A younger brother of Amos, Frederick K. Spalding, died in the service of his country in the late civil war, and lies buried in our old cemetery.

March 13, 1897 Waverly Free Press: Waverly’s Semi-Centennial. The Rev. H. D. Jenkins, D. D., in an interesting article in another column makes an excellent suggestion regarding the fitting observance of the fiftieth anniversary of Waverly’s incorporation as a village, - a suggestion that we hope to see bear fruit. Although that interesting anniversary is yet some distance in the future, it is coming directly this way, and will reach us Jan. 18, 1904. It is none too early, therefore, to commence preparation in the way of making collections of relics of the early days, looking up the early history, and incidents connected therewith, and in a general way getting ready for what should be a memorable event. The call for the election that was to decide the question of Waverly’s incorporation was issued Dec. 17, 1853, and the election was held Jan. 18, 1854, in James Whitaker’s hotel. The result of the election was 114 ballots for and 44 against. The first election of village officers was held March 27, 1854, and at a meeting held in Brigham’s hotel the village was given the name of Waverly at the suggestion of “Uncle Joe” Hallet, who borrowed the name from Scotts’ immortal production.

April 24, 1897 The Waverly Free Press: A Letter From Florida. Another of the "Old Boys" Writes Interestingly of the Early Days. Alttona, Fla., April 12, 1897. Editor Free Press: I have been greatly entertained by the very interesting letters recently contributed to your columns by Wm. Applin, H. D. Jenkins, C. T. Hull, and others. My acquaintance with Waverly, did not begin at quite so early a period as that mentioned by your former correspondents, but their pleasing reminiscences have inspired me to contribute my mite, and I trust you will pardon me for recalling event of a little later period. My first visit to Waverly - a very brief one - was made soon after the completion of the Erie railway, when I accompanied my father who brought there, for shipment to New York, the carcass of a snow-white deer which had been killed on Dean Creak about eight miles north of Waverly. In those days deer were very plentiful there but the one mentioned was the only white one of which I have ever heard. A defective memory makes it impossible for me to recall more of the impresssions of that first visit than the fact that at that time the center of the town appeared to be a the corner of Waverly and Chemung streets, and where the M. E. church now stands I think a hotel was located. It was not until 1857 that I again visited Waverly, and then it became my home. Forty years ago to-day my fathere with his family moved there from North Barton; and that journey, although but a short one, was indelibly impressed upon my memory. Late in the spring as it was, the road, or a portion of it over Oak Hilll was filled nearly to the fence tops with banks of melting snow, and in consequence that portion of our journey was made by letting down fences and traveling through the fields. Pardon the digression if I remark here that it is eleven years since I last saw snow - and I have no desire to renew my aquaintane with it. In 1857 the population of Waverly was chiefly contained within the boundary of Chemung street and the state line on the north and south, and Pennsylvania avenue and Loder street on the east and west. Even then it was a beautiful little town and my recollection of its natural attractions - which time has no doubt greatly enhanced - has remained a green spot in my memory. In all my wanderings up and down the earth I have seen no lovlier spot. By no means the least of the pleasures of my youthful days at Waverly was found in the sports so interestingly alluded to by former correspondents - in fishing for white chubs in the Chemung river, or for sunfish in Shepard's creek, and in hunting among the adjacent hills for squirrels and wild pigeons both of which were then abundant. ... (the paper) ... The intensely interesting presidential campaign which immediately preceded the great war and the dramatic events of the four years that followed were of too startiling and terrible a character to be easily forgotten, but of that eventful period I will only say that, with many others, I responded to the call of my country and was absent from home durin the three years from 1862 to 1865 and knew little of what was transpiring at Waverly. Returning home at the close of the war I found but few changes had taken place except those sad ones which had so frequently occurred to individual homes chiefly as a result of th war. ...(more on newspaper history) ... W. S. Smith.

June 2, 1897 filed in surrogate's court in Owego, NY: in the matter of the estate of Samuel W. Slaughter. Filed by administrator's, Charlotte W. Slaughter and Fred A. Sawyer. Four thousand dollars of said securities transfer to administrators, viz.: forty shares of the capital stock of the Pacific National Bank of Tacoma, Washington.

June 5, 1897 The Waverly Free Press: The land now used as a public park, corner Park and Pennsylvania avenues, was deeded to the village March 28, 1854, by Owen and Eliza Spalding, for a consideration of $1.00, this land to be used only as a park. It was deeded to Hiram Moore, Alva Jarvis, William Gibson, Peter Dunning, F. H. Baldwin, trustees of the village of Waverly.

1897 The Waverly Free Press: Mrs. S. W. Slaughter's fine residence is being re-painted by T. B. Keeler.

June 20, 1897 - Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee(60 year reign) {In 2012, another Diamond Jubilee, Queen Elizabeth II}

1897 -1898 at 337 Broad Street, Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, R. P. Martinette-assistant superintendent and 1897 -1899 offices of the Gas Company were in the building. (from Don Merrill's collection) (Building is now owned by Charlotte Wells Slaughter, widow of Samuel W. Slaughter since 1894.)

August 5, 1897 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Press: The Big Day. Firemen's Magnificent Showing at Waverly. Many Men In Line. Thousands Of People There To Witness the Celebration. At Cortland Next Year. Officers Elected at Yesterday's session - Band Contest To-night - Music and Merriment Will Galore - Biggest Time in Waverly's History. Waverly, N. Y., Aug. 5 - The morning of the great day of the C. N. Y. V. F. A. broke cloudy and threatening and the firemen felt blue enough. The rain which fell all night ruined a great many of the decorations and the prospect of marching in two inches of mud over a five mile line of march was by no means cheering. The different companies began arriving early and Broad street presented a busy appearance. Doubtless the threatening weather will keep thousands of people away from Waverly that would have come otherwise. Even the music of the bands did not seem to dispel the gloom at first, but when the sun peeped from behind the clouds later in the morning there was general rejoicing. By 10 o'clock the sky was nearly bereft of clouds and the firemen's hearts were lightened considerably. The rays of the sun dried up the mud to a great extent and the crowds which are on hand seem to forget that it ever rained. The hose races and contests occurred in the morning on the Lincoln street grounds as follows: Hose Race. First Prize, $150. Second Prize, $75. Independent Hose Co., No. 1, Lestershire. Ahwaga Steamer and Hose Co., No. 6 Owego. Torrent Hose Co., No. 5, Ithaca. Wave Hose Co., No. 2, Owego. Hook And Ladder Race. First Prize, $75. Second Prize, $25. G. Harry Lester Hook and Ladder Co. Lestershire. Excelsior Hook and Ladder Co., Cortland. Hub-And-Hub Race. First Prize, $75. Second Prize, $25. Independent Hose Co. No. 1, Lestershire. Torrent Hose Co., No. 5, Ithaca. Ahwaga Steamer and Hose Co., No. 6, Owego. Wave Hose Co., No. 2, Owego. Prize Drill. First Prize, $100. Second Prize, $50. Independent Hose Co., No. 1 Lestershire. G. Harry Lester Hook and Ladder Co., Lestershire. Harry B. Endicott Steamer Co., No. 1, Lestershire. Excelsior Hook and Ladder Co., Cortland. The parade formed at 1:30 o'clock and moved shortly after 2:30 at the stroke of the fire bell. The companies formed as follows: First Division - On Pine street, right resting on Broad street. Second Division - On Johnson street, right resting on Broad street. Third Division - On Loder street, right resting on Broad street. Fourth Division - On Clark street, right resting on Broad street. Fifth Division - On Fulton street, right resting on Broad street. Sixth Division - On Waverly street, right resting on Broad street. Seventh Division - On Park avenue, right resting on Broad street. Eighth Division - On Pennsylvania avenue, right resting on Broad street. The line of march has been changed somewhat from that previously announced. The official announcement follows" Form on Broad street and intersecting streets, move through Broad street to Spaulding street and countermarch to Loder street, through Loder street to Chemung street, to Clark street, to Clinton avenue, to Fulton street, to Broad street, to Waverly street, to Chemung street, to Pennsylvania avenue, to Park street, to Broad street, to Pennsylvania avenue, to Park place, to Spaulding street, to Broad street, to Cayuta avenue, to Chemung street, countermarch to Ithaca street, to Chemung street, to Clark street, to Broad street, to headquarters and disband. Order of Parade. Protective Fire Police, No. 5, Waverly, George D. Genung, Captain. Percy L. Lang, Chief Engineer Waverly Fire Department, Visiting Chief. Engineers. First Division. Dr. F. M. Snook, Grand Marshal. Bakers Band of Binghamton. Wave Hose Co., No. 2, Owego. J. M. Hogan, Foreman. Croton Hose Company, No. 3, Owego, with hose carriage. William H. Dennison, Foreman. Protective Hose Co., No. 4, Owego. Fred Dunnam, Foreman. Defiance Hook and Ladder Co., No. 5, Owego. C. F. Chatfield, Foreman. Nichols Band. Ahwaga Steamer and Hose Co., No. 6, Owego. Susquehanna Hose Co., No. 1, Owego. Second Division. Howard C. VanDuzer, Marshal. Benjamin D. Barnes, First Assistant. Chief, Waverly Fire Department. Visiting First Assistant Chiefs. Groton Brass Band. Pioneer Hose Co., No. 1, Groton, John Hamill, Foreman. A.H. Barber Hose Co., No. 3, Marathon D. B. Livingston, Foreman. Dryden Cornet Band. Neptune Hose Co., No. 1, Dryden, William Curtledge, Foreman. Silsby Hose Co., No. 2, Seneca Falls. W. J . Lane, Foreman. Groton Bridge and Manufacturing Co. Band. C.W. Conger Hose Co., No. 2, Groton. Perry Kelsey, Foreman. Tuthill Hose Co., No. 1, Moravia. E. M. Babcock, Foreman. Third Division. James A. Clark, Marshal.
Charles W. Skellenger, Second Assistant Chief Engineers. Ulster Cornet Band.
Union Hose Co.- No. 3, Athens, Frank I. Decger, Foreman. Protection Hose Co., No. 1, Athens. Wilbur Hook and Ladder Drum Corps, Sayre. Wilbur Hook and Ladder Co., No. 1, Sayre. J. A. Wilking, Foreman. Franklin Steam Fire Engine Co., No. 1 Towanda, Pa., O. D. Lyon, Drill Master. Naiad Hose .Co., No 2, Towanda. Mantua Hook and Ladder Co., Towanda. Aaron Hyman, Foreman. W. H. Hawes Hose Co., No. 5. Towanda Nate Cramer, Foreman. Fourth Division. Andrew Hildabrand, Marshal. Ithaca Band. Cayuga Hose Co., No. 1, Ithaca, Joseph Myers, Foreman. Rescue Steamer Co., No. 2, Ithaca, John Fisher, Foreman. Tornado Hook and Ladder Co., No. 3, Ithaca. Eureka Hose Co., No. 4, Ithaca. Torrent Hose Co. No. 5, Ithaca. James L. Murphy, Foreman. Sprague Steamer, No. 6, Ithaca. Emile Mente, Foreman. Fifth Division. J. F. Shoemaker, Marshal.
Lestershire Cornet Band. G .Harry Lester Hook and Ladder Co., No. 1, Lestershire, James L. Derby, Foreman. Independent Hose Co., No. 1, Lestershire, William H. Hill, Foreman. Cortland City Band. Board of Engineers, Cortland. Water Witch Steamer and Hose Co.,
Cortland.Orris Company, Cortland, Excelsior H. & L Co., Cortland. B. B. Bosworth, Foreman. Emerald Hose Co., No. 4. Cortland. W.J. McAuliffe, Foreman. Hitchcock Hose Co., Drum Corps. Hitchcock Hose Co., No. 6, Cortland. A. M. Williamson, Foreman.*
W. J. Buchanan Hose Co., McGrawville. C. C. Hammond, Foreman. Sixth Division.
Charles H. Shipman, Marshal. C. E. Coffee Hose Band. C. E . Coffee Hose, Wellsburg, H. S. Loomis, Foreman. Homer Band. Tioughnioga Hose Co., No. 2, Homer, W. W. Salisburg, Foreman. Lincoln Hook and Ladder Co., Newark Valley. G. E. Sherwood, Foreman. Rescue Chemical Engine Co., No. 1, Newark Valley. O. H. Randall, Foreman.
Newfield Band. Protective Fire Police, Trumansburg. Protective Engine Co.,Trumansburg,
Charles W. Savage, Foreman. Seventh Division. G. H. Grafft, Marshal. Hammondsport Hook and Ladder Co., A. Hullenschmidt, Foreman. Tioga Hose Co., No. 1, Waverly, E. E. Walker, Foreman. Waterville Band, Waterville. H. B. Endicott Steamer Co., No. 1,
Leistershire. W. T. Squires, Foreman. Waverly Hook and Ladder Co., No. 2, Waverly. W. F . Harris, Foreman. R. A. Packer Band. Spalding Hose Co., No. 3., Waverly, H. W. Kinney, Foreman. Waverly City Band, Waverly. Cayuta Police Patrol, No. 6, Waverly.
Cayuta Hose Co., No. 4, Waverly. Will Osborn, Foreman .Eigtht Division. S. F. McHenry, Marshal. Exempt Neptune Engine Co., No. 1, Waverly, Organized 1855. Mayor and Aldermen. Guests of the Firemen's League of Waverly. Officers of the Central New York Firemen's Association and others. This evening the band contest at the park will occur at 8 o'clock. The first prize will be $150 and the second $75. A large grand stand has been erected to accomodate the spectators. The following bands will take part in the contest: Groton Brass band, with Pioneer Hose Co., twenty-five men. Waterville band, with Henry B. Endicott Steamer Co., twenty-five men. Baker and Sterenson band of Binghamton, with Wave Hose Co., No. 2, of Owego, twenty-five men. Ithaca band, with Cayuta Hose Co., No. 1, thirty men. The convention finished their work yesterday after a very profitable season. The last year's officers were unanimously re-elected as follows: President, Frank M. Baker, Owego; secretary, Edward H. Hyatt, Homer; treasurer, Percy L. Lang, Waverly. Cortland was decided upon as the place for holding the convention next year.

August 12, 1897 Owego NY Tioga County Record: Waverly, Aug. 4 - Today the work of the fifth annual convention of the Central New York Volunteer Firemen's association was completed and the closing session was adjourned at 3:40 o'clock. The morning session was called to order at 9:30 o'clock. After the roll call President Baker asked for a disposition of the request received that two representatives be appointed from the central association to attend the proposed international congress of firemen to be held at Paris next year. President Baker and Lawrence Clark were appointed to serve in that capacity. Promptly at 2 o'clock the convention was again called to order. During the sessions of the convention Miss Oakley of Owego has acted as official stenographer. Her friend, Mrs. George H. Baker, also of Owego, has also been a spectator during the sessions, and at the opening of the session James E. Clohessy of Cayuta Hose company, No. 4, presented each of the ladies a handsome bouquet of carnations, with the compliments of the company. Mr. Clohessy's speech was a neat one and full of gallantry, for which he is noted. The reports of the secretary and treasurer were read and accepted. There is at present a balance of $33.20 in the treasury of the association. The annual convention next week at New Haven, Conn., and Chief C. Fred Johnson of Lestershire was chosen to represent the association. The committee on bravery presented its report through Secretary Hyatt. The medal was awarded to John Shaft of S. Edwin Day Hook and Ladder company, No. 1, of Moravia, who, at the risk of his own life, rescued three small children from a burning building in Moravia. The medal will be of the same design as those purchased last year, and a cut will be made of it to be inserted in the printed proceedings of the convention. - Elmira Advertiser. Owegoans Elected And Appointed. L. T. Stanbrough was elected first vice president, J. M. Hogan was appointed on the committee on rules and tournaments, O. S. Beach on the committee on topics. Owego Went To Waverly. All six of Owego's fire companies, Protectives' band, village, town and county officials, politicians and prominent citizens galore and several hundred other Owego people went to Waverly Thursday to attend the closing events and witness the parade of the Central New York Volunteer Firemen's association. Susquehanna Hose Co., No. 1, Croton Hose Co., No. 3, Protectives, 4, and Defiance Hook and Ladder Co., No. 5, with Protectives' band, went over the Erie. Baker's band of Binghamton, engaged by Wave Hose, No. 2, and Defiance Hook and Ladder company, No. 5, came down from Binghamton on an early train, took breakfast at the Park House and left for Waverly with Wave Hose, No. 2, and Ahwaga Steamer and Hose company, No. 6, over the Lackawanna. There were special trains on the Erie, the Lackawanna and the Lehigh, and all seemed to be liberally patronized, both before they reached Owego and at this section.

Waverly, Aug. 5 - Never before in Waverly's history have so many people visited here. Broad street was one mass of people and the adjoining streets were thronged with the on-lookers. Forty-five companies and 17 bands made the prettiest parade ever seen in Waverly. There were no second-class companies or uniforms, and no poor music. Some idea of the length of the line may be had from the fact that when the last company was at the Methodist church, the line extended through Chemung street to Pennsylvania avenue, to Park avenue, to Broad street, to Pennsylvania avenue, to Park place, to Spalding, just entering Broad street. It was fully a mile and a half long and was 45 minutes in passing the Tioga house. The $10,000 silver parade cart, owned by Emerald Hose company of Cortland, was the finest cart in the parade, and for that matter, in the state of New York. It is a beautiful cart. The East Waverly fire police was a center of attention. Five little boys, only five years old, dressed as fire police, with helmets and clubs, were drawn by a Shetland pony. The little fellows were the mascots of the Cayutas of East Waverly and the idea originated with James E. Clohessy. Many of the business places were closed throughout the time of the parade. It would be impossible to speak of the many fancy evolutions performed by the different companies, but men experienced in military drill said that they had never witnessed a parade of firemen where all the companies were so finely drilled. Another remarkable feature was the orderly conduct of the immense crowd. Only a very few arrests were made during the day. Fights were an unknown quantity. This speaks well for the vigilance of the police, as well as indicating the class of people in the crowd. Fully 5,000 people listened to the band contest tonight. D. Wallace Reeves, the noted bandmaster and composer, acted as judge. There were four contestants, each band playing twice. The first prize was $150, the second $75. Mr. Reeves marked the 36 possible points, the Baker-Severson band of Binghamton, 34; Ithaca band, 33; Waterville, 29; Groten, 28. The first prize went to Binghamton and the second to Ithaca. The pieces played by the winning band were "Stars and Stripes," Sousa; "Zantha, " Harold. The only red-shirted company in line was C. E. Coffey Hose company of Wellsburg, and that veteran fireman, C. E. Coffey, was one of the finest in the line. The universal expression of the men in line was that never before had they seen such fine decorations. The first great attraction of the day was the tournaments at the Lincoln street grounds, and when the time arrived for the first event over 5,000 people were on the grounds. Every seat in the large grand stand was filled. There was considerable delay in commencing the contests on account of a late train which brought X. L. C. R. Hose of Cortland, but at 10:30 the prize drill was announced. Independent Hose company, No. 1 of Lestershire, came first on the ground and its drill work was good, though not up to its last year's standard. This was partly on account of the soft grounds. It scored 77 points. G. Harry Lester Hook and Ladder company of Lestershire came next, scoring 51 points, followed by the H. B. Endicott Steamer company of Lestershire, which scored 40 points. Each of the companies withdrew after 10 minutes' drill. About an hour's delay, caused by a dispute ove a coupling, was indulged in, but finally Torrent Hose, No. 5, of Ithaca started and ran the 300 yards, attached to a hydrant, laid 300 feet of hose, broke a coupling and attached the nozzle in 42 seconds. E. H. Watkins made the coupling and it was conceded to be the quickest coupling ever made at a race. He broke the coupling and put on the nozzle in one turn each. Independent Hose of Lestershire was second in 44 1/2 seconds, Wave Hose of Owego third in 49 1/4 seconds and Ahwaga Hose last, in 51 1/4 seconds. Independent Hose of Lestershire won the hub and hub race in 24 seconds, with Wave Hose of Owego second. Excelsior Hook and Ladder company of Cortland won the hook and ladder race in 39 3-5 seconds, with G. Harry Lester Hook and Ladder second in 41 3/4 seconds. The prizes are as follows: Hose race, first, $150; second, $75; band contest, first, $150; second $75; drill, first, $100; second, $50; hub and hub race, first, $75; second, $25; hook and ladder, first, $75; second, $25. When about 10 o'clock last night rain began falling and contiuned so steadily many thought the parade was doomed, but early this morning the clouds cleared away and the wind and sun, by a few hours' hard work, put the streets in a fine condition. No dust choked the men in line and the air was cool. - Elmira Advertiser.

1897 The Waverly Free Press: The work of the newly organized "home department" of the local Sunday schools is progressing, perhaps slowly, because its new, but surely. A large number have been found by the canvassers who wish to take up the home study. The superintendents meet Saturday at the home of Mrs. Slaughter to appoint regular visitors.

Mr. and Mrs. A. J. VanAtta and Mr. and Mrs. Ed. H. VanAtta attended the annual reunion of the VanAtta family Thursday at the home of John Schuyler in Elmira.

1897 - An Elegant Reception. One of the charming social functions of the season was the reception given last Friday evening by Mr. and Mrs. John C. VanAtta, in their elegant home on Park avenue. About two hundred and fifty guests shared the pleasures of the occasion, one half of the invitations reading from 7 to 9 o'clock, the others from 9 to 11. The house is nicely arranged for a reception, the large parlors, reception room and dining room connecting with broad folding doors, and all openening into the hall. The rooms were tastefully trimmed in pink and white, smilax and carnations predominating. McGuffie's orchestra, of five pieces, seated in the broad hall on the second floor discoursed sweet music during the evening. Mr. and Mrs. VanAtta received their guests in the north parlor. They were assisted by Mr. and Mrs. J. M. Crandall and Mr. Fred Richardson, of Elmira. Mrs. F. A. Sawyer, P. L. Lang, F. E. Lyford and J. C. Shear assisted in introducing and entertaining the guests during the evening. In the dining room Mrs. Lang and Mrs. Lyford presided at the beautifully decorated table during the first two hours, while Miss May Barnum, of Binghamton, Miss Anna VanDuzer and Miss Anna Atwater assisted in serving the guests. At nine o'clock, Mrs. H. C. VanDuzer and Mrs. J. C. Shear relieved Mrs. Lang and Mrs. Lyford, and Mrs. W. H. Campbell, Miss Lida Murray and Miss Anna Grafft assisted them in serving. The guests from out of town were: Mrs. Fred Emerson Brooks, of New York; Mrs. Joslin, of Chemung; Mr. and Mrs. F. J. Krom, Mr. and Mrs. W. S. MadDonald, Mr. and Mrs. T. K. Park, Mr. and Mrs. E. H. Tozer and Mr. and Mrs. F. K. Harris, of Athens.

October 1897 The Waverly Free Press: A Bit of Local History. The "Corner Drug Store" was established in the fall of 1861 by Bosworth (J. F.) & Penny (N. F.). They were succeeded by Bosworth & Slaughter (S. W.) on March 22, 1862. Slaughter & Hayes (H. H.) became proprietors in the fall of 1863, and this firm continued until April 29, 1873, when it was changed to Slaughter & Wells (E. F.). Mr. Wells died on May 9, 1881, but the firm name was continued until August 29, 1882, when it was succeeded by Slaughter & VanAtta, and this by J. C. VanAtta on April 29, 1887.

October 30, 1897 The Waverly Free Press: The East Waverly Steam Granite Works Wednesday placed a handsome granite monument on Judge Spaulding’s lot in Glenwood cemetery.

June 3, 1898 Middletown Daily Argus: Sent To Waverly For Burial. The remains of Samuel Wickham Slaughter, which have rested in a vault in Phillipsburg cemetery, since 1894, were today sent to Waverly for burial. (Glenwood Cemetery)

July 15, 1898 Waverly Advocate: The Rev. Dr. J. L. Taylor and wife of Wyoming, O., are the guests of Mrs. S. W. Slaughter.

August 7, 1898 Elmira Telegram: Mrs. Charles Crandall of Waverly has returned home after a visit with her sons, Benjamin and Jesse, and Mrs. A. D. Birchard, of Euclid avenue. (Mrs. Charles Crandall was a friend of Charlotte Slaughter)

August 12, 1898 The Waverly Advocate: A Waverly party consisting of Mrs. E. G Woodford, Mrs. George A. Scott, Mrs. Pierce, Mrs. W. E. Tew and Mrs. S. W. Slaughter went to Chautauqua on the Erie excursion Wednedsay.

August 28, 1898 Waverly Advocate: Mrs. S. W. Slaughter and daughter left Saturday for a short stay at Ocean Grove.

O. H. Lawrence has purchased the old Baptist Church building on Ithaca Street and is having it rebuilt into a handsome, old-style colonial residence. Baldwin & Son are the architects and builders.

Simon Zausmer 322 Broad St. 1898

December 5, 1898: Filed in surogate's court in Owego, NY, the matter of administration of the estate of Samuel W. Slaughter deceased, filed by Charlotte W. Slaughter and Fred A. Sawyer, (administrators) ordered the following securites to the treasurer of Tioga County: mortgage made by Matilda S. Root for $400. Mortgage made by ?G. W. Thomas for $2,000. Mortgage made by A. Hemstreet for $4,000. Mortgage made by Georgina Parshall for $600. Total of $7,000. To the administrators the county treasurer will deliver, mortgage made by M. Quinn for $400. Mortgage made by Rosa B. Comstock for $350. Certificate for thirty shares of the stock of the Citizen's Bank of Waverly, NY

Twentieth Annual Report Of The United States Geological Survery To The Secretary Of The Interior 1898-99 Charles D. Walcott Director - In Seven Parts - northwest corner of Chemung and Ithaca streets; top of hydrant 851.98 feet.

1899 or 1900 The Waverly Free Press: Mr. and Mrs. Bowers of Belvidere, N. J., have been spending the past week with Mr. and Mrs. A. J. VanAtta, Pennsylvania ave.

1899 or 1900 The Waverly Free Press: Harry Wright, a Lehigh passenger brakeman living on Athens street, was badly frightened early Saturday morning. He was riding his wheel through the park on his way home from Sayre and some one whom he supposed to be a footpad, accosted him with the command to stop. He did not stop but hastened on as fast as he could ride. It later transpired that the man was Special Officer Murphy, who was stationed near the park nights and called to Wright because he was riding without a light on his wheel, it having gone out a few minutes before. Wright heard a pistol shot just as he reached home and supposed the man had shot at him, but the officer says he did not, although he heard the shot. It is not yet known who fired it.

1899 or 1900 The Waverly Free Press: Children's Day exercises at the Presbyterian church this year were said by all to be the prettiest ever seen in the church. The music was well selected from various programs and the school was finely drilled in its rendering. The selections spoken were given in a way that reflected great credit on the speakers and their teachers and the remarks by C. E. Merriam, of Schenectady, a former superintendent of the school and father of F. W. Merriam, the present superintendent, were timely and listened to with pleasure. The exercises took the place of the regular morning service and the school filled fully one-third of the seats in the church. They entered while singing a processional hymn and remained standing during the responsive readings, all of which produced a very pretty effect. The baptism of Clifford B. Moody, infant son of Mr. and Mrs. Frank B. Moody, of Pennsylvania avenue, was a beautiful part of the exercises. The program given was as follows; Processional - The Mighty Host, School. Responsive Reading, Led by the superintendent. Prayer, Dr. Ross. Singing - The Beautiful Temple, School. Baptism. Anthem - The Sweet Voice of Jesus, Choir. Recitation - The Temple of God, Bernard Nelson. Singing - Our Happy Day, Intermediate Department. Recitation - The Temple, Robert McGuffle. Singing - Lovely Zion, School. Recitation - Flowers, Margaret Kingsley, Gertrude Slaughter, Dorothy Atwater, Dorothy Crandall, Ruth Smith, Maria Case, Maud Barnes, Zelma Burroughs, Flora McKerrow. Collection, For the benefit of the Sunday school. Singing - Little Soldiers of the King, Primary Department. Remarks, C. E. Merriam. Reading of Scripture - Matthew 25: 31-46, Dr. Ross. Vision of Sir Launfal, (Organ accompaniment) Prelude Miss Helen Kingsbury. Part 1 Miss Mabel Crandall. Prelude Miss Marion Harding. Part 11 Miss Frances Green. Singing - The Gospel Trumpet, School. Benediction, Dr. Ross.

February 11, 1899 Waverly Free Press: A Branch of the University Association Formed in Waverly. A unique and practical plan for University Extension work for the individual, the home circle, or for classes and clubs, is that carried out by the University Association and World's Congress Extension, an incorporated institution with headquarters in Chicago. The University Association is not connected with any one university, but rather a federation of the teaching powers of the principal universities and colleges throughout the world. This institution will go far towards meeting the want that has been long felt in every community, namely, the want of a system for higher education. It will have the additional advantage of bringing together occasionally the literary and progressive men and women in class for the purpose of stimulating thought and fostering the desire for systematic reading and study. A center or club was organized in Waverly Wednesday evening. The meeting was held in high school building and although but twenty were present the club started with a membership of thirty. Prof. Walter presided. Miss Stephens, the organizer, explained the workings of the club, after which an organization was effected by the election of the following officers: President, Mrs. W. C. Farley; vice president, S. H. Sliney; secretary, C. W. Dickinson; treasurer, L. J. Buley; instructors; for Egyptian period, Rev. D. H. Clare; for Roman period, Rev. F. J. Naughton; for Greek period, Rev. J. W. Nicholson and J. F. Shoemaker; local organizer, Mrs. B. W. Bonnell; the four officers with Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, G. D. Genung and F. E. Lyford, constitute the executive committee. It was voted to call the society "The Waverly University Club," and to meet on Monday evenings. Mrs. G. D. Genung, Miss Esther Barnum and Miss Effie Cohen were made a committee on by-laws. A committee was appointed to confer with the Board of Education relative to renting a room in the high school building for the weekly meetings. It is expected that the membership will be considerably increased at the next meeting. Early Egyptian history is the subject for study this month. All interested in the study of history are invited to join the club.

February 20, 1899 surrogate's court in Owego NY: in the matter of the administration of the estate of Samuel W. Slaughter deceased. Petitioned by Charlotte W. Slaughter and Fred A. Sawyer. Mortgage against Sarah Campbell to be delivered and to be paid and satisfied is ordered to the treasurer of Tioga county upon the depositing of the certain mortage by the above mentioned administrators of eleven hundred dollars against William H. Simpson of Waverly, NY deliver to said administrators, a certain mortgage now in your hands made by Sarah Campbell of Waverly, NY for one thousand dollars taking this receipt therefor dated Owego, NY February 20the 1899. Howard S. Mead. Surrogate.

March 18, 1899 The Waverly Free Press: The resolution authorizing the election of a cemetery commission should not be confounded with the one authorizing the issuing of bonds to purchase Glenwood cemetery. The commissioners are to serve without pay. One is to be elected each year for a term of five years, and thus the board is to be made perpetual, and moneys can be left to them in trust to care for the plots of persons who may have no living representatives in this locality. There are several such cases now and this number will increase, of course, as the years go by. A commission means five citizens who will look after the affairs of the cemetery and be responsible for its care. It will relieve the trustees of that much work and responsibility and at no additional expense, and every reason and argument seems to be in favor of the resolution. - The resolution for the purchase of the new Glenwood cemetery, provides that the purchase price of $5,900 shall be paid by bonds maturing in twenty-five years, but that when over $500 has accrued from the sale of lots, it may be paid on the bonds. It is believed that the sale of lots will pay the bonds, with interest, and the expense of caring for the cemetery. The object of the purchase is to have the cemetery under the control of the village authorities. It is a business proposition and should be upon its merits.

May 9, 1899 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Press: Mrs. A. J. Van Atta of Waverly is the guest of Mr. and Mrs. A. V. Schuyler of No. 109 Lormore street. (Mr. A. V. Schuyler was an Elmiran druggist)

May 20, 1899 The Waverly Free Press: Board of Trustees. Waverly, N. Y., May 15, 1899. The regular meeting of the Board of Trustees came to order in the trustees’ room at 7:30 p. m. - President Harnden, and Trustees Munn, Lawrence, Harding, Lyons, and Hilton were present. … An application was presented asking permission of the board to establish and maintain a public cemetery within the village, and, on motion, the following resolution was offered and carried: Whereas, Application has been made to this board for its consent to establish and maintain a public cemetery within its limits, to be known as “The Glenwood Cemetery.” Resolved, That the desired permission be and hereby is granted to the said Glenwood Cemetery to establish and maintain a public cemetery within the village of Waverly, Tioga County, N. Y. Ayes - 7. Noes - 0. On motion, ordered that W. C. Woodward be and he hereby is appointed pound master for the village for the ensuing year. …

June 10, 1899 The Waverly Free Press: An Enjoyable Concert. Talented Artists Heard at the Opera House Wednesday Evening. Rarely does a Waverly audience listen to a program of high-class music without a certain feeling of fatigue, which is occasioned by the lack of proper appreciation of the music rendered. Those music lovers who heard the concert at the opera house Wednesday evening, however, felt no fatigue; indeed, when the last number was finished, no one moved to depart but sat clamoring for more. The program could scarcely have been better arranged for excellence of music of ability of performers. Edwin R. Weeks, of Binghamton, had been heard here before but not as an impersonator. His ability in this line is rare, indeed. He won favor with the audience from the start with his singing of “The Prophecy.” In response to an encore he gave “Lucky Jim.” Later he gave two dialect sketches, “Internal View, Taken by Himself,” and “Da Monk,” in a manner which convulsed his audience with laughter. As an encore he recited a story as Joseph Jefferson would have told it, his imitation of that noted actor being perfect. Mr. Weeks’ operetta, “The Grasshopper,” was as full of perfect character acting as one composition could well be. The grasshopper, all his family, various bugs, and persons were represented in so real a way that they were almost visible. In answer to a prolonged encore he gave “Missing the Train,” by James Whitcomb Riley. Mr. Weeks’ ability as a singer, added to his talent in character acting has won for him and enviable reputation in every place where he has been.
Mrs. Clementine Sheldon Hess, whose ability is well known to Waverly people, never sang better than Wednesday evening. Her rich, clear voice gave exquisite pleasure to her hearers and her first selection, “Bolerl” by Arditti, won prolonged applause. As an encore she gave “Kathleen Mavourneen.” Her rendition of the double number, “The Nightingale and the Rose” and “ A Summer Song” called forth again tremendous applause, to which she gracefully bowed acknowledgement.
Mr. C. Frederic Hess, of Binghamton, sang the “Creole Lover’s Song” in the delightful way which his splendid voice makes possible. To the encore he responded with “Off to Philadelphia,” a beautiful ballad.
The great range of Mrs. Fred E. Slawson’s rich contralto voice was fully displayed in her singing of “Night Time” and “Thy Name.” She was accorded a well merited encore which she declined but bowed acknowledgement.
Miss Ellen G. Lemon is not heard frequently here, although she is one of Waverly’s leading vocalists. Her voice is one of great sweetness, though powerful, and the beauties of the “Ave Maria” adapted from the celebrated Intermezzo from Cavalleria Rusticana were perfectly brought out in her singing of it. To an encore she responded by singing a pretty lullaby but declined the second encore.
Mrs. Hess and Mr. Hess gave a pleasant rendering of the duet “Night Hymn at Sea” in which the blending of their voices was perfect. They gave “The Language of the Rose” as an encore.
Miss Frances Perley was heard in a delightful rendering of Chopin’s Op. 53, “Polonaise in A flat.” Miss Perley’s piano playing is always a pleasure, this time especially so. In response to an encore she gave “To the Spring,” by Grieg.
Perfect as was the program, it would have been incomplete without the assistance of Horace H. Kinney, as accompanist. Mr. Kinney is in the front rank of accompanists and it is a real treat to listen to his playing. He was at his best Wednesday evening and his difficult task was faultlessly performed. Two selections were given by the orchestra of eight pieces, conducted by J. M. Slawson. The music was of a high character and was excellently rendered, the performers receiving a generous share of the applause.
It is a matter of regret that a larger number of the many music-loving people in Waverly were not present, although the excessive heat was doubtless responsible for their absence. The Methodist church for the benefit of which the concert was given, will net a small sum.

Pupils’ Musicale. One of the delightful events of the season was the musicale given at the residence of Mrs. D. C. Atwater, 535 Clark street, Thursday afternoon, by the pupils of Miss Frances Perley, assisted by Mrs. Clementine Sheldon Hess and Mr. Horace H. Kinney. The parlors were filled with invited friends by whom the fine music rendered was greatly enjoyed. The program was as follows: …

July 15, 1899 The Waverly Free Press: Accidental Injuries. Wednesday morning, Dennis T. Nolan, of Corning, a lineman of the employ of the N. Y. & Pa. Tel. & Tel. Co., had the misfortune to break his leg while working on the residence of Mrs. S. W. Slaughter. He was putting a fuse box on the house and had completed the job. He discovered that he had left his knife laying on the box and went up the ladder again after it. The ladder broke just as he reached the top of it and he was precipitated to the ground, and his right leg was broken just above his ankle. Dr. Harnden was called and reduced the fracture and the injured man was removed to his room at the Warford House.

July 22, 1899 The Waverly Free Press: Percy L. Lang is having a large addition built on his residence to be used as a library. (another newspaper article, date unknown said - Besides building an addition on his fine residence. Percy L. Lang has had a large window and a porte cochere built on the east side of the house this week.)

The stone walk in front of the city hall building has been relaid this week.

A new stone crosswalk has been put down at the junction of Athens and Tioga streets.

Truman B. Sturdevant and Miss Allavesta Christman, both of Scranton, were married at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Harry Wright, Athens street, Tuesday evening by Rev. D. H. Clare

Dr. Gamble will move to New York city Sept 1. He will be succeeded here by Dr. Carpenter of that city. -- John H. Sparks’ new railroad shows and trained animal exhibition will exhibit in Waverly on Saturday, July 22, afternoon and evening. Admission only 10 and 25 cents. This show is known the world over as the largest, grandest and best 25-cent show on the road, with all new, startling, original and up-to-date features. The finest performing lions, wolves and elephants on earth are to be seen with Sparks’ big one ring shows, together with a troupe of highly educated horses, ponies, mules, dogs, goats and monkeys. Also a fine acrobatic and gymnastic performance and six funny clowns. See Romeo, the largest lion in captivity, and Mary, the smallest baby elephant ever on exhibition. See our grand free balloon ascension with parachute jump, also a free thrilling high tower dive from a ladder 80 feet high into a net. This is given free to all from the show ground at 1 and 7 p.m., rain or shine. Don’t miss it. It alone is worth going many miles to see and it costs you nothing. Mr. Sparks offers a handsome bedroom suite to any couple that will take a trip in his big bridal balloon and get married. Now is your chance for a big novel wedding and a handsome present, and no danger of any accident at all. There have been hundreds of successful marriages in this big balloon and not a single accident. Now is a chance of a lifetime. Don't miss it. - Mike O’Brian, (“Old Soldier,”) has had a fine stone walk laid in front of his residence on Park Place. - C. F. Poole’s house on Chemung street, occupied by J. V. Flynn, and his house on William street, occupied by J. B. Lynch have been neatly repainted by H. E. Brewster.

October or November 1899 The Waverly Free Press: George Knapp was operated upon at the Packer hospital last week and is rapidly improving. It is thought that this will entirely cure him of his trouble. All his many friends wish this good luck for him.

December 8, 1899 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Press: Disastrous Waverly Fire. It Broke Out at 5 O'clock This Morning. In Van Atta's Drug Store. The Flames Were First Discovered by a Policeman, Who Gave the Alarm - The Loss is Heavy - Firemen's Good Work. (Special Dispatch.) Waverly, Dec. 8. - A disastrous fire visited the large corner drug store of John C. Van Atta in this village at 5 o'clock this morning. The flames broke out under the stairs leading to the second story of the structure. Police Officer Kenney first saw the light and at once sounded the alarm. The firemen worked in their usual effective manner and in the course of an hour had the fire under control. The upper part of the building, containing the office of P. A. La Pour, assistant superintendent of the Metropolitan Insurance Co. and the millinery rooms of Miss Ida Tannery, was badly damaged. Mr. Van Atta's stock of drugs and wall paper, valued at $7,000, was almost entirely ruined. The building belonged to Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter and was valued at $7,000, with an insurance of $3,500. Mr. Van Atta carried an insurance of $5,000 on his stock.

December 9, 1899 The Waverly Free Press: Three Times in Fourteen Years. The drug store of J. C. VanAtta was considerably damaged by fire this, Friday, morning. About 4:30 o'clock Mrs. George D?ougham, who lives in the Merriam block, awoke and smelled smoke. She went down on the street, saw the blaze and gave the alarm. The fire started under the front stairway and in a few minutes was roaring up the entire stairway to the third floor. The Spaldings were soon on hand followed by the Tiogas and Cayutas and after some hard work, the flames were extinguished. The steel ceiling prevented the fire from getting in the store proper much, but the loss from smoke and water will be great. Mr. VanAtta was carrying a very large stock of holiday goods and had in a very large stock of new wall paper most of which was damaged by water. The loss to the building is estimated at $750 and Mr. VanAtta thinks that his loss will exceed his insurance. The building belongs to the Slaughter estate and has been on fire three times within fourteen years.

January 20, 1900 The Waverly Free Press: Board of Trustees. ... F. A. Sawyer appeared on behalf of the Slaughter estate and asked permission to erect a projecting window on the Slaughter building on the corner of Waverly and Broad streets, the width of the window not to exceed thirty inches. On motion ordered that the above matter be and the same hereby is referred to the committee on public buildings, with power to act and determine the matter. On motion adjourned. F. L. Howard, Clerk.

Paul Berghaus, an Athens attorney, will open an office in the Slaughter block as soon as the room is completed. He and his parents, Rev. and Mrs. V. H. Berghaus, will move to this place soon.

February 21, 1900 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Press: Ex-Village President Andrew Slawson against Senator William E. Johnson for the alleged larceny of a fine Shanghai rooster, the most sensational case in the legal annals of Tioga county, will occupy the attention of the local court tomorrow evening. So prominent are the principals to the case and so wide-spread is the interest in the possible fate of our worthy senator that no court-room could be found to accommodate the people who desire to witness the great trial and the affair will, therefore, be held in the opera house. All of which means that at the time and place mentioned a mock trial is to be held under the auspices of the Y. M. C. A. The case will be under the direction of Colonel A. V. Newton of Worcester, Mass., and is expected to be one of exceeding interest and great hilarity. Besides the principals before mentioned a great array of prominent men will participate. Hon. J B. Floyd will officiate as judge and Village Clerk. F. L. Howard will act as court clerk. Lawyer F. E. Hawkes will be prosecuting attorney and Colonel Newton will represent the defense. Harvey C. Bruster is named as court crier, while Cheif-of-Police Brooks has been engaged as sheriff. The other parties to the famous suit will be as follows: Jurymen, A. M. Bouton, E. E. Walker, E. F. Perkins, W. C. Farley, Clayton A. Smith of the Free Press, Fred A. Sawyer of the Citizen's bank, John Shackleton, Judge C. A. Hoagland, Charles E. Scott, M. MeGuffie, Dr. F. M. Snook and W. H. Ferguson; witnesses, Justice of the Peace, Watrous, County Commissioner E. S. Hanford, Percy L. Lang of the First National bank, T. J. Phillips and W. T. Harris. Of course our people are very anxious not to be deprived of the valuable services of our senator by a sentence of "Guilty," neither would the community like to see so prominent a Democrat as ex-Postmaster Slawson held up as a person engaged in a malicious prosecution, so the outcome is awaited with baited breath.

March 26, 1900, VanAtta's drug store reopened after renovation from fire on December 8, 1899. A bay window on the second floor was put in. (from Don Merrill's collection)

March 31, 1900 The Waverly Free Press: A Beautiful Place. The drug store of John C. VanAtta in the Slaughter block, was opened again to the public Monday of this week and it is one of the finest places in this section of the country. Since the disastrous fire which visited the place last December, carpenters and others have been busy in the front of the store while Mr. VanAtta has been doing business on a small scale in the rear part. It was a very pretty sight which greeted the eyes of visitors to the store Monday. The general arrangement is about as before. The woodwork is of solid cherry, finished in the natural. On the east side is a row of French plate mirrors, in front of which are the shelves for bottles, supported by handsome columns. The bottles have cut glass stoppers and the effect of it all is very pretty. Opposite are the shelves for wrapped goods, protected by plate glass doors. In the rear centre is the prescription desk, the front of which is one of the most beautiful pieces of work ever brought to this place. It is of cherry and is decorated with beautiful carved work, which was done in Boston. There is a profusion of carved work about the store which is very handsome. The solid plate glass show cases are trimmed with solid rosewood and set on marble bases, which correspond very nicely with the tile floor. The steel ceiling, which escaped damages by the fire, has been beautifully decorated and the whole produces a most pleasing effect and is a tribute to the ability of the workmen who did the work. Pierce & Bickford, of Elmira, were the architects in charge of the remodeling of the block. Sherman A. Genung had the contract for the carpenter work and Thomas Keeler did the decorating. S. J. Bostwick finished the woodwork. The offices upstairs area as pretty as one could wish. The front room has been made more pleasant by the addition of a fine bay window on the Broad street side. This and the next room are occupied by Dr. C. F. Hart as a dental parlor, and they are very conveniently arranged. The third room is the law office of Attorney Paul Berghaus and is admirably suited for the purpose. All three rooms are handsomely painted and papered and when the outside of the block has been newly painted, as is intended, the Slaughter block will be one of the handsomest in Waverly. (At this time, owned by Charlotte Slaughter, widow of Samuel Slaughter, residence at 208 Chemung Street, Waverly NY)

1900, at 337 Broad Street, Paul Berghaus, counselor at law and 1900 - 1921, Dr. Charles F. Hart, dentist on second floor. (from Don Merrill's collection)

April 28, 1900 The Waverly Free Press: G. A. R. Column. At the exercises held in G. A. R. Hall Monday evening, April 9, in commemmoration of Lee's surrender, Judge F. Shoemaker gave the following very interesting address on Walter C. Hull, after whom the local post was named. We are permitted to print it in full. It was as follows: "Grand army posts are named after dead heroes. Our post bears the name of a soldier who distinguished himself on many a battlefield. We do ourselves great honor when we recall his heroic services and relate the prominent incidents of the life of the youngest and one of the bravest colonels who supported the "stars and stripe" as if was carried against the foes of the republic. ... Walter C. Hull was born in the little village of Angelica, Alleghany county, New York. ... In 1859, at the age of fifteen, he came to Waverly to reside with his uncle, D. L. F. Clarke, Esq., and attended school at the Waverly Academy which was then under the direction of Prof. Andrew J. Lang, whose reputation as a successful educator was well known in all this section of this state and the northern counties of Pennsylvania. Young Hull's schoolmates during the next two years were S. W. Slaughter, Fred Emerson Brooks, Hugh J. Baldwin, Howard and Allison Elmer and many others who then resided here. One of those just named while speaking of him remarked: "He was a very bright student, a ready debater, a natural orator and a willing fighter whenever his services were needed by a friend." In the spring of 1861 young Hull was among the ten or a dozen who graduated from the academy, prepared to enter college. College life, however, was not to be his lot. The slaveholders' rebellion had already commenced its bloody work. Fort Sumter had been attacked, and its brave defenders, headed by Maj. Anderson, had been compelled to retire. The president had called for an army of 75,000 men to defend the Union. A large portion of the graduation class enlisted and went to the front. Young Hull found a place in the 87th Reg't. N. Y. Inf., and was mustered into the United States service some time in June. ... This died the gallant young patriot soldier whom we delight to honor and whose portriat we hang above the chair of the Post Commander of Walter C. Hull Post, No. 461 Dept. of N. Y., Grand Army of the Republic. ...

A party composed of Mr. and Mrs. George Grafft, Mrs. J. B. Floyd and Mrs. S. W. Slaughter and daughter, Gertrude, are making a tour of points on the great lakes.

Druggist John C. Van Atta and family are spending a vacation at Ocean Grove, N.J. (Van Atta took over the corner drug store business after Samuel Slaughter)

Mrs. Fred A. Sawyer and son, Mrs. Charles Sawyer and Mrs. W. E. Moore left on Thursday for a visit to Atlantic City. (Mrs. Fred A. Sawyer gave Gertrude Slaughter her engagement party)

August 6, 1900 The Evening Gazette Port Jervis: Returned From Camp Lee. A very congenial party has been enjoying Camp Lee for the past three weeks and would have remained longer but business called and they broke camp Saturday. They had a delightful time and highly recommend Camp Lee for comfort and coolness. The members of the party were: Mr. and Mrs. J. M. Haggerty, Mrs. Edson Coleman and granddaughter, Miss Charlotte Glover, Goshen; Mr. and Mrs. A. W. Coleman and three children, Jersey City; Charles Coleman, New York city; Miss Miller, Brooklyn; Mr. Rensallaer Ayers, wife and son, Middletown; Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Raymond, Miss Fannie Penney and Mr. and Mrs. E. O. Harding, Port Jervis.{Mr. and Mrs. J. M. Haggerty was Charlotte's niece and her husband. Mrs. Edson Coleman was probably her nephew's wife. Charlotte had nephews, Alfred Wells Coleman, Charles Leslie Coleman. So many of these guests were relatives of Charlotte Wells Slaughter. A camp that Charlotte and Gertrude also vacationed at. E. O. Harding was an Erie Conductor}

September 1, 1900 The Waverly Free Press: Miss Frances Perley returns to Waverly on Sept 10 and will reopen her studio in the residence of H. W. Weeks, No. 111 Park Place.

Sept or Oct. 1900 The Waverly Free Press: Primary Union Organized. A primary union, or a union of primary and junior teachers of the several village Sunday schools, was organized in the Baptist church Tuesday afternoon. Mrs. R. A. Vose, of Owego, district superintendant, and Mrs. H. Austin Clark, also of Owego, county superintendent, were present and explained the object and work of the union, and taught the lesson for next Sunday - a very interesting exercise. The primary songs were given by Mrs. W. J. Simmers, who was highly complimented by the Owego ladies for her fine singing. The officers elected were as follows; President, Mrs. J. E. Angell; vice-president, Mrs. M. J. Lawrence; secretary, Mrs. W. J. Simmers; treasure, Mrs. S. W. Slaughter; librarian Miss Anna Tozer. The first meeting for lesson study will be held at the Y. M. C. A. building next Tuesday afternoon at four o'clock.

October 6, 1900 Waverly Free Press: Mrs. Peter Kinney is building an addition to her residence at Johnson and Chemung streets.

1901 or 1902 The Waverly Free Press: Places of Entertainment. Some Are Possibly Entertaining "Angels Unawares" A Complete List. The following is a list of the ministers in attendance at the conference, with the places where they are stopping. Several changes have been made since the directory was gotten out in pamphlet form. ...Blair William T. & Williams, Hugh H. - W. E. Seacord, 314 Fulton St., S. W. ... Berry, J. F. & Mills, E. M. - Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, 208 Chemung St. ... David, Arthur D. & MacKeller, Donald S. - F. E. Munn, 207 Chemung St. ... Decker, Alexander D. & Kilpatrick, Egbert - J. W. Knapp Reed St. ... Floyd, Lyman C. - J. B. Floyd, 456 Waverly St. ... Hall, Truman F. & Sweet, John B. - P. L. Lang, 202 Chemung St. ...

Mrs. William McEwen, who has been seriously ill is convalescing. (1903 directory lists McEwen as renting half of the octagon home at 7 Athens st.)

Henry E. Amrhein is sick with quinsy at his home on Athens street.

1901 or 1902 Waverly Free Press: H. E. Amrhein and his little daughter are both ill at their home on Athens street.

1901 or 1902 The Waverly Free Press: Mrs. Case Peppard and daughter of Colorado, who have been visiting the former's uncle, A. J. VanAtta, and other relatives several weeks, left Friday morning for Olean where they will spend a few days with her sister, Mrs. Ed. Lathrop, from there they will return to their homes. Her sister, Mrs. Sarah Harlow, accompanied her as far as Olean.

1901 or 1902 The Waverly Free Press: Mrs. F. E. Munn and Miss Gertrude Slaughter went to Binghamton Wednesday to meet Miss Ethel Kinsman, of Owego, who returned to Waverly with them for a visit.

1901 or 1902 The Waverly Free Press: Mrs. S. W. Slaughter and daughter, Gertrude, were at the exposition this week. (May have been in Buffalo)

Mr. and Mrs. George Wright, of Laceyville, Pa., have been visiting this week at the home of their son, Harry Wright, Chemung street. (1899, Harry Wright was living on Athens St.)

In 1901 Gertrude Slaughter attended Lincoln street school.

January 19, 1901 The Waverly Free Press: Dr. Henry Foster, aged eighty years, founder of the Clifton Springs sanitarium, died in that place Tuesday from heart failure.

January 23, 1901 Corning Journal: Dr. Henry Foster, founder of the Sanitarium at Clifton Springs, N. Y., and for nearly fifty years at the head of that famous health resort, died on Jan. 15, aged nearly eighty years.

February 2, 1901 The Waverly Free Press: G. A. R. Column. Posts of the Grand Army of the Republic are named ... Walter C. Hull was born in the village of Angelica ... In 1859, at the age of fifteen years young Walter ... entered the Waverly academy, then under the supervision of the late Prof. Andrew J. Lang, whose reputation as a successful educator was widely known. His schoolmates for the next two years, some of the brightest that our village has ever sent out into the world of kept at home to make the town what she is: S. W. Slaughter, Fred Emerson Brooks, Hugh J. Baldwin, Howard and Richard Allison Elmer, and Herman D. Jenkins. ... J. F. Shoemaker.

February 20, 1901 The Waverly Free Press: Caleb B. Olney. The death of Caleb B. Olney occurred at his home on West Broad street Tuesday morning, January 29, 1901, after an illness of about five months with rheumatism and the ills incident to old age. He was born in the town of Berkshire, this county, in 1812, and passed the most of his life in the county. He had lived for about thirty years in Waverly. He learned th carpenter's trade and then studied architecture and made a specialty of church construction. He was very successful and several churces in this vicinity were built by him. During the civil was he served in the construction corps of his regiment. He is survived by one son, the Rev. Alfonso Olney, D. D., of Troy, N. Y., and one daughter, Minnie, wife of Rev. F. J. Shackleton, of New York. The funeral services were held from the home Tuesday afternoon at 2:30 o'clock, Rev. P. R. Ross, D. D., officiating. The interment was in Forest Home cemetery. The deceased was a member of the Masonic and Odd Fellow fraternities, but never belonge to either of the local lodges.

May 4, 1901 The Waverly Free Press: Arbor Day. Arbor Day was celebrated in all the local schools, this Friday, afternoon with interesting and appropriate exercises. The complete program at each school is appended. ......... Lincoln Street. The pupils of Miss A? and Miss Maloy gathered in the room of the latter and gave the following program ...Song - Plant the Trees, - School, Reading of Superintendent's Letter, Mildred Roseman ... Recitations ... Song ... .... Recitiations... Pussy Willow, Gertrude Slaughter ... At the conclusion of the program two trees were planted in the yard. The pupils of the whole school then marched around the trees while singing America.

June 1901 or 1902 Waverly Free Press: H. E. Amrhein and his little daughter are both ill at their home on Athens street.

June 6, 1901: A Revolutionary Hero. Decoration Day Past Commaner W. F. Wakefield and wife who, is the President of Charles Lawrence Woman's Relief Corps, Adjutant R. H. George and wife who is, the Chaplain of said Corps, proceeded to the burial plot of Maj. General Thomas Thomas, out on Lincoln avenue and decorated the grounds with flags and flowers. General Thomas was in command of all the Westchester County troops during the Revolutionary War, and was a hero whose burial place deserves the greatest recognition. For over twenty years Charles Lawrence Post of the G. A. R. has had details made to look after the spot where this great man's remains lie. Last Thursday Past Commanders Wakefield and George found the grounds over run with weeds and the solid granite shaft that marks the spot, moss grown and sadly lacking care. The Post can afford to decorate the grave and are pleased to do it, but are not able to liquidate the expense of improving the grounds. The Sons of the Revolution should see that the grave is restored and kept in good order.

June 20, 1901 The Owego Record: Municipal Ownership. The municipal ownership of water works systems, electric lighting systems, etc., appeals to almost every village in which there are reasonable indications that such should be installed. Waverly is engaged in such movement and she is a near enough neighbor to make arguments and conclusions in the matter of interest to Owego people, who are contemplating a similar move. President Hugh J. Baldwin of Waverly, in an open letter published in The Advocate of that place, quotes as follows from a Handbook of Water Works Statistics published, in 1897, by F. W. Sheperd of 93-97 William street, New York: "From Waverly company will be found the following: Water supply - source, spring, one mile from business center; system, gravity; reservoirs, capacity, 130,000,000 gallons; 43 hydrants, Mathews; pipe 12 miles, 12 inch to 4 inch in diameter, cast iron, R. D. Wood; 50 meters, Crown and Thompson; 47 valves; 660 taps; service pipe galv. iron; quality of water good; pressure, 88 to 90 pounds; water works owned by company; cost to construct, $60,000; annual expenses, $1,890; superintendent, A. J. VanAtta. "From Owego company's statement we find: Cost to construct, $140,000, and a pumping station, and President Colby of Owego gives the price of a single faucet $5 and adds, notwithstanding these expenses, 133 1/2 per cent greater than the expenses of the Waverly Water Works company, that Owego is losing $5,000 per year by not owning her water works, which would seem to confirm my statement that Waverly is losing $12,000 per year by now owning her water works."

September 10, 1901 From the "Waverly Free Press": A part of Pennsylvania avenue is being improved by being rounded up and covered with a wearing service of crushed stone. Last year this work was done on the avenue from Chemung street to the Presbyterian church and it will now be completed, at least as far as Howard street.

October 12, 1901 The Waverly Free Press: A Veteran Mason. Philetus Lowry, of Pine City,N. Y., is the oldest member of Waverly Lodge, No. 407, F & A. M. A Free Press representative had the pleasure of a visit with Mr. Lowry at his home last Tuesday. He is in his ninetieth year, and quite feeble in body, although his mind is clear and active. His has been a well-spent life and in his quiet home, with his aged wife he is patiently awaiting its close. Mr. Lowry was made a Mason at Nichols. He was a charter member of Waverly lodge, which was organized in 1856, and was the second Worshipful Master of the lodge, serving from 1859 to 1864, with the exception of the year 1862 when Squire H. C. Hubbert filled the office. Mr. Lowry when a resident of Waverly occupied the Gardner house, opposite the home of Hon. J. T. Sawyer. He left Waverly about the close of the war of the rebellion, and soon after located at Pine City. He was closely identified with the early history of Waverly. He was a carpenter and builder, and many of the old landmarks of the valley are of his handiwork. The Nathaniel Bristol house, on Chemung street, now the home of Mrs. Lowman, was built by him as was the Cuyler homestead at Spring's Corners. Mr. Lowry hewed all the main timbers by hand for the Bristol house, and worked on the building until it was completed. It was a very large and handsome building for those days. While they resided in Waverly, Mrs. Lowry taught a private school at her home in the Gardner house - a school that is still a pleasant memory for some of our citizens. Mr. Lowry has not visited Waverly since the close of the war, but hopes to this fall, and to again occupy a seat in the lodge room of the lodge which he helped to organize.

September 1901 Waverly Free Press: H. M. Bogart is building a second story to the L portion of his residence on Tioga street.

January 6, 1902 The Auburn Bulletin: Fire In Waverly. Elmira. Jan. 6 - The Slawson block, one of the most pretentious business buildings in Waverly, was destroyed by fire of unknown origin yesterday morning. H. J. Levy's clothing stock insured for $12,500 was a total loss. The total damage on building and contents was $25,000.

1902 or 1903 Waverly Free Press: Mrs. Grace Campbell and children, of Athens street, left Wednesday for an extended visit with relatives in Susquehanna.

1902 Waverly Free Press: R. E. Brown moved this week from Athens street into the Beach house on Waverly street.

February 1, 1902 The Waverly Free Press: Polyhymnia Club Entertained. The Polyhymnia club was delightfully entertained at the home of Mrs. S. W. Slaughter on Chemung street Monday evening. An interesting program was carried out by members of the club assisted by Miss Anna L. Johnson and Percy L. Lang. The numbers were as follows: "Fruhlingraucheon," Sinding - Miss Kenrick. Papers - Berlioz, 1803-1869. Thomas, 1811- Mrs. Taylor. "Valse de Concert," Wteniawski. - Mr. Lang. "Dance of the Dragon Flies," Guy d' Hardelot - Miss Snook. "Shepherd's Dance," German. "La Papilion," Calixa Lavalee - Mr. Lang, "When I'm Big I'll Be a Soldier," Molloy - Miss Wellar, "Moonlight Sonata-Adagio, Allegro," Beethoven - Mr. Lang. Vocal Trio- "O'er Blooming Meadows," Wakerlin - Miss Snook, Mrs. Ott, Mrs. Wilking. "Maseppa-Galop de Concert," Wollenhaupt - Mr. Lang. Vocal Solo - Selected - Miss Johnson. "Rondo Capricciosco," Kendelssohn - Mr. Lang. Elegant refreshments were served during the evening. Following the program Mr. Lang gave several additional selections on the Apollo which were very much enjoyed.

February 1, 1902 Waverly Free Press: Mr. Julius Sayles of Waverly and Miss Sophia Leipsinger were married Monday afternoon at five o’clock at the home of the bride’s parents, Mr. and Mrs. E. Leipsinger, corner of Fifty-ninth street and Madison avenue, New York City. Following the ceremony a grand reception was given to a large company of friends. Mr. and Mrs. Sayles left immediately for a month’s tour through the south. They will return to Waverly and take up their residence at 205 Chemung street in the house which Mr. Sayles recently purchased of Hugh Harding. Mrs. Sayles is a popular Waverly business man and with his bride will receive the well wishes of a host of friends.

March 7, 1902 Waverly Free Press:Tremendous Floods. Susquehanna and Chemung Valleys Inundated - - Highest Water Since ’65 - - Great Damage Done. Augmented by the waters of a four days’s thaw and the rain of Friday and Saturday the streams in this vicinity went on a tearing rampage Saturday and Sunday, flooded the lowlands around the village, caused a money loss of thousands of dollars and untold trouble and inconvenience. The rising waters broke up the ice in Shepard’s creek and the floating cakes formed a jam at the Lehigh bridge near North Waverly, turning most of the stream out of its channel onto the Lehigh tracks. Thus the mad waters came down in a raging torrent, filling all the lowlands in East Waverly from Cayuta avenue to beyond the granite works. The houses just east of the Chemung street bridge were surrounded to the depth of several feet. The opening in the roadway on Ithaca street east of the creek made by the December flood, and which had not yet been repaired, was widened and the foot bridge carried away again. The houses here were also completely surrounded. Further down the creek the waters flooded the Decker tannery and the plant of the American Basket & Manufacturing Co. At the last mentioned place the water was twenty-two inches deep on the lower floors, necessitating the closing down of the greater part of the works. Great cakes of ice were left along the pathway of the flood, barns and other outbuildings were undermined or carried away and widespread ruin was everywhere. Dry Brook formed a Niagara at the Erie crossing and the tracks were soon flooded. At the Erie station the water covered the platform and was several inches deep in the baggage and waiting room. From above Loder street to Pennsylvania avenue the roadbed had the appearance of a river. The company kept a force of laborers at work at the crossing over the brook, in an endeavor to enlarge the channel, but the rush of waters was irreisitable and to control it was impossible. The Chemung river rose rapidly and on Saturday afternoon reached a height unequalled since the great flood of 1865. The water was within four feet, six inches of the bottom of the highway bridge just west of the village. Through the narrows the highway was flooded in several places and the road was impassable until Monday morning. At the O’Day farm the water was up around the house and boats had to be used. West of the highway bridge the road was flooded almost to the farmhouse of H. B. Rogers. The swift current tore out the roadway and the receding waters left it impassible. A. B. Cook’s farm was several feet under water which reached a height of thirteen inches in his dining room. All through the narrows outbuildings were washed away, chickens were drowned and hundreds of dollars damage was done. Here in the village considerable damage was done also. Cellars were flooded and streets and gutters were washed out. Lincoln street north of Clinton avenue was a miniature river and on Friday afternoon the smaller children had to be carried away from the Lincoln street school. Hopkins’ oyster bay was drowned out and the Y.M.C.A. basement was partially inundated. All day Saturday and Sunday the raging flood was the cynosure of hundreds of interested beholders. A chief feature of the storm was the complete tie-up of the telephone, telegraph and railroad service. Traffic on the Lehigh was badly handicapped and by Saturday night all through trains had to be annulled. Washouts were numerous along the line and Vosburg tunnel was filled to the depth of eighteen inches. The Erie tracks were submerged first at Wellsburg and the last train west was No. 11 Friday night. Later the road was tied up also at Tioga Center. Several westbound trains were held fast here and thirteen carloads of passengers were taken care of at the local hotels. On Saturday, three Erie trains were switched to the tracks of the Lehigh here and were sent to Buffalo, via Sayre, over that road. Later this arrangement was blocked by the tie-up of the Lehigh. Monday Erie trains 10 and 12 were combined and sent east from Buffalo to Sayre over the Lehigh, taking their own road at this place. Eastbound traffic was resumed on the Erie on Monday at 1:18 p.m. and the road got a through train west at 4:25 p.m. the same day. The Lackawanna was flooded at Lowmanville and later at Apalachin and Nichols. Train service was interrupted from Friday night until Monday night. By Tuesday morning the road had trains running on schedule time. At Sayre many houses on the east side were flooded, a number of them to the second story, and considerable damage was done. Athens escaped complete inundation by the narrowest margin. The Chemung river invaded the west side of the town on Saturday afternoon and by night reached Main street through Center street, flooding the depression between Chestnut and Paine streets. Many lawns on the east side of Main street were completely under water. The Susquehanna rose steadily all day Saturday and at 4 p.m. was fourteen inches higher than the record of last December. The water continued to rise all day Sunday and at 11 o’clock reached the highest point, twenty-nine inches above the December level. The flooding of the whole business portion of the town was only averted by the energetic work of Street Commissioner Mulligan and a large force of men in building a temporary addition to the dike along the stream. At 11 o’clock Sunday night the situation was so grave that the borough council held a consultation and decided to sound the fire alarm to call out all the citizens to work on the dike if the water rose two more inches. Fortunately this was not necessary. Hundreds of Waverly people went to Athens on the trolley Sunday to view the high water.
Local Flood Notes. The Tioga Point club house below Athens was carried away. - The house at Nettlewood camp was partially carried away. - The Erie has a large steam shovel at work in the Barton gravel pit getting out a hurry order of 5,000 car loads of gravel to repair the numerous washouts along the road. - Seven car loads of emigrants were stalled here and Saturday afternoon they bought all the bread in town. Foreigners with loaves under their arms were to be seen all over the streets. - The receding waters of Dry Brook left a deposit of four to six feet of gravel across the Erie tracks. A force of more than 100 men were at work Saturday and Sunday clearing away the obstruction. - At Athens the cottage of a gang of Italians was flooded and the water carried off two kegs of beer. The Dagos immediately stopped all efforts to save their other property and dashed into the water after the beer. - Ex-fire Chief B. D. Barnes, who has helped to conquer many a fire was conquered by the water Saturday morning. His home on East Chemung street was completely surrounded by the flood and he was unable to get to his store. - “San Souci” cottage, the summer resort down the Susquehanna of a number of prominent Waverly people, was flooded nearly to the ceiling of the first story. It is built high up on the river bank, and was thought to be out of the reach of any flood. - A. Boardman Smith, tenant on the Welles farm on the Towanda flats, lost six head of fine cattle by drowning on Saturday night. It is stated that despite the experience of last December and the warnings of his neighbors Mr. Smith made no effort to rescue the animals until too late, and they were drowned in their stalls. - Out of every three persons who saw the river on and average, one was from Athens, one from Sayre and one was from Waverly. The Athens man was wearing and anxious look on his face and saying, “Is it raising?” The Sayre man also wore and anxious look but was saying, “This will wash the line out in bad shape and I won’t get in full time this month.” The Waverly man was not saying a word, he just stood with his hands in his pockets and smiled a broad grin of satisfaction. -Athens News. Of course, The “broad grin of satisfaction” was caused by the knowledge that his home was on high ground where floods wouldn’t bother him. It is a wise man that buildeth his house upon a rock. - “Sime” Carmody, the genial Erie night yardmaster, was clothed in rubber during the flood at the depot and was kept busy carrying lady passengers on his back from the train to dry land. He also carried the pretty South Waverly girls across the tracks in the same manner - even on weighing 210 pounds - and never even grunted, but when little Charlie Coffey, the popular engineer of Wellsburg - weight about 100 pounds - wanted to be carried from the telegraph office to the street, so he could purchase a pair of rubber boots to fit his little feet, “Sime” tackled the job but nearly fainted before he reached the Snyder house platform. It makes all the difference in the world what kind of a load a man carries on his back whether he weakens or not.

April 25, 1902 The Waverly Free Press: Mrs. J. L. Taylor of New York city is spending a few weeks with Mrs. Slaughter of Chemung street.

For Sale - A choice breeding pen of S. C. Buff Leghorn fowls. Thos. Keeler, 29 Lyman avenue, Waverly, N. Y.

June 6, 1902 Waverly Free Press: At a meeting of the executive board of the Packer hospital Monday a donation of $100 in gold was received from four Waverly ladies, Mrs. Adeline T. Kenyon, Mrs. Howard Elmer, Mrs. S. W. Slaughter and Mrs. Theodore Sawyer. A communication which accompanied the gift said it was in grateful recognition of the many benefits of the hospital to the community. (inflation 2014 calculator- $2693.36)

1902 Waverly Free Press: The front of the building recently vacated by the Citizens bank is being repainted this week. The interior has been remodeled for the occupancy of C. H. McArdle and the Tew & Tilton insurance agency. Mr. McArdle is moving into his new quarters, which have been fitted up in an attractive style and which contain an elegant line of men’s furnishings. He will open for business to-morrow. His undertaking rooms are in the rear. The Tew & Tilton offices are not yet completed but when finaly arranged will be among the finest in town. The Water Company’s office will also be in the building. Charles Murray has been doing some attractive gold lettering on both the Tew & Tilton and McArdle windows this week.

September 12, 1902 Waverly Free Press: The Citizens Bank. Moved into New Quarters - - A Handsomely Equipped Institution. The Citizens Bank this week has been moved into the new quarters corner of Broad and Waverly streets and is now one of the finest banking establishments in this section of the country. Some months ago the directors purchased the entire corner block with the intention of utilizing the ground floor then occupied by Farley’s grocery, for the bank. The process of remodeling has been in process since that time and when the doors were thrown open Wednesday the place presented a beautiful appearance. The handsome tiled floor of the lobby, highly polished quartered oak partitions in elegant design, wainscoting of same material, marble cash counters, steel netting, plain side walls setting off a handsome steel ceiling is pleasing to the eye and gives the place a general effect of richness. In the front on the left of the lobby is the president’s private office. This enters into the general banking room which is large, conveniently arranged and well equipped. In this room is the new vault containing the latest design safe from the works of the National Safe & Lock Co., of Cleveland, O. In the vault also is a steel cabinet of safety deposit boxes, a new departure for the bank. The massive doors of the vault were also built by the National Co. and are fitted with time locks. In the rear of the large room is a coat room and lavatory and further on the directors’ room. The furniture, desks, tables, chairs, etc. throughout the building are of quartered oak. It is a thoroughly modern establishment, a credit to the institution and to the town. The Citizens bank was organized in July 1874, the first directors being DeWitt Slaughter, Daniel Bensley, H. W. Owens, Henry C. Spalding, J. T. Sawyer. All these have died except Mr. Sawyer who is still at the head of the bank having been its president since its organization. During the twenty-four years of its existence the bank has occupied the location on Broad street just vacated. It has a capital of $50,000 and a surplus of $20,000, and is a safe, reliable institution worthy of its continued prosperity.

September 19, 1902 Waverly Free Press: Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, of Chemung street, is suffering a severe attack of typhoid fever.

December 19, 1902 The Waverly Free Press: Early Settlers In This Town. ... Another settler of tbe early twenties was John VanAtta. Mr. VanAtta was a native of New Jersey, born In 1782. He came to this town In 1824 or '25 and settled on a farm near Straw Hill, now owned by his son, A. J. VanAtta, and from that time until his death in 1861 was engaged in farming. His wife was Elizabeth Albright, and in their family were ten children : Peter, Margaret, Adam, William, Caroline, Benjamin, Sarah, Isaac, Azariah, and Rebecca; of these there are still resident in Waverly Rebecca, and Azariah father of Clair, John and Edward.

1903, at 337 Broad Street, John N. Hayes, insurance. (from Don Merrill's collection)

1903 directory: 5 Athens st; Mrs. Ann A. Bowman, Mrs. Emma Hubbard, Mrs. Minnie Quick (large home covering both 3 and 5 Athens st). 7 Athens st. two-family octagon home owned by Slaughter's; William W. Emmons and William W. McEwen. 9 Athens carriage house. 4 Athens Samuel S. Myer. 6 Athens Joseph S. Morgan. 8 Athens Hubert J. Brown.

1903 Minnie Flynn was boarding at 7 Athens street, octagon home.

1903 at 7 Athens street: Arthur L. McEwen a Railroad mail clerk, Fred E. McEwen a clerk, Raymond W. McEwen a city editor for the Free Press, Willliam W. McEwen a janitor at the high school. William W. Emmons a plumber and Richard J. Emmons a plumber.

Gabriel Evans, a miller lived at 323 Chemung Street in 1903.

1903 advertisements referred to: hall, dining room, parlor, library, sitting room, den, bed room, mission furniture, writing desks, oak rockers, reed rockers, mahogany rockers, leather chairs, brass beds, library tables, side boards, china closets, buffets, divans, parlor suits, hall mirrors, hall seats

February 17, 1903 "Waverly Free Press": Waverly. Charles E. Scott, a well known business man of Waverly, died at 3:30 o'clock yesterday afternoon at his home on Pennsylvania avenue at the age of fifty-six years, of heart trouble. Mr. Scott had been ill for some time and his death had been expected for the past week. He moved to Waverly eighteen years ago from Towanda. He was engaged extensively in the coal business and had offices in Waverly and in Sayre. He was an honorary member of Tioga Hose Company and for several years past has sung in the Presbyterian Church choir. He is survived by his wife, two daughters, Misses Ellie and Fannie, and one son, Clarence, all of whom reside at home; also his father, Charles W. Scott: of Masonville, N. Y. , and two sisters, Mrs. James H. Hoadley and Miss Ella Scott of New York city. (Charles E. Scott lived in the two story octagon home at 7 Athens St. in 1887 and not sure how long before that.)

March 1903 Ithaca NY Daily News: VILLAGE SADDENED. Elmira Advertiser Correspondent Pays High Tribute to the Late Robert Knapp, Cornell '05. The Elmira Advertiser says: All Waverly was saddened as the news spread that Robert Knapp had succumbed to typhoid fever. He died at the home of his parents on Walker's Hill after a three weeks' illness. He would have been 20 years of age this month. He contracted the disease at Ithaca, where he was a sophomore in Cornell university. He was a pledged member of the Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity and was popular among his associates both at home and at college. Robert Knapp was a brilliant young man. He received an honorary scholarship to Cornell from Tioga county at the age of 18 for his high standing in the competitive examination, in which there were eight contestants. His many friends are heartbroken over his untimely death. He is survived by his parents, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Knapp, and four brothers, one of whom is Ralph, a freshman at Cornell. (Robert is George Knapp's brother. Gertrude Slaughter married George Knapp in 1915 and lived at 208 Chemung Street, Waverly, NY)

March 13, 1903 Elmira Daily Gazette And Free Press: ROBERT KNAPP OF WAVERLY, IS DEAD. Another Victim of Ithaca's Typhoid Fever Epidemic. Particularly sad is the death of Robert Knapp, one of Waverly's best known young men, who passed away in that village yesterday after an illness with typhoid fever. He was a sophomore at Cornell University and contracted the disease while attending college. He was taken home and it was thought that he would recover. But he gradually grew worse and failed until his death resulted. He would have been twenty years of age this month. Knapp was a pledged member of the Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity and was very popular among his class mates and associates at college and at home. This year he was a member of the Cornell Varsity basketball team, and had taken part in all the contests up to the time of his illness. Two years ago he was a member of the Waverly Y. M. C. A. Robert Knapp was a talented and brilliant young man. He won an honorary scholarship to Cornell from Tioga county when only eighteen years of age. The young man was well known in Elmira, epsecially in athletic and Y. M. C. A. circles. He is survived by his parents, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph W. Knapp, who is connected with his father in the large department store of J. W. Knapp & Son: Joseph W. Knapp, jr., who is employed in the same store. Ralph, a freshman at Cornell, and George, a student in the Waverly High School. The funeral will be private and will be held at the family home Saturday morning at 11 o'clock. Rev. Peter R. Ross, pastor of the First Presbyterian church, will officiate. The interment will be at Glenwood cemetery.

May 1, 1903 The Waverly Free Press: Beginnings of Waverly - Early Business Houses On Broad Street. The first effect of the location of the Erie station was to shift the business center of the village from the vicinity of the present site of the Methodist church to the neighborhood of the station. Broad street was already laid out, and cross streets connecting it with Chemung street closely followed. Houses and business places sprung up as if by magic, and there was a lively strife on Broad street to see who should be the first to complete a building and engage in business. As before noted, the Erie station was the first building in that part of the village. The old building stood a little west of the present passenger station, and was destroyed by fire in July 1878. Within two days the railroad company had completed a temporary structure for the use of passengers, and within a week the debris had been cleared away and the burned district was ready for rebuilding. The contract for the new station was let to Howell & Libot of Elmira for $6,900, and by Auguast the present brick structure was well under way. It was opened fo use early in the fall, the company's offices in the meantime being situated in the Tioga House. While the original station was in process of erection William Peck put up a little wooden structure on the bank a little to the west of the present site of the Snyder House, and opened a saloon and eating house. Mr. Peck soon found it necessary to increase the size of his building, which was enlarged, a basement added into which the saloon was moved, and a general store opened on the ground floor. Four or five years later the building was again enlarged, and reopened as a hotel under the same name of Waverly House, later Courtney House. During 1849, but a few months later than the completion of the Peck building, Captain Davis erected another wooden structure and opened a saloon and boarding house between the Courtney House and the present Snyder House site. Within a year the size of this building was doubled and it was likewise converted into a good hotel. Stephen Bennett, who has been noted as previously conducting a blacksmithing business on West Chemung street near the Shephard's, was the next proprietor, and in the fall of 1856 he sold the business to Cyrus Warford. The building was burned Feb. 19, 1857, being a total loss to Mr. Warford who carried no insurance. This was the second serious fire handled by Waverly's pioneer fire company, old Neptune No. 1, and it was only by the most strenuous exertions that the firemen prevented the destruction of the Courtney House also, as nothing but an alley three feet wide separated the two structures. The old Clarmont House, corner of Waverly and Chemung streets was burned in March of the previous year. The Courtney House stood until July 19, 1878, when it was burned in the fire which also consumed the original Erie station building, and Bentley's livery. While these hotels were being built the merchants were not idle, and several stores went up on Broad street. Owen Spalding offered a deed for the lot on which the building should be situated to the person who should first complete a building and engage in business. This prize was won by William Gibbons who opened a store in November 1849, where the Gibbons grocery stands now. When the first store was opened there were but three buildings on the street, not one of them completed. Mr. Spalding at the same time was engaged in erecting a large wooden block on the site of the present brick block, but his own building was not allowed to enter the competition. Here during November, Hiram Moore began a retail business, and about Christmas time T. J. Brooks, who had previously been engaged in business at Factoryville, opened another store in the same block, while John A. Corbin followed with a drug store, also in Spalding's block. The rent of these stores was then $100 per year. This Spalding block was destroyed in the "big fire" of 1855. Isaac Shepard was meantime erecting a double store at the corner of Clark and Broad streets. In one half he opened a dry goods store, while in the other half Messrs. Chas. Shepard and J. L. Reeves conducted a hardware store and tinshop. This building still stands, being one of the few original structures remaining on Broad street, and is now occupied by the Tioga Steam Laundry. In 1850 Hiram Moore built a foundry on Broad and Waverly streets a little above the present location of the Citizens bank, and at about the same time. About the same time John Hard opened a jewelry store, the first in town. It was located where Fred F. Smith has his plumbing shop. The Moore foundry was afterward converted into a saloon, and later into a hotel known as the Central House. With some adjoining properties it was burned December 21, 1861. The Stewart House, formerly the American House was built in 1851 for a grist mill, afterward changed to a furniture factory, and in 1865 Frank Sutton converted it into a hotel. The first brick buildings on the street were put up in 1852, the brick used the their construction being burned in the yard on North Waverly street. In that year Captain Davis, who was the first postmaster, built the Davis (now the Exchange) block at the corner of Broad and Fulton streets. Waverly had been made a postoffice two years before, Captain Davis receiving his appointment from President Fillmore, March 15, 1850. He at first kept the office in Cyrus Warford's store on Chemung street and later in a little wooden building just west of the Jarvis store. This building was afterward moved down to near the present site of the Langford House. Upon completion of the new block the office was installed in the store now occupied by H. M. Ferguson & Co., but in the same year the democrats succeeded in electing their presidential candidate, and Alva Jarvis superseded Captain Davis June 18, 1853. Captain Davis was a very earnest whig and a curious relic of his early political enthusiasm was uneartherd in the spring of 1873 by workmen engaged in repairing the former's home. It was a campaign banner of 1844, made of faded satin and inscribed "Clay" - The Man for the Times," which had lain undisturbed in a disused attic for nearly thirty years. Robert Crans placed it upon exhibition in his store for several days. The second brick building on Broad street was the hotel built by B. P. Snyder and now known as the Snyder House. In 1855 the hotel was sold to Cyrus Warford, and though he retired from active management in 1873 the house until recently bore his name. The following paragraph relative to the Knapp family was handed us by a friend who vouches for its authenticity: "Emily Knapp's great-grandfather, William Knapp, was a Boston merchant at the time the tea was thrown overboard in the harbor and he was one of the parties disguised in an Indian's dress that did it. (To Be Continued)

May 8, 1903 The Waverly Free Press: Stone Quarry For Rent - On easy terms. 400 Chestnut and oak posts for sale. A. G. Dubois, 438 Waverly Street.

The Free Press has frequently during the past few months, called attention to the demand for houses to rent or sell, and urged that our monied men at once erect a number of moderate priced houses or flats. This demand is constantly increasing. Today there is not a vacant house, or vacant suite of rooms in the valley. The different real estate agents in town say that from fifty to one hundred houses could be rented within a week. There is scarcely a day but what each of them has half a dozen or more calls for houses or rooms. This has been the condition for several months, and since the recent order of the Lehigh company directing all tenants of the forty or more houses in the “brick row” and vicinity, east of their tracks at Sayre, to vacate them within ten days, to make room for the extensive shops to be erected there, the call for houses in the three towns has been unprecedented. It is simply impossible for them to find houses, and they will be obliged to occupy a part of houses with other families, temporarily, or move out of town. Nor is this all. The extensive shops that the Lehigh is but commencing to erect at Sayre, together with the large force employed or soon to be employed, in enlarging their yards, will give employment to several hundred additional men there - the number is estimated at 1,500 men - but they can not locate in the valley until houses are built for them. This large increase in population is assured, and there are rumors of other large industrial developments, as will be seen by an article in another column of this paper. In view of these facts, in view of the urgent needs of the town, it is urged that men with money to invest commence at once the erection of a large number of houses in Waverly. All have been wishing for years to see the town develop - now there is a chance to see the wishes realized if the capitalists improve their opportunity. Look the matter up, gentlemen, you will find that this statement is not exaggerated, that houses can be rented or sold faster than you can build them, and to men who work in the shops at good salaries, and who can pay sufficient rents to make the investment profitable. Sayre and Athens are erecting houses by the score and have been for months. Waverly should do the same. A number of small dwellings are already in course of construction in this village and several others are to be commenced at once, but a hundred are needed now, and the men who build them, to rent or sell, will find it a good investment.

May 15, 1903 The Waverly Free Press: Looking Backward Over The Years. A History Of Waverly And Vicinity - Early Settlers - Initial Events - Interesting Incidents With Reminiscences Of The Days Of The Long Ago. No. 24 - Early Days Of Waverly Village. “The Luminary.” With new stores being opened weekly on Broad street the merchants who had previously opened business places on Chemung street discovered that they were decidedly “out of it.” Accordingly they began to move down town, taking not their stock in trade alone, but their buildings also. The old Chambers cabinet shop which stood on the present site of the Lang residence was moved down to the corner of Broad and Clark streets, where for many years it did duty as a grocery, being occupied by J. J. Hern, W. H. Boda and others. It was torn down a couple of years ago to make room for McCarthy’s brick block. George Hanna purchased Gilbert Hallet’s building and moved it to near the present site of Lee’s clothing store, where Hiram Payne occupied it as a furniture store. Cyrus Warford moved his Chemung street grocery down town, and the Moore foundry, mentioned last week, was also a building taken down from Villemont and rebuilt on Broad street. Soon after the coming of the railroad Waverly began to put on the airs of a little city, and within two years the town boasted its own weekly journal. The subsequent history of its growth is best told by extracts from this paper and its successors.
The first newspaper was the “Waverly Luminary,” but unfortunately it was that variety of luminary known to the astronomer as a variable star, and after shining a brief ten months it suffered a total eclipse. It was issued every Friday from an office upstairs in the Spalding block, south side of Broad street, by Thomas Messenger, editor and proprietor. Mr. Messenger came to Waverly from Corning where he had established a paper in 1847. The initial number of the Luminary bore the date October 3, 1851, Mr. Messenger having disposed of his Corning sheet during the July previous. He died in Canada in the early seventies. The Luminary announced under its title that it was devoted to literature, news, etc., and that it was independent in everything, but neutral in nothing. In short, Mr. Messenger aimed to live up to the motto published at the head of his first page, “We shine for all,” but from some of his later articles it is evident that his sentiments were strongly proslavery. As first issued the Luminary was a four page, five column sheet, a little larger than the Youth’s Companion, but after a few months, to accommodate the increased amount of advertising, the size of the page was enlarged to about the present size of a Free Press page. Probably the only complete volume in existence is in the possession of Mrs. C. F. Spencer. …
The following is an extract from his first issue: Our Location. “Waverly is situated in the southwest corner of Tioga County, N. Y., on the line of the New York and Erie Railroad; at which place all passenger trains (the Night Express excepted) stop. It is located midway between the thriving villages of Owego and Elmira, on a beautiful elevated plain about four miles from the village of Athens, where the North Branch and Chemung rivers unite to form the Susquehanna. There is no place along the line of the Railroad whose growth has been so rapid as Waverly. One year since it was simply a station; now it is a neat village containing over 1,000 inhabitants, with hotels, well stocked stores, churches, and last but not least its Newspaper - and is destined to be from its location quite a large village, if not a city. It is now pretty well understood that the Williamsport Railroad will terminate at this place; which when finished will have the effect of doubling our present population in a few months. A glance at our business cards and advertising columns will show the amount of business in the village better than we can do it in an article like this; although not one-half our business men have as yet “got their names in the paper,” but will probably do so in the next few weeks. Six miles east of us and in the same town is the enterprising little village of Barton; and four miles west is situated the village of Chemung - both of which have their hotels, stores, & c. The ancient village of Factoryville is right by our side - is in fact part and parcel of this village and will undoubtedly be incorporated as such ere long. It, also, has a splendid lot of stores, shops, mills, factories & c. As a whole we know of no better location for a village in the state than Waverly has - surrounded as it is, by neat and thriving villages, beautiful scenery, splendid farms, and all the conveniences of Railroads & c. A view from the top of the far named “Spanish Hill,” a few rods in front of the village would amply repay a person for a trip from New York City. As a desirable place of residence it is not surpassed by any other: for the doctors can scarcely exist here it is so “miserably healthy” that they are seriously thinking of turning their attention to the raising of grain - as they have no patients to raise.” (To Be Continued.)

May 22, 1903 The Waverly Free Press: Walter VanAtta of Toledo, Ohio, is visiting his brother, A. J. VanAtta.

Mrs. Julia VanAtta, who has been visiting her brother-in-law, A. J. VanAtta and other Waverly friends, returned to her home in Pine City yesterday. - E. C. VanAtta was in Owego yesterday.

July 1903 Elmira Telegram: Waverly. Theodore Weeks, Ralph Knapp, George Knapp, and Fred Waldo are camping at Cannon Hole.

The Waverly post-office took up their new quarters in the handsome National Protective Legion building on Wednesday, July 1. A new clerk and carrier and two rural carriers have been added to the force.

August 1903 The Waverly Free Press: The Slaughter block corner of Broad and Waverly streets is being repainted.

September 20, 1903 Elmira Telegram: Waverly. Mrs. Dianthe Newkirk, better known as "Auntie" Newkirk, died at her home in Waverly street, at 8 o'clock Wednesday evening, of old age. She was eighty-eight years of age, and came to Waverly seventy-four years ago. She was a member of the Methodist church, from which the funeral was held Friday afternoon at 2 o'clock.

September 1903 or 1904 Waverly Free Press: The wedding of Miss Isabelle L. Welch, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William Welch of Danby, N. Y., to Mr. Richard James Emmons of Waverly was solemnized at the home of the groom’s mother, 16 Tioga street, Ithaca, N. Y., at 7:30 o’clock Wednesday evening. The beautiful Episcopal service was performed by Rev. McKnight of Ithaca in the presence of a large number of friends of the contracting parties. The couple was attended by Miss Nellie Sparling of Ithaca and Mr. Lew Frederick of Cortland. Following the ceremony a sumptuous wedding supper was served. Mr. and Mrs. Emmons came to Waverly last night and will be at home to their friends at No. 7 Athens street after Sept. 16. Among those who attended the wedding from out of town were Mr. and Mrs. William Emmons and A. L. McEwen of Waverly.

September 27, 1903 Elmira Telegram: Mrs. E. Miner Payne and Mrs. S. W. Slaughter of Waverly, were in the city shopping on Wednesday.

October 23, 1903 The Waverly Free Press: Further growth of Sayre. ... The railroad company's purchase contained the Southern Central Junction and at that point, the erection of a sixteen stall round house was begun during 1872. ... In 1875 Robert A. Packer purchased a site for a residence, and in November of that year he began erecting the magnificent home which after his death was converted into the Packer Hospital. Neither effort nor expense were spared in its construction and beautifying and it is estimated that the total cost including the grounds and dining hall was not far from two hundred thousand dollars. The dining hall was added to the original structure only a short time before Col. Packer's death and was designed and finished by Herts Brothers of New York at a cost of forty thousand dollars. It was said to be the finest in the state. ... The first telephone ever put up in this section connected Col. Packer's office with his residence, and the Advocate concluded its lengthy description of the new improvement by assuring its readers that even at such a distance every word could be distinctly heard. (talking about railroad offices at Sayre)... Work on the foundations of the long expected repair shops was begun in August 1878 so that they might be ready for the brick work the following spring.... The foundation for the present Sayre depot, a brick structure 36 by 136 feet, was laid in August 1881. It was formally opened to the public Monday evening, June 5, 1882, Col. Packer making quite an event of the occasion, giving a reception to the citizens of Sayre and the employees of the road. The Sayre band gave a concert, refreshments were served to the company, speeches were made by W. C. Douglas and Mr. Elmer, and Col. Packer publicly presented the keys to the agent, H. C. Spaulding. (To Be Continued)

December 4, 1903 Waverly Free Press: Musical Club Organized. The pupils of Miss Edna Mixer have formed a musical organization know as the Saint Ceclia Club with Josephine Hall president, Pauline Angell vice-president and Maude Ellis secretary. The second meeting was held with Miss Mixer Saturday afternoon and was devoted to the study of Beethoven. The proram was as follows: Columbine..... d'Aceres Fanny Harden. Bonatina......Beethoven Gertrude Slaughter. Serenade.... Amy VanAtta. Fne Elsie....Beethoven Pauline Angell. Turkish March from "Ruins of Athens"....Beethoven Maud Ellis, Pauline Angell. Overture to Poet and Peasant.... Tina Engleman. Polanaise....Beethoven Josephine Hall. Sonato, Op.26.....Beethoven Maud Ellis. Minuet..... Beethoven Josephine Hall, Tina Engleman.

1904-1907 Taken from "Binghamton Republican": Owego Well Represented. At the regular monthly meeting of the board of assistant managers of the Susquehanna Valley Home yesterday the following new members were appointed to the board: City - Mrs. C. J. Knapp, Mrs. E.E. Powell and Mrs. C.A. Ward. Owego - Mrs. James A. Bassett, Mrs. Gurden Pumpelly, Mrs. George I. Hansell, Mrs. Warren L. Ayer, Mrs. H. Austin Clark and Mrs. Louis D. Hyde. Waverly - Miss Mary Elmer, Miss Adelaide Kenyon and Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter. (Susquehanna Valley Home- a state orphanage)

January 31, 1904 Elmira Telegram: WAVERLY. The appointment of W. C. Buck, of Elmira, as Erie station agent at this place, meets with the approbation of every one. Waverly people are proud to welcome him. He assumed his new duties on Thursday and received the congratulations of many of his old friends.

May 8, 1904 The Elmira Telegram: Waverly. Clarence Scott is in Harrisburg, Pa., this week.

Mrs. C. M. Crandall, of Waverly street, is at R. A. Packer hospital at Sayre, receiving treatment for inflammatory rheumatism.

The five-months-old baby boy of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Brown died last Monday morning and the funeral was held Wednesday. The bereaved parents wish to thank their friends for the many acts of kindness. Mr. Brown is very ill of pneumonia.

June 3, 1904 Waverly Free Press: House For Rent - On West Chemung street. Inquire of A. K. Gore. - For Rent - One or two large rooms, private bath. 429 Pennsylvania avenue. - For Rent - Four rooms for light housekeeping. Parties with children need not apply. F. A. Thayer, 501 Waverly street. - For Rent - New house with modern improvements near trolley line. Inquire C. L. Mills, 131 West Chemung street, Waverly. - For Rent - Flat with all modern improvements, at 442 Fulton street. - Desirable Houses And Lots For Sale. Inquire of A. G. Dubois, 438 Waverly St. - For Sale - House and lot No. 4 Athens street. Hot water connection. Bath room. S. S. Myers. - For Sale - On account of removal A. A. Slawson will sell his elegant residence, No. 325 Chemung St., on easy terms. For particulars inquire of Tew & Tilton.

October 16, 1904 Waverly Free Press: Improvements About Town. … The Slaughter tenant house on Athens street is being repainted. (The octagon home at 7 Athens Street)

October 30, 1904 Elmira Telegram: Percy L. Lang, with his big Sterns automobile, decorated with Cornell colors, started for Ithaca this morning to witness the Cornell-Princeton foot ball game. He was accompanied by his two daughters, F. E. Lyford, and two children and H. Clay Clapp.

December 12, 1904 The Morning Star, Glens Falls, NY: Miss Jennie Brown and Edwin D. Mixer, of Waverly, were united in marriage Saturday afternoon at the home of the bride's mother, Mrs. Eliza J. Brown, at 16 Elm street. Rev. Charles O. Judkins performed the ceremony.

1905 - 1908, at 337 Broad Street, Dr. F. Hallett Spencer, grandson of Joseph Hallett, then later at 423 Park Avenue for many years. (from Don Merrill's collection)

New York State Banker’s Association Banker’s magazine vol. 71 1905: List of Delegates and Guests Attending the Convention. Under guests p. 275 Waverly - Mrs. F. E. Lyford, Mrs. S. W. Slaughter and Miss Gertrude Slaughter.

W. C. Buck 415 Chemung Street in 1905

1905 census for NY: at 7 Athens, William W. McEwen 58 yrs old. a stone mason, his wife Luella, sons; Ray W. a reporter 24 yrs. old and Fred E. a Sayre printer 20 yrs. old, and daughter Hazel 4 yrs old.

1905 The Emmons had moved to 465 Fulton street Waverly, NY: William W. Emmons 28 yrs old, wife Nellie B. 30 yrs. old, and father-in-law Charles D. Preston 56 yrs. old

1905 advertisements referred to: parlor, hall, library, den, dining room, sitting room, bedrooms, iron beds for $2.89, oak dressers for $10.00 -$14.00, buffets for $10.00 to $17.50, side boards for $18.00 to $25.00, fancy chairs in oak for $2.98, wicker rockers for $1.98, parlor stoves

1905 Elmira Telegram: Mrs. Charles Crandall and Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, of Waverly, spent Tuesday in the city.

March 2, 1905 The Binghamton Press: NEW ASSISTANT HOME MANAGERS. Members to Serve on Susquehanna Valley Board - Superintendent Makes Report. At a meeting of the Board of Assistant Managers of the Susquehanna Valley Home yesterday the following new members were elected to serve on the board: City - Mrs. C. J. Knapp, Mrs. E. E. Powell and Mrs. C. A. Ward. Owego - Mrs. James A. Bassett, Mrs. Gurdon Pumpelly, Mrs. George A. Hansell, Mrs. Warren L. Ayre, Mrs. H. Austin Clark and Mrs. Louis D. Hyde. Waverly - Miss Mary Elmer, Miss Adelaide Kenyon, and Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter. Superintendent Conklin presented the following report for February; "To the Board of Assistant Managers, The number of children in the Home Feb. 1 was 115. We have received ? and discharged five during the month. We desire to express our obligations to the following friends of the Home for contributions received, ..."I. H. Conklin."

March 31, 1905 The Waverly Free Press: Eggs Hatched for five cents a piece. Geo. B. Knapp.

April 16, 1905 Elmira Telegram: This week there will be meetings of a number of the Sunshine circles: Monday afternoon, Suburban at the home of Mrs. Rosamond B. Tubbs, No. 605 West Clinton Street; Tuesday afternoon the members of Opportunity circle will celebrate their first birthday at the home of their president, Mrs. Robert N. Parmenter, No. 458 West First street, having arranged for an entertainment in the afternoon to be followed by a banquet; Merry Workers will meet with Misses Jennie B. and Hattie R. Brook, No. 518 West Gray street; Outlook with Mrs. John L. Elliott, No. 507 West Clinton street; Tuesday evening, Alden circle with Miss Brooks, No. 681 West Clinton street: Thurday afternoon, Beecher circle with Rev. Annis Ford Eastman, No. 118 East Chemung place; Good Cheer circle with Mrs. Charles Warner, West Water street; Friday afternoon, Lend - a - hand circle with Mrs. Thomas J. Routledge, No. 509 Walnut street; Samaritan circle with Mrs. Frederic S. Knickerbocker, No. 511 William street; Saturday afternoon, Social circle with Miss Frances Brooks Tubbs, No. 605 West Clinton street; and Eastern Star circle will meet on the second floor of the Masonic temple, first door to the left of the stairs. (Rosamond or Rose is the daughter of T. J. and Cynthia Brooks, while Frances is their granddaughter. T.J. Brooks owned the lot and built the first house there (1849-1857 where our main house stands today. Brooks' original home is most likely incorporated into our home.)

June 1905 Montrose, PA newspaper: The remains of Charles M. Crandall, of Waverly, N.Y., were brought here for burial on Tuesday. Mr. Crandall was at one time one of the most prominent and influential men of this place and was the proprietor of the large Crandall toy factory, which was burned. [August of 1886] The funeral services were conducted by Rev. John. M. MacInnis, pastor of the Presbyterian church. In 1886 Mr. Crandall moved to Waverly, where three years later he made his greatest success. This was with the Pigs In Clover puzzle, which he invented. This puzzle became popular all over the country. It was taken on by everybody, even invading the Senate chamber at Washington. One Senator became so fascinated with it that he took the elusive "pigs" and "pen" to the session one morning and soon had half a dozen trying their skill in a committee-room. It was probably the greatest selling puzzle ever produced. (Friends with the Slaughter's)

Summer 1905 Waverly Free Press: Miss Ada Simons is building a house on Chemung street near the Y.M.C.A. tennis court. The first story will be of concrete, the second story shingled. - The “Hepzibah” people are building a house on East Broad street for their new “Hepzibain Home.” - If you want a good wearing paint on your building put a pure linseed oil paint. We make it. A. H. Thomas Paint Co.

June 23, 1905 The Waverly Free Press: Waverly Fifty Years Ago. {Extracts from the Advocate June 22, 1855} ... The Erie as running eight trains a day each way. This included all freight trains. The "night express" trains ran daily, while the mail trains remained over night at Owego. D. C. McCallum was superintendent and T. J. Brooks station agent. Stage coaches left Waverly for Athens, Towanda, Tunkhannock, and intermediate points after arrival of the trains.

July 2, 1905 Elmira Telegram : Mrs. Rose B. Tubbs and Miss Frances Brooks Tubbs, of West Clinton street, are going to Lowman, N. Y., to spend the Fourth with relatives. (granddaughter of T. J. and Cythnia Lowman Brooks)

- The ladies and gentlemen who subscribe to the Women's Federation by July 1 are enrolled as charter members and on the list are the following names: ... Frances B. Tubbs, ...

Bankers Magazine Vol. 71: July to December 1905. New York State Bankers’ Association. List Of Delegates And Guests Attending The Convention. Under Delegates page 274; Waverly - F. E. Lyford, First National Bank. Under Guests page 275; Waverly - Mrs. F. E. Lyford, Mrs .S. W. Slaughter and Miss Gertrude Slaughter. (Mrs. Charlotte Wells Slaughter) {The Banquet. July 13.}

August 27, 1905 Elmira Telegram: Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, of Waverly, was in the city shopping last Wednesday.

October 29, 1905 Elmira Telegram: Mrs. Charles H. Shipman entertained a large company of friends at her pleasant home in Waverly street, Thursday afternoon. She was assisted by Mrs. A. I. Decker, Mrs. F. A. Sawyer, Mrs. S. L. Fish, Mrs. F. L. Howard, Mrs. W. E. Tew, Mrs. Helen Cole, Miss Bessie Perkins and Miss Gertrude Slaughter.

December 1905 Elmira Telegram: Waverly, N. Y., Dec. 16.- Mrs. Esther Lewis, one of the oldest residents of this village, in point of years and of residence, died at her late home in Park place last Monday night. Her age was eighty-six years. She was a woman of rare peity and always took a deep interest in the things that make for purity. She was the widow of the late Walter H. Lewis. She is survived by one son, John H. Lewis, of the Lehigh's clerical force at Sayre, who resides at home, and Mrs. George Adams, of Geneseo, N. Y. Funeral services were held from the house on Wednesday afternoon, the Rev. P. R. Ross, pastor of the Presbyterian church, officiating. (Walter and Esther Lewis and family lived with Dewitt and Samuel Slaughter temporarily around 1870 at 208 Chemung Street. Mrs. Lewis' home was at 117 Park Place.)

December 22, 1905 The Waverly Free Press: A Fine Organization. Kramm's orchestra, Waverly's new musical organization, gave a dance in Stone's hall last night. It was the first of a series to be given through the winter which promise to become exceedingly popular. Certain it is that no better music for dancing can be secured anywhere in the Southern Tier. The new orchestra is probably the best musical organization of the kind produced in this town for years and its success seems assured. There are twelve well balanced pieces with F. J. Kramm, a musician of recognized ability and a master of the violin, as the leader. The personnel of the orchestra is as follows: F. J. Kramm, 1st violin; Archie Hess, Ernest Nichols, violin; Leon Sutton, bass viol; John Lennon, cello; E. Y. Tighe, piano; John Daly, clarinet; Louis Kinsman, flute; M. M. McGuffie, Will Taylor, cornet; Samuel Blair, trombone; A. L. Birch, drum. Harry Shipman has been chosen manager of the new organization, and he has a number of plans in view to promote the welfare of the orchestra and give the people of the valley an opportunity to enjoy first class music. Among other things it is planned to give a series of sacred concerts on Sunday afternoons in Stone's hall although no definite arrangements to that end have yet been made.

1906 Luman and Melissa Rice were living in Elmira, NY

February 14, 1906 Port Jervis New York Tri-States Union: A 37 -Mile Trolley. State Railroad Commission Grants an Important Franchise. For The Waverly - Corning Line. But Denies the Application of the Chemung Valley Traction Company for an 18 - mile Electric Line - The Granted Line Runs from Athens, Pa., to Corning. The State Board of Railroad Commissioners at Albany, Feb. 14, granted the application of the Elmira, Corning & Waverly Railway Company for an electric railway 37 miles long, from Waverly to Elmira and thence to Corning, and denying that of the Chemung Valley Traction Company for an electric line 18 1/2 miles long, from Elmira to Waverly. The commission denies the latter application because it has granted permission to the former company to construct a road which not only connects Elmira and Waverly but runs to Corning. The commission says to the interests owning the Elmira company now run a trolley system from Athens, Pa., to Waverly, and like-wise own a railway system to Corning, which is being extended to Painted Post. Its conclusion is that the construction of the proposed road of the Elmira Company will make continuous line of railway from Athens, Pa., to Painted Post, running through Waverly, Elmira and Corning. (see article under Newsclips B, May 13, 1930, for discontinued service of this line)

March 1906 The Waverly Free Press: Miss R. M. VanAtta is very ill at the home of her brother, A. J. VanAtta, Pennsylvania avenue, having suffered a stroke of paralysis Wednesday.

March 9, 1906 The Binghamton Press: Mrs. Rebecca Van Atta Died Here Yesterday. Waverly, March 9. - The death of Mrs. Rebecca M. Van Atta occured at her home, 441 Pennsylvania avenue yesterday. The deceased was 74 years old and paralysis was the cause of death. Born in Barton, Mrs. Van Atta had lived all her life in this part of the country. One brother A. J. Van Atta, survives. Rev. Dr. Godshall will conduct the funeral services, which will be held at the reisedence Sunday morning at 10 o'clock.

March 16, 1906 The Waverly Free Press: Henry M. Spear, formerly of this place but for several years foreman at the bridge works at Elmira Heights, has been promoted to superintendent of the American Bridge Co. plant at Elmira. (In the 1920's Henry Spear rented one side of the octagon home at 7 Athens Street, Waverly, NY)

Susan B. Anthony, the noted woman suffragist, died at her home in Rochester Monday night from pnemonia.

March 29, 1906 Elmira Gazette And Free Press: Among the out-of-town people from Waverly who will be in this city Saturday attending the matinee of Ben Hur will be Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter, Miss Gertrude Slaughter, Mrs. John Van Atta, Mrs. Farr, Miss Farr, Mrs. Munn, Miss Lumm, Mrs. Wellar, Miss Arnst.

Spring 1906 Waverly Free Press: Miss Gladys Crandall and Miss Emma Richardson, of Elmira, were guests Saturday and Sunday of Miss Gertrude Slaughter.

June 29, 1906 Elmira Gazette And Free Press: Waverly - Miss Carolyn Storms and Edgar Sebring of Waverly were united in marriage Wednesday night at the home of the bride's father, J. W. Storms by Rev. George A. Briggs. The bride is an estimable young woman and the groom a former member of the Cornell varsity crew. (Edgar Sebring was listed as living at 208 Chemung st. in 1936 to 1942, renting from Gertrude Knapp)

1906 Warwick NY Dispatch: OBITUARY. James Edward Wells. Former Supervisor James Edward Wells died suddenly at 2:30 o'clock Monday morning at his home on Murray avenue, Goshen, from heart trouble. Sunday afternoon Mr. Wells was out driving with his family and retired that night feeling in the best of health. A few minutes before death occured he complained to his wife that he felt badly and she procured for him a drink of brandy. Shortly afterward he expired. Mr. Wells was born at Dingman's, Pike county, Pa., seventy-three years ago, during the short time that his father, the late Alfred Wells, was a resident of that place. The greater portion of his life had been spent in Goshen. A number of years ago he purchased the Conklin homestead farm in the Conklintown neighborhood, east of Goshen, and lived there with his family until six years ago when he removed to Goshen and has since occupied a house which he had purchased on Murray avenue, where his death occured. The Wells family came from England in 1727 and located in Connecticut. Five years later they removed to Goshen, and purchased a farm just north of Goshen, now owned by Jesse S. Mapes. Soon afterwards they purchased the farm in the western section of the town, which had been in the possession of some member of the family ever since. As a Republican Mr. Wells represented the town of Goshen in the Orange County Board of Supervisors from 1894 until Jan. 1, 1906, when he was succeeded by the present incumbent, George F. Gregg. He was an influential member of this body during his term of service and was accorded a place on the more important Goshen Presbyterian Church and of Goshen Grange. He was a progressive agriculturist, a thorough business man and took active interest in Goshen's village and town affairs and was universally respected as a man of integrity. Two years ago his left foot and ankle became diseased and it became necessary to amputate his leg above the knee. He had entirely recovered from the effects of the operation and with the assistance of crutches made daily trips from his home to the post office. He is survived by his wife, Frances Emily Conklin, one son, bookkeeper in the Goshen National Bank, and one daughter, Selena, wife of Cornelius Christie of Watertown, N.Y. Mr. Wells is also survived by three sisters, Mrs. Katherine Slaughter of Crystal Run; Mrs. Mary Coleman of Murray avenue, Goshen; and Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter of Waverly, N.Y. and two brothers, Moses A. Wells of Chicago; and Charles S. Wells, who lives on the homestead farm west of Goshen. The funeral will be held at 11 o'clock Thursday morning from the Presbyterian Church. The pall bearers will be selected from the members of Goshen Grange. Interment in the cemetery at Phillipsburgh.

1907 LINEAGE BOOK National Society OF THE Daughters of the American Revolution VOLUME LXIV 63001—64000
Miss Jenn Winslow Coltrane Historian General WASHINGTON, D. C. 1923
MRS. CHARLOTTE WELLS SLAUGHTER. 63293
Born in Goshen, N. Y.
Wife of Samuel Wickham Slaughter.
Descendant of Joshua Wells and of Jonathan Sayre.
Daughter of Alfred Wells and Lydia Westbrook Nyce, his wife.
Granddaughter of Joshua Wells, Jr., and Jemima Sayre, his wife.
Gr-granddaughter of Joshua Wells and Rhoda Boothe, his wife; Jonathan Sayre and Mary Monell, his wife.
Joshua Wells (1747- 1820) was a private in the 3rd regiment, Orange County, N. Y., and served on the Committee of Safety. He was born and died in Goshen, Orange County, N. Y.
Jonathan Sayre (1752-1829) served as a private in Captain Woodhull's company of "Light Horse Cavalry" of Orange County, N. Y., where he was born and died.

February 22, 1907 "Waverly Free Press": The most widely read paper in the county, Free Press-Record seventy-five cents a year if paid before March 1, 1907.

February 22, 1907 "Waverly Free Press": At the last meeting of the D. T. D. club the following officers were elected: President, Barbara Lawrence; vice-president, Margaret Tew; secretary, Jessie Smith; treasurer, Alice Westfall; musical committee, Jessie Smith and Barbara Lawrence. The next meeting of the club will be held at the home of Miss Gertrude Slaughter. (Delta Theta Delta - a club/society of the Waverly High School. There was also the Sigma Delta fraternity at Waverly High School)

Two houses for rent - one on Cayuta avenue, eight rooms, $9.00; one on Barker Place, four rooms, $7.00. Mrs. I. G. Dodge

March 15, 1907 Waverly Free Press: Indications are that an unusually large number of houses will go up in Waverly the coming summer. Contractors say that never before have they had so many inquiries from persons interested in building, and a good number of contracts have been taken for early spring. While some of these houses will be built for investors, by far the greater number will be put up for thrifty residents who have determined to own their homes. But even with these gratifying signs of the town's prosperity, the approach of the moving season shows a lamentable scarcity of houses, present and prospective. Waverly is up against the same proposition every spring. Every year many people come over from Sayre looking for houses to rent, preferring this village as a residence to the smoke and dirt of the railroad town, and every year most of them go back to put up with what they have had. The houses are not here. A man of considerable property said this week, "If I had a hundred more houses I could rent them with no trouble whatever." That the demand is real is evident when leases are made for new houses, in some instances, before the cellar walls are laid. Houses that rent from $9 to $15, preferably the lower figure, are wanted and under present conditions they can be built to insure a good return on the investment. More houses are needed to continue the movement for a bigger, better and more prosperous Waverly.

March 22, 1907 Elmira Gazette And Free Press: Mr. and Mrs. M. Moffet will entertain at their home on College Avenue Wednesday evening. (Gabriel Evans' daughter)

March 23, 1907 The Binghamton Press: Stories And Incidents Of The Old Frontier. No. 15 - An Olden Time Hunt In Waverly. By Jasper T. Jennings. In a former number of this series of papers we gave an account of Adin Stephens big hunt, which took place on Dec. 4, 1818, in the Wyalusing section of Bradford county, Pa. As the news of the organized preparations for this big hunt reached the settlers along the State line, they also proceeded to organize a similar hunt for the same day. They too, felt the need of earnest effort to destroy some of the more destructive wild animals that abounded in that vicinity. If the Wyalusing settlers had fixed upon Dec. 4 for their hunt, it was thought it would perhaps be more effectual to have theirs at the same time. And so the date and arrangements were made. The day came and 150 men responded to the call. The force was divided into two companies, the Pennsylvania men being led by Elias Matthewson, who had been the leading settler in organizing the hunt, and the New York men being led by a man by the name of Tuttle. The section to be raided was that lying between the Susquehanna and Chemung rivers, from what was then known as the Big Pine woods on the south, where Athens is now, at the junction of the two rivers, and the range of hills north of where Waverly is now. The force was too small to completely surround the territory from river to river, and the New York hunters advanced from the northern hills, when their line extended from the Chemung river to Shepard's creek. The plan was for the two companies to move slowly and cautiously forward, gradually drawing together, so as to form a complete circle, which was to close around a small abandoned clearing, where the city of Waverly has since been built. The center of this spot, as near as can be ascertained by those most competent to judge, was near where the foundry was built in after years. Who would have thought at that time that within 90 years such a busy and thriving town as Waverly is, with all its industrial institutions and busy hum of shop and forge, would mark the spot where the wild beasts of the forest were driven together to be slaughtered for the welfare and safety of the settlements of the border. If it had been uttered in prophecy, human imagination could hardly have comprehended its possibility. Early in the forenoon, everything being in readiness, the word was given to advance. The captains had given strict orders not to fire a gun until the appointed rendezvous was reached. Ere long it became apparent that many deer, as well as bears and wolves, were escaping through the long gaps between the men; and this soon led to a pretty general disobedience of the order not to fire. Soon the guns began to bang right and left. Several deer and other game were killed as they went dashing past, bu this promiscuous firing was dangerous, and ere long three of the hunters had been hit; though, luckily, none of these shots were fatal. The firing was now discontinued, and the men marched rapidly forward, gradually drawing the lines closer and closer as they proceeded. Many of the men who did not posses guns carried axes, clubs, pitchforks and threshing flails, an implement nearly obsolete, but one of the most useful at that time, and to those who knew how to wield it quite a formidable weapon. These weapons could be safely used at any time, and they did good service in dispatching several animals that sought to escape before reaching the central rendevous. At one time a black bear made a rush to escape between the men in the advancing Pennsylvania line. Sylvant Decker leaped before him with his upraised flail and with a mighty blow laid the excited beast flat upon the ground. But the next moment it had regained its feet, and with quick, excited barks, more like an angry hog than anything else, reared upon its hind legs and roared defiance. Leaping nimbly to one side, Decker wielded the flail with all his might. Once or twice the bear came near knocking the flail form his grasp, and he was forced to take a few steps back, but he did not falter. After a lively struggle the bear was stretched lifeless at his feet, and he ran on to resume his place in the ranks. A little later in the day another bear sought to run past him, and this one he also killed, after a hard fight, in the same way. He was a strong man, with great power of endurance, and the story of his battles with these two bears was often told as neighbors sat by the chimney corner in the old log cabins for years afterward. At one time an immense buck, almost as large as an elk, sought to dash through the file, when Jacobus Van Sickle smashed its skull with one blow of his ponderous flail, as it bounded past him. Elias Matthewson's hired man, a mere boy in years, by the name of Mart Van Deven, marched in the company, armed with a pitchfork. A wolf leaped from behind and overturned root and attempted to leap past him. In an instant the young man had run the sharp lines of the pitchfork completely through the wolf's body. A moment he held the struggling, howling beast pinned to the ground while it snarled and bit at the pitchfork, and then, with the assistance of a companion, it was given its final quietus. Ere it was yet dead, the boy raised the pitchfork over his shoulder, with the gasping wolf sticking upon the tines, and went forward to be with the men at the final round up. But perhaps no man in that hunt more particularly distinguished himself than did Warren Tuttle, who marched with the company from the Pine woods that day. Hearing a rustling noise overhead and a little in advance of him, he looked up and beheld and enormous panther bounding toward him through the tons of the tops of the trees. It had been started from its lair by the advancing army of hunters and was now seeking to escape through the tree tops over the heads of the men. On it came, leaping from branch to branch, and tree to tree, with all the ease and agility of a squirrel. It was a formidable looking beast, and its eyes seemed to gleam like fire as it halted a moment to gaze upon the upturned face of the hunter, and then came on again as if with a fixed determination. Tuttle stepped carefully forward to where there was a clear space between the treetops and with his rifle half raised watch every movement as closely as a cat watches a mouse. A moment or two later the great tawney beast neared the desired spot. It glided out upon a far-reaching limb, and gathering its hind legs and lashing its long tail prepared to make the spring to the branches of another tree some 20 feet away. Tuttle's gun came to his face and his keen eye glanced along the barrel as the panther shot out in the clear space above. There was a sharp report and the panther fell dead almost at the feet of the hunter. The shot had been made while it was in the air, and though the impetus of the animal's leap had carried it to the branches of the next tree, it fell with a bullet directly through its heart. It was now getting quite late in the afternoon and the approaching lines were getting in hearing distance of each other. Drawing together in a circle around the clearing, the corral was completed and order given for the firing to commence. Although probably three-quarters of the animals they had started in the morning had escaped, there was still a goodly number, and as the deer bounded wildly this way and that in their frantic and unavailing efforts to escape, and as the wolves ran snapping and snarling, seeking in vain for some secure hiding place, while now and then a bear showed himself for a moment and then with a deep sullen growl crouched in a little clump of bushes or behind some stump, it produced and exciting scene for the hunters. The steady crack of the rifles, mingled with the heavier reports of the muskets, now filled the air. Deer dropped on the right hand and the left. Wolves were stretched on the ground in many places, bears had fallen, hares and foxes went scurrying over the field in all directions. Amid the excitement of such an occasion and the indiscriminate firing it is a wonder that several of the hunters had not been killed; but we have no account of such being the case. It came very near it, however. A man by the name of Frasier saw what he supposed was a deer behind a scrub oak. He fired and was surprised to see a man rise behind the bush. It was "Bill" Decker, and the deer skin cap which he wore had deceived Frasier and well nigh produced a tragedy. It was indeed lucky for both that the shot was a missing one, and although there was some feeling on the part of Decker, it finally ended in nothing absolutely serious. Some 10 or a dozen years ago and old man by the name of Orrin Decker, nearly 94 years of age, after an absence of 63 years in the West, revisited the place where he had passed his youthful days, 10 miles south of Waverly, in Bradford county, Pa. The friends and companions of his younger days were all gone, and the great woods that covered nearly the whole country, in which they had hunted deer bears and where the wolf had howled and the panther screamed, had all been swept away by the march of civilization. Children of the old pioneers had grown old and passed away, though a few yet linger, and the old man spent a week with friends in Bradford and Clinton counties. He will remember the two great hunts that took place in the Wyalusing neighborhood and at Waverly, and in the course of a conversation with friends at the latter place he said: "Waverly is a pretty big town now, but I remember when in one day 40 deer, eight bears, 13 wolves and I don't know how many foxes were killed in what is now the very heart of the city. With the exception of here and there a clearing and some isolated settlement, this part of the Chemung and Susquehanna valley was unbroken woods then, for it hadn't been so many years since the settlers had begun to come into the region. I remember well the hunt that turned in that big supply of game, and I ought to, for I had a hand in it." The subject for the next paper will be "The Indians at Castle Farm."

April 19, 1907 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Nathaniel Ackerly, for forty years a resident of Waverly, died in this village Wednesday, April 17, 1907, after a long illness from a complication of diseases. Mr. Ackerly was born in Montgomery, Orange county, N. Y. , March 30, 1839. He came to Waverly in 1870 from Montana, where he had been for about seven years in the gold fields. He took a position with the Lehigh Valley railroad company, and had been continuously in the employ of that company until ill health forced him to give up all active work several months ago. He was at first given charge of the transfer of freight at this point and had since held many postions of responsibility and trust for the company at this place and in Sayre. Mr. Ackerly was a member of Waverly Lodge, No. 407, F. and A. M., having united with that order on May 29, 1873. He was master of the lodge in 1875 and 1876, and was also for two terms high priest of Cayuta Chapter, No. 245, R. A. M., of which he became a member December 8, 1873. He was in 1899 Puissant Sovereign of Palestine Conclave, No. 133, a Masonic society which went out of existence a few years ago. Mr. Ackerly was an esteemed citizen and during his long residence here made many friends who learn of his death with deep regret. He is survived by his wife and one brother, George W. Ackerly, of Montgomery, N. Y. Funeral services will be held in the Masonic Temple Sunday afternoon at 2 o'clock, the Rev. Dr. P. R. Ross, of the Presbyterian church officiating. Interment in Forest Home cemetery. The Masonic ritualistic service will be held. (In 1870, Nathaniel Ackerly was a farm laborer living with Dewitt and Samuel Slaughter, along with the Lewis family at 208 Chemung St. Waverly, N.Y. Ackerly was also a witness to the marriage of Samuel and Charlotte Wells Slaughter in 1873. In 1887, from a directory, Nathaniel Ackerly was living at 457 Waverly Street, Waverly, NY.)

May 24, 1907 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: GRAND PARADA A SUCCESS. Charming Extravaganza Pleasing Large Audiences at Loomis Opera House. The Grand Parada, being given in Loomis Opera House this week, is a conspicuous success. The promise that it would be one of the most unique and one of the most pleasing entertainments ever given in Waverly has been fulfilled. It is doubly pleasing, from the fact that the two hundred and more persons taking part are all Waverly people. The Parada consists of a series of intricate drills and marches, sprightly dances, grand choruses and beautiful tableaux, enhanced by splendid special scenery, beautiful calcium and electric light effects and elegant costumes. Individual reference is hardly possible, or desirable, the whole production being so admirably done. The opening performance was given on Tuesday night and as the curtain rose the Flowers and Bees, a score of little tots, girls all in white and boys in yellow and black knickerbockers and blouses, came tripping on the stage ...On Wednesday night these children were replaced by another set, the Fairies, who gave an equally pleasing drill. The second night, too, there was a grand chorus of older girls, who sang most acceptably an operatic selection, with Miss Emma Eisenhart and Miss Mae Bruster as soloists. Next came the Gaiety Girls, ten young ladies, ...Another attractive drill, the Floral Arch, by twenty girls, followed, and won rounds of applause, as did the Cindy chorus,...Then the scene changed and the spectators were taken to far Japan, ....This little side trip wound up safely home, when a small army of typical newsboys came tramping on the stage, paper in hand, and singing a street song. (Continued on page 8.)

GRAND PARADA A SUCCESS (Continued from First Page). ...The first part closed with the Pageant of Nations, a striking representation of five nationalities, American, English, Irish, Scotch and Japanese. Each section, with its leader carrying the national colors, executed a drill or dance typical of its country, and the curtain went down with the several groups forming a pleasing tableaus. ...Part second was a military scene, members of the Sons of Veterans being grouped upon the stage as representing a camp of soldiers. ...The third part opened with a view of a Gypsy camp, one of the prettiest scenes of the production....The Parasol Girls, twelve young women, who came next, made a decided hit, dividing honors in song and drill with the Belles, and the Nationals, who followed them....The last drill was that of the Hussars, and it is hardly unfair to say that it was the most cleverly executed of any of the evening in military costume, the ladies in the company, went through the various movements and intricate formations in a manner that was truly remarkable. Then came the grand ensemble, with a solo by Mrs. Lindsley, and chorus by the entire company, with a grand closing tableau representing America. To put on such an entertainment means a vast amount of hard work and it is gratifying that the time given by the participants in drill and preparation resulted in so successful a performance. It was a splendid production and reflects the greatest credit not only upon the participants, but upon Captain Charles W. Eddy, the director, and his assistants, who have worked unceasingly in its behalf. The Parada is given under the auspices of the Twentieth Century Entertainment Committee of the First Baptist church, and the proceeds are to go into the new organ fund. Immense crowds have attended both performances and the financial success of the undertaking is assured. Two more performances are to be given, tonight and tomorrow afternoon, and indications are that there will be a large sale of seats for both....The following is a list of those who take part in the production: Grand Chorus...Blanche Evans...Fairies-Chaperon, Mrs. Edgar D. Sebring: Leona Wood, Jean Merriam,...Flowers and...Flowers-Frances Knapp, ...Gaiety Girls...The Hussars-Chaperon, Mrs. J.T. Sawyer...Miss Alice P. Fish, Miss Ellen L. Sawyer, Miss Effie Scott...Gypsy Dance-...Boys- Harold Sawyer, George Knapp, Lester Merrill,...Parasol Girls-Chaperone, Mrs. F. A. Sawyer...Newsboys...Phillips Knapp, ...Ronald Van Atta...The Belles-Chaperon, Mrs. Ellsworth Gamble: Miss Marguerite M. Kingsbury, Miss Jessie F. Smith, Miss Margaret E. Tew, Miss Dorothy D. Atwater, Miss Alice M. Lang, Miss Margaret Graft, Miss Clemma Hoyt, Miss Eva Terwilliger, Miss Dorothy Crandall, Miss Carrie Baker, Miss M. Gertrude Slaughter, Miss Lulu Crans....Imperials-Chaperon, Mrs. J. T. Sawyer...PATRONESSES.Waverly - Mrs. H. G. Merriam, Mrs. C. M. Crandall, Mrs. C. F. Chaffee, Mrs. W. M. Hilton, Mrs. John B. Bailey, Mrs. I. P. Shepard, Mrs. Edwin S. Hanford, Mrs. Harry Knapp, Mrs. Harry Thatcher, Mrs. John C. VanAtta, Mrs. Chas. M. Weller, Mrs. Frank Howard, Mrs. William C. Buck, Mrs. Charles Curtis Strong, Mrs. A. M. Bouton, Mrs. H. Clay Kinney, Mrs. E. J. Campbell, Mrs. Richard W. Whitaker, Mrs. U. E. Harding, Mrs. H. E. Stackhouse, Mrs. H. C. Bruster, Mrs. G. D. Genung, Mrs. John A. Johnson, Mrs. J. Addison Ellis, Mrs. G. E. Foote, Mrs. Frances A. Mullock, Mrs. Henry Gridley, Mrs. L. D. Myers, Mrs. O. F. Benson, Mrs. James B. Bray, Mrs. C. H. Turney, Mrs. Charles W. Sweet, Mrs. C. I. Roe, Mrs. Lewis B. Shriver, Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, Mrs. J. W. Knapp, Mrs. Francis A. Levis, Mrs. H. W. Weeks, Mrs. Alice M. Dodge, Mrs. G. S. Carpenter, Mrs. A. C. Young, Mrs. Fred F. Smith, Mrs. W. L. Watrons, Mrs. Tobias, Mrs. Henry Glazier, Mrs. W. E. Moore, Mrs. Mary E. Clapp, Mrs. W. S. Morley, Mrs. L. D. Hugg, Mrs. C. H. Shipman, Mrs. C. M. Young Mrs. A. C. Quick, Mrs. J. K. Murdoch, Mrs. C. E. Purdy, Mrs. Clarence B. McNitt, Mrs. George A. Scott, Mrs. Matthew MeGurtie, Mrs. J. W. Morgan, Mrs. Willliam Gillan, Mrs. E. P. Ellis, Mrs. M. Brown, Mrs. Fred Beekman, Mrs. F. E. Beekman, Mrs. Charles Edward Annabel, Mrs. Burt Horton, Mrs. J. E. Fuller, Mrs. Clark A. Tuthill, Mrs. Harry G. Morgan, Mrs. Frank Keeler, Miss Jessie L. Whitaker, Miss Bessie Perkiins, Miss Emily L. Stuart, Miss Anna Mott, Miss Florence N. Hildebrand, Mrs. John H. Murray, Mrs. Frederic E. Lyford, Mrs. Harry Shelley, Mrs. C. A. Neaves, Mrs. Belle Ham, Miss Lida Murray, Mrs. Julia E. Squires, Mrs. H. P. Lariew, Mrs. Louis J. Buley. Sayre-...Athens...Lockwood- Mrs. George W. Bingham.

May 31, 1907 "Waverly Free Press": Services Next Sunday. Presbyterian Church - Rev. P. R. Ross, D. D., pastor. Preaching services at 10:30 a.m. and 7:30 p.m. Sunday school at 12 Y.P.S.C.E. at 6:30 p.m.; topic, "How to Realize the Presence of Christ;" leader, Miss Gertrude Slaughter.

June 14, 1907 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record.: The First Presbyterian church of Waverly was sixty years old last Saturday and the church membership took occasion to fittingly mark the event. The observance of the anniversary included special services on Sunday and a reception at the church on Monday evening. Sunday morning the church joined in a communion service at the hour of the regular morning worship. In the evening a service, largely musical in character, was held. Several pleasing numbers were given by the choir and Mrs. Blackmore, the choir director. An address appropriate to the occasion was delivered by the pastor, the Rev. P. R. Ross, D. D. His subject was "Lessons from Sixty Years of Church Life."

Dr. Ross spoke briefly of the early church in this vicinity and of the founding of the Waverly society. Then he followed its history down through the years and drew lessons of inspiration and help from the work of those who have gone before. He noted the many changes that have taken place during the past sixty years, among them that of the observance of the Sabbath. Sabbath observance, he said, was nearly a lost virtue and was becoming anything but a day of reverence. He bespoke a continuance in the faith, an acceptance of the inspiration of the bible and the infallibility of the scriptures, for only then, he said, would the church continue to grow and prosper.

But with faith there must also be works, and Dr. Ross pointed out that the growth and strength of the church depended on the activity of its members. Too many members, he said, went on the retired list as soon as they joined the church. He said he believed in pensioning the veterans, but not the recruits, and pointed out the duty of all members to participate actively in the work of the church in its various departments. The address was inspiring and helpful and was listened to with close attention by a large audience.

The Presbyterian church is one of the strongest and most influential in the village. Its history has been one of continuous advancement and the past year has been the most prosperous since its organization. The present pastor, Dr. Ross, has been at its head for the past seventeen years and no small part of its success has been due to his efforts. A capable leader and a strong preacher, he has kept the church united and aggressively active, and it is a power in the community.

The Reception. The anniversary reception was held Monday evening in the church parlors, which had been beautifully decorated with ferns and flowers. It was a home gathering of about 200 members of the church and congregation, and was under the direction of a large committee of ladies, headed by Mrs. F. W. Merriam and Mrs. F. E. Lyford. The guests were received by Dr. and Mrs. Ross, A. Hemstreet, W. K. Hart, S. C. Hall, Dr. W. M. Hilton, H. R. Talmage, members of the Session, together with Mrs. S. C. Hall and Mrs. W. M. Hilton. Mrs. Hall and Mrs. Holbert presided at the tables, at which ice cream, strawberries and cake were served by ladies of the church. Throughout the evening excellent music was provided by McGuffie's orchestra, assisted by Mrs. C. M. Weller and Miss Jessie Whitaker at the piano. It was a thoroughly enjoyable event, and a stranger present was heard to remark, "How sociable you Presbyterians are."

History of the Church. The Presbyterian church of Waverly was organized June 8, 1847. There had been a church of this denomination in Athens since 1812, and the Waverly church was an outgrowth of this society. On March 2, 1847, several members of the Athens church held a meeting in the school house at Milltown "to take into consideration the expediency of forming a church at Factoryville to be composed of members of this church residing in Factoryville and vicinity, and such other duly qualified persons as might wish to unite with them for such object." Here the matter was discussed and a second meeting was called to be held at the school house in Factoryville. As most residents of the village know, Factoryville was the beginning of Waverly, and included that territory now known as East Waverly. At the second meeting resolutions were adopted as follows: "Resolved, That we invite the Chemung Presbytery to come to Factoryville and organize us into a Presbyterian church and also that we ask the Presbytery to hold its meeting as soon as possible."

The request was granted and on the 8th of June, 1847, eighteen persons previously associated with the Athens church and four others were organized into the Presbyterian church of (Continued on Last Page)

(continued from First Page.) Factoryville, by Rev. Curtis Thurston, of Athens; Rev. C. C. Carr, of Horseheads, and a Rev. Mr. Backus. The services were held in the Baptist church, and the original members were as follows: From Athens, Benjamin Davis, Eva Davis, Margaret Davis, Samuel Yeatman, Hetty Jane Yeatman, Cynthia Piper, Eliza Spalding, Rachel Tannery, Deborah Shepard, Job Shepard, W. H. Thomas, Edmund DeLaney, Jacob Fitzgerald, A. H. Woodworth, Miranda Larnard, Angelina Thomas, Ruth Woodworth, Jacob Clute. From the Congregational church at Halsey Valley: J. J. Brinkerhoff, Rachel Brinkerhoff, Mrs. Anna Ellston, Miss Martha Brinkerhoff. William H. Thomas, James H. Brinkerhoff, Arden H. Woodworth and Edmund Delaney were elected elders, and during the following October they were ordained and installed, Rev. Mr. Goldsmith, of Southport, preaching the ordination sermon, and Rev. P. H. Fowler, of Elmira, delivering the charge to the elders. August 23, 1847, at a regularly called meeting of the congregation the following trustees were elected: For three years, Benjamin Davis, Owen Spalding; for two years, John Barker and Job Shepard; for one year, Chas. H. Shepard, Jacob Fitzgerald and Arden H. Woodworth. The society at the start, had no house of worship and week day meetings were held from house to house. On Sundays the services were held for a time at the Factoryville school house, and later the Baptist society gave the use of their church on Sunday afternoons. The first pastor of the church was the Rev. Nathaniel Elmer, who came here in the summer of 1848. Previous to this the Rev. Mr. Thurston, of Athens, had supplied the charge, dividing his time between the two churches. Mr. Elmer remained at the head of the church for nine years and during that time the membership was increased from thirty-seven to 112. The first church was erected in 1849. The Erie railroad was then building and when the station site was selected at the western end of the settlement, the people of the church located their new building toward that end, forseeing the time when Waverly station would become more important than the old time village of Factoryville. Pennsylvania avenue was then merely a country lane, with only one house on it. Here in an open field the new church was built at a cost of about sixteen hundred dollars. Two additions were made to the original structure which was materially enlarged in 1860. The present brick structure was completed in 1886, the corner stone having been laid in the fall of 1885 by the pastor, the Rev. J. L. Taylor. The edifice with the furnishings, cost about $30,000, and is now one of the finest buildings in town. The auditorium set about five hundred persons, and back of it are commodius lecture and Sunday school rooms. The building was dedicated September 20, 1886. The Rev. Nathaniel Elmer, the first resident pastor was succeeded by Rev. Oliver Crane, D. D., who remained about three years. He was succeeded by Rev. D. S. Johnson who remained a little more than six years, being followed by Rev. J. B. Beaumont who remained four years. Rev. W. H. Bates was the next pastor, remaining eight years. His successor, Rev. Palmer S. Hulbert, after remaining three years was succeeded by Rev. J. L. Taylor. Dr. P. R. Ross, the present pastor, began his work in Waverly in November 1889.

Killed the Vines. A regrettable result of the severe winter and continued cold of the spring has been killing off foliage adorning public and private buildings. Particularly noticeable is the effect on a species of clinging ivy which grows on the walls of brick structures. Last summer this vine almost covered the Presbyterian church, giving it the appearance of a huge green arbor; a sight beautiful in the extreme. This spring the vines did not leaf out and an examination showed that most of them were dead. It will take years for new vines to attain the growth and beauty of the old ones. A similar condition exists at the N. P. L. building, although the vines here were only fairly started, and not all of them were killed.

June 21, 1907 "Waverly Free Press": A Growing Community, The Board of Trustees was asked some time ago to make an extension of Garfield street through to Spring street. Members of the board have been looking over the ground and it is probable that some action will soon be taken in the matter. This seems to be the growing section of the town. Within the past year a half dozen houses have gone up in this immediate neighborhood and another year will probably see as many more. And this recalls the fact that the whole section north of Chemung street and below Center street has been built up within a comparitively short period. Where now stand substantial residences, with green lawns, growing shade trees, fine walks and good streets, there was less than a dozen years ago, little but pasture land. And this is only one locality. Surely Waverly is growing.

D. A. R. OBSERVED FLAG DAY- Enjoyable Luncheon Held by Tioga Chapter Last Friday. Tioga Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, observed Flag Day with an informal reception and luncheon in Waverly last Friday. At 12:30 o'clock in the afternoon members of the Chapter, with a number of out of town guests and a few other friends gathered in the parlors of the First Presbyterian church, where a half hour was spent in conversation and exchange of greetings. Throughout the rooms were festooned the national emblem, the color scheme being continued to the tables, which were decorated with bouquets of red, white and blue flowers. A very elaborate luncheon was served in one of the Sunday school rooms. Five long tables were spread, a member of the Chapter acting as hostess at each. A score of young ladies dressed in white, served the tables and they performed the task most acceptably. After the feast the ladies were greeted by Mrs. C. S. Maurice, regent of the Chapter, who introduced Mrs. S. P. Elmer, the first vice regent, as toastmistress. In a particularly happy vein Mrs. Elmer named the several speakers. The first to respond was Mrs. Chas. Kellogg, of Athens, whose subject was "Our Flag." After a glowing tribute to the national emblem, Mrs. Kellogg referred to the lack of honor often shown the flag, and recited an incident which occurred in this village. A foreign band was giving a concert in the opera house, the final number being the "Star Spangled Banner." In deference to the patriotic selection the foreigners stood while playing, but the audience paid no such tribute to the flag, most of those present being engaged with hats and wraps preparatory to getting away as quickly as possible. By request, Mrs. Kellogg gave an interesting history of the Star Spangled Banner, and as she finished, the company, led by Mrs. George Hill, united in singing that beautiful song. Mrs. Piatt, regent of the Tunkhannock, Pa., Chapter, was the next speaker, and her subject was "Our Sister Chapters." Mrs. Piatt spoke interestingly of the organization and of its aims and purpose. Mrs. Ernest Wykoff, regent of Chemung Chapter, of Elmira, was then called upon to speak of Newtown, the village from which grew the city of Elmira. In introducing her, Mrs. Elmer said that before Mrs. Wykoff told of the fame of that historic town, she wished to remind the company that Waverly, too, had its points of interest, and cited our own Spanish Hill, where, she said, one could not dig a ditch or turn a furrow without uncovering fire stones, tomahawks and other Indian relics. Mrs. Wykoff's talk was largely of General Sullivan, and of the monument erected to him on the hill east of Elmira. This monument is now falling to decay and plans are being discussed by the Sons and Daughters of the Revolution in Elmira to either have it repaired or to build a new one in a place more accessible than the present site. The ladies present evinced much interest in the matter and a motion was carried to the effect that the Chemung Chapter be asked to bring their plan before the local society and assuring them hearty co-operation in the movement. The next speaker was Mrs. Hubbard, regent of Cortland Chapter. Her subject was "Woman." A brilliant speaker, she told her hearers some wholesome truths, and in a most entertaing way. The toast list was completed with the reading of an original poem by Mrs. Anna P. Ford, of Binghamton, a sister of Mrs. Elmer, and it was one of the best things in the afternoon. Mrs. Ford was for four years a nurse in the Civil war, and is the only woman who received an unsolicited pension. Her poem, "The Death of the Soldier Boy," is a fine composition and very touchingly she recited it, despite her advancing years. As a whole it was a very enjoyable occasion, and a fitting observance of the anniversary of the birth of our nation's flag.

MUST CUT WEEDS AND GRASS - President Lawrence Calls Attention to Village Ordinance. There is an ordinance which requires that grass and weeds shall be cut from in front of all premises in the village. It is said in many instances the ordinance is not being complied with, and President Lawrence has asked that attention be called to the fact. He says there will be a strict enforcement of the ordinance and that this work must be done before July 1. The ordinance in full is given below: "Section 28. It shall be the duty of the owners and occupants of premises in the village of Waverly to cause all grass and weeds growing in front of their said premises and between the street line and the gutter to be cut and removed once in each month from May to October inclusive. In the event of the failure of the owner or occupant to remove the grass and weeds as above provided, the same shall be removed by, and under the direction of the street commissioner of the village, who shall keep accurate account of all the time employed in such work, and any and all expense connected with the removal of such grass and weeds shall be returned to the board and levied and assessed upon the property as provided by Section 164 of the Village law."

July 12, 1907 "Waverly Free Press": School Board In Session....Building Committee Report. At the meeting Tuesday night the committee appointed to procure plans for a new building gave a partial report, and the matter was discussed in an informal way. Mr. Hall said that the committee had submitted a survey of the present site to the State authorities at Albany, and that it was approved, but it was advised that the district acquire the property in the rear of the present building, owned by A. J. VanAtta. The committee reported having inspected buildings in several towns in the western part of the State, and they approved a building recently erected in Canandaigua as very nearly meeting the requirements here. The building is considered a model for a town of that size. It’s cost, complete was $77,000. ...

July 19, 1907 Waverly Free Press: New Black Diamonds. The appearance of the new Black Diamond Express on the Lehigh Valley Railroad in the near future need not surprisse the patrons of that system. The train, which is intended to be the most modern, is being built in Springfield, Mass., and will, according to present calculations, be placed in service tha latter part of August. A Springfield paper says: "A. W. Donop, of the U. S. Steam Heat & Electric Lighting Co., of New York, arrived to superintend the electrical work of the new Lehigh Valley electric trains in course of construction in this city. The new cars will be of massive iron and will constitute three trains that will be known as the "new Black Diamond Express." Mr. Donop has charge of the electrical work on these cars. When completed the new trains will be the most up-to-date in the world. Each car will carry its own dynamo to supply the power for light, heat and fans. The Lehigh Valley Co. expects to have the Black Diamond Express in operation the latter part of August."

July 19, 1907 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: MIRACULOUSE ESCAPE FROM DEATH. Lewis Westfall Fell from Roof to Stone Walk With Only Slight Injuries. A fall of thirty-five feet from a roof and landing on a stone sidewalk was the experience of Lewis Westfall, of Sayre, in this village Saturday, and he not only lives to tell of it, but except for a few bruises, is uninjured. Mr. Westfall was painting the Slaughter house in Chemung street, and was on the extreme top of the roof painting the ridge. He maintained his position on the roof by clinging to an iron decoration fastened to the ridge. Suddenly this support gave way and he was precipitated down the steep roof. In his flight he struck a dormer the partially checked his fall and then bounded off onto a porch roof. Another bound and he landed prostrate on the stone sidewalk. Harold McGlenn, who lives across the street, had been a witness to the accident, and he hastened to the man’s assistance. He found Westfall partially conscious, although he was badly dazed and short of breath. Dr. Johnson was summoned and on examination found no broken bones, although Westfall was suffering considerably from the concussion and had a number of bruises. He was taken to his home and so far has suffered no serious consequences from his experience.

July 26, 1907 "Waverly Free Press": After a thorough investigation, the National Department of Agriculture has just made a report which reveals an alarming condition in farm values for the State of New York and one so serious as to affect not only its agricultural interests but the welfare of the commonwealth at large. The figures given are so stupendous as to be hardly believable. According to the report the value of farm lands of this state has decreased over $170,000,000 during the last quarter of a century, more than 12,000 farms have been abandoned and the population of towns and villages more remote from the large cities has decreased in many instances 40 to 50 per cent. These 12,000 abandoned farms represent an area of over 12,000,000 acres, most of which is arable land, and are capable of caring for a population of 250,000 people. The investigation has shown that this condition of affairs is not due to any lack of fertility of the soil or any inability to make farming pay, but to the fact that the cities have fascinated and attracted the younger people away from the homesteads and left them in the hands of men of advanced age. When these die, the farms become untenanted or are sold at a sacrifice. Tioga county is included in the counties in which the investigation has been made. Among others are Broome, Madison, Chemung, Cortland, Tompkins, Chenango, Schuyler, Yates, Allegany and Livingston.

August 9, 1907 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Trolley Attracted Crowds. The opening of the new trolley road was a big attraction Sunday. There was a steady stream of people on West Broad street all day and well into the evening. It looked a good deal like a circus crowd headed for the big show tent. Many went to look on while hundreds took the trip over the completed portion of the road to Chemung and return. And they were well repaid for the twenty cents expended. It's a fine ride through as fine a bit of country as there is in the state and from expressions heard on the cars, it was thoroughly appreciated. But those who rode the cars were not the only ones who enjoyed the experience of having the new road in operation, for the porch of every house along the line held its full quota of interested spectators and they seemed to take pleasure in the novelty of having a hundred or more people hashed by their doors every ten minutes. Everybody was happy and the new road is all right.

An Old Landmark. Probably few of the hundreds who went over the new trolley line Sunday noticed particularly a little weatherbeaten building which stands not far from the tracks on the Shepard farm. Some day, when Waverly has become a big, bustling city and few reminders of the old town are left, a local historical society will place that building, if it is still in existence, in a public park or other prominent place and point it out as a most interesting object to the visitor in town. It has been said that this building contained the first store in what is now the village of Waverly, and while the Rounder is unable to learn positvely the correctness of this assertion, it is true that it was closely associated with the early history of this town. It was built about the time the Erie railroad was being put through this section and originally stood in the neighborhood of what is now Loder street. There can still be faintly seen across the front of the building the words "Loder Summitt," and they recall an interesting bit of history. This place was first called Loder Summit - Loder in honor of the then president of the Erie and "summit," because this was the highest point between Chemung and Susquehanna rivers. A little later, when it became evident that the settlement then started was destined to be something of a town, and apart from Factoryville, there was much concern as to a suitable name. In this same store the matter was no doubt discussed long and earnestly and weighty arguments in favor of this or that name advanced. Finally Waverly was made the choice and Loder Summit was no more. The old building is about all that remains as a reminder of the beginning of our village. The building is now used for storage purposes on the Shepard farm and has not been altered in appearance from the time it stood as the central structure in the little settlement.

August 16, 1907 "Waverly Free Press": Ad - Citizens Bank, Waverly, CAPITAL $50,000. SURPLUS $25,000 Three Per Cent Interest Paid on Certificates of Deposit. Safe Deposit Boxes. J. T. Sawyer, President. W. E. Johnson, Vice President. F. A. Sawyer, Cashier. L. J. Buley, Assistant Cashier. DIRECTORS. W. E. Johnson, J. B. Floyd, Levi Cuntis, F. A. Sawyer, E. E. Walker, J. C. VanAtta, J. T. Sawyer. (Samuel Slaughter, when he was living, was the vice president of this bank with Sawyer as President.)

Ad- WINES For Medicinal and Table Use. Port, Catawba, Angelica, California - 25c bottle White Port, Red Tokay, Sherry, White Tokay - 40c bottle CHAFFEE & MERKLE.

September 27, 1907 "Waverly Free Press": Mrs. Estella Phillips Grafft. The funeral of Mrs. Estella Phillips Grafft was held at the family home on Cayuta avenue on Saturday afternoon at 3 o'clock, the Rev. P. R. Ross, D. D., of the First Presbyterian church officiating. The body was buried in Forest Home cemetery. The death of Mrs. Grafft occured Thursday, Sept. 19, 1907, after a long illness. She was fifty years of age and had long been a resident of this village. She was a member of the First Presbyterian church and was active in Christian work until her health failed. A woman of many virtues she was held in highest esteem by all who knew her and her death is widely mourned. She is survived by her daughter, Margaret, and one son, Edward. She also leaves three step-daughters, Miss Anna Grafft, at home, Mrs. E. H. VanAtta, of Waverly, and Mrs. Jennie Hathaway, of Chicago. (Friend of the Slaughter's)

October 19, 1907 The Binghamton Press: Waverly, Oct. 19 - Mr. and Mrs. Edwin D. Mixer have issued invitations for the marriage of their daughter, Miss Edna Mixer, and William H. Scofield, which will occur Monday evening, Nov. 4, at 8 o'clock.

October 25, 1907 "Waverly Free Press": The D. T. D. society was very pleasantly entertained last Friday evening at the home of Miss Gertrude Slaughter. The following program was charmingly rendered, after which refreshments were served:

Piano solo- Le Sylphes..........Miss Jessie Smith.

Reading..........Miss Alice Westfall.

Vocal solo- A Dream...........Miss Gladys Wood.

Piano solo- By Moonlight..........Miss Gertrude Slaughter.

Vocal solo- My Aln Sweet Mary..........Miss Jessie Smith

Piano duet- When the Lights are Low..........Miss Margaret Tew... Miss Barbara Lawrence

Trio.........Miss Dorothy Atwater, Julia Park, Blanche Robinson.

Piano solo- Shoulder Straps..........Miss Carrie Baker.

Vocal solo- There, Little Girl, Don't Cry..........Miss Dorothy Crandall.

Piano solo- Silver Stars..........Miss Barbara Lawrence.

(Delta Theta Delta - a club/society of the Waverly High School. There was also the Sigma Delta fraternity at Waverly High School)

November 8, 1907 "Waverly Free Press": Miss Edna Mixer and W. H. Scofield were Married at Bride's Home Monday. Miss Edna Caroline Mixer and Mr. William Hedges Scofield were united in marriage Monday evening, Nov. 4, at 8 o'clock, by the Rev. John Scofield, father of the groom, assisted by Dr. P. R. Ross, pastor of the First Presbyterian church. The wedding took place at the home of the bride's parents. Mr. and Mrs. E. D. Mixer, Chemung street. The house was elaborately and artistically decorated with palms, ferns, yellow chrysanthemums and garlands of smilax. Bittersweet berries and evergreen made the enclosed porch more attractive. The ceremony was performed in front of a beautiful bank of palms, ferns and white chrysanthemums. The wedding march was played by Miss Louise Parks, harpist, with piano accompaniment, and the sweet strains of the music during the ceremony added much to its effectiveness. The bride wore a gown of white messaline silk, with princess lace and carried a bouquet of lillies of the valley. The matron of honor, Mrs. Joseph W. Knapp, Jr., sister of the bride, was dressed in white and carried a large bouquet of white roses. The bride's matron, Mrs. Jeannie Spaulding, of Fredonia, N. Y., and the bridesmaid, Miss Mary Scofield, sister of the groom, were becomingly attired in pink and white and carried pink roses. Mr. Alfred H. Scofield, of Windbur, Pa., brother of the groom, acted as best man. The ushers were Messrs. J. W. Knapp, Jr., and Edwin C. Tracy. Helen Knapp, the little niece of the bride was flower girl, Master Bradley Scofield the ring bearer, and Misses Gertrude Slaughter, Margaret Tew and Margaret Tighe were the ribbon bearers. After the ceremony refreshments were served and the newly married people left immediately for a two week's wedding trip, after which they will make their home at 317 Chemung street. Mr. and Mrs. Scofield are two of Waverly's most popular young people, and have the good wishes of a host of friends. Among the out of town friends were Dr. and Mrs. Wilder, of Brooklyn; Miss Ella Kingsbury, Elmira; Mrs. Bradley Phillips, Buffalo; Mr. and Mrs. Willis Utley, Lewistown, Pa., and Dr. Alfred H. Scofield, of Windbur, Pa

November 15, 1907 Waverly Free Press: Notice to Theodore Mills’ Debtors. Notice is hereby given to all persons owing Capt. T. Mills, that the bottling business recently owned by him has been sold to Capt. T. Mills Bottling Works, a corporation which began business November 11, 1907. All bills owing said business before that date remain the property of Theodore Mills and must be paid to him at once in order to wind up that business. Dated November 11, 1907. Theodore Mills..

November 22, 1907 "Waverly Free Press": Mrs. C. F. Spencer entertained twenty-four ladies Wednesday afternoon. After some time spent in playing flinch and five hundred, a bounteous supper was served. Among those present were: Mrs. C. C. Strong, Mrs. A. I. Decker, Mrs. George Fish and sister, Mrs. H. G. Merriam, Mrs. E. Barton Hall, Mrs. A. Kinney, Mrs. Hilton, Mrs. E. C. Brooks, Mrs. Topping, Mrs. Slaughter, Mrs. Floyd, Mrs. Schofield, Mrs. J. T. Sawyer, Mrs. Angell, Mrs. W. C. Buck, Mrs. C. E. Lain, Mrs. Amasa Finch, Mrs. F. E. Lyford, Mrs. Lydia, Maxwell, Mrs. Charles, Chaffee, Mrs. L. D. Atwater, and Mrs. Dana Macafee and Mrs. Stuart Macafee, of Athens.(Flinch, was first introduced in 1905. A card game in which players attempt to discard from their stockpiles of 10 cards by playing them in numerical sequence. Five hundred is a card game for 2-6 players that was invented in 1904.)

Nov. 22, 1907 The D. D. T. club of the high school was entertained Friday evening by Miss Margaret Tew. The affair was in honor of the Misses Moore, who have recently moved here from Towanda, Pa., and was most enjoyable. Dainty refreshments were served.

November 29, 1907 Waverly Free Press: Miss Gertrude Slaughter entertains a company of young people tonight.

December 6, 1907 "Waverly Free Press": Messrs, Best and Swinto, of Port Jervis, N.Y., and Miss Christina Stivers, of Middletown, students at Cornell, were week-end visitors at Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter's.

The largest and most enjoyable social event of the season was the Thanksgiving house party given by Miss Gertrude Slaughter. On last Friday evening a dancing party was given which was attended by about forty guests. The large rooms with their polished floors, together with the excellent music furnished by Mrs. Ellis, made it an ideal place for dancing. Dancing was indulged in until a late hour, after which refreshments were served by the hostess. The out of town guests were the Misses May Blood, of Englewood, N. J.; Agnes and Elizabeth Moore, of Towanda; Amy Arnold, of Waterloo, N. Y., and Christina Stevens from Cornell. Messrs. Walter Adams, of Genesee, N. Y. ; D. Russell Swinton, Fred H. Best, Harold M. Sawyer and L. Harrison Grant from Cornell. Those present from in town were the Misses Dorothy Atwater, Glacy Wood, Blanche Robinson, Jessie Smith, Barbara Lawrence, Mary Lawrence, Julia Park, Dorothy Crandall, Laura Johnson, Margaret Tew, Marjorie Surdam and Fannie Nelson. Messrs. Robert Fish, Clay Thatcher, Robert McGuffie, Edwin Grafft, Earl Albertson, Bernard Nelson, Thomas Appleget, George Tilton, Malcom Raymond and Clarence Castimore.

December 13, 1907 Waverly Free Press: The Officials Of Waverly. Presidents and Trustees Who Have Served Waverly Since Its Inception in 1855. Among the men who play an important part in the development of a town, none are more prominent than those with whom the people intrust its public affairs. Waverly, since its incorporation, has been particularly fortunate in numbering among its officials many men of high character and large executive ability. The village was incorporated at a special election held in James Whitaker's hotel on Jan. 18, 1854, the vote being 114 for and 44 against the proposition to incorporate. The first election under the new charter was held on March 27th, 1854, and the following is a complete list of the presidents and trustees elected at that time and since.

1855 - February 10, Alva Jarvis, H. M. Moore, O. L. DeLano, B. H. Davis, Joseph E. Hallett. They organized March 26, by electing Mr. Jarvis president. 1856 - March 4, Owen Spalding, Daniel A. Blizard, Charles II Shepard, Henry S. Davis, William Manners. They organized March 20, by electing Mr Manners, president. 1857 - March 4. James Aplin, Wm. Polleys, Charles Harsh, James Cassidy, Richard Whitaker. They organized March 20, by electing Mr. Alpin president. 1858 - March 2, Robert G. Crans, Wm. Millspaugh, P. Lowry, Francis H. Baldwin, Moses Sawyer. They organized March 17, by electing Mr. Sawyer president. 1859 - ... 1864 March 15, Lewis W. Mulock, president; DeWitt C. Slaughter, William A. Brooks, Cyrus W. Gray, Chas. C. Brooks, trustees. ...1876 - March 21, George W. Orange, president: Dewitt C. Atwater, James R. Stone, James N. Weaver, Frederick R. Warner, trustees. ...

Waverly's Fire Department. Brief History of Fire-Fighting Organizations Here. The history of the Waverly Fire Department dates from 1855. In that year a great fire swept the business district, destroying thousands of dollars of property, and it was felt that steps should be taken to prevent a repetition of the disaster. Joseph E. Hallett was the prime mover and he arranged a meeting, which was held in Davis hall. May 27, 1855, and which resulted in the organization of Neptune Engine Co., No. 1. Mr. Hallett was chosen foreman, and he served in that capacity for five years. "Uncle Joe," as he came later to be known, besides being an enthusiastic foreman, brought to the company some valuable practical experience. He had been for many years a member of "Old Twenty-three" in New York, first as torch boy, at the age of twelve, then as signal bearer and finally a full fledged member. He took a great interest in the Waverly Fire Department from the organization of Old Neptune until his death. An engine was purchased for the new company in New York and very soon it saw active service. On June 9, 1855, the Phillips & Murray tannery in Factoryville took fire, the new company was called out and its members did valiant service. During the next twenty years the Neptunes were called on to fight many fires, some of them the largest and most disastrous in the town's history, and it is recorded they always did their duty well.

Neptune's First Officers. The first officers of Neptune Engine Company were: Foreman , J. E. Hallet. First Assistant, O. L. Delano. Second Assistant, Tim Cassidy. Secretary. E. W. Atwater. Treasurer, William Peck. The following were the charter members: J. P. Dunning, M. D. Thayer, Chas. O. Graves, R. A. Elmer, R. D. VanDuzer, John DeLaney, Thos. J. Brooks, H. W. Langford, G. W. Gilbert, *James Partridge, A. S. Mott, Owen Spalding, H. T. Lain, *Delbert Smith, Wm. C. Moore, *Rich'd Whitaker, Charles Harsh, *Wm. E. Johnson, James Cassidy, Tim Cassidy, Wm. Peck, W. A. Brooks, D. B. Gilbert, Royal Thayer, Wm. Sharpe, Virgil Ellis, John Sliney, Geo. C. Walker, *Horace Whitaker, Isaac P. Simpson, Alonzo E. Miller, O. L. Delano, E. W. Atwater, A. T. Little, Rudolph Schutt, M. B. Royall, John Ellis, *Wm. E. Moore, L.M. Badger, M. H. Bailey, J. E. Doubleday, *A. R. Bunn, Willian Polleys, D. O. Hansuck, J. E. Hallett, *E. M. Payne, W. L. Galloway, James Whitaker, C. H. Elmer, A. Partridge, A. A. Manners. Those marked * are still residents of Waverly.

First Parade. Hope Hose Company, No. 2, was organized in 1871, and had an existence of three years, disbanding in 1874 because of financial troubles. An effort was made in 1871 to organize another company, to be known as Enterprise Hose Company, No. 3, but this did not materialize. The first annual parade of the Waverly Fire Department was held on October 7, 1873. The department at that time consisted of the Neptune and Hope companies, and on this occasion they had as guests several companies from nearby places.

Tioga Hose Company, No. 1. Except for the brief existence of Hope Company, Neptune was the whole fire department for twenty years. In 1875, the Water Works having been built, it was felt the town should have a hose company. Accordingly on April 8 of that year a meeting of citizens was called and Tioga Hose Company, No. 1, was organized. The services of Old Neptune were no longer needed and the faithful company was disbanded, to be replaced by the younger organization, with its newer methods of fire fighting. The first officers of Tioga Hose Company were: ... Tioga Hose Company had been in existence but a little more than a year when the department was enlarged by the formation of another company, and the two succeeding years each saw further additions. Waverly Hook and Ladder Company, No. 2, was organized on June 5, 1876, with the following officers: ... Spalding Hose Company, No. 3, was organized Sept. 4, 1878, with the following... The youngest member of the fire department is Cayuta Hose Company, No. 4, organized on May 1, 1896. ...

Protective Fire Police. Waverly Protective Fire Police were organized on May 20, 1877. The original members were: J. E. Doulbeday, Chas.. C. Brooks, John R. Raymond, A. B. Comstock, E. F. Coff, R. W. Whitaker, Chas. H. Turney, Chas. W. Miller, Hatfield Hallett, John Cramer. ...

All of the companies, excepting the Cayutas, are quartered in the Village Hall. The truck rooms are on the street floors, and on the second and third floors are the company parlors, billiard and social rooms, all nicely fitted up and providing the members with many advantages of a club. The Cayuta company has a building of its own, recently erected in East Waverly, with rooms furnished much like those of the other companies.

Waverly, The Gateway of Southern New York. A Bit Of History. If one will climb any of the hills above the village of Waverly and from the summit look about him, he will behold a scene of surpassing beauty. Here is a great natural amphitheatre, circled by fine, wooded hills that rise, on either side, straight up from the river's edge, the picturesque Chemung on the west, the Susquehanna to the east, and between them the village, teeming with life and activity. One will see, too, a valley imcomparable in commercial possibilities; will realize that the hardy pioneers of long ago did well when they laid here the foundation for the thriving village of today and the city of tomorrow. From the hill one versed in valley history may trace with the eye the successive stages of the town's development. To the south and east lies Milltown, now a part of the borough of Sayre, This, in 1800, was a hamlet of some pretensions. In that year a venturesome villager, one Walker, came two miles up Shepard's creek and built a grist mill. This was the first building within the present limits of the village of Waverly. After a time others followed the miller, cleared the land and built log houses. The settlement became known as Factoryville, and continued under that name up to 1889, when it was joined to the village of Waverly. In 1819 Deacon Ephraim Strong purchased a large tract of land west of Factoryville and built a home. His was the first house in Waverly proper, and was located on the site now owned occupied by Dr. Snook, on Pennsylvania avenue. The story of those followed, already familiar to many readers, is too long to be told here. In 1835 a settlement had grown apart from Factoryville, boasting one or two stores, a blacksmith shop and perhaps twenty houses, with the corner of Waverly and Chemung streets as the "business district" and center of activity. In 1849 impetus was given the growing town by the building of the Erie Railroad; then stores were moved nearer the station, Broad street was laid out, other business places were started, more houses were built- and the process of expansion has been continuously ever since.

Choosing a Name. The town was first known as Shepardsville, after Issac Shepard, a large land owner and public spirited citizen, but was later changed to Villemont at Mr. Shepard's request. The choosing of a name satisfactory to all concerned seemed, however, to be a difficult proposition, and Villemont did not long survive. "Uncle Joe" Hallett, best known in Waverly history as the founder of the Waverly Fire Department, was an admirer of Sir Walter Scott, and wanted to call the town Waverley, after his favorite novel. Other names were suggested, but Waverley seemed to be the most popular, and finally was generally accepted. The name with the second "e" dropped, was made official when the town was incorporated in 1853, the villagers voting to that effect. Waverly has never been a boom town. Its advancement has been continuous, but along conservative lines, and permanent. Today it has in its own name a population of a little over 5,000, but with South Waverly, on the Pennsylvania side, the actual number is close to 7000.

Waverly Today. Waverly has been characterized as the gateway of Southern New York. A glance at the map printed in this issue shows that the title is most apt, that it is indeed the southern port of entry to the Empire State. Situated in the southeast corner of Tioga county on the line dividing New York and Pennsylvania, bordered by the high hills above the Susquehanna on the one hand, the Chemung and its watershed on the other, it holds most effectually the right of way through this splendid river valley. That Waverly is destined to become a great industrial center, every villager believes and there is good ground for the assumption. Nature has been lavish in bestowing on this valley the things that make for commercial success, and so effectively has man added to these, that conditions are ideal for the establishment and maintenance of manufacturing industries. Of first importance is considering the advantages of a town as a manufacturing point are its railroad facilities. In this particular Waverly offers advantages greater than can be found elsewhere througout the length of the State. Here are three great trunk (Continued on page 22.)

lines, the Lehigh, the Lackawanna and the Erie, which, combined, cover a distance of 5,000 miles. These roads give direct connections with the Pennsylvania Railroad, Central Railroad of New Jersey, Philadelphia & Reading, Delaware & Hudson, and make New England connections through the N. Y. H. & H. R. R. and the Boston & Maine. Freight can be shipped from Waverly, to New York in eighteen hours, to Philadelphia in twenty-four hours, Boston in forty-eight hours and to Chicago in fifty-four hours. A fourth railroad is soon to be added to those now in operation here. The line of the Pittsburg, Binghamton & Eastern, now building, lies directly through this valley, and will make accessible points in Pennsylvania not now reached. Many fine factory sites are located on the lines of the railroads. The Waverly Chamber of Commerce owns seventy-three acres of land admirably suited to this purpose and so situated that easy access is afforded to all of the three trunk lines. The Chamber of Commerce offers free sites to responsible concerus that will locate manufacturing industries here. A complete system of water works, with direct pressure, supplies public and private buildings and provides protection against fire. The Waverly Fire Department is composed of five companies, well drilled and officered and provided with the best apparatus obtainable. Banking facilities are offered in two national banks, the First National and Citizens. Waverly has many other advantages, natural and acquired, which the scope of this article forbids enumerating, but they are here and the prospective manufacturer would do well to consider them. The question of adequate power is efficiently met. One of the best equiped electric plants in the Southern Tier furnishes power sufficient for all needs at reasonable rates. To the user of steam power, the proximity of the coal fields is an important factor. Scranton, where the Lackawanna fields are located, is 101 miles distant. The Clearfield district, which supplies a great quantity of the coal used in this vicinity, is less than 200 miles away, and the great Lehigh fields, half that distance, are directly and easily accessible. It is a thrifty town and enterprising, and is yet a town of wealth and culture. It is an ideal home town. Broad, well shaded streets are lined with attractive residences, many of them pretentious in architecture and surroundings. Brick pavement is laid on the streets in the business section, while a number of those in the residence district are macadamized. The town is lighted by electricity and gas, and pure spring water is supplied from reservoirs above the village. Three belt lines give ready access by street car to all parts of the town, while an excellent service is maintained with the neighboring boroughs of Sayre and Athens. A suburban line, now in operation through a fine farming district and touching the towns of Chemung and Wellsburg, will in the near future extend to the cities of Elmira and Corning. Waverly has a splendid system of schools and fully prepares its students here for college, or gives them a complete commercial education. Its spiritual affairs are vested in seven churches, the Baptist, Methodist Episcopal, Presbyterian, Episcopal, two Catholic, and one African M. E., each working in harmony and with good result. Its fire department is a model of effectiveness and discipline. Including five separate companies, and its police department has given the town a wide reputation for good order. The mercantile houses of the town meet all requirements. Evidence of the prosperity of the place is found in the fact that vacant stores in the business district are almost unknown, while the many handsome business blocks give a good return on the investment. Waverly merchants are enterprising, their stores, many of them, are fitted up as attractively as those in the cities, and they offer goods in variety and quality that obviate the necessity of going to the larger centers to trade. Rents in Waverly are reasonable, but an unusually large number of dwellings are owned by their occupants.

December 13, 1907 Anniversary Number. Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record.: J. W. Knapp & Son. Department Store. There are no commercial enterprises that add so much to the importance of any town as do the department stores of the present day. Waverly is not behind the times in this respect, as may be seen by a visit to J. W. Knapp & Son's store, located at the corner Broad and Fulton street. It is one of the most thoroughly equipped and completely stocked stores in this section and is equally a credit to the firm and to the town. The premises occupied are very large and include an entire three-story and basement building, also part of the Loomis Opera House block on Fulton street, is well lighted and equipped with all conveniences and is divided into numerous departments for the orderly and systematic classification of the stock carried, which includes everything under the heading of staple and fancy dry goods, dress goods, ladies' suits and coats, furs, small wares, all kinds of household furniture, carpets, etc. Taken all in all, the stock cannot be excelled by any other house in the county, and as the firm are careful and discriminating buyers, and their output is large, they can buy and sell cheaper than most of their competitors. They employ a large force of experienced salespeople and this force has been greatly increased for the holiday season. The stock in all departments has also been largely added to, and J. W. Knapp & Sons' store will unquestionably be Santa Claus' Waverly headquarters for holiday goods. Mr. J. W. Knapp has been identified with commercial pursuits in Waverly about forty years. About twenty-five years ago he went into the dry goods business, commencing on a comparatively small scale. From the start the business steadily increased in volume, and floor space was added from time to time. In 1892 the firm name was changed to J. W. Knapp & Son. Both J. W. and H. W. Knapp give the business their personal attention. They are among our most progressive and public spirited citizens and their store enjoys that without which no large enterprise can be a success, namely, the confidence of the people.

December 20, 1907 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Clayton H. Dunning of Nashville, an old Waverly printer, is visiting his aunt, Mrs. Minnie Quick, Athens street, and friends in town.

December 27, 1907 The Waverly Free Press: Clayton H. Dunning, a postal clerk residing at Chattanooga, Tenn., who has been visiting in Waverly, returned to his home last Wednesday evening accompanied by his aunt, Mrs. Minnie Quickk, who will in the future make her home with him. Mrs. Quick has been a lifelong resident of Waverly and will be missed by her many friends. Mr. Dunning was at one time a printer of this place.

1908 Directory: 5 Athens st. (large home covering current day 3 and 5 Athens st.) Mrs. Emma W. Hubbard, Florence M. Lowe. 7 Athens st. (0ctagon home owned by the Slaughter family of 208 Chemung st.) Victor T. Emerson, Gabriel Evans. 9 Athens st. carriage house of the Slaughter family of 208 Chemung st. At 4 Athens st. Arthur M. Swarthout. 6 Athens st. Charles C. Murray. 8 Athens st. William C. Nuss.

January 3, 1908 Waverly Free Press: D.D.T. Masquerade. The masquerade party given by the D. D. T. club at Masonic hall, New Year's night, proved to be all that had been anticipated. The decorations were most effective, consisting of flags, Xmas greens, bells and holly and the chaperones were Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, Mrs. Charles Crandall, Mrs. Ellsworth Gamble and Mrs. F. A. Sawyer. As it was thc club's first leap year party, after unmasking the choice of partners was given to the ladies. Dancing was indulged in until a late hour, after which a delicious supper was served at Hopkins' Oyster bay.

January 10, 1908 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Henry M. Hayes, one of the best known men of Waverly, died at his home on Broad street last Monday night at 11:30 o'clock after a brief illness of pneumonia following an attack of grip. Mr. Hayes suffered a slight stroke of paralysis last spring and about six weeks ago a second and more severe one. From this, however, he rallied, and it was thought that he would fully recover, he being able to take a trip to Athens over the new South Waverly line the day after Christmas, but his enfeebled condition made it impossible for him to withstand the attack of pneumonia. The deceased was born in Colesville Broome county, N. Y., in 1828. In 1851 he moved to Smithfield, where he resided until 1866, when he moved to Waverly, where he has since made his home. In 1857 he married to Miss Hester A. Wasson, of Broome county, and to them was born two sons and two daughters, Miss Lora Hayes who died about ten years ago, Miss Nettie E. Hayes, who is now living at home, Rutherford, of Ithaca, and Fred of this place. When Mr. Hayes first moved to Waverly he opened a blacksmith shop, which he ran for some time, later going in the drug business with the late S. Wickham Slaughter and later did business alone. This business was carried on in the stand now occupied by C. C. Strong. He possessed a cheerful disposition that won the friendship of all who knew him. His loss will not only be deeply mourned in the home where has been a constant companion and advisor to his wife and daughter, but to the community in general. The funeral was held at 2:30 yesterday afternoon from the house, the Rev. George A. Briggs officiating. Intermnet was made in the Glenwood cemetery.

February 5, 1908 The Binghamton Press: Mr. Winters' Purchase. Special to The Binghamton Press. Waverly, Feb. 5. - It was an error when it was said that Hon. B. L. Winters had purchased the store occupied by J. W. Knapp & Son at Broad and Fulton street. Mr. Winters purchased the annex on the rear of the block, which is occupied by Mr. Knapp.

February 7, 1908 "Waverly Free Press": The bear saw his shadow many times Sunday, so prepare for six more weeks of winter weather. (Interesting how it was the bear, not the groundhog)

Mrs. S.W. Slaughter is able to be out again after an attack of grip. (Grip was an old term used in place of influenza)

February 21, 1908 "Waverly Free Press": Mrs. S. C. Hall, Mrs. J. B. Floyd, Mrs. Charles Kellogg, of Athens; Mrs. C. F. Spencer, Mrs. H. G. Merriam, Mrs. George Fish, Mrs. R. D. VanDuzer, Mrs. Benj. Bonnell, Mrs. A. Kimsey, Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter, Mrs. J. T. Sawyer, members of the two Monday afternoon reading circles, with Mrs. Kate Harnickle spent a social afternoon Thursday as the guests of Mrs. Alice Dodge, of Pennsylvania avenue. "500" was enjoyed for some time and later a delicious course supper was enjoyed.

Enjoyable in every way was the matinee leap year party given by the girls of the D. T. D's Saturday afternoon. There was dancing from 3 to 6 and as it was a valentine party, the programs were red hearts. Miss Peck, of the high school faculty, acted as chaperon. Those present were: Dorothy Crandall, Lulu Crans, Margaret Grafft, Margaret Tew, Julia Park, Gladys Wood, Gertrude Slaughter, Jessie Smith, Dorothy Atwater, Barbara Lawrence, Blanche Robinson, Marjorie Lowman, Will Adams, Earl Albertson, Dona Hopkins, Edwin Grafft, Seward Larnard, Lester Merrill, Bernard Nelson, Robert McGuffle, George Tilton, George Knapp, Fletcher Wynkoop, and from out of town, Mr. Kline, of Sayre, and Mr. de Shon, of Auborn, N. Y.

Twenty-Five Years Ago. The Board of Education appointed Mrs. Levi Curtis, Mrs. S. W. Slaughter and Mrs. H. J. Baldwin a committee to conduct Regents examinations and Miss C. A. Barber, Miss Lucie P. Clark and Mrs. C. F. Spencer a committee to conduct the examination of the teacher's class. (1883)

March 6, 1908 "Waverly Free Press": The Gamble home on Fulton street was the scene of a pleasant party Monday evening when twenty-four were entertained at cards and dancing. At midnight a delicious supper was served. The guests present were: Mr. and Mrs. Moore, Mr. and Mrs. F. A. Sawyer, Mr. and Mrs. H. C. Thatcher, Mr. and Mrs. Grant Dodge, Mr. and Mrs. Lewis Atwater, Mr. and Mrs. Harry Knapp, Mr. and Mrs. Fearing, Mrs. Mildred Crandall, Mrs. C. Merrill, Miss Annie Van Duzer, Miss Lida Murray, Miss Ruthven of Buffalo, Mr. C. Merserve, Hon. B. L. Winters, Fred B. Appleget, George Knapp and Lester Merrill.

March 13, 1908 Waverly Free Press: C. W. Bullard, formerly manager of the Utica Tailoring Company’s store in Owego, has moved to Waverly in the house on the corner of Clinton avenue and Lincoln street. He will take charge of the tailoring branch of the Utica Clothing Company, which has just been opened at 315 Broad street.

April 3, 1908 Elmira Star-Gazette: Will Build State Road During Coming Summer. Waverly, April 3. - An engineer from the State Engineering Department was in Waverly yesterday and had a conference with the town highway commissioners in regard to procuring stone and gravel for the building of the proposed new state road along the Barton highway. An application has been made to the state department under the old highway law for the construction of four miles of state road commencing at the east line of the corporation of Waverly and extending eastward. In case the new highway bill does not become a law, this application is second on the list at the office of the state department and the engineer informed the commissioners that the road would be constructed the coming summer.

Is Thrown From Wagon Injuries Are Severe. Waverly, April 3. - The little son of Mr. and Mrs. G. W. Evans of Athens street met with a painful accident yesterday afternoon. He climbed into the baggage wagon belonging to Earl Bailey and, as it swung around the corner of Elizabeth and Waverly streets, the boy, who was standing in the back of the wagon, was thrown to the brick pavement. His body was severely bruised and his face cut badly. He was taken to the office of Dr. J. T. Tucker and later to his home. Fortunately no bones were broken.

April 19, 1908 Waverly Free Press: ad. Ballantine's Newark, N. J. Bottled Beer Brewery Bottling. For Sale In Waverly, N. Y., By Chas. Dunn, 369 Broad Street. J. C. Van Atta, 337 Broad Street. {Slaughter's Corner Drug Store building}

April 24, 1908 "Waverly Free Press": Saturday evening Gertrude Slaughter gave an Easter party in honor of her guest, Florence Mapes, and several young people home for the Easter respite. An egg hunt formed a unique diversion. Each guest was given a small basket containing a chicken, and hunted candy eggs, which had been hidden in out of the way places. Afterwards there were cards and refreshments.Those present besides Miss Mapes were Dorothy Atwater, Mary Blood, Nancy Woodworth and Clay Thatcher, Mr. Hatch, Lester Merrill and Robert Fish.

Twenty-five years ago the Bell Telephone Company had been doing business in this place two weeks, and had twenty-eight subscribers in Waverly, Sayre and Athens. To-day there is 2122 telephones in the Valley outside of the rural telephones. (1883)

May 8, 1908 Waverly Free Press: Mrs. S. W. Slaughter and daughter Gertrude saw Louis James in "The Merchant of Venice," at the Elmira Lyceum last Saturday afternoon.

May 8, 1908 Waverly Free Press: The Sigma Delta society may well feel proud of the dancing party given by them last Friday evening, for it was successful in every way. As the society is composed principally of high school young men, the high school teachers, Miss Pratt, Miss Whitaker, Miss Opp, Miss Peck, Miss Hilton and Miss Schilling were chaperones. Kramm & Tighe furnished the inspiration for dancing and those present were Nancy Woodworth, Gertrude Slaughter, Alice Westfall, Margaret Graft, Julia Park, Margaret Tew, Elizabeth Moore, Dorothy Atwater, Dorothy Crandall, Barbara Lawrence, ...George Knapp, ....

May 15, 1908 Waverly Free Press: D. T. D. Elects Officers. The D. T. D. Club held a business meeting at their rooms on Ithaca street, last Saturday afternoon, when Elizabeth Moore was elected to membership. On Monday evening she and Gertrude Slaughter were given the second degree of initiation and later they enjoyed a picnic spread. This was the last meeting to be held at the club rooms until fall, but Gladys Wood will entertain them at a social meeting tonight. The officers are: President, Blanche Robinson; vice president, Carrie Baker; secretary, Dorothy Crandall; treasurer, Barbara Lawrence.(Delta Theta Delta - a club/society of the Waverly High School. There was also the Sigma Delta fraternity at Waverly High School)

May 22, 1908 Waverly Free Press: A BRIEF SKETCH OF ATHENS. One of the Oldest Towns in Bradford County. The Susquehanna river flows westward and the Chemung eastward through the Southern Tier of New York counties. About half way between the Hudson and Lake Erie they bend sharply toward the south and their waters unite at Tioga Point, five miles south of the Pennsylvania line. The chain of hills which have marked the river valleys here fall back a little, leaving a fertile triangular plain, with nearby equal sides of about eight miles each. The plain is seven hundred feet above the tidewater and the hills rise five hundred feet higher. The forests which once covered their sides only crown their tops at present. The valley and slopes are divided in rich fields of grain and corn, through which the rivers find their way in curves and links of silver, occasionally varied by sylvan islands. The landscape is one of unusual beauty, the receding hills fading into shades of blue, which have recalled the title of "the city of the violet crown" given by the ancients to the Grecian Athens. Tioga Point was the door by which the warlike Iroquois Indians of New York State formerly made their inroads upon their vassals, the Susquehannas of Pennsylvania. The earth is full of their relics-bones, pottery and flint weapons, preserved in rich variety by the local Historical Society. From this point the Iroquois started to the massacre of Wyoming; back to it and beyond General Sullivan drove them with his victorious troops in 1779. Tioga Point received the name of Athens and became a center of the lumber trade in the rafting days, while wide wooden arks carried the grain down stream in the time of the freshets. Athens was a staging and postal center, and its trade was improved by a cannal. In 1848 the Erie railroad was built, four miles north of it, and the Waverly station grew into a large and beautiful town, which attracted the business and enterprise of the valley. In 1869 the prosperity of Athens was restored by the construction of the Lehigh Valley Railroad, connecting it on the south with Philadelphia and New York. The company established their car shops at Sayre, midway between Athens and Waverly, and the three towns, now connected by a trolley road, almost form a continuous city. The shaded trees and the prosperous houses with their well kept grounds testify to the intelligence and taste of the 4,500 citizens. The Spalding Museum Library is the chief center of the intellectual life of the borough, and is also expressed by societies and clubs for the study of history, music and the natural sciences. Athens has given distinguished members to the learned profession, and many of its sons have been successful in business at home and abroad. Stephen Foster, the author of the "Swanee River", and other popular songs, is an Athens boy by education. There are local orders of the chief fraternal and benevolent societies and beautiful, well appointed cemetery. Athens was strongly represented in the War of the Rebellion, and Perkins Post, G. A. R., maintains the patriotic spirit of the citizens. Encampments of the Grand Army of the Republic are usually held there during the summer. The influence of education upon business and society, and indeed the effect it has either immediately or remotely upon every branch of trade, gives it a peculiar significance. Liberal provision for the stern realities of life, are absolute necessities, in fact, requisite to success in every field of effort. The advantages and facilities of Athens in this department of economy are equal to those of any other place of its size in the state, and it is a happy commentary on the character of the people that all the schools are largely attended, and a degree of efficiency attained that tells better than words how faithful, consistent and able are the efforts of the principals and teachers. Athens has some of the best built church edifices to be found in this section. These are seven in number, namely; Presbyterian, First Baptist, St. Joseph's, (Catholic), Trinity Church (Episcopal), the Bethel Methodist Church, and the Universalist Church. Athens maintains an efficient police and fire department. There are also excellent telegraph and telephone accommodations, gas and electric lights. The town has sound financial institutions in the Farmers National Bank and the National Bank. The Farmers National Bank was organized and incorporated in 1893. The history of this bank serves to verify the fact that a great institution having able and conservative men at the helm, must surely become successful and prosperous. This is the oldest bank in Athens and one of the most representative and solidest in this section of Northern Pennsylvania and Southern New York, and is recognized as one of the safest in the whole state, and has proved to be the financial bulwark of this section, and one guided by the soundest and most conservative policy. The Athens National Bank was established in 1899 with a captial stock of $50,000, and has finely appointed quarters in their own one-story brick building, in the midst of the business district. The Athens National Bank does a general banking business, buys and sells foreign exchange, pays interest on time deposits, is a United States depository, and maintains and unexcelled correspondence throughout the country. Athens and its inhabitants are prepared to welcome any who propose to make their seat of operation and to lend them every assistance in their power. Much in the way of improvement has been accomplished and there are today in Athens many desirable sites available which will prove of advantage as the place continues to grow and expand, which are suitable for the erection of factories, business blocks or residences.

May 29, 1908 "Waverly Free Press": The Young Ladies Composing the St. Nicholas League Pleased a Large Audience Friday Evening. The Musicale given by the girls of the St. Nicholas League last Friday night at the residence of I. Grant Dodge, was an unqualified success, both from a financial and a musical standpoint. Spring flowers were used in abundance for decorating the large rooms, which made an ideal place for an event of this kind. Nearly 200 people were in attendance. The programme was splendidly rendered, each one doing her part in a manner worthy of much older musicians. Besides the programme given below there were several encores. The programme follows: Song - Club of Jolly Girls.....St. Nicholas League. Piano Solo - (a) Traumerel.....(b) Gluckesgenug..... ... Schumann, Virginia VanAtta. Violin Solo - 5th Air Varle.....Weigl , Esther Blizard. Piano Duet - Valse Uenitienne..... ... Leon Rionguet, Marjorie, Conner, Marie Kane. Vocal Solo - Absent..... Rosamond Dodge. Piano Solo - Polish Dance, Scharwenka, Marie Kane. Violin Solo - Blue Bells of Scotland..... Arthur Harris, Marjorie Farley. (Virginia VanAtta, grandaughter of A. VanAtta, builder and designer of 208 Chemung St.)

An Attractive Euchre Party. Daughters of the American Revolution Gather at the Home of Mrs. I. P. Shepard. Over One Hundred And Fifty Present. Military Euchre Occupied the Afternoon After Which Refreshments were Served. One of the largest social gatherings of Waverly, Sayre, and Athens ladies ever held in the valley was the reception and card party given by Tioga Chapter, D. A. R., Tuesday afternoon, at the beautiful home of Mrs. I. P. Shepard of Chemung street. The decorations consisted entirely of flags, which were used on the lawn, and almost completely covered the front of the residence. In the interior flags were also used in profusion and one could easily guess the affair was given by some patriotic organization. In the receiving line were Mrs. I. P. Shepard, Mrs. C. S. Maurice, Tioga's regent; Mrs. J. W. Bishop, the second vice regent, together with Mrs. H. C. Thatcher and Mrs. Bert Hayden, the two latter being the committee who had the entertainment in charge and whose efforts made it such a success. Twenty-eight tables of military euchre, were played and as it was the first time the game had been played here, many surprises greeted the players, making it most fascinating and novel. On each table was a flag bearing a pendant, which was decorated with the D. A. R. insignia, bearing the name of some Revolutionary fort. Individual scores were kept by small flags and at the conclusion of the game the players returned to their original forts, which were adorned with the trophies they had captured. Mrs. E. E. Walker won the first prize, a beautiful silver dish, and the second prize, a large beautiful bouquet of carnations, went to Mrs. A. E. Kitchen. George West, of Sayre, acted as drummer boy, giving the signal each time to progress. About 140 ladies were in attendance, among them being sixteen daughters from Chemung Chapter, of Elmira, who came down for the occasion. They were met at the station by Mrs. W. C. Buck, a member of the chapter, who escorted them to the Shepard home. During the afternoon Hon. J. T. Sawyer and W. C. Buck, members of Newtown Battle Chapter, Sons of the American Revolution, called to pay their respects to the daughters and bring greetings from their chapter. Many who did not care for cards passed a delightful afternoon in social intercourse and wandering about the beautiful rooms and grounds. The proceeds will be used for prizes for the historical essay contest in the three high schools of the valley. $48.00 will be given in this manner at the June commencement. Light refreshments were served at 5 o'clock by Marjorie Blood, Frances Stevenson, Rosamond Dodge, Virginia VanAtta, Esther Blizard, Ethel Swain, Nina Lawrence and Mildred Talmadge. From the Elmira Chapter there were present Mrs. Ernest Wycoff, Mrs. Emerson, H. Liscon, Mrs. W. H. Ralyea, Mrs. E. J. Steele, Mrs. Charles D. Metzger, Mrs. Richards, Mrs. Frank Allerton, Mrs. Eugene Stowell, Mrs. E. E. Stancliff, Mrs. Isaac Marshall, Mrs. H. H. Hallock, Mrs. Herbert Lovell, Mrs. Lewis Boals, Mrs. L. C. Gates, Mrs. E. F. Lucas, of East Corning, and Mrs. Vilas, of Athens. Other out of town guests were Miss Lemon, of Ithaca; Miss Brandon, of Washington, D. C. ; Miss Pfister, of Mauch Chunk, Pa.; Mrs. Jones, of Spencer; Mrs. Percy Lang, of Owego; Mrs. Davis of Towanda, and Mrs. Wickham, of Tioga, Pa. (Virginia VanAtta is the granddaughter of A. VanAtta, the builder and designer of 208 Chemung St.)

KNIGHTS OF KING ARTHUR ENTERTAIN. Delightful Social Function at the Home of Mr. and Mrs. F. E. Lyford Wednesday Evening. The local castle, Knights of King Arthur, gave a reception to their parents and friends Wednesday evening at the home of Mr. and Mrs. F. E. Lyford. This organization has an interesting history, which was told by Mrs. Lyford. Starting as a boys' small reading circle several years ago, they took the name of "The Knights of King Arthur" from the book they were reading. Later Lieutenant Levis, the father of one of the members, heard a lecture in Philadelphia regarding an organization by the same name, which has several hundred castles or societies. The local organization allied itself to the general society, which has for its object the improving and christianizing of its members. In closing her remarks the speaker made a strong plea for a play ground and gymnasium for the boys of our village. A program was given consisting of songs by Miss Lemon; readings, Miss Hilton; piano solos by Phillips Knapp, Frederick Lyford and Lorrain Tillman; song and club yell by the Knights. Light refreshments were served and about fifty guests were present. The castle membership consists of Mrs. F. E. Lyford, baroness; Earl Kelsey, king; Barrett Levis, Frederick Lyford, Ralph Whitaker, Phillips Knapp, Ronald VanAtta, esquires, and Donald Atwater, and Lorrain Tillman, pages. As yet there are no knights, advancement being made according to age, length of service, etc. (Ronald VanAtta is the grandson of A. VanAtta, the builder and designer of 208 Chemung St.)

June 19, 1908 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Good Showing In High School. Pupils who Have Attained Favorable Averages During the Year are Announced. The following pupils of the Waverly high school attained an average of ninety per cent, or over for the school year ending June 19, 1908; Clarence Castimore, Marjorie Connor, Lucy Ellison, Laura Johnson, Mary Johnson, Barbara Lawrence, Raymond MeGlenn, Winnifred Muldoon, Josephine O'Brien, Nellie Regan, Blanche Robinson, Bernice Turney, Lizzie Tuthill, Elias Walch. The following attained an average between eighty and ninety per cent; William Adams, Mabel Annable, Elizabeth Angell, Thomas Appleget, Thos. Autsin, Carrie Baker, Bessie Bailey, Maude Barnes, Margaret Blood, Lucy Bright, Roy Bruster, George Byram, Margaret Conley, Arthur Cronk, Della Dailey, Mary Daly, Lillian Dodd, Rosamond Dodge, Brunetta Donlin, Margaret Falsey, Marjorie Falsey, Helene Flanigan, Veronica Flanigan, Euna Hess, Dorothy Holbert, Marie Kane, Hazel Johnson, James Johnson, Ora King, Francis Kingsbury, George Knapp, Leslle Lawrence, Everett Lowman, Margaret McCarthy, Lois McGuffie, Lillian Mckerrow, Mary Monneha, Fannie Nelson, Helen O'Neill, Julia Park, Mary Pendell, Rose Peppard, Mary Quinn, Ethel Shelford, Jessie Smith, Raymond Smith, Laura Stevens, Marjorie Surdam, Mildred Surdam, Helena Vail, Virginia VanAtta, Ruth Walden, Lena Walker, Mary Ward, Alice Westfall, Frank Woodruff, Fletcher Wynkoop, Mary Yarington, Rundio Zeigler. The following attained an average between seventy-five and eighty per cent; Dorothy Atwater, Raymond Beach, Pearl Bensley, Leo Belknap, Hazel Bell, Helen Bogaexynski, Mattie Campbell, Mina Campbell, Percy Canoll, Joseph Clohessy, Mary Clohessy, Marguerite Conroy, Mabel Decker, Mary Drobnyk, Jospehine Drobnyk, John Eddy, Ellen Falsey, Effie Foster, Arthur Foster, Clara Fraser, Fannie Freedman, Linn Georgia, Eva Griswold, Edwin Graftt, Frances Harden, John Haas, Dana Hopkins, Edward Higgins, Paul Jayne, Barbara Kane, Agnes Kline, Cora Lawlor, Allemay Leonard, Mary Lynch, Louise Maylon, Charles Masterson, Agnes Moore, Evelyn Muldoon, Bernard Nelson, Leo Nolan, Mary O'Farrell, Elnora Quick, Malcolm Raymond, Lucy Richards, Gertrude Slaughter, Nellie Spillane, Edward Sullivan, Margaret Tew, Clay Thatcher, Nellie Thomas, Frances Vanderkarr, Fordham Watkins, Louis Walker, Florence Westbrook, Kathryn Westfall, Gladys Wood, Mary Whitney, Ellen Wolf, Leslie Williams, Nellie Zimmer. The following have attained an average.... The list of scholars who have attained favorable averages throughout the graded schools will be published next week.

June 26, 1908 Waverly Free Press: Mrs. J. C. Van Atta entertained at a delightful reception at her home on Park avenue, Tuesday afternoon. As it is the month of roses, quantities of these beautiful flowers were used throughout the house. In the dining room the color scheme was red and the table presented a pretty appearance with its decorations of red geraniums, red shaded candles and large red ribbon bows. The hostess was assisted in receiving by Mrs. E. H. Van Atta. Other ladies assisting in the different rooms were Mrs. Albert Baldwin, Mrs. F. A. Sawyer, Mrs. John Bailey, Mrs. E. H. Hanford, Mrs. J. C. Shear, Mrs. Emory Campbell, Mrs. W. H. W. Jones, Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, Mrs. F. A. Lyford and Miss Annie VanDuzer. About sixty ladies were received during the afternoon. Mrs. Van Atta is entertaining another large company of ladies this afternoon at a euchre party.

Miss Mary Blood entertained the young people's dancing club Saturday evening at her home on Chemung street. The affair was in compliment to Miss Lucy Logan, of Scranton, Pa., and Stanley Ruthven and Oscar Lantz, of Buffalo, N. Y., who were her guests during the past week. Those present besides those already mentioned, were Marjorie Blood, Dorothy Atwater, Dorothy Crandall, Gertrude Slaughter, Blanche Robinson, Jessie Smith, Margaret Tew, Margaret Grafft, Florentine Knapp, Walter Thatcher, Harold Sawyer, George Knapp, Clay Thatcher, Bernard Nelson, Harry Carey, Thomas Appleget, and Earl Albertson.

On Monday evening Walter and Clay Thatcher invited ten friends to meet the same young people. The chief amusement of the evening was a literary contest, in which the answers of the questions were well known authors, and Mary Blood and Lucy Logan acted as leaders. Light refreshments were served and those invited were Mary Blood, Dorothy Atwater, Gertrude Slaughter, Alice Lang, Harold Sawyer. Bernard Nelson and Catherine Byram, of Brooklyn, Pa.

On Tuesday evening Gertrude Slaughter was hostess to the same young people who had been at the Thatcher party the night before. Each guest drew a number and was given a favor in the form of some toy musical instrument upon which they were to play. The result was most amusing and a jolly good time enjoyed.

July 2, 1908 The Binghamton Press: Waverly, July 2 - While working as a conductor for the Waverly, Sayre & Athens Traction Company last night Frank Swartout of Athens street dislocated one of his shoulders while his car was in Athens. The fracture was reduced by Dr. Stevens and he was brought to his home in this place. Conductor Swartout dislocated the same shoulder a short time ago, when he fell from an open car.

July 3, 1908 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: The D. T. D. Club will go in camp Monday for two weeks at "San Souci Cottage" on the Susquehanna. They will be chaperoned by Miss Lida Murray. The following young ladies compose the party: Misses Margaret Tew, Elizabeth Moore, Carrie Baker, Alice Westfall, Gertrude Slaughter, Jessie Smith, Barbara Lawrence, Blanche Robinson, Gladys Wood, Julia Park and Dorothy Crandall. (Delta Theta Delta - club/society of the Waverly High School)

One of the prettiest of the many card parties which has been given this season was that given by Mrs. J. C. VanAtta, of Park avenue, Friday afternoon. The large porch, prettily decorated with flags, bunting and Japanese lanterns was utilized for cards and inside several rooms were rendered unusually attractive by the many beautiful flowers which were arranged most effectively. Fifteen tables of euchre were played, the guests finding their places by means of beautifully decorated place and score cards. During the afternoon fruited punch refreshed the players and at 6 o'clock a dainty three-course supper was served by the hostess, assisted by Mrs. E. Campbell, Mrs. E. H. VanAtta, Virginia VanAtta, Nina Lawrence, Esther Blizard, Elizabeth Angell and Helen Kittredge, of Tunkhannock, Pa. Among those present were: Mrs. E. H. VanAtta, Mrs. F. A. Sawyer, Mrs. W. C. Buck, Mrs. J. T. Sawyer, Miss Sawyer, Mrs. Spencer, Miss Grafft, Mrs. J. Ryon, Mrs. D. G. Stark, Mrs. W. E. Tew, Mrs. F. A. Bell, Mrs. F. W. Merriam, Miss Finch, Mrs. E. Sebring, Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, Mrs. Mildred Crandall, Mrs. DeForest, Mrs. A. B. Baldwin, Mrs. I. P. Shepard, Mrs. E. G. Blizard, Mrs. John Bailey, Miss Murray, Mrs. E. Gamble, Mrs. C. Merrill, Mrs. H. W. Knapp, Mrs. Helen Cole, Mrs. E. Campbell, Mrs. John Shear, Miss Shear, Miss Carrie Shear, Mrs. Neaves, Miss Mame Wilcox, Mrs. W. E. Johnson, Mrs. George Moore, Miss Appleget, Mrs. H. G. Merriam and Mrs. E. H. Hanford, Mrs. Tobias, Mrs. F. E. Lyford, Miss Lyford, Mrs. Ed Tilton, Mrs. W. M. Hilton, Mrs. C. F. Chaffee, Mrs. F. E. Hawkes, Mrs. W. H. W. Jones, Mrs. C. Fearing, Mrs. C. C. Strong, Mrs. W. E. Moore, Mrs. H. Glazier, Mrs. Gavin, Mrs. Harold Watrous, Mrs. J .B. Floyd, Mrs. Stuart Macafee, Mrs. E. Tozer, Mrs. Cowell, Athens; Mrs. Percy Lang, Owego; Mrs. Lewis Dorsett, Sayre; Miss Elizabeth Kittredge, Tunkhannock, Pa.; Mrs. Harry Winters, Smithboro; Mrs. H. N. Daniell, Scranton; Mrs. Alfred Mead, Castle Rock, Col.

Died In Jersey City. Sarah Isabell, infant daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Walter L. Buck died on Tuesday, June 30, at the home of her parents in Jersey City. Funeral services were held from the house, 94 Manhattan avenue, Jersey City, Thursday evening, July 2, and the remains were brought to Waverly on Erie train No. 1, Friday afternoon and conveyed to Chemung, where interment was made in the Buck plot in the historic (Buckville) cemetery at Chemung, where repose the remains of seven generations of the family, the first burial being that of Willliam Buck, in 1799, great-great-grandfather of W. C. Buck, of this village. Like a rosebud that blushes with the kiss of the morning sun and at night closes its petals and falls from the stem, so the little one came like a benediction into the lives of loving hearts and passed away, leaving a precious memory as pure as a ray of light. Mr. and Mrs. Buck have many friends in this community who sincerely sympathize with them in their bereavement.

July 3, 1908 Waverly Free Press: Commencement festivities were concluded Friday evening when the Senior class day exercises took place at Masonic Hall, followed by a dancing party at which the Juniors and a few invited friends were guests. The literary and musical program opened with a finely rendered piano solo by Barbara Lawrence followed by the class history by Brenetta Donlin. This told of the trials and triumphs of the seniors during their four years high school course. The class poem by Louis Maylon showed much wit and talent as did also the prophecy by Mary Johnson. If the crystal ball consulted by the latter lies before the class of 1908. The last will and testament by Josephine O'Brian provoked much mirth, for nothing which could be of use to the juniors or teachers was left unmentioned. Raymond McGienn, 1908's president, presented the loving cup to the juniors, the gift being accepted on behalf of the class of 1909 by Charles Masterson. Two original songs by the class added much to the evening's pleasure, and as this is the only time the seniors have to even up old scores with the faculty, they did not let the opportunity pass. The juniors were seen and heard several times during the evening and although not on the program did not hesitate to take part whenever they could. The ushers were Dana Hopkins, Tom Appleget and Bernard Nelson. At the conclusion of this program the floor was cleared for dancing. Music was furnished by Kramm and Tighe and a long list of dances enjoyed. Those present were: Carrie Baker, Brenetta Donlin, Clara Fraser, Mary Johnson, Barbara Lawrence, Alice Westfall, Mary Lynch, Louise Maylon, Josephine O'Brian, Blanche Robinson, Lizzie Tuthill, Rundio Ziegler, Marjorie Lowman, Gertrude Slaughter, Elizabeth Moore, Gladys Wood, Dorothy Atwater, Alice Lang, Jessie Smith, Marjorie Kingsbury, Florentine Knapp, Margaret Tew, Mame O'Brian, Helen O'Neil, Dorothy Crandall, Franklin Pierce, Edwin Grafft, Asa Dyer, Ed Conley, Joe Robinson, George Knapp, Bernard Nelson, Harold Sawyer, Earl Albertson, Clarence Castimore, Harry Carey, Dana Hopkins, George Tilton, Lawrence Curry, Thos. Appleget, Seward Larnard, Fletcher Wynkoop, Raymond McGlenn. From out of town: Claude Rockwell, Mr. McCarthy, Sayre: Miss Reeser, Wilkes-Barre.

July 10, 1908 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: FRANK A. ROBBINS COMING - One of the Greatest Shows in the World will be in Waverly, Saturday, July 18. Things have been very quiet around Waverly this summer in the amusement line and one could hear occasional remarks on the street to the effect that the circus day in Waverly was a thing of the past. This was a mistake, however, and Waverly people will have the opportunity this season of seeing Frank A. Robbins' new and greatest of all feature shows, which is to exhibit in this place on Saturday, July 18. A circus without horses would be like an opera without fine singers, and Frank A. Robbins has just added a whole troupe of the most superb performing stallions, saddle and trick horses ever seen under a circus tent. Ten truly magnificent specimens of equine perfection, all ridden, driven and performed by that master of equestrianism, Herr Hugo Herzog, who brought to this country the greatest stud of high school trick horses ever on exhibition. These marvelous animals do almost everything but talk, while their drill, quick steps, cake walks and general divertisement, under saddle and at liberty in the arena never fail to excite rounds of applause. The flying Ellett family is another great feature of this show. Other aerialists may have been seen and admired, but it is freely acknowledged fact that these shows have a veritable monopoly of the real artist gymnast of the entire American show world. First in any list would have to be mentioned the Elletts, the incarnation of grace and daring, whose flights through the lofty dome of the canvas pavilion covering the arena are done with the ease and abandon of birds. Kosters are known as the "Human Swallows," and are close seconds to the Potters, even surpassing them in strength and daring if not so graceful, but then it must be remembered that two of the Ellett are of the gentler sex. The Lukens do a most dangerous act on aerial horizontal bars, fixed in the dome of the canvas, feats that but few men can do upon bars that may be reached from the ground. Only the features of this division of daring diversions are mentioned - and the cause is apparent to all who continue to read this all too brief tale of this towering giant of circuses.

KEYSTONE PARK OPENED - Fully 5,000 People are on the Grounds When the Formal Opening Takes Place. Last evening marked the formal opening of Keystone Park, and it is estimated that fully 5,000 people were present. The crowd, although large for a park of that size, was orderly and congenial, and the evening was not marked by rowdyism. Excellent music was rendered by the Waverly band and a large number present enjoyed dancing in the new large pavilion. the balloon ascension, which was to take place at 6 o'clock, was again a failure, this time the bag catching fire. During the evening there was a magnificent display of fireworks and at about 11 o'clock the crowd began leaving the park.

July 17, 1908 "Waverly Free Press": Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter and daughter Gertrude left last Saturday for a several weeks' visit at Goshen, N. Y.

Mrs. S. W. Slaughter and daughter Gertrude, Ronald VanAtta, Dorothy and Donald Atwater are spending two weeks in the mountains near Port Jervis, at Camp Lee.

The D.T.D. girls who were at Sans Souci Cottage for a week, returned home Monday. They were chaperoned by Mr. and Mrs. E. Sebring, and the merry company was composed of Barbara Lawrence, Alice Westfall, Margaret Tew, Gertrude Slaughter, Dorothy Crandall, Julia Park, Elizabeth Moore, Blanche Robinson, Jessie Smith and Gladys Wood. Each day they greeted many visitors and two evenings entertained at an informal dancing party. The outing proved so pleasant that they are planning to go again before fall. (Delta Theta Delta)

Many Barton Passengers. Never in the history of the Erie railroad has there been the passenger traffic between this village and Barton that there is this summer. Within the past few weeks a Waverly colony has grown up on the banks of the Susquehanna near Barton and every day cottagers of parties of visitors are seen going or coming between these two towns. Waverly has waked up in earnest to the possibilities afforded on the Susquehanna for summer outing and the stream is lined with attractive and comfortable cottages. The person who hasn't yet decided where to spend his vaction might well consider a week or two along the river.

July 17, 1908 Waverly Free Press: Board Of Trustees. Waverly, N. Y., July 13, 1908. The Board of Trustees of the Village of Waverly convened pursuant to adjournment in the Trustee's room at 7:30 P.M., and was called to order by Mr. Bennett, President pro tem. ... on motion it was Resolved That the property owners hereinafter named be required to build new walks in front of their respective premises within thirty days after sevice of notice upon them so to do, and that in the event of their failure to construct such walks within said thirty days then and in that event the Street Commissioner be and he hereby is authorized and directed to construct such walks, and the expense therof be charged against the said properties and property owners as by law provided, and that the clerk prepare and the street commissioner serve notices in accordance herewith as follows: ... J. L. Pendleton, 17 Tioga street, corner of Athens street, build new on Athens street. On motion meeting adjourned. Frank A. Bell, Clerk.

July 24, 1908 "Waverly Free Press": Born to Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Knapp, Jr., a son, Tuesday, July 21.

Mrs. H. W. Knapp and children, who have been spending two weeks at Glenwood on Cayuga Lake, returned home Wednesday.

Mrs. S. W. Slaughter and daughter, Gertrude, Ronald VanAtta, Donald and Dorothy Atwater, returned today from a two week' vacation in the mountains near Port Jervis.

August 14, 1908 Waverly Free Press: The Sigma Delta Society added another to the list of good times they have enjoyed by inviting a number of their friends to a picnic at Wildwood, last Friday. The trip was made in carriages and the committee in charge consisted of Walter Thatcher, Bernard Nelson and Robert Johnson. The members and guests present included Dorothy Atwater, Alice Lang, Gertrude Slaughter, Dorothy Crandall, Jessie Smith, Nancy Woodworth, Laura Johnson, Florentine Knapp, Betty Moore, Lulu Crans, Edna Eisenhart, Julia Park, Bernard Nelson, Walter Thatcher, Thomas Appleget, Robert McGruffle, Lester Merrill, Wm. Adams, Harold Sawyer, George Knapp, Joe Robinson, Harry Carey, Harry Delgota, Earl Albertson, Robert Fish, the Misses Kate Dudley, Brooklyn, N.Y.; Miss Hall, Rochester, N.Y.; Carmen Westcott, Catherine Byram, Brooklyn; and Walter Hall, of New York City.

August 28, 1908 Waverly Free Press: Miss Florence Mapes of Goshen, N. Y., is the guest of Miss Gertrude Slaughter, of Chemung street.

Among the Waverly young people who are planning to attend out of town colleges are Blanche Robinson and Alice Westfall, Geneseo Normal School; Gertrude Slaughter and Dorothy Atwater, "The Elms," Springfield, Mass.; Margaret Grafft, Albany Normal College, and Barbara Lawrence, Sweet Briar Seminary, Sweet Briar, Virginia.

I. Grant Dodge has workmen at work grading and opening streets through the plot of land which is to be sold for building lots the middle of September.

I. G. Dodge will sell at auction on easy terms September 16, 17 and 18th, 100 building lots on East Chemung street. These lots are high, dry and a very healthful location. They are located along the macadam state road ordered by the last legislature. Should the L. V. R. R. build their East Waverly yard, their value would be further enhanced.

COAL QUALITY. Is one of the points to consider in buying coal. You want coal that is free from dirt and dust, clear and bright, no waste and the kind that burns to ashes. Our Lackawanna coal is just the kind you want. It has all the requirements, you will know by trying it. John H. Murray, cor. Bradford St. & Penn Ave. Both Phones.

September 4, 1908 "Waverly Free Press": SOME STUDENTS AND SCHOOLS THEY ATTEND Special to The Binghamton Press; Waverly; Sept. 4- Among the graduates of the Waverly High School the following will go away to school this Fall; Miss Blanche Robinson and Miss Alice Westfall to Geneseo Normal School, Clarence Castimore to Colgate University; Raymond McGlenn to Holy Cross College in Worcester, Mass., Bernard Nelson to the School of Pharmacy, Union University of Albany, Howard Harris to the Univesity of Indiana, Raymond Beach and Malcom Raymond to Phillips Academy, Andover, Mass., Miss Maud Barnes and Miss Mary Johnson to Elmira College, Miss Barbara Lawrence to Sweet Briar Seminary of Sweet Briar, Va., Miss Gertrude Slaughter and Miss Dorothy Atwater to Miss Porter's School, "The Elms," Spring- (This was a Home and Day School for Girls. Miss Porter was the Principal. Certificate admits to Vassar, Wellesley, and Smith. Quincy method for children.)

September 8, 1908 "Waverly Free Press": FOR SALE- $400 cash, one building lot 50x170 feet, on Cadwell avenue. Enquire of Miss E. L. Atwater, 9 Lincoln avenue.

Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter, daughter Gertrude and Dorothy Atwater left Wednesday for Springfield, Conn., where the young ladies will become students at Miss Porter's school, "The Elms." (later articles all said, Springfield, Mass.)

SEPTEMBER 18, 1908 THE WAVERLY FREE PRESS AND TIOGA COUNTY RECORD - Mrs. J. E. Johnson and son, Leon, of Waverly, are in town the guests of Mrs. Johnson’s brother, J.B. Winters and attending the fair. (Mrs. Wilbur A. Spraker, the friend of Gertrude and Charlotte Knapp, is the daughter of Mrs. J. E. Johnson.)

Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter, daughter Gertrude and Dorothy Atwater left Wednesday for Springfield, Mass., students at Miss Porter's school, "The Elms."

October 2, 1908 Waverly Free Press: Joseph Knapp, formerly of the firm of J. W. Knapp & Sons, has entered into partnership with his father-in-law, E. D. Mixer, in the hardware business. The milk business that has been conducted by him for the past year will in the future be under the management of George Knapp.

October 9, 1908 Waverly Free Press: IN THE RAILROAD WORLD. Twenty Years Ago. An old document of more than passing interest to old Erie employes incidentlally came under the observation of the writer this week. It embraced the names of the employes at this station twenty years ago this October, a glance at which will cause old time railroad men, and citizens as well, to relapse into a reminiscent mood, for the history of the Erie Railroad, from its inception to the present day, is practically the history of Waverly. The list includes the names of J. S. Carroll, agent; George H. French and John M. Post, baggagemen; E. J. O'Farrell, W. H. Schutt, B. W. Bonnell, D. A. Kennedy, M. L. Kinney, E. Clair VanAtta, Henry M. Sawyer, Clifford Stark, B. K. Rowland and E. V. Alexander, clerks; Simon Kinney, police; W. H. Sliney and Thomas Ryan, yardmasters; C. S. Murdock, tallyman; George Sheeler, warehouseman; A. A. Brady, J. W. Bruster, Wm. Curran, James P. Falsey, W. B. Hayes, J. H. Murray, A. E. Pierce, laborers; John Keefe, H. G. Bruster, Lew Bruster, Simon Carmody, E. R. Gilbert, C. C. Hoyt, John Madden, Frank B. Powers, (Cap.), Horace W. Rood, Wm. Ryan and Fred Talliday, switchmen, and William Holland, crossing watchman. The list does not include the names of the engineers and firemen employes in the yard at that times, nor those of the car repair shops, over which Michael Cahill, of this place, then presided. Of the names given, fifteen have joined the silent majority, others are engaged in various pursuits in this village, and still others have gone elsewhere, while but two remain in the service of the company, B. W. Bonnell and A. E. Pierce. Ticket Agent J. W. Clark and ticket clerk Smith E. Lyons; car repairers Edward Gorman and John Hennesey, whose names do not appear on the list, were also in the employ of the company here at that time and have remained in continuous service. Those were halcyon days in railroad circles at this point. The Lehigh Valley was then running its trains over the Erie to Buffalo, its own line not having been extended until 1892. Wonderful strides in the science of railroad operation have been made since the days of "88.

October 16, 1908 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Twenty-Five Years Ago. {Extracts taken from Free Press of Oct. 20, 1883.} The first snow storm Oct. 15. Michael McCarthy was promoted by the Erie, from fireman to engineer. A. T. Andre, of Lockwood, purchased the old fire bell of the Waverly Fire Department. Iroquois Tribe, No. 42, Improved Order of Red Men, was organized in Waverly, October 16. The following chiefs were elected: Prophet, W. S. Nevins; Sachem, Lyman Buck; Senior Sagamore, Wm. T. Peters; Junior Sagamore, Richard W. Whitaker; Chief of Records, Albert E. Terry; Assistant Chief of Records, Chas. H. Turney; Keeper of Wampum, Clayton A. Smith; First Sanap, Sherman A. Genung; Second Sanap, Geo. Barnes; Warriors, Fred M. Lathrop, Adolph Unger, Gill S. Ellis, Warren Sliter; Braves, Morris Hanford, Chris Hay, Wm. e. Morgan, G. Fred Weller; Guard of Wigwam, Ira M. Terry; Guard of Forest, Eugene D. Compton; Trustees, Sherman A. Genung, Andrew Sproul, Dr. Edwin J. Stone.

November 20, 1908 Waverly Free Press: Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, of Chemung street, will entertain a company of ladies tomorrow at cards.

November 21, 1908 Binghamton Press: Entertaining at Cards. Special to The Binghamton Press. Waverly, Nov. 21 - Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter of Chemung street is entertaining a number of friends at cards this afternoon.

November 27, 1908 "Waverly Free Press": On Monday afternoon Mrs. J. C. VanAtta invited a few ladies to meet Mrs. Clark and spent the afternoon at cards. The guests on this occasion were Mrs. Howard VanDuzer, Mrs. W. H. H. Jones, Mrs. Alice Dodge, Mrs. E. H. VanAtta, Mrs. E. Campbell, Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter, Mrs. John Bailey.

Mrs. Alice Dodge entertained last week for Mrs. James Clark, formerly of this place. Those present besides the hostess and her daughter, Mrs. F. A. Levis, were old friends and neighbors of the guests of honor, including Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter, Mrs. A. Bouton, Mrs. Howard VanDuzer, Mrs. George A. Scott, Mrs. C. Campbell and Mrs. J. C. VanAtta.

Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter gave an enjoyable bridge supper on Saturday to sixteen ladies. Following cards, the guests found their places at a beautifully appointed table and partook of a delicious repast. The following were present: Mrs. F. A. Levis, Mrs. John Murray, Mrs. F. A. Sawyer, Mrs. E. Gamble, Miss Murray, Mrs. J. T. Sawyer, Mrs. Lewis Atwater, Mrs. Moses Lyman, Mrs. C. C. Strong, Mrs. Bell, Mrs. J. C. VanAtta, Mrs. Ellis Crandall, Mrs. I. P. Shepard and Mrs. J. G. Grant, of Akron, Ohio.

Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter left Tuesday to spend Thanksgiving with her daughter, Gertrude, who is a pupil at Miss Porter's school at Springfield, Mass.

Year Books Of The D. A. R. Out. A Very Interesting Lot of Subjects Have Been Assigned For The Year. The year books of Tioga Chapter, D. A. R. have been distributed and the subject for the year will be "The Early Colonial Settlement of America." The dates and topics are given below: January 20 - "New York Under the Dutch." Mrs. F. W. Merriam, Waverly. Hostess, Mrs. C. C. Strong, Waverly. February 17 - "Maryland; Lord Baltimore," Mrs. J. Thurston, Athens. Hostess, Miss Perkins, Athens. February 22, 1909 - Washington Day, in charge of entertainment committee. March 17 - "Plymouth, Salem, Boston," Mrs. C. C. Strong, Waverly. Hostess, Mrs. Richard Whitaker, Miss Whitaker, Waverly. April 21 - "Pennsylvania. Philadelphia," Mrs. J. W. Bishop, Sayre. Hostesses, Mrs. Stimson, Mrs. Holcomb, Athens. May 19 - Report of Delegates to Congress. Hostess, Mrs. H. C. Thatcher, Waverly. June 16 - "Flag Day," Entertainment Committee. July 21 - "Rhode Island; Roger Williams," Mrs. F. A. Bell, Waverly. Hostess, Mrs. Bert Hayden, Sayre. September 15 - "South Carolina," Mrs. Mary Sheldon, Brooklyn. Hostess, Mrs. George Miller, Athens. October 20 - Annual Meeting at Colonial Room Spaulding Library. Hostesses, Mrs. C. S. Maurice, Mrs. Chas. Kellogg, Athens. The membership of the Chapter has reached the one hundred mark and among the list of members those from here are: Mrs. Mertie Signor Bell, Miss Mary E. Blood, Mrs. Catherine Chapman Brooks, Mrs. Crissie Foote Blizard, Mrs. Mabel Gillan Baldwin, Mrs. Louise Lyford Daniell, Mrs. Euphemia Gray Dubois, Mrs. Lena Bouton Ellis, Mrs. Mary Ellen Fairchild, Miss Mary Elizabeth Finch, Mrs. Alice Bennett, Mrs. Estella Hanna Ellis, Mrs. Sarah Perkins Elmer, Miss Antoinette Elmer, Mrs. Mary Ellen Fairchild, Miss Mary Elizabeth Finch, Mrs. Alice Bennett Gore, Mrs. Lena Holbert Hanford, Mrs. Kate Hanna Holbert, Mrs. Florence Floyd Merriam, Mrs. Carolyn Barston Murray, Miss Eliza Murray, Miss Jane Sawyer, Mrs. Marian Ruthven Shepard, Mrs. Charlotte Wells Slaughter, Mrs. Ann Elizabeth Stewart (real daughter), Mrs. Anna Atwater Strong, Mrs. Lizzie Clapp Thatcher, Mrs. Anna Fairchild Tilton, Mrs. Sarah V. Whitaker, Miss Jessie Louise Whitaker.

December 11, 1908 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: AD. Christmas Suggestions From The Chemung Street Greenhouses. An Elegant lot of Ferns, Boston and Ostrich Plume, in all sizes from 10c to $1.50 each- Special Bargains. A nice Plant for 50c. Asparagus Plumosus, from 10c to 50c each. Table Ferns, 10c each. Palms and other decorative plants at reasonable prices. Come And See- 414 Chemung St. Waverly, N. Y.

Two houses at 312 and 314 Chemung street, in the Will of Duncan McDonald of Waverly, dated October 17, 1901.(Also house and lot at 54 Pleasant street, South Waverly) He said to repair, maintain, pay taxes and insure and send the same the net avails of rentals to be paid to Duncan J. McDonald and Emma J. McDonald and their survivors. At their death to sell at advantageous sale and divide the avails of said sales between the rector, wardens and vestrymen of the Grace church of Waverly, and the American Baptist Home Mission Society of New York State in equal shares. The first codicil to the will was dated December 23, 1904, and in this he revokes the bequest to the Baptist Home Mission Society and bequeaths same to the Centenary Methodist church, of Elmira. He also revokes the appointment of W. H. Denslow as trustee, and nominates Percy L. Lang to succeed him. … The second codicil, dated March 27, 1906, revokes … In paragraph three, the houses, 312 and 314 Chemung street, the proceeds of rents, etc. to be paid during life to Duncan J. McDonald, and at his death to be divided between the rector, wardens and vestrymen of the Waverly Grace Episcopal church, and the Centenary church, of Elmira. … He also revokes the appointment of Willard L. King as trustee, and nominates Fred A. Sawyer in his stead. In the petition the property is valued no to exceed $27,000 in personal and $17,000 in real estate.

December 18, 1908 "Waverly Free Press": Mrs. A. M. Bouton gave the first of two supper parties in honor of Mrs. William Bouton Wednesday evening. Covers were laid for thirty-nine who were seated at small tables. The place cards decorated with holly were appropriate for the approaching holiday season, and after a course supper "500" and bridge were played. Those who accepted Mrs. Bouton's hospitality were Mrs. Harry Ellis, Mrs. Thaddeus Ellis, Mrs. E. Kitchen, Miss Murray, Mrs. Ed. Neaves, Mrs. Weeks, Mrs. F. A. Sawyer, Mrs. Chas. Strong, Miss Atwater, Mrs. Harry Peck, Mrs. H. N. Daniell, Mrs. Edward Tracy, Mrs. Alice Dodge, Mrs. Francis Lewis, Miss Frances Lyons, Miss Janet Lyons, Miss Swain, Mrs. F. E. Lyford, Mrs. F. E. Hawkes, M? Barden, Mrs. J. B. Floyd, Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter, Miss Shear, Mrs. J. C. VanAtta, Mrs. Harry Baldwin, Mrs. Harold Watrous, Mrs. F. A. Bell, Miss Ross, Mrs. A. I. Decker, Miss Blizzard, Mrs. E. H. Barton Hall and Miss Gere , of Chemung.

Ad - J. W. Knapp & Son, Dry Goods, Carpets, Cloaks, Suits, Furniture. The Ideal Christmas Store. Every Christmas shopper will find this an ideal shopping store....

December 31, 1908 Binghamtom Press: Waverly, Dec. 31- A pleasant reception was given yesterday afternoon at the Hall residence on Park avenue by Mrs. S. C. Hall, Miss Hall, Miss Josephine Hall and Miss Ethel MacAlpin of Bradford, assisted by Mrs. H. G. Merriam, Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter, Mrs. C. F. Spencer and Mrs. J. B. Floyd. The serving was attended to by the Misses Gertrude Slaughter, Lucile Genung, Agnes Moore, Jessie Angell and Miss Mapes of Goshen and Miss Charie Hastings of Elmira. The guests numbered about one hundred and fifty.

January 1, 1909 Waverly Free Press: A large number of friends attended the "At Home" given by Mrs. S. C. Hall and daughters, at their Pennsylvania avenue home, Wednesday afternoon. Delicious refreshements were served in the dining room, where the color scheme of red and green was used. The table was brightened with red carnations, while festoons of running pine and Christmas bells extended from the center of the room to the corners. Mrs. Hall was assisted in receiving by her daughters, the Misses Pauline and Josephine, and Miss Ethel McAlpin, of Bradford, Pa. Other assisting ladies were Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter, Mrs. Henry Merriam, Mrs. C. F. Spencer, Mrs. J. B. Floyd, Mrs. Rufus Harnden, Ruth Appleget, Agnes Moore, Elizabeth Angell, Jessie Angell, Lucile Genung, Gertrude Slaughter, Miss Mapes and Miss Hastings, of Elmira. In addition to the town ladies, a large number were present from Athens and Sayre.

January 29, 1909 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Obituary. David S. Morgan. David S. Morgan, formerly a resident of Waverly, a member of the old Tioga Hose Company Band, and a well known painter and decorator, died at his home in Washington, D. C., Sunday night, January 24, 1909, after suffering for some weeks from heart trouble. The deceased was born in Sylvania, Pa., March 4, 1847, and when but a young man his parents moved to (continued on page twelve.) (continued from first Page.) Waverly, where he received his early education and also learned his trade as a painter and decorator. For a number of years he was in partnership with Thomas Keeler, of this village, in the painting and decorating business. About twenty-two years ago he left Waverly and went West, later returning to Washington, D. C., where he has since made his home. He was one of the charter members of the old Tioga Hose Company Band and a man with many friends throughout this section. He is survived by his wife and one daughter, Ethel, and a sister, Mrs. M. McGuffie, of this village. The funeral was held in Washington, D. C., yesterday afternoon at 2:30 o'clock and interment was made in the Glenwood cemetery, that city.

February 5, 1909 "Waverly Free Press": The Woman's Missionary Society of the Presbyterian church is in session at the church this afternoon. The topic for study is "The General Field," and Mrs. S. W. Slaughter and Mrs. Emory Campbell have charge of the meeting.

Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter is back from Rochester and Clifton Springs, N. Y.

PAYNE PROPERTY SOLD. The Minor Payne property on the corner of Chemung and Athens streets was sold last Saturday on a mortgage sale to Edgar Sebring for $2,250. (300 Chemung St.)

February 12, 1909 "Waverly Free Press": Woman Missionary Society Meeting- An Interesting Programme Given on the "General Field" and the Year Books were Distributed to Members. Mrs. J. W. Knapp, Sr., presided at the February meeting of the Woman's Missionary Society of the Presbyterian church, which was held last Friday afternoon at the church parlors. The topic, "The General Field," was in charge of Mrs. Emory Campbell and Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter and the program was as follows: The First Year Out. Korea, Mrs. William Tew. Talk - Japan... Mrs. Howard Elmer. The Philippines...Mrs. W. B. Scofield. The New Birth in Turkey...Miss Alice Fish. Three Missionaries...Mrs. Walter Ware. Woman's Progress in Siam...Mrs. D. Stark. Current Events...Mrs. J. W. Knapp, Sr. The year books have been distributed and the subject for the year with the leaders are: March-The Indians. Mrs. A. M. Bouton, Miss Atwater. April - The Freedman. Mrs. Anna Knapp, Mrs. A. R. Bumn. May - Africa Mrs. R. D. Whitaker, Mrs. E. Taylor. Social Hour Miss Tayor, Miss Shear. June- Porto Rico, Cuba Mrs. P. R. Ross, Mrs. E. C. French. July - Hawaii and the Philippines Mrs. Harry Baldwin, Mrs. E. C. Tracy. August - Our Missionaries. Mrs. E. K. Kitchen, Mrs. W. Whitaker. September - Japan Mrs. J. B. Floyd, Mrs Harry Knapp. October - Mormons Mrs. Howard Elmer, Mrs. G. L. Mullock. November - Korea Mrs. C.C. Strong, Mrs. H. C. Thatcher. December - Foreigners in America Miss Finch, Mrs. I. G. Dodge. January - Annual Meeting. Social Hour. Miss Alice Fish, Miss Scofield. Collectors - Mrs. C. M. Crandall, Mrs. J. C. VanAtta, Mrs. L. S. Tilton, Mrs. H. A. Ross, Miss Louise Relgeluth, Mrs. Walter Ware, Miss Alice Fish, Mrs. P. R. Ross, Miss Ella Hart, Miss Antoinnette Elmer.

February 19, 1909 Waverly Free Press: Anniversary Of Birth Celebrated. The Many Friends and Neighbors of Mr. Henry Taylor Laine Gave Him An Agreeable Surprise Saturday. On last Saturday afternoon and evening, Henry Taylor Laine, of 407 Broad street, was most agreeably surprised, it being the occasion of his seventy-eighth birthday, to receive informal and delightful calls from relations, old schoolmates, old business friends, civil war veterans and some of the younger generations, who wished him many happy returns of the day and added their quota of interest in recalling old times and old scenes. Light refreshments were served by his daughter, Mrs. Louise Laine Blackmore assisted by Miss Georgia Blackmore. Mr. Laine looks younger than his years, his merry brown eyes, which do not often (Continued on eleventh page.)

Anniversary Of Birth Celebrated (Continued from First Page.) use glasses, shining with geniality and youthful quality, while the firm grasp of his hand shows no diminition of fervor. Mrs. Laine assisted in receiving the guests. The following brief sketch of the life of Mr. Laine, will be interesting to his many friends: Mr. Laine was born in the Town of Minisink, Orange county, N. Y. , on February 13, 1831. His father, William A. Laine came to Waverly, then known as Factoryville, in 1837, driving all the way in a travelling wagon, built for that purpose. He was accompanied by his wife and three children, of whom Henry was the eldest. What is now Waverly was then a forest, with only a State road, which is now Chemung street, though a private road turned south from Chemung street, to a residence of Dea. Strong's. This private road afterwards became Pennsylvania avenue, because it was extended into the State of that name. Mr. Laine's father drove directly to his farm of over 100 acres on West Hill, where he lived until 1844, when he moved down to a house on Chemung street opposite what is now the West End school building. The first school house on that site was built by Mr. Shepard and was called Villemont Academy, as Mr. Shepard called that part of the settlement Villemont. Later. W. A. Laine built a house on the southwest corner of what is now Pine and Chemung streets, and this home, with additions and remodeling, is still standing. The well in the front corner was always celebrated for its clear and deliciously pure water. In 1856 Henry Taylor Laine was married to Miss Louise Marie Shaw, daughter of Eli Austin Shaw, also an old resident of this town, and in 1906 they celebrated the fiftieth anniversary of their marriage. Mr. Laine was one of the early firemen of the village and was ever at his post at the sounding of an alarm. In 1862 he enlisted in the Anthon Batallion, Light Artillery, afterwards known as the Twentieth Battery, and was made sergeant from the date of his enlistment. He was entrusted with much important business in undetached service, until his honorable discharge, on August 31, 1865. For nearly thirty-four years he has been in the employ of the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company, the last twenty-six of which have been in connection with the general storehouse. His loyalty to duty, fidelity to the business, his purity of character and sterling worth have gained for him the respect and love of the hundreds of men who have come in contact with him. Young and old unite in hoping he may enjoy many more years of usefulness and geniality.

February 19, 1909 Waverly Free Press: Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter entertained two tables at bridge, Wednesday evening, and after nine series of games, elaborate and tempting refreshments were served to the guests, who included Mrs. J. B. Floyd, Mrs. Alice Dodge, Mrs. Lydia Topping, Mrs. Meserve, Mrs. C. Crandall, Mrs. Charles Shipman and Miss Ella Atwater.

February 26, 1909 "Waverly Free Press": Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter, Mrs. Alice Dodge, Mrs. Charles Shipman, Mrs. H. G. Merriam, Mrs. C. F. Spencer, Mrs. Meserve and Mrs. J. B. Floyd were entertained at bridge Wednesday night by Mrs. Lydia Topping of Waverly street.

As a result of the Colonial Tea, which was given on Washington's birthday at the home of Mrs. E. M. Thompson, Sayre, $35 has been added to the treasury of the Tioga Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution. This amount will be added to the prize birthday fund.

For the benefit of the Waverly members of Tioga Chapter, D. A. R., who are at work on the biographical sketches of their ancestors. Mrs. M. P. Murray, the historian, has had a copy of the form to be used placed in the school library, where it can be seen by all who are interested.

February 26, 1909 "Waverly Free Press": Quite the most brilliant social affair ever given by Tioga Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, was the Colonial Reception, held Monday, Feb. 22nd, at the home of Mrs. E. M. Thompson, of Spring street, Sayre, from 3 until 6 o'clock. No more suitable place could have been selected for an event of this sort, than the fine old homestead now occupied by Mrs. Thompson, known for half a century as the "old Cuyler place." Some of the older residents of the Valley, will remember it, in its former glory, when this old white pillored colonial home was the renezvous of the society folk of the Valley, many years ago, and could tell interesting tales of the romances, festivities and fine entertainment that once upon a time took place there. The same furniture throughout, and even the quaint and beautiful china, used at that time, it was the privilege of the Daughters to enjoy on Monday afternoon, and, amid candle light and flowers, and atmosphere of old time glory and past granduer ... (The D.A.R. Colonial Tea) ...From 3 until 4 o'clock Mrs. Slaughter, of Waverly, and Mrs. Weaver, of Sayre, presided at the table in the dining room. Mrs. Slaughter in charge of the huge colonial blue teapot, was magnificent in heavy gray silk with a kerchief made of real lace from her mother's wedding veil and a duchess point lace cap with long white chiffon veil.

March 5, 1909 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Venerable Resident, One of Waverly's Early Settlers, Passed Away at Hospital. James I. Reeve, a venerable resident of Waverly, died at the Packer hospital, in Sayre, Saturday evening, at 11:30 o'clock, after suffering from a shock which he received when he fell and broke his hip at his home on Broad street, Tuesday, February 16. Mr. Reeve was born in Goshen, Orange county, N. Y., in October, 1818. He came to Factoryville, in April, 1848, and in partnership with Charles H. Shepard, conducted a hardware business in a building long since destroyed, which stood near the bridge over Cayuta creek, East Waverly. The next year, 1849, the Erie came through this section and Broad street was laid out. The third building on the street was the one which is now occupied by the Tioga Steam Laundry, and it was erected by Isaac Shepard, in 1849. As soon as it was completed the owner opened a dry goods store in one side, while Shepard & Reeve moved their hardware store from Factoryville, into the other side. Shepard & Reeve remained in partnership for about four years, when Mr. Shepard retired from the firm, and Mr. Reeve conducted the business alone in the building on the south side of Broad street, now occupied by Walter Ware, the jeweler, until 1865. In that year (Continued on fifth page.) The Death Of James I. Reeve (Continued from First Page.) he formed a partnership with Henry G. Merriam, which was continued until 1870, when Mr. Reeve retired and Mr. Merriam continued the business. Mr. Reeve retired permanently from active business in 1882. He was one of the few surviving members of the Presbyterian church, who were members when the church was erected in 1849, and in the early days owned a large section of land in what is now the heart of the village, and which included the extensive Elmer property facing Pennsylvania avenue; the section that was lying south of Chemung street as far as Park Place, and east of Pennsylvania avenue to what is now included in the Angell property. Today this is one of the most valuable tracts of land in the village. Mr. Reeve was married twice, his first wife being Miss Charlotte Coroy, of Goshen, N. Y. There were three daughters by his first wife; Sarah, with whom he made his home on Broad street, and Addie and Emma, both of whom died a number of years ago. After the death of his first wife he was united in marriage with Miss Emma R. Kinney, of Waverly, and two them were born two sons, Frank, who died in infancy, and Henry ?, deceased, who was a very well known resident of Waverly. His second wife died in 1876. Mr. Reeve had practically been with the village of Waverly from its beginning. He was on of its progressive business men and during his life had assisted in every good movement for the betterment of the village. He was a kind hearted congenial man and enjoyed the friendship of a host throughout this section, and especially among the older residents. Of his immediate family he is survived by one daughter, Sarah, with whom he made his home, on Broad street, and a stepdaughter, Mrs. A. S. Gordon, of Towanda, Pa. The funeral was held Monday afternoon at 2:30 o'clock from the Presbyterian church, the Rev. Dr. Ross officiating, interment was made in the Forest Home cemetery.

March 12, 1909 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: George Knapp and Joe Robinson attended the performance of "The Merry Widow" at Ithaca Wednesday evening.

Mrs. George Scott entertained a few friends at dinner Wednesday night at her pleasant Pennsylvania avenue home.

March 26, 1909 Waverly Free Press: Mr. and Mrs. Judd Buley, of Syracuse, N. Y., will soon move here and reside in the homestead at the corner of Chemung and Waverly street, which had been occupied by the late James Buley.

Mr. and Mrs. E. D. Sebring moved this week from Orchard street to the property which they recently purchased at the corner of Chemung and Athens street. (E. D. Sebring was a pall bearer for Charlotte Slaughter's funeral in 1912)

April 9, 1909 "Waverly Free Press": Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter has issued invitations today for a large reception to be held Wednesday evening, April 14, at her home on Chemung street.

April 16, 1909 "Waverly Free Press": Mrs. Haggerty of Goshen, N.Y. is the guest of her aunt, Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter, Chemung street.

Miss Beatrice Laine entertained a few of her young friends at an Easter party on Saturday evening. Among the amusements were zigzag puzzles, a contest in which each endeavored to make the most words from the letters spelling Easter and a chicken hunt, when the guests hunted for chickens hidden in the different rooms. Elaborate refreshments were served and those present were: Mildred Talmadge, Hazel Bell, Caribel Merrill, Virginia VanAtta, Frances Stevenson, Nina Lawrence and Margaret Tighe. Margaret Grafft, Carrle Baker, Elizabeth Moore, Agnes Moore, Alice Lang, Mary Blood, Gertrude Slaughter, Dorothy Crandall, Lulu Crans, Gladys Wood, Julia Park, Edna Elsenhart, Clay Thatcher, Harry Delgado, Edwin Grafft, Franklin Pierce, Joe Robinson, Harold Sawyer, Dana Hopkins, Geo. Tilton, Thomas Applegot, Will Adams, Earl Albertson, Lester Merrill, Robert Fish and Miss Holmes of Towanda; Miss Carpenter, of Sayre; Harrison Grant, of Akron, Ohio, and Fletcher Wynkoop, of Chemung were the guests of Robert Johnson Saturday evening at progressive bridge. After a series of games, light refreshments were served and music was enjoyed.

The reception given by Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter, Wednesday night at her home on Chemung street, was one of the largest and most delightful social events held here for some time. The hostess received in the front parlor and was aided in greeting her guests by her sister, Mrs. Wells; her niece, Mrs. Haggerty, of Goshen, N.Y. and her cousin, Miss Milliard, of Elmira, N.Y. Others assisting were her daughter, Miss Gertrude, Mrs. F.A. Sawyer, Mrs. H.C. Thatcher, Mrs. J.C. VanAtta, Mrs. F.W. Merriam, Mrs. C.C. Strong, Mrs. L.D. Atwater, Ronald VanAtta, and Donald Atwater. The rooms were adorned most profusely with cut flowers, palms and ferns and in the dining room the decorations were particularly effective. Here the color scheme of pink and green prevailed and the table was centered with a large bouquet of pink roses, while many pink candles in crystalstick added to its attractiveness. Delicious refreshments were served and Easter favors of pink ribbon were presented the guests. Kramm's orchestra played and in addition to the Sayre and Athens guests, many were present from a distance.

Mr. and Mrs. Harry Knapp are expected home soon from their trip to Egypt, the Holy Land and other Eastern points. Dr. and Mrs. Walter Lockerby, who went on the same trip, will not return now, but will tour for a month on the continent. (Harry Knapp is Gertrude Slaughter's future brother-in-law,1915.)

Leo. E. Leipziger, representative of the famous Horse Shoe brand of clothing is spending a few days with his sister, Mrs. Julius Sayles, Chemung street.

April 23, 1909 "Waverly Free Press": The Misses Gertrude Slaughter and Dorothy Atwater left Tuesday to resume their studies at "The Elms," Springfield, Mass.

The D. T. D. club, whose membership is limited to a few members initiated Agnes Moore, on Saturday evening at a meeting held with Miss Jessie Smith, of Chemung street. Following the business session there were cards and the members present were: Carrie Baker, Gertrude Slaughter, Dorothy Atwater, Elizabeth Moore, Gladys Wood, Dorothy Crandall, Julia Park. (Delta Theta Delta - a club/society of the Waverly High School. There was also the Sigma Delta fraternity at Waverly High School)

Miss Gertrude Slaughter entertained a company of young friends at a birthday party at her home on Chemung street, Friday night. Zizzag and cards were the amusements and the guests present were: Carrie Baker, Jessie Smith, Julia Parks, Dorothy Atwater, Elizabeth and Agnes Moore, Gladys Wood, Dorothy Crandall, Clay Thatcher, Franklin Pierce, Edwin Grafft, Thomas Appleget, Lester Merrill, Joe Robinson, Earl Albertson, Robert Johnson and George Tilton.

A New Floor For The Auditorium. The Ladies of the Baptist Church Have Devised Novel Means for the Raising of Money. The Ladies' Aid Society of the Baptist church being anxious to place a hardwood floor in the auditorium, have decided upon a novel way to raise the money. Members of the congregation will pledge to pay for a certain number of square yards of the flooring and many are planning to earn the money thus given in a manner called the "Endless Tea Chair." The plan is for one lady to invite 10 ladies to visit her with her sewing, and pay the hostess an admission fee of 10 cents each. Mrs. S. W. Mitchell, president of the society, gave a thimble party Friday afternoon which was attended by fourteen members of the executive committee. Light refreshments were served and $1.50 was added to the fund. The following compose the executive committee: Mrs. G. A. Briggs, Mrs. Edgar Stewart, Mrs. Parry Manning, Mrs. Alida Young, Mrs. Juliea Squires, Mrs. Rose Morgan, Mrs. G. B. Evans, Mrs. Garrison, Mrs. Geo. Hanna, Mrs. Benjamin Donne, Mrs. Ed. Kelsey, Mrs. M. L. Hanford, Mrs. C. E. Swartwood, Mrs. Chas. Roe, Mrs. Fred Terry. The second of the series of the endless chain thimble parties was held Tuesday afternoon with Mrs. G. Evans, of Athens street. Like the preceding party it was most enjoyable and light refresments were served by the hostess.

May 14, 1909 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: DO WE LOSE HISTORIC SPANISH HILL? - Chances Are That the Famous Spot will Be Closed to the Public Unless Ruffians Behave. From present indications Waverly's greatest attraction and pleasure resort will be shut off from the public. Long before Waverly was founded it was a famous spot; since the village was built it has been its one great show spot. Every visitor remembers it as the crowning glory of a beautiful valley; it is an ideal place for picnics and summer rambles. Now it is likely that the public will be barred from visiting the spot and simply because the public, or a part of it, at least, has abused its privileges. Lately the place has been made the resort of a gang of young hoodlums, who tear down fences, disfigure trees, break down the shrubbery and inflict other damages on property. Worse than this, they behave in a most disorderly manner and insult ladies who happen to be passing on the streets below. It is probable that a repetition of the offense will result in arrests, and John W. Storms, the proprietor of Spanish Hill, says that if this does not break up the disorder he will be forced to absolutely forbid the use of the Hill by the public. He is reluctant to do this, but feels that he must protect his property and that the neighborhood can no longer endure the noise and insult of the roughs. It is to be hoped that the evil can be stopped without resorting to such severe measures, as the shutting off of Spanish Hill would be a sad loss for Waverly. Its owners have been generous to the public in allowing it to be so freely used, and it is a shame that their kindness is abused.

Rev. J. A. Brown of Pittson, Pa., has been visiting old friends in town for two or three days. Mr. Brown was rector of Grace Episcopal church here in 1878. This is his first visit here in some thirty years. - Ground was broken Monday for the house to be erected on the lot at 320 Chemung street, by William H. Scofield. (in 1936, Mrs. W. S. Hall lived here at 320) - Harry Case will soon take possession of the residence, 22 Lincoln street, which he recently purchased of contractor John Seacord. - During the electrical storm Monday afternoon the transformer on the pole at the corner of Waverly and Chemung streets, was struck by lightning and burned out.

- Harry Case will soon take possession of the residence, 22 Lincoln street, which he recently purchased of contractor John Seacord.

- During the electrical storm Monday afternoon the transformer on the pole at the corner of Waverly and Chemung streets, was struck by lightning and burned out.

May 21, 1909 Waverly Free Press: Ground was broken Friday on the lot at 326 Chemung street, for a house to be erected by Mrs. Emily C. Lewis, who now resides on Loder street.

June 4, 1909 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: IMPROVEMENTS IN WAVERLY - Hard Times Seems to Have But Little Effect on the Work of Building in Village. Builders Have Plenty Of Money - The Waverly Loan Association was Not Successful in Loaning Money This Spring. Scarcity of money, lack of business, no work and hundreds of families on the towns and counties seem to have been the ordinary run of talk throughout the country of late. The seriousness of the situation has perplexed the brains of the older warriors, who have braved financial panic after financial panic; has caused some of our older business men to count their coins carefully, make their expenditures conservatively and bow to many hardships in order to keep above tidewater. The one fact first noticed in Waverly, even during the past year, by persons coming here from other villages of this state was the amount of building here, in spite of the hard times, though it was less than usual for Waverly. While in most towns there was harldy a new building going up, at no time during the past year was there less than a score of new buildings in the process of erection in Waverly alone, to say nothing of the other boroughs of the Valley. Times, however, are brightning, and in no place is it much more noticeable than in the beautiful village of Waverly. Perhaps not wholly in the mercantile business, and decidedly not in the manufacturing end, but the improvement is most noteworthy in the enlargement of the village, in the erection of beautiful and costly homes, on street after street there being the clang of the masons' trowel and the bang of the carpenters' hammer, as the work of building is going on. The remarkable advance in Waverly has become so noticeable that it could not pass unmentioned longer. In our various walks in and upon our streets and thoroughfares we have been amazed, surprised and pleased with the aspect of what will eventually, at least, assist in proclaiming a bigger and busier Waverly. Not only has this increase in the work of building shown (Continued on Page Twelve.)

page 12. IMPROVEMENTS IN WAVERLY (Continued from First Page.) that there is still money left in the country after the financial depression we have just been through, but the fact that home after home is being remodeled and repainted at an expenditure of hundreds of dollars, proves conclusively that we are not only existing, but are living and living in moderate luxury, seemingly in the midst of the brightest of times, entirely void of the pang of financial depression. Another fact that has been brought to our notice and that is not only amazing, but remarkable, is that with all this building going on in Waverly, there is a sufficient sum of money in the hands of the builder and owner to proceed without the assistance of a loan. This one matter has been brought to our attention by a representative of the Waverly Building & Loan Association, which recently sent out its representatives in the village to loan money to builders. A thorough canvass was made and not one cent could be placed, every builder having sufficient of funds to do his work. This fact is indeed remarkable and almost leads one to believe that times had not been hard. Aside from a number of houses that are being practically reconstructed and others that are being enlarged and repaired, without making a thorough canvass, we give below a list of some of the buildings that have recently been completed or are now in course of construction. No. 429 Broad street - residence for Michael Clune. No. 543 Broad street - residence for William Pickley, proprietor of the Stewart Hotel. No. 454 Broad street - Wholesale grocery house for S. Mills Ely. No. 18 North Chemung street - residence for William Bangard. No. 462 Pennsylvania avenue - residence being built by Contractor F. E. Beekman. North Chemung street - residence being built by F. E. Beekman, contractor. Five new houses on Barker Place, East Waverly - built by Contractor L. F. Lord. Three unoccupied. No. 209 William street - residence for Corneby & Harris. No. 114 Center street - residence completed. Corner of Elm street and Sawyer Place - residence for Harry Thompson. No. 320 Chemung street - residence for W. H. Scofield. No. 326 Chemung street - residence for Mrs. Smith.

Young Men Were Royal Hosts - Picnic at the Johnson-Ferguson Cottage on Memorial Day was an Enjoyable Affair. Messrs. William Adams and Robert Johnson, assisted by the chaperons, Mr. and Mrs. Wellington Ferguson, arranged one of the most delightful picnics held Monday. About thirty-five young people left on the Erie train at 7:43 and were welcomed at the Johnson-Ferguson cottage on the Susquehanna, near Barton, by the evening to make preparations. Every committee, who went down Saturday thing was done to make the day a success. In the morning a game of ball was played and Barton was defeated by the Waverly boys. Charles Kennedy, Joseph MacNamara and Vivian Post went down to strengthen the Waverly forces. A notable and enjoyable dinner was served, having been prepared by the committee without help from the guests. This added much to the enjoyment of the menu, as paper bags and pasteboard boxed had no part in it. The supper was equally delicious and tempting, and the young people left for the moonlight straw ride to Waverly with regret that the day could not be longer. Among those who enjoyed the hospitality of the committee and chaperons were Misses Elizabeth and Agnes Moore, Jessie Smith, Pearl Stackhouse, Josephine O'Brien, Virginia VanAtta, Nina Lawrence, Dorothy Crandall, Mildred Talmadge, Marjorie Blood, Carrie Baker, Hazel Johnson and Edna Eisenhart, of Waverly; Miss Ingham, of Towanda, and Miss Walsh, of Boston; Messrs. Fred Waldo, Rob McGuffie, Harry Delgada, Earl Albertson, Thos. B. Appleget, George Byram, Joseph Robinson, George Tilton, Edwin Graft, Lester Merrill and George Knapp, of Waverly, and Chas. Masterson, of Barton.

Homing Pigeons Released Wednesday. One Hundred Birds Started From Waverly on Flight to New York City. Two large crates of homing pigeons from the Manhattan Homing Pigeon Club of New York City, were opened at the Erie station Wednesday a.m. at promptly 9:10 o'clock, before a large assemblage of Waverly people, who had learned that the birds would leave at this time on their homeward flight. There were close to one hundred birds in the two crates, and from the time of their arrival in Waverly, were in charge of R. W. Smith, who is in the employ of the Wells Fargo Express company. The crates were taken to the East side of Fulton street along side the tracks, so that when the birds ascended into the air, there were no wires to block their flight. The pigeons rose to an altitude of about 150 feet and made circle after circle at this height and then rose to an altitude of close to 300 feet, circling in the same manner. After ten minutes had elapsed they seemed to have found their bearings, and with two of the flock slightly in advance and flying closely together, they set out in a southeasterly direction. It is claimed that these birds will make a little over fifty miles an hour and at this rate the flock should have reached New York City shortly after noon that day but it is thought that they became confused and had to return to their starting place again at about 2 o'clock. Some people on the streets saw a large flock of pigeons at about this time and it is supposed that they were the same ones. No report has been sent in as yet from New York City.

June 18, 1909 Waverly Free Press: Mrs. S. W. Slaughter left Tuesday for Asbury Park, N. J.

Word has been received here to the effect that the Rev. John L. Taylor, D. D., of Asbury Park, N. J., who has been ill for some time, is much worse. Dr. Taylor was the pastor of the Presbyterian church for a number of years and has many friends here who will regret to hear of his serious Illness.

June 24, 1909 Elmira Star Gazette: Edwin H. Van Atta Dies In Waverly. Waverly, June 24 - Edwin H. Van Atta died at his late home, 457 Cayuta avenue, at 11:15 Monday morning. He was born in Waverly April 18, 1869, and had resided here all his life. When he was fourteen years old he entered the drug store conducted by his brother, John C. Van Atta, and until about one year ago, when ill health made it impossible, was associated with him at the same store. Nineteen years ago he married Miss Rose Grafft, daughter of George H. Grafft of Cayuta avenue. His aged father and mother, Mr. and Mrs. A. J. Van Atta of Pennsylvania avenue, survive him; also his widow and one daughter, Miss Virginia Van Atta, a student in the Waverly High School, and two brothers, John C. and E. Clair Van Atta.

July 2, 1909 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Wanted - To contract for 12 tons of good new timothy or clover hay, clover preferred. Valley phone. Geo. B. Knapp.

Wanted - A competent girl or woman for general housework in a family of three. No washing or ironing. Good wages. Mrs. J. W. Knapp, Lyman Ave.

July 9, 1909 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Owego Local News... Mr. and Mrs. Henry Foster have returned from their wedding trip and are housekeeping on Main street. (On July 2, 1858, the octagon home on Chemung street was sold by Amelia J. Foster and Henry S. Foster, maybe this is a decendant, possible grandson?)

July 23, 1909 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Wanted - To buy three tested cows, fresh in Aug. or Sept. Geo. B. Knapp.

Three young men - Fred Waldo, Geo. B. Knapp and Joe Robinson have gone to camp for ten days or so on the banks of the Susquehanna river above the Swartwood farm.

A Valley Old Home Week. In the big cities "Old Home Week" has been rather a failure, often a farce. One might as well talk of a reunion of all the Smith family or an old home week for the State of Texas as for Boston or New York. The size of the cities makes the thing an absurdity and it degenerates into a game of graft and grab for the hotels and hackdrivers. In the smaller towns, however, the scheme seems to work out well and results in a good deal of genuine pleasure to the people and permanent good to the towns. Of course, the success of old home weeks depends on the spirit of the place, the interest of its people in each other and their fondness for their old friends and families, but there would be no question about that here. Waverly people, those who are here and those who have gone to other places, retain a more than ordinary amount of affection for old assoociations, traditions, friends. The success of Institute Day proves that; any reunion or celebration held here does that. Now, a step further. When old friends come back here they come back to "The Valley." They may have lived in Waverly, but they have as many friends in Sayre and Athens, perhaps, as they have this side of the state line. We should have an Old Home Week for the Valley-one day for Waverly, one for Sayre, one for Athens, one for all three and the rest as they maybe thought out later. Few towns have such an opportunity as this. The pleasures and gain of each would be divided by three. What do you think of it, gentlemen of the Board of Trade?

... The founding and history of the Waverly institute makes a bit of interesting local history and should be familiar to all, for from its doors went nearly 2,000 pupils, who scattered throughout various sections of our country, are meeting with success in different walks of life. While yet uncompleted, the building opened its doors in November, 1857, with Andrew Jackson Lang, A. B., a graduate of Union College, in charge, and these pupils enrolled: The First Roll Call, November 1857, - Hugh Baldwin, Thuie Baldwin, Lansing Bonnell, Myra Bonnell, Victoria Brink, Jasper Bosworth, Lucilla Bosworth, Fannie Coryell, Helen Coryell, Mary Coryell, Josehine Caldwell, Imogene Chase, Delphine Chase, Isabelle Davis, Sophia Delaney, Clara Delaney, Helen Dickson, Mary Drake, George Dudley, Julia Ellis, Allison Elmer, Ophelia Fitch, Amelia Goetchius, Wm. Galloway, Mary Gridley, Josephine Hallett, Hattie Hoyt, Lavinia Howell, Arthur Hubble, Emma Hett, Herman Jenkins, Ann Jenkins, Joseph Leggett, Isabelle Leggett, Nirum Lamphear, Sophia Lamphear, John Lyons, Lydia Matthewson, Lizzie McDuffie, James Millspaugh, Elizabeth Millspaugh, Anna Murray, Helen Payne, George N. Pierce, Mary Pierce, Martha Pennell, Emily Pembleton, Isabelle Putnam, Rebecca Raymong, Sarah Reeves, Frankie Rice, ____ Ross, Eliza Russell, Elizabeth Sawyer, Mary Sawyer, Fannie Sawyer, Lora Shepard, Charles Spaulding, Fred Spaulding, Charles Shipman, Helen Shipman, Rushton Smith, Nettie Slaughter, Markham Slaughter, Madeline Thomas, Fred Thomas, Fannie Thomas, Carried Tyler, Martha Tozer, Estella Whitaker, Richard Whitaker, William Whitaker, Addie Waldo, William Yates. ... One of the earliest exhibits is the first circular of Shepard Institute, A. J. Lang, principal, when it was a "paid school." Arthur Yates was president; and G. H. Fairchild, secretary, and the trustees were Owne Spaulding, A. Jarvis, R. D. VanDuzer, F. H. Baldwin, B. G. Rice and R. A. Elmer, Wm. Manners and Isaac Shepard. The circular was issued in 1857. .. (Nettie is Antonette Slaughter,Dewitt and Caroline Slaughter's daughter,Samuel Slaughter's sister).

August 20, 1909 Waverly Free Press: Waverly's Reliable Water Works. Twenty-Nine Years Since the Work on the Project was Commenced. One of Waverly's best friends was 29 years old Thursday of last week. It was the Waverly Water Works reservoir. Just twenty-nine years ago that date President Theodore J. Sawyer, of the Board of Directors, struck the first blow that began the clearing up of the glen for the reservoir and immediatley a large gang of men took up the work. In all this time the reservoir has never failed its patrons but three times, when, as last year, an extreme drought has necessitated using river water. At present, in spite of one of the worst droughts this section has ever known, the water in the lower reservoir is but three feet below the high-water mark, although probably 50,000 gallons are used each day for street sprinkling alone. The upper reservoir is nearly exhausted. President Sawyer said last week that it was very probable that this fall the upper dam would be enlarged so as to give the reservoir a greater holding capacity and that it would then be able to supply a population of 10,000 all through the year. Financially, this new work is not looked upon as a paying investment, but the Water Company wants to live up to its intention of supplying Waverly with pure water all the year around. In connection with the Water Works Co. it is pleasant to note that of the original seven stockholders all but two are still living. S. W. Slaughter and George W. Fish, being the only two to have died.

August 27, 1909 "Waverly Free Press": WAVERLY BOY HORRIBLY BURNED Playing Fireman and His Waist Set on Fire by Gasolene He Threw on a Fire. At about 10 a.m. Wednesday forenoon, Henry Evans, 13 years old, the only son of Mr. and Mrs. Gabriel W. Evans, of No. 7 Athens street, this village, was so terribly burned that the physicians, as well as the attendants at the Packer Hospital, to which he was taken at once, have little, if any hopes of his recovery. The boy, with two younger boys, Theodore and Kenneth Hovey, sons of Eugene Hovey of Howard street, were playing "fire company" in the back yard at the Evans home, the fire engine consisting of a tub of water mounted on a little express wagon, to which a piece of hose was attached. To make the fire more real, some papers were placed in a pail and set on fire. This they said was a "hotel on fire." To Make more of a blaze, young Evans procured, in a small open can, a small quantity of gasoline. In pouring this on the blaze, that in the can took fire. The boy then whirled around with the can and drops of the burning fluid flew out, one of them on his back. He had, on the upper part of his body, only a gauze undershirt and a thin cotton blouse. Instead of running into his own home, only a few feet away, the boy ran across the street, into the front door of the house of Charles C. Murray. The boys with him say that when he started there was only a little blaze on his blouse, but when he reached the Murray home, some six or eight rods away, the clothing was burned from almost his entire back, with the blaze reaching around under his left arm also. At the Murray home he ran through into the kitchen, with Mrs. Murray and her sister, Miss Charlotte Hosmer following. Mrs. Murray, as she ran, grabbed her son's coat from a rack, wrapping it around the boy and Miss Homer grabbed a towel which she used in the same way. Though the boy was jumping and running, in a frenzy of pain, they soon extinguished the flames. By this time the mother reached the boy and the father was summoned from Thompson & Price's mill, Sayre, where he is employed, and Drs. Carpenter and Betowski were called and before eleven o'clock the boy, attended by Dr. Betowski, was started in Geo. Miller's auto, for the hospital. The physicians say the skin (continued on page twelve.) {The octagon house was at 7 Athens St. at this time. This property was part of the Slaughter property (208 Chemung street) until 1945 when all the property was sold to Mary Fralick, who in turn sold the then empty lot at 7 Athens street to Mary Alamo who had the current home built.} See article below under July 22, 1910 for follow up article on this boy. {The home across the street that Henry ran into was at 6 Athens street, the home of Charles C. Murray, a sign painter with Salisbury & Murray on the corner of Fulton and Elizabeth street.}

Boy Horribly Burned. (Continued from First Page.) was off and the flesh blackened and wrinkled over the entire surface of the boy's back, from his shoulders to his waist, and also extending around under the left arm. As the clothing was taken off large pieces of skin peeled off, where it had not already been burned to a crisp. It is not thought the boy inhaled any of the flames, but with the shock and such a terrible sore as this, his recovery is considered very doubtful. He has since been resting as comfortably as possible, but the area of the burn is so extensive that it is thought he has little chance of recovery.

September 10, 1909 "Waverly Free Press": It Costs Money to Paint. It costs more if you don't. Your house wears out if not painted. Then it costs money to repair it and money to paint it. It don't cost much money to paint with the L & M Paint, because 4 gallons of the L & M , and 3 gallons of Linseed Oil makes 7 gallons of ready-for-use paint at only $1.20 per gallon. Thirty-five years use in every part of the United States has proven it. Sold by E. G. Tracy, Waverly.

Mrs. Haggerty and Miss Florence Mapes, of Goshen, N.Y., have been spending a few days with Mrs. S. W. Slaughter, Chemung street.

Mrs. S. W. Slaughter and daughter, Gertrude, have returned from a summer's outing spent near Port Jervis, N.Y., and a trip to Chicago, Ill.

September 17, 1909 The Waverly Free Press: Little Henry Evans, who was so badly burned several weeks ago, is improving so rapidly at the Packer hospital, that the physicians will begin skin grafting this week, and there are now hopes of his recovery.

October 8, 1909 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Twenty-Five Years Ago....Oct. 6, 1884. Work was commenced on the Waverly street sewer. ... Oct. 7, 1884. The roller skating rink was opened at Sayre.

October 11, 1909 The Binghamton Press: Mr. McGlenn Leaves Waverly. Waverly, Oct. 11 - George S McGlenn of G. S. McGlenn & Co., clothiers and furnishers, 307 Broad street has moved to Elmira, and Aden H. Roberts, formerly residing on Tioga street, has moved to the house, 209 Chemung street, vacated by Mr. McGlenn.

October 15, 1909 "Waverly Free Press": Still in Bad Shape. Henry Evans, the young lad who was so badly burned several weeks ago, was brought from the Packer hospital to his home on Athens street, Sunday. His vitality has been so low that the skin grafting did not prove as successful as was hoped and he still suffers much pain. His father, who has been ill since sacrificing the skin for the operation, is somewhat better, but is still confined to his bed.

Carpenters are building a new porch by No. 426 Park avenue, owned by Mrs. Charles Kellogg, of Athens and occupied by Fred B. Appleget. The house will be repainted as soon as the repairs are completed.

Walter Hull Post is making decided improvements in the appearance of their plot at Glenwood cemetery. a committee consisting of Capt. S. D. Barnum, J. F. Shoemaker and Fred Morgan, have charge of the work, which thus far has consisted in remounting the cannon on an embrasure of masonry and the making of a large flower bed in the centre of the lot which will be filled with flowers early in the spring and re-filled as the season advances.

The F. E. Hawkes residence at the corner of Pennsylvania avenue and Park Place, is being repainted.

Played Ball Here. “Wild Bill” Donovan, the “hero” of the great game of Saturday in the world’s championship series, who is conceded to have won the game for Detroit by his pitching, is well known to many an old Waverly “fan.” Donovan played on the Waverly team about fourteen years ago, at a salary of $18 per week. He was Philadelphia boy and was secured from the Sunbury, Pa., team, by Manager Towner for a few weeks.

G. S. McGlenn, who has occupied the Mahoney house on Chemung St., for several years, is moving to Elmira. He will still conduct his store here, but makes the change that he may devote more time to his Elmira business. (Referring to 209 Chemung St.)

October 22, 1909 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Polyhymnia Club.The first meeting of the Polyhymnia Club was held at the home of Mrs. Edward Sebring, Chemung and Athens streets, last week Thursday. ... (300 Chemung St.)

November 26, 1909 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Pierce-Baker. A pretty wedding took place at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Oliver A. Baker, 427 Pennsylvania avenue, at seven Monday evening, when their daughter, Miss Carrie M. Baker, was united in marriage to Franklin A. Pierce. The ceremony was performed by the Rev. Peter R. Ross, being his last marriage as pastor of the Waverly Presbyterian church, and was witnessed by immediate relatives of the contracting parties. At three o'clock this morning the young couple left on the Lehigh for a trip to Buffalo and Niagara Falls. Both the young people are well known here and have many friends in the Valley. The bride was a member of the class of 1908 of the Waverly High School, a member of the Delta Theta Delta and one of the editors of the school paper. Mr. Pierce is a son of Mr. and Mrs. A. E. Pierce, of No. 30 Orange street. He also is a graduate of the Waverly High School, and while there was editor of the "Owlet" and a member of the Sigma Delta fraternity. He was formerly and employe of the Lehigh Valley Railroad in the Sayre and Wilkes-Barre offices, and is now connected with the S. Mills Ely Company of this place. (friends of Gertrude Slaughter)

December 10, 1909 The Waverly Free Press and Tioga County Record: WANT TO ABANDON LINE - W. S. & A. Co. Makes Application to Commision to Abandon Chemung Street. The residents of Chemung street and, in fact, of all Waverly will be surprised to learn that the W. S. & A. again proposes to abandon the Chemung street line. ... locating General Manager J. P. E. Clark, of Binghamton... He said; "Our position in relation to the proposed abandonment of our franchise on Chemung street is that it is unnecessary and expensive operation, the territory being adequately served by the Clinton avenue and Broad street lines. The Chemung street track simply paralleling both, we believe it to the interest of the general public and the Street Railway Co. as well to devote the money expended in the operation of the Chemung street cars, to the improvement of the general service. Furthermore, we believe that Chemung street a fine residential thoroughfare, will be relieved of a burden in the removal of the Street Railway track therefrom. ... One straw, however, that may indicate slightly how the wind will blow is the fact that at a recent meeting of Chemung street residents in the paving matter, a vote was taken on this same question, and all but a few were heartily opposed to the removal of the trolley line from Chemung street.

The Waverly Merchants' Association has now completed its plans and advertising matter is being sent out informing the people for at least fifteen miles on all sides of Waverly that the opening celebration for Waverly's Holiday Carnival and Trade Month will be held on Thursday evening of next week, beginning promptly at eight o'clock. The great feature of the celebration will be the parade in which will be included all of Waverly's fire companies, in uniform, with their apparatus, including Tioga Hose Company's new cart; a procession of banners, mottoes and illuminated signs, in which it is hoped every store and business house in Waverly will be represented; and extensive parade of fantastics, to be arranged under the direction of the Waverly High School Athletic Association; a line of automobiles suitably decorated, and last, but by no means least, Santa Claus, in full dress, is to appear in his new automobile, and from it, along the line of the parade, he will distribute to the children hundreds of Christmas horns, with hundreds of bags of candy, bushels of confetti, etc. The parade is to be led by Kramm's Band of twenty pieces and it is to be given amid a blaze of fireworks and red fire that will eclipse any Fourth of July celebration this Valley has seen in years. The fireworks and red fire, in addition to the brilliant and beautiful electrical display on Broad street, will make a scene the equal of which this section never saw. At the meeting Monday advertising plans were enlarged upon somewhat, but the one important feature decided upon was to provide free stabling for the teams of those driving into Waverly during the time. At the Clark Street Livery barns fifty hitching stalls have been rented from Dec. 10 to 25 and, with men in attendance, these will be absolutely free during that time to any and all who may care to use them, either day or night. These stalls, with the free waiting room with its check room, free telephones to any part of the Valley, and every convenience for those desiring to rest or wait for teams, trains or trolley cars, leaves little to be added in the way of a municipal welcome to those living outside who desire to come here to trade or to view the displays of goods and the street decorations. The entertainment committe of the Association, of which Wm. Bouton is the chairman, his place now being taken by E. C. Tracey, have arranged a program for this entertainment such as is seldom seen in the evening, but one which, with the brilliant illumination on Broad street, can be carried out there in the evening as well as in the day time. In fact the illumination design will give the whole a stage effect not to be obtained in any like daylight celebration. The details of the plans as outlined above are being worked out by the committee in a way that will make it by far the biggest thing of the kind ever seen in this part of the country, with plenty of amusement for all and of great interest to the children. With the stores all open, the new waiting room to provide a place of rest, and free stabling provided for the horses, no doubt a great many people will drive in to see the parade, the fireworks and the fun, while the railway trains and the trolleys will bring a still larger number. Aside from all this work of the merchants and business men as an Association, each individual merchant is doing his best, not only to welcome those from outside Waverly, but to make it really worth their while to some here to trade. In all lines the stocks are complete, with prices fixed to meet any competition, and on all sides stores are being trimmed and windows decorated in a manner never before seen in Waverly.

December 17, 1909 The Waverly Free Press and Tioga County Record: RESIDENTS WILL FIGHT MOVE - To Abandon the Chemung Street Trolley Line. Practically Unanimous Against it. -PROBABLY THE LINE DOES NOT PAY - But Citizens will Put up the Strong Argument That the System as a Whole Should be Considered.
The Chemung street trolley and its possible abandonment has been the chief topic in Waverly for the past week and all sorts of predictions, theories, projects, statistics, statements and conjectures are in the air. As usual some of them are correct. Up to the present writing there seems to be no doubt that the removal of the line will be strenuously opposed by the village, especially by the residents of Chemung street. Already Capt. Chas. L. Albertson is out with a petition remonstrating against the proposition and he says he has so far met no Chemung street property owner who is not earnestly in favor of keeping the line in operation.
No one, however, contends that the line pays. That it does not is looked upon as self-evident from the fact that the W. S. & A. wants to discontinue it. Superintendent Case himself said last week that he would only be too glad to see the branch continued if it could be made to pay and if a proper guarantee could be given that it could be made profitable there would be no appeal to the Public Service Commission. The line, he admitted, was a great convenience to people when they wanted to use it and in a storm or when a big party was on it was well patronized. Generally, however, people walked and twenty-five passengers a day were not enough to enable a company to operate a line. Chemung street residents, however, argue that profits should be figured on the whole line of the W. S. & A., and not on any particular line, or part of it. They say, for instance, that probably the waiting room does not "pay," but that is no reason why the Company has a right to close it. They hold, moreover, that the franchise was granted on certain conditions and that it becomes void if these conditions are not fulfilled. That the Chemung's street line be operated was, they claim, one of these conditions and part of the payment made for the franchise as much as the laying of certain parts of the pavement in the streets. Whether or not the branch paid was not, they claim, taken into consideration, and they hope from former decisions of the Commission in regard to branch railroads, apparently upholding this view, that their contention will be sustained.
Few, even of those most interested, have a very clear idea of the actual wording of the franchise to which they refer and fewer still remember that the clauses to which they refer were not really in the franchise granted to the W. S. & A at all. The original franchise was granted to the Susquehanna Valley Electric Traction Co., and the first pertinent clause states that "upon the terms and conditions hereinafter stated, and which are hereby made a part of this consent, consent is hereby given to the Susquehanna Valley Electric Traction Company, to build, maintain and operate a street surface railroad along and upon the following streets and avenues: Beginning at the State line between the State of New York and Pennsylvania, on the old Milltown road, or Cayuta avenue to Broad street, thence along and through Broad street to Chemung street; thence along and through Chemung street to Ithaca street to the Philadelphia and Reading Railroad depot, or to a point near there and thence along and through Cayuta avenue to Broad street, and also to construct such switches and turnouts as may be necessary for the convenient and useful working of the street railroad for the term designated in the certificater of incorporation of said company, this consent is given upon the following terms and conditions." Then follow the conditions, the one under discussion being as follows: 6th. The said company shall every day at reasonable hours furnish the citizens of Waverly with safe transportation to and from the termianl points; on all week days service shall be supplied each hour not later than 6:15 a.m. and shall continue to an hour not earlier than 10 p.m." This franchise was granted Jan. 14th. In 1905, after the Susquehanna was merged with the W. S. & A. an- (Continued on Last Page.)

Residents Will Fight. (Continued from First Page.) other franchise was granted to the matter, permitting it to lay track on certain new streets, the privelges and conditions of the Susquehanna franchise not being repeated, as they were held to go over to the new company. the two clauses, therefore, which are the main argument of the citizens govern the W., S. & A. - what the clauses amount to remains to be seen. Briefly stated, the W., S. & A. contends that it is absurd to ask a company to run a line that does not pay; the Chemung street residents say they are bound to operate the line as a part of the conditions under which the franchise was given. Each side has a very fair argument. The trolley people also claim that, even without the Chemung street line, Waverly would have a far better service than most towns of its size or even larger, all of which is very true. The citizens claim that the abandonment of the road is proposed to avoid the expense to the company if Chemung street is paved. The company replies that this is not true and urges as proof that the abandonment was proposed three years ago, when the paving was not thought of. The company looks to the Commission to relieve it of a financial loss; the citizens say that no outside power on earth can make old a contract. This seems to be about the status of the argument at present writing. But, if nothing else is settled, it is pretty certain that the Chemung street problem will create an interest that will make the Broad street connection scrap look like a peace contention. The Board of Trustees have put themselves on record as opposed to the abandonmnet of the Chemung street trolley line by the W., S. & A. and at the meeting here on Dec. 20th, will present the following resolution to the Public Service Commission: "Resolved, That the interests of the Village of Waverly require that the street car line from William street to Broad street on Chemung street be operated according to the terms of the franchise heretofore granted to the Susquehanna Valley Traction Co. and now controlled by the W., S. & A. Traction Company. "Resolved, That it is the sense of the Board that the abandonment of the Chemung street line as proposed would be a violation of the terms of the franchise heretofore granted under which the W., S. & A. Traction Company is now operating its line on Broad street and Cayuta avenue as well as upon Chemung street. "Resolved, That the President be authorized and directed to appear by attorney in opposition to the petitioning of the W., S. & A. Traction Co. for the abandonment of its Chemung street line in this village, and be it further Resolved, That a certified copy of this resolution be presented to the Public Service Commission for the Secretary's disposal at the hearing appointed to be held on the 20th day of December, 1909."

December 24, 1909 Waverly Free Press: Mrs. S. W. Slaughter of Chemung street, has gone to New York City, where she will meet her daughter, Miss Gertrude, and later both will go to Goshen for Christmas.

Chemung St. Trolley Line. Hearing of the Public Service Commission Largely Attended by Interested Citizens. Proof Offered That Line Does Not Pay. Residents Oppose on Ground That the Figures Should be Given Based on Whole System Earnings. The opening of the hearing on the question of the abandonment of the Chemung street trolley line by the W. S. & A., before the Public Service Commission began in the Village Hall Monday morning. Public Service Commissioner Martin S. Decker presided, being the only member present. The W. S. & A. was represented by Attorney F. E. Hawkes in consultation with Attorney Keenan, of the firm of Curtis' Keenan and Tuttle of Binghamton. Other representatives of the W. S. & A. present were President G.Tracey Rogers, General and Manager J. P. E. Clark of Binghamton and Superintendent W. E. Case of Waveriy. Village Attorney F. A. Bell appears in opposition to the petition in behalf of the Board of Trustees and the Chemung Street Association of which he is also secretary. Attorney Hawkes opened the case by detailing the lines of the four branches of the W. S. & A.—the line to Sayre, the line to Athens and the Clinton avenue and Chemung street lines. He Stated that the company would prove that the Chemung street line does not pay and that it is substantially parallel with the Clinton avenue and Broad street lines which can be easily reached by a short walk by any resident of Chemung street. Attorney Bell raised the technical point that there had not been a substantial compliance with the statutes on the part of the W. S. & A. on account of the fact that no new declaration of abandonment had been made since the original one in September, 1906, Attorney Hawkes said that this was a point that could be raised only by the stockholders, and that Secretary Kennedy, of the Commission had advised them that no further action was necessary and that the Company could proceed under the old declaration of abandonment, even although the previous petition had been withdrawn. Proof of publication of notice of hearing was filed by Attorney Hawkes. Attorney Bell in stating his case announced that, he had not had time to prepare a formal answer to the petition, and was advised by Commissioner Decker that he could file it later. He then stated that the contention of his clients was that the franchise, originally granted to the Susquehanna Traction Co., and now held by the W. S. & A. permitted the laying of tracks on the principal business streets of the village on condition that cars be run also in certain residential sections. Now the company wants to abandon the latter line on the grounds that this line alone does not pay. Second, he would prove that the residents of Chemung street are opposed to the proposed abandonment. Third, he would prove that the line is not only a convenience but a necessity, especially to the churches, of which two are on the line and three more close to it. Also he proposed to prove that certain business interests would be seriously affected, that the line was valuable as effecting rental values, and that this movement of the company was not caused by the present expense but by the desire to escape the cost of contemplated paving. He stated that the proposition to abandon the line three years ago came just after the question of paving Chemung street had been discussed and preliminary action taken, just as at present. The first witness sworn by the W. S. & A. was Nathan F. Walker, civil engineer who identified the company's maps and gave various distances. He statcd that the distance from Broad to William street is 5100 feet; from William to Pine, 4.350 feet; from William to the West End school, 4,800; and that there are 105 residences and two churches between William and Broad street. Warren S. Case, superintendent of the W. S. & A. was next sworn. He stated that he kept accurate accounts of the mileage, receipts operating expenses, etc. of the various lines. In 1906, the application for abandonment was dropped at the request of the residents, and the officials tried to (Continued on Last Page.)

The Trolley Hearing (Contiued from First Page.) ... the total receipts from the Chemung St. line in 1908 were $3,707.35 and the operating expenses were $6,258,75. In 1909 the receipts were $3,303.30 and the expenses were $5,762.65. This , he stated, does not include general expenses, such as officers salaries and office expenditures, but simply the maintenance and running the line. ... Superintendent Case testified ...He stated that the total trackage was a fraction over twelve miles and the total daily mileage was over 1,300; that from July, 1906, to November, 1909, the company had spent $74,350.53 in improvements and equipment on the entire system. ... A list kept on Sunday, December 12, showed a total of 14 passengers getting on and 13 getting off at the Catholic and Methodist churches. The total loss on the road for the year ending June 30th, 1909, was $2,459.35. ... All fish plates on the Chemung line had been replaced two years ago and last year 55 ties were laid there. ...If the State road were run through Chemung street, with the trolley tracks there, it would probably be necessary to cut down many trees and in some cases to change sidewalks. Improved roads, macadam or brick, were more expensive to maintain when there were trolley tracks....The Commissioners, however, will not build of vitified brick unless the street is 32 feet in width. This would be impossible almost anywhere on Chemung street. ...Captain C. L. Albertson, of 403 Chemung street, testified that at a meeting of Chemung residents about six weeks ago a vote was taken and the sentiment was almost unanimous against the abandonment of the line.... H. G. Merriam, of Park avenue, testified that he had some 50 tenants in the village and found it much easier to rent property near the car line than away from it. He knew that the Chemung street cars were much used and patronized them almost daily himself. ... W. C. Buck, Chemung street, testified that he patronized the cars extensively and would not have moved to Chemung street had there been no car line there. ... J. T. Sawyer, banker, swore that he used the cars about three times a day and frequently at night. Capt. Mills, of Chemung street, testified that the line increased rental and real estate values.... J. T. Tucker, President of the Village, testified to the general use of the line and its benefit to Chemung street property. He, however, had used the line very little. ...If further testimony is to be submitted it will be heard at Owego on Jan.10th. ...

December 24, 1909 Waverly Free Press: One of the handsomest electric signs in the Valley is the new one in front of the N. P. L. buildings. It is composed of red and white bulbs and displays a star and the figure "5" in a circle.

With good sleighing forty miles north of here, the streets of Waverly, which are frozen hard, have for some days been more dusty than at any time last summer. During the summer the streets in nearly all parts of the village were sprinkled, several times a day, while now what dust there is is allowed to fly, and on many streets the passage of a street car or wagon has this week raised a cloud of it.

1910 census: at 5 Athens street (home still covering current day 3 and 5 Athens street) Eunice Hubbard, widowed with son Ray Hubbard. At 7 Athens st. Thomas Brown with wife Millie and daughter, Ruth. 9 Athens, carriage house. At 4 Athens st. George and Eunice Page. At 6 Athens st. Chas. and Rosa Brink with son, Burton and daughter, Allie and grandson, Howard Blair. Renting at 8 Athens st. was E. H. and Ida Swain (maiden name was Hemstreet) with daughter, Effie and son, Lester and Chas.

1910 census: A. J. VanAtta, 81 yrs, and his wife, Corlista, 81 yrs. were living at 441 Pennsylvania Avenue, Waverly, NY along with Ruth Davneport,63 yrs. their servant.VanAtta was listed as superintendant of the Water Works.

January 19, 1910 Elmira Star Gazette: Wealthy Citizen Dies In Athens. Nathaniel C. Harris Succumbs To Pneumonia During Night-Was Ninety Years Old and Long Prominent in Valley. Athens, Jan. 19. - Nathaniel C. Harris, aged ninety years, one of the richest and most influential men of Athens, died at his home on Main street at 11 o’clock last night of pneumonia. Mr. Harris was a resident of Athens nearly all his life and had been identified in the business and social life of this place for many years. He was formerly president of the Athens Bank and at the time of his death was president of the Athens Furniture Company. He was the owner of much real estate, among which is the Snyder Hotel, one of the finest buildings in Waverly. Mr. Harris is survived by three children: Frank Kirby Harris of Athens, Mrs. Minor of Jackson, Mich., and Miss Katherine at home.

January 21, 1910 The Waverly Free Press: Poultry Show Big Success. Howling, is not the proper word, but the first exhibit of the Waverly Poultry and Pet Stock Association is a success - a cackling, crowing success. Not only is the number of exhibits large, but they are remarkably find and embrace a big variety of birds. ... Waverly exhibitors, being most numerous, naturally fared well in the distribution of prizes, but Judge Alden showed no favoritism, and nearly every town that sent birds carried off a ribbon. The awards were as follows: ...R. C. Brown Leghorns - L. K. Hoagland, first cockerel, second pen. Geo. Knapp, first pen. ... The Assn. officers are C. A. Neaves, president; J. W. Start, vice president, and D. P. North, secretary and treasurer. The executive committee consists of A. R. Whitley, Harry Tozer and J. N. Hoyt.

Gutherie Will Open Hospital. Dr. Donald Gutherie, recently appointed surgeon-in-chief of Packer hospital, came to Sayre last Thursday and then immediately returned to his home at Wilkes-Barre. He had been taken suddenly ill. When he reached Towanda his condition was such that he was obliged to leave the train and go to the Ward House, where medical aid was summoned. Later reports from Towanda stated that while his condition is not serious, it would be several days before he is able to come to Sayre and assume charge of the institution. He is suffering from a bad case of tonsilitis. At six o'clock Saturday evening, Dr. Russell B. Lynn, who has been in charge of the Packer Hospital ever since the illness of the late Dr. C. H. Ott began, nearly a year ago, severed his connection with that institution and turned the reins over to Dr. Molineux and left for New York to resume special duty of the eye. During the week Dr. Molineaux, who had been selected as the permanent assistant to Dr. Gutherie, has been in Sayre and taken charge of the hospital. ...

January 24, 1910 The Evening Gazette, Port Jervis, NY: Mrs. J. M. Haggerty, of Goshen, N. Y., and Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter of Waverly, N. Y., are the guests of Mrs. John D. Swinton, Jr., on Sullivan Avenue. (John D. Swinton, Jr. was a wealthy hardware merchant in Port Jervis){Charlotte's sister, Mary Frances Wells married Lewis E. Coleman, whom their daughter, Frances Louise Coleman married James Mapes Haggerty. So, Mrs. J. M. Haggerty would be Charlotte's niece.}

January 28, 1910 The Waverly Free Press: First Gun of the Campaign. The first woman's suffrage meeting, for Waverly, under the new movement in this state, was held at the Masonic Temple Wednesday night under the "near auspices" of the eight women's clubs and organizations of the Valley - for none dared stand squarely as sponsor for the suffrage idea. The meeting was very well attended, some 250 perhaps being present, with a very fair representation of men. Rev. Geo. E. Briggs was the only person who appeared conspicuously in an introductory capacity and he introduced the speakers in his usual happy manner. The first speaker was Dr. Burton Aylesworth of Colorado, one of the members of the national board of Women's Suffrage. He was not a fluent speaker, but was very evidently in earnest and his talk consisted mostly of interesting facts regarding the workings of the system of suffrage for women as it has been in operation in his state for sixteen years. Some of the principal points brought out are as follows: Women do vote when they have the chance. The woman vote ranges from 43 to 52 per cent of the total, and the largest per cent comes from the best districts and not from the city slums, where the percentage is lowest. Colorado Springs, the home of the aristocracy, the "Athens" of the state, casts the heaviest woman's vote. It has proven perfectly easy and safe. Nobody laughs or thinks it any more strange for husband and wife to go to the polls together than they do here when they go to church together. The conditions surrounding the casting of the vote have been greatly improved. In a great many instances the polling places are now in church lecture rooms. Though women cast half the vote there are 40,000 more men than women in the state. The ratio of the female vote is steadily increasing. There are two arguments advanced against woman's suffrage: One that it will result in family quarrels and breaking up of the home; the other that it would not change the result, as the women would vote as do the men of the family. Each argument refutes the other. There has not been a single record in the state of divorce asked for resulting from voting differences. As a matter of fact, women do generally vote as their husbands do, but with this difference: It has been shown in many instances, when a close moral issue is at stake, when a bad man is nominated, the women will not follow the men voters. They swing the balance of power, and in every instance it has been for the moral issue. Woman's suffrage was given because it became the despair of good men to enforce reforms. Two-fifths of the men can be depended upon for the good cause and three-fifths of the women and that constitutes the majority. A striking example is offered in the women's support of that great moral hero Judge Lindsey, whose work has become world famous and which marks a new era of society's dealings with a certain class of weaklings we have called "criminals." Lindsey has only been able to do his work by the support of women's votes. The story of how the machines of both parties have united to put him completely out of the way time and again is familiar. Last year both refused to nominate him or allow him to speak in convention. The women nominated him independently and he got more votes than the combined vote of his two opponents. The legislative leaders listen carefully to the demands of the women, for they know that the women hold the balance of power to defeat them. The leaders ask the representatives of the organized women's clubs what they want and they get it. In 16 years there has never been even a change made that women were concerned in working any deal of graft in legislative matters. Twenty-eight advanced laws have been passed for which women are directly responsible - all of them humane laws, relating to the home, the children and labot conditions - and few of these would have been possible had not women had the ballot. The women do not seem to be eager for office. Very few hold office and those only where great demand has been made upon them. One woman was forced to take the office at the head of all schools of the state for six years. She saved the state untold millions by steadily blocking a scheme of corporations to buy school lands cheap on which they knew were valuable coal deposits. A great deal is now being said of the white slave trade. The men of the nation and many states are now struggling with it. By women's votes Colorado settled it last year without any great fuss. The cadet system is admitted absolutely killed and train loads of these vile creatures left the state, many of them coming to this state.

Miss Harriet M. Mills of Syracuse, a vice-president and organizer of the State organization, was the next speaker. She is a very bright woman, a very fluent and positive speaker, who held the undivided interest of her audience. She is witty and had her hearers laughing continually at her clever points and keen sarcasm. She said she had opinions and of that there was no doubt, and she knew how to express them. Miss Mills said that the suffragettes simply demanded the privilege of expressing their opinion, in the only way it could really count, by the ballot, in the management of the government and the regulation of laws which they were compelled to obey and in the expenditure of funds for which they were taxed. They do not claim that all women should vote. Those who don't want to are not fit to vote, as they don't know enought to yet. But some women are as fit to vote as some men, and any man who is 21 years of age, is not an idiot and can keep out of prison or out of a lunatic asylum can vote. An educational qualification might be fairer. But then many more women in this state could read their ballot than men. A great many more are going to college, so that they might be more fitted to think and act intelligently on great questions of state. If there was a morality qualification, the fact can be cited that women commit but 5.5 per cent of the crime. The argument has been advanced that women should not vote because they could not meet the supreme national test - to take up arms in defense of country. Miss Mills thought she herself could, if necessary, put up as good a fight as "Old Doctor Abbott" or "Old Doctor Parkhurst" who make this argument, but that fact is that never in the world's history has this been made the voting qualification. Abbott also says them don't need the "protection" of the ballot, because every woman is protected by some man. There are 40,000 more women in the state then men. There are 750,000 who are self-supporting, (and that with calling all the millions of those who do their share in keeping the home as dependents) and thousands of these women not only support themselves but their "protectors." The women have "influence" to secure good laws and laws to give them just rights, it is true, but without the ballot it takes so long. It took 55 years in Massachusetts to make the mother joint guardian with the father of her own children. In Colorado it was done in one year. Miss Mills ended by stating that the women would go to Albany this year once again to demand the ballot and again they would got to Washington to ask Congress to amend the constitution to allow women to vote just as they did allow the negro - and she believed the women were as fit to vote as were or are today the negroes. She said the object of these meetings was to get people to thinking and talking of the woman's suffrage movement and if they believed in it to let their representatives know it; know that there were many who favored it.

Questions were called for. One person stated that the argument had been advanced that woman's suffrage would not work for good in this state as in Colorado owing to the differences in population; with our large cities with a great ignorant foreign element. Dr. Aylesworth answered that of his own experience and those of others working in the New York slums, he was convinced that the change there would be for the good, for the greater elements of good, of better vision and higher ideals were held among the younger women of the foreign element than among the young men.

The question was asked if women sit on juries in Colorado and if not, why not. They can, but do very seldom. The custom has simply not been inaugurated. They are simply excused, as certain classes of men and professions are excused in this state. Probably they soon will begin to serve as jurors. In Kansas they have in some places frequently served and it is a fact that the women seem to be harder on malefactors than men.

At this meeting the women did not have the "last word." As the meeting closed some man asked: "Could you ever find enough women who had reached the voting age to cast any appreciable number of ballots?"

February 4, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Lockwood. Henry Spear and family of Elmira, who bought a farm of Lockwood, will move on the farm March 1st. Mr. West's people, who have been living on the farm, will move to North Waverly.

Suffrage has a "Chance." The several different representatives of the women's suffrage movement have opened their campaign for the passage of their constitutional amendment giving them the right to vote. Their measure has already been introduced in the senate by Henry W. Hill of Buffalo, chairman of the senate finance committee. It will be introduced in the assembly on Monday by a member from New York city. This member states that the bill will have much more support than it received a year ago and that at the present moment there are at least fifty votes pledged for the bill in the lower house. Last year there was no vote on the measure on the floor of either the senate or the assembly. It was voted on in the assembly committee on judiciary and received but two votes out of thirteen. The two men who voted for the sufragist measure on the committee were Fowler of Ulster county an Hamn of Wayne county. Fowler has returned this year but Mr. Hamn was not renominated. Several votes are required to report out the bill. Committee Has Changed. The makeup of the judiciary committee in the assembly, to which the bill will again be referred, is radically different from that of last year and this is one point that the suffragists consider to be in their favor. There are five new men on this committee and there is reason to believe that they will be more favorable to the suffragist movement than the men they have replaced. Jesse Phillips of Allegany county is again chairman of the committee, and he is on record as an uncompromising opponent of the suffrage cause. Whether or not he will be able to control the committee on the issue this year is, however, and open question, owing to the new members thereon.

February 18, 1910 Waverly Free Press: Married Sixty Years. Mr. and Mrs. A. J. VanAtta, of Pennsylvania avenue, the parents of John and Clare VanAtta, celebrated the 60th anniversary of their marriage last Saturday. Mr. VanAtta, who is one of our best known citizens, and has been associated with the Waverly Water Works Co., since its organization, was born at Barton 82 years ago. His wife is 81 years of age and is a native of Candor. Their host of friends here and elsewhere will extend congratulations to the venerable people on this occasion and wish them many happy returns of the day.

The sixtieth anniversary of the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. A. J. VanAtta was informally, but pleasantly celebrated on Saturday. Many friends called during the day and offered their congratulations and the venerable couple were the recipients of many small tokens of the high esteem in which they are held. Mr. VanAtta is eighty-two years of age and his wife but a year younger, but both were in excellent health and fine spirits as they received their callers.

March 18, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Eggs for hatching from the Crawford strain of Rose Comb Brown Leghorns. These birds took first prize at the Waverly Poultry Show. 57c per setting. Geo. B. Knapp, Valley Phone 568Y

March 25, 1910 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Mrs. Coleman of Goshen is the guest of her sister, Mrs. S. W. Slaughter of Chemung street.

The well known contracting firm of Corneby & Harris have begun work on what is known as the Mead house, 110 Providence street. The rear portion of the building is being torn down and the porch removed and the building is to be moved to one side of the large lot, and it is to be built over into a six-room house. On the other side of the lot A. D. Harris of the contracting firm mentioned is to erect for himself a large residence, modern and complete in all its appointments. The change will make a decided improvement to Providence street.

Extensive changes also will be made in the house of Mrs. Chas. Lane, corner of Chemung and Lincoln street. The work is being done by Corneby & Harris and the house is to be practically rebuilt, making it an elegant, modern residence. An octagon corner, with cupola roof, is to be constructed, with a large porch. Large windows are to be placed in the front, with new windows throughout the house, while the interior is to be built over, with a new staircase, etc.

April 15, 1910 Waverly Free Press: Henry Evans, who is at the Ithaca City Hospital for treatment is gaining slowly. Thus far 147 pieces of skin have been grafted and some more will be used. He is contented and among the many things done for his amusement was an Easter post card shower given him by the members of a Baptist Sunday School class in that city.

George H. Grafft, one of Waverly's best known and most esteemed citizens, died at one o'clock yesterday afternoon at his home at 452 Cayuta avenue. Death was caused by kidney trouble, complicated with other diseases and occurred after only about a week's confinement to his bed, although the deceased had been more or less of an invalid for years. Mr. Grafft was 70 years of age and had been twice married, his second wife having died only a few years ago. He is survived by four daughter's, Mrs. Jennie Hathaway of Chicago, Mrs. Rose VanAtta of Waverly, Miss Anna Grafft, a teacher in the Waverly High School. Miss Margaret Grafft, a student in the Elmira Female College, and one son, Edwin Grafft, a student in Union College, at Schenectady. At the time of his death he was a justice of the peace and secretary of the Board of Education, both of which positions he had held for years. In his younger days he was one of Tioga Hose Company's most active members, and from 1882 to 1887, was its foreman. He was also for a time chief engineer of the Fire Department of the Village. Although a man of quiet habits and never seeking publicity, Mr. Grafft has always taken an important part in village affairs, especially in educational matters, and filled very ably many positions of trust and importance. Before his health failed he was associated with his brother-in-law, B. W. Bonnell in the flour and feed business and was known as one of Waverly's most prominent and respected merchants. He was a kind neighbor, a valuable citizen and a courteous and kindly gentleman and his death will be a distinct loss to Waverly and will be mourned by innumerable friends. The funeral will be held tomorrow at 2:00 p.m. (Friends of the Slaughter's)

Elmira newspaper: Waverly, N.Y., April 16.- George H. Grafft, one of Waverly's foremost citizens and a man known and respected throughout the southern tier, died at his home on Cayuta avenue Thursday of this week, aged seventy-two years. He had been in ill health for more than a year, but had been confined to the house for only about a week, with a complication of diseases. Mr. Grafft had lived nearly all his life in the town of Barton, coming from New York city with his parents when a boy and settling on a farm on Talmadge Hill. Upon his marriage when a young man he moved into the village, and in the years since then he was a prominent factor in the town's welfare and advancement. A Democrat in politics, he was elected a justice of the peace in this Republican town twenty-five years ago and he was continued in the office up to the time of his death - a splendid tribute to his fairness in the administration of justice and of the esteem in which he was held by his fellow citizens. For twenty-five years also he had served as a member of the board of education, and a large part of the credit for the high standing of the Waverly school system to-day is due to his influence. Mr. Grafft was active in various other affairs of the town, was a charter member of Tioga Hose company, No. 1, and served at one time as chief engineer of the fire department. He is survived by four daughters, Mrs. Jennie Hathaway, of Chicago; Miss Anna Grafft, a teacher in the Waverly grammar school; Mrs. Rose VanAtta, of Waverly, and Miss Margaret Grafft, a student in Elmira College; one son, Edwin Grafft, a student in Union College.

(Special to the Telegram) The funeral of George H. Grafft was held at the home on Cayuta avenue this afternoon and was largely attended. The Rev. P. R. Ross, of Hornell, until recently pastor of the Waverly Presbyterian church, officiated. The floral tributes were numerous and beautiful, among them being pieces from the Barton town board, the board of education, the teachers of the schools, and the senior class of the high school. Interment was made in Forest Home cemetery. The bearers were Frederick E. Lyford, Fred A. Sawyer, John C. VanAtta, Percy C. Meserve, A. I. Decker and Wilbur Finch. The honorary bearers were Dr. W. E. Johnson, J.T. Sawyer, A.A. Slawson, J. K. Murdoch, J. F. Shoemaker, Amasa Finch and H. G. Merriam. Most of the business places of the village were closed during the hour of the funeral.

April 15, 1910 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record - Mrs. James Wright of Laceyville, is the guest of her parents, Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Johnson of Chemung street (Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Johnson are the parents of Mrs. Wilbur A. Spraker, Gertrude and Charlotte Knapp's friend)

May 6, 1910 Waverly Free Press: OLD HOME WEEK AUG. 21ST- Committees Now Named and Everybody will Get to Work at Once. - PLENTY OF ENTHUSIAM IS DISPLAYED. - Send in the Names of all Former Residents. Waverly will Have the Biggest Time in its History. A meeting of Old Home Week committees was held in the Village Hall Tuesday night, while the attendance was not large on account of the threatening weather, there was plenty of enthusiasm and much important work was done. Capt. C. L. Albertson, chairman, presided and Miss Lilian Barnum acted as secretary. Captain Albertson announced that, after looking up the dates of the various fall fairs he had decided that Sunday, August 21st would be the best time for beginning Old Home Week and, after some discussion, the dates of August 21st to 25th inclusive were announced as those adopted. It is proposed to devote the first four days to "Old Home Week" celebrations, beginning with religious services on Sunday and ending with Old Institute day on Thursday. After deciding on the dates Captain Albertson announced the appointment of the following committees: Finance - Julius Sayles, Harry W. Knapp, Simon Zausmer, Charles Roe, M. W. Kennedy, Hon. J. T. Sawyer, Hon. Byram L. Winters, Wm. Bouton, Geo. H. Moore, J. D. Hoagland, John H. Murray, John Storms. Sunday Service - Rev. Robert L. Clark, Rev. Father Griffin, Rev. C. T. Raynor, Rev. Park Richards, John Johnson, Elbert Smith, Clifford Parshall, Ann Nichols, J. M. Slawson, T. C. Thorpe, W. K. Hart, A. Hemstreet, Jas Angell, Alva Quick, Dr. Nelson, A. B. Baldwin, N. W. Falsey, W. C. Farley, G. C. Higgins, Fred Grenell. Amusements - Fred B. Appleget, Wm. Bouton, Perey Weller, Dr. Snook, H. N. Daniell, E. A. Tilton, Harry Thatcher, Dr. Betowski, Edward Betowski. Schools - Percy Meserve, Dr. W. M. Hilton, Frank Munn, D. G. Stark. Grand Army - Wm. T. Harris, Fred Morgan, John Morgan, Mrs. John Morgan, Jennie Miller, S. D. Barnum, Benjamin Bonnell, J. F. Sheemaker, W. Gabiel Mullock. Parades - E. Barton Hall, Seward Baldwin, Edgar D. Sebring, Leon Snyder, Amos White, John Connoly, W. R. Weller, E. M. VanMarter, Harry Ellis, Geo. Baxter, Edward Snell, F. A. Bogaczynski, M. Enevolsen, Wm. Harris. Music - John Daly, Horace H. Kinney, Harold Watrous, Harvey Ingham, David O. Decker, John C. VanAtta, E. F. Perkins, Louise Lane Blackmore, and all members of the Polyhymnia Music Club. Advertising - Geo. D. Genung, G. E. Purple, Fred C. Simmons, Fred B. Appleget, Ray McEwen, Charles L. Albertson. Decorations - Fred C. Simmons, A. K. Gore, Ralph Bouton, Edward Eaten, Joseph Knapp, Dr. Thompson, Floyd Curran, Edward Rhodes, E. G. Whitley, Edward Beardslee, Wm. Turney, H. M. Ferguson, Matthew Bennett, A. J. Terry, Ora Harding, C. F. Chaffee, Fred Brown. Lighting - Simon Zausmer, M. A. Thompson, Sidney Ellis, W. E. Case, John Merkle, Wm. Rolfe, E. J. Neaves, W. W. Jones, F. S. Nicholson. Transportation - Wm. C. Buck, Jas. H. Smith, Monroe Lyford, W. E. Case, John Tozer, John W. Clark. Securing of Names and Reception - F. E. Lyford, H. G. Merriam, E. M. Letts, Herman Olney, F. A. Sawyer, F. W. Merriam, Hugh McDonald, Jas. Guyer, C. F. Spencer, Dr. Tucker, Wm. Swain, Hon. E. S. Hanford, Coe Mullock, E. D. Mixer, Lester Swain, L. J. Buley, W. E. Tew. A. M. Bouton, Walter Ware, Harry Baldwin, O. H. Lawrence, J. W. Knapp, Levi Curtis, G. E. Foote, Hon. F. A. Bell, W. H. Scofield, Fred Pilgrim, H. C. Bruster, Hon. F. L. Howard, Dr. Hart, C. M. Young, Dr. Carpenter, F. E. Hawkes, C. A. Jayne, I Prentice Shepard, Dr. Griswold, S. C. Hall, U. E. Harding, G. N. Pike, Dr. Annable, John Higgins, Wesley Brougham, Benj. Barnes, Dr. Spencer, Hon. A. I. Decker, W. H. Ballenstedt, John Shear, Willis Carey, Hon. Wm. F. Johnson, C. H. Larnard, Amasa Finch, Geo. W. Bingham, Capt. Mills, D. Clement, J. G. Heldleman, H. S. Lane, A. J. VanAtta, J. I. Ford, W. H. Mandeville, Hon. J. B. Floyd, Robert Shaw, J. F. Bingham, P. Nelson, Dr. R. S. Harnden, S. O. Shoemaker, Joe Hanna.

Send in Names. As we have before stated, the first work to be done by those planning for Old Home Week is the securing of a list of names, which shall, if possible, include that of every living person who ever resided in Waverly and vicinity. Capt. Chas. L. Albertson, at the head of the committee, is urging that all shall send in such names with full addresses. He says if more convenient for anyone, send or leave such names and addresses at the office of the Free Press-Record, from which they will reach the proper committed. In his talk here Hon, F. M. Baker stated that his greatest regret over the Old Home Week at Owego, was occasioned by the disappointment of a few old persons in various parts of the country who were former residents of Owego, but failed to receive an invitation. Send in at once all you can of names and addresses of former residents of Waverly and vicinity. Send them to Captain Albertson, to the office of the Free Press-Record or any other place so they will reach the commitee. Only through the co-operation of all can a complete list of the names desired be obtained.

Ad - WALL PAPER 5C PER DOUBLE ROLL Mouldings 2c ft. up. Gas Tar for Corn. Hydrogen Peroxide 15c per lb. today. Strong's Pharmacy Broad St. Waverly (using an inflation calculator, in 2014 a double roll would cost $1.25)

May 13, 1910 "Waverly Free Press": Pittsburg & Atlantic City, Tests. Tests made under the supervision of the painters association, proved that paint made with metal Zinc Oxide combined with White Lead was superior in lasting quality, to hand made pure White Lead Paint. This won a great victory for scientific-machinery-made L & M Paint. Every color is bright and lasting and won't need renewal for 12 to 15 years. It wears and covers like gold. Sold by E. G. Tracy, Waverly, N. Y.

May 20, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: David J. Nelson, a colored man who, just previous to the civil war, was very active in the operations of the famous "underground railroad," for assisting slaves to escape to Canada, died on Friday at Scranton, Pa. Nelson was born, free, in Ithaca, 77 years ago. For several years he was the chief guide for escaping slaves who came by the way of Montrose, Pa., and through this section of New York state and the promoters of the refugee route placed great dependence on his courage and sagacity.

May 27, 1910 The Troy Times: Emma Willard School Notes. ... Miss Marjorie Van Zandt of Troy has been elected Editor-in-Chief of The Triangle for next year. Miss Mary Gertrude Slaughter of Waverly has been elected News Editor and Miss Doris Loraine Crockett of Troy Business Manager. ...

June 10, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: While cleaning up a barn at Mrs. Harriet Lowman's on Chemung street, Tuesday morning, Thos. Brown found three sticks of dynamite and a long fuse, which had evidently been left there by some cracksman. The material was handed over to the police and is now in the hands of Street Commissioner Hanna, who will use it in his work. (Thomas Brown with wife Millie and daughter, Ruth were renting one half of the octagon home at 7 Athens street, from Mrs. S. W. Slaughter in 1910)

Mrs. Charlotte W. Slaughter and Mrs. L. D. Atwater left town Sunday to attend the commencement exercises of the Emma Willard School at Troy, N. Y., where their daughters are pupils. Miss Dorothy Atwater is a member of the graduating class, while Miss Gertrude Slaughter will complete her course there next year.

June 17, 1910 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Invitations Out. Chairman Albertson is now sending out the official Old Home Week invitations. They are handsomely printed in three colors and under a picture of Waverly taken from Spanish Hill contain an urgent personal appeal to old Waverlyites to come home once more. With each invitation is sent a program of the week. Chairman Albertson has already a list of over 2,000 addresses to which the invitations will be sent and will be glad to receive new names.

July 1, 1910 Waverly Free Press: Mrs. S. W. Slaughter and daughter, Gertrude, have gone to Goshen, and later will go to the mountains, near Port Jervis, for the summer.

July 8, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tigoa County Record: Visitors to the Theatorium will be surprised and pleased by the really artistic appearance of the front, which is being re-decorated by E. W. Lougher. The color scheme is mainly white, brown and green and an old Dutch glazed effect is produced that is remarkably attractive, clever imitations of various kinds of marble being predominant. The work will be entirely completed within a day or two and when finished will make one of the most unique and attractive fronts anywhere in this section, as Mr. Lougher is an artist of ability.

Announcement is made that the last of the old windows of Grace Church is to be replaced by a new window, the gift of Mrs. J. T. Buck of Springfield, Mass., the new one to be a memorial for Mrs. Buck's late husband, Josiah Taylor Buck and her mother, the late Emily Harriet Orange. Mrs. Buck and her family were formerly well known residents of Waverly. Her father, Geo. W. Orange was for many years Erie station agent here and her husband, J. T. Buck was the ticket agent at the station, both men dying here. The gift of Mrs. Buck is much appreciated by the members of Grace Church and completes a work of improvement in the putting in of new windows that adds much to the appearance of the church edifice.

July 22, 1910 "Waverly Free Press": RECOVERING FROM HIS BURNS Waverly Boy, After a Year's Suffering, Slowly Coming Back to Health. The Ithaca Journal of Friday devoted a half column to a report of the case of the little Waverly boy who was so terribly burned by his clothing catching fire on Aug. 15 last. Aside from a report of how his back was burned while putting gasoline on a fire he had built in the yard, the Journal speaks of the case as follows: A little, pale, wan faced boy in a wheel chair, pushed about the city by his mother, has been a familiar sight to most Ithacans for the past six or eight months. This little fellow is Henry Evans of Waverly, N. Y. , fourteen years of age, who was seriously and painfully burned on August 15, 1909, at his home in the above place. A Journal reporter has watched the little fellow while receiving his daily outing in his chair and has noted the gradual improvement in his health. Last week, through the doctor's orders, the wheel chair was discarded and Henry was compelled to walk in order to gain some strength. Last evening Henry Evans and his mother were interviewed. After he was burned, he was at once taken to the Packer Hospital where it was ascertained that nearly two square feet of his body surface had been burned seriously. Some weeks later he was brought to the Ithaca Hospital where he was attended by a local surgeon, who during the past six or eight months has made over twenty skin grafts from as many people. Little Henry remarked last evening that he was made up of a great many prominent personages and that he had as many as twenty odd skin grafts, the most of them being from professional people, such as doctors, lawyers and students. Chief among those who gave of their cuticle was his own father. Many of the grafts he stated did not grow and but about half of the burned surface of the body has healed up to this time and as he is gaining in general health and strength every day the doctor thinks that he will, in a very short time, recover completely. Henry Evans and his mother are living on Esty street and will remain in Ithaca, in the care of a local surgeon, until such time as Henry is perfectly well, when they will return to their home in Waverly. Henry Evans is a brave, intelligent little fellow and a perfect little gentleman; and while the subject was a painful one to talk about, the Journal man enjoyed his interview with this little fellow very much."

A Visit To Packer Hospital. When the party of Waverly gentlemen entered the doors of the Packer hospital by invitation of G. H. Merriam, one of the Trustees, on Wednesday afternoon, their first impression was of the boyish appearance of its surgeon-in-chief, Dr. Donald Guthrie, their second to the immensity of the institution. In the hour that followed the first impression steadily decreased and the second steadily grew, until, at the close of their visit they could not tell whether Packer was more fortunate in securing such an able head or the young surgeon in finding such a splendid field for his talents. Young, Dr. Guthrie certainly is, and he has all the enthusiasm of a boy over what is at once his hobby and profession, but as he walks among his patients and talks of operations one realizes very thoroughly that it is a man's work he is doing and a very big and capable man's work at that. The lamented Dr. Ott has an able successor. As to the hospital, there were few among the visitors who were not surprised at its size and completeness. It is a remarkable institution to find outside of a large city and one who wanders through its halls cannot fail to be impressed by the evidences of wealth and generosity that have made it possible. In the older part, the Packer mansion, which formed the nucleus of the institution, the wood work and mural decorations are still remarkably beautiful, although the rooms everywhere are admirably adapted for their purpose. Entering the main building one sees the general office, the Board room, which is also used as a room for nurses' and the nurses' and officers' dining room and kitchen. Upstairs is the nurses' dormitory, and it is doubtful if nurses in any other hospital in the country have such ample and attractive quarters as these rooms. Next comes the pathological laboratory and the male wards in what was formerly the dining hall of the Packer mansion, and which, with its elaborately carved ceiling, is still remarkably beautiful. Passing through the second male ward one comes to the private rooms, diet kitchens, bath rooms and sun room, to the female ward. There are in the building three large open wards, a maternity ward with six beds, and nine private rooms, giving the hospital a capacity of sixty-five patients. In spite of this, however, eighteen new beds have recently been ordered and will be used in case of emergency, as, for instance, a big railroad wreck nearby. Few departments were skipped by the visitors and everywhere were found the same cleanliness and order and the same completeness of equipment. The operating room is a model of antiseptic thoroughness and efficiency, and the sterilizing and dining rooms are as complete adjuncts as can be found anywhere. All the anesthetizing is done by the directress of nurses, Miss Mary D. Mitchell, who also has full charge of the training school. The drug room is in charge of Miss Elizabeth Lane, a graduate nurse, who personally attends to dispensing all medicines to the nurses. The x-ray room was found especially interesting by the guests. It is in charge of Albert Weaver, an expert photographer, and, as was explained by Dr. Guthrie, is most valuable in certain diagnoses. In explaining the various departments of the hospital Dr. Guthrie showed that he is not only a skillful surgeon, but a man of much executive and business ability. He keeps in close touch with every line of work, and, in the supply rooms, the information he volunteered as to the great saving by careful buying of drugs, etc., was a revelation to the visitors, who are used to drug store prices. Not the least interesting part of the visit was the inspection of the gigantic heating plant, where three great boilers consume a ton and a half of coal on a cold day. Even here the same cleanliness was noticable as is so pronounced everywhere else and one might eat his supper off of the floor without fear of germs. The hot houses (Contiuned on Second Page.) Visit To Packer Hospital. (Continued from first Page.) and flower and kitchen gardens were also visited and Dr. Guthrie detailed his plans for a poultry farm which is to be started in the near future. Everywhere was found the same spaciousness, the same attention to detail, the same completeness and perfection. As a fitting climax to the trip, the visitors called at Dr. Guthrie's home, where he and two of the other physicians live, and found one of the most comfortable and attractive bachelor quarters imaginable under the care of one of the best housekeepers. Packer's staff consists of Dr. Guthrie, surgeon-in-chief; S. D. Molyneux, assistant surgeon; Drs. F. M. Pogue, A. T. McClintock and J. Nutt, internes; Albert Weaver, x-ray expert; Miss Elizabeth Lane, assistant and pharmacist, and 21 nurses in training. The hospital at present has 60 patients, more than ever before in its history, and Dr. Guthrie expressed himself as much pleased at the extent to which its territory of patronage is growing and especially at the increasingly large number of patients that come from New York state to the Pennsylvania hospital. Packer is a big affair and when the guests left it was with an increased respect for and pride in one of the most flourishing and notable institutions of the Valley.

RETURNS AFTER 25 YEARS. Andrew Slawson, Who Started Big Milk Company, Returns to that Line of Business. Andrew A. Slawson, long and prominent resident of Waverly spent Sunday and Monday here and then returned to his work in the northern part of the state, where, for some time past, he has been working as an inspector of creameries and dairies for one of the great milk concerns of New York City- the Sheffeld Farms-Slawson-Decker Co. Mr. Slawson can be counted as one of the pioneers in the milk business of New York city. Some 45 years ago A. A. Slawson, with two brothers, organized what was long known in the city as the Slawson Milk Co., each of the brothers at first starting out on a milk wagon and gradually building up a big business for that day. He is now the only survivor of the three brothers. Some 25 years ago Mr. Slawson sold his interests in the milk business and engaged in business in Waverly, continuing in various lines here until a few months ago. He was for many years in the furniture and undertaking business. He was also long prominent in public matters, serving at different times as Postmaster and as Supervisor and in other official positions, at one time being elected as President of the village, all in spite of the fact that he was always a Democrat. As stated above, Mr. Slawson has returned to the milk business, after being out of it for 25 years, and he states that he finds now among the most prominent and wealthy men in the business in the city many of whom as young men he gave their first lessons in the work, some of them starting as helpers on the Slawson Company's delivery wagons.

August 5, 1910 Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: To The Ladies. We want to have a little talk with the ladies about Old Home Week and politely request the men folks not to listen. What we want to say is this: Old Home Week will be a busy week and you will all have plenty to do, but don't over do it. Don't kill yourselves. You will have company to entertain, your house will be filled. If you want to you can make your duties as hostess fill up your whole time, keep you from enjoying the celebration and probably lay you up in bed for a few weeks afterward. Don't do it. You want to get the good Old Home Week yourselves; the friends who will visit you will want you to and they will enjoy their visit a thousand times more if you do. Plan your entertaining with that end in view. Get it in your dear heads that the people who come here are coming for Old Home Week and that your part is incidental and minor. Don't try to compete with the circus or the midway. Take things calmly and do things moderately. For instance, to get down to the very practical, take this question of meals. If you plan big dinners you will be busy all the time and ten to one at the hour you name your guests will want to be watching Zingarella or a parade. Don't do it. As nearly as you can, adopt the English house party plan. Tell your guests when they come that the house is theirs, that you have beds for them and food for them to make themselves at home and do exactly as they please. When they leave the house in the morning tell them that if they get around after noon they will find lunch on the table and can help themselves at any hour. Tell them the same thing at supper. If you are there all right; if not all right, but don't think you must spend your time getting up big dinners for people who will not have time to eat them. Cold meats and that sort of thing when they want them will suit them much better, and will give you all a freedom that will do much to make the week a delight for guest and hostess. Try the "buffet" plan.

April 8, 1910 The Waverly Free Press and Tioga County Recorder: Mrs. Margaret Sager. Mrs. Margaret Sager, wife of T. A. Sager died Wednesday at their home, Suffern, N. Y., after an illness of two years. The deceased was a sister of the late Mrs. F. E. Munn, and was well known in Waverly, having visited here frequently. Besides her husband she is survived by one son, Harry L. Sager, of Passaic; two sisters, Mrs. Agnes Kinsman and Mrs. Jennie Everson, and one brother, J. M. Brady, all of Oswego. The remains were brought to Waverly for interment on the Erie Wednesday morning at 5:50 and funeral services were held at Mr. Munn’s residence, at No. 207 Chemung street, at 2:30 o’clock yesterday afternoon.

Reception to Dr. Guthrie. One of the most notable and enjoyable social events of the season took place Friday night at the home of Dr. W. Elling Johnson, on Park avenue, the occasion being a reception given in honor of Dr. Donald Guthrie, the new, surgeon-in-chief of Packer Hospital, Sayre. At seven o’clock an elaborate dinner of eight courses was served, at the conclusion of which Dr. Johnson, in a few well-chosen words toasted the guest of honor and bespoke for him the friendship of the men of Waverly. Dr. Guthrie responded in fitting language and the hours of pleasant sociability that followed left no doubt as to the cordiality of the reception accorded to the young chief by Waverly or the favorable impression he has made upon those with whom he has come in contact. At the close of the dinner, Mrs. Johnson, assisted by Mrs. John H. Murray, re-enforced the genial Doctor in the entertainment of the guests and the attractions of the billiard and bridge tables and smoking room combined to make the time pass with incredible swiftness until midnight.

May 13, 1910 Waverly Free Press: The following gentlemen were nominated for vice-presidents of the Old Home Week Association and, on motion, were unanimously elected: Hon J. T. Sawyer, N. S. Johnson, J. W. Knapp, H. G. Merriam, C. F. Spencer, Hon. J. B. Floyd, Levi Curtis, Hon P. R. Ackley, Jefferson Bingham, M. H. Mandeville, G. E. Foote, C. H. Shipman, Amass Finch, A. J. VanAtta and W. E. Moore

August 12, 1910 "Waverly Free Press": Mrs. Charlotte Slaughter and Miss Gertrude Slaughter are home after a month's outing in Orange county.

August 19, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: "Susquehanna." Capt. Charles L. Albertson has just received the following characteristic letter from Fred Emerson Brooks, who has written an original poem for Old Home Week: St. John's Mine, Vallejo, Calif., August 9, 1910. Capt. Charles L. Albertson, President Old Home Comm., Waverly, N. Y. My Very Dear Friend: - I am so glad you agreed with me about the subject of the poem for "Old Home Week," "The Susquehanna." Your letter so encouraged me that I have nearly finished a beautiful, poetic legend of the making and the naming of the glorious river after the beautiful daughter of the great chief of the Susquehannocks named Susquehanna; with a love-idyl in it. If, in the lieu of certified legends, I have been forced to create one out of the imagination, it will. I trust, be none the less original; and I am certain a dozen fold more reasonable than countless impossible legends we are compelled to digest. A legend is a story that goes back of all provable history - often changed in the telling. Then why may not I create a legend by going further back -so far back that no one can dispute it? That reminds me of a man who was boasting that he could trace his pedigree back to James I and I retorted by declaring that my crest was an apple, and that my pedigree went back to Adam. In further proof of which I have an abnormal taste for apples. I will send the poem on to you in a few days - though I have a mind to keep it a while for polishing - and send extra copies later to be sure of one copy reaching you. If, by any chance, I can not come, you will get some thunder-voiced reader to give it expression. You will have free voice in using or printing it. It belongs to you and Waverly and I will be satisfied with the glory in the song. Yours devotedly, Fred Emerson Brooks.

The Athletic Events. ... Most of the contests will take place on Park avenue, a dirt street being more desirable and the nine-mile Marathon will be run around the belt line....100 yard- dash...Hook and ladder race...Hub and hub...There will also be bag and potato races with prizes of $1.00 each.

The Indian Fight at Spanish Hill. Whatever else happens during Old Home Week, the fight at Spanish Hill will not be forgotten. The decorations- speeches, parades, music, everything will be the best of its kind, but these things have been seen or heard before. The open air play at Spanish Hill will be the one unique feature of the week; few towns in the whole country could even contemplate such a spectacle - they have no Spanish Hill. It is an auditorium with a capacity of thousands of spectators and a stage for a realistic and dramatic presentation that will never be forgotten. Few who have not stood upon it and had the plot of "Early Days in the Valley," pictured to them can realize how wonderfully the place is suited to such a performance; no one who had fails to become enthusiasitc over the possibilities. Whatever is produced, the natural scenery and the setting of the hills and river will dignify and, beautify it and with very little trouble the presentation will be made one of the most unique and memorable features of the week. That the show will be a success is more than assured. With good weather "Early Days in the Valley" will go on record as the greatest play ever produced in the Valley and before the greatest audience. Edward Betowski, of the Amusement committee has the management of the production and is busily engaged in arranging the details. The Boys' Batailion of Sayre has volunteered to furnish the nucleus of Sullivan's army. Fifty Red Men from Dia-Ho-ga Tribe of Sayre will furnish the main body of the Indians. Volunteers for settlers and additional soldiers and Redskins are coming in daily and are being assigned to their parts. Guns and other weapons have been requisitioned in quantities, plans for a cabin have been drawn and work men selected.

Auto Ride for the Aged. A pleasing part of Old Home Week will be the auto ride which will be given to the oldest residents of the village and vicinity, on Thursday afternoon at 5 p. m. Numerous owners of autos have volunteered the use of their machines and in charge of careful chaffeurs, all the veteran residents who desire will be given a spin around town.

Polyhymnia Committee. Mrs. Richard Blackmore, president of the Polyhymnia Club, has appointed the following committees for the concert. Executive and Reception, Mrs. H. N. Daniell, Mrs. Lizzie Waldo Taylor, Mrs. William Schofield; Ushers, Miss Mary Finch, Miss Frances Lyons, Miss Mary Blood, Mrs. Jesse Green, Miss Edith Lyon. Baby Parade Committee is as follows: Mrs. E. Barton Hall, Mrs. John Murray, Mrs. E. D. Sebring. Assistants: Division No. 1, Miss Mary Wilcox, Miss Harriet Lewis, Mrs. Edgar D. Sebring; Division No. 2, Miss Mary Schofield, Mrs. H. N. Daniel, Miss Mary Blood; Division No. 3, Miss Janet Lyon, Mrs. John Murray, Mrs. E. Barton Hall.

Infant Son Dead. David Lougher, Jr., the two-year-old son of Mr. and Mrs. David Lougher, died Sunday at their home on Clark street, after a brief illness. The funeral was held at the residence Monday. Mr. Lougher is a decorator who has many contracts here for Old Home Week and only removed his family here a few days ago from Dansville.

August 22, 1910 Elmira Star Gazette: Home Comers Fill Waverly. Formal Reception Held This Afternoon in Loomis Opera House - Tomorrow Another Big Day. Waverly, Aug. 22. - The union services in the Loomis Opera House yesterday really marked the opening of Waverly's Old Home Week, but the festivities began at 7:30 o'clock this morning when every whistle and bell in Waverly, Sayre and Athens gave a loud united salute to the home comers. Members of the reception committee have met every incoming train to give information and aid to the thousands of home coming people who have returned to the good old town to renew acquaintance with valley people and scenes. Formal Reception. This afternoon at 2 o'clock the formal reception and welcoming exercises were held in the Loomis Opera House. Addresses were made by Captain Charles Albertson, who spoke for the Old Home Week Association; Village President John T. Tucker, E. W. Eaton and Assemblyman Frank Howard. An historical address , "Through the Gray Dawn," was given by the Rev. George A. Briggs, former pastor of the Waverly Baptist Church. Fred Emerson Brooks of Vallejo, Cal., wrote a poem, "Susquehanna," especially for the occasion, which was read by Professor Howard C. Conant. The music was furnished by Kramm's Band. Baby Parade. The baby parade this afternoon at 4 o'clock under the auspices of the Polyhymnia Club is one of the prettiest features of the entire week's program. Kramm's Band played appropriate selections while the little folks marched about the High School Park, attracting no end of favorable attention. This evening in the Loomis Opera House the musical festival will be held. Admittance will be by card obtained either of the Polyhymnia Club or at the Old Home headquarters. Among the home comers who have a place on the program is Miss Nettie Knise, who will whistle and sing. Circus Tomorrow. Tomorrow the Forepaugh-Sells circus will be here, the G.A.R. reunion will be held, the farmers', merchants', manufacturers' and automobilists' parade will be held at 9:30 o'clock, and the Baptist reunion and festival will be held on the lawn at the Baptist Church.

August 26, 1910 Waverly Free Press: Mrs. Sarah Miller of Paterson, N. J., daughter of Joseph Hallet for years one of Waverly's most prominent citizens, is stopping with her sister Mrs. C. F. Spencer.

One of the most notable features of the afternoon was an original poem, "Susquehanna, " written specially for the occasion by Fred Emerson Brooks, the well known poet, of Vallejo, Cal. It was read with fine effect by Prof. Howard Conant of Holyoke, Mass.

Mrs. Gabriel Evans of Ithaca, is among those here today. She reports her little son, Henry, who was so badly burned last summer, as steadily improving.

Mrs. Walter Lockerby of Ithaca, spent Wednesday with her sister, Mrs. Harry W. Knapp.

August 26, 1910 Waverly Free Press: (I Only transcribed the Waverly Graduates from 1873 to 1910, who still lived in Waverly in 1910: some of the middle initials, I, may be L’s and vice versa, could not decipher)
1910 Mrs. Charles H. Swain (Ida A. Hemstreet class of 1878) living on Athens St.
1910 class of 1878, Fred A. Sawyer, Cashier Citizens Bank
1910 class of 1878, Mrs. Edw. Simmons, (Jessie L. Shaw) Johnson St.
1910 (Florence Floyd class of 1881) Mrs. Frank Merriam Chemung St.
1910 class of 1881, Mary McCarthy, Principal Sayre High School, Wilcox St, Waverly
1910 Lewis D. Atwater, class of 1882, Sales Agt for International Text Book Co. of Scranton; Park Place
1910 Mrs. Wm Hopkins (Jennie M. Buley, classo of 1882) Chemung St.
1910 I. Grant Dodge, Ice and Real Estate, Ithaca St., Class of 1885
1910 Horace H. Kinney, Teacher vocal and instrumental music, Providence St. Class of 1885
1910 (Anna B. Quigley) Mrs. Johm Higgins, Fulton St. class of 1885 1910 class of 1885 Mary Finch, journalist, Cayuta Ave.
1910 class of 1885, Mrs. Charles M. Young (Margaret E. Vought?) Fulton St
1910 class of 1886, Etta Barnum, teacher, Pine St.
1910 class of 1886, Lewis J. Buley, Asst. Cashier Citizens Bank
1910 class of 1886, Mrs. Wm D. Earley, (Margaret J. Carrol) Fulton St.
1910 class of 1887, (Grace M. Merriam), Mrs. W. H. Stevenson Chemung St.
1910 Anna H. Grafft, teacher, Cayuta Ave., class of 1887
1910 Lena A. McCarthy, teacher in Sayre Schools, Wilcox St Waverly, class of 1887
1910 class of 1887 Mrs. Ed. VanAtta, (Rose Grafft), Cayuta Ave.
1910 class of 1887, Mrs. I. Grant Dodge, (Gertrude Mercereau), Cayuta Ave.
1910 class of 1887, Lewis B. Shriver, bookkeeper, Elm St.
1910 Class of 1887, Mrs. Phillip Kerrigan, (Katherine E. Smitt), Fulton St.
1910 Class of 1887, Grace B. Tuthill, teacher, 494 Waverly St.
1910 class of 1888, Seward Baldwin, manufacturer, Pennsylvania Ave.
1910 class of 1888, Lillian N. Barnum, librarian, 103 Chemung St.
1910 class of 1888, Effie C. Cohan, teacher, Broad St.
1910 class of 1888, Mrs. Ernest G. Whitley, (Mary E. Osborn), Elliot St.
1910 class of 1888, Mrs. Arthur J. Terry, (Nellie E. Simpson), Dry goods merchant, Broad St.
1910 class of 1889, Anna C. Curran, bookkeeper, Broad St.
1910 class of 1889, Mrs. Harry Case, (Alice L. Deidrick), Lincoln St.
1910 class of 1889, Mrs. Harry W. Knapp, (Maria I. Phillips), Waverly St.
1910 class of 1889, Lila A. Shoemaker, teacher, Chemung St.
1910 class of 1889, Mrs. Ellis Crandall, (Mildred E. Topping), teacher Waverly St.
1910 class of 1890, Mrs. Wm. Kinney, (Fannie I. Clark)
1910 class of 1890, Mrs. Edmund Pickley, (Lizzie T. Cohen), Broad St.
1910 class of 1890, Mrs. Frank I. Howard, (Josephine Frisbee), Waverly St.
1910 class of 1890, Wm. A. Personius, Milling Business, Pennsylvania Ave.
1910 class of 1890, Lizzie T. Shehau, bookkeeper Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1891, Mary Eliza Arnts, teacher, Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1891, Mrs. Edward Eaton, (Mabel Shoemaker), Ithaca St.
1910 class of 1892, Abigail I. Morgan, Decorative Artist, Lincoln St.
1910 class of 1892, Mrs. Albert R. Tozer, (Anna Mullock), Elm St.
1910 class of 1892, Effie I. Scott, librarian, Pennsylvania Ave.
1910 class of 1892, Mrs. Albert I. Hill, (Grace O. Tompkins), Ithaca St.
1910 class of 1893, Mrs. Ernest L. Weller, (Martha E. Ball), Chemung St.
1910 class of 1893, Mrs. Alfred Brink, ( Susie M. Millage), teacher, Waverly R. D. No.1
1910 class of 1893, Halet Spencer, Physician, Chemung St.
1910 class of 1894, Harry C. Baldwin, lumber business, Penna. Ave.
1910 class of 1894, Alice P. Fish, Chemung St.
1910 class of 1894, Grace A. Weller, teacher 568 Clark St.
1910 class of 1895, Mrs. Fred D. Gillan, ( Claudia B. Andre), Elm St.
1910 class of 1895, George A. Harding, Clerk with Harding & Hoyt, Fulton St.
1910 class of 1896, Leon S. Betowski, Physician, Broad St.
1910 class of 1896, M. Theresa McHale, teacher, Johnson St.
1910 class of 1896, Curtis W. Morgan, Supply Clerk Sayre Shops, Lincoln St. Waverly
1910 class of 1896, Horace S. Morgan, Railroading, Howard St.
1910 class of 1896, Clarence S. Scott, Mail Carrier, 410 Pennsylvania Ave.
1910 class of 1896, Charles C. Murray, Sign Painter, Elizabeth St.
1910 class of 1897, David O. Decker, Lawyer, Fulton St.
{1910 class of 1897, Harry S. Fish, Physician, Sayre Pa}
1910 class of 1898, Harriet B. Beardslee, Missionary, Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1898, Mrs. Lewis Grant, (L. Mabel Hoyt), Waverly NY
1910 class of 1898, Ellen Kentick?, Stenographer, Howard St.
1910 class of 1898, Jessie L. Whitaker, Teacher, Howard St.
1910 class of 1899, Mrs. Fred C. Simmons, (Lavantia H. Russell), Pine St.
1910 class of 1899, Mrs. Harold C. Watrous, (Chrissis J. Scott), Park Ave.
1910 class of 1899, Fanny Scott, 440 Penna. Ave.
1910 class of 1900, Eva G. Blizzard, Dressmaker, Fulton St.
1910 class of 1900, Mrs. Geo. Carlyle, (Margaret Campbell), Liberty St. Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1900, Wilton S. Hall, Secy. Hall & Lyon Furniture Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1900, Ella L. Johnson, Teacher, Pine St.
1910 class of 1900, Robert S. Knapp, died in 1903.
1910 class of 1900, Amy VanAtta, Teacher, Waverly St.
1910 class of 1900, Harold C. Watrous, Teller Citizens Bank, Park Ave.
1910 class of 1901, Lucille A. Genung, Teacher, Chemung St
1910 class of 1901, Mrs. Harry Baldwin, (May A. Hilton), Penna. Ave.
1910 class of 1901, Elizabeth Kenrick, Nursing, Howard St.
1910 class of 1901, Jeanette Lyon, Lincoln St.
1910 class of 1901, Mary W. Muldoon, Teacher, Chemung St.
1910 class of 1901, Emma Jean Park, Teacher, Lincoln St.
1910 class of 1901, Mrs. Asa Nichols, (Matie B. Riggs), Chemung St.
1910 class of 1902, Edward Betowski, Tailoring Business, Johnson St.
1910 class of 1902, Louis B. Goff, Ice Business, Clark St.
{1910 class of 1902, Ralph W. Knapp, with Webster & Stone Construction Co. Seattle, Washington (George Knapp’s brother)}
1910 class of 1902, Anna L. McCarthy, bookkeeper Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1902, Harry Westfall, Bookkeeper for Sayre Bank, Cayuta Ave.
1910 class of 1903, Mrs. Manley M. Latham, (Nellie Bensley), Barton NY
1910 class of 1903, Jessie Bullard, Stenographer, Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1903, Rachael Crans, Stenographer, William St.
1910 class of 1903, Mary Curry, Bookkeeper, Spaulding St.
1910 class of 1903, Mrs. A. W. Bouton, ( Marion Harding), Clinton Ave.
1910 class of 1903, Mrs. Arthur E. Bradley, ( Ethel Hunt), Lincoln St.
1910 class of 1903, Mrs. Rollin G. Perry, (Grace Lawrence), Clinton Ave.
1910 class of 1903, Hattie Lewis, Bookkeeper, Chemung St.
1910 class of 1903, Agnes Snyder, Bookkeeper Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1903, Mrs. M. E. Gore, (Nettie Swain), Park Ave.
1910 class of 1903, Job Tozer, Electrician, Broad St.
1910 class of 1904, Jessie R. Angell, Teacher, Chemung St.
1910 class of 1904, Jessie J. Austin, Stenographer, Fulton St.
1910 class of 1904, Virginia H. Canell, Chemung St.
1910 class of 1904, John Dillon, Bookkeeper, 31 N. Chemung St.
1910 class of 1904, Mrs. Theodore Weeks, (Verna Emily Gore), Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1904, Robert W. Johnson, Clerk Erie R. R. Office, Chemung St.
1910 class of 1904, Zalda E. Smith, Bookkeeper, Clark St.
1910 class of 1904, Pearl Stackhouse, Stenographer, Park Ave.
1910 class of 1904, Walter S. Thatcher, Clark St.
1910 class of 1904, M. Elting Gore, Physician, Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1905, Percy Alliger, Motor Car Conductor, Chemung St
1910 class of 1906, Dorothy Crandall, Stenographer, Park Place
1910 class of 1906, Lulu Crans, William St.
1910 class of 1906, Mildred Fuller, Teacher, Park Place
1910 class of 1906, Margret Grafft, Student Elmira College, Cayuta Ave.
1910 class of 1906, Margaret Hefferman, Teacher, Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1906, Eva M. Johnson Stenographer, Pine St
1910 class of 1906, Florentine Knapp, Teaching, Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1906, Mrs. Robert E. Greer, (Satie G. Robinson), William St.
1910 class of 1906, Harold M. Sawyer, Student Cornell University, 110 Stewart Ave, Ithaca, NY
1910 class of 1907, Maude Barnes, Student Elmira College, Waverly NY
1910 class of 1907, Marguerite Kingsbury, Clerk N. P. L. Office, Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1907, Alice M. Lang, Student, Wellesley College, Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1907, Winifred Muldoon, Stenographer, Chemung St.
1910 class of 1907, Bernice Turney, Clerk, William St.
1910 class of 1907, Maude B. Thayer, Stenographer, Providence St.
1910 class of 1908, Clara Frazer, Student at Cortland Normal School, Pine St. Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1908, Mary Johnson, Student Elmira College, Pine St. Waverly NY
1910 class of 1908, Barbara Lawrence, Student Sweetbriar College, Ithaca St. Waverly NY
1910 class of 1908, Mary Lynch, Teacher, 456 Penna. Ave.
1910 class of 1908, Louise Maylon, Waverly St.
1910 class of 1908, Josephine O’Brien, Student Rochester Business Institute, Howard St. Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1908, Lizzie Tuthill, Orange St.
1910 class of 1908, Rundio Zeigler, Clerk N. P. L. Office Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1908, Alice Westfall, Teacher, Waverly, NY
1910 class of 1909, Edwin Grafft. Cayuta Ave.
1910 class of 1909, Mrs. Seward Larnard, (Beth Jayne), Lincoln St.
1910 class of 1909, Laura Johnson, Waverly St.
1910 class of 1909, Ora King, Student Albany Normal, Fulton St.
1910 class of 1909, Helen O’Neil, Student Rochester Business Institute, Providence St.
1910 class of 1909, Edward Sullivan, Broad St.
1910 class of 1909, Gladys Wood, Pine St.
1910 class of 1909, Margaret Tew, Chemung St.
1910 class of 1910, Thomas B. Appleget, Park Ave.
1910 class of 1910, Thomas M. Austin, Fulton St.
1910 class of 1910, Roy L. Bruster, Chemung St.
1910 class of 1910, Mabel D. Annabel, Chemung St.
1910 class of 1910, Mabel E. Decker, Chemung St.
1910 class of 1910, Mildred Emerson, Waverly, R. D.
1910 class of 1910, Margaret Ealsey, Chemung St.
1910 class of 1910, Hazel Johnson, Chemung St
1910 class of 1910, Mary J. Moyenhan, Howard St.
1910 class of 1910, Fannie M. Nelson, Fulton St.
1910 class of 1910, Raymond M. Smith, Chemung St.
1910 class of 1910, Marjorie S. Surdam, Waverly St.
1910 class of 1910, Laura M. Stevens, Chemung St.
1910 class of 1910, H. Clay Thatcher, Clark St.
1910 class of 1910, Virginia VanAtta, Cayuta Ave.
1910 class of 1910, Elnora Quick, Howard St.

August 28, 1910 The Telegram (Elmira): On Old Home Week. Waverly Put A Fine Time For All. An Event Of Big Moment. The Celebration Was A Magnificent One, And Created A Most Profound Regard For The Old Town By Former Citizens - Brief, But Comprehensive Review Of The Great Events Of A Great Week. Waverly, N. Y., Aug. 27. - When the citizens of Waverly start to do anything, they do it right. This week was unquestionably the most memorable in the history of that village. It was Old Home Week, and never before did the village see such large crowds. Never before were the decorations so handsome and never before did the residents and thousands of visitors enjoy themselves more thoroughly. To say that the Old Home Week was a success would not be enough.

Whether the visitor arrived in Waverly by the steam railroad, or by trolley, he was met by members of the reception committee. The members of this committee wore badges and they were alert for all strangers. The first sight of the village dazzled the eyes, so profuse and magnificent were the decorations. Banners, American and foreign flags, bunting, festoons of red, white and blue were on every building. Arches of vari-colored electric lights spanned the streets. Many of the store window decorations could well be taken as a pattern by stores in the larger cities. The crowds were happy, and the new-comers caught the spirit. It was contagious.

The Old Home Week officially opened last Sunday with special religious services in the various churches and at the opera house. The residents and former residents were thus permitted to hear sermons by former pastors. Special singing was a feature of all these services.

On Monday the events of the week commenced by a reception which was held in the opera house. Captain Charles L. Albertson, president of the Old Home Week celebration, gave an address of welcome. Village President Tucker responded for the village. There were other prominent speakers, and an original poem written by Fred Emerson Brooks, formerly of Waverly, but now of California, was most interesting.

The Baby Parade Was A Pleaser. On Monday afternoon the babies were paraded and the little go-carts and carriages were decorated in a most handsome manner. The parade was held in the park near the high school building. Prizes were awarded to the babies as follows: First division - First prize, Harriet Adams; second, Dorothy Letts; third, Marion Cowles; fourth, Baby Hogan; fifth, Eva Sutton. Second division - First, Richard Van Duzer; second, Clifford Rockwell; third, Lang Hall; fourth, Arthur Carpenter; fifth, Harold Dewitt. Third division - First, Florence Loomis; second, Hubert Root; third, James Brooks; fourth, Eleanor Wright; fifth, Richard Robinson. The judges were: Mrs. J. C. Van Atta, Mrs. E. W. Eaton, Mrs. Harvey Ingham, Mrs. John Johnson, Mrs. C. Collins and Mrs. E. C. Brooks.

The first real big day was Tuesday. The parade of floats and automobiles in the morning was one of the finest that has ever been seen in this section of the country. The different floats which were exhibited by the business men was far in advance of the expectations of the citizens of the village. The first prize for the best decorated automobile was awarded to Arthur B. Sharpstein. George Fairchild secured the second prize in the decorated automobile class. David Caulkins had the best decorated farm rig. Coal Dealer John H. Murray carried off the prize for the best mule team. Fred Brink, of Litchfield, took first prize for the best appearing farm team and wagon. Charles Fields secured the second prize for a farm team and wagon. Mrs. Frederick Elsbree was awarded the first prize for the best appearing single rig, driven by a woman. David Caulkins won the $15 prize for the best farm float. The best matched team was driven by John Ketchum.

Handsome Floats In The Line. While the business men and manufacturers had handsome floats, no prizes were offered or awarded in this class. Among these floats one was worthy of special mention, although all were of the highest class. John H. Murray exhibited a miniature coal breaker, which was loaned for the occasion by the Scranton Coal company. The judges wished to have special mention made of the floats in the following order: Harry W. Knapp, dry goods; John H. Murray, coal dealer; F. W. Genung, coal dealer; Tioga Mill and Elevator company.

Following closely upon the industrial parade was the Forepaugh and Sells Brothers circus parade. It was with great difficulty that this parade could get through the streets, so great was the crowd. The parade was good as circus parades usually are. The crowd at the circus tent in the afternoon was a record breaker for Waverly. It is claimed that 14,000 tickets were sold. The bringing of the circus to Waverly was a clever scheme on the part of the executive committee. The circus was first booked to show at Sayre, Pa. Suddenly and unexpectedly to many the announcement was made that the circus would show at Waverly. About this time the enforcement of the Sunday "blue laws" at Sayre was commenced. Following this was the battle between the officials of the traction company and those who wished to enforce the law. When the announcement came that the circus was to show at Waverly many people in Sayre said that it was on account of the enforcement of the Sunday laws. Let these people be deceived no more. The reformers, or the anti-Sunday law people had nothing to do with the change. It was the old home week executive committee. When they learned that the circus was booked for Sayre, they immediately began to get busy, and as a result the circus showed in Waverly. The committee saw that this was an opportunity not to be missed, and they won out in their efforts. As a result thousands of people were brought to Waverly.

While it is difficult to estimate the number of people assembled in a village the size of Waverly, it can be said that there were fully 30,000 people on the streets during Tuesday. After the circus parade Broad street was literally packed from building to building from Loder street to Pennsylvania avenue. Wagons, automobiles and street cars were forced to discontinue running.

On Tuesday the veterans of the civil war held a reunion. Hundreds of old soldiers from all parts of the country were present. They were given dinner in the G. A. R. hall by the Women's Relief corps and the auxiliary to the Son of Veterans.

Tuesday evening Kramm's band played many selections about the streets of the village and then gave a concert on the midway. The large crowd was exceptionally orderly, and the police had little bother.

Wednesday Was One For Visiting. While Wednesday was a big day, the crowd was not so large as on Tuesday. The forenoon was given over to visiting and renewing old friendships. The merchants did a thriving business. At 1:30 o'clock the fraternal and civic parade was held. The fireman appeared at their best, while the different fraternal societies had handsome floats. The Redeemer Church Cadets were awarded much well deserved applause. The floats of the Odd Fellows, Eagles and Hibernians were the best ever exhibited in Waverly.

Immediately after the parade the races were held and resulted as follows: The nine mile Marathon was the most interesting of the individual running races. There were nine contestants and they ran around what is known as the belt line, a distance of three miles, three times. Thomas Holland, of Athens, Pa., completed first, time - fifty-five minutes, thirty-two seconds; Charles Capwell, of Sayre, Pa., second, time - fifty-five minutes and thirty-four seconds; Purie Capwell, of Sayre, Pa., third, time - fifty-five minutes, thirty-nine seconds. The three men who completed the race were awarded handsome silver loving cups.

Good time was made in the one hundred yard dash. Alfred Bird, of Forkstown, Pa., secured first prize, which was an elegant leather suit case, time - ten and three-fifths seconds; Earl Kitchen, of Sayre, Pa., was a close second.

It was impossible to get any fire company to race against the Waverly Hook and Ladder company in the hook and ladder race. The company gave an exciting exhibition run, covering two hundred yards in thirty and one-fifth seconds. They were awarded a handsome $10 rocker.

The hub and hub races were hard fought. The Spaulding Hose company carried off first honors by covering the distance of two hundred yards in twenty-six and one-fifth seconds. The Howard Elmer Hose company, of Sayre, Pa., was second, time - twenty-eight and one-half seconds. The Cayuta Hose company, of East Waverly, finished last, time - thirty and ond-fifth seconds. The winning company was awarded a leather upholstered oak rocker.

All roads then led to historic Spanish Hill. It was a case of walk over the hill, for it was barely possible to make the climb of several hundred feet on foot. In the valley on the south side of the hill a sham battle between Indians, who were represented by the Sayre Red Men, and General Sullivan's army, represented by the Redeemer Church Cadets, was fought. Nestled down in a corner of a large field was a small cabin. A settler's family was living in the cabin and the children were playing about the yard. An Indian was seen approaching the cabin and finally when he was near enough to be seen by the children they ran into the house.

The Battle Was A Thriller. They opened fire upon him, but he was soon reinforced by other members of his tribe. Before they were able to surround the house, one of the larger boys escaped and ran for the pasture lot, where he secured a horse, mounted it and rode away for assistance. The men were scalped and the women and children were held prisoners. The Indians then burned the cabin, and while the flames were mounting high into the air they danced about the fire and chanted a war song.

Finally the strains of "Yankee Doodle" sounded from the woods nearby and the army was seen marching towards the burning cabin. The Indians soon discovered the approaching army and the battle was on. It was truly realistic. The army had about 1,000 rounds of ammunition, while the Indians were equally qualified for the fight. General Sullivan displayed his strategy by flank movement and of the manoeuvers, which were applauded by the thousands of people assembled on the side and brow of Spanish Hill. The fighting lasted for nearly one hour, when the Indians were at last defeated and forced to retreat. The exhibition was more than pleasing. The entire battle was under the direction of Editor Fred B. Appleget, of the Waverly Free Press, and Edward S. Betowski.

On Wednesday evening, J. Alden Loring, of Owego, one of the field naturalists who accompanied Former President Roosevelt through Africa on his hunting expedition, gave a most interesting and educational lecture. Stereopticon views were used to illustrate the talk which made it all the more interesting.

On Thursday, the day was given to the present and former school children.

The Midway Had Its Sensations. The Midway, which occupied all of Elizabeth street, between Fulton and Waverly streets, was the center of attraction for thousands of people. The free exhibitions were excellent and consisted of Zingerella, who stood on a ball about two feet in diameter, and rolled this ball about forty feet to the top of a spiral. Sullivan and Peters, two Waverly boys, gave a clever aerial trapeze performance. Then there was a Ferris wheel, a merry-go-round, a "wild girl" and numerous side shows. Conspicuous on the Midway were numberless games or devices for separating the visitor from his money. Wheels of fortune, mechanical racing horses, prize packages, etc. The wheels hummed merrily, and the operators raked in the money. The "cappers" won considerable coin, but the "suckers" left theirs behind. It was noticed that the penny-in-the-slot cigar machines have been banished from the stores in Waverly, but the wheels of chance were allowed to operate on the Midway.

August 31, 1910 Ithaca Daily News: At the Hotels. Clinton House - N. C. Jeliff, J. B
Kellam, Binghamton. J. Pride, T. R. Perham, Philadelphia; D. D. Northrop, Cortland; W. Carmody, M. J. Leary, J. J. Allington, Elmira; B. S. Robinson, William C. Bennett, E.
Sciom, Allen W. Cox, D. Bryant, New York City; H. L. Kipp, A. J. Brown, H. W. Bedell, Richard Hargrave, Rochester; L. Ostrander, Auburn; E. J. Connor, Scranton; M. F. Osborne; J. W. Havens, Charles S. Kippley, Harry Backus, R. E. Kelly, A. C. Howe, Louis Halker, Syracuse; George H. Taber, Utica; H. N. Stillman, Troy; George
B. Weston, H. N. Ott, F. J. Leonard, Thomas J. Kissane, Buffalo; A. W. Baker, Freevllle; J. H. Parks, Canton, Ohio; C. A, Roberts, Windsor, N. Y.; J. H. Schillingmann, Wilkes-Barre;
F. B. Simons, Albany; J. F. Struble, Athens, Pa.; Leon S. Beckwith, M. S. Waite, Marcellus; J. W. Hartley, Detroit; J. A. Wheeler, Butte, Mont.; George J. Keeler, Cleveland; George B. Knapp, Waverly; R, C. Baldwin, Addison; H. G. Stanclift, Mt. Vernon, Iowa; W. B. Frear, Watkins.

September 2, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: An Old Waverly Society. Among the keepsakes at the Institute reunion was the record book of the "Societias Philalogo" a debating society organized in 1859 whose members were as follows: R. Alison Elmer, H. D. Jenkins, H. Payne, N. A. Lamphear, F. H. Payne, A. D. Warne, J. H. Millspaugh, Geo. S. Comstock, J. P. Bosworth, S. W. Slaughter, D. C. Delaney, Chas. H. Morgan, Hugh J. Baldwin, George E. Morgan, Chas. W. Bower, Waverly; A. Buck, Guy Wyncoop, Seth E. Holley, Martin T. Rogers, Nathaniel C. Rogers, Chemung; M. V. D. Sweetlove, Spencer; Walter C. Hull, Ellicottville; J. E. Bristol, Coventry; A. Y. Hubbell, North Barton; Wm. G. Tenbrook, Factoryville; Levi Morse, Litchfield, Pa.; A. Canfield, Smithboro; Rushton Smith, Factoryville; Francis H. Olmstead, Milltown. Most of these have passed to the great beyond but their wives, children and grandchildren are among our best known residents. The constitution contains many humorous sections among these the 5th which reads as follows: "The tellers shall keep the room occupied by the Society, in order-ie-see that it shall be kept swept, lighted and properly warmed, and shall also collect the votes and hand them to the secretary, who shall count the same. The by-laws state that the society shall meet each Friday eve at 6:45 p. m. (A somewhat early hour for these days). "The initiation fee shall be 12 cents" and "weekly dues three cents." The first meeting was held November 18th, 1859, and the following officers chosen: President, H. Payne; Vice President, J. Bosworth; Secretary, James Millspaugh; Treasurer, Guy Wyncoop; Teller, N. Lamphear. The subject chosen for the first debate was - Resolved, That the acquisition of Cuba to the United States would prove beneficial to the latter country." The decision was in favor of the affirmative. In January, 1860, a committee was appointed to act with a committee of citizens regarding a course of lectures to be given in Davis Hall. These were held during the winter and the following speakers were heard: Rev. Thomas K. Beecher of Elmira, William H. Bartlett, Hon. Nathan Bristol, Waverly; Hon. Wm. Shepard of SanFrancisco, Cal., Gabriel Smith of Elmira. March 23rd, 1860, the Society gave an "Exhibition" in Davis Hall, no complete program is given but the Secretary at that time - Chas. H. Morgan - in flowery language writes the minutes as follows: "At 7 1/2 o'clock Mr. Elmer (R. A.) the stage manager, made some introductory remarks which were very appropriate, reminding the audience of the feasts of literature they had listened to from eminent men and now had been invited to an exhibition of the society consisting of declamations, dialogues, tableaux, etc. Everything prospered in fine order and the exhibition was pronounced by all to be no secondary affair. The part of the exhibition performed by the ladies was a perfect success they being under the superintendance of Miss Green. The members of the Society Phil are very much indebted to the ladies for their assistance, and to Miss Green for her instructions. The Hall was crowded to its utmost capacity even down to the front of the stage. At eleven and a half o'clock the members of the Soc. Phil, retired to their respective homes to refresh themselves in the arms of Morpheous." At a meeting held Friday, April 12th, 1860, it was Resolved: "That the Literary Society known as the Soc. Phil. disband; that the business for the coming exhibition be kept entirely with the committee; that the meeting this evening be the last regular one, but there be a meeting held the 25th of April at 9 a. m. , when the books, viz: Treas. and Secy., and the lamps, etc., belonging to the Society be sold at auction to the highest bidder. ... and finally that after the aforesaid meeting be held the Soc. Phil. shall exist only in the memories of its members." Thus ends the history of one of the Institute societies and an interesting bit of local history. The names of the members are representative ones many of the minutes are in writing of Walter C. Hull, after whom our G. A. R. Post is named. Nine of its twenty-one members served in the Civil War and several died in southern prisons. Since that time others have been called home until only seven are now living. Most of the members however settled here and here are living their descendants.

September 16, 1910 The Waverly Free Press: Miss Dorothy Atwater of Park Place entertained at a luncheon Saturday which was one of the prettiest of the season. Covers were laid for twelve and the decorations were green and white. Following the repast, bridge was played by the guests, among whom were the Misses Mary Blood, Alice Westfall, Margaret Tew, Elizabeth and Agnes Moore, Gertrude Slaughter, Alice Lang, Dorothy Crandall, Georgia Duhig, Fresno, Dal, Catherine Bryam, Boston, Ethel Kinsmen, Oswego.

Mrs. Haggerty and Miss Florence Mapes of Goshen are guests of Mrs. S. W. Slaughter and daughter, Miss Gertrude.

Miss Gertrude Slaughter entertained Monday evening for her guest, Miss Florence Mapes. Bridge and 500 occupied the early part of the evening and Miss Mapes and Miss Duhig gave a number of piano and vocal numbers. Among the guests were the Misses Hazel and Laura Johnson, Alice Lang, Dorothy Atwater, Georgia Duhig, Elizabeth and Agnes Moore, Alice Westfall, Dorothy Crandall, Miss Mapes of Goshen, Miss Bryan of Boston. Messrs. Edwin Grafft, Thomas Appleget, Robert Johnson, Hernard Nelson, George Tilton, Harold Sawyer, Clay Thatcher, Lester Merrill, Earl Albertson, Fletcher Wynkoop, Chemung: Raymond Palmer, Brooklyn.

September 23, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: David W. Lougher of Waverly has received the contract for re-decorating the Catholic church at LaPort, Pa., and left for that place with his men Monday.

September 30, 1910 Elmira Star-Gazette: D. A. R. Chapter Luncheon. At the annual luncheon of Chemung Chapter D. A. R. held yesterday in the Federation Building about 75 of the ladies were present and enjoyed the five course luncheon. Mrs. Louise Park gave a program of beautiful harp selections during the afternoon and Dr. Vida Moore of Elmira College, the first vice regent of the Chapter presided. ... The following guests were present: Mrs. Frank C. Payne of Corning, Mrs. George Farley of Rerlands, Cal., Miss Frances Lewis of Wellsville, E. L. Roys of Goshen, Mrs. S. W. Slaughter of Waverly, Miss Newton of Chicago, Miss Marie Thomas of Ithaca.

October 14, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Estimable Young Man Dead. William H. Adams died at 11:30 Sunday night at home of his parents, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph W. Adams, at 441 Fulton street. Death was caused by a complication of diseases, in which kidney troubles predominated, and occurred after a lingering illness. Mr. Adams was first taken sick in June, but recovered so as to be able to go to work again. However, he was again stricken down on August 3rd, since which time he has steadily grown worse. Several weeks ago he was taken to Cambridge Springs for treatment, but his case baffled the skill of the physicians there, as it had here, and it has been known for some time that his recovery was impossible. Mr. Adams was twenty-three years of age and besides his parents is survived by one sister Mrs. M. L. Beebe, of New York, and his grandmother, Mrs. George B. Witter. For a number of years he has been employed as bookkeeper in the Tioga Steam Laundry, of which Mrs. Witter is proprietor, and was known as an industrious and conscientous young business man. Few young men in Waverly were more respected and although of a quiet and unassuming disposition, he had many friends who admired his many sterling qualities of head and heart. He was a steward and usher in the Methodist Episcopal church and an officer in it Sunday school, and will be much missed in theses organizations as one of their most faithful and efficient members. In the death of Mr. Adams the community loses a fine type of Christian manhood and many friends will mourn a gentle, kindly and helpful companion. The funeral was held on Wednesday afternoon. The Rev. Robert L. Clark, pastor of the Waverly Methodist Episcopal Church, officiated and in his sermon paid a fine tribute to the high character of the deceased. The floral tokens were remarkably numerous and beautiful, especially noticable among them being a large bunch of white roses given by his boy friends. The pallbearers were Robert Johnson, George Tilton, George Knapp, Thomas B. Appleget, Bernard Nelson and Robert Fish. Interment was made in Glenwood cemetery. Among those here from out of town to attend the funeral were: Hon. D. P. Witter, Mrs. F. A. Witter, Mrs. S. S. Dewitt, Mr. and Mrs. H. Thuillard and Lewis Morton, Berkshire; Mr. and Mrs. F. W. Witter, Newark Valley.

October 21, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Wellsburg. Mr. and Mrs. Henry Spear of Lockwood, spent Sunday with Mrs. Spear's sister, Mrs. Wm. Hillman. (Spear's rented 1/2 of the octagon home at 7 Athens street in 1920's)

Country Road Signboards. Town Board is Preparing to Have all the Principal Cross Roads Marked with Iron Signs. Will Be Welcomed By Travelers. About 150 Signs will be Erected on all Roads Leading to Villages About This Section. At a recent meeting of the Town Board, a committee was appointed to procure and erect signboards throughout the town for benefit of automobilists and other travelers. It consists of Justice C. O. Hoagland, Superintendent of Roads P. B. Johnson and Harry Ellis, the later representing the automobilists of the town. They have already made several trips through the country, mapping out the roads and designating the locations of the signs, and in a short time will order them from the manufacturer. It is proposed to put them up at every cross-road. They will show the distance to Waverly and for travelers going the other way the distance to nearby towns, Lockwood, VanEtten, Spencer, Halsey Valley, Barton, Sulphur Springs, Owego, Elmira, Chemung, etc. In the village they will be placed at the corner of North Chemung and Chemung, at the corner of Cayuta and Chemung and at the corner of Cayuta and North Chemung, and elsewhere. Through the entire town probably 150 signs will be erected. They are made of porcelain-enameled iron, blue in color with white letters and are of varying sizes, according to the number of names they contain, and are guaranteed not to scale, fade or tarnish in ten years. The work is a good one and will be much appreciated by automobilists and a distinct benefit to Waverly and the other villages of the town. It is suggested too that it would be an excellent idea for the village trustees to co-operate with the town board in the work and order street signs at the same time. They have contemplated putting them up for some time and by ordering with the town board could undoubtely save money by buying a large quantity.

Crowds Attend Hooks Fair. Biggest Thing of the Kind Ever Pulled Off in Waverly. Scene At Night Brilliant Spectacle. The Great Floor of the New Silk Mill is Surrounded by Booths and Merchants Make Fine Display. They're off. The Hooks started their big fair in the new silk mill on E. Broad St. Tuesday night and they did it with the snap and energy and sureness of success with which they run a race or start for a fire. The fair is a winner. The fact that the mill is quite a walk down Broad street from the center of town did not seem to interfere at all with the attendance and from seven o'clock to late in the evening there was a steady procession to the place. When one enters the big room he is disappointed at the size of the crowd, but a glance around shows that this is due to the immensity of the building, the floor being so large that with a thousand people present there would be over ten square feet of space for each. At no time Tuesday night was the place crowded, but the total paid admissions were close to 700. The doors were opened at seven o'clock and about eight o'clock the formal address of welcome was made by Assemblyman Frank L. Howard. He briefly reviewed the history of Waverly Hook and Ladder Co. and recounted a number of their victories and achievements, paying a high tribute to the efficiency not only of the Hooks but of all of Waverly's fire companies. He said that the boys liked to put up a good appearance and wanted uniforms and urged everyone to be liberal with a company that had done so much for the town without compensation. Everyone evidently took his advice, for from that time on the various booths were kept busy and the jingling of dimes and nickels was almost loud enough to drown the excellent music of the Waverly Band. There are plenty of chances for investment at the fair and it is a "tight wad" indeed who can resist the big bargains offered everywhere, the alluring smiles of the ladies in charge of the booths or the more strenuous efforts of the Hooks venders. One of the most difficult places to get by is the candy booth near the door, which is filled with sweet things and is one of the busiest places in the room. It is in charge of Misses Alberta Hern, Hazel Bell and Harriet Schoonmaker and Mrs. E. S. Coleman. On the right alternate the Hooks' booths and the displays of various merchants, all prettily decorated and all well filled with attractive articles. The kimona booth is in charge of Mrs. Frank Parmenter, Mrs. Lloyd Hedges, Mrs. John Whitley and Mrs. Wm. Everett. Next is a fine assortment of gentlemen's furnishings in charge of Charles Lewis. Highly attractive to the chidren especially is a doll booth in charge of Mrs. A. McKarrow, Mrs. Fred Thomas, Mrs. Fred Hess and Miss Flora McKarrow, and next door Unger & Ellis have a fine display of clothing. A comfortable place is the quilt booth in charge of Miss Hazel Parmenter, Mrs. Hattie Austin and Mrs. Charles Lewis and offers a splendid chance to prepare for cold winter nights at a reasonable cost. Mrs. Maud Wallaver has charge of the sale of flowers and potted plants and the apron booth, which did a big business all the evening, is in care of Mrs. Mary Thomas. Mrs. Frank Pittsley, Mrs. Fred Tucker, Mrs. Archie Kelsey, Mrs. Charles Gunderman and Miss May Hyatt offer rare bargains in the fancy goods department. G. L. Drake, assisted by Lena Crawford, shows and attractive exhibit of photographs, next to which is the Hooks' art gallery, conspicuous in which is D. W. Lougher's painting of a caged tiger, an excellent piece of realistic work. Next comes J. S. Hull & Son's displays of groceries and next to that a finely furnished bed-room, the exhibit of J. W. Knapp & Son. Arthur Gay and Fred Hess dispense Ice cream cones and moxie with a liberal hand next door and the Tioga Milling Co. ends the line with its display of poultry grain. This is by no means the extent of the fair, however, for in the corner Gould Tuthill, Ed. Beardslee and Harry Parmenter run the biggest kind of a grocery store, where you can buy anything from a box of matches to a ham. McGlenn & Co. occupy the end of the room with an attractive display of clothing and an electric sign. On the west side of the room is (Continued on Second Page.)

October 28, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: Cows for Sale - Fine choice fall cows, all young and heavy milkers. Also double knife corn cutter and light democrat wagon. Inquire Geo. B. Knapp, Waverly. (Married Gertrude Slaughter in 1915)

October 28, 1910 Waverly Free Press: Geo. B. Knapp, who for two years, past has been serving milk each day to a large number of customers in this village, has this week sold his milk route to the Waverly Creamery Co., and will sell his cows.

November 4, 1910 Waverly Free Press: Contractor L. F. Lyford began Friday the work of erecting the new balcony at the city hall. Workmen are now removing the brick and digging holes in the pavement at the curb for the concrete foundations on which the supporting pillars will rest.

Dancing Class. Miss Virginia VanAtta opens her school for dancing, Saturday, Nov. 5, at 2 o’clock, at Masonic Temple. Special attention given to small children.

Desirable Real Estate at Auction. James P. Campbell, administrator of the estate of the late Thomas Paul will sell at public auction, at Keystone Park, Sayre, Friday, Nov. 11, commencing at 10 o’clock the following pieces of real estate: The home farm, adjoining Keystone Park containing ten acres of land, with dwelling and several other buildings, Keystone Park, adjoining the homestead, containing about three acres. Five acres of garden land on Pennsylvania avenue Sayre. Twelve houses in South Waverly and Sayre. Coal yard at Lehigh crossing near Springs Corners. Several building lots in Sayre and Athens. A quantity of lumber and other personal property.

David Lougher, the decorator with two assistants, left last Monday for Jersey Shore, Pa., where he has the contract for decorating the Catholic cathedral at that place. He expects the work to take about two months.

Mrs. Dell Talcott and Mrs. Vandermark of Richard, are guests at the home of Mrs. C. Brink, Athens street. ( 6 Athens st., later, her son buys 8 Athens. st.)

November 25, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record: The condition of Mrs. Caroline Buck, who has for several weeks been ill at the home of her son, Capt. Charles L. Albertson, remains unchanged.

Mr. and Mrs. George Moffett of VanCouver, British Columbia are guests of the former's father, Gabriel Evans of Athens street. (7 Athens st. octagon home owned by Charlotte Slaughter at 208 Chemung st. Waverly, NY)

Mrs. Arminda Evans is home from a months visit with her sister at Penn Yan.

Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Knapp, Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Knapp Jr. and family, Mrs. and Mrs. H. W. Knapp and family and George Knapp spent Thanksgiving with Dr. and Mrs. H. L. Lockerby, at Ithaca.

Louis Lang of Brooklyn arrived in town today on a visit to his mother, Mrs. A. J. Lang, who is seriously ill.

December 16, 1910 "Waverly Free Press": Little Boy Recovering. Mrs. Gabriel Evans has now returned to her home in this village, after a long sojourn in Ithaca. Mrs. Evans has been in Ithaca all this time to assist in the care of her young son, Henry, whom, it will be remembered, was so terribly burned in the yard of his home on Athens street about a year and a half ago, while putting gasoline on a little fire he had built. The flesh was burned on the boy's back and sides and he was at once hurried to the Packer Hospital at Sayre. After some weeks he was returned to his home and later taken for treatment at the Ithaca hospital. The first attempt at skin grafting proved unsuccessful, but the surgeons and the mother have persevered and many friends and sympathizers here now rejoice to know that the boy is gaining nicely and it is hoped he will be able to return home by Christmas.

December 18, 1910 The Telegram, Elmira, N.Y.: HON. J. T. SAWYER. Death of One of the Most Eminent Citizens of Waverly, N. Y. Waverly, N .Y., Dec. 17 - At 9 o'clock yesterday morning the career of one of Waverly's most prominent citizen's came to a close when Hon. J. Theodore Sawyer died at his home on Chemung street, after an illness of six weeks of neuralgia. His condition was not considered dangerous until last Wednesday when he suffered an attack of apoplexy. During the last few days of his life he had been conscious only part of the time. He gradually grew weaker until yesterday morning when the end came. The deceased was born on Talmadge hill, October 8, 1834. He received his early education in the district school, finishing his schooling in Farmer's Hall academy, at Goshen, N. Y., after which he became engaged in the lumbering business, having large interests in Canada. He also owned a large planing mill and door and sash factory on Pennsylvania avenue. In the early sixties he became engaged in the banking business with his father and others. In 1875 he organized and established the Citizen's bank and was made its president, which office he has held until his death. He was a member of the committee which organized the present New York State Banker's association. It was chiefly through his efforts that the Waverly water company was organized in 1877. He has been president and treasurer of this organization since its organization. Mr. Sawyer was for many years interested in politics, having served in many political offices of the village, town and county. In 1878 he was sent to the assembly from this county and served as chairman of that body at the first session held in the new capitol building. He was an active member of the First Baptist church and this institution received many liberal gifts and much financial assistance from him. He was always a liberal giver to charities and was loved by a multitude of friends. In the death of Mr. Sawyer, Waverly loses one of its most highly respected citizens and most prosperous business men and his death casts a gloom over the entire community. The funeral will be held at the late home Monday afternoon at 3:30 o'clock. Rev. George A. Briggs, of Buffalo, will officiate, assisted by Rev. Miles.

December 20, 1910 Elmira Star-Gazette: Sawyer Funeral Largely Attended. Long, Active Life Was Devoted to Upbuilding of Village and Many Gather to Pay Last Tribute of Respect. Waverl, Dec. 20 - Many sorrowing friends gathered at the spacious Sawyer mansion yesterday afternoon to attend the funeral of the late J. Theodore Sawyer. Waverly has suffered a severe loss and will greatly miss Mr. Sawyer's counsel in business and municipal matters; many individuals and organizations will miss his assistance in a financial way. He was a man of many charitable acts but always observed the maxim of "Let not your left hand know what your right hand doeth," and very seldom his liberality was known. The Rev. George A. Briggs of Buffalo formerly pastor of Waverly Baptist Church, had charge of yesterday's funeral service and was assisted by Rev. J. E. Miles, the present pastor, who offered prayer. A quartet consisting of Mrs. Blackmore, Miss Wilcox and Messrs. Kinney and Harris sang two appropriate selections beautifully. Mr. Sawyer was a member of Newtown Chapter, Sons of American Revolution of Elmira, and the following members of the society attended the funeral: President, William H. Lovell; past president, Henry C. Hoffman; chaplain, The Rev. Charles H. McKnight, and Phillip G. Sawyer. The honorary bearers were: Dr. William E. Johnson, J. B. Floyd, Henry G. Merriam, Gilbert E. Foote, William C. Buck, Theodore Mills, A. J. Van Atta, C. F. Spencer. The active bearers were: James Owen, John C. Van Atta, G. E. Hawkes, John H. Murray, Louis J. Buley, Harold Watrous, F. W. Merriam, Frederick E. Lyford. The interment was in the Forest Home Cemetery.

December 23, 1910 "Waverly Free Press": Miss Gertrude Slaughter, of the Emma Willard School at Troy, is home for the Christmas vacation.

There will be matinees on Monday, Wednesday and Saturday at 2:30. Prices will be as follows: Gallery, five cents; Three rows in Balcony, ten cents; whole orchestra floor, ten cents. There will be two performances every evening; the first at 7:30 and the second at 9:00; but the people can come in at any time and stay as long as they wish. You will be able to see at the Loomis, beginning with Monday, exactly the same performance that you could see at the Happy Hour Theatre in Elmira. Vaudeville will change Monday and Thursday of each week.

Dances Next Week. Among the social events scheduled for next week are the following dancing parties. On Tuesday evening, the Delta Theta Delta young ladies will give a large party at Masonic Hall. A number of well known ladies will be the patronesses and a Towanda orchestra of nine pieces will furnish the music.

Our Leading Citizen Dead. ... Hon. J. T. Sawyer died at nine o'clock a.m. Friday at his home on Chemung street. He was taken ill some six weeks ago, the first illness being due to neuralgia. From this he recovered so that about a week later he was able to get out doors for a couple of days. He then had a relapse and, as the neuralgia manifested itself about the heart, the patient was during severe attacks of the disease, in a critical condition at times. However, his condition improved somewhat until Wednesday, Dec. 7, when he suffered a shock of apoplexy which left the larger part of his body paralized, though for a time he was conscious and able to talk with those about him, but from that time he gradually failed until the end came. (229 Chemung St.)

Joseph Theodore Sawyer was born Oct. 8, 1834, in the town of Barton, on what is now called Talmadge Hill, a son of John L. and Julia Smith Sawyer. The father, John L. Sawyer, with his brothers, Benjamin and Samuel, coming to this section from Orange county, were with the Ellises, Hannas and Talmages, the first settlers of what is now known as the town of Barton. As is usually the case, these early settlers, in selecting their farms, chose the hill lands rather than those of the more fertile valleys, because of the much better timber on the hills.

Theodore Sawyer obtained his education at the district school of the day, with two years at the Farmers' Hall Academy, at Goshen, Orange county, N. Y., and his early manhood was taken up with clearing the lands and lumbering in this vicinity. Later, with his father, he purchased large lumber interests in Canada and owned and operated a large planing mill and door and sash factory at the corner of Pennsylvania avenue and Erie street, in this village. He was also among those who were interested in the development of the oil territory at Pit Hole, in the Bradford district of Pennsylvania.

In the sixties, in company with his father and TenEyek Depuy, he established the banking house of J. T. Sawyer & Co., the banking office being situated in the store at the corner of Broad and Fulton streets, now occupied by H. M. Ferguson & Co., which business was sold about 1870, because of the ill health of Mr. Sawyer. In 1874, after returning from a trip abroad, he organized and established the Citizens Bank, becoming its President, which office he has continued to hold since that time, and in this, which has been his principal work for thirty-six years, he has built up one of the most solid and substantial institutions of its class in the State. Among the bankers of the State, he has always been held in high esteem and was a member of the committee which organized the present New York State Bankers' Association.

However, Mr. Sawyer has also been interested in other local enterprises, the most prominent of which is probably the Waverly Water Works Company. In the seventies, he was one of those who most keenly felt the need of a system of water works for this growing village and for a long time, both in public meetings and in private conversation, urged that the municipality should take hold of the matter and construct such a system, but, as a majority of those in control of the village declined to take up the matter, he, with others, organized, in 1877, the Waverly Water Works Company, of which company he has been the President and Treasurer since its organization. The actual work of constructing the water system was not begun until August, 1880, but from that time to the present, Mr. Sawyer has given his personal attention to both the construction and operation of the system, and it was chiefly through his efforts that this has been brought to its present state of efficiency.

In other local enterprises Mr. Sawyer has also been interested and, aside from those mentioned above, he has for some time been a Director and the Treasurer of the Loomis Opera House Company and the Treasurer of the Cayuta Land Company. He was also a member of the Elmira Chapter of the Sons of the American Revolution, in which organization he was greatly interested.

For many years, Mr. Sawyer was active in the political affairs of the village, the town and the county. For several years he served as a Trustee of the Village and as its President. For a number of terms, he was Supervisor of the town of Barton as was his father before him. He was one of the original members of the Waverly Board of Education, under our present school system.

For the years, 1878 and 1879, he was the representative of Tioga County in the Assembly at Albany and served as the temporary chairman of that body at the first sesssion held in the new capitol building. Mr. Sawyer drew, introduced and got through the legislature the law changing the system of electing school trustees, so that in the larger districts, the electors vote by ballot the day after they are nominated.

A short time after Mr. Sawyer returned from the legislature he was offered the position of Superintendent of Banks of the State of New York, and was urged to take it, but he declined the offer on account of his own private business and local affairs.

At Goshen, Conn., in 1873, Mr. Sawyer married Miss Alice Lyman, who survives him, together with one daughter, Miss Ellen Lyman Sawyer.

In the death of Hon. J. T. Sawyer, Waverly loses one who has for nearly half a century been one of her most prominent business men, one who has ever been interested in the progress and development of the village and one whose honesty and integrity has never been questioned.

In charitable matters, Mr. Sawyer has always been very generous, and in many cases, the source of the benefaction has been unknown to the recipient. In church matters he has always been liberal, especially in his contributions to the Baptist Church of Waverly. When the pipe organ was installed, Mr. Sawyer told Mr. Briggs, the pastor that if there was any deficiency, he would pay it. When the church was re-decorated and re-furnished, Mr. Sawyer made the same pledge, and when sufficient funds were raised so that there was no deficiency, he told Mr. Briggs to have the church painted and send the bill to him. The same was true in doing over the parsonage and building the new porch on the same, and in work of this kind, the name of the giver was uknown except to a few intimate friends because he was always very quiet in his manner and business.

Mr. Sawyer had traveled extensively through Europe and Egypt, all over this country, including Alaska, through the West Indies, South America and Mexico. He was a great reader, and gave talks before different associations, descriptive of his travels. His great scope of knowledge and information on state and national affairs was well known to his associates. He was one of the most prominent and active men in erecting the Sullivan monumemnt, at Lowman.

It is hard to estimate the value for good of such a man in the community. His great loss will be felt, not only by his family and intimate associates, but by the entire community, for he was a man of high ideals and of the strictist integrity.

Waverly has lost one of her best citizens and one of her most respected business men.

The funeral took place from the home on Chemung street at 3:30 Monday, a large number being present.

The services were conducted by Rev. Geo. A. Briggs of Buffalo, for seven years pastor of the Waverly Baptist Church, assisted by Rev. J. E. Miles, the present pastor. In his short address Mr. Briggs spoke of Mr. Sawyer as he had known him during is residence here. He called especial attention to the great benefit Mr. Sawyer had been to this community, to his many noble qualities and referred to his willingness, though he was a man of strong mind and ways of his own, to fall in with plans of others and give generous aid in many public matters.

The singing was by a quartet composed of Mrs. Louise Blackmore, Miss Mame Wilcox, H. H. Kinney and W. T. Harris.

A large quantity of flowers, including many beautiful pieces, were sent by friends and various organizations, as evidence of their friendship and esteem, and during the hour of the funeral practically all to the business places in Waverly were closed, as were the schools of the village.

The honorary bearers selected for the occasion were Dr. W. E. Johnson, H. G. Merriam, Hon. J. B. Floyd, A. J. Van Atta, C. F. Spencer, W. C. Buck, G. E. Foot, E. W. Horton and Theo. Mills, while the active bearers were J. H. Owen, J. C. Van Atta, F. E. Hawkes, J. H. Murray, F. E. Lyford, F. W. Merriam, L. J. Buley and H. C. Watrous.

Among the friends who were here from out of town were four members of the Newtown Battle Chapter, Sons of the American Revolution of Elmira - Wm. H. Lovell, Rev. Chas. McKnight, Phillip Sawyer and Harry Hoffman. Others from Elmira were Mr. and Mrs. Charles Rappalia, Mr. and Mrs. Edward J. Steele, Mrs. Henry Spaulding, Mrs. Kate Parsons, from Rochester, Mrs. Moses Lyman, Mr. and Mrs. Moses Lyman, Jr., Charles DePuv; from Owego, John Gorman and Frank S. Truman; from Ithaca Harold M. Sawyer; from Port Jervis, Miss Eleanor Van Etten; from Homer, Mrs. Harry B. Winters; from Ridgebury, N. J. Daniel Bacon. Many of the business men from Sayre and Athens were present together with many friends from surrounding nearby towns.

George B. Knapp is getting his initiation this week as "cub" reporter for the Free Press-Record in Waverly. Any news item you wish to get in the paper George will attend to. He also has his instructions regarding those you want to keep out of the paper.

Ralph W. Knapp, son of Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Knapp arrived home yesterday from Wellington Washington, where he has just completed a job as the superintendent of construction work in the building of steel and concrete sheds over the North Pacific railway. Mr. Knapp has been in the state of Washington for over a year and expects to return there about Feb. 15th. (George Knapp's brother)

Mrs. Elvira Lyford Lang, who has been ill and gradually failing for some time, died about four o'clock Tuesday afternoon, at the home of her son, Percy L. Lang on Chemung street, aged 76 years. In the death of Mrs. Lang Waverly loses one who has for more than half a century been closely identified with all that has tended to advance the moral, educational and religious interests of the community. Her early life was spent in the state of Maine, she being educated at the Waterville Classical Academy in that state. In the fall of 1857, she came to Waverly as the bride of Prof. Andrew Lang, who had been engaged as the first principal of the Waverly Institute, which had just been established by a stock company and was opened in November, 1857. For thirteen years, or until his death, in 1870. Prof. Lang continued at the head of the school and to him, perhaps more than to any other man in the history of this section, is due the solid foundations upon which were builded the educational interests of Waverly. In the early years of the Institute, especially during the civil war, the man at the head of the new educational institution had a hard struggle, but he persevered and succeeded in establishing a school that was a most prominent one in its day and one of which the people of Waverly will always speak with pride. In all his work Prof. Lang was ably seconded and assisted by his young wife, and, being a talented musician, for 51 terms she had charge of the Department of Music in the Institute. In all this work Mrs. Lang made for herself a warm place in the hearts, not only of the pupils, but of the people of Waverly generally, and, as the years have gone by since, the feeling of respect for her and the appreciation of her many noble qualitites, as a teacher, as a wife, a mother and one of the foremost citizens of the village, have increased year by year, and a large number of the people of the village will feel her death as a personal loss. In the Presbyterian church, in the W. C. T. U., in the musical organizations and all matters of general public welfare she has always been very active. In the orgainzation of the Institute Association, two years ago, and in the work of getting together the names and addresses of the former pupils, she took an important part and wrote many letters and accomplished a work such as few others were able to. Mrs. Lang is survived by two sons, Percy L. Lang of this village, and Louis Lang who has for some years held a prominent position on the New York American, also by two brothers and two sisters - Frederick E. and James M. Lyford of this village, Mrs. Maria Thomas of Brooklyn, N. Y., and Mrs. Walter Campbell of SanFrancisco. The funeral of Mrs. Lang was held at the home of Mr. Percy L. Lang at 2:30 yesterday afternoon the Rev. Parke Richards officiating and interment was in Glenwood cemetery. The pallbearers were Percy L. Lang, Louis Lang, Fred E. Lyford, Munroe Lyford, Charlie and Percy Lyford. The services were largely attended by the many friends of the deceased.

December 30, 1910 Waverly Free Press: Dr. and Mrs. Walter Lockerby of Ithaca will spend Christmas with Mr. and Mrs. Harry Knapp, on Waverly street. (Gertrude Slaughter's future brother-in-law when she marries George B. Knapp in 1915.) (The former Knapp house is said to be at 455 Waverly Street.)

The girls of the Delta Theta Delta society entertained their gentlemen friends at an enjoyable dance Tuesday evening in Masonic hall. The hall was prettily decorated with evergreen and ground pine and presented a most attractive appearance. Walker's orchestra of Towanda furnished delightful music for thirty couples that were present. Delicious refreshments were served.

Henry Evans, who was so badly burned over a year ago and has been at the Ithaca hospital for treatment for so long, was able to return to his home here Saturday. He stood the journey well, and as all the skin grafting is now completed and healing nicely, he will not have to return to the hospital. (7 Athens Street Waverly, NY, living in Slaughter's Octagonal Rental home)

Search ZehrEstate.comZehr Estate Waverly NY 14892
zehrestate.com