Zehr Estate

News Clips 1795 thru 1879

A Glance Into the Past

We would like to thank the Fulton History website for historical newspapers. We use this site for searching "Old New York State Historical Newspaper Pages"

We would also like to thank Don Merrill for use of his private collection for our research. Thanks also to Barb Koehn for her assistance. As of 2015, we thank the Waverly Historical Society's museum for the research I am able to do there.

General T. Thomas, Revolutionary War Hero, of Westchester county, NY, was given a military grant to buy land in this area. This included all of what is now Waverly, NY.

1795 - Thomas Thomas sold 1,000 acres of the land to John Shepard for $5,000. This tract of land did include all of present day Waverly. This area was all wilderness covered by thick forest except for a large open field, supposed to have been cleared by the Indians for a corn field. John Shepard had been employed after the close of the revolution as an Indian trader. He was popular with the Indians and went by the name of "Conidehetcut" among them.

Taken from Our County And Its People. Tioga County New York, 1897 pages 634 & 635: JOHN SHEPARD, who is so prominently mentioned in connection with the pioneer and early history of both Barton and this region of country in another department of this work, was born in Connecticut April 17, 1765. His first wife was Anna Gore, born February 8, 1772, and died September 7, 1805. They were married January 3, 1790, and had these children; Prentice, who died young; Isaac, born February 16, 1793, and was a prominent figure in early history in this region; Miama, who married with Jesse Floyd and died on Long Island; Amanda, who married with Charles Hopkins and lived and died in the Susquehanna valley; Julianna, who married with George A. Perkins, of Athens, she was a lady of cultivated literary tastes, the author of valuable historical works, and died January 4, 1824; Job, a farmer, who spent his life in the Susquehanna valley, and by whose marriage with a Miss Ellsworth reared a family of prominence; Phebe, who married with John Hepburn, of Auburn. The second wife of John Shepard was Deborah Hawkins, born in 1778. The children of this marriage were Ruth, Lettie, John L., Mary (wife of Silas Fordham), and Joseph Shepard. John, the pioneer, died in Barton, May 15, 1837, and his wife, Deborah, January 18, 1844. Isaac Shepard, son of John the pioneer, married with Deborah Mills; who bore him these children; Charles Henry, Edward Prentice, William Wickham, Isaac (died on steamer Oregon in the Pacific), Mary Elizabeth, Anna, and Martha Shepard. Charles Henry Shepard was born December 2, 1814, and has been for many years a prominent figure in business and social circles in Waverly, a merchant, banker, real estate dealer, and public spirited citizen. His wife was the daughter of Dr. William Magee, of Paterson, N. J. Of their four children only one survives, Isaac Prentice Shepard, of Waverly.

1813 - John Shepard sold to his son, Isaac Shepard a large amount of land for $2,000, which Isaac made payments on and paid off in the year 1817. Our property was included in this.

1824 - Isaac Shepard sold some of the farm land to Aaron Jackson for $645.00 starting at the 60th mile stone at the PA/NY line. Aaron Jackson paid this off in the year 1831. Elder Aaron Jackson had his house on or near Waverly street and his blacksmith shop at 208 Chemung street where our current house stands. The blacksmith shop must have been built in this time period. Elder Jackson also had a barn in this vicinity. These original buildings are all gone. Our property was included in this land that Aaron Jackson purchased.

1824 - General Thomas Thomas died, buried in Purchase, Westchester county, N. Y.

Taken from Early Wills of Westchester County, New York, from 1664 to 1784, New York, Francis P. Harper 1898: page 330 - 624. Hon. John Thomas. "God's will be done, and this is the will of John Thomas. ESQ of Harrisons Purchase." "I leave to my wife and faithful partner Abigail ?500." To sons John and Thomas all the house and lands where I now live, on the west side of Blind Brook. John is to have the north part. Leaves to daughters Sybil - He was son of Rev. John Thomas, who came to Hempstead, L.I., 1754. His son, Hon. John Thomas, was born in 1705 and settled in Westchester County. He married Abigail, daughter of John Sands, February 19, 1729. He was first judge of Westchester County, and member of Provincial Assembly. During the Revolution he was an exceedingly active patriot, and on that account was particularly obnoxious to the British. He was seized in his bed on the morning of March 22, 1777, carried to New York, and confined in the Provost, and died there on May a following. His remains were buried in Trinity churchyard. His son John was High Sheriff of Westchester, 1776. His second son, Major General Thomas Thomas, was a distinguished officer and member of the State Legislature. He married Katharine, daughter of Nicoll Floyd of Smithtown, L. I., and sister of Charles Floyd, who married his sister Margaret. General Thomas died May 29, 1824, aged seventy-nine. His wife died January 15, 1825, in her seventy-ninth year. Leaving no children, their estate went to the heir of his sister Charity, wife of James Ferris. (Thomas Thomas had 4 children: Charles Floyd, died 1802, Gloriana, died young, Nancy, died 1795 and Catharine.) (Thomas Thomas' siblings: John Thomas, William Thomas - died young, Sibyl Thomas married Abram Field, Charity Thomas married James Ferris, Margaret Thomas married Charles Floyd and Glorianna Thomas married James Franklin.)

1826 NY New York Spectator: All Persons having any claims against the Estate of General Thomas Thomas, late of the town of Harrison, in the county of Westchester, deceased, are hereby requested to present the same for adjustment, to William Barker, of the town of Whiteplains, in the said county of Westchester, or Heathcoat Floyd, of the town of Chemung, in the county of Tioga. And all persons indebted to said estate are requested to make immediate payment to either of the undersigned. William Barker, Heathcoat Floyd, Executors, & c. of Thos. Thomas dec. Whiteplains, April 28th, 1826.

June 25, 1831 At Wheat Plains, Pa, on the 15th inst. Mr. Alfred Wells to Miss Lydia Nice, daughter of John Nice of the former place. (Nyce, spelling variation. These were Charlotte Wells Slaughter's parents.)

Elder Aaron Jackson was pastor of the Athens and Chemung Baptist Church during 1833-1834. At that time the church was located at Factoryville (East Waverly) on the south side of Chemung street nearly opposite Ball Street. In May of 1836, the name of the church was changed to the First Baptist of Factoryville. In 1843, the brick church was erected on Ithaca Street. In 1853, the church changed its name to the Baptist Church of Chemung and Waverly. In August 1862, they decided to sell the Brick Church in Factoryville and to erect a new church closer to the center of Waverly. In 1864, they purchased the current site on Park Avenue. The new church was completed in the autumn of 1865. The new church was a frame structure with steeple. This was most likely the church that was built by Azariah Vanatta. This new church was known as the Baptist Church and Society. In 1876, the name was changed to the First Baptist Church of Waverly. In 1890 plans were made to build the present church which is brick. The new brick church was erected on the site of the older one, which was moved to the rear of the lot to be used for Sunday school, prayer meetings, and social services. (Azariah J. VanAtta was the designer and builder of the former "Slaughter Residence", now our Zehr Estate)

January 23, 1834 Newburgh Telegraph page 2: Married. ...On the 9th inst. by the Rev. Mr. Baldwin Mr. Dewitt Slaughter of Hamptonburgh, to Miss Caroline, daughter of Samuel Mills, Esq. of Walkill.... (Dewitt and Caroline Slaughter along with their two living children, Samuel and Antonette, moved to 208 Chemung St. in 1857. Dewitt Slaughter purchased the lot with rectangular shaped home on it from T. J. Brooks)

1835 - Aaron Jackson and his wife, Asenath, sold their house and 45 acres of farm land to Gilbert Hallett for $1,200. Our property was included in this. The blacksmith shop must have been built and on the site after 1824 and maybe demolished sometime after 1835 and probably before 1849.

1837, John Shepard died.

June 20, 1837 Accession of Victoria , United Kingdom

April 1838 Argus Albany, NY: The people of the state of New York, to Jane Slaughter, the widow, and De Witt Slaughter, of the town of Hamptonburgh; Joseph Slaughter, Henry Moore and Fanny his wife, of the town of Wallkill; Ellison C. Scott and Harriet his wife, of the town of Newburgh; Benjamin Slaughter and Archibald Slaughter, of the town of Warwick, all of the county of Orange and state of New York; John Slaughter, James Slaughter and Isaac Slaughter of the town of Benton, county of Yates and state aforesaid; Jeremiah Slaughter, of the state of Indiana, town and county unknown; Andrew Rogers and Martha his wife, of the state of New Jersey, town and county unknown; Daniel Watkins and Catharine his wife, of the state of Ohio, town and county unknown; the heirs at law of Elizabeth Whiteside, deceased, the names of whom are unknown, except Robert and Isaac Whiteside, of the town of Montgomery, county of Hamlton and state of Ohio; and the said Archibald Slaughter, special guardian of Nancy S. Millspaugh and Amelia Slaughter, of the town of Hamptonburgh aforesaid, infants, the next of kin of Isaac Slaughter, late of the town of Hamtonburgh, in the county of Orange, deceased: You are hereby cited to be and appear before the surrogate of the county of Orange, at his office in the village of Goshen in said county, on the fourth day of June next, at ten o'clock in the forenoon of that day, to attend the probate of a certain instrument in writing, purorting to be the last will and testament of said deceased, bearing date the twenty-seventh day of May, in the year our Lord one thousand eight hundred and thirty-seven, on the application of William H. Slaughter, claiming to be one of the executors thereof; which said will relates to both real and personal estate. In testimony whereof, we have caused the seal of office of our said surrogated of the county of Orange to be hereunto affixed. Witness, John B. Booth, surrogate of the said county, at Goshen in said county, the fourteenth day of April, in the year one thousand eight hundred and thirty-eight. JNO. B. BOOTH, Surrogate. (This is relating to the death of Isaac Slaughter, Dewitt Slaughter's father)

September 17, 1839 Albany NY Evening Journal: CHEMUNG COUNTY YOUNG MEN'S WHIG CONVENTION. A Convention of the Whig Young Men of the county of Chemung convened at Fairport, Sept. 4, 1839, for the purpose of choosing delegates to attend the Democratic Whig Young Men's Senatorial Convention to be held at Owego, on the 18th...The Convention was called to order:... The object of the Convention having been stated, on calling over the towns, the following persons appeared, and took their seats as members of the Convention, ... Big flats-... Chemung - Dix - ... Catlin - ...Elmira - ...Erin - ...Veteran - ... On motion...The committee...On motion... ...reported the names of the following persons as delegates: ... Chemung - J Lowman, Jr. G W Buck, T J Brooks, Joseph Foulke, Jr. John Mitchell, Gorden Snell. ... Resolved, ... (T. J. Brooks purchased the lot where the main house at 208 Chemung street stands in 1849-50 from Andrew S. Rice. Brooks had his home built there which shows up on an 1853 map as being rectangular in shape.)

In 1840, 202 and 208 Chemung Street contained some of the original buildings of Waverly. None of the buildings remain (blacksmith shop owned by Elder Aaron Jackson, Isaac Shepard's barns and more)

September 3, 1844 Thomas Jefferson Brooks married Cynthia Lowman.

1846 - Gilbert Hallett sold part of the above mentioned 45 acres of farm land to Andrew S. Rice for $1,900, which included our property. (Andrew S. Rice lived in the octagon home which originally stood in the yard just west of the current house at 208 Chemung Street, Waverly, NY) For more on the octagon home

1847 - Postage stamps were first used in the United States in 1847.

February 11, 1847, Thomas and Cynthia Brooks have a daughter born, Rosamond Lillis Brooks. (Owned just the lot where main house stands from 1849-1857. They built the first house on this property, which was most likely incorporated into the current home)

1849 - Andrew S. Rice sold just the lot where the main house now stands at 208 Chemung Street to Thomas J. Brooks for $400.00 which he paid off in 1853 (according to mortgage records in Owego).There is a rectangular shaped house on an 1853 map. Also on the 1853 map is the octagon home on the west side of our main house, our yard on Chemung Street, owned by Andrew S. Rice. It appears that Thomas J. Brooks built the first house (1849 -1853) on the site of where our main house now stands. The octagon house may have been built around 1846 to 1849.

In 1849, the New York and Erie Railroad opens for traffic. This is when and why the businesses that originally started out on the corners and in the vicinity of Waverly and Chemung streets thought they better move down to Broad street. Also, those in Factoryville thought the same thing, move closer or to Broad street.

1850 Rice's octagon home on Chemung street was worth $1,000.

April 1, 1850, Andrew S. Rice and wife, Eliza S. Rice, sold to Thomas J. Brooks and Cynthia Lowman Brooks, his wife. (Lot where main house now stands)

1850 census, 7 years before Dewiit Slaughter and his family move to Waverly: Dewitt Slaughter 47 years old, farmer, his wife Caroline Slaughter 38 yrs old, son Sam W. Slaughter 13 yrs old, daughter Antoinette Slaughter 4 years old, laborer Thomas Hamilton 28 yrs old born in Ireland, Anthony Conner 14 yrs old born in NY, Martha I. Millspaugh 13 yrs old. Living in Hamtonburgh, Orange county, NY.

By 1852, T.J. Brooks opened a general store on Broad Street. He previously had a store in Factoryville (East Waverly) on Cayuta Avenue.

April 2, 1852 The Luminary: on corners of Chemung and Waverly streets in 1852, were: southeast corner (202 Chemung St.), Joseph Chambers, dealer in cabinet furniture, chairs & c. southwest corner (Current Methodist Church), J. Reel, Waverley hotel. (used the second "e")

Among the numerous buildings erecrted within the past few months, we would mention the elegant mansions of Senator Bristol, and H. M. Moore, Esq., on Chemung street, and especially that of Mr. Bristol, which is located on a rise of ground overlooking the country for miles around. But still the work of improvement is going on, and new buildings are being put up in every part of our Village, and strangers are daily enquiring for stores and dwellings.

To give our readers at a distance, and idea of the rapidity with which we are moving along we will give a list of the buildings now under contract, and to be erected as fast as they can be put up, viz: On Broad Street - B. H. Davis, three brick stores, three stories high. P. B. Snyder, brick hotel, four stories high. G. Myers, machine shop and dwelling house. Wm. Manners, store and bakery. Mr. Johnson, Carriage shop. La Fayette Perkins, dwelling house. R. A. Elmer, marble shop. A. H. Rood, dwelling house. C. Hay, store. Fulton Street- A. Jarvis, dwelling house. J. Barto, dwelling house. G. Simonson, two dwelling houses. D. W. C. Millspaught, dwelling house. Peter Velie, dwelling house. Waverly Street - J. E. Hallett, two dwelling houses. Hunt & Hanford, stores. R. Swain dwelling house. A. Larnarnd, dwelling house ... Pennsylvania Avenue- G. W. Brown, dwelling house. D. Mills, dwelling house. Howard Street - Owen Spalding, dwelling house. Loder Street - Jacob Reel, large hotel. Providence Street - N. J. Newell, academical building, 42x88 feet, and four stories high, to be built of brick. The above list of buildings, will be up and finished in a short time.

Waverley -Its Business Men, & c. (notice the second "e" in Waverley). ...T. J. Brooks, dealer in dry goods, groceries, & c., in Spalding block.

April 3, 1853 New York Herald: The public recognition of Rev. Aaron Jackson as pastor of the North Baptist church, in this city, will take place at their meeting house, corner of Christopher and Bedford streets, on Thursday evening, April 7th, at 7 1/2 o'clock.

April 17, 1853 The New York Herald: The public recognition of Rev. Aaron Jackson as pastor of the North Bapist Church, in this city, took place in their meeting house, corner of Christopher and Bedford streets, on Thursday evening, April 7.

November 28, 1853 New-York Daily Tribune: For Sale or Exchange for Western Land. - Two Store Houses, 22 by 50 feet, two-stories high, well situated for business, about 100 yards from the New-York and Erie Railroad Depot in the flourishing village of Waverly, Tioga County, N. Y. Also a beautiful Gothic Dwelling House on one-and-one-fourth acre of Land, within fifteen minutes' walk of said Depot. Waverly contains 2,000 inhabitants and is rapidly increasing; is situated at the head of the North Branch Canal, between the Susquehanna and Chemung Rivers, where the Philadelphia and Waverly Railroad, and the Sodus Bay and Waverly Railroad is to terminate. The very superior advantages of Waverly and its very desirable location, had caused its growth to its present size within the last 5 years, and it is destined in a short time, to vie with any town west of New - York City. For further particulars, address or apply to Wood & Brooks, Hamilton-av., cor. President-st. South Brooklyn.

February 21, 1854 New-York Daily Tribune: Married. Jackson-Quigley - ON Sunday evening, 19th inst., by the Rev. Mr. Gillette, the Rev. Aaron Jackson, Pastor of the North Baptist Church, to Miss Martha Quigley of this city.

March 22, 1854: The Broome Republican: Paymaster - We learn that T. J. Brooks, of Waverly, has been appointed paymaster on the New York and Erie Road. The Waverly Advocate speaks in high terms of the appointee.

April 5, 1854 The Broome Republican: ...T. J. Brooks also of Tioga County, but a few days since was appointed paymaster for the Susquehanna division.... (N. Y. & E. R. R.)

June 1, 1854 Binghamton, Broome County, N. Y.: ... Barton - organized by act of March 23, 1824. Taken from Tioga. The first families resident in this town, were those of Ebenezer Ellis, senior, and Stephen Mills. Mr. Ellis was from Wyoming and settled first, in 1787, on the Samuel Walker farm, in the town of Nichols, lived there about four years and then, 1791, disposing of his possession, removed to Barton, settling near the mouth of Ellis creek. About the same time, Mr. Mills, who had also, at first located in Nichols, changed his residence to Barton. He shared in our national struggle and became a pensioner under the act of 1832. At this time, a man by the name of Aikens lived near where the village of Barton now is, upon a tract of nine hundred acres, of which Mr. Gilbert Smith afterward became the purchaseer. Another early settler, was Ezekiel Williams, upon what has been since known as the Williams lot, and a family by the name of Curry lived at an early day in this town, but removed soon to Pennsylvania. John Hanna was an early pioneer in this town, removing with his family from Wyoming, about the year 1793. He died only a few years since, universally respected, at the remarkable age of 101 years. He was a soldier of the revolution, and a pensioner under the act of 1832. William Bensley, Luke Sunders, also a pensioner, and James Swartwood, were early settlers here. Some of the early pioneers upon Cayuta creek, in this town, were Charles Bingham, Layton Newell, Lyon C. Hedges and Philip Crans, Justus Lyons, John Manhart, and a family by the name of Reed, were early settlers upon that stream, and Silas Woolcott upon Ellis creek, who afterward removed to Ithaca. George W. Buttson was an owner of a saw-mill, built at Barton village in the early history of this town, from whom the creek, which passess through that village, received its name. John Shepard an emigrant from Connecticut, the father of Isaac Shepard and brothers, after his marriage with a daughter of Obadiah Gore, a distinguished pioneer of Bradford county, settled at Milltown, a short distance below the South line of this town in 1790-2. He was a resident at Tioga Point, it is believed, some five or six years earlier. The venerable Thomas Wilcox, now living near Milltown, upon the farm where he settled in 1799, was an emigrant from Lee, Berkshire county Mass. Gilbert Smith, after his removal from Nichols, became permanently a resident of this town. As a gentleman of energy and enterprise, his name for a number of years has been intimately associated with the early history of his town, in the transaction of business connected with extensive land agencies and otherwise. He has now reached the great age of 84 years. Elisha Saterlee became a resident of Athens on the East side of the river, not far below the South line of this town, in the spring of 1788. He was in the Continental service during the whole period of the war, and had the honor of having in his possession and honorable-discharge, under the hand and seal of Washington. The distinguished and intrepid Col. John Franklin, his confidential friend and co-laborer through all the trying scenes of Wyoming, soon after, took up his residence at Athens; and with Maj. Zephon Flower, their neighbor, also a revolutionary soldier of marked merit, who is still living at the great age of ninety years, they formed a trio of distinguished patriots, whose Roman virtues should not go unrecorded. It may be mentioned here, that Stephen Bidlack, a son of Captain James Bidlack, who fell at the head of the Wilkesbarre company in the Wyoming battle, and step-son of Col. Franklin, by the subsequent marriage of the latter with the widow of the patriot Captain, resided in the same vicinity until his removal to the town of Spencer, in the year 1800, where he died, in March 1849. He married Lois, daughter of the patriot, Captain Samuel Ransom, who fell in the same battle. She still survives; having attained to a very venerable age. ...

1854 Waverly was incorporated. On April 25, 1853, a formal application to incorporate the village of Waverly was made by H. S. Davis, Owen Spalding, T. J. Brooks, W. A. Brooks, R. O. Crandall, Richard A. Elmer, Alvah Jarvis and others. On December 12, 1853, a notice for a call of election was made and on January 18, 1854, voters of the village cast a total of 158 votes; 114 for and 44 against. The election was held at the old hotel, run by James Whitaker, on the corner of Chemung and Waverly streets. {the hotel was at current day 159a Chemung Street, northwest corner of Waverly and Chemung streets. It was a previous building on that lot that was destroyed by fire in 1856.}

Joseph Hallett, chose and copied the name from Sir Walter Scott's "Waverley" and dropped the second "e", but for several years, it was still spelled "Waverley." The first village officers were elected on March 27, 1854.

From the Waverly Advocate of February 19, 1885: Historical. Waverly, its History, Growth, and Development, With a Brief Review of the Early History of Tioga County. A large tract of land extending from the Chemung river to Shepard's creek, and from the State line north, a much greater distance, was originally known as the Benedict Location, as indicated on a map published in the early part of this century. On the east of Shepard's creek was a large tract known as Lorillard's patent, and in this Peter Lorillard, after the manner of English noblemen, had reserved a manor of "barton" and from here came the name Barton as applied to this town.
Waverly is situated on the southern boundary of the Benedict Location and in the southwest corner of Tioga county, as now established.
The name "Waverly" was not officially applied to the place until the year 1854 prior to that time it having been known as Factoryville. In that year the village was incorporated and at a meeting held in Brigham's hotel, it was given the name "Waverly" at the suggestion of Mr. J. E. Hallet, who borrowed the name from Scott's immortal productions. Several other names which were "Shepardsville," "Davisville" and "Loder", the latter being in honor of Benjamin Loder, vice-president of the then recently completed Erie railway. Many favored this name and it lacked but a few votes of being chosen.

From the Waverly Advocate Of March 12, 1885: Historical. Waverly, its History, Growth, and Development, With a Brief Review of the Early History of Tioga County. ... Another interesting fact that we have learned since the publication of the earlier numbers, and that appears to have been forgotten by all, save one or two of the older residents, is that until about 1840, '45, the little settlement on Chemung street was called "Villemont," a name given it by Isaac Shepard. This name preceded that of "Waverly," and was used to designate the settlement from "Factoryville" and was the first name given to the village. After this the place was called "Villemont" "Waverly" "Loder", etc., until in 1854, as stated in a previous number, the village was incorporated and at a ballot taken at a meeting of citizens, the name Waverly was selected. The name was then, and for several years afterwards, spelled, "Waverley."

From The Binghamton Press of February 3, 1954: Judge Clohessy Tells History of Waverly. Owego- Tioga County Judge Francis J. Clohessy, guest speaker at the annual dinner of the Waverly Chamber of Commerce held Monday night at O'Brien's Restaurant in Route 17, used the coming Waverly centennial this summer in the development of his speech. ... "Waverly," taken from the Waverley novels of Sir Walter Scott. "Factoryville was the father of the Village of Waverly," Judge Clohessy stated. "It was located near the Cayuta Creek, or Shepard's Creek and on the Towanda-Ithaca Turnpike and named by reason of the number of mills and factories erected along the creek." ... With the completion of the Erie Railroad in 1849, the erection of buildings and business establishments in the vicinity of the first depot led to the gradual movement of the settlement of what is now Waverly. In 1853, with a population of between 700 and 800 people, the need for water, police and fire protection developed, leading to a movement for the incorporation of a village. ... On Jan. 28, the certificate was endorsed by County Judge Charles P. Avery and filed in the Tioga County Clerk's office. On March 27, 1854, the first village election was held with five trustees elected and Hiram M. Moore chosen its first president. {Waverly absorbs Factoryville in 1889, see November 28, 1889 article}

1855 New York Morning Courier, NY: Some twenty persons are sufferers by the late fire in Waverly on the Erie Railroad. The largest loser is Owen Spaulding, whose loss is put down at $8,000; insurance $3,000. Peter Compton loses $5,000; insured $4,000. A. S. Mott, $2,000; insured $1,200. The whole loss is estimated at about $28,000; insurance about $18,000 or $20,000.

June 12, 1855 Andrew S. Rice along with Guy Tozer, town of Barton, Tioga county, State of New York, invented a new and improved Kind of Self-Setting Sawmill Dog, in the use of which lumbermen are enabled to saw their lumber of a uniform thickness. Patents Office.

1855 map; no homes at 3, 4, 5, or 7 Athens street, Waverly, NY.

December 1856, Andrew S. Rice sold off current day 3 and 5 Athens street to Luman Rice for $700.

1857 - Thomas J. Brooks sold the lot where main house now stands to DeWitt Slaughter for $1,500. Dewitt Slaughter was a retired farmer from Hamptonburg, Orange county, NY. It has been passed down thru all owners of the home, that Dewitt had the current home built for his only living son, Samuel Wickham Slaughter. We believe that Dewitt, along with his wife, Caroline and their only two living children, Samuel and Antonette lived in Brook's rectangular shaped house and that they started adding on to it as the years passed. In 1861, Dewitt's wife, Caroline died an then in 1868, Dewitt's daughter, Antonette died. In 1873, major changes took place and according to a newspaper article, "rebuilt" was used. We believe this is where the handed down information comes into play, that Dewitt had this done for Samuel and Samuels's new wife, Charlotte Wells Slaughter. In 1873 is most likely when Azariah J. VanAtta was hired as the designer and builder.

April 8, 1857, Thomas J. Brooks and Cynthia Lowman Brooks sold to Dewitt Slaughter for $1,500, indicating a moderately sized dwelling was on the property. On an 1853 map of Waverly and Factoryville, there was a rectangle shaped house at 208 Chemung Street.

The "Slaughter Residence" was built and designed by Azariah J. VanAtta, Architect and Contractor. (Born December 15, 1827, moved to Waverly in 1850, but lived outside of Waverly before this, on a farm, died May 1913) 

September 29, 1857 Thomas Jefferson Brooks died.

Feb 6, 1858 A Question in Patent Law
MESSRS EDITORS : As there are no lawyers here who are acquainted with Patent business, I wish to enquire if a man is not liable in an action of damages, in the Supreme Court of this State, for making a patented article when it is his intention to sell the same, even though he sells to those who own territory ? Or suppose I own a county right to make and sell, can any other make in said territory and sell to others out of said county or in it ? Please answer through the SCIENTIFIC AMERICAN. A. S. RICE. Waverly, N. Y., Jan. 27th, 1858.
[The Supreme Court of the State of New York has no jurisdiction in patent cases. Suits for damages can only be brought in the United States Courts. A patent is the monopoly of the right to make, sell and use the article secured by the grant of Letters Patent therefore no one can manufacture a patented article upon territory owned by another without infringing the right of the latter. EDS. {Andrew S. Rice, owner of the octagon home on Chemung street}

February 9, 1858, Andrew S. Rice sold to Amelia J. Foster for $1,500, Rice's octagonal home with parts of current 9 Athens and all of current 7 Athens street land. (Amelia J. Foster was born Sept. 5, 1831 and died May 15, 1864. She is buried at Ridgebury Cemetery in Orange county, NY. Her husband was Henry S. Foster. She had at least one child, Minnie. Her parents were Robert and Susan Dody.)

March 15, 1858 Isaac Shepard died.

June 14, 1858, Luman A. Rice and Melissa Rice, his wife, sold current day 3 and 5 Athens street land to Amelia J. Foster for $1,000.

June 25, 1858, Amelia J. Foster and Henry S. Foster sold to Edwin Mills for $3,000, the octagon home at what today could be considered 206 Chemung street along with current day 3, 5, 7 and parts of 9 Athens street land. (This Edwin Mills was probably Dewitt Slaughter's brother-in-law.)

1859 - (See article from September 2, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record) An Old Waverly Society. Among the keepsakes at the Institute reunion was the record book of the "Societias Philalogo" a debating society organized in 1859 whose members were as follows: R. Alison Elmer, H. D. Jenkins, H. Payne, N. A. Lamphear, F. H. Payne, A. D. Warne, J. H. Millspaugh, Geo. S. Comstock, J. P. Bosworth, S. W. Slaughter, D. C. Delaney, Chas. H. Morgan, Hugh J. Baldwin, George E. Morgan, Chas. W. Bower, Waverly; A. Buck, Guy Wyncoop, Seth E. Holley, Martin T. Rogers, Nathaniel C. Rogers, Chemung; M. V. D. Sweetlove, Spencer; Walter C. Hull, Ellicottville; J. E. Bristol, Coventry; A. Y. Hubbell, North Barton; Wm. G. Tenbrook, Factoryville; Levi Morse, Litchfield, Pa.; A. Canfield, Smithboro; Rushton Smith, Factoryville; Francis H. Olmstead, Milltown.

1860 census in Chemung county, NY, appears that after Thomas J. Brook's death in 1858, that his family moved in with his wife's parents. Cynthia Lowman Brooks 35 yrs old and daughter Rosemand 13 yrs old, living with George Lowman 64 yrs old farmer and wife Lillis 63 yrs old, John Jr. Lowman farm agent 32 yrs old, Susan Lowman 28 yrs old, Phebe Ann Lowman 266 yrs old, Clancy Lowman 1 yr old, Clarence Goodwin 26 yrs old farm laborer, James Hanington 20 yrs old farm laborer, Elizabeth Rowley 20 yrs old homestead, Mary Ann Doty 13 yrs old.

1860's Many families were boarding up their fireplaces and using parlor stoves, venting them through the chimneys.

April 12, 1860 - (See article from September 2, 1910 The Waverly Free Press And Tioga County Record) At a meeting held Friday, April 12th, 1860, it was Resolved: "That the Literary Society known as the Soc. Phil. disband; that the business for the coming exhibition be kept entirely with the committee; that the meeting this evening be the last regular one, but there be a meeting held the 25th of April at 9 a. m. , when the books, viz: Treas. and Secy., and the lamps, etc., belonging to the Society be sold at auction to the highest bidder. ... and finally that after the aforesaid meeting be held the Soc. Phil. shall exist only in the memories of its members." Thus ends the history of one of the Institute societies and an interesting bit of local history.

November 9,1861 Caroline Mills Slaughter died of apoplexy (stroke). She was born May 4,1812. She is buried in Scotchtown, Orange county, NY

1861-1862, at current 337 Broad Street was J. F. Bosworth & N. F. Penney- drugs, medicines, paints, oils, glass and putty, lamps, books, stationary, Corner Drug Store, short time later changed name to Bosworth & Slaughter. (from Don Merrill's collection)

December 20, 1862 Utica Morning Herald And Daily Gazette: LITERARY MATTERS. THE HOLIDAYS. The annually recurrent mania for holiday literature has induced the publication of numerous choice gift books not hitherto announced. The New York, Boston, and Philadelphia houses have made large ventures in costly works, destined to be transported as Christmas and New Year offerings to libraries and parlor tables throughout the country, and to be heir-looms, as Fox's Book of Martyr's and other traditional books of the past are to us - to many future generations. What is cheeriog is that the rich covers of these books are many of them to clasp the noblest pages in literature-pages that we have learned to reverence and love. The dishwater element is small; "the wine of life, which who so drinketh lives, " is the chief distillation, and the lives of those who shall drink are pure indeed if they do not feel themselves stronger and purer after such a banquet. What gifts are these, for instance: Richard Grant White's Shakespeare: Large paper edition about $120; the Abbottsford edition of the Waverley Novels, in the neighborhood of $40, or Mr. James G. Gregory's edition of "Darley's Cooper Vignettes, " only $30. This last work is a novel - large folio, in superb morroco or antique binding. It is composed of artist proofs, taken before lettering, printed with the greatest care on India, and backed on large French plate paper. Each proof is accompanied by a page of letter press descriptive of the picture. Of course but a limited number of copies have been printed. Carleton, of New York, had prepared a beautiful pendant to Victor Hugo's romanceful Les Miserables. It consists of a richly bound quarto containing twenty-five or thirty photographs from a series of original designs, by M. Prior, a distinguished French artist, illustrating the dramatis personce and most striking events of this wonderful novel. ... The publication of exclusively juvenile gift books is considerably larger than was anticipated. Heaven bless the children! Their holidays, despite the gloom upon the land, will be as happy as ever; their holiday reading as welcome. That venerable, but ever beautiful legend of St. Nicholas' visit on "The Night Before Christmas," will come to them newly illustrated by Darley this year, and ...Jacob Abbot's series of books, published by Harper's. Everybody has heard of the Franconia and Marco Paul stories... "Child's Bible Story Book," six pretty little volumes of fifteen pages each, with pictures innumerable, carefully colored by hand....

January 16, 1863, Samuel Slaughter buys building on corner of Broad and Waverly street for his Corner Drug Store. Dewitt Slaughter holds the deed while Samuel pays off the mortgage of $2,250.00, to be paid in 10 years.

New York State Military Museum and Veterans Research Center: Civil War Newspapers Tioga County, New York. List of Men Drafted in Tioga County. The draft in this County took place on Tuesday and Wednesday, July 14th and 15th, the following being a full list of the names drawn in the several towns. (1863) ... under Barton is Samuel W. Slaughter

July 4, 1863 Samuel W. Slaughter merchant single subject to do military duty in the twenty sixth congressional district, consisting of the counties of Schuyler, Tompkins, Broome, and Tioga.

July 16, 1863 Samuel Wickham Slaughter drafted into Civil War.

1863 There was an Andrew S. Rice working as a Turner in Brooklyn, NY

1863 -1873, at 337 Broad Street, Slaughter & Hayes - Corner Drug Store, wall paper, stationery, wines and liquors (brick building). (from Don Merrill's collection) Henry M. Hayes, born in 1828, died in 1908.

1864 There was an Andrew S. Rice in Brooklyn, NY working as a machinist

1865 New York state census: at 208 Chemung street, Waverly, NY. Framed wood home worth $1,500. Dewitt Slaughter, 61 yrs. , gentleman, with son, Samuel W., 25 yrs., a merchant, and daughter, Nettie, 17 yrs.

1865, at 337 Broad Street, Dr. C. T. Bliss, physican and surgeon office, over Slaughter & Hayes Drug Store

August 1865 Brooklyn Daily Eagle: COUNTY COURT OF KINGS COUNTY-Thomas Longking against Eliza S. Rice, widow of Andrew S. Rice, deceased, and others. David Barnett, Att/y for Pltff. In pursuance of a judgment order of this Court, made in the above entitled action, bearing date the 16th of May, 1865, I, the undersigned referee, will sell by public auction, at the auction rooms of Cole & Murphy, No. 339 Fulton street, opposite the City Hall, in the city of, Brooklyn, on the first day of July, 1865, at 12 o'clock noon, the following described land and premises: All that certain piece or parcel of land, situate in the Village of East New York, Town of New Lotts and County of Kings, bounded and described as follows: Beginning at a point distant easterly one hundred and twenty-five feet (125 ft) from the centre line of New Jersey avenue, on a line drawn at right angles therefrom, and commencing on such centre line at a point distant, northerly, three hundred and forty-seven feet eight inches (347 ft 8 in) from the intersection of such centre line and the northerly line of the Brooklyn and Jamaica Plank road; thence running easterly one hundred and thirty feet (130 ft), at right angles with such centre line to the centre line of Vermont avenue; thence northerly, parallel with New Jersey avenue and along the centre line of Vermont avenue sixty-three feet (63 ft); thence westerly, at right angles with New Jersey avenue one hundred and thirty feet (130 ft); thence southerly and parallel with New Jersey avenue sixty-three feet (63 ft) to the place of beginning. - Dated Brooklyn May 16th, 1865. Thomas D. Pearsall. Referee. 22 Court street. my16law6wTu

October 31, 1866 Dewitt Slaughter had a will made that would leave his property and home to his son, Samuel Wickham Slaughter. Dewitt's household goods and furniture were to be left to his daughter, Antonette Slaughter. (Antonette died, two years after the will had been made and before the death of her father. Dewiit died in 1875)

December 12, 1866 Buffalo Daily Courier: Our Pension System. We condense the following facts from the report of the Commisssioner of Pensions: Present State Of The Pension Business. The grand aggregate of individuals on the pension rolls of the United States was, on the 30th of June last, 126,722. The grand aggregate of annual pension money for these was $11,671, 474, 31; in 1864, 39,509 had been added to the roll, in 1865,40,176; in 1866, 50,177. - in the grand aggregate above are included army invalids, 54,629; navy invalids, 1,032; army widows, & c., 68,957; navy widows, & c., 1,181. The Commissioner estimates that $33,000,000 will be required to pay the pensions for the ensuing fiscal year. About The Pensioners. With regard to the wars in which death or disability was incurred, it would seem that about 110,000 of all classes of pensioners have thus far arisen out of the war for the Union. The remainder now on the rolls, but rapidly dropping away, are from the war of 1812, Mexican and Indian wars, invalids, widows, &c., under general and special acts of Congress, 4,227; widows of revolutionary soldiers, 931, of whom but two survive who shared with their husbands the soldiers lot, viz. Nancy Serena, widow of Joseph Serena, of Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania who recieves $96 per annum, and Jane Slaughter, widow of Isaac Slaughter, of Orange county, New York, who receives $80 per annum. All the other surviving widows were married to the soldier subsequent to the termination of his revolutionary military service. One more completes the number. The Last Revoltionary Hero. But one remains on the roll- Samuel Downing, of Edinburgh, Saratoga county, New York, is alone now. The Commissioner of Pensions says: "This veteran, distinguished by fortune as the last known survivor of the heroic men who achieved by arms our national independance, enlisted from Carroll county, New Hampshire, and is now more than one hundred years old." ... (Jane Slaughter is Dewitt Slaughter's mother)

1867 The Waverly Advocate: Young Ladies School. Miss N. A. Williams, Will open a School for Young Ladies the Octagon House, Chemung st. Waverly. Rates Of Tuition Per Term Of Eleven Weeks. Reading, Spelling, Object Lessons and Mental Arithmetic $2.50. Reading, Spelling, Pennmanship, Practical Arithmetic, Geograpy and Elements of Grammar. 3.50. Philosophy, Physiology Grammar, Composition including any of the above 4.50. Chemistry, Geology, Astronomy and Botany 5.00. Extras. French, 3.50. Drawing, 3.00.Painting on Velvet 6.00. Painting in Water Colors 4.00. Monochromatic Painting 4.00. Pastel or colored Crayons 5.00. Oil Painting 10.00. Wax Flowers and Fruit each 6.00. Embroidery on Silk and Worsted and Fancy Work of different kinds. Tuition due at the middle of the Term. First Term will commence Nov. 4th, 1867. N. A. Williams. No deduction made on account of absence, except in cases of protracted illness. (Edwin Mills owns the octagon house)

1868 - Paints, Oils, Varnishes, Brushes, Glass, and Putty. All of the Best Quality and will be sold at the Very Lowest Market Prices. Slaughter & Hayes. (Corner Drug Store) Waverly, N.Y. No. 87, Broad St. Waverly, N. Y. {old number to Corner Drug Store}

July 2, 1868 The Waverly Advocate: Pictures Framed and Mirrors Repaired With Neatness and Dispatch, at the Corner Drug Store. Slaughter & Hayes Waverly, N.Y.
At the Corner Drug Store can be found the very best cigars. Just try them.

March 21, 1868 Waverly Advocate: Deaths. Slaughter - In Waverly, March 18, 1868 Nettie, only daughter of Dewitt Slaughter, aged 21 years and 8 months. (Antonette Slaughter)

September 3, 1868 Queens County Sentinel, Hempstead, N. Y.: Died. Jackson - At Oysterbay, August 22d, Rev. Aaron Jackson, in the 71st year of his age.

October 1868 Waverly Advocate: Ed. Mills gave us a drink of cider manufactured on Saturday last from the Harrison and Vandeveres. It was superior to the best Hammondsport line. The idea of making cider in spring from the best quality of apples is as good as it is new.

1869 - ads referred to: parlor sets, chamber sets, dining room table and chairs, hall stands, kitchen furniture

January 30, 1869 ITHACAN VOLUME 1.: Tioga County. On the 15th, the grocery of Atwater Bros. and the drug store of Slaughter & Hayes in Waverly were entered by burglars and robbed to some extent. (Henry M. Hayes was a bookseller and also later went into his own drug business)

1869 map; shows one large home covering land of 3 and 5 Athens street, Waverly, NY. Early on this home's address was 3 Athens street, but later on this same home used address of 5 Athens street. Homes appear at 4 and 8 Athens street.

1869 Waverly Advocate: Hayes & Slaughter have enlarged their Drug Store as well as their stock.

1869 Waverly Advocate: Slaughter & Hayes have been getting in a tremendous stock of Wall Paper, of the latest and prettiest styles. When spring comes don't fail to re-paper your walls - it is good for health and looks.

February 26, 1869 Waverly Advocate: Mr. Fisk of the Wellsville Free Press paid our village a brief visit a few weeks ago, and in due time the following very complimentary notice appeared in his paper. We thank Mr. F. for the justice he has done our enterprising village: Waverly. - A few hours spent in this village show that it is one of the most active, prosperous and promising ones on the Erie Railway. It is beautifully located on the plains which lie between the Susquehanna and Chemung just above the point of their junction at Athens, or Tioga Point, and it is the outlet of a very large and rich section of country both North and South. A railway runs South to Towanda in Pennsylvania, opening to them trade of a rich coal region and one is projected North to Ithaca. It now contains about three thousand inhabitants and the number of new buildings to be seen as well as the prices asked for all forms of real estate, indicate the faith its people have in its future. So far as we could judge by a hurried look, this faith seems abundantly justifiable. The village is beautiful far above most others, both in itself and surroundings. It has many costly residences; its streets are well laid out, and all are shaded; walks are built and free from snow; it has, as we have said, three thousand people and but five licensed drinking places, and our informant says, none unlicensed. - The only billiard saloon is put across the line, in Pennsylvania, so as to be out of the way of the village authorities. It has a flourishing academy, good churches and a village park; and a place where gambling of any kind can be carried on is unknown to the people. It is a model village. Its trade comes from the large and rich farming country surrounding. We found there many people from Wellsville. Mr. Wm. E. Armstrong is engaged in a large and flourishing trade in groceries and crockery. His friends will be glad to learn that he is on the road to prosperity in his new home. - Mr. Robert Manners, formerly in business here, is engaged in the music trade, and seems to be doing well. Free Press disciples are there in force and all prospering, as those who have had so good a bringing up should. Frank T. Scudder, of the neat little Waverly Enterprise, has as fine a job printing office as one could well expect to see in the country. He is winning both the good esteem of his townsmen, and the stamps, by his sterling qualities as a man. J. B. Bray is foreman in the Democrat office, and has from what we learn, invented a new printing press, which, if rightly managed, will strike oil for him. Miss Bell Bray is employed in the Advocate office. Waverly is bound to go ahead in the future, and seems to offer rare inducements for business to locate there.

April 1869 The Waverly Advocate: Slaughter & Hayes propose to curb and pave the gutter up Waverly street as far as their lot extends, which is well enough; but if you go up a few steps farther you will find the New Tin Shop of Cassius M. Harsh with a snug little assortment of tin, copper, and sheet iron ware, cutlery, and some beautiful pumps suitable for cisterns.  Remember C. M. Harsh above the Corner Drug Store.

August 22, 1869 Hisotry of Seven Counties 1885: Cayuta Chapter No. 245, R. A. M., was organized Aug. 22, 1869. Officers, O. W. Shepard, H. P.; R. A. Elmer, C.K.; A. J. Van Atta, S. ; E. P. Curtis, secretary; Thomas Marsh, treasurer.

April 28, 1869 To Railway Travelers. Tickets East, West, North and South sold at the Great Western Ticket Office, opposite the Depot. Western Tickets via Lake Shore and Michigan Southern, Grand Trunk and Great Western Railways. Travelers will find it to their interest to give me a call. Lewis S. Richardson.

May 14, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: Soda at Hayes & Slaughter at five cents a glass. That's cool!

The Board of Waverly, at their meeting on the Evening of May 1st 1869, appointed Drs W. E. Johnson and L. B. Hawley, to act with Hugh T. Herrick, President of the Board of Trustees, as a Board of Health for Waverly, for the current year. Also at this special meeting held May 10, 1869 the Trustees passed an ordinance, changing the name of Meadow Street in this village to that of Lincoln Street, in accordance with the Petition of property owners on said Street. (Found in a previous article that they changed the name, Main Street, to Meadow Street)

May 28, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: The large flag-stone at the Corner Drug Store have been adjusted to the new grade, and new walk laid up Waverly street to the New Tin Shop, where Cassius keeps a splendid assortment of the most reliable goods in the tin and hard-ware line. If you want nice Dairy fixtures go to Cassius; if you want a little jobbing done go to Cassius - he can do it and will do it well and cheap.

1869 Several building lots for sale by R. A. Elmer (large number of lots on new street running east from the Park, 4 large lots on Grove Street, 4 lots on Providence street) Also building lots offered by Shepard & Elmer on Fulton, Center, South and Loder streets.

June 4, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: Paints, Oils, Varnishes, Brushes, Glass and Putty, All of the Best Quality, and will be sold at the Very Lowest Market Prices. Slaughter & Hayes. (Corner Drug Store) Waverly, N. Y.

June 11, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: Broad and Waverly streets are the handsomest streets to be formed within forty miles of this place.

Slaughter & Hayes have put up a fine cloth awning at the Corner Drug Store - They're ahead.

June 25, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: To Everybody! We have the largest Stock of Wall Paper, (English and American) Window Shades, (Cloth and Paper)  Slaughter & Hayes, (Corner Drug Store)

July 2, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: Wood for Sale. Hardwood, Beech and Maple, or Hemlock. All orders promptly filled. A. G. Allen Office, Van Duzer's Block.
A stand for the use of the Waverly Cornet Band is to be built at the Park. The funds have been raised and the structure will be a good one.

July 16, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: We hear many complaining that they have no water in their cisterns. - This is probably because they have not called on Cassius M. Harsh to have their water conductors repaired, or perhaps are using old leaky wooden ones which should be replaced with good tin ones. Cassius does those and all other jobs in the tin line promptly, substantially and neatly. Shop on Waverly street, above Corner Drug Store.

August 20, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: Gen. Grant In Waverly. - That looks well, reads well, sounds well. In fact it was well, and it would have been much better if the people generally had known that President Grant would honor this place with a call, for America holds no man to-day on whom Americans would feel so proud to look, or whose hand they would be so happy to grasp, as the man who fought it out on that line, crushed rebellion, made treason odious in fact, and established peace in all the land. The special train which brought him from the east on Friday evening last halted here for a few minutes; the General appeared upon the platform of the car, and paid his respects to the large crowd of citizens present by shaking hands vigorously for five minutes with both friends and foes, the latter being by no means backward in the business. - He was heartily cheered as the train moved away. The General looked fatigued and careworn, yet in good health and spirits. All were favorably impressed with his appearance. Although less in stature than many had supposed him to be, he looked that man of kindness and self-reliance: He is compact, and strongly built, with a happily balanced organization, both mental and physical. He is modest, unassuming, and unostentatious, yet thoughtful, prudent, forcible. We believe his administration will partake of these excellent characteristics.

September 3, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: Feather Beds are going into a decline, and Matresses and Spring Beds are becoming popular. This is a change for the public health. We know of no establishment that keeps such a large stock and such and excellent variety of mattresses spring beds and other bed furniture as F. Y. Payne of this village. Now is a good time to secure good bargains in this line - he has a large stock form which to make selections.

Moses Lyman Jr has bought ten acres of the side-hill known as the Camp Ground for $3,000. By this purchase he secures a fine spring, which will enable him to convey water to all parts of his new residence, now nearly completed. {535 Waverly Street, current owners are Don and Carol Merrill, 2018} #169 and 173 of Waverly Advocate on Fulton History

October 1, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: {34 dwellings built on Clark Street in the last 4 years}

October 22, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: Forty new dwellings have been built in the village east of Pennsylvania Avenue within the past four years.

November 12, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: Postage stamps were first used in the United States in 1847. - L. B. Hawley, M. D., Homeopathist, Will attend to calls in Waverly, and prescribe at his residence on Athens St., near the new Baptist Church. Waverly, Jan 1, 1866

November 19, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: George Morgan has sold his house and lot on Clark St. to a Mr. Rice for $1,600.

November 26, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: Again there is a great complaint of the scarcity of dwelling houses in Waverly.

December 3, 1869 Corning Journal: Dr. George Merrill, of Waverly, has sold out his Drug business to Slaughter V. Hayes. Elmira Gazette. The "given -name" of the new Druggist in not calculated to invite custom. Nervous people would be apt to buy their pills and powders elsewhere. (The V was a typo and should be &)

December 17, 1869 The Waverly Advocate: For Sale. The subscriber going to leave, will sell his House and Lot on Chemung and Athens streets, containing about Two Acres of Land. - Also, a Top Buggy and half Portland Sleigh, both nearly New. A One Horse Lumber Wagon and Shelvings. Edwin Mills (This is referring to the octagon house that at that time was just west of our main house in our current yard)

1870 - 1883, at 337 Broad Street, Dr. F. M. Snook, dentist office over Corner Drug Store, entrance was on Waverly Street. (from Don Merrill's collection)

1870 census: Gabriel Evans along with his sibling, Jesse, was living with his parents; George and Esther Evans.

January 7, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: A New Floor Covering - An exchange says: Save all your newspapers, and when you get enough for the purpose, make a paste as for putting on wall paper, and lay them down, one by one, pasting them till your floor is covered, then let it dry; then lay another in the same way. When again dry get some wall paper of a suitable color, and paste all over it. When dry go over it again with a good coat of varnish, and you have a good covering for your floor, which will wear as long as a carpet, and look as well as oil cloth. This is a cheap method of covering bedrooms that are not much used.

January 21, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: The Spring Term of the Waverly Institute opened on Tuesday last. It is the best educational institution of the kind in the country. A large number of students from abroad commenced with this term more may be yet received.

February 4, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: The cry for Houses! is great in this village.

February 11, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: Ground has been broken for the erection of the new Catholic Church on the corner of Chemung & Clark St. {wooden structure that was destroyed by fire in 1913 and then the current one was built}

February 11, 1870 Waverly Advocate: For Sale. The Very Best Situation Now For Sale In Waverly. The fine Large lot with neat and commodious Cottage House, On Pennsylvania Avenue, adjoining the Institute Park, House contains eight Rooms, Parlors connected by folding doors. An excellent Cellar, and Cistern, Ample Pantry and Closet Rooms. Lot has six rods frontage on Pennsylvania Avenue, eleven rods back, small Barn, fine Garden, choice Fruit Trees, Grape Vines, & c. For particulars inquire at the Express Office. G. F. Walker {current 441 Pennsylvania Avenue. In 1863, Mary Cooley purchased this lot from William Guthrie for $762.00. In 1866 Mary Cooley sold the property to George Walker for $1,800.00. In 1870 George Walker sold to A. J. VanAtta for $2,500. A. J. Van Atta, designer and builder of current Zehr Estate at 208 Chemung Street. Also, Van Atta donated some of this property for the school.}

February 18, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: Wood - While hauling from lot, will deliver for $4.25 a cord. Apply to C. Warford.

February 25, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: The Van Duser Block will here after be known as Commercial Exchange Block, and the Hall as Exchange Hall.

March 4, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: J. W. Knapp is doing quite a Grocery Business.
- Extensive preparations are being made for building in this place next season.

June 3, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: The proprietors of the Watkins (Seneca) Glen propose to improve a little on the wonderful works of the Creator by damming the stream above the highest point now accessible, and making a miniature lake of some 15 or 20 acres, to be stocked with fish and supplied with boats. It seems a pity to trespass on Nature's wonder in this way, yet we think it would make a delightful place, and on the whole be a justifiable trespass. - The penalty for not answering the questions of the census takers is thirty dollars. - The Road Commissioners of Athens township have extended the Fulton street of Waverly southward to intersect Pitney street which leads from the Chemung road eastward. This is an extension of Fulton about a quarter of a mile from its present terminus.

July 1, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: The census of Waverly has been so far completed as to enable us to say that it lacks but a few babies of being 3,000.

July 29, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: A. J. Van Atta has sold his residence, corner of Fulton and Chemung St.s to Geo. W. Orange, Railway Agent at this station, for $5,100. (152 Chemung Street)

Chas. McDougal Esq. has sold his house and lot on Chemung street to Joseph Dubois, for $4,500. Mr. Dubois has also bought of Joseph E. Hallet three acres of land back of his residence for $800 per acre.

Levi Westfall has purchaced of Owen Spalding for $1,500, lot south of Broad street, 55 feet front, adjoining Lemon's Foundry on the east. Mr. Westfall will at once put up a grain store 25 feet by 60.

Westfall & Johnson are laying out their purchase, west of Dry Brook, into lots, and opening a street through it from Broad to Chemung street.

August 5, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: A. J. Van Atta has bought Geo. Walker's House and Lot on Penn's Avenue, adjoining the Institute property, for $2,500.

September 30, 1870 The Waverly Advocate: For Rent, The House occupied recently by Dr. Gallagher on Chemung St. adjoining the Residence of Lewis Richardson Esq. Enquire of M. J. Warner, or Dr. Gallagher. Waverly, Sept. 16, 1870. (former house on site of current day 202 Chemung St.)

November 25, 1870 Waverly Advocate: Select School, for Little Girls, at the residence of Mrs. Gilbert, on Waverly Street. To commence Nov. 28th. Terms per qr. of eleven weeks, $2.50. - Birds-eye view of Waverly, suitable for 8x10 frames, price 40 cents. Sent to any address on the receipt of price and warranted to reach destination safely. Address Well G. Singhi, Photographer, No. 73 Broad St., Waverly, N. Y. - There has been an unusual amount of building in this place during the past three or four months. We can count twenty dwellings that have been put up since August. Most of them, of course, are of the small or cheaper class. Business places have been added, but generally on a small scale. From appearance we judge there will be more of both classes built next spring. The railroad companies are constantly adding to their business facilities by building additional track, transfer platform, shops and the like. The future outlook for Waverly is good.

1871, at 337 Broad Street, L. W. Mulock, justice of the peace, real estate agent, over Slaughter & Hayes Corner Drug Store. (from Don Merrill's collection)

January 13, 1871 The Waverly Advocate: Wm. S. Smith has sold out the stock of his Post Office News Room to Slaughter & Hayes.

April 7, 1871 The Waverly Advocate: Dr. M. B. Weaver has removed to the "Octagon House" on Chemung street, where those desiring his services will be able to find him at all hours. (Still owned by Edwin Mills in 1871.Would be just west of today's 208 Chemung street main house.)

May 26, 1871 The Waverly Advocate: Ice Cold Soda at the Corner Drug Store.

June 6, 1871 New York Tribune: Extensive Fire In Waverly, N. Y. Waverly, June 5. - At 6 o'clock this morning a fire broke out in the grocery store of O.W. Shipman & Co., on Broad st., which destroyed a large portion of the business part of the village. Among the sufferers are the following: O. W. Shipman & Co., grocers; Meyers & Langford, hotel; Frederick E. Spencer, boots and shoes; L. S. Richardson, liquors; E. L. Green, restaurant; W. G. Singhi, photographer; F. M. Sutton, hotel; Faulkner & Co., restaurant; Dunn & Field, dry goods; A. J. Nichols, jewelry; A. S. Mott, tailor; Silaey & Murray, bakery; Baker & Co., grocery; A. E. Spalding, millinery; T. S. Walker, produce. Loss, $75,000; insurance, $50,000.

July 21, 1871 The Waverly Advocate: The very fine village property of E. M. Payne, corner of Chemung and Athens streets, is offered for sale. See advertisement in another column. (300 Chemung St. Waverly, NY)

Greatest Bargain in Waverly. For Sale!. The Residence of E. M. Payne, corner of Chemung and Athens Streets, Waverly, N.Y. Lot one hundred and sixty feet front on Chemung Street, and one hundred and thirty feet on Athens Street. The House is large, square two story and basement front and Ell, with Large Rooms, wide Hall, high between joists and large windows, has just been well painted, and is in all respects in thorough repair, as good as new. Has a never-failing Well and large cistern in the Ell, a Cellar that is frostproof and always dry, and from cellar to roof is as convenient as any house in Waverly. Fine Fruit and Shade Trees of large growth in the yard. Its location is a fine one and it certainly is one of the most desirable residences in Waverly. Price, $5,500. Of which $3,500 may remain on mortgage three years. For further particulars inquire of J. N. Dexter, 86, Broad St. Waverly, N.Y. (300 Chemung St.)

Work on the new buildings in this village is somewhat delayed for want of timber. The saw mills did not anticipate the fire which set all building at once, so it is difficult to supply the sudden demand.

20 Building Lots, For sale on the new street running East from the Park. These are among the best dwelling sites remaining unoccupied in Waverly. Loans in limited amounts will be made to purchasers who will erect dwellings of $1,200 value. Howard Elmer.

July 27, 1871 The Sabbath Recorder New York, NY: Mansard Roofs. A few years ago the monotonous style of roof used in our architecture was agreeably varied by the introduction of what is known as the Mansard roof, somtimes called the French attic. The splendid architectural piles in Paris received some of their best graces of expression from the handsome sky-lines the Mansard roof gave them, and almost every American traveling abroad wondered why so graceful a roof could not be adopted in our American cities, where the large buildings usually terminated with an abrupt, sharp, and unpicturesque sky-line. The Mansard roof after a time was introduced, and its peculiar beauty soon made it very popular. But like all fashions which become the rage, and which are adopted by people imitatively, without perception of the principle that governs them, the French attic has become with us an architectural infliction. The Mansard roof was designed for tall buildings. Its special purpose is to break the montony of a massive pile, and to reduce in appearance its real height. A structure that would seem awkwardly tall, with an unvaried succession of stories, has not only, by means of the Mansard roof, a more graceful caption, but attains more agreeable proportions. The specific purpose of this roof being recognized, the absurdity of its use in small buildings becomes at once apparent. Our builders, however, seem to lack all power of perception, and to have reduced the art of architecture to indiscriminate imitations. Everywhere now the Mansard roof confronts us. Every new cottage on the road-side, new cheap villas in those extemporized villages that line our Metropolitan railways, new public buildings of every sort and degree, railroad stations all over the country-everything of the kind now, no matter if only a story high, must have its Mansard roof, with entire disregard of fitness or propriety. It is exasperating to see a good idea thus dragged to absurd and ignobleness. As we at first hailed with pleasure the appearance of the Mansard roof, we shall now look with hope for the signs that will indicate the termination of its career. And yet, whatever may follow, it will have to undergo the same experience. It is our natural way to try and appropriate every big thing for every little purpose. - Appleton's Journal.

September 1, 1871 The Waverly Advocate: Horatio N. Beach, Editor of the Brockport Republic, who has been taking a "Horse and Buggy journey through the State," sees fit to speak thus complimentary of our village: "Next we came to Waverly, a nicely located and beautifully built village of about 4,000 population, which is being increased at the rate of about 500 per year. Most of the business portion of the place was burned over on the 5th of June, this year, and the work of rebuilding is now in rapid progress. - Twenty-one three story brick stores are being built, together with an opera house, town hall, &c., which when completed will make the business portion of Waverly as handsome or more beautiful than any village of its size in the State. It is in the heart of a rich farming district, and large quantities of grain, butter, and cheese are shipped abroad. The work shops of the Lehigh Railroad Company are located at this place, of which two are in operation and two more building. There are seven churches in the place - two Baptist, two Catholic, Presbyterian, Methodist, and Episcopal. The village has just adopted the Union Graded School system, and the Waverly Institute buildings and grounds have been purchased for this purpose. The place sustains considerable manufacturing, three banks, and two nice and sprightly newspapers, the Advocate and Enterprise."

The Methodist Parsonage, pleasantly situated adjoining the Church, is now completed. It is a very pretty residence and decidedly creditable to the society.

The Opera Block is now being pushed vigorously. Mr. Fishler is the architect; Mr. Harsh does the mason work; and Mr. Seacord superintends the wood work - good men all 'round.

December 8, 1871 The Waverly Advocate: SLAUGHTER & HAYES, Druggists, and dealers in Stationery, Wall Paper, Picture Frames, Periodicals, & c, & c, No. 87 Broad St., Waverly, N. Y. Aug. 21, 1868

L. B. Hawley, M. D., Homeopathist, Will attend to calls in Waverly, and prescribe at his residence on Athens St., near the new Baptist Church. Waverly, Jan 1, 1866

1872-1873 Gazetteer and Business Directory of Broome and Tioga Counties: Weaver, M. B. DR., (Waverly,) clairvoyant physician. Octagon Place, Chemung. {This was the octagon house on Chemung street}

Slaughter & Hayes, (Waverly,) (S. W. Slaughter and H. H. Hayes,) props. Corner Drug Store, druggists and booksellers, Broad corner Waverly.

Slaughter, S. W., (Waverly,) (Slaughter & Hayes.)

February 2, 1872 Waverly Advocate: T. Olendenny has purchased the News Business of Slaughter & Hayes, and about the 20th inst. will open a first class News Room in the Opera Block - Manners building. He will also keep confectionary, eschewing, however, the tobacco and cigar business. So about the 20th our people can depend on as fine a News Establishment as there is in the country.

1872, at 337 Broad Street, Slaughter & Hayes Corner Drug Store rebuilding completed, floors were dropped 18 inches to sidewalk level. (from Don Merrill's collection)

1872 -1873, at 337 Broad Street, John R. Murray, insurance, over Corner Drug Store. (from Don Merrill's collection)

1872 - 1873 Pratt & Comstock, successors to W. G. Singhi, Photographers and dealers in Stereoscopes, Views, Pictures, Albums, Frames & c., Waverly, N. Y., advertise on page 415. Messrs. P. & C. are prepared to take all kinds of Pictures known to the art, in the most approved style, and finish them up in oil, water colors, or India ink, if desired. It should be a matter of duty with everyone to "secure the shadow ere the substance flies," and we know of none more competent to aid them in so doing than Mssrs. Pratt & Comstock. They also keep a fine assortment of Albums, Frames, Card Pictures, Stereoscopes & c., which it is worth while to call and examine.

March 1, 1872 Waverly Advocate: Merriam is introducing gas in his Hardware Establishment. It takes 100 burners to light it throughout, which may give some idea of its magnitude. - During a short visit at Waverly, not long since, we were much impressed with its general indications of thrift and enterprise, its Opera House - of which we speak elsewhere - not alone evincing the go-aheaditiveness of its citizens. Evidences are to be seen on every hand. The burnt district is entirely built up, and the places of the old buildings are supplied with a most magnificent class of brick stores, rivaling any to be met with in traveling through many a town of much greater pretensions. We will not now stop to particularize, but cannot refrain from mentioning the Shipman Block, on the corner of Broad and Waverly Streets, which is really imposing. We understand that some of the business young men of the place are about to erect a new first-class hotel, at a cost of $75,000, on Fulton Street, North of Opera House Block. Such a hotel may be called for, yet they have a pretty good building already, is the Snyder House. We are informed, also, that J. T. Sawyer has in contemplation the starting of an extensive Boot and Shoe Manufactory, probably in what is now called Exchange Hall; that Van Duzer & Hallet intend erecting a large Planing Mill on the site of their flour mill - burned about two years ago - on the South side of the Erie Railway; that Moses Lyman intends to erect, soon, somewhere in the village, an extensive Foundry; and also, that the Lehigh Valley, Southern Central, and Ithaca & Athens, Railroad Companies are now building a Round House, capable of holding sixty engines, and Machine Shops and other Works, at the Junction of those roads, about one mile from the center of the village. Waverly can boast of a large number of elegant private residences, and its surroundings are exceedingly beautiful. One great advantage enjoyed by Waverly over many other village, is its unlimited room for expansion; and its present and prospective railroad communications seem to warrant the most expansive ideas of its citizens. - T. Clendenny has purchased the News Business of Slaughter & Hayes, and about the 28th inst. will open a first class News Room in the Opera Block-Manners building. He will also keep confectionary, eschewing, however, the tobacco and cigar business. So about the 28th our people can depend on as fine a News Establishment as there is the country.

August 2, 1872 Waverly Advocate: For President Ulysses S. Grant Of Illinois. For Vice President, Hon. Henry Wilson, Of Massachusetts. ... Hon. Butler G. Noble, Ex-Gov. Of Wisconsin, Will Speak in the Opera House, In Waverly, on Wednesday Evening August 7th, In response to the following call. All Are Invited, Ladies Included. The undersigned citizens of Waverly, county of Tioga, believing the best interests of the country demand the re-election of Ulysses S. Grant to the Presidency of the United States, hereby call a meeting at the Opera House in the village of Waverly, for Wednesday evening, Aug, 7th, 1872, for the purpose of organizing a Grant and Wilson Club for the present campaign. ... J. W. Knapp, Wm. Knapp, ... Owen Spalding, ...Howard Elmer, ... R. A. Elmer, ... Wm. E. Johnson, ... S. W. Slaughter, ... L. S. Richardson, ... J. T. Buck, ... Geo. W. Orange, ... H. G. Merriam, ... C. H. Shepard, ... Dewitt Slaughter, ...John Seacord, ... (301 names)

August 23, 1872 Waverly Advocate: A few boarders can be accommodated at No. 3 Athens street, Waverly, N.Y. Inquire of G. F. Waldo, or O. H. P. Kinney at the P. O. (This home took up the lands of 3 and 5 Athens street)

1873, at 337 Broad Street, Dexter & Murray, general insurance, fire, life, lightning, office was over Corner Drug Store. (from Don Merrill's collection)

April 18, 1873 The Waverly Advocate: Eugene F. Wells of Goshen, N. Y., has bought out Mr. Hayes' interest of the firm of Slaughter & Hayes at the Corner Drug Store, Mr. Wells is a regular graduate of Princeton College. He brings recommendations as being a thoroughly scientific druggist and chemist. (Charlotte Wells' brother, Samuel Slaughter's soon to be brother-in-law)

The walls of the Opera House are going up finely.

May 8, 1873 Waverly Advocate: Owen Spaulding offers his beautiful residence on Chemung street for sale. - For Sale - My residence on the north side of Chemung street, I offer for sale. with the Furniture or without. Owen Spaulding. - Q. B. Corwin is building a very nice iron fence in front of his residence on Fulton street. - R. G. Crans has moved his dwelling to the west of the Fulton street extension. The street will soon be opened through his lands northward. - Another cistern is being built, adjoining the one just repaired, at the junction of Broad and Fulton streets, which will make ample water facilities for that locality. - We call attention to the advertisement of Slaughter & Wells on this page. It is the intention of Slaughter & Wells to keep as extensive and pure a stock of Drugs and Medicines as can be found in Southern New York or Northern Pennsylvania.

advertisement - The Corner Drug Store is the old stand for School Books, all School Material, Miscellaneous Books, Blank Books, etc. We shall keep a fine line of Initial Paper, Commercial Note, Legal Cap and tinted English Paper. We shall keep a stock of about 15,000 rolls of Wall Paper with Plain and Fresco Border, of all styles, grades, and prices, and shall constantly add to it as the trade demands. Cloth and Paper Window Shades and Fixtures will be found here. Our Paint and Oil room shall be kept stocked with fresh White Lead, Zinc, Oils, Kalsomine Material and Brushes, at reasonable prices.

Great Inducements Offered to Laboring Men. 128 Lots For Sale. In the very Heart of South Waverly, Situated on Pennsylvania Avenue and East 2nd street, directly South of the new and Commodius School House, only five minutes walk from the Depot. A part of the lots have nice Maple Trees in Front, with two year's growth. Prices Low and Terms of payment easy. A small amount required down and balance from one to five years credit. Map of the lots can be seen at any time at Crans & Suiter's Office, in the Post Office, where all accounts must be settled Immediately. R. G. Crans. John Ellis. Waverly, N. Y.

On May 13, 1873, Samuel Slaughter married Charlotte Wells.

May 16, 1873 The Waverly Advocate: Married. Slaughter - Wells - Goshen N. Y., May 13th, at the residence of the bride's sister, Mrs. L. E. Coleman, by the Rev. Dr. Snodgrass. Mr. S. W. Slaughter of Waverly, N. Y., and Miss Charlotte Wells of Goshen.

The partnership heretofore existing between S. W. Slaughter & H. H. Hayes, is this day dissolved by mutal consent. All person indebted to the firm are requested to make immediate payment to S. W. Slaughter, H. H. Hayes. Waverly, April 29th, 1873.

The undersigned have this day formed a co-partnership under the firm name of Slaughter & Wells, for the purpose of carrying on a general Drug business at the old stand, of Slaughter & Hayes, corner of Broad and Waverly streets Waverly N. Y. S. W. Slaughter, E. F. Wells. (Eugene Wells is Charlotte's brother, Samuel's brother-in-law)

Will be in Market The first of May and Thereafter, very desirable Building Lots, on Lincoln Avenue, on very reasonable terms and easy payment. Waverly, N. Y. April 18, 1873 J. G. Bush

May 23, 1873 The Waverly Advocate: Slaughter & Wells will run Soda Water free to all Friday May 23d. The soda at the Corner Drug Store is said to be the best in town.

1873 - 1882 at 337 Broad Street, Slaughter & Wells, drugs, school books, wall paper. (from Don Merrill's collection) Eugene Franklin Wells born 1846, died 1891, was Charlotte Wells Slaughter's brother.

June 13, 1873 The Waverly Advocate: Dr. W. E. Johnson is putting up a very fine residence on Park Avenue, adjoining the Institute property.

June 27, 1873 The Waverly Advocate: Slaughter & Wells At the Corner Drug Store, propose and are able to sell and dispense as Pure Drugs and Medicines as any pharmacy in N. Y. City and at lower prices. All the best Patent Medicines can be found here. We try to keep Pure Dye Stuffs only and give directions for use. The Corner Drug Store is the old stand for School Books, all School Material, Miscellaneous Books, Blank Books, &c. We shall keep a fine line of Initial Paper, Commercial Note, Legal Cap and Tinted English Paper. Farmers will find at the Corner Drug Store a full supply of Machine Oil of all grades and prices, also, Horse and Cattle Powders, Camphor Gum, Ayer's, Jane's, Radway's and Helmbold's standard Medicines, and all other articles usually found in a well stocked Drug Store. Our Paint and Oil room shall be kept stocked with fresh White Lead, Zinc, Oils, Kalsomine Material and Brushes, at reasonable prices.

The Waverly Gas Company have laid 13,668 feet of gas mains in our streets.

The Prescription and Chemical Department at Slaughter & Wells Corner Drug Store is in charge of E. F. Wells, the junior partner, a regular graduate in chemistry, who brings the following recommendations: I consider Mr. Wells much more than ordinarily competent to perform all duties that appertain to Pharmacy. My business is done solely by Prescriptions and Mr. Wells has been employed almost exclusively in compounding them. With a rare knowledge of Pharmacy and Analytical Chemistry he combines the qualities of caution, elegance and skill in preparing Prescriptions. H. H. Robinson, M. D. Office No. 75 W. Main st., Goshen, N. Y.- I am most happy to recommend Mr. Eugene F. Wells as a thorough scientific Druggist. W. S. Elliott, D. D. S. Firm of Elliott & Howard, Dentists offices. No. 112 W. 23 St. N. Y. city.

July 11, 1873 Waverly Advocate: We learn that Mrs. Fritcher has purchased of R. G. Crans the lot N. E. corner of Chemung and Fulton streets, and that Holland & Flemming will immediately put up for her a fine brick residence. This is a beautiful location, one of the best, if not the best, in the village. (current home there at 155 Chemung street is not brick)

August 15, 1873 The Waverly Advocate: Mr. Slaughter has repaired (rebuilt would be the better word) his house, corner Chemung and Athens streets, and the improvement is marked and commendable.

{Eastlake - (1860 - 1890) marked by its fancifulness, spindle work, lacy ornamental details, buttons, knobs, angular stick work, the sawtooth pattern is a Hallmark of the Eastlake style, patterns, ornamentations, pendants, capitals, open stick work, pent hoods, flower and geometric shapes as ornaments, chamfered (beveled edge) corners with lark's tongue, low relief carving, the Eastlake ornamentation was usually carried on to inside the house as well. Some believe (http://starcraftcustombuilders.com 2014) this to be a high Victorian elaboration of the venerable gothic style without the defining Gothic elements.}

{Many of the Victorian homes (1820 - 1900) are a mixture of Gothic, Eastlake, Stick, Second Empire, Queen Anne, Richardsonian Romanesque and Folk Victorian. What most have in common is the asymmetry, two stories, steep pitched roofs, turrets, and dormers, large porches with turned posts, and decorative gable trim. The first known use of the chamfered edge was circa 1840.}

August 15, 1873 The Waverly Advocate: Dr. W. E. Johnson's new house on Park Avenue is enclosed, and it presents a neat and artistic appearance. (next to current Muldoon Gardens)

The glass cutting department of the Corning Glass Works, has received an order for several thousand dollars worth of glass ware for the state dinner service at the White House.- Wellsboro Agitator. (Corning Museum of Glass is about 35 minutes from Waverly.)

September 26, 1873 The Waverly Advocate: From the Towanda Journal. Elizabeth Holland. Biographical. The subject of this sketch was of pure African descent, and was born in Athens, this country, July 9th, 1836, and died in Waverly, N.Y., April 15th, 1862. Her father was born in the dark prison-house of American bondage - knowing not the date or place of his birth. Quite early in life he gazed, with a beating heart, at the North Star, and sought a home in the Free States, and for twenty-six years resided in this county, mostly in Sheshequin and Athens townships. He died July 31st, 1860, never having revealed the name of his master or the place he fled from, to a living soul. Having suffered untold tortures, he spared no caution to prevent his capture and a repetition of the cruel and barbarous treatment dealt him at the hands of men who were taught to believe they had a right to him, and who clamored with boisterous ingnorance every 4th of July of American Freedom. Her mother was born in Sheshequin and through the kindness of friends learned to read a little. She is still living - aged seventy-one - in Waverly, N. Y., entirely alone in a house kindly furnished by Owen Spaulding. I pay her a visit two or three times a year, and nearly always find her reading the Bible, or Elizabeth's Scrap Book, which is composed entirely of her own writings, in prose and poetry, contributed to various papers. She is very black, with regular features and is a quiet genteel old lady; waiting with ? and ? ? her departure to another and higher life. Elizabeth, from early childhood passed through all kinds of hardships, but always struggled onward and upward, amid bitter scorns and heart-crushing words from those who should have been her friends. In school or out it was always the same. She was made to feel that she must occupy the place of a menial, and for no other reason, only that she was black. She felt it keenly, and it no doubt had much to do in hastening her early death. In writing to a friend of her father's death, she says: "Yesterday as I gazed over the broad acres that surrounded my native village - Athens - I thought how often his stalwart arm had swept down the waving grain, or stripped the golden corn; and, how much the farmers would miss him at their annual gatherings. - But his time for toil is over and he is gathered into the garden of righteousness. He has gone from a world of care and oppression, and while the blooming cannon and martial music proclaimed the anniversary of West India emancipation, we were paying the last tribute of respect to one whose spirit is emancipated from its fetters of clay and was singing the song of the redeemed in Heaven. Although my aged mother and myself are left to grapple with this cold world alone, yet we are consoled by the thought that God had promised to be a father to the fatherless and a friend to the widow." She was a young lady of more than orinary talent, and had a great amibition to acquire and education. She displayed a brilliancy and power of intellect of which others, of any race, might well be proud. Her writings were admired for their earnestness and deep thought; and her appeals in behalf of her own downtrodden and despised race, and of the poor and oppressed of all lands, awakened a responsive echo in many noble hearts. The foolish and malignant prejudice against her color, which prevailed in the land tended very much to lessen her influence and circumscribe her reputation. She entered a school for young ladies at Factoryville, Tioga county, N. Y., kept by Mrs. Porter, the wife of Rev. Geo. P. Porter; they were, I think, her firm and fast friends through all her numerous struggles, and though she was the best writer and composer in the school she was, by a vote of the young ladies - strangely miscalled - obliged to leave on account of her color. After much delay and vexation her case was reconsidered, and she was reinstated in the school. In the meantime she applied to the New York Central College for admission and recieves a favorable reply; for in that institution good character, not the color of the skin or hair, fixed position and commanded respectability. I append a copy of her letter to that institution at the time. Factoryville, Tioga Co., N. Y., April 12, 1857. Honored Sir; - Having a desire to enter your institution as a scholar, I wish to know upon what terms your students are allowed to enter. I have been laboring for several years to obtain an education that I might benelt, my oppressed people. I have met with many discouragements, and have been thrown out of school on scourns of my color. My father is too poor to assist me any farther. I am willing to labor early and late to accomplish my ojbect - that of becoming an efficient teacher. I have a fair knowledge of the common English branches and have commenced the higher English and French. - Please let me know how and when I can enter. May you and all the friends of the institution be abundantly rewarded for your kindness to my despised race. Elizabeth Holland. In 1859 she became an agent for the Pine and Palm, a radical anti slavery paper, published in Boston, for which her labors were very effective. She also wrote for the Anglo African, and Fred Douglass's paper, and lectured extensively through New York and Northern Pennsylvania, always with credit to herself and her cause - often posting her own b? under all kinds of discouraging circumstances, meeting with derision and hisses from men and women, who would, at this time, like to have it forgotten; and who would listen to her now - were she living - with attention and pleasure. How time and events soften our blind and ignorant prejudices. In February, 1860, she lectured in Elmira, N. Y., her subject being, "Our Condition as a People." And she, in a masterly way, showed how they might improve their condition by education and morality. She went from here to Troy, Pa., and spoke; but owing to the prejudice existing, the meeting was very small; yet some of the better minds who listened were so well pleased she was invited to speak again the next evening, which she did to a much larger audience. She was greatly "indebted to Horace Pomeroy for the use of his large hall almost rent free.', She spoke in Alba, Granville, Le-Roy, East Canton, Monroeton and Towanda. At Monroeton she was advised not to speak if she valued her life, but she could not be made to believe that in Republican Bradford and only four miles from the home of David Wilmont, a woman would be mobbed for pleading the cause of her enslaved race. So she procured the Baptist Church and had a large and successful meeting. The next evening she spoke in Moore's Hall in Towanda, to about thirty colored and two white persons. She was disappointed at the small audience in a town somewhat noted for Republicanism, and the home of David Wilmont - of Wilmont Proviso fame. But the good people of Towanda had not, at that time, learned that women could, or should lecture in public, and that a colored lady should attempt such a thing, was heresey of the deepest and darkest type. Many have learned wiser lessons since then through the natural progress of events and may they still go on learning until the prejudice of caste is oblitertaed entirely. Towanda, Sept. 10, 1873.

October 1873, Charlotte Slaughter's mother died, Lydia Nyce Wells.

October 17, 1873 The Waverly Advocate: Dr. Wm. E. Johnson now occupies his new residence on Park Avenue, opposite the Episcopal Church, where he may be found when not otherwise engaged. His office is still on Waverly Street, three doors above the Corner Drug Store.

Try our Pure XL Spices, Cream Tartar and Bi Carb Soda and if not found pure as warranted return them. Spices are shamefully adulterated and such are dear at any price. We buy direct from the spice crushers and every pound is warranted. Housekeepers will find our pure XL Cream Tartar, Soda and Spices to give the best results besides being cheapest and healthiest. Try them. Slaughter & Wells.

Slaughter & Wells have added several of the choicest brands of Cigars to their stock. They now have the finest Cigars in town. Try them.

October 24, 1873 Waverly Advocate: The slaters are at work on the Opera House. - J. C. Hawkins is building a very nice house on Johnson street. - Fifty dwellings have been built in South Waverly during the present season, and nine more have been commenced. - J. D. Hawk is putting up a good style brick building in South Waverly, adjoining Lagersman's. - J. T. Sawyer has commenced excavating for some dwellings in South Waverly on the rear end of the old Steam Flouring Mill lot. - C. Dickson has put up a very good building near corner of Broad street and Penn's Avenue, to accommodate his marble business. - Manners has commenced work on his new steam bakery, in the rear of his new store, it is to be of brick, and a good building. - The Opera House is piped throughout for gas and service pipe already introduced from the street main. - One hundred and twenty new coaches have just been completed by the Pullman Palace Car Company. There are now seven hundred of the coaches running on one hundred and fifty-two roads. Every car costs from $17,000 to $20,000, and one of them of the Erie broad gauge, costs more than $50,000. - Wm. Manners has covered his building with patent iron roofing. The surface is so prepared as to entirely exclude the air from contact with it, and therefore is not liable to corrosion. It is a little cheaper than tin, and is believed to be more lasting. It stood the late storm without a leak. - The Opera House is fast nearing completion. We learned with regrets of its destruction by fire last spring, and we are now thrice glad to note that the present one is none the less beautiful or advantageous in all its apartments. This building is also provided with five stories besides the main entrance to hall. - A brick block is being built at the corner of Broad and Fulton streets. Here the proprietors of the Waverly Advocate will have an office finished off in fine style, and made to better accommodate their growing business. - Besides these evidences of prosperity, which we have but briefly noted, there are many others We heard little else but the rattling trains and the hammers of busy builders during a stay of something like three hours. Waverly is growing, and is destined to be a city some day perhaps. We hope so. - Slaughter & Wells have added several of the choicest brands of Cigars to their Stock. They now have the finest Cigars in town. Try them.

An 1874 Bird's Eye view map of Waverly shows the main house and two story octagon home on Chemung Street.

1874 map shows homes at 4, 6, and 8 Athens street. The home at 8 Athens is drawn quite abit farther back then the current home there today.

1874 Dewitt Slaughter was one of the director's of Citizen's Bank in Waverly.

1874 Citizens Bank at 72 Broad Street. J. T. Sawyer, President. H. W. Owen, Vice Pres't. M. Lyman, Jr. Cashier. Directors. H. W. Owen, H. C. Spaulding, Dewitt Slaughter, J. T. Sawyer, Daniel Bensley.

February 27, 1874 The Waverly Advocate: Every Office, Desk and House should have one of these new patent glass ink-stands sold by Slaughter & Wells. They cannot spill ink when upset; can be cleaned when full; point of pen cannot strike the bottom; last drop of ink can be taken up; is corked when upside down; saves ink. Price, 40c., 80c., 1.00.

Corner Drug Store. Pure Drugs and Chemicals, at Slaughter & Wells'. Prescriptions carefully prepared by Slaughter & Wells'. All reliable Patent Medicines at Slaughter & Wells. Alcohol, Wines, and Liquors, at Slaughter & Wells'. Morphine and Turkish Opium, at Slaughter & Wells'. Fine Perfumery and Toilet Soap, at Slaughter & Wells'. Spices in bulk, warranted pure, at Slaughter & Wells'. Imported and Domestic Cigars at Slaughter & Wells'. Tooth Brushes, Hair Brushes Combs, at Slaughter & Wells'. Initial Paper, Latest Novelties at Slaughter & Wells'. French, English and Mourning Paper, at Slaughter & Wells'. School Books, and Blank Books, at Slaughter & Wells'. Picture Frames and Framing to order, at Slaughter & Wells'. Wall Paper and Window Shades, at Slaughter & Wells'. Paints, Oils, Glass, &c., at Slaughter & Wells'. We have the largest stock of Drugs and Druggists Sundries in Waverly - We give Good Weight, Good Measure, Good Quality and Bottom Prices, every time. Try us, at the Corner Drug Store.

April 30, 1874 Watkins Express Watkins N. Y.: On Sabbath, the 19th inst., the Presbyterian Church at Waverly received to membership one hundred and two persons, over sixty of whom were heads of families. The communion scene, was one of surpassing beauty and interest, and one never to be forgotten. (This is probably when Samuel Slaughter joined the church.)

July 17, 1874 The Waverly Advocate: Robert Packer Superintendent of the Pa. & N.Y., R. R. has purchased one of the "Thousand Islands" in the St. Lawrence, and has converted it into a place of beauty and magnificence, equal to the celebrated Pulman Island. Those who have ever visited these islands know that they are among the most lovely spots of the earth. Col. Packer designs his for a place of pleasure for himself and friends during hot season. On Monday evening last the Colonel, Robt. H. Sayre, Gen. Superintendent of the Lehigh Valley R. R., Harry Packer, brother of Robert, Dr. Lenderman, and some twenty-five others passed through this place on their way to that magnificent retreat.

The Elmira Advertiser says that Packer, Sayre and others, who hav gone on and excursion to the Thousand Islands, took along three thousand dollars worth of edibles. We fear they have squandered their money on crackers and herrings.

July 31, 1874 Waverly Advocate: By an arrangement now complete, persons leaving their name and money, ($2.00) with Mr. Wells, of the firm of Slaughter & Wells of this place, can on the 5th of August, visit the Watkins Glen and have admission to the same. The only restriction placed upon the action of individuals will be that, they shall return on the same day. Tickets must be purchased of Mr. Wells, on or before noon of the 4th and any further particulars will be furnished by him. The fair with Glen charge from Waverly and back is ordinarily $2.90, and if there are sufficient number who will go on this occasion the fare can be made even $2.00.

September 18, 1874 The Waverly Advocate: Citizens' Bank, 72 Broad Street. J. T. Sawyer, President. H. W. Owen, Vice Pres't. M. Lyman, Jr. Cashier. Directors. H. W. Owen, H. O. Spaulding, Dewitt Slaughter, J. T. Sawyer, Daniel Bensley

SAYRE. The new Town of Sayre, Pa., is situated on the plain between Athens and Waverly, and one and a half miles from each. It is the Southern terminus of the Southern Central Railroad, extending North to Lake Ontario, and of the Ithaca and Athens Railroad, extending North to Cayuga Lake and the New York Central. It is virtually the Northern terminus of the Lehigh Valley and Pa. & N. Y. Railroads, the most costly and extensive round-house of the latter road just having been completed upon the large tract purchased by the Company. During the year 1873, a Car Wheel Foundry, a Furniture Factory and a Planing Mill were put in operation, and numerous dwellings erected. Everything indicates a vigorous growth for 1874. The TOWN PLOT is now ready for examination and lots for RESIDENCES and BUSINESS PURPOSES will be sold on very FAVORABLE TERMS. Lots for Dwellings near Depot, $200 to $350 each. Half acre Lots on Keystone Avenue $300 to $400 each. Five acre Lots on Keystone Avenue at $300 to $350 per acre. Two Dwellings near Car Wheel Foundry. Three Dwellings near Depot. Lands for Manufacturers on specific terms. Apply at the First National Bank of Waverly, or at the Office at Sayre, Pa. Howard Elmer $100,000.

1874, Citizen's Bank of Waverly was organized and Samuel Slaughter was the vice president until his death in 1894.

1874: Madison Observer Morrisville, NY: KEEP YOUR AGREEMENTS. - One reason why many people do not get along in the world is because they cannot be depended upon. They do not keep their agreements. When they are weighed in the balance of actual affairs they are too often found wanting. They are seldom on time. The workman who is always on hand at the appointed time and place and does his work according to agreement, is sure to get along. To a young mechanic, starting life, the habit of punctuality is worth more than a thousand dollars cash capital - although that sum is not to be despised. The trust worthiness of the faithful workman produces money, but the distrust of faithless men is a source of loss. This is an unvarying principle. They who would be permanently prosperous must keep their engagements.

1874: Madison Observer Morrisville, NY: Ad- Read what experience proves about Hatch's Universal Cough Syrup: Hatch's Universal Cough Syrup has been put to a six years test in our trade, with the following result: It gives the best of satisfaction to all our customers, and they testify to that satisfication by buying far more of it than of any other cough remedy, although we keep in stock a large number of that class of medicines, in fact all that have been heretofore considered most salable. Slaughter & Wells, Waverly, N.Y.

1874, at 337 Broad Street, J.N Dexter, attorney was in the building. (from Don Merrill's collection)

December 4, 1874 Cynthia Lowman Brooks died.

December 1874 The Waverly Advocate: House And Lot For Sale Cheap, - The Subscriber offers his House and Lot for Sale known as the Octagon House on Chemung Street with land enough extending on Athens Street for two Building Lots. Esquire of J. E. Hallett, Waverly, N. Y. of of the subscriber. Edwin Mills, Middletown N. Y. {Edwin Mills was a farmer}

1875 New York state census: 208 Chemung street was a frame built house worth $8,000. Samuel Slaugher, 37 yrs., druggist and his wife, Mrs. C. Slaughter, 24 yrs. along with Samuel's father, Dewitt Slaughter, were living in the home.

January 1, 1875 The Waverly Advocate: House And Lot For Sale Cheap, - The subscriber offers his House and Lot for Sale known as the Octagon House on Chemung Street with land enough extending on Athens Street for two Building Lots. Esquire of J. E. Hallett, Waverly, N. Y. or of the subscriber. Edwin Mills, Middletown, N. Y.

January 8, 1875 The Waverly Advocate: Queen Victoria on a recent occasion was paying a visit to a great noble and official. When the hour for departure arrived, her host observed that the carriage was at the door and the train waiting. Somebody, however, observed that Brown, her confidential servant, was not there. "Oh, "said the Queen of Great Britian and Ireland, "we must wait for him. I suppose he is finishing up his morning pipe!"

January 29, 1875 The Waverly Advocate: Citizens Bank 72 Broad Street. - J. T. Sawyer, President. H. W. Owen, Vice Pres't. M. Lyman, Jr. Cashier. - Directors. H. W. Owen, H. C. Spaulding, Dewitt Slaughter, J. T. Sawyer, Daniel Bensley.

DR. WM. E. Johnson, Physician and Surgeon, Office Waverly St., three floors above Corner Drug Store. Residence, Park Avenue, opposite the Episcopal Church, near the Academy.

Slaughter & Wells. Druggists and dealers in Sationery, Wall Paper, Picture Frames, Periodicals, & c, & c. NO. 87 Broad St., Waverly, N. Y. Aug. 21, 1868
- DR. F. M. Snook - Dentist. Office over the corner Drug Store, Waverly, N. Y. All operations performed by him are warranted as represented. Particular attention paid to the preservation of the natural teeth.
- Waverly Marble Works. W. P. Stone, Manufacturer And Dealer In American and Foreign Marble - Monuments, Tombstones, Mantles, & C. At Penny's Old Stand, Broad Street, Waverly, N. Y. All orders promptly attended to. Wm. P. Stone.

On March 16, 1875 the octagonal house was sold by Edwin Mills and Libbie B, his wife to John S Conkling, about 1 acre with an octagonal house on it. (Would have been yard to the west of our main house at 208 Chemung Street with parts of 9 Athens and all of 7 Athens street.)

March 18, 1875 The Plaindealer. St. Lawrence. : Singular Snow Storm. We find the following in the Waverly Advocate of last week. Waverly is in the Tioga county, just on the Pennsylvania line, Athens perhaps five miles and Towanda eighteen or twenty miles farther south: "A very singular snow storm prevailed during Sunday and Sunday night. At Towanda it fell to the depth of nearly 18 inches; at Athens 5 inches and at Waverly about half an inch. Farther south the storm was still heavier, and the trains on the Lehigh Valley were completely blocked up. East of us to New York the storm was so heavy as to delay trains for several hours. Waverly is evidently not a snow center."

July 2, 1875 The Waverly Advocate: The Octagon House, on Chemung Street, in this village, with One Acre of Land. Inquire of J. E. Hallet, Opposite the Premises. (owned by John S. Conkling)

Dr. M. B. Weaver met with quite an accident on Tuesday last while out riding with his wife; his horse becoming frightened, overturned the carriage, throwing out both, breaking the Dr's collar bone. He is doing finely. Mrs. W. was not injured in the least. (He rented part or all of the octagon home for his office, was there in 1871, not sure for how long he was there)

The following census statistics were given us, of election district No. 1 of this town by H. J. Bonnell. The population of the district is 1,358. Factoryville village has population of 492. Number of dwellings in the district, is 304. Number of families, 322. Number of Farms 120.

July 13, 1875 Auburn Morning News: Cascade. - Dr. M. B. Weaver, Clairvoyant Physician, of Waverly and Elmira, is now permanently located at Cascade. Call and see him.

July 30, 1875 The Waverly Advocate: For Sale. The Octagon House, on Chemung Street, in this village, with One Acre of Land. Inquire of J. E. Hallet, Opposite the Premises. (owned by John S. Conkling)

On September 18, 1875 Dewitt Slaughter, Samuel's father, died.

September 24, 1875 Waverly Advocate: Deaths. Slaughter - Sept. 18th at Circleville, Orange County of Apoplexy, Dewitt Slaughter, of Waverly, Aged 72 years and 15 days.b

September 1875 Port Jervis Tri States Union: Sudden Death in Middletown. Mr. Dewitt Slaughter, well known to many in this section as a former resident of Scotchtown, but for several years past of Waverly, N.Y., died very suddenly Saturday evening at the residence of his relative, Mr. Robert Bull, in Circleville. Mr. Slaughter came here several weeks since, and about the first of August had the misfortune to break his collar bone. He had got about again, however, and on Saturday ate his dinner as usual. He retired to his room, and in the evening was found lying on his bed dead. Apoplexy is supposed to have been the cause of his death. Mr. Slaughter had been subject to epileptic fits for many years. His age was seventy-two. Deceased was brother-in-law of Wm. and Jas. J. Mills, of this village. He had on son living in Waverly. It is mentioned as a noticeable circumstance that Mr. S. had just ordered a $500 monument from M. C. Owen, of this village. - Press.

September 30, 1875 Corning Journal: DeWitt Slaughter of Waverly died recently in Circleville, Orange county, aged seventy-two years.

October 8, 1875 The Waverly Advocate: They've got so they steal lamp globes from our street lamps. Enquire at the junction of Chemung and Athens streets.

January 7, 1876 Waverly Advocate: The Centennial. Something Of What It Was: Part Of What Was Done. Waverly seldom allows herself to be outdone by her neighbors, and never allows herself to be behind the times when the times will allow her to be otherwise. Although she began to begin at rather a late hour to welcome the Centennial year she made up in enthusiasm what was apparently lacking in preparation. No doubt the day would have found its way in without any special invitation, or noisy introduction, still it must have felt a little proud of the proud and gallant way the thing was done in Waverly. One hundred guns suggested themselves very loudly to our people, but 100 guns for the solid nations without any condiments or desert would hardly be the thing in these days of high toned etiquette; so bands, flags, bells, whistles, illuminations and other et ceteras suggested themselves in rapid succession, and no sooner said than done. Let us see about how it was. At 12 o'clock M. precisely, between the two years, the Methodist church bell struck the magic hour, which was by mutual understanding, the signal for every other conceivable noise to join in the concert. Accordingly every bell in town awoke the quiet, balmy air of 1876 to eloquent and patriotic vibrations; the old cannon, which had done proud service for the country (at 4th of Julys), shook the town form center to circumference, and its echoes from the surrounding hills symbolized the faintly answering responses from Lexington, Concord and Bunker Hill; military band with fifes and drums quickened the patriotic pulses of the people as in ye olden time; the dwellings and business places suddenly burst into brilliant illumination; the whistles of twenty locomotives stationed all the way from Waverly to Sayre, supplemented the screams of ten thousand American Eagles, and so shook the earth as to awaken the Old Continentalers from their quiet slumbers, and fancy saw them in their quaint uniforms striding around with their fingers in their ears, wondering what new fangled Gabriel the Yankees had invented during their hundred years' sleep. - Everybody and his wife hurrahed, their children built bon-fires in the streets and danced around them like winter witches in Salem's days; the rest of mankind extracted music from dry-goods boxes, rams' horns, cow bells, tin pans, and whatever else could be pressed into the noisy service of the occasion. For one long hour these demonstrations of joy and gladness were kept up, nor did some of them cease until old Sol peeped over the eastern hills to see what on earth had turned up during his few hours absence. It was a glorious, hilarious, happy time, and everybody in Waverly had a hand in it. Everybody was intoxicated, yet nobody was drunk; and anomalous as it may see, those that drank the least were the most intoxicated. Perhaps we better particulate a little: The procession, headed by the military band, marched through some of our principal streets, and although the idea of illuminating had been suggested but a few hours before, it was found that the suggestion had been acted upon more generally than any had reason to expect. Some dwellings on the line of march were decorated and illuminated in really magnificent style. We learn of the illumination of the following residences, very many others, no doubt, escaping our notice: Dr. R. S. Harnden, John Shackleton, S. Kinney, C. F. Barager, F. R. Warner, J. F. Shoemaker, G. W. Orange, Mrs. F. H. Baldwin, R. D. VanDuzer, Mrs. E. M. Fritter, J. E. Pembleton, A. R. Bunn, J. K. Murdock, M. Lyman Jr., I. L. Richardson, W. M. Clark, J. E. Hallet, S. W. Slaughter, W. E. Moore, A. J. Lyon, Geo. H. French, Alfred Reed, C. E. Merriam, C. M. Harsh, E. J. Cambell, A. McDonald, Squire Whitaker, D. W. Gore, J. T. Sawyer, R. A. Elmer, Lew Dietrich, R. Canning, H. H. Hulton, Howard Elmer, C. J. Bergen, W. S. Thatcher, Mrs. Lang, B. B. Clark, C. C. Brooks, T. J. Phillips, G. F. Waldo, Levi Curtis, Mrs. N. Kinney. Nearly all the business places in town were lighted up, some of them in attractive style, among which we would mention the store of J. W. Knapp The Catholics, occupying the Opera House, kept that building finely lighted. The Hotels presented a very creditable appearance, especially the Warford and Courtney Houses. A flag, with "1876" thereon in large characters, was stretched across Fulton street from Mrs. Fritcher's block to the Campbell block, and the ADVOCATE office and Post office so illuminated as to show the flag at a long distance. - There were large bon fires kept continuously burning in Broad street, which served to illuminate the town, and let the people at a distance know that Waverly was not in the dark on this Centennial business. There was one bon fire not in the bills. In the midst of the little Bedlam some mischievous person set fire to a small unoccupied building south side of the track in the western part of the town, and it was a long time before the real character of the illumination could be determined; and even after the truth was known it was some time longer before a real fire alarm could be distinguished from the general ? and uproar of the occasion. The Fire Department came out, but as its services were not needed it returned. A boy by the name of Merritt, in running to the fire, fell through the trestle work over Dry Brook, and broke one of his legs. Ed. Curren, in assisting at firing the cannon, had his left hand considerably injured by the premature discharge of the gun, but the cannon continued to announce that our flag was still there till daylight, when its 100 cartridges were exhausted and its work well done. The streets were thronged with people - men, women and children - and we noticed not a few from abroad attracted hither by the occasion. In the midst of all this noisy jollification we could distinctly hear similar evidences of patriotism at Factoryville, Sayre, Athens and Elmira; and the thud of cannon at even more remote places, was distinctly heard at times. This was really and substantially an improvised and spontaneous celebration, and perhaps the more ardent, heart-felt, and enthusiastic for that reason. There was no organization whatever, or even committee having the matter in hand, yet the credit of getting it up and setting the elements at work is mainly due to Hon. A. G. Allen, Robt. N. Manners, Fred R. Warner, Wm. Poles, E. J. Campbell, and a few others we cannot now recall.

1876 The Waverly Advocate: Mr. Slaughter has been repainting and sanding the Corner Drug store. The improvement is very marked and creditable.

Summer 1876 The Waverly Advocate: Visited Sayre on Tuesday, more especially Col. Packer's new mansion and grounds. The Colonel will have the finest residence in northern Pennsylvania or southern New York. No one can have any idea of the beauty and magnificence of the dwelling now approaching completion without a personal inspection of it. Although a wooden structure, there is a large amount of stone and brick work about it of the best and most expensive character. The Gothic style of the building is peculiarly appropriate to the elevated and commanding position it occupies. The grounds about it are already exhibiting the skill and taste of the landscape gardner, and in a few brief years it will present and appearance of beauty and luxury rarley found in this country. Mr. Packer is cleaning out a little lake in the rear of his grounds and mixing its vast accumularities of vegetable matter with the soil around his house which will make a most valuable and productive composition. The lake will be graveled and surrounded with drives, and otherwise ornamented, so that what has heretofore been known as "bush pond" will soon be the popular Packer Lake - not large, but beautiful. Mr. Flemming of Towanda has charge of the work, and on Tuesday was utilizing fifty, and four or five teams of horses. It is rough muddy business now, but ere long the scened will be transformed into surpassing beauty and loveliness.

September 7, 1876 Auburn Daily Bulletin: The losses by Thursday's fire at Waverly are: The Enterprise newspaper office, $7,000, insurance $5,000; building on Shepard block, $6,000, no insurance, and other smaller losses aggregating $1,500. The fire is supposed to have been accidental.

September 1876, from New York Times: The new wooden block on Broad street, near the railroad depot, at Waverly, N. Y., owned by W. W. Shepard, the livery stables of J. L. Bentley, and a small building used by Campbell Brothers for storage purposes were destroyed last night by fire. Shepard's block was occupied by the Enterprise newspaper office, Pbineas Terry, harness maker, and a private family. Loss on building $6,000; no insurance. The Enterprise newspaper loss $7,000; insurance, $5,000; Terry's loss is $250; no insurance. The livery stable loss is $600; insurance, $400, which is covered by insurance. The depot was on fire several times but it was extinguished. The fire originated in the passage between the printing office and harness shop, and is supposed to have been accidental.

September 14, 1876, John S. Conkling and Addie to Charles A. Luckey, the octagonal home, part of current 9 Athens and all of current 7 Athens street, about one acre.

November 1876 Waverly Advocate: A son of T. Campbell who resides on Athens street in this place, had his leg broken, while playing at school, one day last week.

November 1876 Waverly Advocate: Charles H. Sawyer has completed his splendid residence on Chemung street, and a visit to his mansion satisfies us that it is one of the best, if not the very best, in Waverly. It is an ornament to our town and a credit to Mr. Sawyer. It is complete and perfect in all its appointments. Gas and water fixtures have been put in throughout. The main part of the house is finished in ash and black walnut, and other portions of the building grained in imitation of those woods. And here is where the skill and artistic taste of D. S. Morgan is exhibited. The graining has been done by him, and so closely has he imitated the original wood that it will take an expert to distinguish the imitation form the genuine. In many instances the original wood and the imitations are in contact, and to a casual observer they would be declared one and the same. It is the best job of graining ever done in this town, and we congratulate Mr. Sawyer on the beauty of his house, and on having secured the services of such superior artists in the execution of the work. (This is referring to 416 Chemung St. Waverly, NY)

November 22, 1876 The Waverly Free Press: We have been shown plans and elevation of the proposed new school house, to be built on Lincoln street, which appears to be very complete in all respects, and if constructed in accordance with the plans and specifications, will be an ornament to our beautiful village and an honor to the architect, Mr. John Seacord. The building and grounds are to cost about $5,000.

December 6, 1876 The Waverly Free Press: Ground has been broken on Lincoln street for the new Primary School building. The job has been let to Mr. Asaph Larnard, and is to be completed by the first of April. It will be large enough to accommodate two hundred and forty children. There will be four school rooms, seated for sixty children each - two below and two above. The appointments in each room will be alike and quite complete. The rooms will be large and airy. The plan for ventilation is in accordance with the latest improvements. The whole will be heated by two furnaces. The Board of Education has purchased an acre of land for a site for this building, about midway up Lincoln street. The ground is high, and it seems to be in every respect and eligible spot. We understand Mr. Larnard has engaged Mr. A. J. Van Atta to superintend the job for him. This means business on the part of Mr. Larnard, and no doubt the Board of Education will secure a good job of it. The plans and specifications for this building were prepared by Mr. John Seacord of this place. (VanAtta, the designer and builder of our estate)

1877 and 1878 Citizens' Bank at 72 Broad Street. J. T. Sawyer, President. H. W. Owen, Vice Pres't. M. Lyman, Jr. Cashier. Directors. H. W. Owen, H. C. Spaulding, S. W. Slaughter, J. T. Sawyer, Daniel Bensley.

January 1, 1877 The Waverly Free Press: The annual election of officers for the Citizens Bank, took place on Monday, January 8, 1877, the following being elected for the coming year. J. T. Sawyer, President; H. W. Owen, Vice President; M. Lyman, Jr. Cashier; J. T. Sawyer, H. W. Owen, Henry C. Spaulding, Daniel Bensley, S. W. Slaughter, Directors.

January 3, 1877 The Waverly Free Press: The new school house on Lincoln street is being rapidly pushed forward to completion. The frame was raised on New Year's day.

April 25, 1877 The Waverly Free Press: Rubber Paint - The Very Best of any in use. Makes a heavier body, spreads further and holds its fine gloss longer than anything else. No Cracking Nor Chalking. I have given it 5 years trial and will use no other. M. Lyman, Jr., Ag't.

May 2, 1877 The Waverly Free Press: Water is coming into use as a fashionable beverage.
School was opened in the new school house on Lincoln street, on Monday last. This is said to be the finest school building in Tioga County.
Mr. E. G Tracy, is having his residence, corner of Fulton and Chemung streets repaired, and some very fine chimneys built thereon, which adds much to its looks. 153 Chemung st. {152 in 1896 was A J Vanatta}
Now is the time to build a good plank walk in front of your lots. Nothing will add more to the beauty of your homes.

May 16, 1877 The Waverly Free Press: J. B. Thompson, formerly of Middletown, has leased the Buck House, and has taken possession.

May 23, 1877 The Waverly Free Press: A water works company has been formed in this village, with a capital of $40,000 with power to increase said stock to any amount found necessary to complete and maintain the works. Surveys will soon be made to ascertain the best site for the reservoir, and the cost of construction. The company is composed of our best men, and capitalists. Full particulars will be given at no distant day.

June 27, 1877 The Waverly Free Press: Milk 4 cents a quart.
Since we published that article in regard to hitching horses to shade trees, a number of complaints has been made to us in regard to the want of suitable hitching posts being provided. It is claimed, and we think justly, that not one lot in ten, has a post set in front of it, that is safe to hitch a horse to. One man who resides outside of the village, told us he had brought and set four posts in various parts of the village so he should have a safe post to hitch his horses to while here on business. He suggests that a fine of $5 be imposed on every owner of a lot who fails to set a good hitching post in front of the same, and then make a fine of $10 and 30 days in jail to hitch to a shade tree, but that the posts be provided before the penalties last named can be enforced. We think he is quite right, and suggest the planting of a hitching post in front of every lot, at an early day.
advertised for White Sewing Machine. White Sewing Machine Co., Cleveland, O. Agents wanted.

July 26, 1877 Clinton Courier.: Read what experience proves about Hatch's Universal Cough Syrup: Hatch's Universal Cough Syrup has been put to a six years test in our trade, with the following result: It gives the best of satisfaction to allow our customers, and they testify to that satisfaction by buying far more of it than any other cough remedy, although we keep in stock a large number of that class of medicines, in fact all that have been heretofore considered most salable. Slaughter & Wells, Waverly, N. Y. (Was Eugene Wells, Charlotte's brother)

August 8, 1877 The Waverly Free Press: If the people living on Athens street - not far from Tioga street - will have the kindness to make less racket after 10 o'clock p.m. with their organ and violin, they will oblige the surrounding community very much. X. Y. Z.

August 24, 1877 The Waverly Advocate: Mrs. Minnie Quick having been solicited to open a School at her residence, No. 3, Athens street, has decided to do so, and will begin Monday, September 3d, 1877. Instruction per term, $3.00, first lesson on Drawing included. The same text books used that are used in the public schools. (this home took up the lands of 3 and 5 Athens street)

August 29, 1877 The Waverly Free Press: G.W. Orange has taken up his strawberry bed and sown the ground with grass seed. His yard is much improved in appearance by the change.
School Books at Slaughter & Wells.

September 5, 1877 Luckey back to John S. Conkling, Octagonal House.

1877 Waverly Advocate: E. F. Wells, President of the Waverly Rifle Association, received complimentary tickets to the Creedmore International Rifle Match, and is now there witnessing the contest between the finest marksmen of the world. We are glad our Rifle Team is thus recognized. (Samuel Slaughter's brother-in-law and partner in Corner Drug Store)

Mrs. Minnie Quick having been solicited to open a School at her residence, No. 3, Athens street, has decided to do so, and will begin Monday, September 3d, 1877. Instruction per term, $3.00, first lesson in Drawing included. The same text books used that are used in the public schools. (At this time current day 3 & 5 Athens street was one property with one large home on it.)

If you want a little repairing to your tin roof, gutters or conductors, D. W. Gore is ready to do it promptly, neatly and efficiently. When the weather is dry is the time to have these little things attended to.

September 6, 1877 Waterville Times, Waterville, NY: Read what experience proves Hatch's Universal Cough Syrup: Hatch's Universal Cough Syrup has been put to a six years test in our trade, with the following result: It gives the best of satisfaction to all our customers and they testify to that satisfaction by buying far more of it than any other cough remedy, although we keep in stock a large number of that class of medicines, in fact all that have been heretofore considered most salable. SLAUGHTER & WELLS, Waverly, N. Y.

October 25, 1877 John S. Conkling and Adeline, his wife, to Samuel W. Slaughter, octagon house and lot immediately to the east, $2,600.00 {John S. Conkling, 51 yrs, a manufacturer, in 1880 was living in Middletown, Orange county, NY.}

October 25, 1877, Our property consisted of 208 & 208 1/2 Chemung St. and 7 and 9 Athens St, Waverly, NY. All owned by Samuel Slaughter.

1877 The Waverly Advocate: On Saturday evening last Mr. P. B. Tompkins, clerk in the L. V. R. R. Freight office at this place, was violently assaulted on Tioga street, at the foot of Athens street, by a person supposed by Mr. Tompkins to be a tramp. This sort of thing happening as it did in the most thickly populated part of our village is a serious matter, and should be investigated by our police authorities, and persons of such a suspicious character should not be allowed to perambulate our streets assaulting and way laying innocent citizens and children.

December 26, 1877 The Waverly Free Press: Sugar 10 cents a pound at J. W. Knapp's 30 and 32 Broad street. - Not an inch of snow has fallen in Waverly during the present winter, and grass still looks fresh and green. - It is estimated that there have been upwards of two hundred cases of diphtheria in this village since early fall, quite a number of which proved fatal.

1878 0r 1879 Waverly Advocate: The village of Middletown expended for year just closed $20,518.07 and Middletown is not much larger than Waverly. Our expenditures for the same period were but $5,094.11. We think no one can complain of extravagance on the part of our village officers. The Middletown Press boasts of a great Republican victory in the town of Wallkill. Well, with three Republican candidates in the field for Supervisor it must be a poor party indeed that could not elect one of them, when the Democrats had only one candidate.

January 11, 1878 Waverly Advocate: Waverly Mutual Loan Association. Statement of Business for the year ending December 31, 1877. H. H. Sniffin, President, and Wm. S. Iliff, Secretary, of the Waverly Mutual Loan Association - L. R. Manning, E. F. Wells and C. E. Peneleton, a committee appointed to audit the accounts. (E. F. Wells, was Charlotte's brother, S. W. Slaughter's brother-in-law and partner at Corner Drug Store)

January 12, 1878 The Waverly Free Press: Sarah Welles, widow of General Henry Welles, of Athens, Pa., died at Cleveland on Saturday, December 29th, age eighty-four.
John VanAtta, a gentleman over seventy years of age, and weighing over two hundred pounds, living in the northern part of this town, had a leg broken, the fore part of this week. (A. J. VanAtta's father)
Assemblyman, J. T. Sawyer returned to Albany on Monday evening last.

February 15, 1878 The Waverly Advocate: Spanish Hill. Twenty Years Hence. The old song: "It will be all the same a thousand years hence, " has become obselete. In ye olden time that would do to sing, but in this fast age nothing remains "the same" over night. The old Spaniard that appeared to our reporter in a materialized form at the ushering in of our Great Centennial Year, and revealed much of the quaint legendry of Spanish Hill, has again visited the mythical cave of which our readers must have a faint recollection, and revealed the future of that, to him, charmed spot, extending his prophesies to the close or the present century. Our reporter, who is much given to the wonderful and mysterious, secured and interview, and, with his ever present note book, caught the substance of his forecast of what is to be. He was asked why he annually visited this quaint and weird place; why he came in such tangible form; and why "Spanish Hill" was so called! He replied that he was strongly attracted hither by reminiscences of the terrible events that occured on this hill nearly two-hundred and fifty years ago, in which he was a prominent actor; that the wonderful changes wrought in this locality within the last century, and which are being continually worked out, were among the most interesting affairs of his earthly and spiritual life; and he took a melancholly pleasure in noting the remarkable transformations which he could not fully take in without putting himself in physical rapport with them. It was not the physical changes that most interested him; the moral and intellectual growth of humanity in these valleys was particularly attractive and pleasing. The name had a meaning - a most remarkable one, especially to himself. About the year 1630 expeditions to the New World were frequent and intensely exciting to the Spanish people. Spaniards were a sordid race; gold was their God, and they expected to find that precious metal on the new Continent in marvelous quantities. When a ship load of gold seekers landed upon the coast they usually divided themselves into small bands, and armed with such weapons as were then in use, and with such mining tools and other necessary things as could be conveniently transported in their way, they penetrated the vast interior of America in search of gold, silver, or any other precious metals that might be discovered. He was one of a party of forty-five who wandered up the Chesapeake bay, and thence up the Susquehanna river; but finding the valley exceedingly rugged, and difficult to traverse they built two boats out of hewed oak boards and with them worked their way up to nearly this point. He said, "nothing serious interfered with our progress till we entered the territory of a powerful organization of Indians composed of five tribes, since known as the Five Nations. These disputed our progress, having learned through other tribes of the marauding and rapacious character of the Hispans who had already overrun portions of the South. A few miles below here we abandoned our boats, sunk them in a cove, and then sought to fight our way through, hoping to reach other Spanish parties at the west. In fact, all retreat had been cut off, and no other course was left us. (The song:) Down in the shining river - The "River of the Hills," Where the magic aspens quiver To the music of the rills. We sunk our oaken vessels From out of Human sight, Till the ice-floods of the ages Should bring them to the light. The sands, by torrents drifted, Their keel and prow o'erwhelm, and o'er them time uplifted The walnut and the elm. Two centuries, gently sleeping, Unknowing and unknown, Our oaken boats were keeping Their secrets all their own. Then came the ice-king crushing The trees and banks away; And the river swiftly rushing - Rushing night and day - Revealed our trusty barges, But their history nevermore, While we were rivals keeping Upon the "other shore," How little know, ye seekers Of those relics old and brown. Of the tragedy that followed The sinking of them down. (end of song) Arriving at this mound-like hill, we intrenched ourselves with our mining tools, throwing up breast work around the margin, and keeping a way open to a spring at the base of the hill on the west side. On this hill we were surrounded by the most persistent, war-like people we ever met. After weeks of fighting against thirst, hunger and Indians, we yielded to the inevitable, and death ended alike our aniticipations and our sufferings. The Indians had learned our nationality, and henceforth this mound was known to them as "Hill Hispanola." From them the name passed down to the English settlers who afterwards, more successfully, invaded their territory. That little world of forest and savagery has now become the home of light, life and civilization. The change, to me, is wonderful - to you less so, because you live in it, and grow in it, and but faintly realize what a hundred years have wrought. A magnificent future is before you. I see it more plainly than you, because, in my more exalted and enlarged vision, I can take in the causes at work to secure results you dream not of. This hill has had a bloody past - it is to have a brilliant and beautiful future. At its base is growing up a pleasant and prosperous village. Its people are enterprising beyond the average of peoples; and they will not let the opportunity slip, when the opportunity comes, so make it what I foresee is rapicly approaching. Unless men change beyond any reasonable expectations, this beautiful spot will make a history for Waverly of which Waverly in the future will be proud. Every event has an efficient preceeding cause, and they are linked together by laws as inevitable as fate. As the country becomes cleared and settled up, and the forests disappear, your necessities will reach a climax which will demand the use of this hill for purposes not heretofore comtemplated by your people. The question of water will then override the question of burying the dead. This will never be a cemetery. Nature seems to have planned it for pleasanter and brighter uses. Ere this century closes, the basin between the two sections of the hill will be a lake of clear bright water, surrounded by groves, fountains, flowers and other attractions, useful, and delightful, and eminently refining in their influence upon the thousands who will make them the companions of their leisure hours. Thence will be supplied to the large and busy population on the plains below, the pure water so much demanded even now. Necessity will inaugurate the enterprise and the fine tastes of the rising generation will adorn and beautify the work as time moves on. The entire hill, with all its variety of surface and forest, will be made a park, that for elegance, comfort and charming attractions, be will surpassed by anything of its size along theses rivers. You aks how water is to be raised to this hill to make such an enterprise as success. This may look a little formidable now, but time and genius will provide all. Nothing bu the expence stands in the way to day, but the wants of your village will surely compel the expenditure. It is said that necessity knows no law, but necessity will make a law by, which its demands will be answered. - Man lives too much for sordid ends, and not enough for life itself. You are gradually learning that money is good for nothing except to use in the current wants of life. There is annually spent in your town to gratify mere sensuality and passion enough to supply water from this hill for ten years. A tithe of this wanton waste of money and vitality would more than meet this demand. This may seem an extravagant statement, but I have reason to believe that after the necessary works, (paper ruined) my statement will be found within the circle of truth. A well, not unlike that already in use at your village by this great railroad, but more perfect and permanent, will be sunk at the base of the hill on the river side, and sufficiently deep to reach the bed of that ever flowing stream; and in it a steam engine of average capacity will be set to work. Two or three days work in a week will keep the little lake full after it once becomes thoroughly tight, and you will be astonished at the ease and economy of the work. Fuel will soon be much cheaper than now. - The little mountains of waste coal lying useless at the mines will in a few years be utilized for all such purposes, and long before that is exhausted a cheaper motor will be discovered and brought into use. Even now one man with a few tons of coal a week would supply your village with the purest and best water known to this valley; and the heatlh, cleanliness, comfort and even wealth of your village would be so enhanced that you would wonder that this little stroke of utility and genuine economy had been delayed so long. Twenty years hence double the water can be placed upon this hill at half the expense of to day. No, this mound was not made for the weak to fortify themselves against the strong; not for a theatre of war and starvation and blood; nor yet as the receptacle of the dead bodies of your people; but as the resort of the weary toilers of earth; the enjoyments of the old and the young; as the healthful and beautiful spot that shall gladden the souls of a weary and overworked humanity." Listening a moment for something further, our reporter looked up in time to see the venerable Spaniard vanish into thin air, leaving further revelation to ifself, unless he should see it to again report for duty in his favorite role. (For more information on Spanish Hill.) (For local Native American history, Susquehanna River Archaeological Center.)

March 2, 1878 The Waverly Free Press: Mr. Wm. Knapp left here on Tuesday evening last, for Minnesota, where he is to make his future home, he having purchased a nice farm there. He was one of our best citizens, and we regret his loss from among us, but wish him abundant success in his new home.

March 21, 1878 Corning Journal: Brick Pomeroy. Remininscences and Recollections of "Brick" Pomeroy. Chapter XI, Of His Life - From Pomeroy's Democrat of March 9th 1878. Another printer who worked here in the office, boarding with Mr. Messenger, and for a long time occupying the same room with the writer hereof, was David R. Locke, since generally known as "Petroleum V. Nasby." -....Thomas Messenger was, all in all, a singular man. So far as his range of vision extended, he saw clearly. He was more blunt and outspoken in the defense of manhood than he was anxious to curry favor or slide along to prosperity. In fact, his was rather a sturdy nature, although its woof was kindness. He wielded a sharp, caustic pen, and few were the editors anywhere in that vicinity who cared to lock horns or goose-quills with him. In politics he took to the Whig school, and in 1851 was made Postmaster in Corning, which office he held for several months, until by accident some one discovered that he was not a citizen of the United States, when he resigned the office in favor of a personal friend. For a long time it was a part of my duty to assist in the Postoffice nights and mornings in the distribution of the mails as they came in, and in helping to make them up in order to go out. ...Chapter XII. From Pomeroy's Democrat of March 16, 1878. .....Mr. Messenger, meanwhile, after leaving the Journal office, had gone to Waverly, a new village then just springing up along the Erie Railroad, distance thirty-six miles from Corning. Here he broke the ice and himself at the same time, by starting in this little village, which was then considered something like a thumb to Factoryville, (an old and pretentious settlement a mile from Waverly, at the mouth of Shepherd's Creek,) a newspaper, launched forth upon the frightened world under the title of the Waverly Luminary. It was a jolly, little paper, printed on new, fresh type; as saucy, jaunty and juicy as it was handsome. To this office, after Messenger had it well opened and the paper under way, I was called to come and fill out my unexpired term, with the further promise, that in consideration of the continued steady and rapid progress made, my wages should be increased, and that I should start in at Waverly, with the promised reward of $6 a month in addition to board and laundry-work, and that I should take my old place in the family as one of the sons of a childless man, because all the boys in the office looked upon him as a father, - that is, where he took kindly to them. Accordingly, in the early Winter of 1852, I rode on the cars from Corning to Waverly, found the office of the Luminary, was welcomed, not exactly as the Prodigal son, but fully as cordially, was assigned to a case close to the window, so that I could have a good light to work by, and then taken home by the proprietor to be welcomed by his wife, and to enjoy a romp with the two children of his widowed brother, George, who was at this time in Troy, Pennsylvania, conducting a small newspaper there. ... At Waverly he found no rings or combinations and old stagers, because the little village was too new to have any. Here he applied himself very earnestly to the work of establishing his newspaper. Such was his ability, not only to make friends but to make a newspaper, that in a short time the Luminary came to be looked upon as an increasing light and Messenger was in his glory. When I entered again in to his service, coming from Corning to Waverly, I found him full of hope of making a very desirable business. He had looked over the country and in his mind formed a conclusion that at some time Waverly must be a very large and important inland town. In this matter he did forecast correctly, as subsequent events and the growth of the place have proved, and will still further prove. Being of an active turn of mind with a brain never at rest, it was a necessity of his life that he should be constantly planning and carrying out ideas. He was a member of the Baptist church and long had held position and enjoyed good standing in that religious organization. He was also a thorough and persistant advocate of temperance. In Corning he had several times held position in the Lodge of Good Temlars and in the Temple of Honor, two very effective organizations in Corning that had been helped to their strength and popularity very materially by his work. So it was that when I went to Waverly I found myself still under the influence of a temperance man and one who was full of ideas and embryo business enterprises, and the employee of a man who was growing into popularity, perhaps a little too fast, for this popularity as he grew into it brought him enemies in those who were jealous of his success. ...

March 23, 1878 The Waverly Free Press: The large poplar trees in the Park are being cut down and removed. This is done to allow more room for the other shade trees.

"Buffalo Bill" (Hon. Wm. Cody) and troupe stopped in this place a short time on Thursday last, and attracted considerable attention.

April 1878 Waverly Advocate: G. W. Orange has commenced laying a flag-stone walk around his property, corner Fulton and Chemung streets. The stone are of very fine quality. 152 Chemung street today, earlier old numbering was known as 206 Chemung st.

May 25, 1878 The Waverly Free Press: Bring your Pictures to Slaughter & Wells' and have them framed, and save them.

For Rent - A house and lot on the corner of Chemung and Orchard street. Barn, garden, and fruit. Inquire of J. Dubois, No. 16 Waverly street.

June 1, 1878 The Waverly Free Press: Bring your Pictures to Slaughter & Wells' and have them framed, and save them. - Two vacant lots for sale. Situated on Clark, between Chemung and Broad Sts. Good well of water and fruit thereon. Price, $500 each. Inquire at Free Press Office. - For Rent.- A house and lot on the corner of Chemung and Orchard street. Barn, garden, and fruit. Inquire of J. Dubois, No. 16 Waverly street. - For Sale- Several Houses and Lots in Waverly and South Waverly. J. F. Shoemaker, office over Citizens' Bank.

June 1, 1878 The Waverly Free Press: We are requested to announce that the manuscripts of history, of Waverly, have been submitted to Wm. F. Warner and J. E. Hallet, and corroborated by authentic date in possession of the latter, and pronounced by those gentlemen, perhaps as good, if not the best authorities, on local history, in this village, to be correct. Everything is being done, possible for the gentlemen in charge to do, to make the history of Tioga, Chemung, Tompkins, and Schuyler Counties complete in all particulars, and the work bids fair to be one of great values and interest to the people. - A grand balloon ascension will take place in this village on Monday, June 3d, between the hours of one and six P. M. The aeronant, Mons. Laville, is said to be one of the best in the country. The balloon contains 4000 yards of oil silk, with a capacity of 150,000 cubic feet. As the exhibition is to be free, a large attendance is anticipated.

June 27, 1878 News and Democrat. (Auburn): Fire At Waverly. - A fire that broke out in the Waverly depot at six o'clock Wednesday evening entirely consumed the Erie depot, the Courtney House, kept by Jas. B. Davison, and the large livery and exchange stable of A. W. Bentley. The furniture of the Warford House was considerably damaged. The Courtney House lost on building and furniture about $12,000, and the railroad company and express company about $25,000. Several cars were on fire, but were saved by the firemen.

1878-1879 The Waverly Advocate:

G. F. Waldo has been putting down 1,500 square feet-300 feet lineal- of flagging walk around his property on Pennsylvania avenue and Howard street. It is the neatest and most perfectly laid walk in town. He has two finely worked hitching posts, and two cut stone steps for carriages - one on either street. The stone are from the Laceyville quarries, and furnished and laid by Mr. O'Bryan, proprietor of the quarries. This kind of walk is becoming popular in Waverly, and is rapidly taking the place of hemlock. It is furnished now at very low prices, and is regarded as more economical in the long run than plank walks.

Speaking of the building of stone sidewalks reminds us that Owen Spaulding, a few weeks ago, laid down a very fine flag walk around his residence on Chemung st., and Penn's avenue. On the streets he laid 2,494 square feet - 498 1/2 feet lineal, and within the grounds 899 square feet, making a total of 2,892 square feet, at a total cost of $440.20. This is the largest amount put down by any one of our citizens.

We also notice that Judge Yates has laid the same style of flag walk along his residence on Park avenue, the exact amount of which we have not ascertained.

Likewise, Dr. W. E. Johnson has built an equally fine walk in front of his property on the same avenue.

S. W. Slaughter, after greatly improving his residence on Chemung street, has laid a flag stone walk with curbing upon that street. (208 Chemung st.)

Mrs. Sharps on West Broad street has likewise built a very neat flag walk in front of her lot, by no means inferior to any in town, besides considerable yard walk.

Flagging is rapidly taking the place of the old hemlock walks in our village, and we would suggest that the corporation would do well to put down a similar walk on the east side of the Park. It can never be done so cheaply as now. We believe James O'Bryan of Laceyville has furnished and laid the flagging in the cases mentioned.

- Queen Victoria has reigned forty years.

Wall Paper. Slaughter & Wells, are ready for the Spring Trade with a large, new Stock of Wall Paper. Fresco and Kalsomine Borders, Window Shades, $c., new patterns and new styles. Call and see them. Also Kalsomine, Lime, &c Corner Drug Store.

August 3, 1878 The Waverly Free Press: Mr. S. W. Slaughter, has placed a very fine horseblock and hitching post in front of his residence on Chemung Street.

An Undeniable Truth. You deserve to suffer, and if you lead a miserable, unsatisfactory life in this beautiful world, it is entirely your own fault and there is only one excuse for you, - your unreasonable prejudice and skepticism, which has killed thousands. Personal knowledge and common sense reasoning will soon show you that Green's August Flower will cure you of Liver Complaint, or Dyspepsia, with all its miserable effects, such as sick headache, palpitation of the heart, sour stomach, habitual cositiveness, dizziness of the head, nervons prostration, low spirits, &c. Its sales now reach every town on the Western Continent and not a Druggist but will tell you of its wonderful cures. You can buy a Sample Bottle for 10 cents. Three doses will relieve you. For sale by Slaughter & Wells.

The fall crickets and katy-dids may now be heard every night.

Weaver & Shear are having a fine stone walk laid in front of their mill property on Broad street.

A new flag walk has been laid in front of Waldo & Tracy's drug store, and is one of the finest in town. Who will be the next to follow

August 24, 1878 The Waverly Free Press: We learn the new depot is to be completed by the first of November.

Our street commissioner is doing a fine job on Athens street foot of Payne's hill by filling in with gravel, thus making a better grade between Tioga and Chemung streets at their crossing.

The Fall Term of Mrs. Quick's School will open on Monday, September 2, 1878. No. 3 Athens St., Waverly, N. Y. (According to map drawings, 3 Athens Street included current day 5 Athens street and there was one larger home there, inplace of the two current homes)

September 7, 1878 Waverly Free Press: This is called the village of flags, owing to the number displayed on all public occasions. - The foundation of the new depot is progressing rapidly.

September 14, 1878 The Waverly Free Press: The following are interesting items concerning the commercial value and properties of the better known woods: Elasticity - Ash, hickory, hazel, lancewood, chestnut (small), yew, snakewood: Elasticity and Toughness - Oak, beech, elm, lignum vitae, walnut, horn-beam. Even grain (for carving and engraving) - Pear, pine, box, lime tree. Durability (in dry works) - Cedar, oak, yellow pine, chestnut. Building (ship building) - Cedar, pine(deal), fir, larch, elm, oak, locust, leak. Wet construction (as piles, foundation, flumes, etc.) - Elm, sider, beech, oak, whitewood, chestnut, ash, spruce, sycamore. Machinery and millwork (frames) - ash, beech, birch, pine, elm, oak. Rollers, etc - Box, lignum-vitae, mahogany. Teeth of wheel - Crab tree, hornbeam, locust. Foundry patterns - Alder, pine, mahogany. Furniture (common) - Beech, birch, cedar, cherry, pine, whitewood. Best furniture - Amboyna, black ebony, mahogany, cherry, maple, walnut, oak, rosewood, satinwood, sandalwood, chestnut, cedar, tulip wood, zebra wood, ebony. Of other varieties, those that chiefly enter into commerce in this country are oak, hickory, ash, elm, cedar, black walnut, maple, cherry, butternut, etc. - American Builder.

A new paper makes its appearance at Athens this week. It is to be called the Athens Gazette, and will contain twenty-eight columns. Chas. Hinton, publishers. We wish the new journal success.

September 28, 1878 The Waverly Free Press: Athens. Another bakery soon to be opened in Athens. Mr. Barnes does not take possession of the Gothic Hotel until October 1st.

October 11, 1878 The Waverly Advocate: Happenings At Home. ... The chestnut burs are opening. ....The Erie third rail is completed to Susquehanna. ... The squirrel and chestnut crops don't seem to flourish well together. ...D. A. Blizard has completed a very fine flag-stone walk in front of his residence on Chemung street. ...

School Trustees. The election for School Trustees of Union School District No. 7, on Wednesday, resulted as follows, two tickets being run: Whole number of votes polled 410, of which Thomas J. Phillips received 276, George H. Grafft 285, Samuel W. Slaughter, to fill vacancy, 279. Of the other ticket, George H. French received 127, Oliver B. Corwin 131, Charles O. Smith, to fill vacancy, 126.

Our new freight depot, which is now being built, will be 150 feet long by 30 feet wide. It stands so close to the main track that freight may be transported without the use of planks. The platform will be the same height as the car floors, which will also facilitate handling goods. A track in the rear will also accommodate freight business. On the whole it will be one of the best and most convenient freight depots on the road.

October 26, 1878 The Waverly Free Press: A new paper, called the Tioga County Democrat, has recently been started in Owego.

Slaughter & Wells, Drugs. The purest only, at reasonable prices. Prescriptions. Receive particular attention. Dye Stuff. with directions for using quickly and easily. Perfumes. All the most enduring and best known odors. Hair. Brushes, Tooth Brushes, Combs, &c, &c. Ladies' Toilet Goods and Toilet Powders. Soaps, for hotel and family use, in all quantities and prices. Paper. Boxed and plain, in great variety. Trusses. Elastic, Spring and others. Patent. Medicines, all the best advertised. School Books, English, Latin, Greek, French and German. Surgical Instruments and Medical Books at wholesale prices. Corner Drug Store.

November 15, 1878 The Tribune Hornellsville: Found Dead in Bed. George W. Orange, station agent at the Waverly Erie depot, was found dead in his bed on the morning of the election. Mr. Orange had been in the service of the Erie for nearly thirty years. He was station agent at Great Bend in 1853, and from there he went to Waverly. He was universally popular with the employes of the road and the citizens generally. He was always on duty and very faithful to his duties. His death was somewhat unexpected. He was subject to attacks of heart disease, but that fact was not generally known. Mr. J. S. Carroll, chief clerk at the Waverly Office, is at present in charge of the station. - Elmira Advertiser.

November 15, 1878 The Waverly Advocate: The funeral of the late George W. Orange occured on Monday last. Rev. Dr. McKnight, of Elmira, officiated. The burial was under charge of the Masons of this village. A funeral dirge was played by Tioga Hose Band during the march to the cemetery. There was a very large attendance of relatives and citizens. The parents of the deceased are still living in New Hampshire. Their feebleness in their extreme old age prevented their being present.

1879 advertisments referred to: bedsteads, chamber suits, parlor suits

January 10, 1879 Waverly Advocate: The following were elected officers of the Waverly Mutal Loan Association Jan. 8 for the ensuing year: President - F. R. Warner. Vice President - C. C. Brooks. Secretary - Wm. S. Iliff. Treasurer - L. R. Manning. Directors - W. H. Spaulding, H. N. Gridly, H. G. Merriam, J. B. Floyd, A. Hildebrand, S. W. Slaughter, W. W. Andrews, H. L. Stowell, W. E. Kinney. Financial report will be published next week. - J. W. Knapp & Son advertisement. Under Town Clock.

March 21, 1879 The Waverly Advocate: Levi Westfall is moving into Mr. Seacord's new house corner Lincoln street and Clinton avenue, Waverly. 25 Lincoln st.

May 16, 1879 The Waverly Advocate: There is not much new building, but a good deal of repairing and improving of residences in town.

Mr. Canning is adding to and greatly improved his dwelling, corner Chemung street and Penn's avenue.

Dr. M. B. Weaver has gone southward to near Philadelphia, in pursuit of a more genial atmosphere and renewed health. May he succeed in finding both.

May 30, 1879 The Waverly Advocate: Slaughter & Wells advertisement

June 13, 1879 The Waverly Advocate: There is a distant rumor that Mary Anderson will sell her home in Syracuse and buy a house in Elmira. - Advertiser. As our Owego friends say the handsomest residences in Southern New York are in Waverly, it is barely possible she may come here.

August 8, 1879 The Waverly Advocate: We noticed very briefly last week the death of Dr. M. B. Weaver, which occured at his residence on Park avenue, on Wednesday morning, July 30th, in the prime and meridian of manhood, his age being but 46 years. His prominence as a man of enterprise and buiness energy, and his high standing as a Spiritualist and spiritual medium, demanded more extended notice. And our intimate relations with him for the past ten years justify us in speaking a few plain, honest words with regard to him. He came to this neighborhood ten years ago in the capacity of head miller in the flouring mills of Phillips & Curtis, located a mile and a half from the village. We were early attracted by his quiet manners, sincerity and kindness of heart, and peculiar religious views, and warm friendly relations were maintained ever afterwards. After a year and a half with Phillips & Curtis, he removed to Waverly, which has been his home, with occasional intervals, to the day of his death. His peculiar phase of mediumship, then but partially developed, rapidly grew to greater perfection, till he became widely known as one of the finest mediums of the country. For many years he followed his healing and mediumistic powers - for a few months in Buffalo, for a longer period at Cascade - head of Owasco lake - but mainly in Waverly and vicinity, although he was frequently called hundreds of miles away to minister to the afflicted. Some of the most remarkable cures on record were the work of his hands; and there are hundreds of witnesses living to-day who gratefully testify to his wonderful healing powers; and thousands have been made happy in the demonstrated truth of immortality through his mediumship. His success was entirely the result of intuition and inspiration having never read a work of a scientific character, or devoted an hour's time to the investition or study of any subject coming within the range of his specialties. But the prejudices against Spiritualism, developed mainly through ignorance of what it really is, were so deep-seated, and at times so demonstrative and virulent, that his life was rendered burdensome. But Dr. Weaver, although of delicate constitution, timid, and sensative even to nervousness, was a man of marked courage and bravery, and he never hestitated, when occasions seemed to require it, to stand upright as a self-reliant man, and declare his convictions, even in the face of bitter and remorseless persecution. A virtue pre-eminent in him was his fidelity to his convictions, and his contempt for shams and hypocrisy, in what ever form they came. It is doubtful if the Inquisition of old could have extorted from him what it did from Galileo. The practice of his healing art proved injurious to his delicate health, as he took on, to a greater or less degree, the symptoms of his patients; and for the last two years or more of his life he refused practice altogether. Being a miller by trade, he conceived, and at the head of the firm of Weaver & Shear, successfully carried out the idea of building a steam flouring mill in this village; and at the corner of Broad street and Penn's avenue stands one of the most perfect structures of the kind to be found in the country. But his ambition and forgetfulness of self led him to overwork which, with mental anxiety connected with his business, prostrated him during the past winter, and he gradually sunk under that ever-flattering disease, consumption, till the 30th July, when the life-copartnership between body and soul dissolved, and he passed to a higher and brighter field of labor. It is pleasant to know that during his last sickness, up to the moment of his departure, nothing was left undone that could smooth the thorny pathway, or in any manner relieve his sufferings. The hands of a kind and loving wife were ever quick and untiring in ministering to his wants; but kindness could not stay the destroying angel's hand, nor love longer hold the departing spirit. To him this natural and beautiful change, called death, had no terrors. It occured in the most quiet and peaceful manner; and to the last moment he realized the truth, written by the sweet poet of Sheshequin, nearly half a century ago, that "Death is but a kind and gentle servant, who, with noiseless hand, unlocks life's flower-encircled door to show us those we love." Dr. Weaver was a lover of humanity, from the highest to the lowest and poorest; and there will ever stand recorded against his name: "A man that loved his fellow men." (He rented the octagon home on Chemung street for his office space)

August 15, 1879 Waverly Advocate: Work of grading the race track on Shepard's flats west of Spanish Hill, had commenced. The contract was let to A. A. Slawson. It is to be completed by the 1st of September.

October 1879 The Waverly Advocate: The old-Octagon House, formerly standing on Chemung street, has been removed to Athens street; and Mr. Slaughter is grading the grounds it occupied for a park adjoining his magnificent residence. (On 7 Athens street, the octagon home was continued to be rented out as a two-family rental up to 1930. We are still researching on its disappearance, whether it was destroyed by fire or torn down for other reasons?) {1881 drawing shows an iron fence around our property with several trees of all kinds in the yard}

October 10, 1879 The Waverly Advocate: Report of Receipts and Disbursments on account of Public Schools of the Village of Waverly, from October1st 1878, to Sept. 30th, 1879. ...Disbursments As Per Secretary's Order Book. ...Aug. 8, Slaughter & Wells, supplies $36.31 ...

October 17, 1879 The Waverly Advocate: The school meeting of Tuesday night voted the usual appropriations, and took steps to dispose of the old Factoryville school house, with the view to build a new one in a more central locality.

On Wednesday two Trustees were elected in place of S. W. Slaughter and Leander Walker, whose terms expire. E. G. Tracy and Leroy Edgcomb were elected, the former without opposition the latter by 12 majority over S. W. Slaughter. They will make good and efficient officers.

Big Fire at Athens. About 10 o'clock Wednesday night a fire broke out in Lyons' Furniture store on Main street which extended on the North to Carroll's dwelling; in the rear to Carroll's and Lyons' barns; and on the South to the Presbyterian church, destroying them all. The firemen lacked water so the fire had pretty much its own way. The loss must be heavy.

Home Contact Search Zehr Estate Waverly NY 14892
zehrestate.com